Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Renton Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    RTC is for students who are looking to obtain AAS degree and go to work force, immediately.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please don't be a slacker in college. Always be prepared and ready to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition rate varies on how many classes or credits you are acquiring for the semester. I'm taking about five classes and takes away about $2000 for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The place I enjoy being in RTC is my classroom and the bakery. Bakery is amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are to enroll in a AAS degree programm at RTC, you'll be coming to college everyday from morning 7:00am to 3:00pm. It includes lecture hours and lab hours which guarantees you to learn what you learned for the day.

  • 09/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for anyone who wants to aquire a good paying career in a relatively short time and not spend too much money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you register, look up the books online, sometimes you may find a much better price than in the bookstore. Check out their Financial Aid office, they have plenty of scholarships and grants available! When in classes, don't hesitate to ask questions - it will work towards your benefit.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are relatively low, especially for career programs! For example, it will cost around $10,000 at Pima Medical Institute to get into a pharmacy technician program, whereas here it will be around $5,000-which is half the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff is pleasant for the most part, they want you to succeed and help you when you ask questions.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has a lot of career-related programs, starting from one-quarter long to 2+ year. The programs vary, some are allied health programs, such as Medical Assistant, Pharmacy Technician, CNA, Massage Therapist, and so on. Some other programs include Refrigeration Technology, Professional Baking, Land Surveying, and a lot more. Those programs are mostly Monday-Friday 8 am until 2:30. You will be focused on getting the skills necessary for your chosen career. This school offers regular classes as well, such as Math, Psychology, Biology and others.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I really like how safe the campus is the security guard does a great job making sure that she is walking and driving around to look for anything that is out of the ordinary. I also like how she comes and checks on the ECE Building because we are a ways away from the rest of the buildings.

    Greek Life

    I am not at a University where there are Fraternities and Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the insurance coordinator for the Seatac Sharks Junior Football and Cheer that my son plays football and my daughter cheers for. I have been involved with this organization for three years and do not plan on leaving anytime soon, as children need as many activities to choose from as they are starting to slowly fade away.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that i got a lot of great knowledge, resources, skills, and along with all that several new friends that i am glad we were able to enjoy the program together. I do not think I would or could have asked for anything more out of the program. It was very informational and very well put togeher.

    What to do for fun

    I spend my little spare time reading, tanning, swimming, and spending time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    Being a full time toddler teacher and also attending school myself I am always eating on the run no time to sit down and enjoy a good meal.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    My Academic Rigor is to give it my all and do the best that I can. Making sure that i stay organized and on top of completing all of my work so it is completed on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remain focused on the goals that you have set or your self and don't become side tracked, don;t postpone or half do your work. In the long run you are not cheating anyone else but yourself.

    In three sentences

    They have a really great Early Childhood Education program, that really cares whether or not you succeed. There are lots of programs so more people are allowed to better their future.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    looking to get some where quick, trying to save money

    What to do for fun

    none

    Food and Dining

    delicious

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure that it's what you want to do in life, if your not sure give it a try.

    In three sentences

    worth your time

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe, we look out for one another and there is a common unspoken knowledge no one left behind especially in this sometimes crazy world. especially in this field where if you were working on a vehicle alone it could very well cost you your life.

    Great for these types of students

    the type of student that would do well in this program is any with a real interest in the field. the instructors give you the necessary tools to be successful and even if you come in with just a love for something and aren't quite sure will cut it there experience along with some of your own ingenuity and determination to accomplish the task at hand will give you the means to put some of your self into your work. being a girl in mainly a men oriented field, i have had to maybe find new and creative ways in removing a bolt, or not having enough arm strength meant i may have to use some leg strength or come at it from a different angle all together.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a tradition we have at the end of each quarter is our clean up and bbq day. we all look forward to the potluck of wonderful food that we all bring. a day to relax instructors and students as well as some of the other support staff that pop in to see us off to co-op.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel there is possibly some issues with the finances however the instructors i have seen cover and foot the bills on projects that if it were not for them we would not have had the necessary equipment or parts to study and learn the required knowledge we will be needing in the future of our careers.

    What to do for fun

    for fun there are outings that we attend that is so full of life it brings the possibilities of our careers to life!

    Food and Dining

    we have a wide variety of culinary delights from the typical donuts and cheese burgers to fresh salads and full home like breakfasts to exquisite cuisine.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic support is amazing in that the instructors will spend the time before, after and even well into their own family time to help students achieve the knowledge they will need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    remember that the instructors have lived and are continuously to learn the new technology of the field and have insight that can not be gained through the book. their knowledge and success in their field will make you a top technician as well as a good decent person with whom people will trust and have confidence to bring their auto to. so show respect and listen their knowledge is invaluable.

    In three sentences

    renton technical college has automotive instructors that are supportive of you in all aspects on your degree path, they have extensive knowledge in the field and are well rounded experienced individuals who also instill confidence and strive along side you, until you are striving way beyond any and all expectations you may have started with. they are the foundation of the learning experience and go out of their way to ensure that incorporating school, home life and work blend together by helping over come some of lifes obstacles which we all face.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    does not apply. online class

    Food and Dining

    does not apply. online class

    Dorm Life

    does not apply. online class

    Academic Rigor

    a&p is a&p. its alot of information no matter where you take it. you have to willing to put in the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    its important to stay on top of things with an online class. its easy to fall behind.

    In three sentences

    its a great class. its all online so i can work at my own pace. labs this quarter are much more interactive than in the past.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great courtyard space for lunch on sunny days.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good food for a great price, I love the hot breakfast options.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload of any one student isn't a true grading tool, but most students will say they workloads are what they would expect of a state university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what you want to do and get on it fast, class space in certain programs goes really fast. Waiting is not in your best interest.

    In three sentences

    Renton Technical College is a good starting point. They will give you the knowledge you need to start working while you continue your education. Renton Technical College is great for beginnings.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The culinary students make the and serve the food offered there. Delicious affordable food offered.

    Dorm Life

    It doesn't have a dorm because it's a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    Has good teachers, it also offers programs that give you help. I.e. a program for math.

    In three sentences

    It's an affordable school, that offers a great culinary arts program. It gives you an opportunity to go for the career you want. Has a great library.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a culinary program here, so most of the food is very poor. the bakery is delicious though

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is five days a week, and forty hours. It is too expensive and too many days a week. Most programs are only three or four days a week for a couple hours. I would definately recommend looking at your options before coming here.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security drives around often. It was just upgraded this year 2013.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for the non-tradional college education.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot for your money. This school really prepares you for the work force.

    Food and Dining

    Culinary Program provides some pretty good meal choices all very healthy but no salt added.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    I went through the medical billing and coding program which was difficult but I learned things that have definitely put me on the top of my filed.

    In three sentences

    Renton Technical College has given me the skills I needed to be employed before I even graduated. Anyone can come here and get a great education to help you get far in life.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Health & Fitness

    In three sentences

    I greatly enjoyed my time at RTC. The learning was fun, in-depth, and hands-on. My instructor kept the class engaged, and learning on a daily basis. Through RTC I was able to get an internship with the Seattle Seahawks and expand on my education. I continue to this day to use what I learned at RTC in my daily life. Thanks RTC

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take some time with your family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food comes from culinary program . it delicious and economic.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I participate in class room activities and discussions. I always do the extra credit assignments,that made me learn a lot .

    Tips for prospective students

    come to class early every day, be prepared, and do the work.

    In three sentences

    RTC is for students who want to acquire high paying skills in a short period of time. the school puts more emphasis on hands-on training .