Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Roanoke College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy more interactive types of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college offers very small class sizes (20-30 students per class). Make the most of this and cultivate a personal relationship with your professor and ask them any questions you may have.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The students that like to get involved on campus and those who want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the scholarships even if you do not think you fit into the requirements. Take the campus tours! They are great! The scenery is beautiful! Take the roommate questionnaire and don't judge your roommate before you spend at least a week with them.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive but they offer a lot of scholarships. The 19 meal a week meal-plan is not ideal but they are revising it.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many on-campus activities such as BINGO, The President's Ball (kinda like a Homecoming), Casino Night, Karaoke, and so much more and everyone knows each other. The students, teachers, and workers are very nice.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers on campus try and reach every student. You have to want to learn! The teachers aren't going to bother with someone who doesn't want to learn.

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy being challenged academically and getting to know their peers and professors on a personal level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many things to do on campus that if your bored, it is truly no one's fault but your own.

    Bang for the buck

    Roanoke's new Intellectual Inquiry curriculum allows students to take core classes that pertain to their areas of interest, making for a true liberal arts education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Roanoke is known for its small school, friendly atmosphere. There are plenty of great organizations to get involved in on campus to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are easily accessible both during and outside of class and office hours. Small class sizes allow for personal connections and more in-depth learning.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is actually very helpful. My friend had his car die on him in the parking lot and Campus safety came to save the day with a jump start. They are intimidating looking but they are good hearted. They are there to protect and serve us, as well as be a friend and lend a hand.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school is always coming up with new clubs and activities for students. There is always something to participate in or be a part of. The school does very good in getting famous musicians to come play here. Just this year there have been two musicians that have both been at the top of the charts in the country and have come to play for Roanoke College.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very pricy private institution but it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The most fun thing to do is to get outside on a beautiful day and kick around a soccer ball or throw some frisbee with some friends. You can also join in on intramural sports and become a part of a team that bonds friendships.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There are so many different options. No matter what is the main course of the time, there is always a pizza bar, deli bar, pasta bar, fried rice bar and cereal bar open. It is hard to get tired of eating the same thing when you can eat differently everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. Unfortunately, being in the oldest dorm, its not the nicest. But it is still awesome the freedom of living on your own. Just don't abuse it. Campus security is watching...

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard classes but they will push you to maximum potential. The teachers are very nice and understanding. They are willing to help if you don't understand the problem. If you still don't understand it, the tutoring center is superb. They are very helpful and by the time you leave there, you will know the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mentally prepared for what you are getting into. Roanoke College is not an easy school where you will make straight A's. You will be tested mentally all the time. Wether it is from the actual work problems or just from the stress of all the work, it can be very frustrating. Just keep your cool and realize that you got in for a reason, so show them why you deserve to be there.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a school where you feel a part of something bigger. It is a close knit community where you say hey to each person that walks past you. Roanoke College is preparing me now for the harshness of what the real world has in store.

  • 04/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for anyone looking for a small town vibe but still close to a big city. Anyone looking to live in an area that explodes with color in the fall and spring!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here you will love it, not only is this a great acedemic school but the campus is gorgeous and the town is very close to it.

    Bang for the buck

    Roanoke College was recently ranked in the Princeton Review as one of the top libral Colleges. With Roanoke gaining new recognition all the time the value of you degree from here become more substantial.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the sense of community at Roanoke College. The professors are really kind and willing ot help you with you work whenever needed.

    Am learning a lot

    Roanoke College has a large mount of differnt classes and small class sizes so you get a really personal connection with your teachers. This provides a good environment to learn and grow in.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is available 24/7 and easily accessible. You see them around campus all the time even if you've never had to call them. They help out with random dorm problems like broken windows or flooded bathrooms too.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in Greek life but there are sororities and fraternities. The frats throw parties every weekend, as you would expect at pretty much any college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs and organizations, and you can found a new one if you don't find what you're looking for! Intramural sports as well.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want smaller class sizes and you want to walk past someone you know on your way to each class, then this is the school for you. Academics are not easy, but overall my professors have been amazing; they are willing to work with you if you have any questions or didn't understand something or simply want them to check over your essay before you turn in your final copy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kicking post--every time you walk by it you are supposed to kick it for good luck. Seal--you are not supposed to walk on it until after you've graduated Rock--next to the Colket Center, is frequently painted by on-campus organizations to promote upcoming events

    What to do for fun

    Almost everything in Salem can be found on Main Street. There are a variety of restaurants, a health food store (great if you're a vegan like me), CVS, Wal-Mart, and Goodwill, to name a few. If you're looking for more nightlife or shopping, you can head over to downtown Roanoke or the Tanglewood mall. There's a Sheetz that's open 24/7 within walking distance, perfect for all-nighters.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what major you want to pursue, sit in on a class or two! You can get a better feel for what it would be like to go to Roanoke and even get to know potential professors. I also recommend staying a night in the dorms; you can arrange to stay with a current student.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College definitely has the friendly, small-school feel I was looking for; several people smile and wave at me whenever I walk anywhere on campus. Classes are small (my biggest classes had around 20 students) and I feel connected to other students as well as my professors. As a Spanish major, I am familiar with basically everybody in the Spanish Department and I know I can drop by or e-mail them with any questions I might have.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but financial aid is great! My classes were good, and all my professors helped a lot, and were very open to talking about any projects and were very personal with all my classes!

    What to do for fun

    Don't plan, just go out and have fun! Going on late night Sheetz runs are some of the most fun things you can do. Bowling is fun too, go on a week night and no one else will be there! Going to Roanoke to the mall and the movie theater is great, or to the star for a great view!

    Food and Dining

    The foods really good! The specialty nights are great! King Crab Leg Night is amazing, as well as the Christmas and Valentine's Day dinners!

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are fairly nice, and it's easy to become friends with your neighbor. Don't worry if you're not bffs with everyone on your hall, but everyone is friendly with one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but teachers make it easy to catch up. They want you to pass, however you definitely have to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you make one friend, you'll make three more, because it is such a small school, a lot of people know each other, so it's easy to become close to a lot of people. Be open to making new friends and be friendly and you'll have a great time!

    In three sentences

    It's a lot of fun with great people! I've met some of my best friends here already! Plus, the professors are great, and very understanding, but still make class challenging.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety officers are very friendly and can be seen riding around campus all the time. While no very dangerous events have happened on campus, some shenanigans do occur.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a big part of RC's social scene. There are five fraternities and four sororities. Most of the Greek events are open to the entire campus. However, because there are only 9 Greek organizations, not everyone will find a group in which they belong.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs for many different interests. You can join these clubs whenever, and the whole campus is open to their events. However, this is a small school so not all interests will be guaranteed to be encompassed.

    Great for these types of students

    Roanoke College is best for social students who are interested in a well-rounded college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The President of the College throws a Black and White Ball every year for all of the students, which is actually really fun. If you step on the seal in front of the Administration Building, you will be cursed to not graduate in four years. Kicking the kicking post in between Trout Hall and the Administration Building is supposed to bring good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    RC is what you make of it. It has a huge price tag, but if you take the time to apply for scholarships, the price tag will be greatly reduced. All of the faculty want you to succeed and go out of their way to help you, one of the great things about this small school. If you work hard in class, RC will give you a community to play hard in, as well.

    What to do for fun

    If there's not a planned event on campus, Downtown Salem, in RC's front yard, has something going on. Many of the social events come through RC's Greek Life, though.

    Food and Dining

    Chef Bob and the rest of the Commons crew create awesome meals three times a day. The staff is very friendly, creating themed meals throughout the year that cause long lines. There are always Gluten-free and vegetarian options, although these are not always the most appetizing choices.

    Dorm Life

    Although not all the dorms are new and sleek, the dorms are all relatively close to each other and foster really warm communities. If you haven't spent time in all the dorms by the end of your first year, you are a rare case.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on you departmental major, academics can be very challenging. The most challenging academics are in the science department, just because of the required labs, and in the honors program, because of the many requirements. Many of the other majors, such as the fine arts and liberal arts, aren't as challenging because they don't have as many requirements. All classwork is doable as long as you create the time to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get the most out of Roanoke College, get involved with different clubs or organizations. The college really is a social atmosphere. Get involved with sports, Greek life, or academic and social clubs, and you'll get to know the best part of Roanoke College: the people.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is comprised of a small, fun-loving community welcoming to all students. A friendly atmosphere pervades the atmosphere, creating a united student body. A unique trait in colleges, Roanoke College's faculty and staff genuinely care about students' success while attending the institution and after graduation.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Roanoke is a great place for students who like small class sizes and the opportunity to interact with their professors. Roanoke is also a great place for students who want to be near big cities, but don't necessarily want to live there. Salem is a small suburban town but it's only 20 minutes from the city of Roanoke. RC is also a great school for prospective psychology majors to apply to; our psychology programs is one of the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    The greatest tip I could give is to get involved. There are so many activities at RC that anyone can find something to join. Joining a club can really make your college experience great. I'd also suggest really getting to know you're professors. It's really easy with the small class sizes, and they are some of the most awesome people you'll meet on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    While Roanoke College is a very expensive school I do think it's worth it. You really get the whole package with Roanoke. The campus is gorgeous, the classes and professors are great, and all of the people working for the school are fantastic.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people that I've met at Roanoke. All of the people are so welcoming and friendly. The campus itself is completely gorgeous and surrounded by mountains. Salem and Roanoke College are just really great places to be.

    Academic Rigor

    I am learning so much from Roanoke. The teachers are amazing and are very interested in what they teach, which in turn makes the students more interested in learning. I feel that I am really getting a top-notch education that is going to help further my education and career.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Depends on how you view saftey. . .

    Greek Life

    YES!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    To many to list, but all of academic valour

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kicking the stump. . .

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on who you are. . .

    What to do for fun

    Roanoke is amazing for outdoor types!!

    Food and Dining

    Roanoke has food and dining that will take your breath away.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard good things, but suggest you do your own research.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe Roanoke will be the place I challenge myself, and begin my future.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Talk with your current academic advisor 2) Get in touch with Roanoke

    In three sentences

    I chose Roanoke College for its academic reputation. I loved Roanoke for its location. I liked Roanoke for its size.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Roanoke college is a safe place to live and go to school. There is not a day goes by that you don't see the campus safety officers driving, walking or bicycling around campus. You need to always park in the right place, or you will get a ticket!

    Greek Life

    There are many opportunities at Roanoke College to rush for fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of opportunities for community service clubs on the Roanoke College campus. This not only provides an activity for students, but it helps the community at the same time.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for someone who would enjoy a small campus community, and who would like to work closely with their teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the college seal, or you won't graduate on time. When you walk past the kicking post, you need to kick it for good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Roanoke may cost more than many other colleges, but you really get to know your professors and they help you learn and succeed in your classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can join at Roanoke. You also get a free membership to the Salem YMCA where you can go and exercise with friends. The college is within walking distance of a lot of places in downtown Salem, so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Commons is really good. Sunday brunch is the best meal of the week. When you don't feel like a big meal, the Cavern is a fast option. You can also use your Maroon Card at many restaurants nearby in Salem like Mac & Bobs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great way to learn to live on your own. They are a decent size, and comfortable for studying, relaxing with friends or sleeping. The process for finding a roommate works really well, and you can select the room that you want to live in...but you need to get your request in early!

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors at Roanoke College expect a lot from you, but they are also there to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try a lot of different things on campus. You never know what you might like. Participating in intramural sports gives you an opportunity to meet people, and be a part of a team. Definitely go on the freshman orientation trip! You will make lifelong friends.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College has a beautiful campus. There is a small community feeling, and you can get to know everyone really well....including the teachers. Roanoke has a variety of opportunities for students both academically and socially.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe on campus...mostly because it is small and campo is always nearby!

    Greek Life

    Big part of the social life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life is big, but other organizations struggle with apathy on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, academic, social, conservative, middle to upper-class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kicking the post for good luck...not stepping on the seal in front of admin...not stepping into the stone circle around the oldest tree on campus. If you step on the seal or into the circle you won't graduate!

    Bang for the buck

    You're getting an excellent education and the school offers a tremendous amount of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Mill mountain is a great place to relax, sip coffee, and listen to indie music, but if you like the outdoors, there is an unbelievable amount to do and the weather is amazing! There are tons of cute traditions and festivals in the city of Salem that you can enjoy and participate in as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is yummy, and all the people who work in commons are wonderful!

    Dorm Life

    The basic dorms aren't too shabby, but the community bathrooms are very small. The newer dorms are much nicer, but cost a tad more.

    Academic Rigor

    A's are not common...embrace them!

    Tips for prospective students

    No one ever tells you it rains in college...rain boots are a must here! Take advantage of all opportunities and utilize all of the resources offered. Get involved as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Challenging academically. Beautiful campus. Sensitive and caring professors.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are very few safety concerns here. Just pay attention to your drink at parties.

    Greek Life

    It is very present here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a very old campus. So, some of the buildings are rumored to be haunted, but those aren't really buildings students spend much time in.

    What to do for fun

    Party. soccer games, CAB events, clubs, dorm life

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually prettty good. They do serve chicken a little too much sometimes though.

    Dorm Life

    For me it's a 5. I live in a recently renovated dorm. It's really nice even though im on the top floor. Since I do live on the top floor it is pretty quiet and I can do whatever I want for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    They really make you earn your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definetely come visit a couple times if possible. If you have the option to spend the night or a weekend in the dorms, do it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school academically. If you're looking for a lot of fun and partying this is the place fro you.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has a blue light alert system in all the parking lots. The officers are super nice and patrol every hour on bikes. There biggest threat to our school is the crazy elderly at the nursing home a block away.

    Greek Life

    We offer about 12 Greek options, the majority being social Greek, however there are academic and service fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have everything from Nerf-Gun wars to Lacrosse to a fire-arms association. You can join a club to have fun, to be active or to learn.

    Great for these types of students

    If you were the well-rounded popular student in high school this is your calling. That's not to say that there isn't room for the nerds like me, but you have to find your niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Bittle Bash, where everyone walks to the cemetery where our 1st president was buried, then there's a bonfire and karaoke. It's a great opportunity to get to know your professors outside of the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, however with our great alumni program and the lovely women at career services, it's not hard to find a job on or off campus once you graduate. My education in my major feels up to standards.

    What to do for fun

    Our Campus activities board hosts events on campus every weekend. You can find anything from Bingo to Build-A-Bear. The college is in a small town so you have to find or make your own fun. The city is close by for the over 21 people that want to club.

    Food and Dining

    We have 5-star chefs and a fast food option if you're on the go. Sometimes dinner gets repetitive but what school doesn't have that problem?

    Dorm Life

    No matter what dorm you live in, the rooms are spacey and clean. Our housing staff does their best with cleaning and pairing up incoming students with the right match.

    Academic Rigor

    The science fields can be rough on your schedule with labs and written work. Tutoring is a must for any field, but it's free so take advantage of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the pre-orientation programs. They build life-long friends. Also get involved! There are so many clubs and activities offered on the weekends; you can never be bored.

    In three sentences

    It's for the hardworking student in all of us. It can be quite expensive. The food is AMAZING!

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a close community, and a small school. Everyone generally knows everyone, at least distantly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved in activities around campus. Its the best way to learn how to balance your time as well as to meet new people.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    got to meet chef bob! he is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply, apply, apply! try it even if you don't think you have a chance. you always have a chance. and with instate scholarships its amazing how they help. go for it, it's a great college!!!

    In three sentences

    the campus is awesome. the professors are very willing to help you in or out of class. classes are small and personal so everyone gets to know each other. we are a tight college family!!!

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even through the Salem jail is right beside the campus, you need not worry. There are plenty of Salem, sheriffs, police officers,and deputies around along with the campus police.

    Greek Life

    Roanoke College has a great Phi Beta Kappa honor society chapter

    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty to get involved with at this campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students with a lot of self movitvation and determination. You don't have to be a gifted student. This is great for really any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive, but it is an excellent learning place. The school also gets a lot of respect and positive recognition.

    What to do for fun

    The school is in the middle of down town Salem, there are plenty of shops and restaurants to go to. The nearest mall (Valley View Mall) is 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what your major is, but everything requires effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    They will do their best to get you the financial aid you need. The teachers are will to assist you, you are not a number. Don't be afraid to apply, the process was very easy.

    In three sentences

    It is a great learning environment. I love the small classes. The campus has everything in comfortable walking distance.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is at the top of their game. They are there in a heartbeat if you need them.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is prevalent on campus. There are 4 sororities and 4 fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love a close knit community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FOTQ- Friday on The Quad. In the fall, every friday, there is a picnic on the back quad. This can range from BBQ to even Italian nights.

    Bang for the buck

    Roanoke College is expensive. Simply put. However, they are rewarding with their financial aid packages.

    What to do for fun

    Ranked number 1 by the PrincetonReview for on-campus activities, you'll find your niche somewhere. There is constantly something to do on campus, whether it is a Wine Tasting, Outdoor BBQ, Lecture Series, or even a tour on a helicopter. This past year also hosted an Electronic Dance Music event right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is wonderful. You don't have many options to choose where to go, but the dining staff is run by two Culinary experts who went to Culinary Institute of America and Culinary Institute of New England.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Roanoke is fantastic. Many of the dorms are new and state-of-the-art.

    Academic Rigor

    Roanoke College is a tough but fair school. The professors are consistently at the top of their field. This past year, CBS ranked Roanoke College in the Top 16 Hardest Schools to Achieve an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for college by writing. The better you write and understand how to write, the better you'll succeed. Roanoke College is a liberal arts school so you'll be expected to write in all areas of study.

    In three sentences

    If I had to describe Roanoke College, I would start with the word Classic. Here, you will get a classic education that explores all areas of the liberal arts and explores all areas of yourself. You will also have the classic college experience thanks to our wonderful campus activities, rated number 1 in the nation by PrinctonReview.com

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is top notch here

    Greek Life

    I have not gotten into it but from what I've seen its bustling.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are something like 150 clubs on campus and many more activities than that.

    Great for these types of students

    Really anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are simply too many to name but I assure you that they are fun.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Virginia native, or even not, this college is a great choice for both liberal arts majors and hard science majors. Its a smaller and quieter school than some, but I prefer it that way.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in the Roanoke valley between Salem, Roanoke, and the outlying areas. The Blue Ridge Parkway is nearby, along with the huge Smith Mountain Lake. On top of that there are the normal events that go on in any college town.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there are only two places to eat. The real dining is out in the city of Salem.

    Dorm Life

    The old dorms are very nice and modern inside despite the age of the building. The college does its best with roommate pairings if you don't have anyone in mind and these usually work out well in my experience.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it four stars because though it is one of the toughest schools in the country to receive an A in, the teachers are so willing to help and so many resources are available to students that when you attend you have easy access to the resources that make that passing grade more attainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only real advice that I can give is to keep your nose in the book for the first year and to not procrastinate on anything.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus in the style of the universities of Europe with well-manicured grounds and beautiful brick architecture. Class size is very small, around twenty students on average, and the student/professor ratio is good. The non-professor staff are always friendly and more than willing to do what it takes to make it easier on the students

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is the best! Some of the friendly people you know.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join. If you have an idea for a club we probably have it.

    Great for these types of students

    Tour the campus and get a feel for it then apply.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You don't step on the seal and every time you pass a certain post you kick it for luck.

    What to do for fun

    There are many great clubs you can join plus we have Fridays on the Quad with some great activities to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students apply early!

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a great school full of amazing professors that care. The campus is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. If I had to rate on a scale of 1-10, one being terrible and 10 being perfect, I would give it a 12.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We call Campus Safety here Campo. They're pretty active guys. Constantly looking out for us. They've saved plenty of people from our dorm's 1960s elevator and were a lot more polite than the fire department workers who kicked the residents out of the hallway.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The kicking post next to the administration build-- you kick it for good luck. The painting of the rock near the sections-- the rock is tied to the pipelines of the sections so it cannot be removed. This was arranged by a group of students who wanted to have something student contributed on campus but knew the college would remove it. Well, problem solved. The painting of the rock is very strategic. No one can see you paint it and it changes almost thrice weekly. The President's Ball-- Swanky event hosted by the incumbent college president in which Colket is dressed up for the students and faculty and the alumni. Dinner is served upstairs, snacks downstairs. There's live entertainment in certain areas and a dance-floor downstairs. Much like prom, but less dressy and a helluva a lot cheaper (free.)

    Bang for the buck

    So many perks here since it's a small college-- First off, there's free peer tutoring. Second, we're pretty intertwined with the Salem community. Third, there's tons of free events hosted by the Campus Activities Board. Fourth and most important is the availability of professors.

    What to do for fun

    There's school sponsored events hosted by the Campus Activities Board which are fun and free. Sometimes, they're concerts or movie screenings and usually there's free food and drinks and other oodles of stuff. School sponsored clubs are plentiful too. They tend to meet often-- at least once a week, in the evening. Otherwise, you have to make your own fun in the dorms or in the valley.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. The chefs are a funny bunch who are often live servers and entertainers. The menu can grow repetitive but everyone gains the freshman 15 so I guess we have no complaints.

    Dorm Life

    Could be more community centered, but the RAs are putting forth a solid effort. It really varies where you live though.

    Academic Rigor

    Roanoke College is on the list of the top 16 colleges which practice grade deflation for a reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't trust the nasty reviews on other websites. Roanoke College is a school filled with rich kids, but they're not going to spit on you and call you a peasant because you're 100% middle class. Don't fall behind because it's hard to catch up again. Also, join clubs.

    In three sentences

    The college is small but lively. There's plenty of opportunities to succeed, but you have to be willing to seek them out and seize them. The professors will help you since the courses can be difficult so take that blessing and run with it.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city of Roanoke is only a few miles away an there is always something there. The Campus Activities Board always has interesting, fun events going on that people do enjoy getting involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always varied and almost all of the time it is something that everyone will enjoy eating. There is always something new and exciting to try.

    Dorm Life

    The resident advisers do an excellent job. The dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, but once you have received a grade that you really worked for you feel like you have learned tremendously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get your application in early and make sure it is complete. Always dress appropriately and professionally for interviews. Always ask questions if you are unsure about anything.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a liberal arts school with beautiful surroundings. It offers a great education in all fields of studies with wonderful professors. It also allows for many opportunities to learn and grow outside of the classroom.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nice guys

    Greek Life

    While the administration is chokeholding the Greeks, it is still the best thing at Roanoke

    Clubs and Activities

    A great selection of clubs and activities but not advertised too well and not alot of people get involved

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small classes, a small campus and the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really anything too unusual, but some of the buildings on campus are definately haunted and the Business Department is connected to the jail

    Bang for the buck

    You can get an awesome resume put together if you get involved, but you can also slip through the cracks and come out with nothing

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, Greek Life, Downtown Roanoke

    Food and Dining

    Not too many places on campus. The Maroon Card gets you food at places down main street, but a good handful you have to drive to

    Dorm Life

    There are just as many new dorms as bad beat up dorms so it really just depends what dorm you get

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard if you don't try. If you pay attention and give a few hours each night, you can get straight As

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. See your teachers during office hours. Don't skip class.

    In three sentences

    A small, liberal arts college in the small mountain town of Salem, Virginia. It's a beautiful school and if you committ yourself to the education here you can succeed. The friends you make here are for a lifetime

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well on campus we have normally have a lot activities that CAB hosts.

    Food and Dining

    Great food though it gets very repetitive.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Roanoke College are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that if you are having trouble in class remember you can talk to your professor because they do care.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is an excellent school for those that like close interactions with their professors as well as small class room size. Also, the people at Roanoke College make you feel really welcomed, Last, the food is very good.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs for all majors and interests, from the silliest (Harry Potter Club) to prestigious (Alpha Kappa Psi). There's definitely a club that will fit any interest.

    Food and Dining

    The food is AMAZING. As a vegetarian, and a friend of someone with a gluten allergy, I can attest that the cafeteria is more accommodating, but it goes above and beyond to provide excellent, healthy service to all dietary restrictions. There is always a salad bar, deli bar, pasta bar, pizza bar, cereal, and bagels available even when lunch/dinner isn't being served. You'll come home unable to feed yourself because they feed you so well.

    Dorm Life

    Roanoke College is great with dorm life. I have a wonderful view of the Roanoke Valley from my window. A lot of the rooms are carpeted, and many of the dorms have AC/heating. There are plenty of different types of dorms including triple, double, single, suite style, and apartment style. Whether you're looking for the cheapest option or the most comfortable dorm, they're all very livable, and laundry is free!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty hard, and most students average no more than four courses per semester. However, all the teachers I've had are willing to work with you on whatever you need help with, and if the material is hard, they have no problem sitting down with you as after as needed. The tutoring center is also a great place. So I wouldn't come to Roanoke College expecting an easy ride, but you definitely will get the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're applying to Roanoke College, I suggest coming and visiting. You can buy a meal from the Commons for $8 (as a vegetarian I can assure you that this cafeteria is very dietary friendly, and as a college student, I can assure you that the food is incredible). Make an appointment with the head of the department you're looking at pursuing a degree in; they all are friendly and open to meeting with students.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a wonderful school. With only 2,100 students and plenty of teachers, all of my classes have a 20:1 or less student-teacher ratio. All of my teachers were easy to find and talk to. As a mathematics major, I also found that there were multiple opportunities to meet and talk to the math faculty thru clubs and Tea Time. The campus is beautiful, and easy to memorize.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun around Roanoke. I'm a huge fan of being outside and hiking, and there are tons of hiking spots around the school that aren't too far away. There is also the option to visit downtown Roanoke, which is fun, going to the movies, or to the mall, which are both not very far away.

    Food and Dining

    One of the best things about Roanoke is the food. There are a lot of different meal options and there are always so many different options. There is always a salad bad, a panini bar, and even a stir-fry bar. Some mornings there is a smoothie bar. The brunch is a big hit every weekend , and the omelet station is a favorite for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Living a good dorm life really depends on where you live on campus. One thing that is great about Roanoke is that housing is guaranteed for all four years; something a lot of schools can't account for. There is a wide array of housing options on campus. There are many new buildings that were just put up within the past few years, and those are really nice to live in. However, there are also some really old buildings that are still on campus with residents, and those definitely aren't as nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Roanoke was recently ranked as one of the toughest grading colleges in the country. And accordingly, the teachers do grade pretty tough here, as far as I've learned. While this makes it tougher, it becomes extremely helpful in really learning how to write a paper the correct way, or learning great study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to Roanoke thinking you can slack off, you truly need to work hard. Small class sizes can be great in many ways, but the teachers always know who doesn't come to class.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke college is a great small school where you can truly meet and get close to a lot of people who probably have similar interests. The atmosphere is welcoming, and the faculty and staff are extremely willing and helpful towards the students. There is a wide variety of clubs and organizations on campus so everyone is sure to find their niche somewhere.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is amazing! They are a group of really good guys who will help you with just about anything you need.

    Greek Life

    Roanoke's Greek life is a very big part of the school

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, small classroom

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kicking stone next to trout, kick for good luck RoCo emblem in front of admissions building, if you walk over this you wont graduate

    Bang for the buck

    Roanoke is a private liberal arts college therefor they give many scholarships to upcoming freshman

    What to do for fun

    RC Campus Activities Board puts on many great events where you can win prizes and have tons of fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and very good for you.

    Dorm Life

    Although some of the dorms are older the atmosphere in all is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Roanoke is considered one of the hardest colleges to get an A in. Which is completely true, it is very hard but if you work at it you can do it. The teachers are also very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to glide by, college is a lot of hard work. Be prepared to do a lot of reading and writing, and to be attentive and present in all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a small, wonderful liberal arts school. It has helped me grow into myself and grow in my academic studies. I am so happy I chose Roanoke for my college education.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Roanoke College is very safe. You can sign up to get maroon alert text messages to alert you of any danger or weather that you should be aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Roanoke College has many clubs and activities. If you don't want to join a team, but still want to do recreational sports, there are many to choose from. You can find out about all the clubs and activities at the activity fair at the beginning of the year which is on the back quad.

    Great for these types of students

    Roanoke College is great for students who are interested in a small school. It is also great for students who are interested in Greek life, small classrooms, personal interaction with professors, and getting to know everyone on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The kicking post next to Trout Hall is supposed to bring you good luck, so every time you walk past the post, make sure you kick it. If you want to graduate, I don't suggest stepping on the Roanoke College seal in front of the Admin building.

    What to do for fun

    There are several Greek fraternities and sororities, as well as sports teams and club teams. Almost every club you can imagine exists, and if it doesn't exist, make the club! Mill Mountain is a cute coffee shop to either do homework or hang out with friends while drinking your favorite drink. Every weekend you can find a party to attend or a house to go to hang out and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually really good and you can usually find something to eat. Cavern's wraps are good and you can use your left over swipes from the week to get several snacks or fruits. Unfortunately there is not a 24 hour food service, so if you plan on getting late night munchies, I recommend running to Sheetz or ordering pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Avoid singles or smaller dorms for freshman year. The newer dorms are nice, but more expensive. Go for the bigger freshman dorms to get the real college freshman experience! Smith is an all girls dorm and is small, lean towards Bartlett, Marion, Crawford, or Market Street.

    Academic Rigor

    In order to get good grades you need to put in the effort and time. The professors are always there to help you if you ever get lost or need help, but attend class to stay caught up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the activities fair and find your niche. Make sure you study more than you party, but still have fun. Don't worry about not being able to find friends, you will. Don't worry about rushing into Greek life or joining sports team, the option will always be there next year. Find your place and get a grasp on the fact that you are in college now, then explore and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College has amazing professors who are always willing to help you. One of the prettiest campuses I have ever seen. Great learning environment.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety officers are some of the nicest guys you will meet.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life is greatly diverse and welcome many people. They are philanthropic and know how to party.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to get involved in that it is impossible to graduate without being part of one. No matter what you are interested there is most likely a club for it, and if there isn't it is easy enough to start one. Being in a club or group activity will definitely make your stay at Roanoke so much greater.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically-oriented or small-town lovers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll have to see when you get here.

    Bang for the buck

    What you get is what you take out. If you think this school will hand you your money's worth of education and entertainment then you are wrong. You have to go out and find your own way to keep yourself satisfied. As long as you put in the effort to get involved and have some fun then you should be mostly satisfied with the money you're putting out to stay here.

    What to do for fun

    There's usually campus events going on every weekend, which can provide an hour or two of fun. You won't hear this from admissions, but there are plenty of frat parties that go on. Otherwise, there is nothing much to do on campus. If you want something to do past 9, which is when most things close, then you can go downtown, but you'll need a car if you want to go on a weekday night.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Commons can be a hit or a miss. When it's good, then it is really good. If it's bad then you just walk over to the pizza and pasta. Dessert here is the best. And Cavern is always a reliable source for a quick sandwich or wrap.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends on the dorm you live in. If you don't like loud drunks or disgusting living conditions then stay away from Crawford and Marion. The best dorms to go for are Market Street, New Hall, Bartlett and Chalmers. Market Street and New Hall are the newest dorms and have the nicest stuff. Chalmers is pretty chill and fun to hang out in. Bartlett is just a safe dorm in general.

    Academic Rigor

    Roanoke College is easy to get into and it is even easier to fail out of. If you want to play hard,you need to study ten times harder. There are a few professors who you get through their courses without much effort, but most are ready to drop you without so much as a good-bye email if they don't see any progress from you. The more you slack off, the more intense the workload is, so be prepared to focus on your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get the full picture before you come here. There are people who have come to school here without getting all the details and they have come out worse in the end. This is a good school, but you'll only enjoy it if you actually know what is going on.

    In three sentences

    This is definitely one of the most beautiful schools that you will find with some of the nicest and most interesting people. The greatest part of your experience at Roanoke College will be the people that you meet and the friends that you make. It is an experience worth having.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always call campo to be escorted!

    Greek Life

    Variety from Chi Omega to Delta Gamma

    Clubs and Activities

    They still do not have a football or swim team.

    Great for these types of students

    Close knit learning environment. So small, it's very similar to high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock or the kicking post!

    What to do for fun

    Parties! Sponsored events by the college, and hanging out in downtown Salem.

    Food and Dining

    SUCH good food! It can get tiring, but they do always have something new.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms. Some differ but overall all of the dorms are comfy and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors do not hand out A's. You have to truly work your butt off to get A's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and the grades will fall in place. Don't slack and assume that it will be easy like high school.

    In three sentences

    Great, small liberal arts college that focuses on a holistic way of learning. Because Roanoke College is comprised of 2,000 students, it's very easy to know everyone on campus! Everywhere you go, you recognize someone

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Awful. Just Awful.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student activities almost every weekend that are all free. There are also many hiking trails near by, and lots of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food is to die for. It is all so good, it gives the feel of a home cooked meal every day, which i appreciate.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life here, its like a big family on every hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It is VERY difficult to get an A at this school. It is even more difficult to keep an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what you're getting into before enrolling. Being at a small school allows for a lot more gossip than in larger ones. However, it also allows for knowing each and every student, which I enjoy. The Greek life here has left much to desire, and is not the best in the area. It is rather unfortunate. Also, be sure to focus on school, as it is hard to get and keep an A at roanoke.

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a great environment to be in, fill of caring professors and hands-on programs. It is a liberal arts college, so getting used to the INQ system was a bit hard, but it is well worth it in the end. The campus itself is just gorgeous, and I love being there every day.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Greek life (while only approx. 30% of the campus is involved) has a HUGE presence on campus. Don't let the statistic fool you, that 30% is a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Roanoke gives out AMAZING financial aid packages (which is the reason why I am here).

    What to do for fun

    Partying is mainly the only fun activity on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many options for breakfast, which upsets me because it is the most important meal of the day. As for lunch, they usually do a good job of having multiple options, however, the options are repetitive, and the same goes for dinner. As for desserts, they rarely have anything chocolate, and they don't serve ice cream, only frozen yogurt.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is amazing! I am in one of the newer dorms on campus and my room is very nice and clean, as is my floor. We have a full kitchen on our hallway, which is amazing, and the bathrooms are very well kept. The only down side is the size of the rooms (which is very small!).

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from a very challenging high school in Connecticut I was well prepared for Roanoke's course load. Therefore, I am not too overwhelmed with work so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you believe that you are meant for a small school (like I was) push yourself to look beyond your comfort zone. For instance, I believed that I would only be happy at a school smaller than 3,000, since I came from a small high school. After being accepted and committing to Roanoke I looked at UVA and realized that it is an amazing school and I think I would have been just as happy at a school that size (approx. 14,000).

    In three sentences

    Roanoke College is a great small liberal arts college, and it feels it too! While I love my professors knowing my name and saying hi to me around campus, I am not too happy that we only have one cafeteria and no college-affiliated transportation. However, I am here to further my education, and to do that, Roanoke is the place to be!

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School always has some activity such as bingo or party or rave going on, school-funded and not.

    Food and Dining

    Food choice is good and not as repetitive as other schools. Gets tiresome after an extended period of time of course

    Dorm Life

    There will always be dumb drunk college students destroying school property, but campus safety and recreation services keep it all under control.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard classes and curriculum but worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for lots of writing assignments and out of class studying.

    In three sentences

    Open-community that is very tight-knit. People of college and town are friendly due to prior fact. The knowledge gained is well worth the effort.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Standard food but vegan and vegetarian friendly

    Dorm Life

    It is average

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to have very rigorous curriculum but lots of support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take in to account the amount of debt you are willing to go into to attend the college.

    In three sentences

    it is a good school but very expensive. It has a pretty campus but not a lot of diversity. The people on campus and in Salem are extremely friendly.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hikes, exploring, hanging with friends, watching movies when it's cold.

    Food and Dining

    I definitely gained the freshman 15 and now I'm trying to lose it and now eat the biscuits and gravy!

    Dorm Life

    I love my roommate and I love my suite mates. My dorm is awesome, my roommate and I are living in the same room next year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and do not let yourself get behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with anything you have an interest in. You do not have to declare immediately and do not have tunnel vision, you may find something you love that you originally thought you hated. Go to class!

    In three sentences

    The school is wonderfully eastern and new for a girl from southern California. The staff and faculty are awesome people who are willing and wanting you to succeed. The campus is beautiful with old brick buildings; autumn is now my favorite season!