Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Roane State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/05/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Roane State Community College is great for students who prefer smaller classes, are self-motivated, and are looking for a less-expensive education. They are well-known in the area for their excellent Nursing program and Allied Health Science programs. I recommend it to any student seeking an Associate’s Degree or looking to earn credits that will transfer to a 4-year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to succeed at Roane State Community College, the most important piece of advice is to go to class. Nobody can expect to do well in a course if they never attend the lectures. Another tip that may seem a little obvious is to make the effort to read all of the recommended material in each course. Also, don’t forget to take your own notes during class- complete with multiple colored highlighters! Another important step to succeeding is to talk with your instructors outside of class during office hours or by e-mail. It’s smart to separate yourself from those who are simply in the class and those who are really diving into the course! Another piece of advice is to form study groups for tough classes. Sometimes, hearing different people talk about the material can really help it all stick in your mind. My final piece of advice is to routinely look over the syllabi for your classes so you always know what to expect. Good luck at RSCC!

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to value, Roane State Community College truly excels. They provide me with everything I need to be successful at a fraction of the cost of surrounding colleges. In addition to having significantly lower tuition costs than many other colleges, they also have numerous scholarship opportunities! Every person you encounter at RSCC genuinely wants you to be there, and they all put in an effort to help you get what you need to succeed!

    Am enjoying being here

    I couldn’t be happier at Roane State Community College! Over the past two years, I’ve learned so much, and I’ve made so many new friends. I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to attend such a wonderful school. There’s always an attitude of encouragement and success at RSCC. Everyone around you is constantly working to help you propel forward in your life and career. I feel like a small part of a family at Roane State, and I couldn't ask for more!

    Am learning a lot

    Since becoming a student at Roane State Community College, I am learning so much every single day! I couldn’t be happier with the quality education I receive from my instructors. No matter the course- College Algebra, Composition, or Anatomy & Physiology- you can count on getting the help you need from qualified teachers who truly care about you as a student and as an individual. The teachers use so many different methods to evaluate how well students are absorbing the material. You can expect to see a variety of quizzes, tests, group projects, essays, lab sessions, group discussions, and more. You can even choose to learn online! I’ve taken traditional courses at 3 of RSCC’s campuses, and I’ve also taken a few courses online, and I have nothing but good things to say about both options. The online courses are really interactive and stimulating for students. In addition to having overwhelming support within the classrooms, students also receive tons of help from the RSCC Library and Learning Center. The Library has access to tons of free resources to expand students’ knowledge of literature, science, and current events, for example. The Learning Center is a gem at RSCC. When a student visits the Learning Center, they can expect to get high-quality free tutoring in math, science, writing, Spanish, accounting, technology essentials, or general study skills. They are also open for personal study time and computer usage. I’m a huge fan! Roane State has given me a firm foundation of knowledge on which I can build a career!

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing is a very popular major at Roane State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized. You're not in high school anymore, professors don't like excuses. If you wait until the last minute on your class work it will show. This goes for every college not just Roane State.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college so that automatically makes it cheaper than a four year university. However you are getting just as much or even more education than if you did go to a four year school.

    Am learning a lot

    Because it is a smaller school you are able to actually talk to the professors if you have a question, and not just be one of over 100 students in one class.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety security officers are on campus 24 hours a day.

    Greek Life

    i do not have an opinion.

    Clubs and Activities

    roane state offers a variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    roane state is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    roane state has family oriented activities as well as individual activities based on students field of interest.

    Bang for the buck

    roane state offers free tutoring for all students, regardless of gpa, or financial status.

    What to do for fun

    roane state has all kinds of programs, from basketball to art competitions.

    Food and Dining

    cafeterias are active on the larger campuses. vending machines are accessible on the smaller campuses.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    be prepared and serious about being in class and furthering your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    get your financial aid in place, along with any other needed paperwork. the administration staff will help you with this.

    In three sentences

    roane state community college is diverse enough to meet the educational needs for anyone. roane state has satellite campuses located throughout east tennessee for convenience. roane state has a large selection of programs to chose from.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working, straight out of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent price, HOPE paid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am getting all of the courses I need for grad school at a comfortable pace.

    Am learning a lot

    If I need help with something I don't understand, the teachers are willing to work one-on-one to get me where I need to be.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to talk to professors

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Anderson's Grill at the Oak Ridge branch campus is great.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The subject matter is well understood and well communicated by all parties.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to meet with the well trained advisors. Then, I would look up teachers and get to know them. Finally, I would take in all the surroundings to be sure of no surprises as far as class placement.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience at RSCC. The atmosphere is compelling, facilities are state of the art, and teachers are experienced as well as knowledgable. I am proud I came here.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not very good security

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    not very many

    Great for these types of students

    sports related or medical related. and music related

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    none

    What to do for fun

    I participate at the schools Baptist Ministries on leadership

    Food and Dining

    way too expensive

    Dorm Life

    there is none because it is a community college. the only living situations are for the sports team and i am not on one.

    Academic Rigor

    it is just as challengeing as any other four year college if not harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to take math classes for your electives. Do not take math 1000.

    In three sentences

    Is just as hard as any other four year college. Very helpful when I need it the most. Most of the teachers are good.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Activities Board (CAB) is a great way to find out about what is going on throughout campus. You can meet people in positions and really become friends with the people in the offices. Baptist Collegiate Ministries - It is a great place to meet people, but is also a great place to relate with other Christians on campus. There are always bible studies going on and plenty of chances to make friends.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love music, then you will love Celebration Singers and Concert Choir. Learn more about both groups at www.roanestate.edu .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Opening Week - Club's, Organizations, and Groups have tables set up with different free stuff for students. Fun Days - During the school year, there are many events that happen to provide fun to the students and their family. Watch in your e-mails and flyer's around campus to learn about what is going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Food - Wednesday's at the B.C.M. the lunch is the biggest saver when your short of money. Some local favorites are El Patron's in Rockwood and Gondolier in Midtown. Wifi - Most places have wifi, but the best public places are at the McDonald's in Harriman or even on campus. Ever building at RSCC has wifi.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things around Roane State that can be fun. There is the Baptist Collegiate Ministries which are always doing fun this during the week. There are parks surrounding the school and plenty of swimming areas all about Roane County. There is also a bowling alley and roller skating rink. There is also the Midtown Drive-In.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, there is the cafeteria which is sort of nice. Your best option is to leave campus and drive toward the interstate. There are plenty of restaurants in Harriman, Rockwood, and Midtown. Also, on Wednesday's across the street from the school, the Baptist Collegiate Ministries serve lunch for $2 for students and $3 for non-students.

    Dorm Life

    Roane State does not have dorms. There are apartments all around the campus but it is best to live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are easy to work with. They do care about your education and want to help you. Some teachers have a high work load, but for most of the classes, there is a small amount of homework and reading. You can be a full time student and work full time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to find out information, it is best if you can go to the main campus One Stop. The people in the One Stop work really well with you and are able to give you answers then and there.

    In three sentences

    Roane State Community College is a one of a kind school. The student per teacher ratio is excellent and the quality of education for the cost of classes is superb. R.S.C.C. is perfect for starting off and making your first steps as an adult or even for adults going back to school.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All campus locations are safe and well lit. They also have emergancy boxes and security guards.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student will gain a fantastic education there, whether they are only taking a few classes or earning a full degree there.

    What to do for fun

    Around the Harriman campus there are lots of trails and if you drive around you will find many interesting shops. The Oak Ridge campus has many talented artists and every year they decorate and sketch on the sidewalks around campus. The campus is also only a few miles form UT's arboretum which has lots of mild trails that are filled with beautiful plants and flowers. The Oak Ridge Museum of Science and Energy is also only a few miles from the campus and is worth a visit.

    Food and Dining

    They offer the typical variety of food you would get from any other college.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers require you to work and put forth an effort in your studies but they lend a helping hand whenever you need it. Expect to study and learn and be prepared for a future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Roane State Community College! If you are looking for a school that teaches one on one but still offers the quality of teachers from a university college, then Roane State is for you.

    In three sentences

    Roane State Community College offers well educated teachers and staff. I have attended other community colleges and they do not even compare to the level of education I have received in my short time there. I am very pleased with my level of education at Roane State Community College.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what I observed with my visits to campus, I felt I would be safe and secure there.

    Great for these types of students

    A community college is much easier to access, traffic and parking are much better to navigate, smaller class sizes, and locations that are central to most who want a rural/yet urban relationship to the communities work together to help students learn better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not really sure about this subject, but I am sure I will enjoy learning about the campus, the 'perks', and I think I will enjoy learning in this atmosphere...with acceptable ratio of students to instructors, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Opportunities for a career in the medical field are many in this area...especially for nurses, locally trained. The tuition at Roane State is very reasonable, and I hope that I will not have to borrow much for my schooling as my husband is also working on a graduate degree as well.

    What to do for fun

    This is not a primary factor in my quest for a quality education. I already have a full-time job and will work while I attend classes, so I have little time for 'fun' activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are many area restaurants, on campus cafes, and access to a variety of food offerings near the campuses.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure that dorms are provided, but I am married and my husband and I are buying our first home so I don't need lodging at the school sites. Most community colleges do not offer on site residences for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Standards are high for all of the programs offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that area students check out the campus(s), take a look at the catalog and check out all aspects before making a final decision on the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    Roane State has a very good reputation for providing quality programs, a high graduation rate at a very affordable rate. It is located near my home in West Knoxville, and it features my career field, Nursing/RN in a degree program.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working or adults with children

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and register classes early. get financial aid in as soon as u apply so it is correct before u start classes.

    Bang for the buck

    fairly inexpensive and have a lot of high quality teachers.

    Am enjoying being here

    school is laid back and a comfortable modern design to it.

    Am learning a lot

    teachers are dedicated to making sure that you learn the material.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great college and the teacher are great

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe while on campus here during any time of the day.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm not real active in any clubs right now but there are several activities to be involved in while here.

    Great for these types of students

    students are great! because it a small population you can get to know people and can hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    because you can use the hope scholarship and other scholarships that you may receive here, it really does help in the cost of tuition. because tuition here is not as high as other universities i hope to save money by attending here in order to go on to a 4 year- university in 2 years.

    What to do for fun

    luckily this is the main campus so they do have sports events that you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    i'm a breakfast person so the breakfast is pretty good. i don't eat at the cafeteria that often.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    so far, as a freshman, i have had to study more than high school because the classes are a lot more demanding. again, i have had made friends in the majority of my classes so when i cannot go and talk to an instructor i can contact someone from my class to help with assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to know what types of classes you are interested in and would like to take. if you are unsure, the people in the business office and the professors will help you decide.

    In three sentences

    i would rate roane state community college as a 9 out of 10. the most important aspect i like about rscc is the hometown feel of the school and campus. the instructors take time to get to know you and you can get know your classmates, which makes it better when you need to study and prepare for class or projects.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty good

    Food and Dining

    not all that great

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Surrounding Roane State are many restaurants, you can stop and get lunch between your classes easily. Who doesnt want a big tasty burger after hours in class?

    Dorm Life

    Roane State provides the ability to live at home in your comfort zone. Driving to school is not a big problem, there are many Roane State Colleges throughout Tennessee. I live only 30 minutes away from my Roane State!

    Academic Rigor

    Roane State Community College is the next step up from high school. It has flexible classes that are more difficult and require more attention than high school courses but are not as hard as they would be at a big college. There are also a comfortable amount of students in each class, so you aren't overwhelmed by a crowded room, also allowing more one on one help.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is a great place to get started on your educational goals. The classes are small enough to get assistance when needed. The college cares about your success

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think you do get what you pay for at Roane State. It is community college priced and you get special attention and help from the small classes and knowledgeable staff.

    What to do for fun

    The biggest issue at Roane State is the fact that it is located in a small community and there is nothing to do near the college. Some of the sporting events at the college are fun but not a lot of people go to them or to school functions at all really.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Roane State is excellent. They have great home-style cooking cooked by local cooks who also make a wonderful staff.

    Dorm Life

    Roane State is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies at Roane State depending on the classes. Most of the general classes are too easy for a college class. However the classes that pertain to a degree you can get at Roane State, like nursing, are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get to know your teachers! They want to help you and if you ask they will.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is a great place to start your college career. It is perfect for introducing students to college and making the jump from high school classes to college level classes. However, the advising is not helpful and the University transfer programs are flawed.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard on campus which makes you feel alot safer while attending classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Roane State is an amazing school experience which is much more affordable for students, especially with the recession we are going through. I am personally paying for school completely by myself without the help of parents. Roane State has made it alot easier to afford compared to a big university. Also, the classes can be extremely challenging. The science classes are intimidating. Once you get through them you really know what you were supposed to learn.

    What to do for fun

    In Cumberland County there is always different activities and events going on. They make it very easy to get involved with your college.

    Food and Dining

    This depends upon which campus you are attending. The only campuses who offer food is Roane County and Oak Ridge. I have never ate at one personally. I prefer to just pick up fast food off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Roane State does not offer dorms due to the fact it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be very challenging depending on the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk and meet with advisors just to make sure you are doing everything necessary to earn your degree and graduate.

    In three sentences

    I rate Roane State Community College a 9 on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the highest. It is a small college with different locations across Tennessee making it easier for students to take all the classes they need. It is affordable and the number of students is smaller than that of a university making it easier for students to get extra help with homework and assignments when needed.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who come from small schools or for students who like small classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to a lot of schools the price is not to bad. Also they tend to have great deals

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much in the area but there is a lake. Great for fishing and swimming. There are some places like the lost sea and the Sweetwater flea market but you have to drive at least 30 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good in the school cafeteria but sometime a little expensive but there are a few fast food joints in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm but there are a few apartments in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all classes are very hard but some teachers are tough but some are hust very particular.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take on more classes than you can handle and try to get as many of your textbooks used cause they are cheaper.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm i live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to live at home or be in a small class Roane State is the school for you

    In three sentences

    Roane State is a perfect school for students who want to live at home and save money. There are nice teachers and staff that work here. I rate this school out of 1-10 i would rate it a 8

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    This is my second year of College Baseball with Roane State.

    Food and Dining

    Seeings that we don't live on campus, we are on our own with buying food and necessities.

    Dorm Life

    I live with a room mate which is also a baseball player. Our rent is $400 a month plus electricity and internet. I'm going to have lots of trouble paying for my living without more scholarships.

    Academic Rigor

    My GPA is a 2.5, my GPA was very low my first semester, but I learned to manage my time and school work during the second semester and was allowed to bring it up.

    In three sentences

    My names Ricky Diaz I lost my Lottery Scholarship because my GPA is a 2.5. I need more scholarships so I can continue to play baseball for Roane State and also get an education.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    RSCC has a small workout facility, sports, a few clubs..a library, the cafeteria is a good place to study/screw off..

    Food and Dining

    Although the prices are ridiculous, I love the cafeteria food! They also have snack/drink machines (and a coffee machine!), and sometimes I'll bring something from home, so variety has not been an issue with me. I say four stars, though, because of the price..

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available on this campus as it is a two-year institution.

    Academic Rigor

    While one or two of my classes have reminded me of the busy work that substitute teachers often give, most of my classes to date have been a combination of easy and challenging.. While the professor of my Biology course this semester, for example, makes the content extremely easy to grasp, the course is by no means a free pass; I still have to study for exams and quizzes. My Abnormal Psych course is very easy, but it's not study-free either. For a more challenging course, personally, College Algebra last year was hell. I loved my professor, but math is my weakest link. Finally, I've never wanted to learn Spanish..but this semester, I'm taking the course with a woman who makes me not hate it, despite my experience in high school. While I still might not desire to learn it, I'm on a level enough ground that the hour and 20 minutes flies by with her and she keeps me entertained.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, get everything in as soon as possible. Financial aid requirements, requirements for the college as a whole..get it all in with plenty of time to spare. Apply for classes as soon as possible as well, although trying to find space on the server to register for classes is like pulling teeth. It can take 2 or 3 hours just to sign up for 5 or 6 classes. It's extremely irritating when, every 5 seconds, the site tells you that you've been suspected of hacking it so you've been booted out.

    In three sentences

    Even with an acceptable number of courses for a community college and professors/ advisers always willing to help, it's hard to ignore the massive headache that the Financial Aid process causes.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are several dining options around, including a great cafeteria that is operated daily.

    Dorm Life

    Since Roane State is a community college, there is no need for a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Roane state is one of the top academically ranked community colleges in the nation. There schedule is rigorous, but the instructors there are more than willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is a wonderful community college. There is a branch of the school located in my county. I am accepted there and plan attending in the fall of 2013!

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    BE AWARE OF ALL YOUR SURROUNDINGS

    Greek Life

    NONE AT THE TIME

    Clubs and Activities

    CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD LA CRUIZERS CAR CLUB CAT DRAGGERZ CAR CLUB

    Great for these types of students

    MOTIVATED STUDENTS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I DON'T HAVE ANY AT THE MOMENT.

    Bang for the buck

    WATCH YOUR SPENDING AND COLLECT ALOT OF COUPONS

    What to do for fun

    GO TO THE PARK WITH MY SON.

    Food and Dining

    I EAT OUT SOMETIMES EITHER ON THE WAY TO SCHOOL OR ON THE WAY HOME. I WILL JUST GET ME SOMETHING TO HOLD ME OVER TILL I GET HOME TO COOK SUPPER FOR ME AND MY SON.

    Dorm Life

    I HAVE NOT PERSONALLY LIVED ON CAMPUS SO I CANNOT SHARE ANY EXPERIENCE WITH U ON THAT SUBJECT.

    Academic Rigor

    I AM HIGHLY DEVOTED IN GETTING MY BACHELOR IN NURSING FOR A LONG TIME.

    Tips for prospective students

    FIRST MAKE SURE U R TAKING ALL YOUR CLASSES IN A SMALL COMMUNITY COLLEGE THAT WILL TRANSFER OVER TO YOUR FOUR YEAR COLLEGE. YOU WILL HAVE SAVED ALOT OF TIME WASTED AND ALOT ON YOUR FINANCIAL AID MONEY AS WELL.

    In three sentences

    I WOULD RATE ROANE STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE TO BE A GREAT COLLEGE TO START OUT WITH, IF YOUR STARTING IN THE NURSING FIELD. IT WILL HELP CUT COSTS WHEN U DECIDE TO TRANSFER COLLEGES TO A FOUR YEAR COLLEGE. I WOULD RECOMMEND ANYONE TO START THEIR CAREER FIELD AT ROANE STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE ANYTIME. THANK U AND GOD BLESS EACH AND EVERYONE OF YOU.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work full time and have 3 children so I have very little time for anything else.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I mostly attend online courses. The work is difficult at times but I am determined and work hard to get my grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can. Once you are assigned an adviser ask as many questions as you need to.

    In three sentences

    Roane State Community College has helped me to take my first steps in changing my future. The education that I have received so far has been excellent. I would recommend this college to anyone.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports teams to join or watch, and there are many Physical Education Classes to keep you busy. They also have several art clubs and academic clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one restaurant in the Student Lounge, that only serves a total of two items at $5.00 each. Otherwise you will need to pack a lunch or go about 5 miles down the road to one of the many fast food restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are only dorms, that I am aware of, for softball players in the college groves. You will need to come from home or get an appartment near by.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of classes are more challenging than what they seem, depending onthe teacher. NEVER EXPECT FOR A CLASS TO BE EASY JUST BECAUSE IT'S AN ELECTIVE. If anything expect all web classes and electives to be much harder than required classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything done for financial aid done as soon as possible. This will gaurantee that you get your classes in time, as most classes will cancel if not paid by a certain date.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is great for transfer students or those that desire a two-year associates. It has classes for nearly every major, and is a great place to get your basics done close to home.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. I feel safe at all times of the day and night.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the only program here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Playmakers, The Roane Choral Society, The Jazz Band, Library, Tutoring Center, Phi Theta Kappa, German club, Moe Club.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Roane State is a great college that has made me feel more comfortable about returning to school in my 30's to get a degree.

    What to do for fun

    We get together and hang out. Disc golf.

    Food and Dining

    Vending is available in all of the buildings. The BCM offers meals on Wednesdays for $2.00. The Cafeteria has OK food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Roane State.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics here are great. There is an awesome chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (Beta Alpha Chi). There is a really good Honors Program that is made available to all those that apply. People really want you to succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as it opens. Classes are very popular so they fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Roane State Community College is like my second home. I am actually excited about attending when I wake up in the morning. I strongly recommend this college to anyone.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of athletics, clubs, plays, art exhibits on campus. A big plus for all the students and community.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria and the food is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Though there are expectations the Instructors are available to all students. Remember to check your progress online this is vital to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students I would suggest taking Speech as a first class in college, it gives the confidence to ask question as your progress in your education.

    In three sentences

    Roane State has given me an excellent beginning toward my future education goals. The class options as a dual enrollment student have helped toward physical mental and convience in a rural area. My experience at Roane State with the staff has been exemplary.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities at the school its self. Also you are within driving distince of Knoxville and gatliburg.

    Food and Dining

    There are really good restaurants near the school

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Great school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. There are really no dumb questions.

    In three sentences

    I am a returning student and everyone there has been very helpful. The staff are very encouraging and willing to help in any way they can. I feel that I have made a great decision for myself by returning to school.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very visible.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities, but I did not take the time to join any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot to choose from. I am not a member of a club though.

    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to save money first two years and the transfer Roane State is perfect!

    Bang for the buck

    Low cost and great education.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on Oak Ridge campus, but Knoxville is 20 min away and has a great night life. If looking for day activities there are always festivals and fairs on campus. Many great restaurants in the city also.

    Food and Dining

    They always have what you want to eat. And COFFEE! Last week there was a taco bar on the lobby for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think they have a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have a great associate of nursing program. It is small so it is a good starter school. They offer a great transfer program to four year universities.

    In three sentences

    It is cheap. It is close .it is a good community college.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No need, there isn't much crime in these parts, just don't park in the professor's or visitor's parking.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, Drama, Chemical Society, S.T.A.R.S

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students who want to earn a Bachelor's degree at the local campuses. Mass Communication majors looking to transfer to a University. Any student looking for a one or two year certificate program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Spanish, Business, and Biology group take students to Costa Rica for cultural, political, and diversity immersion. There are many other classes that offer study abroad programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Roane State is in partnership with the local Princess Theater and the local television station broadcast, Channel 15. There are many opportunities to work at both locations.

    What to do for fun

    Join concert choir or drama club. Get involved with the school.

    Food and Dining

    Traditional cafeteria food, but the main campus' lunch room is a great meet and greet spot

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there are local apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes available online, evenings or weekends, as well as interactive classrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to learn. The professors are always happy to take time to help outside classroom hours.

    In three sentences

    The is a perfect transition college for low-educated high school students or those who have been our of school for years. The school has certificate programs and university nursing programs. The drama and music department is a welcoming and supportive group of committed professors and students.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at a Roane State campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I am over 40 and have two children. I am a single parent who is returning to school for the second time. Raone State makes it easy for me to achieve my dreams for a second degree and better life for my children.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the geese that come to the Oak Ridge campus every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at Roane State is very fesible and allows a lot of people to attend college who normally would not be able to.

    What to do for fun

    Roane State offers a wide variety of clubs and interest groups. They also offer field trips and summer trips to other countries and states.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria locations are very easy to find. The food selection varies and is very nice. They also have plenty of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm, and don't know that they offer them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but very fair. I have learned so much at Roane State and the more classes I take, the better prepared I am for my field of interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Roane State Community College will help you with all your college needs from financial to class registration. It is a wonderful school with several campus locations as well. It is easy to schedule classes at a campus that is conveinant for you.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is very affordable, and the faculty is very knowledgable in their fields. I have been attending Roane State for two years and love it. I also have a four year degree from a major university and would recommend Roane State over a four year university.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on-campus security officers to help keep the school a safe place to be. They also have several signs with emergency evacuation plans, and they have several safety drills throughout the school semester so that students are informed. Lastly they post information via the website, a text message system, email, and the school's interaction sign at the entrance when weather conflicts or cancellations /late-start of classes.

    Greek Life

    Roane State Community College does not have sorority or fraternity housing, because it is 2-year institution without dorm housing. However they do have a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have opportunities in sports, theater groups, and orchestration/chore groups, though they may require that you take the courses surrounding these activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for many types of students from adults hoping to learn more in life for personal reasons, students hoping to transfer toward four-year universities, students hoping to get a certificate program toward a specific occupation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have nine campuses, the main one in Harriman and eight other satellite campuses, as well as online course options and distance learning options. Plus they offer 2+2 programs that allow dual-enrollment with Tennessee Tech towards getting a Bachelor's Degree. They even have international education options so you can study abroad and earn credits toward your degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Tennessee is a little more expensive than other states for community college, however, Roane State's tuition is no higher than any other community college in the state and Roane State offers a lot more class options than most community college in the area.

    What to do for fun

    They have multiple electives that are fun from instrumental music, vocal classes, theater classes, language classes, etc. They also have special events from free concerts, special speakers, musicals/plays, and more.

    Food and Dining

    This depends on the campus you attend. The main campus in Harriman and the Oak Ridge campus contain cafeterias; however, the other satellite campuses have only vending machines. I do like that these school have a lounge area specifically for relaxing and eating, so it gives some comfort to a seemingly simple room with a vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have on-campus housing at this school, so you will need to have a housing options off of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They do their job well in teaching at this school, and if you stay on top of your workload and assignments, you should do well. However, the teachers expect more from you than many school, and if you don't show your best, they will reflect on this in your grades. The school also has lots of options in classes which I love.

    Tips for prospective students

    I do recommend that any person hoping or currently attending Roane State should pay attention to the details regarding his or her enrollment, financial aid, registration, etc. because one might find that something is missing or wrong in the paperwork, and if he or she isn't on top of it, one might be paying for extra fees, miss out on classes, or may have a hassle fixing it too last minute.

    In three sentences

    Roane State Community College is a great place to get education because they have diverse majors for a 2-year college, offer opportunities for dual enrollments toward a Bachelor's Degree, and have classes designed specifically for transferring to 4-year university. The teachers appreciate their students and teach in a fashion that makes learning more than getting credits in a one-size-fits-all education. The staff is very kind and helpful when trying to find information regarding the school.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since Roane State is a community college, it is a lot less expensive! I am getting some of my general education requirements done here for way cheaper and getting to stay at home for another year.

    What to do for fun

    They have a few fun things on campus during the year.. They have a lot of businesses come out to the campus and provide cool things like a street sign with your name on it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty good, but nothing like homemade!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but easy at the same time.. I have a natural tendency to think that schooling in easy though.. The professors are extremely helpful when you e-mail them and talk to them about your concerns too.

    Tips for prospective students

    The One Stop place is really terrible! You cannot speak with a person without being bombarded with, Did you go to our website? They got a lot of my financial aid wrong, and I had to call them multiple times to get the same problem fixed.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is a good starter school. I am currently taking classes online and am enjoying all three of them! They have one of the best nursing programs in East TN.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    While this school is great for all types of people, Roane State is especially great for the older, experiences professionals who are seeking more knowledge.

    Food and Dining

    Roane State offers several campus lunches, sponsored by university counselors, board member's or sometimes community leaders.

    Dorm Life

    Roane State doesn't offer dorm living. Since it is a community college, students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes and scheduling are challangeing and the expectation to do well is based solely on the goal of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to just jump right in. Roane State is viewed by many as a transitional college, used by high schoolers to further along their college career before even graduating high school, transfer students looking to build a better career at a 4-yr University, or by adults looking to enhance their current career or who are entering school after being out for many years. Everyone fits in here.

    In three sentences

    Roane State is dedicated to allowing each individualized student to design a career path that suits their interests and goals. The Class sizes are small which allows for effective teaching. And the staff is generally very helpful and willing to work with the students - both currently enrolled and prospective.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards at Roane State are very friendly and helpful. If you should ever feel insecure about a situation or a person, they are glad to do what they need to in order to make you feel comfortable. I have never had an incident at my campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs at the campus where I attend and no organized activities. This is one of my biggest complaints with Roane State.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are just graduating from high school and adults returning to school will have a wonderful experience. I have met several people who were older than 50 and were glad to be able to return to school without feeling overwhelmed. Students who were home schooled will also fit in well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions at the campus where I attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Roane State is an excellent place to begin college life at. It provides a small-scale college experience, so you are not overwhelmed. The people are very friendly and the campus is very cozy. Most importantly, it is much cheaper than a university, and some of the professors there are just as good as ones you may find at larger schools.

    What to do for fun

    The small campus where I attend has a ping-pong table which is very often used by the students. Almost everyone who attends will play. The campus grounds are very nice to walk around, especially if you're also having a nice chat with someone you enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The campus where I attend has vending machines. They aren't too expensive and will provide you with what you need between classes. There are a lot of options close to the campus for when you have a little more time.

    Dorm Life

    As there is no dorm life at Roane State, this section doesn't apply. The campus where I attend has a comfortable student lounge with amenities such as vending machines, a couch, and a ping-pong table, which the students often use. The grounds on all campuses are very nicely kept and are a joy to walk around.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Roane State can be very hit or miss. My history course, for example, was very challenging and gratifying. My sociology class, however enjoyable, left me with little knowledge on the subject. Ask around before you enroll to find out who the best professors are. Often, I find, the mean-tempered teachers are the ones who are more committed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your books online because the bookstore charges outrageous prices. As most of the math classes are online, it is harder to keep up if you are enrolled in them, and I advise that you not take more than one math class at a time.

    In three sentences

    Roane State Community College is an excellent place for someone to begin their college career before transferring to a larger university. The smaller campuses encourage a feeling of closeness and teachers are almost always available if you need their help. Classes can be very challenging and educational.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at Roane State. I know the area very well, since it's right here at home.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults and people who have jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay half of what I would at a normal 4 year college, and I get the exact same classes.

    What to do for fun

    Roane State has a lot of fun activities for the students such as our fall festival, seminars, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The snack machine is great!

    Dorm Life

    Roane State doesn't have dorms. I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great. They teach you everything you need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. Talk to your advisers often. Use all the resources available to you at the school.

    In three sentences

    Close to home and work, which makes my life so much easier. Very helpful and kind professors and staff. Everyone here cares about you and want you to do the best possible.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I eat at home

    Dorm Life

    I have my own housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, the academics are not that much different from high school. I was a good student in high school though and took advanced placement and honors classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you believe you are capable of at one time. Do not just take one or two at a time if possible.

    In three sentences

    I like this community college very much. The teachers actually pay attention to their students. We are not just a number.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher and it's easy to find out who is good for what subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your financial aid, records, and general administrative paper work because I--and many other students--have encountered issues with the financial aid and records department losing and misplacing important information.

    In three sentences

    It's a great small school--provides an excellent easy start to prepare for a four year institution. It provides many resources and almost every professor I've had has been great at what they do and passionate about it.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have excellent security men who are on duty at ALL times. I know because of all the parking violations they hand out. :/ Word to the wise: Don't park in employee/visitor parking.

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of students study abroad, join honors programs, and participate in clubs. Just do it. It looks GREAT on a resume.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because Roane State is such a small school, we get to do more activities as a campus. There is a rolling video game semi trailer that comes to campus a few times a semester. It gives our inner nerd time to take our minds off of classes for a while. We are also given free breakfast once a semester as a school. Maybe it's to promote our cafeteria's food, but hey, free bacon is free bacon, right?

    Bang for the buck

    Big Ed's pizza. It's been in town since Oak Ridge was built. The atmosphere is that of a Chicago pizzeria. Just roam around. There's tons of treasures here that I have yet to discover!

    What to do for fun

    The Greenway is right off campus. A few students and I always went fishing, played frisbee, went on hikes, and went bowling for fun after class. We also made it a priority to eat at a different restaurant once a week as a group. It allowed us to release some of that built up stress and have a little fun!!

    Food and Dining

    The Grill is great, if you like greasy high school cafeteria food. Gondolier pizza and some chinese place is directly across the street at the Oak Ridge campus. Zaxby's, McDonald's, Burger King, etc. are all less than ten minutes from campus. (Better than Ramen, eh?)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here!!

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college, and depending on the instructor, the difficulty will vary. Do your research and find out which professors will challenge you and push you to get the most out of their class. ratemyprofessor.org is very helpful, along with any of the students who have/are attending RSCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do your best, the best will come to you. That is what I have come to learn while attending Roane State. The instructors want you to succeed more than anything. They are willing to help, as long as you're willing to put forth the effort. The other students here are the kindest, most helpful people. The friends I have made here will be the ones I have for the rest of my life. So make friends. Give it your all. You will succeed.

    In three sentences

    Roane State provides a laid back, comfortable atmosphere that is perfect to learn in. Students and faculty are a close knit family. This college and the people have made the past two years the best of my life.