Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ringling College of Art and Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 out of 34 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with talent and interest in animation, illustration, photography, interior design, fine arts, business of art and design, graphic design, etc. Besides that, anyone is welcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unfortunately, whenever you have a question for a staff member or administrator when not on campus, they are always unavailable and can only be reached by email, never phone. It's very annoying. Also, work hard because it is a very competitive environment within the respectful majors.

    Bang for the buck

    The one really negative point to make about this place is the price point. When all charges come together, the price tag is about 40,000 a year. This is bad for me because I have to pay for school with mostly student loans considering bright futures does not pay that much for private institutions, nor do my scholarships. Then again, this is one of the most prestigious art colleges in the world and the incredible career services pretty much guarantees you a job by the time you graduate. Companies like Pixar to EA to Hallmark to the CIA come here to recruit students. It really is world class.

    Am enjoying being here

    Most of the professors are very nice and the campus is beautiful. This is a residential campus so most people live here, but some of the buildings are really old and not that nice. On the other hand, the campus has been expanded greatly through the construction of many new large buildings. These buildings are beautiful. The staff in all offices are very friendly (I deal with them because I work with the campus activities crew) I've made many friends here and spend most of my time with them when I'm not packed with work. Years 3-4 are extremely work intensive, whereas year 1 is only moderate. Sometimes I really get sick of being on campus and go to downtown Sarasota (which is gorgeous) or St Armand's Circle (shopping, dining), or lido beach, also, not too far from famous Siesta Key beach.

    Am learning a lot

    Having only finished my freshmen year, I have only learned what Ringling taught me for their 1st year CORE Studio program, which is drawing (still lifes, etc), figure drawing, 3D studio, 2D art, color, history, and others based on your major. Mine was Traditional Animation and History of Animation because I'm a Computer Animation major. BTW, Ringling is generally referred to as the best art school in the country and has the world's best animation program, according to 3D magazine.

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are open-minded, off the wall, friendly, and like video games, you will definitely be welcomed here. Actually, nearly any type of person is accepted by students at Ringling College of Art and Design. However, if you tend to create drama, talk behind people's backs, or don't try your best in class, students will definitely have a problem with you. You don't need to be Da Vinci to be accepted at this school, but you MUST try your best, fail, learn, and try again until you achieve the success that is inevitable at Ringling College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scholarships, scholarships, scholarships. It is imperative that you apply for any and every scholarship you can. You will have to scour the Internet and spend hours applying, or you will likely never be able to afford this school. The price we all pay for having the highest-quality education in the world is the enormous cost of tuition and fees. And although paying back loans after college for 20 years seems like a horrid idea to you, it will be well worth it when you get hired and have money in your pocket. Going to lower-quality art schools will not save you money because you will NOT be making any money when you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    This school definitely has some of the highest quality technology for every major, great food and facilities, an extensive library, LEED certified buildings, and highly qualified staff. The one downside to all of this is that all of the money you spend to go to this wonderful school is used to improve the technology and facilities for future students, but little financial aid is provided. However, for prospective artists (ESPECIALLY Computer Animation majors) the name of this school on your resume will get you further than nearly any other art school in the United States. Well-known creative companies such as Pixar, Disney, Blizzard Entertainment, Dreamworks, Hallmark, and even the CIA come to Ringling to hire graduates straight out of college, with the likelihood of a pretty hefty paycheck, because they know and expect that Ringling College students are the best of the best.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at this school is great! There's the warm and sunny Florida atmosphere most months of the year, the gorgeous campus, and most of all the diverse and creative student body. The beach is not far away at all, Downtown Sarasota is beautiful, and the cultured city of Tampa is only 45 minutes away. The student body is very small, and everyone seems to know each other. If people don't know you, they will definitely come up to you and say hello! There are plenty of fun events on campus, especially those run by the Resident Assistants of each floor in the dorms. Resident Assistants are extremely helpful and will make the dorm experience as fun as possible. In addition, the cafeteria has vegetarian, vegan, and omnivorous options for the widest range of student diet. You'll meet friendly people from the other side of the globe here, and you'll be so inspired by the brilliant artists that call this school home 8 months of the year.

    Am learning a lot

    As anyone who has heard of Ringling College of Art and Design will know, Ringling is one of the top colleges in the WORLD for artists and designers. Everyone at the school begins with the same curriculum-- basic studio classes such as drawing and 3D are required (however, next year the curriculum is changing, and many core classes will not be required anymore e.g. Film majors won't need to take drawing). These basic classes start everyone off at the same page. If you're someone like me, who hasn't had any formal art education before Ringling, you'll definitely be brought up to speed by professors who are high-quality, well-known professionals in their own fields. If you're a bit more experienced, there are plenty of school competitions and opportunities for you to stretch your creative muscle as well.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Generally, I would say creative people who love to work with others. A willingness to put effort, a hunger to learn more, and limitless imagination will take you very far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus and ask a lot of questions. Look at a lot of different majors than your first choice. Live on campus for your first year and make a lot of friends. Do not skip out on all the presentations and meetings, they are very important to attend if you are serious about getting a good career. Always be working on your portfolio; make class assignments polished enough to use. Never print things before class, printers aren't always your best friend.

    Bang for the buck

    Although I think the price tag could be cheaper, the money does not go to waste. Students are provided with top of the line technology in every classroom. You are provided your own personal macbook computer within your first few weeks of being on campus which you use for your entire four years of being a student. You are provided excellent care from food to career planning. Professors are very top class professionals from various fields who love to teach. Students are provided numerous resources at their fingertips to help with any project. Various art galleries, company presentations, and high class visitors visit campus happen all throughout the school year.

    Am enjoying being here

    The relatively small, quiet campus is beautifully set nearby beaches of the Gulf Coast of sunny Florida. It is very environmentally friendly, built around some beautiful old trees, newer buildings being awarded LEED gold certifications, and designated smoking areas to keep the campus clean. Classrooms can be open until 2am during weekdays if you need all night to cram. The actual campus is very safe during all hours, security always patrolling and newly installed emergency call boxes in various locations. There are some very student friendly eateries within walking distance that are very forgiving to your wallet. You are also given three on campus locations to eat from if you are on a meal plan or just need a quick meal, a small but efficient gym to work out in, and lovely meeting areas for social interaction within their new Goldstein Residence Hall. It has two giant HD TVs, pool tables, and table tennis open for anyone to use. Also, I must mention taking a look at our Quidditch matches is always quite the spectacle (go armadillos!) and various student clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    The amount of amazing knowledge handed to students at Ringling has always overwhelmed me. It is mostly thanks to the help of some of the best professors within the art and design field. Its no joke when you realize improvement over your own work as each year rolls by. How many people contribute to your growth. However, the learning doesn't just start and end within a classroom. You'll find that day-in and day-out the people you socialize with help you grow tremendously: be it classmates, friends, or upperclassmen. Everyone within the Ringling family sticks together and looks out for one another. You will quickly get to know how openly friendly others are and also how willing they are to inspire you to be better at whatever it is you do.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for dedicated, hardworking, creative, fun, and open students.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school can be difficult, but it is a lot of fun. You have to work hard; ask questions, you cannot expect all the answers to just come to you, it's up to both you and your teachers to work together to achieve your goals.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but you pretty much get what you pay for and how much you put into it. You have to work hard and ask questions. Their staff is extremely helpful and I don't mean just the teachers, I mean the academic advisers, financial aid, and career services staff. They do all they can for the students and to help them prepare for the upcoming years and the future once they leave the school. They work for you even after you graduate, helping you to find jobs!

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the teachers are great, understanding, and nice. The whole school is a welcome environment and it's hard to feel left out with how nice everyone is. I commute and even the commuters are not left out in anything! They make sure you are notified with campus activities. With all of the work the students do, there are plenty of events to relax and have fun! We may not have the best sports teams, as we hardly hear of them, but we have the best Quidditch team around!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a rising junior in Ringling. Each year I am improving greatly in in my artistic ability. The teachers challenge you and help you reach your potential. I started off thinking I did not have much to learn, but it's amazing how much there actually is. I've learned so much about the human anatomy and what I've done shows through in my work. Not a day goes by when someone does not comment on how much I have improved.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is excellent here. at night, there are at least 8 or 10 guys who do nothing but cruise around campus, and keep an eye on things. we also have, in every parking lot and public space, large blue lighted emergency phones. these large blue light poles aso have cameras, which are monitored 24/7. although i am not sure of the number of employees our safety and security has, i know they are always everywhere i go, anytime i go there.

    Greek Life

    seems art students aren't really into greek life here, although i think there are a few greek groups here.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and activities to do, such as quiddich, which rcad is the most recent (2011) champion, sga, volunteer services (something rcad is big on!) and a lot more.

    Great for these types of students

    art, graphic design, illustration, motion graphics, interactive design, digital film (the biggest draw right now,) interior design, tv and movie productions students, sound design students, fine art students, and students how may be creative, but undecided.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    well, here, we have florida al around. we are on the northwestern edge of the everglades, where nature is abundant. we also have throughout the school year, excursions to do things like kayak the mangrove tunnels, explore the bayous, go on deep sea marine expeditions through mote marine, as well as the florida aquarium in tampa, which is only about an hours drive from here. also, rcad is opening the new smoa (sarasota museum of art) which used to be an old fashioned huge high school, where they will conduct classes, hold special shows, and draw in big name artists. we have sarasota international airport, or drive to tampa, one of the largest airports in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    you just can't find a more involved, focused group of educators and staff than we have here. plus, you get career services for the rest of your life, where they will advise on portfolio decisions, will help you write a killer resume, and will assist you in finding a job no matter how long you've been out of college.

    What to do for fun

    sarasota may be a smaller town, but honestly, there is so much you can do here. from local night spots to the beaches, you will find plenty to to. heck, just on campus alone, every week you will have opportunities to go to gallery openings from great artists such a jmwturner, his work is showing here at the selby gallery this week. last month, we had henk pander, a legendary dutch artist, and the list goes on and on. we also have, almost every week, a private screening of movies before they are issued to the public. we also have had speakers such as steven spielberg, jeff katz (who's son attends here) to peter jackson, to elijah wood, who was here last week also, and martha stewart, and the list is endless! stars, directors, artists, musicians, interior designers, and more. the college just started building a new movie studio, with the help of two great hollywood directors involved, which has the agreement with many hollywood studios to bring movie projects here. it is state of the art, and every student is issued a macbook pro when they arrive, to keep the entire time you are here!

    Food and Dining

    the school itself has 3 good restaurants. one is a cafeteria style place, with excellent gourmet chef created dishes. the other is more of a cafe, with great sandwiches, hot meals, and starbucks coffee!! off campus, there are numerous good restaurants really close by: burger king, taco bell, and mcdonalds are all close by, and there are three great chinese places nearby, too. as well as a subway, an new fancy italian ($$) restaurant, and several independent gourmet places up and down us41.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life here is great. about 90% 0f the students live in the dorms their first or second year. but, with a little success, i see that many kids have earned enough money to actually live off campus by the junior or senior year. but stay close to school, because you will still have lots of extra curricular activities to do on campus and off.

    Academic Rigor

    i won't hide the truth here. you will work harder than you ever have in your life. but, that's what you need to learn to do in order to be successful in such a competitive business. you'll find yourself creating miracles out of nothing, and learn how to do so in a responsible, environmentally friendly way!

    Tips for prospective students

    come to ringling in sunny florida, where you will learn that the starving artist is a thing of the past, and you will find your own personal path to success through learning the ins and outs of the business, from running a gallery to managing a movie to running your own business to working for a legendary company, this is the place to make it happen.

    In three sentences

    immersion in fine art and all other arts related degrees. amazing guidance and leadership, along with the most amazing support staff any college could ever dream of having. opportunities abound for work, work study, gallery shows, sales, and scholarships and grants.

  • 02/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students for a passion for art!!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Work hard. 2. Work hard. 3. Work hard. 4. Work very hard.

    Bang for the buck

    A rather expensive school for my means, but you get what you pay for. Most graduates go to work for some of the best illustration and graphic arts companies in the world.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I am to poor to enjoy Sarasota, I enjoy the college, its teachers and the other students. Everyone is very serious about their studies. It is a very diverse population and I really feel at home.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a highly demanding school, but I have learned a great deal, and all is important and relevant for my professional development as an artist.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is right there every time you need them! They are out driving and walking around 24/7. At night, they will give you a ride on the golf cart to your car or dorm if you are uncomfortable walking alone. They also check up on those students using the labs about once every two hours between the times of 2am and 8am. They're all very friendly and can be reached at any time for any reason. Campus is also equipped with emergency posts, lighted bright blue and security arrives shortly after pushing a giant red button.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a long list of activities and clubs to participate in during your free time! I never got around to doing much, but when I do, there's a handful that could suit me.

    Great for these types of students

    Ringling is great for incredibly talented students who want to be able to graduate and start a career doing what they love to do!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ocean is usually where I find myself hanging out with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Life on the ocean is a bit more expensive, but I know I'm getting exactly the education I'm paying for here.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is a hop, skip and jump away! It's absolutely amazing to be so close to the ocean. St. Armands is right over the Ringling Blvd. bridge, which includes little shops, cafes, and roof tops bars to use to your advantage. The beach is right off of the main drag.

    Food and Dining

    I did not have a meal plan, but I have been able to go to the cafeteria a handful of times to eat. The food is typical college cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Ringling have a huge variety of options, which help you pick the right one to suit you best. Most of them are equipped just like an apartment would be - kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms, living areas - And there is a ranking for dorms, so the higher grade level you are, the better dorm you can receive.

    Academic Rigor

    Ringling is intense - no need to sugar coat it. It's a ton of work, very little sleep, a few tears, but in the end, you have phenomenal work to be able to put into your portfolio and show to future employers! The teachers work you to the bone, but at the same time, they are very understanding and give a little slack when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research! I looked at one school prior to beginning college, and it turned out to be a flop - I transferred in the middle of my Junior year and it was such a headache. The worst part of it all, it tacked on another year to my bachelor requirement! That's time and money that I never anticipated on.

    In three sentences

    Ringling is an incredible school, built on a solid foundation and teachers that do a phenomenal job at upholding such high standards. The program for Interior Design received outstanding ratings by CIDA, the accreditation committee who regulates the standards by which Interior Design students are taught. Each teacher cares immensely for their students and works closely with each individual to ensure a proper education.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love art and are self motivated. The school prides them selves on creating a learning environment that simulates the real world. There's constant projects and deadlines and group projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your in high school and want to attend. Focus on your portfolio. Take art classes that interest you and work on your craft (Skill).

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty pricey, but they seem to have develop projects that immures them into the work world. Tons of companies visit every year to see students and offer internships. Some students even acquire work before graduating. Talk about work placement. LOL

    Will enjoy being here

    The school is big on what the students want. They're are tons of events and guess speakers. So believe me you won't be bored.

    Will learn a lot

    Its a typical art school so they first year have art related classes very different from a traditional school where you take loads of Englishes and Math/ science classes. Your second year you drive right into your major in some case I believe you take classes related to you major your freshmen year.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ringling is fully equipped with security round the clock. They have state of the art security cameras everywhere, emergency call boxes, and local police monitoring campus life alongside school security. Most buildings run off of a fob system that allows only students and designated faculty etc. into certain buildings and areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres not a lot going on at Ringling, everyone is very focused on their art. We have a few recreational sports teams such as soccer and flag football along with a quidditch team. The school provides yoga, karate and several other class but not much else. They are always encouraging students to start up clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic oddballs; artists who always felt like outsiders, are now in flocks and seem to find comfort amongst many of their own kind.

    Bang for the buck

    Ringling is extremely expensive, and it is a nice school with plenty of educational value, you get what you pay for and then some.

    What to do for fun

    Ringling is very focused on school, and academics and students give up a lot of their free time to perfecting their craft. The school does have a gym, along with a quidditch team and various recreational sports teams. The school also provides various events throughout the year such as the giant foam party, and various dances such as the Drag Prom.

    Food and Dining

    The Brickman Cafe and Outtakes are the most enjoyable places on campus, its fast and accessible to where most classes are located. The school does have a cafeteria with moderately good food but it is certainly not the preferred choice of many students. Outtakes and the Cafe both provide quick on the go beverages and coffees along with snacks, sandwiches and fruit.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm living is nice. There are brand new complexes for incoming freshman; you can either live alone or with 1-2 more people. Upperclassmen housing varies from apartment style living to houses, and some individual dorming options for those people who prefer to be alone.

    Academic Rigor

    Ringling is known for two things; technology and professors. We as students are fortunate enough to have professor's who have all worked in their area of expertise and continue to do so along side their teaching careers. We have an incredible set of instructors who are both knowledgeable and practical, knowing exactly how to guide our courses; it's not straight textbook curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what you want to go into, and what you want to study because you dive straight into it. Study as much about programs prior to entrance. Really question your art ability, Ringling is no joke-- you do not want to waste your time and money if you are not 100% sure you want to do this all your life. Also plan out your finances in advance it will make your life so much easier, and less stressful.

    In three sentences

    Ringling is unlike any other art school I had applied to or visited. Under NASA we are the most wired and electronically equipped base around. Ringling is known for is exceptional art and very interesting and eclectic students and professors.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very close to the wrong part of town, but you wouldn't know it by being there. The campus security keeps things very safe and are always nearby no matter where you are on campus. I've never heard of anything bad happening to anyone on campus.

    Greek Life

    None anymore. I heard a rumor that we used to have fraternity's back in the day, but they aren't around anymore.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for almost everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, philosophers, writers, stoners, and anyone else who tends to follow the beat of their own drum.

    What to do for fun

    More than I can list. Every weekend has various clubs, school functions, parties, and shows to attend. You'll never run out of things to do when you have the time.

    Food and Dining

    Avoid the cafeteria at all costs. You could get healthier food at the Burger King across the street.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very safe and accommodating to all lifestyles. The more social students will find plenty of people to meet and get to know, while the more introverted students are given plenty of freedom and space. the dorms are all very clean and modern, with everything you need to be comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Ringling College is work. Look forward to many all-nighters and little to no downtime during class. You gotta work and Ringling gives you more than enough to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for hard work and long hours. But you will be rewarded for your hard work with a very enthusiastic teaching staff who will bend over backwards to make sure you become successful in your chosen field.

    In three sentences

    Ringling College has great teachers who work hard for their students. The admissions faculty can be difficult to work with, but once enrolled you rarely have to deal with them again. Any student willing to put in the work can be successful at Ringling College.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is where Ringling has the most problem. There has been several robberies at apartments near Ringling and at Ringling dorms. All involving Ringling students including my friend who had been held at gunpoint and robbed at his house. The campus security guards do not have any weapons nor are fit enough to defend anyone. They usually just roam around in their golf carts, and a lot of times are not even patrolling. Ringling is right in the middle of the ghetto in Sarasota and they really should work on the safety of the school more.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs at Ringling but there are not many compared to most universities. A great club at Ringling is the Mosaic Club. The Mosaic club is like an international culture club and it's great since many students at Ringling are foreign.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are quirky, artistic, and open minded will have a lot of fun at Ringling. If you are a workaholic you are perfect for the computer animation major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ringling College has the annual Harry Potter Yule Ball. We also have the Drag Dance.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as private art schools go Ringling tuition is reasonable. All students also get brand new laptops for keeping. Ringling has the most updated technology with computers, cameras, and cintiques. It also has a beautiful campus that looks modern and kept very clean.

    What to do for fun

    Many people sketch and join clubs for fun. There is a beach very close to the school and it's one of the most beautiful beaches in the country.

    Food and Dining

    The hammond commons gives you variety of food choices. Most of them are not very healthy however. they do offer a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the bayou apartments. These apartments have four rooms and a spacious living room with a kitchen. They are very comfortable and the best place to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The computer animation major is very rigorous. Students spend many hours in the labs and working after midnight is common. The grading is difficult but helps students push themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although computer animation students ultimately use the computer to do the final work, drawing skills are very important. Don't worry about learning maya or other computer programs before coming to school. Concentrate on your drawing and traditional art skills and you'll have an easier time than a person who is skilled with the programs but lack art skills.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and the technology the school offers is amazing. The computer animation major is very rigorous and requires many hours of study and lab work. The teachers are all industry professionals and are very helpful.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sarasota is mostly old people, so not a lot of crime here, from what I saw.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is best for the 3D Animation, Illustration types. They boast about their alumni's work in films with Pixar, and the recent Oscar winner animated short film, yet little from any other majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a place called The Cove, sounds cool, right?

    Bang for the buck

    If you feel this is the school for you, go for it. However, they're not as generous as other schools - they only offer one scholarship to one person in each major. Meaning out of all the Graphic & Interactive Communication acceptees, only one actually gets a merit aid scholarship. Prepare to take out some loans, unless you can afford it, of course.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing here - this is Sarasota. Besides the beach, most of it is just art museums and a lot of old people. Its not a bustling city, its a resort town for retirees really and tourists looking to spend a quiet Spring Break. Don't expect a lot to be happening, I visited and I was bored out of my mind after a day or two. The beach can only be fun for so long.

    Food and Dining

    In my acceptance package, Ringling gave me a guide to Sarasota with all the best dining places, shopping, etc. They have a lot of nice cafes in Sarasota, but very expensive. They have a Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream, so can't complain there.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't visit the dorms, but from what I've read, seem nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is one of the top art schools in the U.S., so you must expect to be challenged, especially during freshman year with the foundation courses. They want to weed out those who simply can't keep up with the demands of an artistic environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    As all art schools do, they love still life and figure sketches to be put into your portfolio. However, I got accepted into the Graphic & Interactive Communication department and a majority of my portfolio was graphics. While they do like still lives, try to put things that are more with the major you're going to pursue.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school with state of the art technology. The professors are educated and very friendly, and so are the students. However, the location is uninspiring for an art school.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is pretty vigilant and there's emergency polls all over, but the area surrounding us is known for crime, so just be careful. Don't walk around at night with expensive electronics. Don't leave your bike alone for too long, even with a lock.

    Greek Life

    There's no real fraternities or sororities on campus that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and it's relatively easy to make more, given enough demand and enough people willing to fill positions.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are/want to become artists who can take and dish helpful criticism and are dedicated to their craft.

    Bang for the buck

    Like pretty much any art school, Ringling is expensive, but the connections they will bring you and the wisdom/ideas they will share with you are priceless. Also, lots of big companies visit to hire interns and full-time employees and 90% of Ringling graduates are employed in their fields.

    What to do for fun

    There's a few venues that show local musicians and there's a film festival in the spring. Mostly you'll have to make your own fun though.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. It's better at the Brickman Cafe than Hammond Commons. Not a whole lot of options for vegans or vegetarians, so be prepared for that.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are great and resident life will quickly fix any technical problems that are reported. Quiet hours are more often than not ignored, which might be a problem if you need a lot of sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    They really push you here, and in all the right ways. Prepare to get a bunch of C's and B's if you aren't giving it your all (although at Ringling it would be wiser to worry more about personal improvement than grades).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a workload that only gets more intense as it goes along. Learn time management. Don't spend all summer goofing off; practice your art as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Ringling is an incredible school with a dedicated faculty and a great environment. The vibe around campus is generally positive with an emphasis on cooperation and friendly competition. Everyone just wants everyone to make it.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety has been growing and expanding greatly in the last few years. Currently there is a dispatch center that all calls go to. From there the officer can call into another one out on campus to fulfill the call. There are blue light call boxes located all around campus with cameras installed to allow quick an easy access during an emergency. There are also a few cameras located around the campus's most traveled areas to insure safety. There is an escort service offered during late hours. All a student needs to do is call into public safety and they will send an officer on a golf cart to escort you back to your on-campus housing, vehicle or next location.

    Greek Life

    There is no current Greek life on-campus, but their is welcomed if a student would like to introduce it to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities available at Ringling College. Plus if there isn't one that one thought there would be, a student can start it with just five signatures of friends and become an official club. There are also many volunteer opportunities, locally and internationally as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of students. There are students that get their thrills from math, physics and astronomy to those that love to watch Pokemon. First steps on to campus, one realizes that it is enriched with culture and societal diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our flagship building is the Keating Center, and rumor has it that it is haunted by the ghost of Mary. So for Halloween we invite the local Boys and Girls Club into view it as a haunted mansion.

    Bang for the buck

    It definitely feels like an expensive college, but the education gained here is worth each penny.

    What to do for fun

    On-campus there are a lot of fun activities held throughout each semester including: volleyball, soccer, quidditch, movies on the deck, trips to Disney and Busch Gardens, food bingo and lots more. Off-campus locally there is also a lot to do. In close range there is bowling, rollerskating, mini golf, karaoke, bars, salsa dancing and much more. A little bit further away there is Universal Studios, Walt Disney World, Busch Gardens, Harry Potter Land, Lego Land, Sea World and Miami.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining experiences are above average. Being a picky eater it may be hard to find choices that I would like to eat, but there is always a salad bar, as well as number options available. On one side of campus there is a cafeteria like eating grounds. It is buffet style, with a variety of hot and cold choices (and there is always that salad bar). On the other side of campus there is a Panera-like cafe. Daily they serve soups, salads and sandwiches named after famous artist.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. There are variety of housing arrangements on campus ranging from: dorms to apartments to houses. They all provide the essentials in order to live a happy, healthy life style. Resident Assistants are always there to help, guide and have fun with the residents. Many of the after office hour activities occur right on campus, allowing residents to just make a short walk from the dorm to the activity if they choose to.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are held at the professional level. Faculty expect the work to be solid. They know that there are always things that will need to be fixed, just as in the actual field, but the work needs to at least have a foundation to sit on.

    Tips for prospective students

    -First things first... its Florida so bring your galoshes and umbrella! :) -Be prepared for a heavy workload. Ringling College is one of the top art colleges in the nation and the world, so come with plenty of sharpened pencils. -Welcome feedback from others, both positive and negative. If one only hears the positive, one will never know how to improve. -Bring a smile. The college is a very warm and friendly environment, so don't be afraid to join in some of the fun. -Always carry a sketchbook. It is your new best friend, and it can come in handy when something inspirational spontaneously comes about. -The key to success is learning how to manage your time between classes, homework, sleep and personal time.

    In three sentences

    Ringling College is a college built on diversity, creativity and intuitiveness, through its field-experienced faculty, its caring, upbeat staff and its unique, philanthropic student body. From just a five minute walk from the north side of campus to the south, one will be encompassed with state-of-the art class rooms, the latest technology for the art field, groups of students collaborating and lending feedback and Florida palm trees. As guests, new students, current students and alumni walk through campus and reflect on their experience, one would say the college not only has a family atmosphere with its small classes and small campus, but also a professional one, with similar qualities to what one would find in the field post graduation.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an amazing campus safety program. They escort you from classes to your dorm, if you feel like you need it. There are also many safety service poles set up around campus and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative artists, or business majors who want a art perspective

    Bang for the buck

    The school provides the best technology and software. Everyone is also provided with a Macbook Pro. There is also a career service center that helps you build your portfolio. They also have many recruiters who visit and interview such as Abercrombie & Fitch, Dreamwork's, and many others.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus clubs. I don't think there is one weekend where nothing is going on.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are good, I recommend Hammond Commons. It's like an all you can eat buffet, with tons of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Everybody is very friendly and it feels like home. It's also very colorful :)

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are well taught and easy to understand. The work load is a little heavy

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early!

    In three sentences

    Amazing programs with professors who take the time to help you when you need it. Creative and friendly peers who you see almost everyday even if they're not in your major. This school helps get you to where you need to be.

  • 09/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you've finished your work early, there is always somewhere fun to hang out, and if you want to study hard, the college's computer labs and study rooms are the places to go. I met so many people there and still have friends I keep in touch with, so its social community is well developed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Draw from life. The more you draw from life, the more you can pull from your memories and experience to draw from imagination. Be open to criticism and work hard to improve, the teachers will notice the extra effort.

    Bang for the buck

    I would have to take loans in order to go full time and am simply not willing to put myself through years of slavery to the bank after graduation.

    Will enjoy being here

    Ringling's campus is beautiful and the weather is always warm.

    Will learn a lot

    After attending Ringling's Precollege Perspective Program, I came away with a better understanding and application of the tools I learned in the Graphic Design and Illustration classes (the two I signed up for). Besides the two main classes, you will also be attending several foundations classes that strengthen your core understanding of draftmanship and idea generation. This program is a very rewarding experience, insightful and challenging, yet fun at the same time.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists obviously. You will enjoy it here no matter who you are there are people here just like you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into scholarships and loans should be your last resort. Trust me, get on it, get your scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    While Ringling is really great it's very expensive and I think too expensive. If they spent less time building to please donors and parents and more time cutting back maybe we could see less of a tuition cost..? It's very VERY expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is wonderful and you are surrounded by students with similar interests. It's hard to get work done when you're having so much fun!

    Am learning a lot

    Maybe you won't be the best in the business but I guarantee that you will succeed in the field if you put the effort in. It's not a free ride, it's hard work, and this college gives you the tools and shows you how to become a successful and professional artist.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ART!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident with your work. Ringling doesn't only want to see your personality in your art, they want to see that you can do art.

    In three sentences

    No matter what, Ringling College will get you somewhere. The faculty are amazing and care for their students dearly. The top computer animation programs!

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located near a bad neighborhood. Occasional robbery. Best to walk in groups of three or more at night or get public safety to give you a lift back to your car or dorm.

    Greek Life

    None, sorry bros.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone.. we even have a quiditch team!

    Bang for the buck

    What you learn here is worth the money you're paying. It may be pricey but the college's connections and the education are amazing and def worth it.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright, not really great not really terrible. I wish there was more variety.

    Dorm Life

    Really great, fun, and educational. You're always around your peers and this helps you grow as a student too. Not to mention rolling out of bed in your PJs to go to class.

    Academic Rigor

    I think Ringling is pretty laid back. It can still be strict but generally it's fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid done early look for plenty of scholarships try and stay away from private loans if you can and be sure to visit career services as early on as you can. Enjoy your time at Ringling! You will miss it when it's gone.

    In three sentences

    Ringling life is unique. Education is exceptional and amazing. Tuition is incredibly expensive and hard to afford for most students.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great for students really interested in the programs they offer. Easy to understand website. Great prices and financial availability.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, passionate, talented, innovative, creative, smart, willing to work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every tradition at Ringling is pretty odd, but Drag Prom definitely takes 1st place.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, hangout downtown, and draw the night away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take art seriously. You must be very passionate about what you do!

    In three sentences

    Ringling is full of passionate and talented students and professors. It's a completely creative environment, and the faculty is always arranging very innovative talks and Q&A's with working professionals. It's truly the place to be if you are into Computer Animation and Media Arts

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of security, but Ringling is in a pretty rough neighborhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of different clubs and always something going on around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students excited to become better at what they love to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a quidditch team. I feel that might be not usual.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything about the school is fantastic. It is insanely expensive though. I would like to see a break down of where my tuition goes so I could justify just how expensive Ringling is.

    What to do for fun

    My school work is my fun. I also have absolutely no time to do anything other than school work. There is a good bar across the street if you ever find yourself with a little bit of free time and extra money.

    Food and Dining

    Living off campus I opted to not sign up for a meal plan. But I hear the food isn't great.

    Dorm Life

    No opinion. I have only lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Game Art and Design student, I am constantly flooded with all types of work making me a time management machine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to students and faculty in every department before you apply. Make sure you are going into the program that will fit you the best.

    In three sentences

    Ringling has a great atmosphere. You will be surrounded by like-minded people and learned professors. A positive, creative environment will help push you to become a well rounded artist.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only down side is that the immediate surrounding area leaves something to be desired. As long as you have your street smarts ahead of you, you will have nothing to worry about. There is a multitude of on-campus security around the clock.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is every club you could think of, and if there isn't you can make your own club and get school funding! Student Government makes amazing things happen. You really have a voice.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a passion for the Arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a great Quidditch Team.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty is amazing. You will learn so much and grown 10 fold as a designer. The location is great.

    What to do for fun

    Beach, Kayaking, Rock Climbing, Biking, Running, Yoga. You will never find yourself with nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is something for everyone. If you get tired of the on campus food, there are off-campus sites within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Friendly and always filled with activities. Small campus means things are never too far away!

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged. If you're looking for the typical college party experience save yourself $40k and spend a year or two at a community college to get it out of your system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay true to your vision, but be open to criticism. Don't take any feedback personally, you may get attached to a project but remember, it's just a project. Pack lots of coffee!

    In three sentences

    I love the location and the faculty. I have learned so much during my education here and grown so much as a designer.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are lots of safety guards and lots of things put in place to make us safe. It isnt in the best location and people do get mugged pretty close to campus but if you don't go out walking around the burger king at 3am you should be fine.

    Greek Life

    there are no frats or anything like that here sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have quidditch if you like harry potter. there are lots of harry potter type clubs. we have a very nice hulahoop club. videogame club. lgbt community, lots of drawing clubs. lots of activities like dances and events.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, hardworking,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its just really nice, everyones going there for a similar thing so everyone has common interest so they get along. Most colleges aren't like that.

    Bang for the buck

    Its really expensive. you could go to a four year college for the price of one year hear. I have no idea if i made the right decision or if its worth it. I just hope it is.

    What to do for fun

    Art, people just hang out and draw and thats what you're going to be doing for a long time. We also play video games and watch movies. Everyone id very nice and its easy to make friends

    Food and Dining

    Its alright. Im a vegetarian and there weren't many options for me but they try and what i could eat was good.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very friendly and nice. I lived in Goldstein my first year on the 5th floor and it was very nice. Ive seen most of the other dorms and they are nice too. Goldstein is significantly nicer though because its newer and has more stuff. They also have apartments with kitchens and those are nice too.

    Academic Rigor

    Its hard but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work very hard. You get what you put in. Even if it gets to hard just keep going, its worth it.

    In three sentences

    Ringling college of art and design is very friendly and informative. They make sure you learn what you need to learn. At times its tough but if you can pull through its worth it if that really what you want to be in the industry.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is great! They have call towers if you do not feel safe walking at night, where you can push the button and a security guard comes to pick you up and bring you back to your dorm! I feel very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. Life drawing, digital painting, skateboard design, t shirt design, and many more! A lot of fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Any kid who loves Harry Potter or even just wants to stay in shape! Believe me, it is a great workout!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ringling has many different clubs on campus and the most popular one seems to be Quidditch! Quidditch is the sport from Harry Potter and Ringling has the best team in the U.S! They won the tournament last year!

    Bang for the buck

    Ringling is definitely an amazing school for any kid who has a dream to destroy the whole idea of the starving artist. Ringling has given hope and very good success with the students that come out of the school. Every student cares about what they are doing and works very hard. Glad to be attending Ringling College of Art and Design!

    What to do for fun

    Sarasota, Florida has a lot of many different activities to do! Ringling also provides students with a lot of many groups to join and activity nights, like a movie, or games!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay! It is your typical college food, but they have a lot of options, even if you are a vegetarian!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that Ringling provide are very nice! Very comfortable living and it is easy to meet a lot of people!

    Academic Rigor

    Ringling has a big reputation and it is showed by the worldwide success! Ringling students get a very deep knowledgable education on everything there is to know about there major and what to do to make you better!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all supplies for class ahead of time because it is very important to have them ready on day one!

    In three sentences

    What a great school! Ringling really cares about there students. A lot of successful students come out of Ringling.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of emergency call centers posted around the campus. Also constant security patrol on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to keep you busy and active.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative and artistic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quidditch is an actual sport at this college. It is quite fun.

    Bang for the buck

    You are basically paying for connection that Ringling has with top companies who actively recruit new graduates.

    What to do for fun

    Galleries, Exhibits, workshops, guest speakers, film showings, Ringling Art museum, beaches, and so on.

    Food and Dining

    They have their own personal menu in addition to normal meals.

    Dorm Life

    Diversity and fun to socialize.

    Academic Rigor

    Fun and fast paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn time management and worry about your own skills. Do not compare your work to others.

    In three sentences

    A very clean learning environment full of professors who thrive to make you creative as you can be. Plenty of resources available. Plenty to do and stay busy.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. Escort available.

    Greek Life

    Great.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can open your own club or join many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great school. everyone who wants a career in the field of creative arts should go. But its expensive. So Hence scholarships should be helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and attend college events.

    Food and Dining

    Great. Lots of different kinds of food cafe's available to choose.

    Dorm Life

    Great. Lots of different kinds of dorm styles available to choose.

    Academic Rigor

    Great. Only creates champions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have to be the best, and nothing less. Its a great college, make the most of it.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college. I love it here. The faculty and staff and the people in general are great. I am going to miss it when i graduate. The programs and opportunities it provides are endless.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sarasota is a beautiful city with so much to offer. it is impossible to describe it in such a short statement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your portfolio completed as soon as possible, rushing does not help.

    In three sentences

    This college is beautiful. It is well rounded. The students are very happy.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The team at student life is literally amazing! Every weekend they plan an event that is free to all students. From open mic coffee houses to parties to discounted trips to the nearby theme parks(Disney, Universal, Busch Gardens) there is always something to do. If you want to get off campus, the Ringling Art Museum is right up the street from the school and free admission to all Ringling students. Ringling is also car ride away from some on the nicest beaches in the USA.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of people rag on Ringling for how poor the food is. However, its not that bad at all. They have a lot of options and places to eat on campus(Not as much as FSU or UF, but for a private art college it's a lot) They have options for vegetarians and all the cafes on campus serve starbucks coffee. YUM!

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I hated dorm life at Ringling. Granted when I was a Freshman, I live in Appleton which has some of the biggest rooms on campus, but it was a very old building next to the newly built freshman dorms. Of course as a freshman you don't get to choose where you live, but the earlier you send in your acceptance into Ringling, the more likely you will get a nicer place to stay freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    For each major, the curriculum varies from major to major. If you are a Computer Animation major, the curriculum is very strict. Whereas if you are a Fine Arts major, you will find the curriculum not as strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying, make sure your portfolio is full of life study drawings and recent work(work done in the last 12 months).

    In three sentences

    Ringling is a great school. The campus is really nice, not spread around the city like most art schools. The curriculum is great and was specifically made to teach all the tricks of the trade.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is amazing. Just be smart and travel in groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs. Sign up at the beginning of the year!

    Great for these types of students

    Artists

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sign up for as many clubs as possible and get involved in the community. You'll be connected with amazing opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    The education here is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Tampa is a great place to go to, as well as the local beaches. Find a friend with a car.

    Food and Dining

    Try not to eat the same thing every day or you will be extremely miserable.

    Dorm Life

    You will make friends quickly. Keep them!

    Academic Rigor

    Keep up with your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go to RCAD, make sure you keep up with your work. Every assignment teaches you skills in your field and they all matter. If you dedicate your time to hanging out and partying, you will not survive in this school. Work is number one. Structure your priorities.

    In three sentences

    Ringling College of Art and Design is a strong, artistic community that provides students with amazing opportunities on working on what they love and finding a job in their prospective careers. They offer amazing career services, programs and majors for artists of many backgrounds. Overall, RCAD is an art school for the visual artist that doesn't plan on starving to make a living.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We unfortunately live near the ghetto. Don't walk alone at night. Don't guard your 1000 dollar bike with a cheap lock. Don't carry your Macbook around at night. Stay on campus. You'll be fine.

    Greek Life

    None. No sympathy for frat life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have an extracurricular figure drawing club that you have to pay to join, but it gives you extra time in the evenings to practice figure drawing. There's also a portrait night that some people go to where people take turns drawing and modeling. There is student government, but that's the most well known organization. There isn't a lot of time for clubs, although apparently they exist.

    Great for these types of students

    Type-A, OCD, dedicated, story-oriented, funny, flexible, persistant workers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bayou behind some of the painting studios. Sometimes fish randomly jump out of the water. Also, the climate is fantastic if you like warm weather.

    Bang for the buck

    It's ungodly expensive, but the curriculum is good if you know how to make it work for you. The media majors get the most attention. If you want to see your money go far, take advantage of the library and the career center.

    What to do for fun

    Ringling doesn't have much ready made social life. If you want to party, it's going to be spontaneous and low key. People are too busy to make partying a big part of their life. You'll have a day or so on the weekends to get out and explore Sarasota or Tampa. Make it count.

    Food and Dining

    There's pizza, burgers, sandwiches, and a salad bar every day. The lunch and dinner meals rotate. Sometimes they get repetitive. You see a lot of grilled meat and frozen vegetables. Consider it a time to start a diet if you want. If you eat greasy and cheesy foods consistently, you will get sick. Eat right and you will mostly be okay.

    Dorm Life

    It's pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    You can make average or below average projects if you want, but your GPA will reflect that and you won't learn anything. This school is really geared towards the people who want to make art that's better than the stuff they made the day before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really do your homework on what you want for your career before you decide to go here, since the school is very career oriented. It's just good to know that you're working towards something you really want so you don't have to bail later on. Read books about art and look at professional art as much as you can. Find out what you like and imitate it. Make your drawing skills better.

    In three sentences

    You have a lot of resources within your reach here. It's painstaking work, but the pay off in progress for a dedicated student makes it worth it. If you aren't ready to push yourself or you need a significant social life, don't go here.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good i guess because there are security guards driving all around the campus perimeter of all hours in the golf carts.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a whole lot of different clubs the are art associated. If you can think its there. I never was big on the clubs thing though, i tried too but just couldnt get myself to associate with them sadly.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly students who have money and dont need to worry about finacial issues. Students who just have one goal and that is to excell above everyone else.(Seriously). Students coming straight out of HIGH SCHOOL! This is where youll find students with same mentality and likes and dislikes. Also great for Gay,straight,bisexual, you name it, theres a bunch for the small sized school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really dont know of any traditions during the one semester i attended here.

    Bang for the buck

    To expensive and i didnt require much new skills that i havent already aquired at a community college for fine arts up in Pennsylvania. Im sad to say that i got alot more from my experience at the community college compared to Ringling. I feel like i wasted alot of time and money. Dont choose this school if you arent completley finacially stable..there are cheaper nicer schools.

    What to do for fun

    Theres not much that goes on around campus except activities that friends and groups organize. There are beaches close by and museums and gallerys if you are in to that stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is good from what i have had a chance to eat. I couldnt afford a meal plan nor would i get one anyways because i shop for my own foods.

    Dorm Life

    I heard that dorm life is really vulgar some housing has roaches and even rats. Maintance team went to fix ac in one of my fellow classmates room and didnt have the proper tools to complete the job, and picked up his.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recommend that you go to student orientation to get to know people. Something i never had the chance to do. This enables you to get more involved and connected with the students on campus. I lived off campus and found it really hard to have any special connections with anyone here.

    In three sentences

    As a transfer student who attended Ringling For the Spring Semester i rate this college 6 out of 10.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. A lot of people complain about the area that the college is in, but honestly, it's not that bad unless you drive far from the college. Campus security constantly patrols campus and they take extra precaution to make sure you're safe.

    Greek Life

    There's no Greek life at Ringling.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from. There aren't many sports at Ringling (the only official team they have is a Quiddich team). Most of the clubs are student-run, but chances are, you'll definitely find something that interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for dedicated art students. The campus is very inspiring and the environment is perfect for working.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a big graffiti wall on on end of campus that anyone can place their art on. There's also a really big banyan tree on the other end of campus that provides a lot of shade.

    Bang for the buck

    Ringling is EXTREMELY expensive, and chances are, you'll be at least 100,000 dollars in debt by the time you graduate. This being said, Ringling is a great school. The teachers actually care about your success and most of the teachers are absolutely amazing. The education is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    The college provides a lot of activities throughout the year (usually free). The beach is also really close. There are always a lot of festivals going on in the area (art/music festivals). There are plenty of museums nearby, too.

    Food and Dining

    The commons don't usually have great food. Sometimes it's phenomenal, but other times it's just plain disgusting. Brickman has really good sandwiches though. The meal plan isn't that great.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorm halls are better than others. Noise from other students is usually the only issue. The school offers a lot of activities for students on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard, you'll make good grades. Don't expect to be able to do every project last minute, because teachers really can tell when you've done the entire project the night before. It'll kill your GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your portfolio is top-notch when you apply! Ringling bases some of their scholarships on your portfolio, so try to include a lot of gesture drawings or artwork that shows you have potential at the college!

    In three sentences

    Ringling has a beautiful campus. It's very easy to fit in with other students. If you don't work hard, don't expect to make good grades.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are around all over. And throughout the night.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Many club activities out there. Football, Quidditch, Video Game, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students who dreams big.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Weekly bond fires!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth your education.

    What to do for fun

    Watch a movie, or go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better for the price. Meal plan is very pricey, especially for the quality.

    Dorm Life

    Beautifully furnished dorm rooms. Some were newly built, and they are for freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors and staffs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to work every day of the week with many all nighters along the way.

    In three sentences

    The school campus is a beautiful place. The workload depends on the majors. It is well worth the cost.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Too many main streets as well as living near a dangerous road

    Great for these types of students

    Art focused students

    What to do for fun

    The beach, the nearby mall, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I give the dorm life a four due to the fact that there is a street (Martin Luther King Rd) that brings prospective danger for any student who goes near the area

    Tips for prospective students

    You will greatly enjoy how the school operates

    In three sentences

    Ringling College of Art and Design seems like a great school. Everything the school has to offer seems so neat. I hope after I get out of Community College that I someday attend this College.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe on campus. There are only ever a couple cases of stolen bikes, laptops or strangers roaming campus. But security always keep the students up to date through mass text messages and the campus website.

    Greek Life

    Virtually does not exist.

    Great for these types of students

    It is ideal for driven students, who are not afraid of making mistakes and want to push themselves to their limits, in order to see what they are made of. Intense and rewarding.

    What to do for fun

    Joining the a cappella club The Music Minors, sketching with friends, joining the quidditch team, and relaxing on the front deck of the Student Center.

    Food and Dining

    Food can be tricky, but the dining services are open to suggestions through an online database, and

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the best I have ever stayed in. You really become a family overtime with the members of your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    This is all dependent upon the major you choose to be in. In my major, Illustration, it all depends upon how far you want your work to improve. You get out of it the effort you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your job is to get to know your teachers as well as completing projects. Become a member of a club or organization, it's a great way to meet people and improve your skill of communication. Experiment with your art and share your results with your friends.

    In three sentences

    Ringling College of Art and Design has the best resources for inspiration and study in its library. It is

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Ultimate 19-Meal Plan has depicted a good meal plan for my first year at Ringling and that is another piece I am anticipating.

    Dorm Life

    Through reviews of on-campus living with or without roommates I've come to an interest for my dorm. Rooming is sort of custom, I think, but hopefully so I can do my work thoroughly.

    Academic Rigor

    I am highly anticipating my studies and future at Ringling.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can do artwork, go to the beach, or the zoo.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok here on campus in the commons. The Brickman car is amazing at sandwiches though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright and are your typical dorm life. The dorms are all spread out around campus and have no water pressure in the showers.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous and intense art program, prepare to live and breathe your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you meet people online who will also be attending the college. Also, make friends with the faculty they are extremely helpful, as wel as the administrators on campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school academically. Socially though, it is very reserved and there is not much to do around the city besides the beach and some shopping. It is definitely a quiet school but very artistically challenging.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much, besides the beach close by. The beach is nearly walking distance away from the school though, and it is one of the top rated beaches in the US. Other than that though, there isn't many places to visit.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food here is average at best. The cooks seem to try and get foods to be healthier, but many foods there are fried and full of carbs. Foods are also cold sometimes, and a fly problem brews around the kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can be loud sometimes, and dirty. Even though they are unappealing sometimes, there are many events for dorms that help the residents get together.

    Academic Rigor

    It is recommended to have completed AP art classes in high school in order to have less classes later in the year. Even with these extra credits, classes are still extremely tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work a lot and pay a lot for this school. Only very diligent and talented people will be able to handle the stress.

    In three sentences

    This school has many fun, time consuming classes with friendly students. The staff and students here always like to answer questions and help whenever asked. Classes get tough, but they help prepare students well to get a job.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sarasota is a rather dull place, but Ringling has a partnership with the local bus company meaning that you get free transport any where you like, meaning downtown is just a 15 minute bus ride away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ringling is hard work - you do not enter the college lightly. There will be a lot of sleepless nights, but you learn so much.

    In three sentences

    Ringling is like a second home to me, I have never found people who are so accepting and welcoming to people from different walks of life. Students are so diverse and everyone is thought of as a friend.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security camera, security personal that roam the campus and emergency call boxes in case they are needed.

    Greek Life

    I am not a member of any sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not yet a member of any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking to creatively express themselves, this is the place for you. Although you will need to explore other mediums in your first year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not live on campus so this does not apply to me.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent school and classes but a bit expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus so I am not really eligible to answer this question.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at two of the three eateries on campus and have no complaints. The food is satisfactory and moderately priced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so this does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not for the slacker. If you are looking for a college with a lackadaisical approach to teaching this not the place for you. A full time student has a class load of five classes per semester. Most of the courses are studio and require may hours of project work. The instructors are very good about answering questions and helping with any difficulties you may be having but you need to balance your time wisely in order to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research all options for financial aid and ask academic advisors for help.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school with interesting classes. Excellent instructors who make learning fun. Great advising staff that are extremely helpful in helping to keep you on track.