Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rio Salado College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/31/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mothers, and fathers. People that are employed or a homemaker can work online when they have time or can print a lot of the syllabus and work on their courses without being glued to your operating system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely well organized online curriculum. They have been involved with online learning for quite some time.

    Bang for the buck

    I was awarded financial aid. I do know that they have a system where they publish their own text books, allowing students discounts on their textbooks.

    Did enjoy being here

    I love it. I definitely want to graduate from Rio Salado.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot. The teachers are very supportive and assist you in numerous ways.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the site, and talk to current students, by calling the schools help lie.

    Bang for the buck

    Every buck is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE IT

    Am learning a lot

    Love, Love, Love this school. I can work at my own pace. Learning new things every day, and the teachers? They are amazing, they care about if you are struggling to need an extension.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    for in county residents, it is a very inexpensive option.

    Food and Dining

    do not live on/near campus

    Dorm Life

    do not live in dorms, or even know if the college has dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    give it a shot. make sure that you set a study schedule and stick to it.

    In three sentences

    great college for students who do not have the schedule that will allow for on-site classes. the teachers are all very good at answering questions or concerns, and stay in close contact with the students.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    kappa alpha theta (but not at rio salado)

    Great for these types of students

    if you are looking to be full time online this is the place to go!

    What to do for fun

    i am a dancer and very involved in my greek sorority.

    Food and Dining

    i believe there is no on campus dining

    Dorm Life

    there is no on campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    rio is a very good school if you are looking to be a full time online student. you have to go in for major tests and exams but other than that you feel like you are in class in your own room with all the tools they have to provide you!

    In three sentences

    rio has been nothing but so helpful! they are all so nice in the office and will do anything to help any situation. they care about you succeeding and want nothing less!

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    goal setters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in my bed online with pj's on.

    Bang for the buck

    credits are the cheapest in the area

    What to do for fun

    run after two children

    Food and Dining

    it's whatever is in your refri

    Dorm Life

    no such thing

    Academic Rigor

    very good

    Tips for prospective students

    get your career in your mind and set up a time frame. talk to rio and make it work.

    In three sentences

    rio is great for students who can work without someone breathing down their neck. classes are easy to follow. the teachers are so helpful, wanting you to succeed,

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working full time/parents

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat on campus, my classes are all online.

    In three sentences

    convienent, however financial dept is difficult to deal with. no two people will give you the same information. several classes to choose from.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who wish to transfer to a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    classes per credit hour and tuition are affordable.

    What to do for fun

    same

    Food and Dining

    rio salado is mostly and online college and does not provide food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    rio salado is mostly and online college and does not provide dorm services.

    Academic Rigor

    classes were great and fair. teachers were knowledgeable of their subject. teachers responded to emails and provided tutoring services.

    Tips for prospective students

    rio salado college offers various degree programs but if you plan on transferring to earn a bachelor's make sure you research what classes will and will not transfer over. you might have more than you need and set you back a year or two.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    always ask questions and don't wait to do things at the last minute.

    In three sentences

    it's a very nice college. the staff there are really friendly and helpful.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each campus or testing center has security.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have jobs and can't go to traditional classes and for students who like traditional classes with online and in person classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has 6 testing centers around the Greater Phoenix Area.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are only $85 per credit hour if you are a Maricopa County Resident.

    What to do for fun

    It is very close to ASU Gammage if you like show. It is near Arizona Mills Mall for shopping and the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafe is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    You need to pass at least 2/3 of your classes to be eligible for financial aide.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel you do not understand the work ask for help and don't let yourself get overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    A good place to get an Associates Degree. It has many great classes to take and programs to choose from. The people who work there are very helpful.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I visit some of the many campuses in the Phoenix area it is clean, nice and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not participated in any, online classes only.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students like me, I'm in state but not a lot of options in my location, they offer more classes needed to my study and I don't need to find daycare while taking online classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus' main building is beautiful, all glass.

    Bang for the buck

    In-state tuition for a community college like this is great for the price and the transfer to a four year college seems easy.

    What to do for fun

    This is an online college and you can basically do whatever you like anytime you like. Keep up with the work then the fun starts.

    Food and Dining

    Phoenix area there is a variety of food and dining places to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips are to expect what you would from a in-person college, a lot of reading. Apply for the next term early because most of these classes last only 8 weeks.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado College online classes are convenient, affordable and creditable. The courses are easy to choose from and the faculty are very nice people.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This college is as safe as your life is.

    Great for these types of students

    Very busy and self motivated students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rio longe. An online cafe

    Bang for the buck

    The school is able to provide Rio only text books this means that they can be claimed on the tax return 100% and then the other books that are not Rio books can be rented.

    What to do for fun

    What ever you wnat the classes are basically 24 hours a day.

    Food and Dining

    Eat where ever you want this is an online college.

    Dorm Life

    Nope. Live at home in my own place

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard not you might not this opportunity later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a College Preparation class, it sound silly but it was so worth it. It is also important to take at least one fun class a semester. It is kind of like a reward for taking classes that are required.

    In three sentences

    I love Rio I get to complete college on my time. I am a mother, a full time employee, and a full time student and even have time for a social life. Rio makes all this possible with their flexibility of online classes.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small campus means pretty safe

    Clubs and Activities

    honors, etc clubs are good

    Great for these types of students

    online based, adult-learners with tech knowledge

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the location itself is rather tucked away behind everything.

    Bang for the buck

    very good education for cheap money

    What to do for fun

    it is close to the AZ mills mall and mill ave for night time fun and shopping. they also have a very neat library.

    Food and Dining

    there is no cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms for this mostly online college

    Academic Rigor

    very good academics, very involved instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books and supplies ASAP!

    In three sentences

    easy to use and online specific. all instructors are very helpful. Better understanding through their online courses.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Clubs and Activities

    Two Stars

    Great for these types of students

    Social life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Teachers were helpful on line but not as demanding as I have heard other on line courses have been.

    What to do for fun

    Rio Lounge, chat, read, and social.

    Food and Dining

    Two Stars

    Dorm Life

    Two Stars

    Academic Rigor

    Three stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should always come prepared, and practice patients. Also, as with any educational system, there is a process,but I have learned that it is worth the wait in the end.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado staff is always genreous and helpful. Rio Salado programs were user friendly. Teachers at Rio Salado extended themselves to help when needed.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I Do not eat on Campus

    Dorm Life

    I Currently rent my own appartment and do not live on campus.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are self-motivated. The flexibility works for people with unpredictable work schedules and/or families. The online classes work best when you manage your time well.

    Bang for the buck

    My instructor has graded my assignments quickly and provided appropriate feedback so I can continue to advance in the class. I love the ability to attend classes around my extremely hectic schedule and appreciate his quick responses.

    Dorm Life

    I live in our family home.

    Academic Rigor

    The pace is perfect for me. Not too quick so I get to absorb what I am learning but not too slow so I don't get bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how to navigate the internet well. Take advantage of links to help you learn. Ask for additional feedback from instructors concerning assignments and additional support.

    In three sentences

    Ease of access to online classes. Instructor responsiveness. Course content relevant to career and personal goals.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten in their cafe.

    Tips for prospective students

    For online classes expect to spend more time studying than in traditional classes.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado offers a great selection of degree and certificate classes in many formats. The teacher education program is excellent. They offer many transfer opporunities.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is as safe as the area you like to log into your classes from! The campus itself, where you will go to buy books or take math and science tests at feels very safe.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have a busy lifestyle or that need to attend from home.

    What to do for fun

    The college doesn't really have campus life activities that I am aware of.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice little coffee shop in the building that the bookstore is in.

    Dorm Life

    I own my own home in town, and I don't believe there is an on-campus housing option at this college, anyway.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that you try to make the time to go sit down with an adviser before beginning classes and that once you figure out which classes you need for each semester that you call the advisement office. They are able to quickly add the classes to your schedule and save you a lot of time and trouble.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado provides convenience for me to be able to raise two children, manage a household and earn my degree all at once. I am able to complete most tasks from home in my courses at Rio Salado. I feel that I receive a high level of education from knowledgeable instructors at this college.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have 18 years experience in what I'm studying, so I don't find it very difficult. Perhaps somebody just out of high school might find it more challenging. The pace is fairly fast with two assignments per week and usually a weekly quiz or test of some sort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the bookstore and let the people there help you when selecting text books. If you are able, go in and register in person (even for online classes), because the people there are very helpful and you'll know that you are signed up correctly. Classes weren't easily searchable on the Rio website, as it pulls up classes from across the MCC colleges.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who really seem to care that students succeed. Online classes are easy to sign in to and grades are posted in a timely manner. Bookstore personnel are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the cheapest way to get your books.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    distance learning students, or students like myself who work full time while trying to obtain a degree

    Dorm Life

    do not stay in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    very well

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to obtain a degree online

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school to earn a degree through! The staff at Rio are there in a minutes time to help when needed. The teachers are very helpful and know their stuff.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This only course was not like your traditional in person class. Just be prepare.

    In three sentences

    I like that I can be home with the kiddos and take courses online. It was a bit different when you take a class in person. Homework was due every week so if your up to challenge, then go for it.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on stand by.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has got to be the best bang for the buck, tuition is fairly cheap, and classes are very reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, most do.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest students to know what they want and go into a program so that time is not wasted. I would also recommend looking further down the road into what school you may want to transfer into so that you know what they want for what you are going for as well.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado has been a savior for me. There is convenience because I work and I am a mother. Staff is the same every where you go, either you get someone nice, or someone who has had a bad day. My experience has been pretty decent!

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Getting PreReqs in at home!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your Financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Great selection of Online classes! Very Easy to Use! Quick to Enroll and Register!

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Volunteer

    Food and Dining

    I have no experiance with this at Rio Salado

    Dorm Life

    I have no experiance with this

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish what you start and never give up.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado has made my adult learning very easy. Plenty of start dates to choose from and great help from financial aid and advisement.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They have a honors society that is available to those who are able to maintain a GPA of 3.5 and above.

    Great for these types of students

    Any person who needs to be able to have the option to complete schooling online, this school is a great option.

    What to do for fun

    There are many great activities and places to see.

    Food and Dining

    The college does not have any food or dining on location. However there are many locations of great food and dining within the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided, you are responsible for providing your own housing. However i prefer this option as dorms can be much more expensive and you don't get to do the privacy you want.

    Academic Rigor

    They provide the same great education for a lot less than many other schools. The teachers are always there when you need them and will help answer any questions you have in a very timely manner. The curriculum is easy to understand and navigate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with an academic advisor to map out your path while at Rio Salado. Keep in contact with your teachers during your courses they are very helpful. Become part of the Rio community online to find out about so much more information.

    In three sentences

    They are a very friendly school, always helpful to solve problems and they help to guide you in the path you want to pursue. Much cheaper than any other school without losing any quality in education. I love the option of the textbook savings program.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very clean, and safe as far as I have noticed.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honor Society Membership eligible with GPA 3.5.

    Great for these types of students

    Single parents, adult learners, people without transportation, and people who can complete tasks without supervision.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    There aren't as many financial aid options at Rio as I expected, but scholarships can assist.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my beautiful daughters. We like to swim, shop, take lots of photos, and play games together.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe in the building, but I have never been there,

    Dorm Life

    This college does not offer dorm residency.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework can be extremely difficult at times. When feeling overwhelmed, seek tutoring, which is available from the school. It would be nice if the hours for tutoring were more available though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be sure to set aside specific time for studies, even if you don't have assignments due. Don't assume that since it is an at home course that it wont be difficult. Keep your focus and stick to a schedule for the best results.

    In three sentences

    The distance learning option and frequent start times gave me the opportunity to go back to school, its very flexible. The staff is on their game, from offering assistance, to responding to questions quickly, they are always there to help, This is the perfect way to earn a degree, and I am actually learning!

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    parents, adults, high school students, disabled

    In three sentences

    This is a good school. It is all online and the teaches are all very helpful. The admissions is easy as well to work with.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not attend the campus.

    Greek Life

    I do not attend the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not attend the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I do not attend the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not attend the campus

    Bang for the buck

    Automatic tuition fees are conveniently taken out of my credit card. You are able to save more if you start the auto-matic plan earlier in the school year. They send reminders before the payment will be extracted.

    What to do for fun

    I read history, adventure and ancient literature. I like to listen to inspirational music. I like to exercise by running around my neighborhood .

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not attend the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The full-time school schedule can be a challenge. If you are working it can be especially challenging to juggle your schedule. I have set a plan and a schedule and it is operable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go online to apply, forward transcripts and pick your courses. It is very easy and convenient. Get to know your counselor as they will be a resource on course-selections, future goals and scholarship programs.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado College has what i need to be successful in my field of study. Their online program allows me to work and get an education. The support of the faculty helps me become successful and stay plugged into the school.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mill Avenue!! Always something going on and nothing ever dull. Interesting characters there and unique shopping.

    What to do for fun

    I love going kayaking at canyon lake, which is around a 20 minute drive. Hiking at camelback mountain. Mill avenue is the club scene and is never dull.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a Native New Yorker girl all the way!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. If something is even slightly unclear, ask. It could be the difference of sliding by or really shining!

    In three sentences

    They have room for improvement. Online classes are very convenience, however, the teachers sometimes have communication issues.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Depends upon the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't recommend attempting accelerated math courses.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado has many flexible class start dates. There are also plenty of programs to choose from. I recommend checking them out for adults seeking courses compatible with a busy work/life schedule.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally Im an On Line student

    Food and Dining

    Personally Im an On Line student

    Dorm Life

    Personally Im an On Line student

    Academic Rigor

    I won't say classes are easy, You have to put in the work if you want a good grade but I will say that Rio Salado makes sure that all the information is there at your disposal and readily available 24/7

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to Instructor~ If there is a problem they are actually willing to listen and take the time to find an answer that will benefit you

    In three sentences

    Best Teachers EVER! You can actually email them your deficiencies, and they actually take time out of there schedule to go over the subject in greater detail. The teachers at this school truly make you feel like you can make your dreams possible.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's online so I'd say it's pretty safe depending on where you live of course.

    Great for these types of students

    people who are seld motivated and people who don't procrastinate.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is very affordable compared to other schools I've looked into and the curriculum is pretty much the same. Great school to get your general classes out of the way

    Food and Dining

    they have a cute little cafe

    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with the format and take advantage of the new students links, they help a lot. There are many tools that you can use like tutoring on most subjects if you get stuck

    In three sentences

    I love Rio Salado! I plan on getting my associates here and transferring for a bachelors. Online tools are very helpful and easy to use.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Full time employed adults

    What to do for fun

    Tempe has WONDERFUL activities

    Food and Dining

    NA- online studies

    Dorm Life

    NA- online studies

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be proactive with asking for help so replies can be timely. 2. Follow up with Financial Aid consistently. 3. Stay on pace to avoid last minute technical issues.

    In three sentences

    I've been fortunate to have several instructors who have gone above and beyond with academic support. I have struggled with technical issues at times which has been stressful. I have enjoyed my studies so far here.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students or parents on the go.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very reasonably price and most programs have a partnership with a university so you can transfer for the last part of your education and receive your degree from a university.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe you can start just about anywhere. I did not have any prior higher education before attending Rio Salado, I passed the GED and started right away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rio Salado is a great environment for the active adult or beginning student you can take classes online or in the class room. They offer free tutoring as well.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado has been a great experience for me beginning college as an adult. Its very convenient I am able to take online classes. They make testing very easy with multiple testing sites.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe in your home or office.

    Great for these types of students

    single parents, working low/middle income, eases the commute and transportation costs and time, environmentally friendly, upgrading career, company employee education, independent student above age 21,, university transfer, career certifications, and promotions.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses and credits of all accredited private and public colleges and univeristiies at an affordable tuition that covered with fafsa grants and loans for school books, supplies, computer and/ or laptop, printer, and internet & media services to make the grade

    What to do for fun

    Rio Salado's Main College Building Offices.Resources and Bookstore adjacent to ASU Main Campus and Tempe Lake

    Food and Dining

    Have dinner at home while taking quiz.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The entire focus: study, learn, think academic goals

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice to be patient with self learning to learn on-line along with communication with Professors. Also, if you require a flexible schedule, inquire of the Professor's personal policy on flexibility of due dates. Not all Professors at Rio Salado are flexible with due dates and grading policy as it ought to be with a On Line College as many students are working adults upgrading or continuing education to further career opportunities and build a bridge to transfer to four year university's

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado Community College offers all the same classes, certifications, degree programs as many of the private on line colleges at a fraction of the tuition. All credit classes are transferable to in and out of state university's.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stay at home moms Working person

    Food and Dining

    I know that Rio has become so much more over the time that I have been there, but to my knowledge there isn't food/dining provided.

    Dorm Life

    This is an online school, there are not dorms to occupy.

    Academic Rigor

    This college expects full assignments to be turned in. Since the majority of the courses are online, the assignments are the major proof that you have grasped the concept.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be dedicated to doing the work. You check in once a week with your instructor and it is a lot of work to complete. Accountability is a great quality to have for these courses. Some of the coursework is intense and since you are not getting the classroom environment the workload is a lot. But it is worth it if you are able to meet the requirements. It works great with a work schedule and the instructors always give a fast response.

    In three sentences

    Great for the working individual. Great for people who can not meet regular classroom agendas. Great for self starters.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whats's fun to do? Have fun and enjoy the freedom of making your own schedule and goals.

    Food and Dining

    When it comes to dining, you tend to dine at home, coffee shops near your home or even at a friends house. Dining is made comfortable because Rio Salado College is online. There is no need to be on the go or in a rush because you as the student set your scheduled.

    Dorm Life

    There is really no dorm life at Rio Salado. The great part about attending Rio Salado is that you get to stay in the comfort of your own home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Rio Salado is what you make of it. You as a student decide the type of student you would like to be. When it comes to academics, there are no extreams. Your are your own pressure.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to be focus and have fun. Doing online classes allows you to have more freedom, but it requires you to be responsible when it comes to your academics. Rio Salado give you a choice that has a positive outcome for your future.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado is a great school that helps many student advance their careers for their futures. Rio Salado also make going to school flexible for students, the working class and parents. Rio Salado college makes earning a degree very eassy to obtain with their easy Rio Learn center and staff.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe. They have a police department right next to the school, and always have a security line to call.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I was actually REALLY disappointed that they had ZERO clubs on campus/online.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer Students Working Individuals. Parents wanting to get a fast degree without the hassle of money

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is pretty normal.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a bargain, and super easy to transfer to any other school.

    What to do for fun

    I really love the projects the school provides. It teaches you how to time manage yourself.

    Food and Dining

    They have ZERO meal plans, you are expected to nourish yourself before and/or after class.

    Dorm Life

    They do not provide dorms because it is a community college/online school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and level, the classes could get challenging but always academically satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to understand what classes you specifically have to take with your major, so you don't waist your time and money for certain classes.

    In three sentences

    I do enjoy this school's programs due to the fact that it is simple to gain credit hours to apply to other universities. It really helps with getting the boring General Education credits out of the way without having to pay university prices. They also have an amazing Dual enrollment program, where you can take credit for both high school and college.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't get much safer than your own home.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, working students, anyone who needs the flexibility of online classes.

    Food and Dining

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a good idea to try to get assignments done a little early, then if you come to one that you need help with it gives you time to contact the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan for the university you want to go to. Talk with the university advisers AND rio's advisers to make sure credits will transfer and that you are getting the most out of this school. They offer pathway programs to ASU, so if you plan to go there talk to the advisers.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money due to the fact it can save you college time down the road, and it gives you a good start.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can get ahead in college!

    Food and Dining

    It is not a place to eat food or dine either. This is an academically based place, and that is its focus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. This college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is academically qualified to help students achieve college credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes seriously; this isn't something you just mess around with. Take as many dual enrollment classes as you can!

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado is a great school to take dual enrollment classes through. It is convenient to have these great college classes available at my high school, and it is nice to get a head start on college. Rio Salado has some great online tools to help guide a person through their course as well.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa and currently hold the VP of Scholarship for our Chapter.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to start at a community college before attending a large university or anyone who wants to return to school. The online classes provide the flexibility of taking classes that work with any schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    I am 51 years old and returned to school last year. I left home when I was 15 and spent my entire life working way too many hours. It was time I did something for ME...so I am pursuing my love of writing, and I WILL be a published author!

    What to do for fun

    The college is located in Tempe which is also where Arizona State University is located, so there is a lot of college life in the area. The great AZ weather also offers a ton of outdoor activites year round.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus so am not familiar with the food options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I suppose the academic strictness of the college depends upon the student. I have a specific goal and am working diligently to achieve it. I am the one who determines how disciplined and strict my college experience is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do it! The online classes make continuing education so easy; there is really no excuse for not pursuing a certificate or degree. And the instructors are great. It is one of the best decisions I have ever made.

    In three sentences

    I am really happy with the instruction I am receiving in my courses at Rio Salado. The instructors have been great and offer extremely instructive feedback on my assignments. This is exactly the experience I needed in returning to school after so many years in the work force.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is no food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned a lot of information in a short amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time for your classes and don't behind. Stay in contact with your teachers.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado makes it easy to talk to instructors and staff. Books are very affordable. Classes are well planned out, filled with information.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food that is offered at Rio Salado is always fresh and quick to get.

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm is wherever you want it to be! You're not tied down to a certain area when going to Rio Salado College.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes at Rio Salado are rigorous and challenge you to think critically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep a planner with you! If you're taking an online or in-person class, being on-time is so important!

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado is an incredibly flexible school. It emphasizes independence and self-discipline. Rio Salado is the perfect school to go to for new college students, and returning ones.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated, determined.

    Bang for the buck

    Best value in town.

    What to do for fun

    Rio is in Tempe. There are lots of cultural activities, sporting events, outdoor activities, and night life.

    Food and Dining

    The Rio Caf�© is great! They grow the food they serve, so it is very fresh and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    It can be demanding, so it is good to stay on schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the format, read the syllabus, communicate with instructors, and ask for help early.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado is the perfect answer for anyone with an already full life. The online aspect requires self-motivation and determination, but the instructors are very helpful and tutoring is available. Start dates are flexible.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its all online. So I don't know how to judge security, but the online security has been great.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    No sure, I don't believe there is any or many.

    Great for these types of students

    People who know they can not attend a major university because of being a parent, or having to work for a living.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ITS ALL ONLINE!!!! No Looking for park, or paying for parking along with all the other headaches you can find at a traditional college/university.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the lowest credit hour cost in the state. A whole semester and with books can cost as much as one credit hour at the major university down the road. FYI some of the teachers who teach there also teach on the side here.

    What to do for fun

    Surf the net without the teaching catching you because you're at home.

    Food and Dining

    Online school, can not say much about dining.

    Dorm Life

    It is all online and that is what I like.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe Rio Salado College shows you how to be self discipline to the point of doing your work. It is a great stepping stone for any student out of High School or anyone who looking to get a degree later in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend Rio Salado because it can be right for you to get a degree or you stepping stone before you begin at a major university.

    In three sentences

    I like Rio Salado College because I can start at almost any time, and work at my own pace. They provide so many classes and degrees with options to transfer my credits to a University.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I think with any college experience it's important to test your own limits and boundaries. Take a class outside of your major, join a club that would help you meet different people.

    Food and Dining

    I take Rio Salado courses online so I haven't experienced their food and dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't applicable because Rio Salado doesn't offer on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Rio Salado's classes are definitely challenging! The assigned readings, assignments, and exams fit well with the course descriptions and help students gain the knowledge needed for classes in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a schedule and stick to it! It's important to hold yourself accountable for your time and school work. Online classes are dependant upon time management skills. Taking a full schedule is definitely doable but it's important to stay focused and organized.

    In three sentences

    This school has helped keep me focused and on track while still giving me the flexibility to take courses online. My instructors are knowledgeable and caring. The coursework is preparing me for my future career.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of any problems

    Great for these types of students

    Serious, Goal oriented, Wanting to learn

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth every penny! Rio is the best online college out there!

    What to do for fun

    Learn

    Academic Rigor

    Impressive

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to learn! Read all paper work and follow directions!

    In three sentences

    I love the transfer options with Rio, they are plentiful. The online degree program is very convenient for me as I am a new mom, and would like to work part time. I am impressed with the knowledge base of my intro to business instructor.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No campus safety concerns here. The headquarters and bookstore in Tempe are safe. The library is quiet. Online schooling is safe and can be done from home.

    Greek Life

    No greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    No activities or clubs I am aware of. I am just an online student and have been since 2009.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who have an active life outside of school (performers, singers, comedians, actors, dancers, choreographers, dance instructors, single parents). Distance learning is online schooling, and helps a student have a flexible schedule to work morning, evening or nights. Rio Salado has 48 start times to enroll on any Monday throughout the year in every semester. Rio Salado Community College online is great for students who want to get their college education to transfer to a good university, stay out of trouble, be free of distractions and have an active life outside of school. If you are pursuing a career in entertainment, this is the school for you until you can transfer to a 4-year college, so that you can have time to train, audition and network as often as you please. I, for one, am a dancer, aspiring actress and vocalist involved in a choir. I have found this school to be great with time management because I like to train in any of the local dance studios at night, and get acting, vocal, and music lessons during the week.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions here.

    Bang for the buck

    You can apply for financial aid. You can pay for school through the FAFSA grant. You can even pay for school through Rio Salado scholarships. It is $76 /credit to enroll for courses through Rio Salado.

    What to do for fun

    Be involved in your community. Volunteer at churches, shelters for the homeless and at food banks. Take up a good hobby or pursue your career goals for the profession you seek to work in. I am pursuing acting, dance, theatre and music. I even started a screenwriting and film class 3 weeks ago! :)

    Food and Dining

    Food has to be paid for by yourself. Have a good full time job or two good part time jobs on the side. This school helps you become more independent financially by giving you more time in your schedule to work and make a living. Rio Salado schooling gives you time to work and go to school to improve your finances.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. This college is for students already in housing off campus. Be living at home, with a spouse or with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Get tutoring, because the course material for language, science and mathematics courses are not easy; and for any course, (whether it's online or on a campus), 2-3 hours a day needs to be put into completing the coursework. Put in good time and effort-- and if you are behind on a test or assignment, email the instructor in order to get an extension. Studying and actually reading the text is key, and communication between students and instructors is the best thing in order to pass. Always read the syllabus. Never wait after 2 weeks to ask for an extension or submit an assignment. This will result in points taken off or a zero.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put in the time and the effort. Keep in contact with the instructor. If there are any problems, contact the instructional or technology helpdesk. Get tutoring and study well. Do not withdrawl from the course after the withdrawl deadline. Have all of the course materials ready before enrolling in your courses!

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado Community Cellege has been a great college for me to attend through distance learning, because I can work full time, be actively involved in my community and get my dance training at the same time. Working towards an Associate's Degree online has helped me become a more disciplined, motivated and academically competitive student.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I liked the convenience of an online classes, that allows me to progress through the class at my own pace. If you have a job during the day, you can study and do your assignments at night.

    Food and Dining

    I heard is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's important to be organized and turn in all assignments on time. If you are going to be absent or have trouble with an assignment ask the instructor early before assignment is due.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rio Salado College has excellent resources and educational services available to all students whom want to be successful. Overall it is a good school to start your education at.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado College is a great school. I couldn't have chosen a better school for my first year experience of college. They have classes all through the day to fit your schedule, and also have online classes.I am taking online classes and so far so good.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attended online so don't know

    Food and Dining

    online

    Dorm Life

    online

    Academic Rigor

    decently priced

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you want to accelerate your classes, tell them that you are not a degree seeking student until you are nearly complete with your degree. otherwise you will have to wait for certain blocks and terms which will put you behind. i know from experience.

    In three sentences

    I am taking the online courses and I must say it is very beneficial to those who like to work ahead and independantly. Instructors are usually quick to grade and eager to help assist with problems. I have nearly completed my associates degree in computer technology and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in Graphic Design.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is an absolute joke.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose another local community college

    In three sentences

    Apathetic teachers that won't answer you, poor support, terrible math tutoring, and now they say we owe them money because of a financial aid overpayment over 6 months ago. Are they trying to sabotage students!? I went to GCC for my associates degree, and took a lot of quality online classes with organized course guidelines and accountable teachers. Because Rio was also a Maricopa Community College I thought they would adhere to the same standards. I was sorely mistaken. Take your online degree with Mesa Community College or Glendale Community College. Rio is a joke.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a very friendly security guard roaming around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Tranfer Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a book savings program that helps with saving money on books.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are planning to transfer, Rio is the best school to get those general classes out of the way and the staff always helps with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Arizona mills is 5 minutes away and Tempe always has something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Have never eaten in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic are at university level.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to take an 8 week coarse, make sure to have great self discipline and plan your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado College is a great school for those who are busy with life. They have an awesome 8 week structure that allows you to finish a class in a shorter time frame to get back to life's responsibilities. Also everyone at the school is always willing to help with planning for the future.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Greek Life

    Rio Lounge

    Clubs and Activities

    Rio Lounge.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who don't like big classrooms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Small campus for an online school.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone is very friendly and helpful there.

    What to do for fun

    Online community.

    Food and Dining

    They do have food there.

    Dorm Life

    Online

    Academic Rigor

    Very responsive teacher. They want to sure make that you understand everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask a lot of questions to the teachers because it will help you.

    In three sentences

    Employees are very efficient there. Teachers are friendly. I have enjoyed going there.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not dine at the school. I'm only taking online classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not try to get everything accomplished over the phone because it is more than likely not going to happen. It is definitely best to physically go up to the school and make sure you have everything done before you leave. Create a list of everything they are needing so you don't have to back track.

    In three sentences

    My experience with Rio Salado at first was a little rocky and very unhelpful. On the day of my start date, I decided to drive up to the school and speak to someone face to face, which is when I received the best service any student could ask for. Everyone I had talked to one the phone went above and beyond to get me into those classes that day.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I guess you're super safe as you're in your own home!

    Greek Life

    No greek life as it is all online.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs or activities to speak of as it is all online.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for self starters, those who are well motivated, and those who are good at scheduling their time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I guess it is unusual in that all of the classes are online.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value since its all online!

    What to do for fun

    Ummmmm surf the internet?

    Food and Dining

    No campus so no food and dining options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus so this does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies. One class ate me for lunch and another was a total snooze fest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you order the right textbook - they have a lot of special Rio Salado editions.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado has amazing course selection. Their staff - both administrative and professorial - are incredibly helpful and engaged. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is good at self paced school work.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    do not stay on campus

    Dorm Life

    do not stay in dorms

    Academic Rigor

    wonderful

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending Rio Salado very much. The teachers are wonderful and they get back to you in a timely manner. Help is always just a click away.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Online student.

    Dorm Life

    Online Student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an online degree, I would advice you to attend Rio Salado.

    In three sentences

    I am an Online Student at Rio Salado. Their service is excellent and convenient. Also, they are very affordable.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many activities outside of regular classes, groups and numerous opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    I take mostly online classes so I have never eaten at Rio Salado however, I have seen their café and it looks wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home so I am not sure about the dorm life. I don't believe Rio Salado offers dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school truly pushes you to do and be the best you can in every class. Classes are uniform and all have similar requirements they truly help you to learn and do the most you can to further your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be online classes are more difficult and time consuming but great if you have a job or children.

    In three sentences

    Rio Salado makes registering and attending classes a very quick and easy process. This college is very flexible with online classes and in person class times. The classes truly benefit you in learning about the degree you want to pursue.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are not many on campus activies.

    Food and Dining

    Food was very good at the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    They have very helpful Tutoring services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time well because it is easy to procrastinate your assignments when you have the freedom to do it whenever you want.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy going to school online. RioLearn is organized and easy to use. The teachers are very helpful and respond to your emails in a fast manner.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for those with busy lives, or whose schedule does not permit them to follow the rigid Fall/Spring calendar.

    What to do for fun

    There is much to do all around the greater Phoenix area.

    Food and Dining

    Rio Salado has a cafe with pretty good food but there are so many places to eat around Tempe!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Plenty of student housing all around Tempe, though.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though it is a community college, their instructors are top notch and in many cases far better than some in 4 year universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just start.

    In three sentences

    I think it is one of the best community colleges around.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students. Students with children. Working students, with children.

    What to do for fun

    I attend online, I don't live in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Didn't ever eat there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are incredibly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can afford a state school through grants or scholarships, go there. It will be less of a headache. My advisor for my future classes at NAU was actually more help when looking at what Rio classes to take than my Rio advisor was.

    In three sentences

    The class prices are affordable but there is never an option for e-textbooks and they rarely buy back the paper books that they order through a custom publisher. The custom publishing makes it nearly impossible to resell them on your own. Also, the phone staff in the cashier's, advisement, and financial aid offices do not know what they're doing; I often had to drive to Tempe from Glendale to solve a problem.