Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rider University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High Ambition Students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want in a school. Small things like a football team (which we don't have) or a basketball team (which is huge in this school) can make more of a difference than you think. Small classes (less than 35 kids) are a constant. Be sure to visit all of your potential college selections. You don't want to regret going to Rider or any college for that matter.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pretty expensive, even for someone not living on campus. It is a school that you need to have high ambitions for. The price does not seem worth it as a freshman, but later on when it comes to Co-ops and Internships, Rider really helps you out.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter and I drive 45 minutes to school. That is the only thing that I would say that hinders my enjoyment of Rider University. The campus is nice and everyone is friendly. I seldom have reason to leave unless its for hanging out with old friends, for work, or to go home and sleep.

    Am learning a lot

    The majority of teachers know what they are talking about. They are very interested in our success. Pros - The teachers care about you individually. Not only are they just teaching you, but they also try to make sure that everyone understands the material. As long as you go to class, it is not a complicated process to getting a great grade. Cons - Some teachers tend to move a little fast. For subjects that are simple for me, it was amazing and I loved it; however, with classes that I did not completely understand, it was a little tough. In these situations (that can happen at any school), you just have to speak out and tell the teacher.

  • 07/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for business education, psychology, communication and theater majors. Good school to be a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a commuter school, but really commuter friendly. There are a lot of opportunities for leadership, jobs, etc.

  • 01/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people. I'm a commuter and I didn't really reach out to other people. Everyone's friendly here at Rider, and they are really easy to get along with.

    Bang for the buck

    Sometimes it seems that Rider is priced too highly for the kind of entertainment they offer, but what they lack in entertainment they make up for in professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a lot of fun being on campus. Sadly I'm a commuter, so I don't get the full college experience but other than that, it really is fun to be a Rider Bronc.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very knowledgable. Many of the professors take the time to get to know their students.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes,Education Majors, Well-rounded people

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and keep yourself occupied as much as possible, college is definitely what you make of it. If you find an organization you will instantly have common interests and make friends. Also, stay organized know who your advisor is and where his/her office is so when time for scheduling comes you're all set! :)

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Talent, dedicated and interesting

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know your audition material and act confident when performing. Get good grades as well, because just being good at performing isn't everything.

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot lie -- it's super expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Westminster is very small so I had to adjust to that, especially since I came from a large high school. However, I have met a lot of people I will be friends with forever and I feel like I am learning a lot.

    Am learning a lot

    I actually attend Westminster Choir College of Rider University as a vocal performance major. I have learned so much about music and performing that I did not know before and a majority of the teachers are very invested in what they teach.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    accounting, business, theatre, dance, singing (westminister)

    Am enjoying being here

    theres always something to do on campus. But if you want to do something off campus transportation is tough

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is an honors program, and it's wonderful (I'm in it). But there's definitely a place for everyone, and if there's not a club that you want, you can make it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you work hard. At around $40,000 a year, you need to make the most of it!

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey, but still worth it! There are scholarships based on high school GPA and SAT/ACT scores that can help you pay up to half of your total tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    The classes are great and interesting, and the students are enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much more than I thought I would in classes I didn't even think I would learn much in.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since it is such a small school, everyone knows everyone and its a really friendly school. With that being said, a lot of people feel safe going out and having fun. Also, two things that I really enjoy on campus is that we have a public car service to drive you around campus and we have a free late night car service program which you allowed to use 3 to 4 times a semester if you ever get stuck at a party coming back late from the train station and don't have a ride.

    Greek Life

    There are many different organizations within Greek life- they have professional frat's such as the business frat., theater ( which is actually the most wild one) to leadership. Then they have a ton of social organizations from Sig Ep to TKE to several latino/ aferican multi-cultural organizations, and there are a bunch for females on campus. There are houses on campus, however, many of the upperclassman greek life have houses off campus which is a lot of fun. They do a lot of mixes with TCNJ's baseball/football teams and Princeton U. which is right down the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently involved with several different clubs and organizations. There are so many things to do- currently there are like 120 clubs on campus and if there is not one there for you, you can easily start one. One program that I am is called the Leadership Dev. Program and it is really a great program. It is rates in the top 20 in the United States and has really opened so many doors for me.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is diverse. However, if you are the type of student that likes to have fun and do good in school, this is the place for you. The professors are great, however the parties are even greater. Its always fun to dorm hop to party to party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus, we have a pub. If you are 21, you can drink on campus and on Friday night they have 18 and over night. This is really a great place to hang out and have fun with your friends. Also, one of the dorms is apartment living and it is rumored that you can easily fit 20 people in the showers if you know what i mean ;)

    Bang for the buck

    The food and small classes are amazing. Also, you cannot bet the location. We are 5 mins. from Princeton and TCNj with a lot of bars/ night clubs, in addition, we are only a train ride from NYC and Philly.

    What to do for fun

    Every night there is something to do whether its a club event, concert, movie night, free food etc. Also, it seems like there is always a different night to drink. I know for me, Sunday, Wed. Thursday and Friday and Sunday were big nights for my friends and I to drink. Also, there are so many good places to

    Food and Dining

    Bunch is SOOO AMAZING on the weekends. OMG. Also, breakfast in general, we have a so many bagels and people to make eggs. Also, we have like 25 different cereals. In addition, every there is something different and very good. They also always have pizza. I do love to order out sometimes, there is a diner on campus, we have to-go containers, and there is a second dining hall called Cranberries which has so many different choices. Depending on your meal plan, you can eat as much or as little as you want- however, I would suggest getting the unlimited b/ the dining halls are open so late that its so much fun to go to. Surpisingly, just an FYI, although the food is sooo good, don't worry about freshman 15 b/ there is so much to do to keep off the weight and a lot of healthy choices that are very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are many things I like about dorm life, however, I would say that my favorite thing about dorm life is that there is special living is each building. What I mean by that is that one building is for international students, one building is for freshman who want to live with other freshman, there is a all female dorm. Then, there is the healthy living, honors dorms and apartment style living. I lived with 5 other guys,.. three bedrooms to an aperment with two bathrooms and it was a lot of fun. I had a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are hard, however, they really care about your success. If you talk to them, build up a relationship, and take leadership roles inside the classroom, you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. take risk. Fall in love. Enjoy your self. Don't rush to grow up. Make friends with random people. Be open to the best 4 years of your life. Try to study aboard, even if its just for a week. Run for student government. Take advantage of the location. Stay up late. Don't get in trouble. Get drunk, once....even if its not your thing. Be you.

    In three sentences

    If you are ready for a great time, go to Rider. Its very social and out going. It is a small community with so many opportunities to grow and do great.

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every student should have a good time here, but my tastes do not reflect others, so take my words with caution and hopefully you enjoy it here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to trying new things. College can be rough if you come in empty handed and by yourself, as I did, but by being social and doing well in classes I have met a lot of great friends and great teachers that I can also call good friends. Oh, and do NOT eat Chinese food in your room... It'll smell for the next week.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get what you pay for, but keep in mind it is a private University in New Jersey so it will be up there in terms of price. However, if you do try and do well in classes Rider offers a few scholarships that help shave off some of the costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Rider can be hit and miss for students in the fun category. For me and most of my friends, we all love it. When you come to Rider you get a feeling of being at home. The good thing is is that I have heard, from kids who do not end up liking Rider, that you realize you do not like sooner rather than later which gives you a jump start on trying to find new pastures for further learning.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here can be like the teachers at any school, some care and do a great job while others just care about doing the day to day grind. However, most of the teachers here at Rider University are the first, and actually care about the students and also care that the students understand what is going on. I have learned more here in the going on two years than I did in all four years of high school.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security officers keep rider safe for all students. the student escort service is a wonderful way to help students get to their car at night if they are feeling uneasy. trust me - as a student, you will not feel uneasy!!

    Greek Life

    greek life is focused on both fellowship and community service at rider.

    Clubs and Activities

    student life is top notch!!

    Great for these types of students

    rider is an excellent choice for students who enjoy an intimate and small campus setting with large opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    make sure to check out cranberry fest in the fall term!!

    Bang for the buck

    rider may be on the expensive side being a private university, but there are many many many financial aid options. plus, the education and opportunities students receive at rider is worth the extra tuition.

    What to do for fun

    rider offers many opportunities for fun. big name entertainers are brought on campus. the university sponsors trips to nyc, philadelphia, and atlantic city. plus, there is always the rider pub for students 21+.

    Food and Dining

    the food is delicious. plus, the university is currently implementing a new take-out option that is both environmentally friendly with a financial advantage.

    Dorm Life

    dorms may be on the smaller side; but it is college!!

    Academic Rigor

    your academic life is what you make of it. although course materials and assignments may be difficult, most professors are willing to work with you. just make sure that you reach out to them!!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to seek out every opportunity that is available. some things aren't always advertised as effectively as you may wish. remember: college is what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    rider university offers student the opportunity to grow academically, personally, and professionally. faculty and staff are vested in the development and success of students and alumni. overall, the university prides itself on being student-focused and future-oriented.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a pretty safe campus, and even when something shady happens off campus to a Rider student, we all get text alerts, emails, and phone calls telling us every possible detail. Also, after 8 or 9 at night, you have to show your ID or at the very least have an extremely good reason to be entering the campus to even get on!

    Greek Life

    Only four NPC sororities, and there are a few Fraternities, as well as the Latin and Black associations, and all are extremely friendly with one another, as well as supportive of one another and of Rider. Definitely recommended to anyone who has ever thought of going to Rider and Going Greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it, Rider has it. If it doesn't, it is SO easy to start up a club, as long as there are just a few others interested in the topic!

    Great for these types of students

    Leaders: take advantage of the Leadership Development Program! Thespians/Performers: You don't have to go to the Westminster campus to perform, the main campus also has many opportunities, including coffeehouses & open mic nights! Athletic Supporters: Rider is known for their basketball & baseball teams, and has tons of sports, all of which are fun to watch! Those who want to do community service: Rider has something organized to help the community out almost every week. Those who don't want to live on campus but want to be involved: Rider is close to TCNJ, so there is a lot of houses close to campus just waiting to be rented! Those who want an off campus Job: Princeton Marketfair is not even 10 minutes away, and has plenty of jobs to offer!

    Bang for the buck

    If you don't make Rider fun, it won't be. That's the case at any school though. The academics re pretty good, and so are your options for extracurricular activities. Career Services also does really well at helping with internship and job placements for students AND Alumni, so you're not just left with a degree.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events, go Greek, or join a club!

    Food and Dining

    Rider has multiple places to eat, as well as a Starbucks and other Coffee/snack stands around campus, plus a Convenience store. Dalys is the main dining hall, plus there is Cranberry's in the Student Center, and then the Diner at night. Dalys is your typical dining hall, and Cranberry's is just like the diner, both of which have made to order diner food, though Cranberry's also has pre-made stuff like sandwiches and salads, and also has the Wawa milkshakes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, as long as you make friends! The people who say there is nothing to do at Rider on the weekends just don't know where to look. Not all the dorms are air conditioned, but Rider is an old school. The rooms are actually a decent size, as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, and same can be said for professors- but that is the case EVERYWHERE. If you make sure that you take a class you know will be easy with one you know will be harder, then take some in between, you'll never be too stressed out! Just don't expect Rider to be like high school, it is a college, and you WILL be challenged academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go here, make sure you want a small school where you will recognize almost everybody. There are SO many opportunities at Rider that people don't see, so definitely check out all of them. There's intramural athletics, different certificate programs, tons of leadership opportunities, and hundreds of clubs to join, you just have to keep an eye out.

    In three sentences

    Rider is full of opportunities, and extremely diverse. It is half and half commuters and residents. Nothing is handed to you at Rider, you have to work for it.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I miss home ! lol but aside from that everyone here is awesome and the students are also really nice.

    Am learning a lot

    Ok so I am a pre freshman at rider and im doing a five week summer program here. Today is the end of my first week here and I must say its really different from high shool but its adjustible. This school is small soo its REALLY easy to find where things and to get to class on time. Teachers are really cool def. alot of work but worth it.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you learn the concept of time management

    In three sentences

    if i had to rate rider from 1 to 10 it would be an 8. rider is a very good school and i have already learned so much here. rider opens you to so many different experiences.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe for the most part. Since i have been here for the past year, there has been a couple occurrences. However, the campus is virtually safe.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs, sports, anything that includes activities. School trips, plays, tours, concerts, games.

    Food and Dining

    I never eat here.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise, it is a good school. Not to difficult but also offers a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you go to a public state funded school. Private schools will leave your pockets dry.

    In three sentences

    Rider University is an okay school. It has some great professors and the accomodations are pretty decent. However, tuition is extremely high and it is hard to tell where your headed the following year since it is difficult to take loans out nowadays and especially without a co-signer. Overall, good school and not too many complaints, besides the very high tuition.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's not much crime at Rider. If there is anything, it's hard to tell. Patrols are common, but they don't intimidate or interfere. If anything suspicious is going on, Campus Safety let's everybody know.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In many ways, Rider lives and dies by the internet. Most information goes through the website in some way, including events, notifications and such. Many teachers put assignments, slides and messages online. It's not a bad thing, but being comfortable with Rider system can take some getting used to.

    What to do for fun

    Rider has something going all the time and they promote it fairly well. It's easy to find something you like and it's hard to miss any of them, especially the outdoor events. Other than that, there are clubs, fraternities, sororities, and more. And if you you need a break from campus life, the Lawrenceville/Princeton/Philly area is right there.

    Food and Dining

    Cranberry's is an amazing place to eat. Subs, paninis, salads, pasta, grilled food. It can be costly but you got a lot of food. Daly's is the more traditional buffet-style eatery. It's not as popular, but it does come with the meal plan and I have not problem with it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I've been around the dorms. They're not far away from campus and they offer a good, clean place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor is different. Not all teaching styles are the same. What ties everything together is an unspoken commitment to making sure everyone learns, grows and succeeds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rider works because of it's faculty. They want you to succeed, and they'll do anything they can to help. The thing is, we have to be the ones to reach out. Everything starts with communication.

    In three sentences

    Rider has excellent, devoted staff and teachers. It's in a great location, and intersects many places. It's small enough to feel connected but big enough to feel free.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is a great greek life on campus although it is small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations on campus you will definitely find your fit.

    What to do for fun

    Rider clubs and organizations are constantly hosting events on campus for students like a fall concert, several comedians, raffles, sports rallies, and much more. There is always something to do at Rider University.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options of food dining from the general cafeteria to a late night diner, an academic to go store and more. There is a variety of food for every stomach. They have vegetarian options, gluten free, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I was going to commute and that would have been a big mistake. Dorm life gives you the full out college experience and gets you connected to great friends that a classroom cannot give you.

    Academic Rigor

    Rider University has some of the most prestige professors in the classrooms. The professors really care about your grades and are willing to help because of the small student to teacher ratio.

    Tips for prospective students

    To really get the fullest experience from any college, you really need to get involved in clubs, organizations and events on campus.

    In three sentences

    I simply just love attending Rider University. From the amazing people, to the fun events and the great professors, choosing Rider was the best decision I made.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good. always there

    Greek Life

    they suck...

    Clubs and Activities

    i run XC and track. love the team, environment, and experience.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    What to do for fun

    parties and hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall has it days. weekends are never too great but always something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Loved where i stayed

    Academic Rigor

    not bad

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply. Great school for education or business majors. easy to get into.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school with perfect sized classes. Things to do not far away. Love it there and playing sports.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Mu Alpha Harmony Among Men Music Fraternity

    Clubs and Activities

    A Capella groups!

    Great for these types of students

    Westminster is great if you love Choirs and singing in a Choir!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Westminster has an annual student day of fun called Spring Fling. There are inflatables, water rides, and picnic food.

    Bang for the buck

    College is becoming more and more expensive. Do your research and make sure that you can get a good Financial Aid package.

    What to do for fun

    Many extracurricular possibilities on campus! Westminster Choir College is in Princeton, a beautiful college town.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons are great, especially on the Lawrenceville campus.

    Dorm Life

    Many options, especially on the Lawrenceville campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the most challenging academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Rider University has a very supportive environment, great for learning and having fun. Come visit! Its the best way to find out if its the right place for you.

    In three sentences

    Rider University has a huge, well-equipped campus with a large student population. It is great for sports and is known for the Rider Broncos. Also part of the University is Westminster Choir College, a music college with a world renowned faculty and unbelievable performance opportunities (such as with the NY Philharmonic, Philadelphia Philharmonic, Berlin Philharmonic, etc.).

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guys are friendly and helpful. I feel safe walking from my friends dorm to my car on the other side of campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a Greek life person but they are great people and I have done a lot of volunteer work with a sorority. Definitely join if that's your style.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a costly school so make sure that this the school you want to be at.

    What to do for fun

    The on campus pub. Downtown Princeton is close.

    Food and Dining

    I love Cranberry's and the Pub.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter, but most of my friends like the dorms. There are times when the ac will suddenly cut off or the internet will have an outage.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone wants you to great and there is always help available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes that you like and listen to what other students have to say about the professor. The professor can make or break that class.

    In three sentences

    Love how the classes are on the small side so you get more one-on-one time with the professor. The advisors want you to stay in school and so helpful. There is almost always something going on on campus.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Absolutely superb! Public Safety always has the student's best interest at heart.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our wave! Westminster has a special hand wave when something or someone is outstanding. You'll definitely know it when you see it :)

    What to do for fun

    On Princeton's campus, you are about a 5 minute walk from downtown. There are so many restaurants and stores to have fun in. Even just walking around town or visiting Princeton University can be fun!

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons on Princeton's campus are pretty bad. They offer a large variety for a small school, but it doesn't always taste good. The salad and sandwich bar is your best friend.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun! My only issue is that the walls are super thin on the Princeton campus. So, if someone is talking at 2 in the morning, you can hear the whole conversation through the walls.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that I am thoroughly challenged. I enjoy what I am studying. I took courses pertaining to my major from the first semester. It is a wonderful feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyday you are competing with people in your field of study. Always work to the best of your ability and never stop trying your hardest. Once you stop, other people are going to get ahead of you.

    In three sentences

    Rider is a great school, however I attend classes and live on the Princeton campus. I love the curriculum and the quality of my education. It is top-notch and I truly feel that I am a person, not just a number.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for students to join. Club and intramural sports include, flag football, Lacrosse (Women and Men), Soccer, Swim, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do off of campus, the mall is relatively close. Most parties are off campus but still near by.

    Food and Dining

    Daly's dining hall has its good and bad days liek any other dining hall. We also have Cranberry's where you can use your bronc bucks or your own money. The food there is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't terrible. Naturally, some dorms are nicer than others. That comes with the age of the building. Buildings like Ziegler and Moore are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I would not say the course load is too difficult. It is definitely manageable. If you plan accordingly you can get everything done fairly quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get out of college, what you put into it. If you allow yourself to have fun at college you will. Have pride in your school and support it. It isn't cool to come to a school just to bash it.

    In three sentences

    Rider is a great school. It is definitely a school one can take pride in. We have amazing sports teams and great academics. All professors are very knowledgeable and always willing to help. Since campus is small, it becomes easy to recognize names and faces. (Sorry this was more than three sentences (: )

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who live close and like to go home a lot. Or don't mind getting drunk off campus every weekend.

    What to do for fun

    lol nothing

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really not kidding, they're the best when it comes to this. When you attend here you will know.

    Bang for the buck

    Rider University really wants you to join their community. They personally care to each student's needs and offers many ways to help relieve financial burden and the price for college.

    What to do for fun

    If living on the Princeton campus, which I am, definitely taking the shuttle to the Quaker Bridge Mall or to the Lawrenceville campus is a fun activity to do on a Friday or Weekends. There is always something to do on both campuses such as performances, festivals, sports games, gym, recreational center, pub, etc. Whether the mall or Rider its they are the perfect places to unwind and take a break from studies.

    Food and Dining

    Salad, pizza, pasta, sushi, ice cream and more! Can anyone honestly ask for more?

    Dorm Life

    Rider University revolves around the theme of a community. Therefore, dorm life is looked upon as a major way to bond and form a sort of second family with those you live with. The rooms are decent but the roommates you will have are priceless. They will definitely be your friends for life.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, academics is a big part of Rider where you really pushed to your limits while growing stronger as a student and person overall.

    Tips for prospective students

    It can not be emphasized enough to always ask questions even if you believe it to be a dumb question. Also, never feel intimidated by other students around you striving for the same exact goals you desire. The staff and students at Rider are there to help you achieve what you want during those four years.

    In three sentences

    Rider University overall gives off an aura of encouragement to all students who come to attend. From it's business department to the arts, Rider shines as a well rounded university. It's a place to be inspired and after four memorable years to become an inspiration.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though Rider is an open campus, there are always patrols walking and driving around campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about Greek Life but I heard it is safe and fun to take part in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for every student. I'm in accounting society, and Rider SERVES.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENTS!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Only touch the Rider Rock once, otherwise you won't graduate! Also don't step on a certain quad of grass at Westminster, it's bad luck.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the price, I wouldn't even consider another school.

    What to do for fun

    There is an endless amount of clubs and organizations to join as well as many intramural sports going on all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Daly's, Cranberry's, and Westminster Dining Commons were all just redone this summer, they're completely renovated.

    Dorm Life

    Entire buildings get cleaned every day, as long as you keep your own room clean the dorms are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You will most likely never have a professor who does not have the highest degree in their field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rider just updated their cable so make sure you have a QAM tuner in your tv and a co-axel cable. Also, classes are difficult but there is free tutoring and many professors have quite lengthy office hours, and all are willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Rider is a great place to be with a strong community and sense of belonging for every student. The programs they have for each major are always growing and being improved upon as well as the campus itself. Rider is my home!

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety gets a lot of criticism, but, overall, the campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    We Greeks often say, It's not four years, it's for life. Those who go Greek are welcomed into a unique experience that will remain with them long after their college years have come to an end. Each sorority/fraternity has its own traditions and values, but no matter which chapter you may choose, you are sure to love every minute of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from, but students have to take it upon themselves to get involved in organizations on campus. Definitely attend information sessions about them when possible.

    Great for these types of students

    If you work best in small classes Rider is perfect for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Rider is certainly very expensive, but I feel that I have received a great education which almost makes the high prices worth it. It would be better if the university offered more free events and activities for students to attend both on and off campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go Greek! Throughout the year, the Greek community gets involved in many philanthropic, academic, and (of course) social events. Also, stop by Bronc Bingo and Bronc Buffet events if you can. They sound lame, but once you're their you might find yourself having more fun than you anticipated.

    Food and Dining

    Aside from it rather high costs, Cranberries is currently the best place to eat on campus. For late night cravings, be sure to stop by the diner and order a Fat Bronc. Yum! Also, having a Starbucks on campus is absolutely amazing. Rumor has it that Rider is currently building a Subway sandwich shop on campus this semester as well!

    Dorm Life

    Nothing beats Greek housing! Many of the sororities have their own chef and meal plan right in their house. The dorms are cleaned every day by staff members, and the bathrooms are rarely ever over crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, the intensity of a given student's course load is dependent on his/her major. In my experience, professors have been rather fair and understanding when it comes to assigning exams and essays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the service offered in the Student Success Center. Also, definitely go Greek! Sorority/Fraternity life gives you a chance to meet people who will undoubtedly become your closest friends and helps elevate the stress of college life.

    In three sentences

    Rider University offers a great range of interesting courses, professors, and extra curricular activities. However, if you are not an active member of the Greek community or a sport team, you may find yourself struggling to find things to do on the weekend. The location of the school is great, and they are continually adding new dinning and academic facilities on campus.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The response time for Rider security is quick, but I see them more during the day then during the nighttime.

    Greek Life

    People in the Greek life are friendly and host many events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty so that you will never be bored or lonely. Events occur almost every day, and you will make many friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. Anyone at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you first become a freshmen, you touch a rock. The saying is that you are not allowed to touch the rock again until you graduate. If you do touch the rock in between freshmen and senior year, the rumor is that you will not graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Things at Rider are expensive, but so is life! Rider is a great way to learn how to spend your money accordingly.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join on campus. On the weekend however, most people go home...so make friends with a person that brings a car because there is not much to do on the weekend. Every other week (it seems) Rider brings performers of different sorts to perform. Most of them are free for Rider students!

    Food and Dining

    It may take a while to get used to it, but the food is great...better then most places. Plus the dining selection is vast, especially with the brand new Subway!

    Dorm Life

    Although small, the people are friendly and most of the dorms are located near the buildings you will be going to and also the food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well taught and can be fun with the right teachers and fellow class mates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not give up on the SAT! The better you do there, the better your classes will be when you get here. Try and talk to everyone that you meet here because you will make a lot of friends. Apply for as many scholarships as you can because the tuition is expensive, but there are ways that Rider can help you through that.

    In three sentences

    Rider is a friendly place that feels like a home away from home where the professors are nice and helpful. Not only is the food good, but the dining selections seem endless! The dorms, although small, can become comfortable and home-like if you decorate well.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business majors, performers, people who like small schools

    Food and Dining

    Daly's(the dining hall) had decent food. It's not good but it's not terrible either. Cranberries has pretty good food but it can get kind of pricy.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are alright. For the non-exclusively upperclass dorms i.e there are communal bathrooms, which definitely aren't fun. However most of the dorms with a couple of exceptions are relatively clean

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are certainly much higher than someone would expect of a university with its admission rates. When it comes to Business, fine arts or education, Rider University is first rate for academic. But even for science and liberal arts major, Rider has great academic. Plus Rider provides students with the tools they need to succeed, like a printer in almost every building, the writing center, math skills lab science learning communities, tutors ect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge the school solely on it's appearance. It might appear to be a small, predominately white, suitcase school with mediocre academics located in the middle of nowhere. And definitely if choose to come to Rider get involved.

    In three sentences

    Rider is different. It's the small school that could. A school full of imagination, intelligence and determination.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. They put gates up every night to ensure that they ID everyone that comes into campus. Also, you can always call campus safety if you do not feel safe going places around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    We have great athletic programs, as well as the arts.

    Bang for the buck

    Rider is one of the more expensive schools, but I couldn't see myself anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of things to do off campus like shopping, a movie theatre, etc. Also Rider does a lot of on campus activities to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The new dining halls are great. The food is just like home-cooked food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. Once you make it your own you will love your room!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect a lot out of you at Rider, especially in the sciences. You are expected to learn on your own as well as in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to Rider to ensure you have plenty of time to make your decision.

    In three sentences

    Rider University is an extremely friendly, student-oriented university. There are so many opportunities for every type of student. Rider is great because there is a lot of one-on-one with the professors.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel really safe here. The local police check by during the weekends and public safety is always driving around. Also safe ride and other things are able to get you places and make sure you are safe the whole time.

    Greek Life

    I have not associated myself with Greek Life however they are always around and all seem so very friendly. They are never rude or discriminate against anyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great array of clubs and activities to join. And it keeps expanding so if there isn't something there for you (I dont know how there couldn't be) then it is easy to start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Really great for all types of students. It is such a diverse community and everyone is included.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MidnightMAACness is a great thing that happens every year it is always fun and really it is not at midnight.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like it is definitely worth it all.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on campus for you to join as well as things to do with the college off campus. There is always fun to be had.

    Food and Dining

    Better then any cafeteria food I had in high school. There are some off days but there is always something. They add new things every so often as well as bring back old favorites.

    Dorm Life

    It is dorm life so not the best but the RAs and people are amazing and make it fun.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hards at time but it keeps you focused and the teachers are always ready to help you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really get ahead and know what you want to do if you have a major if not then try to figure it all out, you don't want to be in school that long.

    In three sentences

    It is a very fun and welcoming environment. The teachers are all ready to work with you and talk to you about the classes. There are amazing opportunities to explore your major or other majors.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    very expensive for no reason. not a lot for your money

    What to do for fun

    not a lot. there are small programs that they have.

    Tips for prospective students

    do well your first semester because it shapes your life.

    In three sentences

    a very nice school and very helpful to students. All about money not about the students. hard school to be at because its a commuter school.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. Gates are closed after 8pm. Everyone that wants to enter must come through the main entrance and go through security. If you ever feel unsafe walking somewhere you can call public safety and they will come pick you up from where ever you are.

    Greek Life

    There are many fraternities and sororities. Each fall and spring semester the department of Greek Life host Meet the Greeks. It's a chance to known more about the Greek life at Rider.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so much to get involved in. You name it Rider has it and if not it is so easy to start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a medium-sized school, and need that one-on-one attention. If you rather have your professor know you personally as opposed to your professor identifying you as a number like larger schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of the basketball season Rider has Midnight MAACNESS. This is the school's annual pep rally at midnight to get the students hyped for the basketball season. A big bonus Rider is located by two major cities Philadelphia and New York City.

    Bang for the buck

    Rider is a part of the MACCANESS tournament. Each year at 6am the whole school comes to the basketball game and wears all white. The students stay up all night waiting for the game to begin. It's known as a white out game. The game is live on ESPN.

    What to do for fun

    There's are not many parties on campus. However, there are many close by campus. There are many clubs and activities to become involved in. Since Rider is a D1 school, basketball games are big here.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Daly's (cafe) is pretty good. They have all types of food to suit one's diet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life as an underclassmen are your typical college dorms. However, once you become an upperclassmen the dorms become nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Rider are challenging, but on the plus side the professors are always willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending Rider, make sure you put down your deposit early so you can pick your place of residence early. Rider does not have a football team (if you enjoy college football Rider isn't the school for you). However, Rider is D1 in every sport. So if you're an athlete Rider may be a good choice for you.

    In three sentences

    Rider is a wonderful school, it is a medium sized school and the classroom settings are similar to a high school setting. Rider's teacher staff is caring and always willing to help the student out unlike bigger colleges. Although Rider is an expensive school. they make sure to help you with financial aid.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, join different clubs and get to experience the full college experience with greek life also being offered on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is newly renovated and the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you live in, it is your preference on how you rate it. In my perspective, I enjoy living in the dorms and adjusting to college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load is manageable and the professors are there to help guide you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend a small campus with direct attention in class then Rider is the way to go.

    In three sentences

    Rider University is a diverse campus with much to offer to the students who attend there, and the academics are phenomenal. The professors are also very comforting and overall a great school.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You get tired of it by the end of the semester.

    Dorm Life

    Choose one of the newer buildings to live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check it out for yourself.

    In three sentences

    It has a great atmosphere. You'll sure to feel at home. It's almost impossible to get lost there; the campus is small!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. The security patrol the campus 24/7 and are always a call away.

    Bang for the buck

    The university is very expensive, but gives they students a lot of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There's many clubs to join, a student recreational center, and many opportunities to leave the campus with fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    There are varieties for every individual. However, the food choices change weekly.

    Dorm Life

    Great experience! Dorm life helps the student experience different individuals in a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Rider University is a very competitive university. The students here strive to become the best they can possible be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask visit your academic dean, because they are always willing to help you with you stay at Rider University. Also, having a sense of tone management will help you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Rider university is a good college. Rider University has every thing a student could possibly need to succeed. By far a university worth its cost.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Princeton is an AMAZING college town about 15 mins drive away from Rider. Go there to eat, get ice cream, shop and have fun. The quaker bridge mall is near by with lots a great stores.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will get out of it what you put into it. If you do the readings and the work, you'll get good grades and learn a lot. Also, class participation always helps. Participate in extracurriculars too!!

    In three sentences

    Rider has excellent, engaging, caring professors. The campus is well taken care of with plenty of student activities. Overall, I think it's a great place to get your education.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of towns and cities around. Phili is only 45 mins. Princeton is great too.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options. Asian, grill, salad bar, Starbucks, Subway, and more.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Just do the work, you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is not very good financial aid. Join clubs to meet people. Study hard!

    In three sentences

    Rider is a good school. The professors are really great. The work load is not that much. If you do the work, you will do well. They provide a really good education overall.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Lawrenceville Police Station is literally down the block from us so they are always patrolling the campus as well as our public safety. We also have the safe lights on campus. We have student escort which is like a taxi service for students. You just call them and ask them to pick you up and take you to another building.

    Greek Life

    We have a number of fraternities and sorties on campus. It is easy to point out if a student is greek or not.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have too many clubs to list and anyone can join or make one.

    Great for these types of students

    -Used to small schools. -Doesn't want to be just a number. -Needs small classroom sizes. -Wants great opportunities for co-ops, top companies, and government officials. -Is into basketball. -Wants a high demand on safety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have cranberry fest, which takes place every fall, generally at the start of the semester. Rider makes cranberry mayo which is delicious and the reason why we are so big on cranberries is because the man who owned Rider was a cranberry farmer. So in his honor we celebrate cranberry fest, and thats why our colors are cranberry red and white. We also have MACCNESS which is basically a huge rep rally to kick off the basketball season at Rider. Our top sport is basketball and the games are always packed, the dance team, and cheerleaders showcase their work at MACCNESS.

    Bang for the buck

    The one thing that is awesome about Rider is that we have an annual Fall Concert. Rider has brought, J Cole, Miguel, Lupe Fiasco, Jason Derulo, and Sean Kingston.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, a sport's team, go to the events offered. Go into princeton, go to the gym, take advantage of the different classes offered at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Rider is big on cultural foods, so our dinning hall always has a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Rider has many different dorm buildings, each with their own styles. We have international dorm buildings, healthcare dorm buildings, athletic dorm buildings, and apartment style. Dorm life is very safe on campus because of our public safety and there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Rider is very well known for the different majors it offers and honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to your professor, you have a one on one connection with them at Rider, make use of it. Take advantage of all of the events on campus, you meet a lot of new people, especially international students. Rider has a large flow of international students, which is wonderful because residential students make international connections.

    In three sentences

    You have a close relationship with your professors, which benefits you because you need them as contacts for future job and internship recommendations. It is a small school so residents feel at home and extremely safe. Rider has very good connections with top companies that offer internships, which have turned into jobs for graduating students.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Rider is very reliable with student to teacher help. Trustworthy also comes to mind with teacher aid. Lastly, rider is a great school for applicants looking to become a school teacher.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Rider plans a lot of fun activities for us to do throughout campus on different days.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dinning hall, Daily's , is pretty good. We also Cranberry's, a grill, and Subway. They're all really good. You go there for more late night/ weekend foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small. If people are clean then the bathrooms stay clean, but over all they're okay.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm an accounting major. They have a great accounting program. I know the radio and broadcasting, and education have great programs along with other ones

    Tips for prospective students

    School is a little pricey so make sure you get what you can out of financial aide. Take advantage of all the clubs and the small classroom settings.

    In three sentences

    It's a small, but great school. The classes are small, which makes each interaction with a different professor very valuable because they get to know you personally.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are making their rounds constantly and they are visual.

    What to do for fun

    To many things to list here.

    Food and Dining

    A little pricey compared to off campus stores, deli shops.

    Dorm Life

    Continuing Studies Student - I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough. Assignments outside of reading required class books, papers to write and deadlines to meet, tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to be challenged.

    In three sentences

    This is by far one of the best schools that I have attend. The professors take time to explain the course material, comfortable class size (student to instructor ratio) and the overall school environment is just nice.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I've heard they have an amazing campus.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard wonders.

    Dorm Life

    They seem nice, through the pictures.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't been to campus yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow your heart!

    In three sentences

    It offers a very complete Fine Arts Program; Staff is really caring; They offer great opportunities for scholarship.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My favorite part of rider is their campus safety or as I like to say student escort. They will drive you or pick up from one part of campus to the next if you are too tired to walk.

    Greek Life

    Long listed of too many types. And they all live in the same areas and have big parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    To many to count and actually name. However, there is one class in the student gym that is know to draw a crowed each week known as Vinyasa. Students flock to rider yoga classes.

    Great for these types of students

    All types they are people of different race, social class, and personality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many traditions such as Mac-madness(not sure that's how they spell it) is an event to kick of the D-1 basketball team and lalaploza is an event to bring awareness to safe sex and alcohol. There is also the six am game, because rider was crazy enough to get the first official spot for college sport on ESPN.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay so rider is a private school and it cost a lot. The fact of the matter is this school gives a good amount of finical aid, but be prepared to work for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are the events the RA's plan, campus wide events, movie nights, local clubs, we're twenty minutes from any major shopping and entertaining areas.

    Food and Dining

    So many options without having to travel the distance. First the is the fact that your weekly meals limit is 99 meals per week. Most people never go lower than 70 meals. The main dining hall is know as Daley there food choice range from a very big salad and cereal bar to the more major foods such as the grill-little Italy- sweet corner and much more. From those who are tired of Daley their the store below the BLC know as Cranberry's ( where you use your bronc bucks or cash) and the c store or subways.

    Dorm Life

    What can I say a big flat screen in every buildings main lounge, plus a kitchen. RA that plan events after events. The fact that you do not have to live in a building to attend their events. Amazing. However, if something gets broken in the building and the RA cannot find the culprit, everyone pays.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that sound easy on their course list, but the moment you hit that classroom you will have to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming into Rider, it may look like a big school at first and size-wise it is very big. However, the community of the campus is very close. Each student has an adviser biased on either their academic major (if it is not a major one like international business) or for those who pick majors like elementary education your adviser is biased on your minor.

    In three sentences

    Their academic programs are massive and very well taught. The events planned are amazing, just this last school year(2012-2013) we had J. Cole as one of our performers. There was also a casino night to promote the awareness of alcohol and safe sex. The prizes in the end were even better than the ones they give out at bingo night.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent, they constantly drive around to make sure everything is okay on campus. They are very friendly, as most of them will wave as they drive past or say hi to you as you walk by them. Personally, I am fond of them because i rolled my ankle once and i was hobbling back to my dorm, and one of the campus safeties stopped and picked me up and took me to my dorm. Rider University's Campus Safety does an excellent job.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is pretty normal at Rider, there isn't any hazing, or any pressure that you may feel that you have to join. It is simply if you want to join, join and explore and get to know your new fraternity members.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many and various clubs to choose from and if the club you would like to join isn't on campus, you can talk to someone into making that club. Activities include volunteer work, inter-mural sports, or any of the various activities has to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students. All students are welcomed as long as you are willing to put the effort and time in to reach your goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes the fraternities will have Greek Wars and let out a loud chant or rant, other than that, nothing unusual about Rider.

    Bang for the buck

    At first seeing Rider's tuition price might seem a little high, but i believe its worth every penny. The academics are great and more than enough tools are given to help you succeed. And out of the classroom, there is many things to do, there is never a boring day at Rider University.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are various clubs to join, a gym, with full workout equipment, 3 basketball courts inside the gym, as well as two outside of the gym. Video games, pool, tennis, air hockey, a pool. There many things you can do on campus, as well as just go for a walk around the campus. There are plays to go, basketball games, baseball games, even some off campus activities Rider offers as well.

    Food and Dining

    On campus is Daly's dining hall is open Mon-Fri from 7am to 9pm and Sat and Sun from 9am-9pm. Daly's is the primarily where all students go for their 3 full meals. Each day at Daly's is a new special for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. More than likely, students will not have the same thing they had the day before. Also on campus Cranberry's. Cranberry's is the place students go for late night meals or snacks or after their night class. Within Cranberry's is also a subway and a convenient store as well. Cranberry's opening hours vary, however, closes each night at 2am. If not feeling neither, there are many off campus resturants, such as Wendy's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Joe's Crab Shack, McDonald's, etc. All are no more than 5 minutes away from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty average. Some buildings are newer than others. Therefore some buildings may have air condition and some buildings may not. Later in your tenure at RIder, you can apply for suites which are the nicest dorms on campus. However, they cost more than the standard dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe Rider is a great place to learn. The learning atmosphere is so friendly and really makes me feel as a student not afraid to ask questions. Also the professors are willing to talk to you, willing to help you out, and willing to stay after class for any dilemmas you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions, the professors as well as the students will be glad to help. Also to get to know your professors and fellow students as well, college is too big of a place to feel lonely and to feel you have no one to talk to.

    In three sentences

    Rider University is a great environment to learn, as well as grow as person in society. Everyone from the professors, faculty, and students, are willing to help incoming students, no matter how small it may be. Rider University is an ideal school as everyone is willing to make new students feel welcomed and as a place of where they belong.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around and during orientation they make you save their number along with an emergency number that way they are always a call away.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can join which are very fun, we also have the src which has a gym, indoor track, pin pong tables, pool tables, and two tvs. There are also basketball courts outside. Rider also has fun events like our winter concert, in the fall semester we had Miguel and j cole. To kick of our basketball season we have an event called MACness, which introduces us to our men's and women's basketball teams. If you have a car you can go to the mall which is only a few minutes away. There is also a bowling place near rider that has an arcade and laser tag. There are many things off campus, you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Rider had two different dinning facilities, there is Daly's which requires you to swipe your student i.d to get in. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner but if you don't go during those times you won't really find any food. Your other option is Cranberry's, everyone loves it but it can get expensive. At cranberry's you use your bronc bucks which is money you put on your student i.d kind of like a debit card.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, you get to meet many people and make lots of new friends!

    Academic Rigor

    RIder helps you can achieve academic success, they have a lot of resources to help you!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a million on campus clubs and sports teams to become a part of. Whatever your interest may be, Rider has a club for it. Just don't be afraid to say hi and reach out to people in your classes, as well. It is a suitcase school, though - a lot of people clear out on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Cranberry's dining is delicious, but the meals there aren't covered on the meal plan so you'll have to pay out of pocket or use your Bronc Bucks. Daly's food is okay - there's a lot of the standard stuff like pasta, salads, burgers. It's cool that they mix it up with Asian dishes and things like that.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I can't really answer this question. I do have friends on campus, and they love it. Everything is close by and it's impossible to get lost on campus leaving your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a challenging school. It really depends on your major, but I always have more work to do than my friends who go to public universities. It's worth the effort because employers in the PA/NJ/NY area know Rider is an excellent school that put its students to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start searching for internships your second semester at Rider. It's difficult to find internships for a freshman, but if you do land one, you're ahead of the game! With so many connections to Philadelphia, New York, and Princeton (NJ) nearby, you should have no problem finding one.

    In three sentences

    Rider is an excellent academic institution. It's great for those who are seeking out internships and want the most out of their educational experience. The smaller class sizes here at Rider make for comfortable, and hands-on learning environment.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus Saftey is amazing there is security guards everywhere you go which make sure everything on campus is how it's suppose to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A location on campus I would recommend going is the lake. There is a beautiful lake that you could go to and just sit, relax, and enjoy the view.

    What to do for fun

    You can do a lot of things for fun like for an example every Thursday at Rider University they would have an event that you would have to sign up for to participate. You could also be involve in a club or sport which would take some your time to have fun, there is a hang out spot that is called the pub where you can dance and socialize with many of your friends and others, and lastly there is many shopping malls and stores you could go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Rider University it ok. It could have been a little well prepared when I visited but many peers I've talked to said that the food is way better once the semester beings and that there is a better and much more selection.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Rider University is something to get used to from being someone that's used to their own space and room, but it has all the main things that you would need plus the things you have to bring to make it like home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic at Rider University is great the professors are nice and doesn't worry about nothing but your success as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Look more into the cost in attending Rider University because even though its a great school the cost of attending can be overwhelming. 2. Make sure to bring a fly swatter because there are a lot of bugs in the area. 3. Having a pair of rain boots and a umbrella would be wonderful to have because when it rains down there it pours and because of the campus being on one level ground it floods.

    In three sentences

    1. Rider University has a wonder atmosphere. 2. Rider University is filled with a lot of friendly people. 3. The only thing that would worry many people about attending Rider University is the cost to attend which is a lot and increases each year.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated and patrolled by its own security, not to mention the local Police Department is not far from the campus itself. Rider security offices offers a taxi service for students who do not feel safe walking alone at night. Everyone must have IDs and visitors must check in with the security office.

    Greek Life

    I don't know what greek life is.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities for any student to join, and if a club does not exist for a particular activity or interest, it can be created easily.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bar on-campus for students over 21, a dining hall, recreation center, and a library.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless clubs for any and every sort of interest, recreational sports, weight rooms, tracks, sports, and other such community activity. The campus is located nearby a mall, it resides in a quaint town, and there is always something going on on-campus.

    Food and Dining

    Rider University offers a wide variety of eateries, ranging from the dining hall to its numerous vending machines and late-night snack places. Most students use a meal plan which offers them up to 99 meals a week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are large enough to comfortably fit as many people as it specifies. They are heated, most air conditioned, and generally offer a family-like community amongst its residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Rider offers a myriad of classes, all of which has a rigorous curriculum. While each class presents a challenge to its students, it also has numerous resources with which a student might use to study from. There are also tutors for each class, as well as study sessions. Rider also offers a number of honors classes, and various advanced placement classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and expect serious challenges.

    In three sentences

    Rider University seems like a very intimate and close knit community. The staff and faculty are friendly and eager to help. The campus is spacious and comfortable, and it has many opportunities.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall never has any food and when it does the food is either not cooked enough or not cooked at all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are terrible! There is no AC and the bathrooms are like the YMCA with a tiny curtain for the showers.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here can go from being really easy to really hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to sign up for your classes as soon as possible. It's easy to get classes that close early on you. Also, try to bring a car with you because it gets really boring during the weekend.

    In three sentences

    A friendly environment with great scenery. A university with amazing programs. However, nothing to do during the week.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rider is a great school for people who want a smaller community that has smaller classes. I think the biggest amount of people in my classes is around 20 or so! it guarantees personal attention from your professors and it really shows that you aren't just a number in a class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have Cranberryfest every year and that is a blast, we also have a midnight MAACness event that is always a blast!

    Bang for the buck

    I think that Rider is well worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    we are one train ride from New York City, and a small drive to Princeton. We are also right near New Hope, Pennsylvania where we can do Virtually anything!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! it is better than I was expecting it to be, what with all of the horror stories you hear about college dining, but the food here is actually fairly great!

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely LOVE my dorm! the building is a beautiful building and I have the eight best RA's in this building and a Fabulous RD. They really make everyone feel welcome, even if they aren't your RA. Yes, for Freshman Year Experience you need to endure community bathrooms, but they are incredibly clean!

    Academic Rigor

    Rider pushes you to the best that you can be. Sometimes the work can be difficult, but if you couldn't handle the work, you wouldn't be in this university!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to make sure you are well prepared for work, because college is not easy! Here at Rider, they push you to success because they know that you can do it! Make sure you also join clubs, get yourself out there! College is what you make of it, so make it the best it can be!

    In three sentences

    I personally love Rider University because of the overall feel it gives off when you set foot on campus. Rider is an extremely accepting school and is open to everything that you need or suggest. I personally think that it is well worth the money, I don't see myself anywhere else than here!

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in Lawrenceville, NJ. There is Public Safety officers always patrolling the campus and occasionally a cop or two, police station is 1,000 feet from the campus. During the night only one gate can be used to enter the campus and you must have a Rider ID or a specific place you are heading to to be allowed on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is small but tightly knitted with two fraternities and 4 sororities. They are seen all around campus and don't seclude themselves to just greek life. They are easy to talk to and fun to be around. They are open to everyone and are willing to help you find the correct path for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs and activities are all very fun and easy to join. Some cost money but no more then 50 dollars to join. All clubs and activities are open to everyone joining and are al about getting involved, meeting new people and having fun.

    What to do for fun

    Rider has so many different clubs that you can join its unreal. If you aren't into a club that they have, which is hard to do, then you can just hang with your friends around campus. Every hall has an executive board that puts together events for your hall to get to know the people you are living with.

    Food and Dining

    The dining service has all sorts of food that you can choose from. They have a salad and hoagie station, pasta, pizza, and all different daily specials all throughout the dining hall. Although after about a month you may get annoyed or sick of the food options, you need to get creative with the food options you have in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, if you have the opportunity to move on campus I highly suggest doing so. Living on campus is like first moving out of your house and living on your own, accept you have a roommate. Not only does living in a dorm help you with life skills, but it also helps you with social skills by figuring out how to talk to people and get to know someone that you know nothing about and making friends.

    Academic Rigor

    On the academic side of Rider, the professors know what they are teaching but at times they don't realize that their students are not at a mastery level of schooling and that they may only be freshman, sophomores, or even juniors learning about the class for possibly the very first time. The professors however have office hours that students can go to if they need help.

    In three sentences

    Rider is a private small school that is perfect for students that are scared of going away to college. Rider's small campus makes it easy to meet people and make friends quickly. The school is all about helping their students evolve as individuals.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college offers numerous activities to get involved in, as well as lots of opportunities (academically or for fun) to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! And there are so many options to choose from. So you will never grow bored of what they serve.

    Dorm Life

    Nice living arrangements offered

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful curriculum offerded

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors in your intended major. Also speak with the dean of your major, the academic counselors, current students and alumni. They're really helpful!

    In three sentences

    Rider is a wonderful campus. The atmosphere is welcoming, as well as the people who inhabit it. The college offers numerous academic programs, opportunities and activities to get involved in.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always there, on time for assistance.

    Greek Life

    Decent. I'd say a little less than half of the student body is actually a part of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many great clubs, but low turn out because its a small school, and there are so many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Determined driven students who want to get their work done and become a respectable part of campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Camp fires in the back fields near the track and baseball fields is a great location for some bonfires and smores.

    Bang for the buck

    Riders expensive, unless you have a large academic scholarship, have a lot of money, or are on a sports team.

    What to do for fun

    There is Bronc Bingo on Fridays. also sometimes comedians come to entertain the students. Multiple entertainers of many talents come to the school throughout the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the main dining hall Dalys is alright, however it can get repetitive. This is where the alternative Cranberrys is needed, however each student has a limited amount of bronc bucks and Cranberrys food is generally unhealthy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little bleak and depressing but the life in dorms is fun. Find the right people and you can have a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty good academic professors. The students are average at best though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the gym, its free! Spend your bronc bucks smartly. Find time to have fun. Be active on campus. Work with a successful healthy sleep schedule.

    In three sentences

    A small private university. Rider has a lot of programs that encompasses many different interest. There are a plethora of activities available on campus.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It would be nice if they plowed and helped you with things such as ice but overall they are sweet and as long as you don't get on their bad side you are good :)

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of things are offered and you can always find a place here on campus. There is no place were you are not accepted.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible. The food selection yes is nice but you are constantly praying that you do not get sick. There are moments where the food is amazing but overall not nice. The staff however is so sweet but they aren't good cooks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean but are extremely hot even in the winter. Unless you live in the newer dorms you don't have a lot of space for things. As well finding a roommate is a very interesting process and can lead to a lot of trouble at times. Lastly, it can get pretty loud which is always expected but in certain dorms extreme loudness is not stoped even on weeknights or nights before finals.

    Academic Rigor

    It has its moments. Depending on what classes you are taking they can be harder then others. Overall though it is hard enough that you feel pushed to succeed but success is completely reachable.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not walk across the Quad. No one is allowed to. Superstition is that if you do, you will not graduate.

    What to do for fun

    SING OF COURSE.

    Food and Dining

    The food last year was terrible and the same every single day. Each semester though we are beginning to see better ingredients and meals overall. Its slow progress, but its progress.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not in the best conditions and may be noisy at time (especially if you are on on the first floor), but you still have plenty of room to spread out.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to take lots of classes for little credit. You will always be busy; they don't call it Stressminster for nothing. But you will always feel challenged in your classes, but due to the size of the school you will always feel comfortable going to someone for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your self if you can truly handle a small atmosphere, because the school is currently only 450 students (including graduate students). Think if music is something you want to make a career out of. Once you figure out the answer for those two questions, COME! Coming to Westminster is on of the best decisions you will ever make.

    In three sentences

    Westminster Choir College of Rider University is a school of diversity, acceptance, and livelihood. Students are able to work with high quality professors in an smaller atmosphere. While facilities may not be top notch, your education is.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Went to see this college a few years back and the campus is beautiful. There was a good selection of studies to choose from. Definitely would have went here if I could have afforded it.