Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rhode Island College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to learn an upper level of knowledge. Students who are active and want to try new things. Students who are not afraid to show the world what they are capable of. Studnets who are themselves and love to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get a tutor if you need help. The tutors here are experts. They know so much. You'll be amazed by the results. Stay connected with the professors. Being connected with the professors are very helpful. Professors here are avaliable 24/7. Sometimes they're willing to meet with you for lunch. How cool is that. Never procrastinate exams, homework, projects, class work, or quizzes. Here eveyrthing is taken seriously. Fun and games have their own time. The professors here are professionals with Masters, Phd degrees, which means they mean business. Do your best not to arrive class late. Lateness has their consequences here. Get involved as much as possible on campus. When you get involved in activities on campus it helps you with communication skills, leadership skills, overcoming the fear of shyness ( in front of a crowd), meet other students who share similar interest. Have a goal. By having a goal the school helps you work your way up the ladder. By doing so, you must always have a planner with you. The planner helps you to get things done in a orderly fashion and also saves youself from going out of control. Have fun and be yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Here is not that expensive but you do spend alot of money here. When you finally walk into the store you feel like buying everything there. The school store is just massive. It has everything you can think of. They even sell all types of food there. Not so bad I guess.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here very much. There's always something to do here. What I mostly love about here is that you can be independant by doing what you wish to do. You could throw a concert in the quad if you wanted to. You hardly get bored here. You'll have fun. TRUST ME.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a varity of things. In my high school I wasn't taught everything I should've known to enter college. When I started my first semester of RIC it was pretty intense for me. I wasn't familiar with certain subjects but the good news is I now know. All thanks to RIC. When it comes to teaching, the professors here will teach you everything. I mean EVERYTHING. You'll feel like you know to much. That's how it's suppose to be anyway. Even though there's never a time you will know to much.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online Graduate Anti-social

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from out of state, find a different school. Very difficult to fit in and make friends if you don't already know someone. Just like high school all over again.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely a cheap school money wise and you do get a lot for your money although the freshmen dorms are disgusting and leave a lot to be desired but that is to be expected from such an inexpensive school. The food isn't great either.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is never anything of real interest going on on campus until the end of the year. The clubs are geared toward very specific groups of people and none seem interesting, personally. Everyone here is from Rhode Island so if you're coming in from out of state, prepare to be excluded and feel alone. I'm a really social person and everyone here seems to have a way of shutting out anyone who they didn't know before college. I hate being here almost 100% of the time.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm just finishing my first year at RIC and the best part of school has been the classes which is not what I wanted in the college experience. Some professors are helpful while others are rude and awful.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Students looking for higher learning experience. - Inexpensive tuition for college. - An experience based not solely on social interaction.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in attending Rhode Island college, I suggest you first visit the website, www.ric.edu. Any question you may have will be answered on there. And, if it piques your interest, you might want to schedule a tour and visit the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For in-state students, tuition is fairly cheap. Compared to other colleges today, it's even well-priced for out-of-state students. Wondering about tuition prices? Follow this link: http://www.ric.edu/admissions/financial.php

    Am enjoying being here

    RIC has a new student friendly atmosphere. Study groups, and tutors are something that almost everyone can join. Teachers want the students to do well so in turn you're provided these things. Plus, the library is wonderful. Anything you need for research, or leisure is easily located.

    Am learning a lot

    I started school at Rhode Island College in August, and from then on it has been a period of discovery. The resources available on campus are great, and everyone is so helpful. Although the tuition is inexpensive in comparison to other schools, parking is constantly crowded. This is a minor setback when your talking about getting a good educational experience. Socially, there are a lot of clubs and organizations you can join. Overall RIC gets 5 stars in my book.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rhode Island College is great for students who enjoy a smaller number of students per classroom. It is also great for commuters because it costs much less than living on campus. It is great for nursing majors, such as me, because so far in my program, I have been able to learn an incredible amount of information and skills I will need to become a successful nurse. A large grant has just recently been donated to the RIC nursing program to improve its already excellent nursing lab! It is also great for education majors. It offers a variety of other majors, such as theater, music, and sciences. There are several athletic teams and clubs of every kind! It is great for anyone seeking a campus full of diversity and opportunities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin meeting with guidance counselors early in high school to discuss possible majors and career choices. This will help you decide if Rhode Island College could be a good school for you. Also, applying for financial aid and scholarships early is important if you need it because the deadlines go by quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a bang for your buck because it is one of the least expensive schools in Rhode Island and it offers so much. The professors are phenomenal. There is always activities going on around campus. The Campus is beautiful and includes a great athletic facility and gym. It is a smaller college, but that is one of the things that attracted me to it. Being smaller, each course has a small number of students enrolled in it, which for me, makes it easier to learn and spend more one on one time with professors and fellow students. It is absolutely worth the money!

    Am enjoying being here

    I live on campus and am a full time student. It is truly enjoyable. The library and computer labs offer a great deal of space for studying and typing papers and projects. There are tutors who offer free sessions, and some professors have their own tutoring sessions. It makes learning enjoyable and easier than just sitting down and trying to learn it alone. The diversity among the campus students and professors is also enjoyable. I am able to meet people that I would have never met in other schools with less diversity.

    Am learning a lot

    Rhode Island College is a wonderful opportunity for learning. The professors are outstanding on their willingness to help their students. Every professor that I have had so far is happy to stay after class, or even offer extra help sessions. This school wants its students to learn, and the professors all make sure that learning is accomplished!

  • 02/17/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would never send even my worst enemy here. This is a terrible school. Students are okay, faculty is rude and completely unhelpful. Save your money and teach yourself, it's better than going here.

  • 01/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like trips. LOTS OF CLUBS. Small campus. Great student:teacher ratio. RIC is the place for you. (Even if you're like me and you just need a place to transition, and get you GenEds/Core Courses done)

    Tips for prospective students

    Initially I started a school in New York and found that the distance and price was just not worth the adventure. You have your whole life to scout the world, but college is a difficult transition enough without having to worry about money and being homesick.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid was a big part in coming here. After filling out my FAFSA and whatnot I was still able to find a job AND a bunch of grants and scholarships. Of course I did need some additional help (Cappex), but its cheap compared to other schools and gave me a lot less headache than I would have had anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming here I didn't want a party-school but I did want to enjoy myself. All the activities and parties are way more than I expected. It isn't necessarily a party school but its definitely a FUN school.

    Am learning a lot

    I have yet to start classes, (starting school in the Spring-instead of the Fall), but everyone here is really helpful and the alumni/current students are glad to lend a helping hand. I got to choose my classes with the help of a Junior named Christopher at RIC, who gave me tips on an easy way to get your core courses done with fun classes. I never thought an 8, o-clock AM class would be pleasant but with the help Christopher I only have one 8AM class a week and its Intro to Archaeology. Its not something I was particularly interested in but its anything but boring and I look forward to it. (Not to mention its a core out of the way)

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who live nearby (better to live off-campus rather than use your fin aid for the dorms). If coming from out of state make sure it is a small and quiet school that you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get in there, get your degree and be gone. There isn't much to do when comparing it to a larger university. It's a small campus. Make the best of it.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you paid for. Its a very inexpensive school so you shouldn't expect to get what you would get at Harvard or Brown, but you will get what you paid for.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus is really small which I didn't mind. The only thing that bothered me was the condition of the buildings. A lot were not very up-to-date on maintenance. I understand it is a state college but try to maintain it.

    Did learn a lot

    I majored in the sciences and learned so much. As a high school student I disliked biology but when I took the introductory biology class as RIC I loved it and from there it was history.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Nursing, Radiology, Nuclear Medicine, Business, Communications majors and Athletes

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard to get your gpa up the first year of school. If you start out with a bad gpa, its extremely hard to get it to where you want it to be.

    Bang for the buck

    At under $8,000 a year for schooling right outside of the city of Providence, you cannot get a better deal. The location in itself is enough to make you want to attend. Providence City is less than 10 minutes away, and is filled with activity everyday, particularly with the many other universities around.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many places on campus to hang out and relax, taking a break from the sometimes busy day. Donovan Dining Center, The Don, is the main spot where everyone spends their breaks during the day. There are also a couple of great cafes on campus as well. The Rec Center is my favorite, boasting a pool, indoor track, gym, and zumba/yoga/etc classes. I love Rhode Island College.

    Am learning a lot

    Because of the general education requirements for all majors, as well as class availability is so diverse, I have been able to take classes from womans studies to native american studies and beyond. I have learned many many things about all different cultures, as well as the sciences, math, etc.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do feel very safe on this campus even at night. There are campus police always driving around and big blue help stations all over campus with buttons that go directly to the police office.

    Greek Life

    There are small frats and sororities, but they don't have houses and don't really do much

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that since this school is cheap that it is worth the money, because you get exactly what your paying for, an education.

    What to do for fun

    Since the city of Providence is only a bus ride away it is easy to go out for day trip, or a night in the city, where there is alot to do. On campus there really isnt much.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad, but it is almost the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Since this school used to be mainly a commuter school it lacks in campus activities, but it is easy to make friends and it is what you make of it. You can have a great time or a horrible time depending on the effort you put in. The school is very open to ideas so if you want to start a club or go on a trip it is not impossible to make that happen.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are both challenging but not over bearing. You don't get a lot of work but you definitely have to study if you are looking to excel. Otherwise this is a pretty laid back school.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small school and is great for students who handle smaller classes better then huge lectures. The atmosphere is very friendly and my experience with the teaching staff has been great.

    In three sentences

    This school has a lot of potential to be one of the best in Rhode Island. It needs a more equal ratio of boys to girls and they could do this by adding more to the school such as a football team. Otherwise the school as a great staff and a good environment.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really, but best for those wanting to study education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try an in-state school near you first and if that doesn't work than RIC is great.

    Bang for the buck

    They give great financial aid. Especially for in-state students.

    Will enjoy being here

    Its a really nice campus, its quiet and quaint. I won't gain the freshman 15 because the campus is spread out and I'd have to walk everywhere.

    Will learn a lot

    I believe I will learn a lot because of how great the teachers seem, they seem to concerned about you getting to where you want and need to go.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not alienate your professor instead be close and friendly with them, and its easy to make friends here so be open to new things.

    Bang for the buck

    RIC is very affordable. Much more affordable than many other colleges that I have applied to. Not only is it affordable but the people here are great, the environment is fantastic, and overall its fun.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is very fun! If your planning to attend Rhode Island College keep in mind that it would be very fun to live on campus and be close to your friends. If your preference is not to live on campus, no worries, RIC has various activities and events. They have many clubs and plan a lot of trips.

    Am learning a lot

    Many professors all of the country can be helpful and some may not be so helpful. Here at RIC its very easy to obtain a professor that is kind, always willing to help, positive, and just overall outgoing. All of these qualities make it much, much easier to learn. Take it from me, a junior at RIC, as long as your close to your professor and ask for necessary help when you need it you will learn everything that you need to know.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like social clubs we have a TON of them at this school. They range from many things. The student body is mostly white with a sprinkling of Dominican, Cape Verdean, African American, & Pacific Islander. Not very varied. If you're a vegetarian like me then seriously don't bother coming to the school unless you want to get takeout all the time. They barely have any vegetarian options, & when they do it's mainly disgusting. If you like to be involved in a lot of activities then you should really live on campus. The dorms come up with their own fun activities that my friends & I always try to participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from the state of Rhode Island you should be fine as far as money is concerned. But I've heard a lot of complaints about the academic adviser's, mainly because all of them are actually professors & aren't equipped to help students choose classes. Granted there are some lucky people like me who get a really great adviser who not only listens to them but tries to help them graduate with a great GPA. I once had to deal with a substitute adviser because mine was sick & instead of putting me in classes that I wanted & needed to be put in, he put me in classes he FELT I needed to be in that had nothing to do with my Minor in Spanish degree. He even went on to tell me there was no point in pursuing my Spanish Minor degree because anyone who came to America needed to learn to speak english....yeah, I'm glad he wasn't my permanent adviser. Most of the advisers put down students more than help.

    Bang for the buck

    The Financial Aid office as well as the Bursar's office are EXTREMELY rude & manipulative. The Financial Aid office doesn't allow anyone to apply for scholarships because they decide what student gets a scholarship of THEIR choosing. I've spoken to some other out-of-staters & it seems that we get the short straw when it comes to Financial Aid because we pay more money for tuition which means we're the cash cows for Rhode Island College. As far as the Bursar's Office goes, they don't work with Financial Aid so if you somehow (by the grace of God) manage to get a lot of financial aid the Bursar's doesn't realize it till after they've dropped you from your classes if you couldn't pay on time. Tuition for a whole school year is about $25,000 for an out-of-state student & it's way too much for me. I'm glad this is my last year. The food is horrible & the quantity of money you pay for the food apparently doesn't help its quality.

    Am enjoying being here

    For an out-of-state student, Rhode Island is very different. It's more expensive to buy things in Walmart out there than it is in California. The seasons are beautiful & the campus isn't too bad. The friendships I've made will probably be life-long. The only nice dorm on campus is New Hall & I haven't gone there to live because it costs way too much money.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm going into my last year in this school and the courses are pretty good. There are some really good professors that are passionate about what they teach & because of them I'm able to retain a lot of knowledge about my major. Though many are often times rude or biased if your opinions are not the same as theirs. Beware if you're a prospective Creative Writing student, some of the professors in that profession tend to grade work & critique it on biased observations. Me & some others had to drop that major because of that.

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Love the price as a commuter to go to school here it personally works for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    I commute so anything I do on campus is pretty decent.

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred here last semester and the class work is a bit more challenging but worth it.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are interested in fun activities with the college I suggest to visit the colleges website as there are many things to do and be a part of. www.ric.edu

    Food and Dining

    I generally do not eat at the college; I bring my own food. But the few times I have had a meal, it was worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside in the dorms. I commute two hours round trip. But it is worth it!

    Academic Rigor

    Many majors require a certain grade point average (GPA) and that is not to be taken lightly. Regardless of the GPA, always put your best foot forward as it will carry over to all your studies and everything in life. In addition, your hard work and dedicated will be noticed on your transcripts if you should transfer or change majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for prospective students is to know, in general, what career you would like to pursue. Match up the core education requirements and electives and get them done and out of the way first; this gives you more time to determine what career choices to make. Once you have decided the general area of a career choice, stick with it and try not to be deterred; but it's OK if you should decide a different path because many students change their minds, sometimes, more than twice.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College of Social Work is a school with faculty that cares about their students. The faculty is truly interested in matching the right personality with this particular field in a general based setting. In addition, the faculty offers help when they can if a student does not understand a concept, and works with the student until they do understand.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very visible at all times!

    Bang for the buck

    Save lots of money and buy your textbooks online and not at RIC bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    Go home and eat and nice home cooked meal, talk to your parents and siblings, hang out with your friends. Spend time resting and get alot of sleep!

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is convenient and relatively inexpensive! The atmosphere is very chill!

    Academic Rigor

    Rhode Island College is an intense academic college. Be prepared to stretch yourself in every way!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just relax and take the journey for what it is. It is at least a 4 year adventure that has its ups and downs, but in the end you will arrive at your destiny!

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a college which offers a wide-variety of majors. The campuses are very easy to navigate around. The OASIS Department is very helpful in picking your classes.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many activities planned by student union and school staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    create your class schedules as soon as possible to ensure you get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    it has a friendly atmosphere. kind, approachable professors and staff. many opportunities academically and socially such as clubs and activities.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for an open campus, the campus is very safe nothing happens here.

    Greek Life

    greek life might as well be nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    im not too sure about the clubs, but their not really popular

    Great for these types of students

    education and music majors

    Bang for the buck

    this school is descent price, it depends on one's financial situation. in my opinion this schools tuition should be way less. i really do not see where the money is going. the facilities are horrible but they are improving by little. they just finished reconstructing the gym.

    What to do for fun

    meet people who are just like you so you can find something to do outside of rhode island college. there is nothing fun here and i'm not over exaggerating. usually people go to the clubs or other colleges for fun.

    Food and Dining

    they serve the same food basically everyday to the point that you would rather stock up on food from the house. when they try to have varieties its a fail. on days that i decide no to eat at the dining hall, i just stock up on drink and snacks because i dont want waste the meal plan i paid for.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms need remodeling as soon as possible. their old and worn down. my friends dorm hall last year had bed bugs and she kept emailing the school to call an exterminator but they wanted proof first. one of her suit mates actually caught one and presented to them then the exterminator came. at a point last semester the sink water turned brownish, but that only happened once

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are good here, you definitely get good quality education that you paid for.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your intended major is education this is the perfect school for you. if you want to have a social life and your an outgoing person, this is not the school for you. most of the students are commuters which makes the campus even more dull. the school puts very little effort into entertaining its students. majority of the students reasons for coming is because of the education major, music, they didn't do so well in high school or because it is cheap.

    In three sentences

    on a scale of 1 to 10 of fun, i give rhode island college a 3. on a scale of 1 to 10 for academics i give this school at 7.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There was security that would drive around the parking lots here and there. I felt pretty safe on the campus and walking to the dorms at night.

    Greek Life

    I don't recall any greek life at Rhode Island College. This may have changed since 2009 though!

    Clubs and Activities

    My friends and I created a Volleyball club, which was fun on our free time! Try to attend all the events planned! There is usually free food, music, and friends!

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes should definitely attend Rhode Island College! A great atmosphere for sports lovers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There was always the same group of people outside the radio station. These students carried skateboards and came off extremely loud!

    Bang for the buck

    I do not believe it is worth the money for an out of state student. I usually went home on the weekends due to it being an almost all commuter school! So this is a huge consideration to look at.

    What to do for fun

    Work out, join a team, or committee; other wise you will find yourself wasting valuable time!!

    Food and Dining

    Donovan Dining was not bad, but not that much selection. If you want to eat well your best bet is the salad bar!!

    Dorm Life

    I enjoyed living in the dorms. Sweet Hall was too small for three in one room! Weber Hall was fun for a group of friends, and the New Hall was awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoyed the teachers and the education I received at Rhode Island College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look at all programs offered, because most often students will go into a school thinking they will get into a program and fail to; leaving them to turn to another program!

    In three sentences

    One thing I will state to students applying to this school is that it is mostly a commuter school. I came from NH and usually travelled back home every weekend. This may have changed, but from 2005-2009 it was mostly commuter students attending.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue or heard of anyone else having any.

    Great for these types of students

    Any; the population is VERY diverse!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely inexpensive compared to many other 4-year college options.

    What to do for fun

    Definitely discover the many national and international singers, musicians, dancers and other artists that perform at RIC and get a huge ticket discount if you're a student!

    Food and Dining

    Definitely not gourmet!

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek out information regarding financial aid, loans, potential employers, etc., on your own. Do not expect anyone to come to you.

    In three sentences

    Like most places, there are positives and negatives; there are great professors and not-so-great ones. RIC is the least expensive option if you are looking to pursue a Bachelor's in Nursing in Rhode Island and southeastern MA. And like anywhere else, your experience largely depends on your commitment, goals, and willingness to work hard.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not much for a Greek life... I wish we had more Greek life!

    What to do for fun

    Many school trips are available to different states and different activities are provided!

    Food and Dining

    Very minimum options! Food is not up to my expectations, I wish is was more gourmet. I wish to have different options like other colleges such as hibachi or even fresher products an a variety of places Togo to use meal plans and meal dollars!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much help as you can with all of your classes!

    In three sentences

    Those island college is a good school. You must be ready to learn and know how to study! Also, great school to get invoked in many activities and trips to different places!

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stations are located very frequently throughout the campus which are used for alerting the campus police as well as Providence police when a student feels his/ her safety is in danger. Also, campus police officers patrol the campus at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students thrive at RIC because there are many art-driven events in the nearby area, as well as a wonderful art department. Also, the nursing program is very well-run. Students who are looking for a college away from a city, but still not in the country side would love this college.

    What to do for fun

    Travel to downtown Providence reaps many benefits in experience art performances and showcases, as well as great restaurants and cafes. On campus, there are art exhibitions and plays/ music performances which are very well put together. Also, there is an open mic night and yoga classes on campus, as well as a recreation hall for exercising and swimming.

    Food and Dining

    The food at RIC is not very healthy. Even the vegetables and fresh fruits are not organic, and are lacking in nutrients and flavors. I find that I only eat on campus when I have no other option.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dormitories, but my good friend works as an RA in one of the halls. She is constantly planning events and programs for the benefit of her hall-mates, so that they may feel comfortable and able to rely on peers. The school is located a good distance from downtown Providence, but most students have cars and can travel 15 minutes in order to see shows, art exhibitions, poetry performances, and other events.

    Academic Rigor

    As a part of the Biology program at RIC, I find most classes to be very demanding. It is important to become friendly with classmates and professors if possible, so that you can use their help at any point. Also, academic counselors can be helpful if you ask the right questions- no one is going to be able to do your work and make your decisions for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although Rhode Island College is a state school, the professors and other members of faculty are extremely well-educated and eager to aid the educational fulfillment of students. Don't waste your time here by scraping by; be aware of everyone and everything around you and doors will open in all areas, allowing you to make the most of your undergraduate experience.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a great institution for aiding in the discovery of one's true calling. There are many resources for students to take advantage of, although many people don't realize that. This school holds amazing potential for those that utilize their resources to their full capacity.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus cops are all retired Providence Police men. They know what they're doing.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a few sororities and organizations with a variety of objectives: Go Green, Politics, Charities, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for teachers, nurses, and art students (visual and performing art).

    What to do for fun

    Frisbee, Soccer, Nap on the lawn by the library, Go into Providence.

    Food and Dining

    The Don is getting better with the food it serves. And the pizza in the cafe is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are always easier than others and others are more difficult. Take your time. Don't rush through and overload on difficult courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leave for class early if you want to find parking. Take an art class with Richard Whittin. He's a great teacher and he's pretty funny.

    In three sentences

    The Rhode Island College campus is easy to navigate through. Faculty and Staff are friendly and helpful. Quiet Campus.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    free period on Wednesdays between 12:30 and 1. the students get a break from classes to have fun. Each Wednesday there is something else going on in the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    good school for anyone that whats to meet people and cheap.

    What to do for fun

    frisbee, walk around with friends, play on the computers, watch the sports

    Tips for prospective students

    do not eat in donovon if you can help. If you can't help it go to the specials counter, the food there is at least edible or to the cafe where the food is really good.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a very beautiful school. The professors love to talk to students and most love what they do. The food sucks.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Luckily, I've had no issues with safety at RIC, but they have emergency blue lights all around campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm a second degree student and part of a greek organization at another university so I can't speak much to the greek life at RIC. I see their recruitment flyers and activities being advertised all the time though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for almost every type of student and the school does a really great job at financially supporting them so that they can offer their student a lot of options.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter and on-campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any- sorry!

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best things about RIC is their Metropolitan rate. It's a discounted rate for students that live within a certain distance (I believe it's 50 miles) from the school. It lightens the financial load a commuter student like myself will end up having to pay and who doesn't love that?

    What to do for fun

    RIC is only a short 10-15 minute drive (if that) away from a huge shopping mall containing 3 stories of shops, restaurants and an IMAX theater. Not to mention that because of the number of colleges/universities in proximity to Providence a lot of the local places offer student discounts with an ID.

    Food and Dining

    For a small campus, the dining options are astonishing! There are facilities for every type of diet: vegetarians, organic-minded and the standard 'whatever is edible' eater. Plus they have Del's! It's a great way of incorporating local flavor.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I am a commuter student so I can't lend my opinion to this aspect of RIC beyond aesthetics. The dorms are close to all buildings which would make the trek to class in the dead of winter seem less grueling. Also, I've heard they're pretty snazzy on the inside too!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect your best, because they know you can give it. They want you to succeed and give you the tools to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are groups and organizations for every type of student! Even as a commuter student there are enough opportunities to give you that college experience while still living off-campus.

    In three sentences

    Small, but mighty! RIC has an incredible atmosphere, a ton of on-campus activities, organizations and friendly faces. Professors here love what they do and genuinely care about the success of their students.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Limitee but existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome

    What to do for fun

    Student activities offers a wide variety of trips at super low rates

    Food and Dining

    Needs some help

    Academic Rigor

    Tough and challenging exactly what it should be

    Tips for prospective students

    Become active in student activities and stay involved

    In three sentences

    Great college.... Professors are knowledgable and more than helpful. Easy to apply, and everyone from applying to orientation was wonderful.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe, nothing really happens. I have walked to the other side of the campus at night to go to the gym and I don't feel threaten at all.

    Greek Life

    Not much of a big Greek life, there are not sororities or frat houses. If you been dreaming about joining one for years, the ones here will be a huge disappointments.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs you can get involved in. My advice join one or two it will make you experience at Rhode Island College better.

    What to do for fun

    Rhode Island College throws some okay events, grab a couple of friends and go to the student union to one of Programing's many events. Other then that, going out to eat, bowling, the mall, and even the club on Thursday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great, the grill line is the default line most of the time. Even that gets old. The students have been fighting for good healthy alternatives for a while. If you are a vegetarian or vegan, you have a very limited selection.

    Dorm Life

    Rhode Island College does not have a great dorm life, being that oct of the students are commuters, there are few students who live on campus. The dorms are not that great either, but with the right friends you can still have a blast. If you are looking for a party school this is not the school for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Rhode Island College is know for three good program in this order: Nursing, Education, and Social Work. Work hard and you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a lot of your Gen Ed first, its harder to get into some of the classes when you are an upper clansmen. Take intro classes as well to see if the major is right for you, this may save you a lot of time and money.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is more of a commuter school. Its does not have much school pride, but it's a great school academically

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    The school always has student activities going on. They are usually posted in emails or on campus flyers.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent but a little pricy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students is to study hard and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a good school for students who are unsure of what to major in. This school also offers a lot of help to students for any course. Plus, this school has a good academic programs.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok, just like any other college I'd say. They also have the Cafe's and the conveince store that sells snacks and drinks. Which are, in my opinion, better.

    Dorm Life

    Being a commuter, I don't have much other than hearsay, but I've heard they're nice, if you're willing to shell out the cash.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying for financial aid, make sure you give them all the paperwork the first time around, they will not contact you if something is missing, and you might miss something and not get the aid you need. It is a huge hassle to track them down after semester. This has happened to me the pat two years.

    In three sentences

    RIC is like most other colleges, there is a mix of good and bad. The current tudents are usually friendly enough to point you in the right direction if you're not too shy to ask. The financial aid office is terrible, they lose or misfile paperwork all the time and sometimes that leads to you losing out on money for school.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe location

    What to do for fun

    Near downtown

    Academic Rigor

    hard but if you do your work you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    The early your ready, the better experiences you will have.

    In three sentences

    Great location and easy access

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Many people complain about the food, but I do not think there is much wrong with it. Over the years they have expanded our options for meals and gotten more creative with what they offer.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not ideal because a majority of students commute to school. If you are able to find a group of friends that do not often travel home, it will make the dorm life a better experience for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy, some are incredibly difficult. You will find this at most colleges, but as long as you put all your effort into it, you will gain great knowledge from any course you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you work hard and make the best of it, you will love this school

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a fantastic school. The professors are wonderful as long as you do the work required of you. This campus offers many opportunities for students to grow into adults.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rhode Island College is ranked the second safest college in New England. I feel safe at all times!

    Greek Life

    We have two fraternities and about three sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    RIC offers about 80 different clubs and organizations to join. Take the opportunity to join. It's a great way to feel connected with other RIC students and you get to learn many different things.

    Bang for the buck

    Rhode Island College is very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    We have 6 residence halls on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and be an active member of the community because you will become a productive citizen when you graduate college.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a place of opportunities. I have learned and grown since my years here. Remember, it's what you make out of your education that's important!

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police try their best to keep a good eye on the entire campus by driving around all day and night to make sure no one is in trouble. There are also posts with emergency buttons on them so if there isn't a police officer around that you can push for help.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has a wide variety of clubs it ranges from circus club to clubs with in majors and everything in between.

    What to do for fun

    The dorms have event about once a week to try to get us to have fun. they have had caramel apple making, gingerbread house making, ice skating, and many more event.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better sometimes than others but the school tries to make up for it by having the cafe so you can enjoy other options.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is an unforgettable and learning experience. You learn how to live with all types of people and they end up being your second family. It is one of the best tings about going to college.

    Academic Rigor

    Rhode Island College is a decently difficult school but all of the hard work you put in to your degree is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you start to attend college make sure you know what you want to do so you can focus your time at college wisely. Also make sure your finances are in order before you start so you don't have to worry about them.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College has fantastic programs and is worth the money. The classes are a little difficult but that is how you learn what you are going to need to know to start your career. Lastly, Rhode Island College tries their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    very dedicated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anchor Madness

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money! A good deal, a $50,000 education for $7,800

    What to do for fun

    Dowtown providence is only about a ten minute car drive. Thayer Street is a street with stores, resturants, and fun places where all college kids from providence go. There is also the Providence place mall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into everything you want to know before deciding. Every little detail to make sure you are happy.

    In three sentences

    I have been a student at this college for one semester and i love it. The professors care, the information is relevant and it is everything i hoped it would be. I wouldn't have wanted to have chose any other college.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different events going on at the squad of Rhode Island College that are fun to go to. I believe that is the students choice to have a good time. There are zumba classes, yoga classes, the pool, the gym, and much more places inside campus to have fun while getting fit.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center is a great place to just hang out and have lunch with your friends after a long day of classes. The food varies from time to time, but if you're not satisfied with the food, then the cafe is always available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make of it! Every suite is a little different. Everything depends on who are your suite mates and you all get along.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very nice, and a few of them offer after class help. This extra help can definitely be taking advantage of if you want to be on track of your studies to better your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus, focus, focus. If you want to succeed, then do your best!

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a great school. Is a small campus with many different race of people that are very friendly and helpful. It feels like a small village that everyone is happy to be in.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any. Seriously

    Bang for the buck

    For the tuition price, the education is great. So worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities do a great job planning events and trips to places like Montreal, NYC, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Like I said, don't waste your time. Not much goes on on campus that you can't attend even if you live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All your classes are what you make of them. Some are definitely harder than others, I would rate most gen eds at about a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live close, don't waste your time with forming unless you're okay with a lackluster campus life. I got an apartment off campus my sophomore year and it was the best decision I ever made. Also, you can easily balance a part time job and 15 credits, but you will sleep much less than you're used to.

    In three sentences

    The majority of the students here are commuters, but the vibe of the campus is very friendly. Good mix of people; races, sexual orientations, etc. You'll never feel alone, that's for sure.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love to study on the silent level of the library . it is so quiet really quiet that you can't even hear a mouse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes you want to take, and know your major. if not Ric is known to keep you there forever.

    In three sentences

    I rate the school a 8 out of 10. The school is not really that bad. You just have to know what you want before going there.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are intercoms located everywhere throughout campus for emergencies to get campus police. They came very rapidly.

    What to do for fun

    Attend Basketball games or go to trips the school provides.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not stress out there are people who are here to help you regardless of the matter. Study Hard and enjoy your time in college.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College has been great to me so far. The teachers are amazing as well as the students. The idea to graduate and become successful is well promoted at Rhode Island College.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, with better food options. It need more variety among the food selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, but could get boring because its a quite campus. Not many people live on campus. Its near the city so, going out is fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school challenges you, but some programs are hard to get into. But more opportunity in internship would be nice. very limited to real world experience in some majors.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a great school. It really focus emphasis majors such as nursing and education. It is affordable.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is rated # 2 as the safest college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs. You just have to look into which one fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for Massachusetts and Rhode Island students who want to live off campus, but still be close to home. Great for performing arts students who would rather not go into huge student loan debt paying the outrageous tuitions at Boston Conservatory or Emerson.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think the theaters are the best locations on this campus! They have one theater that is like a mini PPAC.

    Bang for the buck

    RIC is affordable and if you live within a certain radius of the campus, you get a tuition break, if you're out of state.

    What to do for fun

    The pool and the new, state of the art fitness center is amazing. There are many clubs on campus, too. Off campus, the Providence Place Mall is nearby as is the Providence Performing Arts Center, the Trinity Rep, Waterfire, and many, many cafes, restaurants and shops.

    Food and Dining

    My mom went to the parents' orientation dinner, and they told her the food was the same the kids would be eating everyday. She said it was very good and there are healthy and not so healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I got into the Sweet Hall with two of my friends from high school. We think it's the best out of all the dorms. If you have friends that you want to dorm with just make sure you all put your names on the application. It was as easy as that.

    Academic Rigor

    My schedule seems pretty rigorous. I will be busy with dance, theater, voice and academics all day and into the evening. If you work your schedule right, you can get Fridays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Even if you don't go out for early decision, if you get everything in on time, you'll get an answer, sooner. Think of RIC if you're a performing arts major. The school is affordable and it was good for Viola Davis!

    In three sentences

    The place seemed pretty cool during orientation. The people I met there were friendly. I think attending RIC will be a good overall college experience.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities available for students of all different interests.

    Bang for the buck

    Rhode Island College is not too overly priced and the education you get from the college is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    The biology program is very challenging but will help you immensely.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a biology major, make sure to do your best to handle all workload that comes with all the biology classes.

    In three sentences

    The biology program at Rhode Island College is very tough but prepares you in the future. The small classes are personal and the ratio of teacher to professors is excellent. Rhode Island College puts an emphasis on academics and is not your typical party school.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Everyone i speak to feels safe walking alone at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and activities for people to join. These range from club sports like Ultimate Frisbee to professional organizations like its chapter of the American Marketing Association.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the small school environment and who don't want to feel like just another person in a sea of students at larger universities should consider RIC.

    Bang for the buck

    Rather inexpensive school to get your undergraduate degree.

    What to do for fun

    Because RIC is predominantly a commuter school there isn't much to do for fun on campus. However, because it is very close in proximity to the city there is no shortage of things to do as long as you have transportation.

    Food and Dining

    Many people complain about the dining hall on campus. Improvements have seemed to be made recently. It seems as though they have a new initiative of adding a variety of foods to accommodate all types of nutritional preferences. Not the best, but is improving.

    Dorm Life

    While many of the residential halls are older, they provide serviceable living conditions. I would say that they are average. I've seen better and worse dorms at other schools.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college, the degree of rigor of courses correlates with what academic discipline you are studying. In my experience classes are not overly difficult, however, they require that you are attentive in class, do the work and study. Professors are always available to help if you are struggling. There really is no reason someone should fail courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most beneficial thing to do upon entering college is to join clubs, teams or organizations. Meeting people who have similar interests as you make for a more enjoyable college experience.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a great college to attend for those who are most comfortable being on a smaller campus. The favorable student:teacher ratio equates to higher accessibility and in my opinion, is conducive to a nurturing learning environment. In summary, the reasonable cost of attendance, prime location and generally passionate and helpful faculty makes Rhode Island College a solid choice for prospective scholars.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on the roll, making sure everything is fine. They mostly try their best to keep everyone fair, for example, they give tickets if cars are not parked in the right parking lot. RA's from each hall and the hall directors also try their best to enforce the rules in order to keep everyone safe.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Rhode Island resident, it is very convenient. The price is low compared to other colleges which makes it an even better school! I believe it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities host many events, they bring the carnival to us and bring us paint balling, etc. There are many sororities that can be joined. If your into the parties, sometimes there are sneaky ones on campus, but if not, nearby there are many Providence College parties.

    Food and Dining

    The Donovan Dining Center has a variety of food. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are provided between the same hours everyday. It gets tiring if you eat the same thing everyday but there is a lot to chose from. The best dinner has to be the Holiday Buffet, the whole dining center is full of food, deserts and drinks while listening to Christmas music. The food is very enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, I live in Thorp Hall which is a co-ed hall designed in a suite style which means there is a common area that is shared between eight people and each person has a single room. So far my experience has been great. I love having my own privacy but I also love that I am able to come out of my room and have people to talk to. Each hall has about the same rules, some halls strictly follow the rules and violations, some not as much. They try to make it as safe as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The only problem I have realized is that certain classes are taken during certain times and certain semesters which makes it hard to plan due to other class conflicts. It also can extend how long it takes in order to register for your interested major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes that will fit into your schedule but also times that are appropriate for yourself. From my experience, my first semester I chose a 8:00 A.M. Monday-Thursday however I am not a morning person so it reflected my ability to focus in class. As long as you pay attention in class, the work is not that hard. Papers are usually given ahead of time so its best not to procrastinate and leave for last minute. Good luck to those who think about attending!

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is an awesome small state school which provides a variety of different classes and majors, job opportunities, places to do school work, and many events. The classes are small, average size of about 20 students and the professors are mostly very approachable and helpful. It is mostly a commuter school but it is a great experience to live on campus.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music, education

    Bang for the buck

    This was the college that was the cheapest and it is the best for my major! Very happy to be there :)

    What to do for fun

    Tons of activities on campus, and student performances to see.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food, but I still gained the freshman 15. It can't be that bad. But miss Mom's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best dorms for freshman, but looking forward to the newer dorms next year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be a hard worker, study, and practice if looking for a music track. Go and visit.

    In three sentences

    Awesome professors in the music department. One to one attention in the education major and music performance majors. Helpful to those who want to double major.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Campus police is always just a call away. I also like how they sit in the resident parking lot to make sure the cars are not being vandalized.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Everyone seems to get along pretty well.

    Bang for the buck

    Rhode Island College is definitely cheaper then most colleges around, especially if you live in the same state. Even though we are a cheaper college our classes are just as challenging and just as good as a school that say costs around 50 grand a year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not to bad. The quality of the food could go up. I also wish there were more options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. Some residents can get a little loud so going to the library becomes necessary. Sometime the dorm building rooms can be a little strict.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good here. The classes are challenging. Most of the professors are good but you will occasionally get a professor that is not very enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is a great college. There are a lot of friendly people here. It also has a good nursing program.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many trips that they offer from trips to NYC to trips to go tubing!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and go on many of the trips that they host!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask for help and explanations in case you are confused. Everyone helps!

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is such a great and affordable college, you'll feel so at home here. Everyone smiles at you when you are walking to class and classes are the perfect size. Even the professors are super helpful and actually care about you.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many Student Activities and trips.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in student activities to have a better college experience.

    In three sentences

    Has excellent resources and professors that are dedicated to spend time with the student and teach material.

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been a lot of debate at Rhode Island College as to whether or not the campus police should be armed. After much voting and debating it was decided that they will remain unarmed. The location of campus is within a nice town, off from the city, which is very good. However, there is no security, anyone can walk onto campus at anytime. This makes me a little uncomfortable, but I have not had any dangerous or threatening situations. Campus police are always driving around, making sure students are not breaking any dry campus rules.

    Greek Life

    I am personally a part of the Greek Life ,and I love it so much! There are only three sororities and two fraternities, so the small community makes it easy to get to know everyone. The Greek Life works really hard at making sure we all connect with each other, and to non Greeks on campus. Also, community service, and philanthropies are our number one goal. Hazing is absolutely not tolerated at Rhode Island College. Before anyone can join there are mandatory classes, and actives they must participate in that educate on the dangers of hazing, and drinking. I hope to see the Greek Community grow throughout the years.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has so many clubs and activities, and if they do not have one the interests you it is easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    If you live in New England, and don't want to be far from home, this school is located in the perfect place.Most of the students are commuters, and live in all parts of Rhode Island. The overall population is not large, and the campus size is small and easy to figure out. If going off to college may overwhelm you, this campus will help ease you in. Students that want to take their degrees further into a Masters, this school offers many Majors with Master Programs, and is great at connecting students to other schools for the program they need.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is on the less expensive end, and has great academic programs. Students come from all over the States to apply for the nursing and teacher programs. The cost was one of the reasons I choose this college, I am from Connecticut, and an in-between tuition is available for students that live in Massachusetts or Connecticut.

    What to do for fun

    On campus it is easy to find something to do. Throughout the year there were activities taken place on the Quad, so many organizations and clubs are able to reach out to the students and put on events for everyone. The school has had concerts, presentations, sports games, and DJ's to entertain us. Also, if you live on campus, Downtown Providence is very close, and full of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I would have to say the food is my least favorite part of living at RIC. The food is mostly unhealthy, and served in extremely large portions. The meal plan does give me more than enough money for food each day, which is good. There are a lot of choices, but not any healthy ones. The salad bar is hardly fresh, and doesn't have much variety.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Weber my first year, I will admit it was a bit run down, and crowded. Overall, the people I lived with helped me make the most of it all. Making friends with your suite mates, and RA's is extremely important. I became so close with some of the girls I lived with, we are moving into New Hall together this Fall , and we are so excited. The RA's do their job of making sure no students are drinking or doing drugs on the property, and that everyone gets into their room safely at any and all hours. Also Weber Hall was really good at putting together activities, like movies, snacks, presentations, game nights. There was always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor is different, some are more laid back than others. I do feel I can always reach out to OASIS for homework and essay writing guidance. College students always feel overwhelmed with work to accomplish, but you do what you can to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check your email. Don't be afraid to reach out and join a club or organization. Start building a relationship with your adviser.

    In three sentences

    Rhode Island College is in a perfect location. This school has a very diverse community, and embraces differences. Lastly, Rhode Island College has clubs and activities for everyone.