Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

River Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not as many as in high school, but I don't know too many students who had enough time to do as many things as they did in high school. I'd say this school provided the right amount of activities. There were updated fliers every month, listing the new activities, which was great because students always knew what would be going on and what they had available to them.

    Great for these types of students

    There were a lot of students who worked and had families and could only go part-time, which seemed to really work for them. This school still works for full-time students though. It's a bit of a commuter college, but if you live in town and have an ID you can ride the bus to the school for free. I think there are also buses from other towns that go to Claremont though.

    What to do for fun

    While there weren't many extracurricular activities like in high school, there was usually something going on in the cafeteria around noon most days. There's also the option of starting projects on your own, which was how some of the activities got started.

    Food and Dining

    There were multiple things to choose from in the cafeteria, but even if you didn't want anything from there, you could get something from the vending machines. It's also nice that there were multiple places to sit and eat, not just one room.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, because it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I was surprised by how many of the classes didn't use tests. Although, professors were usually creative about assignments and divided class time into different projects or discussions, which kept class interesting. One thing I really liked about this school was that professors were always willing to talk. I never felt like I was annoying them by asking questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, because people were always helpful. If you ever have trouble with schoolwork, check either the library or the learning center (or both). Don't be afraid to get involved in activities.

    In three sentences

    Everybody was very helpful and the professors were always accessible. The library had a lot of resources. Classes were usually well-planned.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask a lot of questions and stay organized.

    In three sentences

    Attending River Valley Community College has been a great experience for me. Everyone is always so helpful and friendly. It is definitely a community based college. I felt right at home as soon as I began my education. I was not overwhelmed and I felt very comfortable.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit open parking lots. Very safe, good neighborhood.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent students, adults, people with full time work and or other major commitment. Definitly for students who cut their own mold.

    Bang for the buck

    To the point, which is all that is required. Excellent value for money.

    What to do for fun

    I personally think you should have left your fun seeking at the doors of high scholl or your parents basement. Your first 4.0 will be a new kind of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors at RVCC will meet your challenge, excell and you will be challenged more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a few days to compare not just tuition, but cost of books, cost of travel to home, the availability of work in the area etc.; the variables like that are what can make or break a college experience.

    In three sentences

    River Valley is well equipped, wel staffed and dedicated to its students. My experience so far has been thorough and seamless, since application I feel graduation is on the horizon.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel as if it is my own home at the college. That is how safe it is. There are no crimes to be found on campus. No one threatening you. I am well pleased with how safe the college is.

    Greek Life

    I've heard very, very few students wanting to talk about going to parties. There are hardly any places that people can party at on either campus. There no drunks, no druggies, and hardly any troublemakers at River Valley Community College. If there are any of these kinds of people there, they are rare at the Keene campus. Unknown to me for the Claremont campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rather lacking in this area. The only club I've heard of is the student council. If you're looking for any clubs that involve entertainment of any kind including sports, you'll find diddly squat of that here. The only events I know of are the ones that are announced over the student email.

    Great for these types of students

    Great if you are a no nonsense person and want to put your nose to the grindstone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing out of the ordinary for locations. They offer bagels at the beginning and end of the semester. Unknown about the Claremont campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get the bang for your buck here. The teachers give it their all. The books they offer for the courses are really helpful and teach you what you need to know. Be aware that the texts can be a bit expensive at the bookstore, but are the only way to use financial aid for the books.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun comes from the events at Claremont, but they are a bit... sparse. Utterly lacking at the Keene Campus.

    Food and Dining

    At the Keene campus it is rather lacking in the food and dining department; you'll only find vending machines. snacks, and no dining area there. At the Claremont campus, they have a room to chow down there and offer snacks there. I do not know what all they have at the dining area there because I've only been there two times. Im rating this an average of three stars for the lack of dining commons

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. You have to rent an apartment, and they can be quite expesive. For the Claremont campus, expect $500 or month in rent alone. For the Keene campus, the apartments can be a bit cheaper. Never lived in an apartment by myself, but I've never heard of any reports of any crimes happening to River Valley students. Expect to get a job that can pay your bills.

    Academic Rigor

    The students, teachers, and staff are well disciplined. The students are well behaved; you won't find druggies, drunks, and violaters of the law here. Everyone tries their best at this college. The classes are well structured there. Those who do their homework, participate in the classes, and do well on tests will succeed here. I have nothing but praise for this aspect of the school. It's rare to find cheaters at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard to transfer credits as exact classes at other colleges such as Keene State College. Most classes transfer as credits at some colleges. Credit prices are currently as follows: NH students: $210/credit, New England residents: $315/credit, Out of state resident: $478/credit. Work hard here and you are sure to succeed. If you are looking to be a dietician or something in culinary arts, you are not going to find it at River Valley as of 2011-2012 school year. I would suggest you look at the course catalog here to see if they have what you are interested in before you apply; they only do Associate degrees and certificates here.

    In three sentences

    Great College, but they do not offer animation or game programming there. There are more classes in Claremont than in Keene though. Cheaper than some other colleges that I've seen.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working moms.

    What to do for fun

    Leaf peeping.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to get started in furthering your education.

    In three sentences

    Great Staff. Great Teachers. Close to home.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They had homemade chilis and sandwiches. The staff was very nice.

    Dorm Life

    River Valley Community College doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I only took two classes while I was there because I was working. One class was very good, made you think constantly, showed lots of videos, kept us engaged, and was fun. The other class was a science class and you could literally look up the questions for the take home quizzes if you didn't feel like doing it. There was no creativity whatsoever in that class by the teacher and that reflected in class and in the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at this college, be sure to hunt early. This way, you can pick classes that work around your schedule. They are good at choosing classes for you. They don't have many language courses, though.

    In three sentences

    River Valley has a wide variety of faculty and staff. One of my teachers was very good; fun, energetic, exciting, while my other one was very boring and it took everything to not fall asleep in his class. The administration (office people, cafeteria members, etc.) were very nice.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is ran by our maintenance department. We have not had any incidences in at least ten years, and they strive to keep our campus a safe, secure, and comfortable zone for students and staff alike.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are wonderful on campus. Every club has to go through out student senate to be passed. After we pass the club, we will typically fund a $500 start-up account for the club and then they have to fund raise the rest. There can be any type of club created too (within reasonable boundaries).

    Bang for the buck

    River Valley is a very affordable school. Being that it is a technical college, the prices are not back-breaking. Do not confuse a cheaper price with cheaper knowledge though. Many of the teachers have excellent connections and can get you jobs fresh out of graduation. Also there are many four year colleges that take most of the credits accumulated by River Valley alumni.

    What to do for fun

    We have hiking trails out back, a little pond to relax by, we have done trips to go see hockey games, we have many different clubs to suit anyone's interests. Also if there is not a club currently formed, you can make one for whatever you wish!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent with reasonable pricing. We have our own little grill restaurant ran by the two cooks. They rotate specials and no matter what you get, the food is always delicious.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have any dormitories, but we do have many social areas. Being only a 2 year community based technical college, there is no real need for dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    River Valley has very demanding programs for needed workers in many industries. The faculty will provide you with everything you need to know about whichever career you choose, you need to be the one to keep up the grades and graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for whichever semester is closest. Ask questions of your instructors. Also meet regularly with your adviser.

    In three sentences

    River Valley is a wonderful college geared toward helping students. They are small enough that teachers can actually associate with students to help comprehend the material. Our student senate also provides many benefits to the students to help relieve much of the stress that college can place on someone.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Great for these types of students

    IT, Technology, Health

    Bang for the buck

    I can't say enough positive things about River Valley Community College.

    What to do for fun

    Claremont, NH isn't exactly a metropolis! However, there are a few good pizza joints and a few fun local bars. The town has a great gym that's affordable.

    Food and Dining

    They have an excellent food program that offers delicious and healthy meals as well as traditional college cafeteria foods. In addition there are a variety of vending machines that are well stocked with a good variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, leaving you educated and competitive in the job market.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to reach out to the faculty for assistance if you're thinking about attending River Valley Community College. They go above and beyond to help all of their students.

    In three sentences

    River Valley Community College is student-centered with a devoted faculty. The course content rivals that of a traditional undergraduate university. Students graduate well-educated and well-prepared for their chosen career path.