Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Richmond Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    enjoy relaxing with friends by the lake or the open rural area. if you would like to get involved on campus there are plenty of opportunities through clubs and student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    richmond community college possess no cafe but a lounge with snack machines. twice a week a mexican food truck is on campus to provide a lunch option.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    richmond community college posseses distinguished and well credited professors in their field. there will be no slack just for the simple fact it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    richmond community college is a key stone to a your new beginning. whether you plan on receiving a technical degree or associate degree, rcc prepares you directly for the real world. take advantage of the campus wide opportunities and the student minded staff.

    In three sentences

    richmond community college transforms the average person into a distinguished college student. whether you seeking to transfer to another institution or hop directly in the work force rcc will build a bridge for your success route. do not drink the water if your not ready for change!

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    onsite security

    What to do for fun

    there are committees to join. the campus does not have sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    there is a student lounge. there is also vending machines, and a mobile lunch truck comes on campus as well. they also offer special meals once a month.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very broad academic rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions. study up on financial aid you may need because richmond community does not offer student loans. i really wish they did.

    In three sentences

    teachers are amazing! i recommend this school for anyone seeking more involved teachers. the schedules are very flexible, with many class options.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always police on campus from open to close. Additionally, the parking lot is well lit, making it safe for the students that are taking night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    RCC offers many clubs and activities. They have honor programs and many others that students can be inducted to.

    Great for these types of students

    The types of students this college would be most recommended for is students who have just graduated high school and students that have a busy work schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers are always prompt and rarely do they miss a class.

    What to do for fun

    During certain time of the year RCC holds dances, festivals, and carnival-like celebrations.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria, only drink and snack machines and then more snacks in the book store.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to know how to register for classes online. It is 100 percent easier and you can get the classes you need and/or most interested in and also create a convenient schedule that works for you. Creating a schedule online allows for you to look at all the classes that are available.

    In three sentences

    Richmond Community College has very friendly faculty members and are always willing to help students out. Also, they provide online classes which was beneficial to my schedule and allowed me to work during the day. Thirdly, they offer many classes so it is easier to graduate in a reasonable time.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus security all the time. One of my classes lets out late, so its comforting to see security as I walk across the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    RCC has an abundance of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the non-traditional students: Young mothers, single mothers, students on a budget, students who work full or part-time or second time arounders like me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not had the pleasure, because I work full time, but they sponsor dances, concerts, plays and a number of contest.

    Bang for the buck

    I think RCC is a huge bang for your buck. This school has been awesome for me. There are tons of resources. If a student has questions or concerns help is easily found. The communication in keeping the students in the know are very well done.

    What to do for fun

    I'm an information hog, so my fun comes from browsing the internet and jumping into random subjects.

    Food and Dining

    Hamlet has a few nice places to dine anyway, but RCC does a great job as far as vending and specialties they bring in for students some times.

    Dorm Life

    RCC does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It has been very exciting for me. Its like my first time around. Academic vigor can be made or broken by your classmates or energy of the professor. So it has been a mixed bag for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could change anything it would be how I took the placement test. I would have prepared more for my weakest subject which is math, but I did not understand the level of importance that the placement test was. Now I know and I would have focused more on this area.

    In three sentences

    RCC has very flexible class times, that makes an adult returning to college attainable. The staff and administration are knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never experienced any safety issues on campus i must say we all get along. Amazing right?

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the National Honor Society

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone that is serious about learning. If a huge college is uncomfortable come join us at RCC it's the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is great in my opinion/

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my family, being a single mother of four beautiful young men in my spare time I dedicate it to them. I also like to go out to the elderly and spend time with them as well. I think when you get old people forget about you and I have always cared about the well-being of everybody. At the end of the day that's why God put us here to be there for one another.

    Food and Dining

    RCC does not have an cafeteria because it's a small community college, but they still make sure we have options available to us. We have a mobile Domino's Pizza truck that comes twice a week. SGA also sells plates for us during the week as well. Let's not leave out the vending machines lol...

    Dorm Life

    RCC is a small college so we don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not quite sure what this question means but I will answer to the best of my ability. RCC is has transformed my life in a way I never thought it would. They have created curriculums that you will be able to utilize for the rest of your life. Thanks to Rcc I on the road to becoming a professional in the workplace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with your mind set. Be determined to complete your program of study. Don't be afraid to utilize the resources available for you. They paved the road for students its up to you to follow. Nothing is given to anyone you have to work, study, discipline yourself and most importantly never give up.

    In three sentences

    RCC is a five star college in my opinion. The faculty and staff are truly there for the benefit of the students and they are an awesome support system for individuals with a dream, they make it happen for you.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have police officers on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many different clubs on campus that are active and some that are not. I hope to see all our clubs come back to life in the near future.

    Great for these types of students

    We have great programs for most every walk of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a great amphitheater.

    Bang for the buck

    I think our college is well balanced as far as the value for our bucks.

    What to do for fun

    We participate in School functions and we have ping pong tables.

    Food and Dining

    Our food and dining on campus has a lot to be desired. We have a pizza truck on Monday and Wednesday and a hamburger/sandwich truck the other days.

    Dorm Life

    Although we have no dorms on campus, most students live close enough that they can walk or take a short drive to get to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Our instructors give us work that is beyond being easy. They make us think outside of the box, so to speak.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay close attention to scheduling. Make sure no classes overlap.

    In three sentences

    Richmond Community College is close to my home. Richmond Community College has great instructors. Richmond Community College is simply the best.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always pollice walking around the campus, and they have improved their safety measures amongst the faculty.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to obtain an associates degree pretty quick.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are pretty cheap...as cheap as college can possibly be. The class sizes aren't incredibly big, so you can get the help that you need from the teachers.

    What to do for fun

    Sadly, Richmond county is a small town and there isn't a ton of stuff to do. I have lived here for some time now, and have grown accustomed to it. Normally the people around here travel up the road to Pinehurst which is only 30 miles away.

    Food and Dining

    They keep a student lounge well stocked, and they have food trucks that will come to the school. However, they don't actually have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Only because they don't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do yourselves a favor and make sure you meet with YOUR advisor. Get a plan in writing and stay the course. This will insure that you take only the classes needed and get out as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The school has a real personal touch to it, considering that it's not a huge campus. The teachers and advisors are incredibly helpful, and most are friendly. The campus is well kept and served me well to get my associates degree.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Participate in the events and activities sponsored by the Student Government Associate and by other organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The only problem is there is no cafeteria on campus. However, they have made arrangement for several different food vendors to come to campus and offer hot food choices to students as well as faculty and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full-advantage of the opportunities that are available to you. Use the Academic Success Center and tutoring services if you are having trouble with your classes. Don't be afraid to ask questions and express your concerns with the instructors. They are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with many exceptional professors who go above and beyond what is expected of them in order to help you succeed in your classes.