Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Richland College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like friendly, more personal teachers. Students who like a college atmosphere with a mixture of other students. Students who want the same education that you would get spending $6,000-$20,000/semester for $500.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early and make sure you have a plan of what you are doing because there is nothing worse than having to wait a semester to take a class you could have been enrolled in 2 weeks earlier.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are worth the cost because the teacher's seem to be more personal than what I have heard. Plus, the price only $123/class unless you are taking a 4 credit class.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at Richland is just like a 4yr university. People enjoy being there and hanging out with people they don't know. The outside of the college is very nice and open. Inside provides signs and maps and chairs everywhere.

    Am learning a lot

    The teacher's at Richland are usually great. I've had only 1 or 2 that weren't great. But almost all of them have been great.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to take their core classes, students who just do not know what university they want to attend, or anyone that just wants to get a good education at an affordable price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! During Richland's enrollment the campus gets packed with students new and old. Try and register for classes online but its always good to visit the Richland's advising office for any questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are cheap, and there are financial aid offices always willing to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Richland Student community is very helpful and there are many clubs and societies anyone can join or start your own. The college is very diverse and anyone can fit in really well.

    Am learning a lot

    All the classes I have taken covered all the required material for each subject and the instructors made the course work fun and easy to absorb.

  • 05/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to learn in a small size class by getting the full attention of the instructors will definitely choose this college.

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for everyone. I have met people from France, Columbia, Vietnam, etc. fellow classmates and teachers. It's diverse in so many ways that anyone could fit in as much or as little as they want. There are so many school activities and clubs around, there's something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! When you have a test coming up there are no test reviews, it's completely up to you to know all the material. Manage your time effectively. I struggle with this still, it's easy to procrastinate in high school, but college teacher could care less. learn to manage time now while you have time to correct your mistakes. Ask questions whether in class, after class, by e-mail whatever, just ask them!

    Bang for the buck

    The prices here are amazing, and I was so amazed that the fall ( I had 13 hours) and spring (I had 14 hours) totaled to less than $2200, required supplies included! Compared to the 20-30 thousand my friends are paying at major universities to take the same classes, for now, I feel like I stole my education so far. Trust me you'll love the prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this campus. I decided to enroll at Richland before I had ever seen the campus and when I went to enroll I fell in love with it. There's a creek that runs the length of the campus lined with trees and benches to sit and enjoy a nice day. Other than not having a room there I totally felt like I was on a university campus. Everyone is friendly, minus those few people who still haven't left high school in the past. It's just a welcoming campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I never realized how unhelpful high school teacher were. They really just taught to the TAKS test. At Richland the teachers took time to explain themselves if anyone was confused. They told stories to help the class relate things to real life, and some even did current event discussions at the beginning of every class. They encourage questions, and make sure you know that no question is a dumb question. These teachers really know their stuff. Most of them are older so the are expert enough to answer almost any questions. My only bad teachers were the ones who tried to flaunt their knowledge instead of simply teaching.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much!

    Food and Dining

    Subway?

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Just talk to the counselors they are pretty great

    In three sentences

    It is a college with an awesome atmosphere. They have awesome professors willing to teach you with patience. The campus has an amazing tutoring center.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First generation college students/ Students coming from obtaining a GED

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of tutoring centers wherever you choose to go. Also do not wait until you're far behind to get help, if you don't understand get help then rather than waiting three weeks.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is moderately inexpensive, it's a less expensive way to get a quality education that will carry on to where you may go in the future. I know if you work hard and gain admittance into Phi Theta Kappa, the international junior college honour society, that if you are a very active member you have a chance to gain a full ride to Southern Methodist University.

    Am enjoying being here

    Richland encompasses many social activities and clubs. The SGA has events frequently, as well as many other clubs. The campus is beautiful, and you can stop in and see free open to the public performances.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Richland want you to succeed. They offer office hours, and the campus itself has tutoring centers for whatever you may need help with. It's a great place to begin your college education.

  • 09/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students that dont have a major yet, transfer students, and if you dont have much money.

    Bang for the buck

    you get to save a lot of money!

    Am learning a lot

    most teachers are good that want to help students learn

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I say that you will have to forced to take remedial classed or richland courses designed for their school, that sucks. Also financial aid will be slow and never on time and be careful they will call the police on you.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For all motivated students and really focused individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can only achieve if you strive. In saying that Focus, Motivation, and lot of studying will get you far. Its always the people we know and people around us that we take to notice that will help lead the way, make us become stronger, and more aware of our selves.

    Bang for the buck

    I dont understand what bang for the buck means but I do know it involves money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do love Richland College and have been wanting to come to this school since I was in 7Th grade. It has a very relaxing scenery and very friendly students on campus. EVerybody is really helpful in classes and on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, Richland professors give you a one on one understanding. I learn new things everyday. Taking in alot of valueable information and knowledge I can use on a everyday bases.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    my last class ends at 11:30pm so safety was a major concern for me. i constantly see richland's security patroling the campus and the parking lights are well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    serious about learning in a relaxed atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    richland's campus is big but easy to get around. i love the pond and my walk to and fro to classes.

    What to do for fun

    richland college has a very nice running/walking trail. enjoy!

    Academic Rigor

    i am a single mother of two teenage boys who keep me very busy along with a very demanding job as a flight attendant. this job has varied schedules that i have to constantly rearrange to fit my schedule with school. very challenging to say the least.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused and keep your eye on your goals.

    In three sentences

    a great college. i attended richland college directly out of high school in 1985, got sidetrack with marriage and starting a family, and now i am back. it is still the great professional college it was in 1985.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's pretty cheap, comparatively. textbooks are expensive though. rentals are available for cheap.

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    there is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes i've taken haven't been too hard. i think it depends on the selections you make.

    Tips for prospective students

    figure out what classes you want to take before going to advising.

    In three sentences

    richland has a beautiful campus. many of the professors are helpful. online components to classes are frequently used.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have a small gym, track, swimming pool, and tennis courts. it is always fun to go out to the tennis courts on a nice day and get some exercise.

    Food and Dining

    they have a healthy option for students to eat lunch. they have a subway that has great affordable prices and satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms for richland, but they have safe apartments near by with a efficient bus services.

    Academic Rigor

    if you pay attention, attend class, and listen to your professor, you can excel in even your weakest subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    never procrastinate on any assignments, studying, and projects. always keep go to class and keep up with work.

    In three sentences

    the teachers at richland are helpful, understanding, and intelligent. they have wonderful tactics to help the students better understand information. they are clear and straightforward on their assignments.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    completely safe there is always cops around and on campus making sure the students are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many clubs to be a part of which is also great for meeting people on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    people actually dress up for halloween and have contests.

    What to do for fun

    feeding the turtles is my favorite thing to do there, but they have events that go on which are also fun.

    Food and Dining

    i'm not a fan of subway, but if you're into it i guess. their cafe is great delicious hot chocolate during those winter mornings.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    always carry a planner

    In three sentences

    it is very multicultural which is wonderful. everyone is so nice. great learning and on point instructors.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops and police officers are really friendly. I always feel safe at school.

    What to do for fun

    Typically in between classes I enjoy the outdoor scenery of the pond and the squirrels running around. There are a variety of activites going on throughout the day whether that be college visits, career fairs, costume contests, music recitals/ensembles, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Richland only has Subway and the school's coffee shop/cafe. Subway promotes healthiness.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but there are apartments across the street that many students reside in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many people think that because Richland is a community college, the classes aren't dense and difficult compared to univerisities; they believe they can still slack and procrastinate. That is not true, community college classes still require lots of studying time if you are striving to make a great impression through your grades. Continue to find something that inspires and motivates you as a person in general.

    In three sentences

    Richland is a great community college for those who either want to get their basic classes out the way before transferring to a four year university. The classes are small which allow the professors to relate and understand students easier. Last but not least, tuition is a lot cheaper than many other colleges.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend cheap school then it would be Richland.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is affordable school. The school is very nice and people are friendly. I like it so much.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have signs up everywhere if there is a possible danger in the area, such as electrical or water.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Debate is a great program.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to work and stay close to home for a couple years or are looking to further your education some more, Richland is a great place with a friendly staff and professors who are looking out for your best interests at heart. Richland is the place to go!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of places to study with couches and lounge areas which is really neat if you have a couple hours in between classes and want to save some gas money.

    Bang for the buck

    600$ for a semester. You can't argue those prices for a college education.

    What to do for fun

    Debate, Recreation sports such as volleyball, basketball, baseball, etc. Anything that you are interested in there is most likely some sort of program for you at Richland.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is the only place I have tried and it is good!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Richland.

    Academic Rigor

    It is like high school in the classes aspect although when it comes to the mind set of the professors, they are expecting top quality work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study, Richland is just like a 4 year university. Don't let anyone tell you it is a blow off.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is a great school for those looking to further there education while staying local. Richland has many wonderful programs to assist you as a student and look to better each and every student who comes through there doors. Without Richland, many students would not be able to further there education and become better prepared members of our country.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is patrolled and protected by City of Dallas Police force

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE, returning to college, non-traditional students, adults, working students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Only campus with thunderducks as their mascot!

    What to do for fun

    Join an organization that supports people involved in your major!

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY!

    In three sentences

    Richland makes learning on a budget and with limited time easy. Application, registration, payment and attendance is made more productive with online resources and helpful advisors that guide you every step of the way. Once you're involved in coursework online, their seasoned online professors will help you earn important college credits until you're ready to transfer to a phsyical classroom.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes, they think they know the law! but great to have them on campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't think we have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Soccer, basketball, baseball, student council, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    You'll have more bang for the buck! by the time you decide to transfer, you'll have saved a LOT of money!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, organizations, hang out with friends, etc

    Food and Dining

    There's the campus bookstore & subway!

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so why dorm life?

    Academic Rigor

    Professors DO care about your success. It's up to you if you want to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply before semester begins. Don't wait until the week before semester starts because people are trying to sign up for classes and it takes a while, literally, takes 3+ hours!!

    In three sentences

    A great place to start your college quest, also a great place to meet new friends from around the world.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The office of student life provides all students with many organizations to join. Each organization creates their own events and are very entertaining-from paintball fights to dance showcases and more. During holidays-like Halloween- there are competitions for best costume too.

    Food and Dining

    The college cafeteria is a great social and study environment. Their is also a campus initiated cafe called Jittery Joe's, which has splendid energetic drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Richland College is a community college, therefore it has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Their faculty is filled with many graduates from the University of Texas, Southern Methodist University, and the campus is an Exemplary Ranked College. An A is achievable if proven to be deserved. To gain an A both the professor and student must do their part; Richland professors do theirs. Therefore it is up to each individual student to do theirs by studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because Richland College is a community college, it does not imply that it is easy. Without the dedication to learn and study, your journey will be difficult. Always turn in your assignments on time in order to earn as many points as possible.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is a great opportunity for a higher education. The professors have time to know each of their students; the faculty is very amicable. Overall, the education learned here is at the expectations of prestige universities.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is patrolled by campus police on an hourly basis. I have never felt unsafe on the campus.

    Greek Life

    We have greek life which focus mainly on certain subjects taught.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs on campus are a little dull due to a lack of originality but other than that, most of the activities on campus are amazing because of the free food and entertainment.

    Great for these types of students

    Richland is a great campus for all types of students. Every year we get new multicultural students and high school students which adds to the diversity on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the greatest places to hang out on the Richland campus is the science building Sabine, the cafeteria in Crockett, and the multimedia lab upstairs in Thunderduck.

    Bang for the buck

    Richland is an affordable way to attend school. Pell grant, granted you qualify, will cover your tuition all the way through if you are a resident.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities throughout the semester students can attend at Richland College. I have personally been to the Ducktober fest and the Multi-cultural festival. The activities at Richland College are accompanied with free food and a market which sells jewelry, statues, or clothing from different cultures.

    Food and Dining

    On the campus, Richland has a subway and a place called Jittery Joes which serves coffee, smoothies, and other drinks and snacks. If those aren't choices you want on a day to day basis, then you are more than welcome to visit a place called burger island off of walnut and abrams, or McDonalds, Whataburger, or Varsity Grill.

    Dorm Life

    Richland unfortunately does not have dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but are not unrealistically difficult. On top of that, the available tutors at the school will assist you in any issues you have with the coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest all high school seniors and adults who are returning to college after a hiatus to attend Richland College. The professors have worked in the fields they are teaching and are willing to help all students to understand the material.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is a diverse community of students and faculty who are working to achieve a common goal of obtaining knowledge and using that knowledge out in the day to day world.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Richland is a great and safe campus. Richland has police officers patrolling the campus roads to protect the safety of students and professors. Richland is also a smoke free campus, and smoke free zones for students to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Richland has many clubs for students to be a part of. These clubs vary widely from religious clubs to academic clubs. Richland has an honor society to acknowledge the students who strive to work hard academically. Clubs are also home to students who transfer from another country and wish to be with languages and a culture familiar to them. Richland is a great campus to share and learn with other people with similar interests.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who work to support families and their education, Richland is a great school to attend. Richland offers great and knowledgeable classes for students who find themselves working and with a family to support. Teachers work with students to help with unforeseen problems and graduate on time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Richland is a very culturally diverse school and many students who have lived throughout the world attend. To show the fight for peace in the world, Richland has a Peace Pole Ceremony to share their love for peace in many languages throughout the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Richland is definitely a money saving campus. While University tuition can range in the thousands, a full-time student course load will stay under one thousand, saving thousands of dollars on tuition. Professors with a minimum of a masterâ??s degree teach at Richland, many who have taught at the university level. Richland is a great place to learn, while saving thousands of dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Richland offers many student activities for college students to attend. It is home to many organizations, including ethnic organizations, and the local honor society. Richland has ceremonies and cultural events for the students to enjoy. Richland offers free food and fun activities for students to attend while waiting for their classes to start, or take a break from studying.

    Food and Dining

    Richland offers snacks and food for those who want a quick bite. For mornings, Richland has a café to offer students their caffeine and get through the long morning hours. The café also offers muffins, sandwiches, and other things to satisfy those cravings. Richland offers Subway sandwiches for students looking to eat healthy while studying or chatting with friends. If that is not enough, Richland also has a convenience store to enjoy candy or drinks.

    Dorm Life

    Richland is part of the Dallas Community County Community College District, so I did not have to drive miles and miles to attend the campus. If Richland is not as close as students would like, there are several other campuses throughout the county, even offering online courses for convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Richland have professors who know exactly what they are talking about. I had a professor who taught the same course at SMU, and was very passionate about what he taught his students. His experience reflected my grades. While he made the class fun, I found it easy to earn the grades I worked hard for. Other professors who worked hard to teach their students made classes a great learning experience and easy to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Richland Community College provides classes at the university level at affordable prices. If students are unsure about attending a university, I encourage them to attend Richland to find classes suitable to their taste.

    In three sentences

    Richland is a wonderful campus for those looking for a great education and an absolutely great price, with flexible times. Professors are wonderful, knowledgeable, and very helpful in helping students with any problems students encounter. Richland prepares students with for an associateâ??s degree and to transfer and expand their knowledge at a 4-year institution of higher learning.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are lots of clubs you can join and also a workout/gym area that always has students filling it up.

    Food and Dining

    the only actual food place on campus is subway but they have vending machines and a coffee shop on the campus as well. there are lots of places to eat off campus as well as long as you dont mind a little drive and have enough time in between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to advisers before you apply to the school and visit the school beforehand so you know what to expect. make sure you have all your paperwork when you go to the school and check the online college website it has lots of tips on what you need. if anything else always make sure you find out the best times to go up to the college if you are applying for anything or needing to speak to an adviser otherwise you may be waiting in a very long line.

    In three sentences

    the campus is very well taken care of and neat with lots of places to study and work on projects. For the most part everyone is helpful and good at answering questions. The buildings are spread apart pretty far and it is hard to see what buildings are which unless you have a campus map with you.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Subway and a coffee shop, that's it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on cmapus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult, a good adjustment form high school, just do some research on your professors beforehand.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Discussion based learners, science students, people with a job or two.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some event or another going on. Check out the library, it's amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as early as possible. Make sure you get your parking sticker early! Use ratemyprofessors.com before picking a professor!

    In three sentences

    Richland has an amazing faculty. There are long lines in enrolling for classes in your first semester but you can do everything online after the first time. Richland has an awesome campus with lots to do!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Monitor a blog

    Food and Dining

    There's only Subway.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Real easy to get assistance with tutoring.

    In three sentences

    I believe Richland College has the best source for allowing students to retake a class if their not satisfied with their grade. On a scale of 1-5 Richland College can get 5. Also, when you need assistance they really make sure you get the help in to go to the next level.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs one can join and activities to do. Also many sports like soccer and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is the only available restaurant on campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's like any school. You have good and bad professors but classes in general are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask teachers about books you're really going to need in class because sometimes they have book on the syllabus that one doesn't really use in class.

    In three sentences

    Great professors! Cheap credit hour cost! Small classes!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    average

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to count.

    Great for these types of students

    none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    It's fine.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, except studying.

    Food and Dining

    None.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    none needed.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is an adequate college with a thoughtful teachers. The professors want their students to pass the class. It's a great community college.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always enroll early because if you do it at the last minute you might not find the classes that fit your schedule.

    In three sentences

    The advisors are very helpful there. They sure do help you when you need help. Of what I've heard the advisor this is the only college in Dallas that transfers all of your classes to when you go to an university.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, but just like any other campus that you may attend if taking a night class it is suggested that you walk with a friend when going to your car or ect.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a basketball team and a soccer team. They have many academic clubs, health clubs, and many more. Theres always different festivities going on during the year.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any student who wants to transfer to a university or even someone who just wants to go back and finish their educations. Richland College is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A good place to hang out would be in Sabine Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    You will save a lot of money once you have transferred to the University you want to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Richland College has a tennis court, a big soccer field and they have a nice trail to walk on.

    Food and Dining

    The only restaurant they have is Subway

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorm Life

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sign up for classes early, so you can get good teachers and good timings.

    In three sentences

    Richland College has a helpful teaching staff. At Richland college it is very easy to find your classes and sign up for classes. Richland college is very helpful when wanting to transfer to university.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's the best community college in the Dallas District.

    What to do for fun

    Richland has ongoing extra activities happening throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    There's only a Subway on campus, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby (it's between Garland and Richardson).

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are fair and approachable. Be sure to look up the good ones on ratemyprofessor.com.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is only a community college, develop good study habits because transferring to a 4-year university will only get harder. This is a good investment. I was initially hesitant to come here first as instead of going straight to a 4-year, but it's worth the investment.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is an outstanding institution. It received a national award out of all other community colleges. Professors are good and campus is great.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate much in campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students that are planning on transferring to a large university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not come across any.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I like Richland. It is comfortable, and the professors seem to know what they are talking about. The advisors however, are absolutely clueless.

    What to do for fun

    I like the sitting areas everywhere because, I am able to socialize with other students there.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are what I expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going toncome to Richland, you need to register early. The first semester take many different sized classes so that you can figure out which one you like best. In large classes, sit in the front.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus although, it can be difficult to navigate. I like that students can choose the class size that suits them best. I do not like the traffic in the morning. It's ridiculous.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people looking to transfer to a University.

    Bang for the buck

    Really cheap

    Food and Dining

    Just one choice... Subway

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the layout of where you are going before the first day of class

    In three sentences

    Aaron good school. I haven't been here long but it seems very professional. The campus is easy to navigate and utilize.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's a police station so that helps.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I got a free burger....?

    Bang for the buck

    Idk what that means but i know they bang my wallet each time Financial aid feels like being lazy.

    What to do for fun

    Feed the turtles, watch the lake, and attend festivals there.

    Food and Dining

    Only subway but still edible goodness

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but lots of parking

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will be there if you need them.just ask for help or else they won't know!

    In three sentences

    Has the best loving teachers, that will help you succeed. They want to be your friend and trust you the first day you enter the class. Aren't there to try to make you fail!

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on campus, and there are call boxes all ver campus to get an officers to your location in a short amount of time.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everyone, you can even create your own.

    Bang for the buck

    The food and services are pretty exspensive, but the use of computers are free as long as you have an i.d.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports and you can go to the games, there is festivals that go on at least once a month.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very limited and old.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to make sure you are disciplined and focused because your distractions in your personal life can greatly affect finishing work. It's harder to keep grades up with the fact that the professors will not scold you or punish you for not doing work its all on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep up with the work provided, whether it's due or not. If the professors offer extra credit, do it! Be on time to class because the professors will not wait on you and you will miss material. Be focused and enjoy what you are learning.

    In three sentences

    If you live in Dallas county, classes are respectively affordable. The campus is really nice and a great environment. The professors are extremely helpful and provide an excellent learning experience.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is around the clock security at Richland College and at the new student orientation, students are given campus security's phone number. Security will gladly escort a student to class or to their car if they feel unsafe and they will even jump start your car.

    Great for these types of students

    Richland is particularly ideal for a student with a part-time or full-time job, a student unsure of their major, or a student that wants to live with their parents a little bit longer.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to both private and public universities, Richland is fairly inexpensive and you will receive an excellent education from credible professors.

    What to do for fun

    Richland College offers an array of activities for every student. There are frequently fairs, plays, band concerts, dance performances, choir recitals, and a variety of community service opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe as well as a Subway at Richland College.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing offered at Richland College.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses I have taken at Richland have been intellectually stimulating and as long as you keep up with the coursework you have a good chance at earning an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest visiting ratemyprofessor.com before registering for classes at Richland so you can find a professor that best fits your academic needs. Attending Richland's new student orientation (OAR) will be very helpful for a prospective student.

    In three sentences

    Richland College has a lovely campus located in Dallas, TX. My particular professors have been very professional and always lend a helping hand when needed. The range of courses offered at Richland College makes this particular school a wonderful option for almost any student.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on the look out. There are also many emergency buttons across campus for any incident that might occur.

    Greek Life

    This institution is a two year college so there aren't any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Richland offers many clubs and if they don't have what you're looking for then you can create your own club if other people are interested in it as well.

    Great for these types of students

    There so many different people her and everyone fits in. No one seems to not like the campus, we have a pond and benches for people who like the outdoors and for people who like to work out there's also a gym.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they have a duck fest in which they have free food and mechanical bull ride and other various activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Super inexpensive great place to continue your education.

    What to do for fun

    Me and my friends have been going paint-balling a couple of times they offer great discounts for attending school. They also offer discounted prices for the movies, six flags and for sport events like hockey and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Richland has Subway and other snack machines however after two weeks you'll get tired of it. But there's other food places near so don't worry.

    Dorm Life

    Richland is a two year college so there aren't any dorms provided. Most people live on their own or with their parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't complicated, it's doable. If you keep up with everything then you'll pass. Try not to slack off, balance work and play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy an agenda, it's so helpful and it will help you keep up with due dates and assignments. If you don't understand something don't be afraid to ask questions. Go to the Learning Center to get tutored with any assignment you may need help with. They are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Great school! Easy to adjust and it's very affordable. The administrators work with you and can assist you with any questions.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not sure that a day goes by on campus that I have not seen a campus police officer. You see their patrol cars and you see them walking and monitoring the hallways very often. Phones are readily available as well.

    Greek Life

    Not familiar with

    Clubs and Activities

    I am sure they have activities, but when it comes to my time, I am committed to getting the most out of my education and there's little to no time for extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded students who understand what they want and the benefits of a quality education that's very economical/affordable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am big on my academics and the tutoring center is a great resource for me because you can go there and not necessarily get tutoring but know that you have a resource near you in case you ever get stumped. You surround yourself with others with the same objectives, creating a semi synergy in regards to objectives of learning.

    Bang for the buck

    I am glad this school exist in Dallas. Beyond the staff and the academics, you meet people from all over the world and that's rewarding because you learn more cultures than your own.

    What to do for fun

    There are always ads on campus events so I am sure your social life will be lively.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway but would have hoped for a variety and maybe one that stays open late for those studying on campus beyond 8pm.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it 4 stars because there's always room for improvement, but overall, most of the staff are ready to support your academic endeavors and I believe they understand what you will be faced with in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply yourself and you will get the most out of this college. Staff are ready to help, you just have to make a commitment to learning and stay focused on that objective.

    In three sentences

    This school is the best science community college in Dallas. The facilities are exceptional and conducive to STEM majors. The learning centers and labs are very resourceful as well.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe.

    Great for these types of students

    If high school is easy, boring and the immaturity level of students is hard to tolerate - this program is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The program is free of tuition and books, requiring only school supplies and materials.

    What to do for fun

    I participated in Softball as well as the Annual Powder Puff flag football game.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so this is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The program is hard and requires dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for a brutal schedule the first year but stick it out because it is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Richland College has provided the opportunity to attend college as a high school student. The program allows completion of an Associates Degree as well as a High School diploma simultaneously. I am excited about the opportunity to excel beyond my peers to achieve my goals.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Richland college police officers stroll by on there golf carts every single day students are on campus and there is a phone number to call that is given to every student at orientation. Yes you will be safe and sound!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many fun clubs are available the office of student life such as yoga, newspaper, science, and all other kinds!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The office of student life is available on campus. Many different clubs are available for anybody who is interested!

    Bang for the buck

    You will learn a lot of information here at richland all for a cheap price. Tuition here is about 3 times less than any other community college in Texas and you will not be disappointed!

    What to do for fun

    Richland is about 20 min from downtown Dallas so on the weekends you can go shopping at the galleria, or maybe dine in at a lovely restaurant. Also there are athletics at richland so you can always go watch the volleyball, baseball, basketball or soccer teams! Intramural sports are also available for anybody to play.

    Food and Dining

    Only subway and a coffee shop is provided on campus, but there are food restaurants about 2 miles from the campus so you can always just go there to eat! :) Also were about 20 min from downtown Dallas!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here at this college, but there are plenty of apartment or houses close by that could be walking distance! Save gas! I live about 2 min from the school and i love it!

    Academic Rigor

    Class is very organized, and teachers are professional and are aware of what they are teaching you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't change your mind! Yeah, Richland may not be a university, but i guarantee to you that you can save at least 1,000+ dollars by attending this college first!

    In three sentences

    Richland College is a great school! Staff is extremely helpful, and they are very professional. Also the students who attend here are very nice.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police force is present on campus and there aren't many problems with safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and organizations to join on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Working or students with busy schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flash mobs happen often.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable, and credits transfer anywhere in Texas

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, join campus clubs, intramural sports and student government are just a few of the many selections

    Food and Dining

    Not many choices in terms of what to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't too hard, and the out-of class projects and assignments aren't so much that you'll be up all night trying to complete them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class, talk to professors, and always ask questions!

    In three sentences

    This school is great for students who want to be close to other students and have interactions with the professors. The classes are just challenging enough and the coursework load isn't too much. Overall Richland is a great school to go to.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the on campus police always around and emergency phones in the parking lots, as well as a well lit parking lot and campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a wide variety of clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    adult students, this is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the lake area of the school, the ducks are so cute to watch during summer and spring. The grounds are nice and they have picnic benches for you to sit and enjoy the outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth your pocket book to attend college and start somewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Many activities and events happen at this college. Many events that are posted at the school or online. They have events for every holiday, and for students.

    Food and Dining

    The location is near a neighborhood and does not offer a wide variety of restaurants. But they do have the college bookstore nearby and hwy 635 is really close to other great spots.

    Dorm Life

    This college has apartments that are nearby but they do not offer on campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The advising center is probably the most stressful part. When you first sign up for college you will spend your whole day at this center. They try to be as efficient with getting students in and out, but you have to see an advisor in person for any assistance with your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    I could not afford to start a 4 year university, and with a community college I could afford the classes on my own and still get help with financial aid. They offer payment plans for your regular semester classes, and all types of students from universities come to our college to take summer classes for their 4 year degrees. Not to mention, they have great professors. They offer so many classes and availability to suit your schedule. Online student access is the best. I love being able to sign up for my classes online and be able to view my GPA, schedule, and advising report.

    In three sentences

    It's a great start for your college career. Affordable and close to home. Great professors, campus, and college life.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coffee shop is amazing and cozy.

    What to do for fun

    I love to study by the lake. Richland also has plenty of plays and concerts that you can enjoy for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that before to apply for college you decide what you want to major in. It is helpful to have an idea of the type of classes you need to take.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is awesome. I love the atmosphere and the teachers are very attentive. I would recommend this school to anyone that is looking for a place to complete your basics.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I take online courses and work full-time.

    Food and Dining

    No food on this campus.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching staff is top notch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the DCCCD website carefully. Try getting private help the help labs are congested.

    In three sentences

    I find that the advising staff is helpful. This is one of the more moderately friendly DCCCD campuses. So far the teaching staff is awesome.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police which are on campus 24/7 and they do go around campus to see if anything goes wrong, also there are campus buttons all over campus which is like this poll and you press it and the campus go there right away.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life from what i know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs offered here i will give some which are chess,dance,bible, art, anime,etc...

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for open minded students , athletic students, art students , pretty much any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus their are a lot of flash mobs because of our dancing classes and clubs, there is a lot of students playing card games such as Yogio or some others cards. We have a turkey Trot every year.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here on campus is still way more cheaper than any university in Texas which is great because college can be very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of sports like women's soccer, men's soccer,men's basketball, women's volleyball and a lot of instrumental sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway and a coffee shop which are both really good.

    Dorm Life

    Its a community college there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a great place to start off college and most teachers are very interesting ad not boring like some university professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes early or join the TRIO program which gives you a private adviser.

    In three sentences

    This is a great campus every one on campus is willing to help with whatever you need help with. There are many programs and clubs to join so you can fit in. Many of the professors are very dictated to there jobs and help you with anything you need help with in the class.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Of the three years I've been at Richland, I do not recall any unsafe areas within the Richland campus. It seems safe and it is also a easy place to get around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many club and activities that are available to the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Richland is great for all type of students, from dual-credit students to international. Overall, many different types of students enroll in Richland yearly. Richland College is a friendly community and I feel that by having a small portion of classmates, the teachers tend to help you more when you need help rather than classes with over 100+ students.

    Bang for the buck

    The price per class is around 130, unless you have a science class with a lab, than it's usually around 170. Other than that, the classes are at a very cheap and affordable price, most teachers are great professors, and I recommend going to www.ratemyprofessors.com before taking a professor.

    What to do for fun

    During a semester, there are at least two huge events that are hosted for the students to enjoy. Such events include, halloween event, or valentine event. Most of the time it is located in El Paso hall, and during these times the students gets together, eat, and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There's only a limited choice for food within Richland. There is a coffee shop in Sabine hall way and Subway in El Paso hall way.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, I feel that if you put effort,time, and dedication in your work then you should be able to pass the class with no problem. Also, it depends on the teacher as well, I highly recommend going to www.ratemyprofessors.com for a choice of a satisfying teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is a community college, do not feel that it is a simple class that you are taking. Keep your head up high and challenge yourself in every class you enroll in to prepare yourself for a university.

    In three sentences

    In my personal experiences at Richland College for nearly three years straight, I must admit I am satisfied with the choice of attending this college. Not only is it cheaper than attending universities, but it is also a great learning center that provides the same information as any other university. It is a wonderful to start off at a community college to save money.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you prefer to be in a diverse environment, this place is perfect for you. There are so many people from different countries that attend this college. I guarantee that you will meet at least one person from every livable continent, if not more. Students begin to appreciate culture, language, and differences while attending Richland.

    What to do for fun

    Richland hosts a lot of free activities and festivities that are fun for all the students. It can be a bit crowded, but that's because its free! Joining clubs is a great experience because they host many fun activities. For a daily wind down people usually hang out in the cafeteria or the newest building, Sabine Hall.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafeteria area, they have a Subway. You can also get Subway pizzas and soups as well if you get bored of the subs. Eventually, students get tired of Subway, but there is an easy fix for that. The book store has several microwavable foods like noodles, etc. Next to the book store there is a small coffee cafe that sells other things as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories, but they do have several apartments within short walking distance of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is somewhere between high-school and university work. It is definitely a step up from high-school, but depending on the teacher, the class can be a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to Richland, make sure to use their available resources, especially before you think you are going to fail. They are a big help in most cases. Join clubs or doing service learning can help you find friends that you can eventually study with.

    In three sentences

    Richland college has many resources available to students for assurance of their success. There are many clubs that one can join to feel a sense of community while doing something they are passionate about. Richland also hosts a program for high-school students (RCHS), which I am currently in, that allows them to get ahead in their education.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    All who are dedicated

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with friends

    Food and Dining

    Subway and the schools cafe

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is the start of my future. It is the place that will open many doors for me. This college will help me build my career.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of polices are on patron in every school day.

    Food and Dining

    Subway has variety of food such as loaf, pizza, hamburger, and so on. The server is nice, but students are in a long line to order food (especially noon).

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a good school for Science and Math majors with some excellent faculty.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No need to worry about safety at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa and SGA are your best options.

    Great for these types of students

    All walks of life. Outliers and high achievers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Japanese Garden and Sabine Hall.

    What to do for fun

    Attend school events.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Ranked the best communit college in the United States.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with clubs, get to know your professors personally.

    In three sentences

    Extraordinary, outstanding, excellent.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is generally safe. Don't leave your stuff out and you're going to be fine.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Richland has a lot of options from Drama club to sports intramurals. Check them out!

    Great for these types of students

    People who know they're going to transfer but want to start out with a cheaper option.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is pretty big, consider going on a walk. The fountains here are huge and elaborate and the architecture is pretty cool.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway and a few other choices from the bookstore. You're probably not going to dine here with a date.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Average coursework is asked. You can expect to have 2 hours of homework or so after a class. Tests are difficult but, it is college after all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn your work in! Ask questions, and follow directions.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is an average community college institute. The professors here are average and the coursework is fair. Typically students transfer after their second year.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go see performances in Fannin Hall, go to see games on the fields and courts, or go to the office of student life!

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but it is good that you have it. You never know when you'll need a subway sandwhich

    Dorm Life

    Don't Have to worry about it because you get to go home at the end of the day!

    Academic Rigor

    Superb!!! Excellent!! It is the best in the DCCCD System and the best in North Texas, for community colleges of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do not be scared to ever ask anyone for help. Even though this is community college, it still is COLLEGE! With all the same scares and problems that a regular college or university offers. Professors, Advisers, and students are all here to help you enjoy your 2 years.

    In three sentences

    This is school is really diverse for a community College. It offers so much more than what you would suspect from a 2 year school. Their Music Department is superb!!!

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of things around DFW area...Rangers, Mavericks, Stars...all kinds of restaurants, clubs, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your classes early. Live close to campus since there's no on campus housing.

    In three sentences

    Good for getting core courses out of the way. I'm not sure I would necessarily attend Richland if I didn't play baseball there.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are a lot emergency trainings, which really helps.

    Greek Life

    Students usually gather at the cafeteria to chat and have fun

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs listed on the websites, but almost have stopped working.

    Great for these types of students

    Alomost everyone. If you're a little bit social, you can easily get along with the classmates and professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a hill behind the school. It would be awesome to have a sleep here or practice guitar.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the lake and lie on the meadow

    Food and Dining

    Subway is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They have some scholarships for outstanding students, but not much

    Tips for prospective students

    The students definitely should consult the website ratemyprofessors.com before picking up a class because there are some teachers who are really boring.

    In three sentences

    It's the biggest school in the area and has a lot brilliant teachers. However, the student government seems not really productive and attractive.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    54 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play with and feed the geese, ducks, and turtles; have lunch outside and enjoy the view, hang out with friends in any of the sitting areas inside and outside.

    Food and Dining

    They have Subway, which is great because it is quick, easy, and fairly healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Richland is a community college, there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor can be a challenge for some people; however, help is always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good friends at Richland, you never know where strong connections may take you in the future.

    In three sentences

    The best place to go for a diverse environment. Richland has many great professors, faculty, and staff members. You will get the most for your money here.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    subway, bookstore, snack machines

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    study alot

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes aren't easy to prepare to study and ask for help

    In three sentences

    The professors are great, campus feels safe and very friendly

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym available for students, there are sports teams and many fun activities throughout the school year. There is also a lake filled with fishes, ducks and turtles.

    Food and Dining

    There is currently a subway restaurant on campus and most of the bending machines are filled with snacks. There is also a coffee shop and there are also microwaves available in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, because it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, be on time, pay attention and most importantly ask questions. Find and take any opportunity available or given to you to succeed. Aim for the best and stay on track of all your school work.

    In three sentences

    I give Richland College a five star rating, because it is a great college. This institution has superb professors and great advisers who will be glad to help you with anything that you need. Overall, it is an amazing place to be filled with great and energetic staff staff and professors.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on!

    Great for these types of students

    Working

    Bang for the buck

    Very nice.

    What to do for fun

    Hang in the libraray.

    Food and Dining

    I love the Subway in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    there is not a dorm here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the people in your classes.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful atmosphere! All the instructors are very approachable and the campus has a lot of resources to utilize.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is outstanding. Call boxes are located throughout the campus incase of student emergencies. Tornado safe shelters are located throughout the campus as well incase of bad weather. If a student has a concern or issue that needs the help of an officer the students can call the campus police using their own cellphones. The campus police makes sure everyone is safe during their visits and classes, which gives plenty of parents and students peace of mind.

    Greek Life

    The campus life is that of a university except there aren't dorms. It's a quite large campus, but as any university you get to know your way around. It does offer the academic rigor and lifestyle of a bigger university despite the cheaper price tag. Only difference is the campus staff tries to make everyone feel welcome and at home when in class. Students are encouraged to say hi or ask professors for help as the class sizes are much smaller compared to four year colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    Richland offers so many activities from basketball to an anime club. If a student finds interest in a subject that isn't listed they are welcomed to start a club by talking to the bubbly crew in the student life center. No one is left out at Richland, it's a very diverse campus with diverse ideas and activities to match.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus has a very diverse student population so there isn't a certain type of student. You do however have to come in with a positive outlook and a hardworking attitude!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every holiday, little or well known, the student center puts together ways to celebrate each holiday there on campus. Whether it's by dressing up in costumes or decorating the campus itself Richland puts on a celebration! The most unusual location would have to be the lake because it is such a large lake in the middle of the campus, one just has to wonder how it got there.

    Bang for the buck

    As I mentioned before the classes are the classes a student would find at a four year campus. Tuition is way less than that of a university so take any opportunities you have at taking classes at low cost. Richland offers a bookstore that carries most of the books needed for campus classes, and a lot of them are for rent! There are a lot of opportunities to save on tuition compared to that of another school.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are a huge part of Richland's campus. A student can take part in hundreds of clubs to choose from and even start their own club! Meet new people and maybe hang out along the river in the middle of the campus. Sit and talk in Richland's student lounge areas that are placed throughout the campus halls before or after classes. There's a lot to choose from so no one can be alone!

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway and a cafe at Richland however it is pricey so expect to pay a little more than you would for a normal sandwich. Otherwise, it's a perfect lunch to have after class and they offer coffee for the coffee goers.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms on campus as it is a community college. So most students live elsewhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at Richland compare to those offered at a four year university which is wonderful if you are seeking the university experience for less. If a student needs assistance in a class the tutoring center is a pleasant group of teachers who are glad to help with anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid done as soon as possible before you graduate from high school! The sooner you get all paper work done the better off you will be when it comes time for enrollment! Try really hard to go above and beyond on SATs, AP tests, ACTs, and standardized tests so you will have time to take classes that prepare you for your future career. Look into what classes you would take and plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful scenic school with thousands of opportunities to get involved and broaden your mind. The staff is very helpful so far during my enrollment process and most things are simple to understand. It's a community college with a academic standard of a four year university so you can get your money's worth.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of police patrolling

    Great for these types of students

    Foreign student have it easy because there are lots of foreign teachers

    Bang for the buck

    It is alot cheaper than universities and have the same curriculum

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    It only has a subway

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is very important. Richland classes are harder than a lot of university. Emailing the teacher is very important. It is better to ask questions than wait till it's to late.

    In three sentences

    Richland is definitely the best school in the dallas county community college district when it comes to education and organization. It has the widest range of classes and always has one for what ever time I want to take it. It has readily prepared me for transfer. .

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com to make sure you get good teachers and make sure that that teacher would be the best fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Richland has a nice campus. It is saving lots of money and I am able to take the basics and get them out of the way. I like that the classes are small and that you can really get to know your professors.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    61 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing! The security offers escorts to your car at night, you receive safety alerts via text messaging, and you can always find a police roaming around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, clubs, and more clubs! There are so many clubs on campus that it is almost impossible to find a club not for you.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is fair...there's a Subway which is probably the biggest major food company on campus. However there is also a coffee shop for students to grab a quick cup of coffee and a sandwich from their deli!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms,

    Academic Rigor

    There are several different activities on campus that allow for academic rigors! Most are clubs, but there are also athletic!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure of your major, just take a few core classes and an elective or two about things that interest you. If you are sure of your major, also get your core classes out the way, but also work on your major as well!

    In three sentences

    Richland is great for students who are still trying to figure out what they want to do in life. While the admissions office can be messy, the student life makes up for it! There are many opportunities on campus that will make your stay worth while.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    62 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is safe you will see campus police at any location and they are well trained on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    multiple clubs and activities such as soccer basketball,baseball,and more cultural and linguistic clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Richland college is great for students that wanna save money before transferring and its transfer rate are very high to very good schools

    What to do for fun

    Richland college has lots of fun activities like sports,cultural activities,groups and much more so you will meet new people and learn about new multiple clubs and activities such as soccer basketball,baseball,and more cultural and linguistic clubs

    Food and Dining

    great dining which is a clean and fast served subway on campus

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life at richland its a community college so there for it is the closest school in a dallas community

    Academic Rigor

    Richland has the best associate programs among the Dallas community colleges and the price for that you can be part of multiple clubs and activities such as soccer basketball,baseball,and more cultural and linguistic clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    i will say for any student that is looking on financial help and cannot go to expensive schools i will say go to Richland and save your self some money and student debt i usually consider Richland as an airport

    In three sentences

    Richland college is a good college for the community and has good associate degree programs.the cost of attendance is really cheap and its a great way to start off your college career

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with classmates

    Food and Dining

    Only 2 places in the cafeteria to eat, Subway and a pizza place

    Dorm Life

    No dorm, no housing allowance

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but the teachers will always help

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are in touch with your Financial Aid so you can get the necessary funds to pay for your education

    In three sentences

    Cheap college but it has great teachers. There are a variety of times for certain classes which can help you fit in work and school.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types. I love the diversity here. :)

    Food and Dining

    We have a Subway on campus, but there are LOTS of other places about two minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources provided. There is a lot offered to students to make sure they succeed during their time at Richland and wherever they choose to go next.

    In three sentences

    Richland College is a really nice school! It's a great transition for people going from high school to university because the classes are sometimes as small as high school classes, but the teaching gets you used to the difference between your high school teachers and your college professors. It's a just a nice environment overall.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Campus Police everywhere and students/staff are always updated on all matters of security.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcome and they can achieve their educational goals here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The El Paso Building is usual where everything takes place. This is a huge campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Starting at a 2-year college is always best. The tuition is a lot cheaper than starting at a 4-year university.

    What to do for fun

    I exercise and get with friends to have fun. Usually movies, concerts, small gathering, dining out, and study trivia for midterm and finals.

    Food and Dining

    Average college food court is nice.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on you. If you are able to take a full course load, then go for it. If you need it at a slow pace, that works best for you. Never allow someone else to make all the judgment calls for you. Only you know what you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be opened minded. Be honest with yourself about your goals. Make reasonable goals. Ask for assistance.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent college. The provide the students with everything they need to be successful during their time in college and after graduation. Students have support from the Admissions/Registrar to course professors.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on the campus as well as policemen constantly patrolling the campus. I've never experienced a campus that seems so secure.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Richland Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities that occur such as cook outs and festivals that really bring the whole student body together. This on top of all the various clubs allows for the chance to feel included.

    Great for these types of students

    Richland is great for students who want to pursue an education but who are not quite ready to take the big step towards a four year University. Community college allows for one to work and go to school while also not digging themselves into a financial pit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite location on campus is in the new Science building because it has the bookstore, the coffee shop, and great seating areas. It's a perfect place to study, or to meet up with friends, so it has a little bit of everything.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to attend at Richland, and if there is not anything that you like then you can start your own. There are also plenty of activities such as Choir, Art, Dance, and Theater. It would be very surprising if a person couldn't find anything to join for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway in the cafeteria and there is a really nice coffee shop by the book store. I don't enjoy eating at Richland everyday but there are definitely options when it comes to food and dining. I don't enjoy eating in the cafeteria because it gets very loud, but you can take the food anywhere in the school except for labs and classrooms.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Richland. Commuting is a huge part of being in a community college. Honestly this is one of my least favorite parts about Richland but it does make schooling less expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Richland has many options when it comes to academics, however if you don't know what you need to take, it is very easy to end up in a class that will not benefit the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of my biggest tips when it comes to Richland is to not procrastinate. When it comes to registration and other things that need to happen, if a student does not handle it early then it makes the whole process ten times harder then it needs to be.

    In three sentences

    Richland is a great community college to attend if you are not quite ready to take the step towards a four year university. This school also provides for a cheaper alternative if one is not financially able to attend a university yet. All in all it is a great stepping stool for the education world.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good environment, but not so good safety procedure

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and activities, you could even start one

    Great for these types of students

    great if your trying to save money and get ready for university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they offer cultural activities.

    Bang for the buck

    great classes for very cheap price

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym, track, playground, and pool.

    Food and Dining

    subway is the only dining, really healthy. If only there is something else to try.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to community college first to knock off your basic, and make sure the university accept the college credit.

    In three sentences

    Richland is a good college to knock off basic classes, they even offer bachelor course. The down side is they don't accept a lot of college credit from other school. In general, Richland is a good school to start.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As of now, I have not heard of any criminal activities on the campus and I have been attending this school since 2011. I feel very safe there.

    Greek Life

    I do not believe the school has any sororities or fraternity affiliations. It is a junior college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a speech and debate club and other clubs that are usually found on most college campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a single parent, play basketball or involved in community activities or earth preservation then this is a great school for you. Classes are flexible and the staff is professional. There are many activities, organizations and clubs that will cater to any personality type. If you are serious about learning and earning your degree then this would be a great college for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school has a lake with ducks and fish that runs through the campus grounds. It has a pretty normal traditional atmosphere and celebrates most common holidays and national events.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get your money's worth at Richland because the teachers deliver as expected, all of the employees will help you in any way possible and there are tons of resources available on campus including a veteran's dept and financial aid office. Richland puts on concerts, parties and events to liven up the atmosphere and sends out emails with alerts about seminars and other helpful information for college students.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the teachers and organizations hold several types of fun activities throughout the year. Holiday function, green earth functions, political rallies and black history month programs for the students to participate in and enjoy. This school will definitely keep you wide awake!

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway restaurant at this school which is comparable to all of the other subways in the city when it comes to customer service, food quality and cleanliness.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not provide dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are fair but they give you enough coursework in order to make sure you are understanding the material. If you have any disputes about your grades, they will address it immediately and professionally. There is a learning center available in which you can get tutoring in most complex subjects such as algebra.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always speak to an advisor when you first attend any college including Richland College because they give you great insight on the atmosphere, transfer options and your academic and financial aid status.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great junior college to attend because it is diversified, affordable and has a great location. The teachers are dedicated to their student's success and have excellent teaching skills. Richland College keeps their campus up to date on all the latest resources to help ensure each student reaches their full potential in their educational journey.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is good. We have a Subway that's located on the campus and a bookstore that has food and snacks that tend to go well with those long nights of studying.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, we do not have dorms at Richland College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Richland College can get very rigorous, but if you take good notes and take time out of your day to study for your classes then you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    I was advised by my counselor to attend Richland College and immediately shot down the option due to many people viewing it as a low grade college, some even called it Lake Highlands University, everyone made it seem as if only inner city kids with low GPAs attended the school. When I finally decided to register to Richland I was surprised by how diverse it was, at Richland there's people from different places with different goals in life. What I loved most about Richland College is that the professors genuinely care about the students, and the students know are focused on their careers.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Movie clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a planetarium and a swimming pool

    Bang for the buck

    Can't beat it at ~$160 per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Outside sports is a must.

    Food and Dining

    Only subway available.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on how well or bad you are organized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read reviews about prospect teacher and avoid those who are not popular.

    In three sentences

    Is the largest of all of the DCCCD colleges. Has up-to-date equipment. Has tennis courts, football and soccer fields.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always the dollars movies and northpark mall is near by.

    Food and Dining

    There are several fast food restaurants around the area and also several asian markets.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please go to class and try not to miss any days if possible and just simply do the work on time that is asked by the instructor. Half the time when it comes to college, its just learning to apply and that's all it takes.

    In three sentences

    I always wanted to know how college life would be and one way to experience that was at Richland Community College. Richland has given me the opportunity to learn at an upper level of education and it has definitely been a positive experience.

  • 05/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    72 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always securities and police officers around.

    What to do for fun

    The are so many activities going on everyday at Richland!

    Dorm Life

    Richland does not have dorms but there are plenty of apartments to choose from that is located all around Richland.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise to go to a community college first. It is a lot easier and cheaper then running off to a university. Richland is a great place to get your basics out of the way.

    In three sentences

    This college is very helpful for all types of students, Richland college can help anyone from earning their associates to helping them pick out a major, Richland is a nice welcoming place, no one will judge you, everyone is willing to help you. Richland is a great first step for someone to find what they are looking for.

  • 05/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    73 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer, low income.

    Bang for the buck

    Many teachers use free online edition sources. Credit hours are affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Subway and vending machines are available. Microwaves are available for use in the cafeteria. The cafe sells over priced items.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers do not have expectations for students. It is up to the student to be in academic good standing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to scholarships available from Richland and the DCCCD. Bring your own lunch. Restaurants nearby are not good.

    In three sentences

    Richland College offers emphasis associate's degree programs available to students who intend to transfer to an undergraduate program. The large campus is full of students between a wide age group range and ethnic backgrounds. Police patrol is on site during all hours of operation.

  • 07/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    74 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always a school police inside and the vicinity of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely a good option for students who wish to save a lot of money to study the general education requirements. Also ideal for student who wants to test the water out and get a feel for college without the intimidation you get at a four-year institution.

    Bang for the buck

    I saved a lot of money especially now that I plan to transfer to a four-year institution. While I attend community college, I also work part time to be able to pay for the first two years of college and save up for the last two years.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! there's a bowling alley nearby and a dessert place which is a good place to hang around and chill.

    Food and Dining

    There's only one food chain in the cafeteria which is Subway. I am kinda bummed that there's not a lot of option to eat inside the campus but there are others places to eat outside Richland.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say exactly since I live at home with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes taught are rigorous, contrary to the myths about community colleges that aren't hard enough. They teach me a lot of information.

    In three sentences

    I really like the atmoshpere in Richland. The teachers are very helpful and informative and they guide the student to think critically and prepare for the workforce. There's a creek running along in the middle of the school which is such a nice sight!

  • 09/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    75 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are polices everywhere so it's very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs are made for students to make connection to college and society, not just studying. This will be your great experience for college life. Attend those clubs and activities for your future resume. Make it impressed in the eyes of your future school scholarship's committee and employers.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very cheap comparing to other colleges in the area. It can save you a lot of money before transferring to a 4-year college

    What to do for fun

    As I said, they have a lot of extracurricular offered to students and you can be more engaged in school and community. Richland also have some clubs that you can join for fun and developing your future essential skills

    Food and Dining

    Richland sometimes offer free food and drinks for students during some events so be sure to go and make some friends. There is a Subway store in building E that you can buy food provided enough energy for the whole day.

    Dorm Life

    Richland does not have dorm so there is really nothing to say

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are pretty strict, but the more they get to like you, the friendlier they are to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active and participate in college's events. Richland has a lot of useful program for student to be engage to the community and college's life. Takes note and be friend with your professor. it's gonna be helpful later

    In three sentences

    Richland has very nice atmosphere and friendly students. Professors are kind of diverse. You need to choose the right one

  • 10/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    76 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have a subway and coffee shop. nice areas.

    Dorm Life

    there is not a dorm for this campus