Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ridgewater College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Litterally you do not have to go outside. You can of course. But the buildings are connected in a large bumpy circle. Check out the map on the website. I have not felt uncomfortable and have looked and they have camera every place and that makes me feel even more comfortable, almost to comfortable. :)

    Greek Life

    On site art gallerys would be my best suggestion. The website does explain each program and coarse in detail for your review. The guidance office is more then happy direct.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multicultural Club & Trio so many to list! On line you can look at them with out registering. Sports galor and what I love is the free tuturing that is available 8am - 4pm LOVE!!

    Great for these types of students

    If your goal is set they are set to help you reach your goal. How ever if you are undecided they are able to look at tests and to get you on a path for success on your choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Personally I got a work study as a note taker. Pretty neat since I'm taking the class and now being paid to do what I'm already doing. Love it! They are just simply willing to help in anyway.

    Bang for the buck

    The instructors are past students and undestrand the costs and have choosen the least amount of required books to keep costs down and the school offers the lowest prices and rental and used programs and buy back. Alsways kind in helping with anything you need.

    What to do for fun

    STARS! Tons of stuff is available and most are free with your student id. Also with school always study sessions and the library is open till 9pm.

    Food and Dining

    What ever you are looking for they have it available either at the book store / convience store and on site restaurant & store. Huge shooping area less then five minutes from the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do live in town and spoke with a gal that lives on site and walks to school in the cold winter weather in Minnesota and she said she just loves it!

    Academic Rigor

    Aggressive at your pace. Very kind about make sure you are on track and the five star agenda listed out for you on the first day of school so you know what is going on!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the map for areas that interest you.as it is clearly market and easly located. Go ahead and request and tour and they are more then happy to set up at time that works for you!

    In three sentences

    The kindness of the staff has simply blown my mind. Online information runs quick and you get quick answers back. Every one has been very helpful.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students that either A. arent just yet ready to go off to a huge college or university and B. for those who want to get a great education and spend a little money.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour and when your there taking classes dont be afraid of asking for help.

    Bang for the buck

    ridgewater is a great starting piont to get your generals (A.A. degree) for a little money!

    Am enjoying being here

    ridgewater is a community college but its great if you're not ready to go off to college and want to start small. the city of willmar is a medium size town. theres bowling. fast food place, theres a theatre and during the spring and fall there are always things to do outside.

    Am learning a lot

    I am one of those people that were afraid of leaving home and going off to a huge school. so i chose to go to Ridgewater. the teachers are all very helpful, and their office hrs are convinite they even let you make special appointments if needed.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    pseo students and non-traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are reasonable compared to other colleges in the area.

    Food and Dining

    food on the campus could improve but there are many selections that are close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    good challenging classes and good variety of classes offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    the average class consists of many pseo students and many older non-traditional students.

    In three sentences

    ridgewater has very good and small class sizes. the teachers are very helpful and care about each student. it is a good school for individuals that need to juggle kids, work, and a class schedule.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is an extremely safe campus. I've never heard of so much as a robbery from a car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs, but they are small, seeing as it is a very small school.

    Great for these types of students

    Ridgewater is great for Post-Secondary students, first and second year college students as well as people going back to college. The classes are very lenient and give time for you to care for your family and go back to school.

    Bang for the buck

    The instructors do an incredible job with their students and Ridgewater is extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall in Hutchinson as well as a movie theater and other fun places to shop and walk around.

    Food and Dining

    Smack-dab in the center of Hutchinson, there are many places you can go out to eat. Ridgewater also provides a restaurant in the school.

    Dorm Life

    I go to the Hutchinson campus. They do not provide dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    People in community colleges seem to be more concerned with their education than those at four-year institutions. Everybody is there to learn, which keeps distractions at a minimum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of all the helpful programs and seminars they provide.

    In three sentences

    This school has the best bang for your buck as one instructor here would say. It has small classes with instructors that know you by name and the office staff are always happy to help you with transferring or even signing up for the classes that you need. Ridgewater is a great way to start your college career.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try to schedule your classes as soon as possible, and talk with the teachers if you are having trouble. They will help you as much as they can.

    In three sentences

    Ridgewater has been very accommodating for many dislocated workers and non traditional workers. This school has many opprotunities for casual meetings and activities, especially for a technical school. Ridgewater has made my transition back into to school as simple as possible.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is sports and clubs

    In three sentences

    I LOVE Ridgewater College. I am enrolled in there Agriculture program Dairy Management. It is a great school and they offer so much.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know there isn't really anything for safety on campus. We don't have guards of any sort and there aren't any emergency posts near the buildings where I have classes.

    Greek Life

    The only form of Greek life on our campus is the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. You will be invited to this group if you have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. It is a great group and well respected within the Minn-Kota region. One of the three advisers is the Minn-Kota regional coordinator.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only a handful of active clubs on campus, and when you read the list note that clubs like the Photography Club are clubs that are for specific programs and you can only join them when you are a member of that program.

    Bang for the buck

    I am from Willmar, so being able to stay home and save money at a community college was a great deal for me.

    What to do for fun

    Willmar does not have a lot to do for fun, however the Student Senate tries to make sure that there are fun events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is provided by Taher, and although the food is okay, it isn't worth the prices they charge.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of variations in the rigor of classes, depending on who you take them with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the faculty and staff at the college. Most of them are really personable, and when you know people around campus they can help you a lot.

    In three sentences

    Ridgewater is a small school in a very religious community. It is a good place to start so that you can save some money. The faculty/staff at Ridgewater are very helpful.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt threatened on ridgewaters campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's is lots of different clubs that you can be in. There's at least one club for everyone to be interested in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't really anything untraditional but ridgewater college has two campuses on in Hutchinson mn and the other in Willmar mn.

    What to do for fun

    At least one day each week the college try's to have speakers come in and on Tuesdays is popcorn Tuesdays (free). Ridgewater is always providing some type of lunch or snack during the speakers. A couple weeks a semester ridgewater will plan activities each day That week. Like build your own pixi stick, tie die your own shirt, etc. all for free!

    Food and Dining

    Ridgewater college - Hutchinson. Has a very small cafeteria. They are trying to expanded it and have more lunches to provide.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You either have to find an apartment, house, or drive everyday from wherever you live.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a workout gym, pool table/gaming area plus lots of event activities each month.

    Food and Dining

    They had a new little deli area.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't use

    Academic Rigor

    Not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study more.

    In three sentences

    Ridgewater has a very nice instructors willing to help with whatever you need. They have lots of fun extra things to attend out of school. There staff is very helpful.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students and staff here are Minnesota nice, I've never notice anything unsafe or felt unsafe in anyway. I love college at Ridewater.

    Clubs and Activities

    Auto Body Club

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a single mother going into a male industry, and now that I'm in school I know I will succeed. I'm so thankful I am taking AutoBody at Ridgewater College, my teachers helped me turn my life around. They've done that by excellent communication and their eagerness to help students succeed. I'm going to be successful after I graduate because I am 100% confident I am learning from the best.

    Food and Dining

    Food is cheap. Food is delicious. Staff and students are a guaranteed positive environment.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, I love that the college is so close to home. People whom live on campus are friendly. Clean properties.

    Academic Rigor

    Every teacher I've had so far wants me to be successful. I am the only female in first year auto body and I must say I always feel welcome, and happy at school. My teachers teach class in a way that everyone understands, and always go out of there way to make sure of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss class. Don't show up late. Make College your number one priority, in order to become successful.

    In three sentences

    Psychologically Capable teachers, whom know how to teach the way each individual needs. Ridgewater College is a positive fun environment. Ridgewater College staff is always helpful and truly cares about your success.