Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Richard Bland College of the College of William and Mary Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Richard Bland is good for students who want to go to a school where the teachers care about your success. Richard Bland is also great for students who do not have the money to go to the four year schools. I suggest attending Richard Bland and saving yourself a lot of money. If you are nervous about attending, Richard Bland would be a great stepping stone. The work load is not as bad as it will be at a four year school. It is a great medium between high school and a four year program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time at Richard Bland seriously. My biggest regret was not studying or reading the material before classes. I did not need to study or read the books the teachers requested. I was comfortable enough reading my lecture notes and getting A's and B's on my tests and in all my courses. Now I feel unprepared for the workload at my four year institution. I found the Science classes to be the most difficult. Students will need to be prepared to have a full load of work if they take Science classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Richard Bland is a Junior College, it is relatively cheap. I was able to save a lot of money by going here my first two years. I received the same education as someone would at a four year school. I even received my Associates Degree for completing my two years here.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, I enjoyed my time at Richard Bland. I felt like the teachers honestly cared about my success, which you are not able to find at most schools. I was not just a number in the classroom. Many teachers took the time to learn my name. When I pass a former teacher on campus, they speak and address me by name. That meant a lot to me.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a Liberal Arts school, so students are able to get a background in a lot of different classes. There are a lot of interesting classes, and I believe there is something for everyone. I learned a lot about a lot of different topics during my two years here.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an onsite Police Department and there are alarms systems on Campus so if you are faced with an emergency you can pull the alarm and the Police Department will swiftly come down the street and will be there for you rescue

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club literally for everybody ! My favorite out of all the clubs will have to be RBC Campus Ministries :)

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student lounges where you can chill out and relax and study ! Which i have learned it to be a really relaxing environment personally.

    Food and Dining

    I personally really like the food.

    Dorm Life

    From what i hear, because i do not live in dorms, i am a commuter student, that the dorms are really nice, they are apartment style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are amazing! They take the time to make sure you understand the material that is being put out. Also, alot of professors are really nice and funny!

    Tips for prospective students

    My Tips for prospective Students is to get involved! Because it is a smaller College it is easier to meet people, But to actually really enjoy it, it will be amazing to get involved in intramural sports and clubs.

    In three sentences

    Richard Bland College is an amazing beginner step for individuals who are seeking to transfer to a 4 year institution. It well prepares you for the bigger and better scenes of an 4 year University. I am really glad that i had the chance of experiencing this outstanding College.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I am a second year student at Richard Bland College. It is known for being the transfer school, therefore; students attend there in hopes of transferring to a four-year university. I highly recommend students who know exactly what they want to do and who are focused to attend Richard Bland. Otherwise, you'll find out sooner than later that you are wasting some of your valuable time. I say this because I see students who think that by taking minimum hours of credits per semester they could get their associates and move on. That is not the case here, sometimes you may have to take 19 credit hours in order to meet the minimum requirement. Also, when you register for classes, make sure to double check with the university you want to attend to see if the credits not only transfer but transfer in your field of study. If you take it a bit more seriously and follow up on it, I think Richard Bland College could teach you a lot, save you money and better prepare you for the future

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student with an undecided major, and willing to learn, study & work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college RBC is within a great price range. You learn the same curriculum as you would a 4year university but it is way cheaper!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, do campus activities and join clubs

    Food and Dining

    The dorms has a kitchen so you can cook your own food

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for future students -Has a good dormitory -Willing to help -Awesome teachers -Small classroom so you can have one on one with the teachers

    In three sentences

    Richard Bland College of William and Mary is an awesome college. The faculty and staff are willing to work with you and make sure you understand the concept of what you are learning. Nevertheless, RBC has excellent programs to study

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is quite safe, especially since it is small and there are cool cops who will assist you if you feel uncomfortable. Also, there are emergency telephone poles all over the campus, so do not hesitate to use if you feel threatened.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is not a Greek Life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are fun and exciting, especially if your bored on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are undecided about their major as well as students who have already decided on their major. It is also great for students to get a good feeling as to what college is like and what to expect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dorms are located away from the classroom buildings, which I would suggest incoming students to start walking to classes ahead of time depending on which building your class is in to give you time to find your class.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is affordable, but the prices on food and books can be steep/expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Some people throw parties within the dorms, which can be fun sometimes. There's also other club related activities to get involved in at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, especially, the desserts.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't really experienced the dorm life, but from visiting friends within the dorms. The dorm life is fun and interesting. Also, you can have your own privacy within your room away from your other roommates, which is great.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a great academic curriculum with professors who are dedicate to what they know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Study Study. You can easily get left behind if you do not attend some classes. Also, ask questions or partner up with someone who is doing well in the class if you are struggling in the class. In addition, even though, it is a community college and not a four-year do not procrastinate because you can easily get on suspension for carrying bad grades.

    In three sentences

    This school was okay. I had a good learning experience. The school is pretty decent.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Onsite police, they are always their to help at all hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have Men and women basketball and soccer team, as well as intramural.

    What to do for fun

    Their are many volunteering opportunities you can accommodate of. Their is also and shuttle type vehicle that will take you to the South Park Mall or Walmart at the designated times.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is very good, but it is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderful. Your own room and you share a bathroom with no more than one other person.

    Academic Rigor

    Its amazing. The classes are just the right size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a small school but do not underestimate it. Check it out!

    In three sentences

    Richard Bland College of William and Mary is a beautiful school and I believe this college will help me achieve my long term goals. On a scale 1-10 I give this school a 8. I rated this school the way I did because everyone is very helpful and the environment just makes me want to stay as well as come back.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with influential professors.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is tennis, basketball, weightroom, track, and more. The school is located right outside of town so within fifteen minutes you can be at the mall and local restaraunts.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is small, but intimate. All of the staff is friendly and get to know you. Food is made to order and is reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to stay on top of all course work and read for classes. The professors here do assign work, but it isn't too much to manage. As long as you manage your time wisely you should do well. I worked two jobs, cheered on two teams, traveled, and made Dean's List. It is possible for you too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here!!!!!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Richard Bland is one of Virginia's best kept secrets! The faculty really wants to see you succeed and do everything they can to help you get further along. It is worth it to come here because you create lifelong friendships and connections.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe on campus, however there needs to be more lighting put outside, because it is pretty dark around campus at night time.

    What to do for fun

    Not really much!

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafe is quite expensive, however each dorm has a kitchen so most students tend to cook meals.

    Dorm Life

    Nice Apartment style dorms!

    In three sentences

    Overall Richard Bland College is a great school. Here you are more than just a number, but teachers actually know you by your name. Also it is very affordable.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who afraid to go to a big school

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs and organizations on campus. But honestly its in the woods so there really isn't a lot to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for your classes earlier, as they do get filled early, especially for the popular teachers. Take a extra class in case you drop one, that way it don't effect your financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Richard Bland college is good for students that don't feel they are ready for a four year university. It helps you get the feeling of the curriculum and how college courses are instructed . Great beginning for your college career.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus as a whole is very safe. I've had to walk from one side of campus to the other in the middle of the night with no problems. There could be a few more lights along the path, but there are several policemen that are on duty for most of the day. The police that work on campus are extremely friendly and like it when students interact with them.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek Life available on campus would be Phi Theta Kappa. The Chapter is trying to get more well established within the school, but the majority of students don't really care for it. There are really only about 20 members, which is very small. There may be more now, however. When I left, they had just started getting to where they could run fundraisers and such for causes that they felt were important and had some success with that with sending toys to Africa, as well as raising several hundred dollars for breast cancer awareness.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I mentioned before, they have bowling, volleyball, and basketball intramural sports, but that is really it. There are a few festivals or events that occur almost at random in which you can get some burgers and hot dogs for free. A couple of times a year, there is an ice-cream break day, to where you can get some pizza and desert to relax while you study for exams. However, there is much to be desired as far as competing with other schools. There is not a whole lot there at the moment.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say that it is best for Sociology and Psychology majors as there are some very top notch professors in those areas that teach at the college. You definitely need to be well disciplined, and adept at identifying who to hang around with and who to avoid. There are a group of students that graduate the college in two years, and there are a massive majority that don't. If you are a hard worker, and you enjoy a challenge, especially with going against the masses, then you will excel at this college. The Professors notice who works hard, and will work just as hard as you to help you make it through.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I did not attend this, so take this with a grain of salt: There was an annual Halloween scare trail that went through the forest that is adjoining RBC and I have heard it was rather unnerving.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very cheap for what you get when you walk out: an associates with your name on it. It gives you a good start for when you go to your four year. The McNeer building is almost brand new and is a state-of-the-art technology and is wonderful to take classes in.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a full size basketball court, and there is an intramural team that practices frequently. There is also a volleyball team, and a couple of new and well-built tennis courts. You might have to bring a few friends with you to the tennis courts, however. There are a couple of times a week that you might be able to get a soccer game going in the football field, though it probably wouldn't be extremely competitive. If you are really looking for a consistent outing, then it would be the bowling team. They meet once a week for 2 games and its about fifty cents per game. It's a great way to meet people that attend different classes than you, as well as a chance to spend time with a professor or two in a non-academic environment, which is very entertaining. Colonial Heights is just down the road and has a movie theater, a mall, laser tag, etc. That will probably be your best bet if you want to get away without driving more than about thirty minutes one-way. There are also several groups of friends that have set up a tradition of trading card and D&D style games. If you can be lucky enough to get your hands on the remote first, there is a fifty inch widescreen surrounded by a giant lounge couch in one of the buildings and is good for a little bit of down time when your brain has taken a vacation.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite good for having it on occasion, however I do not recommend getting it on a regular basis. It's kind of like having a McDonalds that serves all sorts of food: not just nuggets, salad, and burgers. While that is alright when there are still items on the menu that you haven't tried yet, once you have tried them all, it isn't quite as tasty. The pricing on certain items are ridiculous, while others are steals. If you are on a budget, it would probably be best that you avoid the chicken tenders. It's easy to spend 7, 8, 9 bucks before you blink when you order them. The deserts are decently priced as far as the cakes go. They have several types available daily and they rotate, so there is variety. It's about a buck fifty for a nice sized portion cake that tastes delicious. I suppose that, if for nothing else, it's a good place to get your sugar rush to reward yourself for making it through your hardest class without complaining. One good comment: The book store has sales every once in a while that are ridiculous for items such as poptarts, campbell's soup (the mini containers), etc. I picked up 2 boxes of poptarts for around a dollar including tax one time. (The same ones that you would spend 4 dollars for at the grocery store) There are a couple of fast food places three miles down the road, and you will often see people make an emergency run to arby's or taco bell, or even bojangles

    Dorm Life

    I can't evaluate what the dorm life is like accurately, as I was a commuter student, so I will refrain. However, they do have two relatively new buildings and I hear the insides are nice. There are also more plans to expand the amount of available dorms for students.

    Academic Rigor

    This is largely dependent on the type of classes that you take. There are easy professors and there are hard professors. Something to keep in mind with this school, is that if you really want to learn the most, is that you do need to pick your professors carefully. I took a heavy amount of math and science classes. There are times where the math classes (the upper level courses) do not get all the way through the curriculum and so you have to study more on your own to be properly prepared for the next school. However, if you are planning on taking University Physics, you will have no problem getting through the whole book. It is a great class to take if you have the mathematical skills to get through it. There are some very good social science professors as well as language professors that will help you learn as much as possible. Most of the good professors have a strong passion for teaching students and love it when a student wants extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research and have a major in mind already before you start applying for classes. They have a relatively few amount of professors that can teach certain higher level courses, especially in math, physics, and chemistry, so it would be in your best interest to plan your courses around those classes. Linear Algebra and Multivariable Calculus aren't held every year, so this is also needed into consideration when applying. You may have to take a one-on-one course as needed for you math and science majors out there. Don't get me wrong: the professors that work there in the math and science departments are very excellent. It's not due to anything on their part. The school just needs more professors. I do recommend that you bring a cup of coffee or even a soda to class if you are even the slightest bit tired, if your professor allows you to. There are some rooms in both buildings that they are at just the right temperature to put you to sleep instantaneously. If you dislike rushing from one spot to the next: do not take classes that are right after each other in different buildings if you can help it.The distance is probably about half a mile, and with the weather either being blistering hot, or frozen solid with wind gusts, it's going to be a long half mile. I recommend that you find a buddy that has a car if you want to go places, as there isn't much you can ride your bike to safely, or at the very least, without a great deal of effort.

    In three sentences

    Richard Bland College has an extremely helpful staff, and there are several very talented professors at the school. The best part about the college is probably the low cost for tuition, as you can take some basic courses that will help you along your way. There are some good opportunities for relaxing in between classes, and overall, it is a good experience.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is not particularly great at all. I have not seen one cop that could walk up a flight of stair without being winded. I would like to ensure that my safety is their priority, but it can't be because they are all extremely over weight. Since Richard Bland is in the middle of no where I often think that someone could easily harm me at night. If this happened the campus police couldn't do anything about it but report it to someone because they aren't even around the student village most of the time. If someone had a gun and needed to be chased there is no way they could catch. It makes me very nervous that RBC does not have in shape police men to ensure my safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only thing to do at Richard Bland since it is a rather small campus is attend the basketball games. If you don't play a sport it is extremely boring when living on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Richard Bland is great for someone who didn't do so hot in high school. It's a great pre-college that helps you bring your grades up.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are fairly cheap because it is a junior college, however if you live on campus it will hurt your wallet EXTREMELY. The dorms are nice but I really don't think that are worth how much they cost.

    What to do for fun

    Literally NOTHING.

    Food and Dining

    The food is to your own desire. I really don't go.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is rather boring there is nothing to do at all. People often go home any chance they get because it's so boring. The dorms are nice. They have 4 bedrooms in some. The capacity of a 4 bedroom is 6. It comes with a fridge, washer dryer, and dishwasher.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teachers and they really help you learn the material. If you need help anytime, send them an email and they with send back immediately. I can't say anything truly wrong with the teaching staff of the school.

    In three sentences

    Richard is great for classes only. The residence life is really boring and cost a ton. The campus police do not ensure safety. If you have good grades and the money to go somewhere else, please do.

  • 07/31/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at RBC was awesome until they changed venues BUTT! Yes a huge but, the restaurants that neighbor the campus are so good and cheap. They range from Jamacian, Asian, American diner, Irish and German joints, Italian, Soul food you name it.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak from experience from majoring in the Associates of Science degree. The classes range from easy, hard, and depressing. You could take four classes whose workload keeps you mildly busy or you can take one class that you will sleep, eat, and breath for that whole semester. RBC is not a college you can slack off on you will learn quickly that failing means you lose money and when it's your money and time it matters.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that will prepare you for a four-year institution RBC is the college for you. It's definitely an eye-opener for new high school graduates and I would know advise you to do your own research and not rely solely on the word of others; information is power, time, and money when your collecting debt.

    In three sentences

    RBC is an awesome school for people to test out the college experience without breaking the bank. I enjoyed my two- years at RBC, and despite the small campus the school has big personalities. I got a great quality of professors especially in the science department.