Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Robert Morris University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/13/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    focused and ones that want to really grow and find themselves in college

    Tips for prospective students

    Just visit and talk to people from your program and any activities you're interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    For the quality of the campus, education, and everyone there the price is decent. Plus, they really help you pay if you need it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Like I said, everyone I met there was very pleasant and helpful. The campus was so nice and had such a diverse and sophisticated feel to it. Anyone could find their nook there they have almost any activity available and if you want to start a club you can.

    Will learn a lot

    RMU has very very nice facilities, especially with their medical engineering programs. Everyone there is willing to help and friendly.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are focused and doesn't party a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you stay focused, study, and communicate with your professors.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is a great place for academics and you will definitely be prepared for the work world. The school has a lot of different programs you can join in order to become very well rounded. They also offer tutoring for most subjects if help is needed.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to only party and socialize, I would not suggest RMU to you. But if you are serious about your education and are looking for chances to be a part of an ever growing and changing environment where you can create anything you want, this is the place for you. Especially business, nursing and engineering majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school before you check yes to attend. That is very important as you will see first hand what reviews cannot tell you.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it is a bit expensive, but financial aid will really try to help you out if you are PERSISTENT.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is for very determined students. Students that are eager to do well! From the effort the professors put out, you as a student need to give back an equal effort, this goes for any college!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely open up, talk to, and get to know your fellow students as well as the professors. Especially if you are in a specific major it definitely helps with networking for finding a job! Also, get involved your freshman year!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, RMU is very expensive, but with what you are getting out of the college it is really worth your money! Also, if you are in need of money for tuition, they really help you out.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do not live on campus because I live so close to the school, but the time I am there for my classes and breaks I have are very enjoyable. The professors have a way to teach that keeps you interested so it is enjoyable for you. Also, there is a lot of diversity which is cool too to learn about others' cultures. There are a lot of clubs and activities of all sorts you can get involved in!

    Am learning a lot

    Robert Morris is greatly known for their facilities! The professors there are very professional and have a lot of experience with what they are teaching. The professors also want you to do well so they try and get you to participate and study. It is really nice too because the student teacher ratio is so small.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Refer to my review of Dorm Life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, and it is real food. The cafeteria consists of an Italian station, a various fancy dinner kind of place, an Asian station, a burger and fry station, and a bakery and smoothie shop. It sounds simple as explained that way, but they have some wild food choices, You could get steak, filet mignon, or lobster, and we even have a wing night.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus was the best choice I ever made. I have made the best friends of my life in the semester I have been a resident student at RMU. And even beyond that, the Student Life department does a very good job of ensuring there are things to do on campus. Primarily we screen a movie almost every Friday and we have open mic every Tuesday night. Then, there's almost always something more. Also, a lot of the dorms will host their own events.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience may be slightly swayed because I'm a media arts student and my first semester included a communication skills course, a math course, intro to psychology, and an art and a video course. So, the communication skills class was the only traditionally rigorous course (assignments and papers), while the art courses were a drawing per week or the production elements of a project. But, from my experience in my first week of my second semester, I'm seeing that this will be a more rigorous set or courses for me. So, it varies but overall the work can be a challenge, but I don't believe it could ever bury you. And in any such case, we offer free tutoring services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really get involved if you come to RMU - we have a lot of opportunity to be involved in the theatre, tv station, and radio, as well as the newspaper and literary journal. Also, there's a club or organization to suit virtually everyone.

    In three sentences

    The courses are not too easy or too strenuous, and the teachers I have had are helpful but do not baby their students by any stretch. The campus is beautiful and easy to navigate, and the residence halls and campus facilities are great. Overall, I love RMU.

  • 11/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    *Make sure you know which major you want, or at least an area of interest. *Don't wait until after your first semester or year to get involved with activites. You will be very far behind. *Ask questions! All faculty and students are there to help you and point you in the right direction. These tips go for EVERY student at ANY school!

    Bang for the buck

    With them just buying a hotel, tuition is rising a bit next year, but for the money we spend, we do get challenged and educated. We can also get a ton of free stuff they give out and some activites, such as the band, give a stipend so we get paid for going there too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel welcome here. Everyone is so friendly and positive. I love the marching band. It's the only activity I am a part of right now, but it feels like home.

    Am learning a lot

    The work isn't easy, but as college students, that is what we need. Some of the classes you have to take like Public Speaking and Economics may not seem appealing, but I am definitely learning a lot in both of those classes this semester.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have an on campus department who drive around 24/7 to make sure all students are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of things to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    fit people. smart people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    massey hall is located in the middle of nowhere. you walk through a forest and emerge to a giant building.

    Bang for the buck

    the university is expensive because it's a private college, but they give out really good grants and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    open mic nights every thursday. movies played almost every friday night in romos. random on campus activities and sports events. nevell island, where you can ice skate and stuff.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is pretty good. my only problem is i wish there was more options, like an on campus diner or something.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are decent, but could be cleaner. the bathrooms are another story.

    Academic Rigor

    so far, my classes have been challenging but not so hard that i get lost when learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a nursing major, come here. the program is one of the best in the state. bring sneakers because you have a lot of hills to walk up and down all over campus.

    In three sentences

    rmu is a private university that helps each student fulfill their full potential. the classes are small, making it easy to get to know your professors. the campus is not too big as well, making it easy to get to any class in a matter of five minutes.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    rmu campus police are amazing. they are very helpful and have an active presence not only on campus but also in the township. they do everything from parking permits and law enforcement to emergency services like unlocking your car (been there) and jump starts.

    Greek Life

    greek organizations are pretty active on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is literally a club for everything- clubs for different majors, interests, advocacy...you name it, it's here.

    Great for these types of students

    business, communication, and science majors like engineering and nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition and fees are very reasonable for a private school this size, and financial aid isn't stingy. but, housing and meal plans are a little expensive.

    What to do for fun

    there is scheduled programming on campus every friday night. also, the rmu island sport center is just a minute from campus and offers free or steeply discounted ice skating, golfing, bowling, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    fabulous! there is always a healthy option at one of the 3 on-campus eateries and tons of variety.

    Dorm Life

    personally, i had a bad experience living on campus. not everyone does, but after my freshman year i moved off campus. the facilities are nice, though. my main issue is that my room mate was pretty bad, but if i'd had a different room mate my experience could have been much better.

    Academic Rigor

    almost every professor is absolutely wonderful, but you need to watch out for the occasional part-time professor that isn't as good as he or she could be. stick with professors with a proven track record.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) be sure you understand the requirements for your major. 2) get to know your professors. they are always helpful and want you to do well! 3) rmu is commuter friendly, so check out off campus housing before you plonk down a huge chunk of change for a dorm. 4) there is something here for everyone. get involved in one of the campus groups. we have everything from bible studies to swing dances- and yes, greek life too.

    In three sentences

    loads of opportunities for work study, internships, and extra curriculars. but, academics are front and center and are led by world class faculty. there is a lot of financial aid available, too!

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most people complain about the Campus police but even though they are a pain in the rear, they do take their job seriously and do a fine job of protecting the campus at large. Plus there are emergency lights place through out campus.

    Greek Life

    Robert Morris has four NIC/IFC fraternities, three Panhellenic sororities and has two MPHC Greek letter groups as well. I am bias because I belong to a fraternity but I truly believe that RMU is one if the safest places to pledge to Greek Life. And this comes from some one whos was completely against Greek Life in high school. I found a home among my brothers and when times are hard and I can't make it on my own I know that they have my back and I wont have to do it on my own. Oh, and there is of course the parties. RAGE!

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though RMU is a small school. There are a truly massive amount of clubs, interest groups, and professional groups on campus. I am sure that a prospective student will find something to his or her liking. However if you can not find one the you can simply make one. the office of Student life is really helpful and is staff with great people that will work to make your vision a reality

    Great for these types of students

    Robbert Morris is good for driven students that want to be leaders in their field and communities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Robert Morris University, RMU, RoMo, Bobby Mo, Robby Bobby, and Good ole Robert Morris are all acceptable terms for the school. Sweall is pronounced Sueal and not Sea Wall.

    What to do for fun

    RMU isn't too far away from Pittsburgh and Robinson Mall; so if you have a car then you are set. However if you do not have car then their are quite a few school sponsored events on campus that you can find to fill your time.

    Food and Dining

    The Food here gets three stars because it is good, but there is not a lot of variety and you may tire of it after your fist semester. However there are a lot of off campus options for food with in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    The standard dorms are not the greatest thing, but they are far from the worst I've experienced. The apartments are a good option if you can afford it. The Suites in Washington are probably the best option if you want to live on campus. Yorktown is good but kinda far away from campus if you don't have a car. Braddock is not bad either. But for the love of all that is decent avoid Gallatin like the plague

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student out there that is considering RMU as a potential school there are a few things you need to know. First, this is a business school first and foremost, and the staff here is all about business. If you are looking to party in excess; seek your education elsewhere. Second, the professors here are really great and if you put forth some effort then they will help you as much as they can. They genuinely care if their students succeed.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris University lives up to what it claims to be. It is business school and is all about it's business of turning out successful graduates. The Career Center will place you in a position that will make full use of your skills and talents.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like the quality of the education I am getting is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Whether it be karaoke night in the cafeteria, fraternity or sorority events, or fundraisers, you will never be bored here!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is exquisite. There is something for everyone, and there are tons of healthy choices. You don't even feel like you are eating in a cafeteria! RMU has even gone so far as to put little cafes in some of the buildings across campus, making it easy and convenient to grab a coffee or a snack when you are on the run!

    Dorm Life

    Although I myself am a commuter, I have friends in almost every dorm and have seen first hand just how nice they are. The apartments are absolutely beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged in all of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs and organizations as possible! It is the best way to meet people who are interested in the same things you are, whether it be sports, activities, majors, even religion.

    In three sentences

    RMU has provided me with everything possible to be successful in both academics as well as life in general. The faculty are so passionate about teaching and every class I have taken has been enjoyable. I look forward to every day there and will be sad to leave after I graduate!

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business majors, ActSci majors, CIS majors, Engineering students, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PACK THE CHUCK!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but well worth the name your degree boasts. RMU is a highly accredited private 4+ year business school.

    What to do for fun

    RMU has many clubs, organizations, sports teams and more! Though my favorite is having fun, hanging out with friends playing video games, card games, and other low-key activities.

    Food and Dining

    I eat better here at RMU than I ever do at home. Different meals and meal options every day, and several different food locations on campus make RMU a great school if you're worried about missing home-cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful, as you will meet lifetime friends here.

    Academic Rigor

    Every major has core courses. Every student has to complete the Communications Skills Program, and has to take four more Communications-Intensive courses in their major thereafter. Courses are difficult as the years progress, stretching your academic mind to far-reaching places of intelligent decision-making and academic growth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great CIS program, even better ActSci program (accredited, too!) Commuters: Arrive early for parking spaces. Residents: expect to get a work out walking to class. If you see John Tucci, shake his hand.

    In three sentences

    RMU is a great school, and has many accredited programs. RMU has many undergraduate, and graduate degree options, as well as fully-online masters degree programs. This school is fantastic and has an overwhelming sense of business.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    cost is high but lots of help to pay tuition, one of top schools for sports management

    Will enjoy being here

    everyone I have met is very friendly and willing to help you

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are always around

    Greek Life

    not involved but heard its fun

    Clubs and Activities

    They don;t have too many, but the ones they do are very nice.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely if you get scholarship money

    What to do for fun

    they have just about everything

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for on campus job early if you want one.

    In three sentences

    I love Robert Morris University. It is a great private college! I am on the soccer team and love it.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city of pittsburgh

    Tips for prospective students

    To get involved from the start, and to just have fun

    In three sentences

    Has progressed over my last four years. Has expanded greatly. Many networking opportunities are available.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is incredibly safe, there is always a police officer on duty and I've never heard of anything bad happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    I hate fraternities in general.. but there aren't really any at RMU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities and if you can't find one you like, RMU is extremely open to new ones.

    Great for these types of students

    You can become really successful at RMU if you try. That, combined with the lack of a party scene means only come here if you're actually looking for an education. If you're just looking for a school to party at RMU is not the place.

    Bang for the buck

    RMU is a little on the pricey side but the personal classroom experience, helpful faculty and the opportunities RMU has presented me definitely make up for it.

    What to do for fun

    Pittsburgh is a short drive away so you can always head down to the south side and Robinson Mall is close by as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at RMU has been surprisingly good. Also, they just renovated the dining area so its even better.

    Dorm Life

    Meh, the dorms are okay, they've definitely gotten nicer but you risk living down the street from the campus. I would recommend living in an off-campus apartment if you have a car. It's cheaper and you'll get a much nicer place.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as hard as you want to make them. You can choose to take all easy courses or pick out the classes that will present a challenge. There are paths for either option. If you want to get anywhere, choose the latter. I did and I already am seeing the benefits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every internship and club related to your major that you can. The faculty you meet can help you get more out of your education. They have gone out of there way to help me many times.

    In three sentences

    A great small town university for those who aren't looking to be just a number in the classroom. You get a lot of personal attention from the professors. Also, there is plenty of help moving forward in your chosen career.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras everywhere. Your card can only get you into the building you live in. We don't have security only police and they aren't just RMU police, they are actual certified police that just happen to work there.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at RMU probably isn't as big as it is at other schools.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love sports will have much more to do opposed to those who just like to stay in their room because we are a D1 school and have many sporting events.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you really have to find people that do the things you enjoy because at RMU you have to make your own fun. A lot of off campus things aren't really close because there are a lot of highways. Downtown is only about 45 minutes away though which isn't too bad. There are a lot of plazas about 20 minutes away. But I don't think it's my school that is just like that. I'm finding that college is about making your own fun no matter where you are.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad but it gets tiring after a while. And being there for so long can make the variety of food seem very small. The good thing is you can get food till midnight which actually comes in handy much more than I ever thought it would.

    Dorm Life

    I was totally against community bathrooms to the point where that was the only thing stopping me from attending. But it's actually not that bad. If you can get everyone on your floor to keep everything working and clean your experience will be as good as mine. In the end though, I think it's a good experience to go through even if you end up with bad roommates or something. After freshman year you are in more control of where you end up living.

    Academic Rigor

    So far for me I haven't had any trouble. I would have to say I got pretty lucky with my teachers though which helped a lot. My friends had it tougher than I did. Pretty sure it will get tougher for me though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a huge school or a big party school, this is not the place for you. This is a small environment. Small enough that you can point out people that don't go or are new to the school after a few months of attending there. You have to find your fun sense it's so small.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is a very small hilly environment that is trying to expand and become more entertaining for the students. I give it a 7 out of 10. Learn the ropes and it won't seem too bad.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe while walking around at night by myself. Campus Police respond quickly to incidents and the RAs and other professional staff are there to help when needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is relatively small but it is also growing. There are three sororities and six fraternities with more to come.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities on campus and the office of student life is always accepting more ideas.

    What to do for fun

    Go mini-golfing, ice skating, or bowling down at the Island. Attend sporting events throughout the year. Go shopping or out to eat in Robinson. See one of the theater productions put on by students and staff. Play frisbee, basketball, or sand volleyball. Go to open mic nights. Watch movies with friends in the lounges.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices are growing with the university. There is a food court, cafe, outdoor grill (during the warm seasons), restaurant at Yorktown Hall off-campus, and another cafe is being built into the new SCIS building.

    Dorm Life

    Living situations at RMU are unique. The apartments aren't like suites at other schools and you have two opportunities to live at campus-sponsored housing off-campus. Certain halls at RMU are outdated but the overall experience is still a good one.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain programs are more rigorous than others, but overall RMU provides students with great educational opportunities. Professors are generally good and there are many research studies and internships available through the school, which help students further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus during the winter to see what it's like when bad weather can strike. Talk to students already attending there and studying things that interest you. Don't let the looks be more important than the feel.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris University is a growing school. Living in the suburbs but being close to the city gives students a unique opportunity to be as actively involved in the surrounding communities as they choose. The educational opportunities both in and out of the classroom and wonderful.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is extremely enforced. All dorms are keycard accessible, there are also over 150 security camera's that are watched 24/7 by our police certified security guards. And for those you still feel that there is more to be done or that they don't feel safe, the school sponsors self defense classes once a week at the school gym.

    Greek Life

    Through we do have an assortment of soroities and frats, that do not rule the school as portrayed in television or in larger schools. The greek life at Roboert Morris is involved in the school and participates in events like all others however they do not live in houses but suites in washington hall. The school also has a strict hazing law in place where if any sorority or frat is found to be hazing, the chapter is suspended for 10 years, one of the sororities of the school just started back up this year after a 10 year suspension for hazing.

    Bang for the buck

    The things you will do here and get to achieve definitely outweigh the cost. Not only will you notice that in your classes but in the people you meet.

    What to do for fun

    We have many sports teams and clubs on our campus. Our student body is also very into school spirit, so you will see many of us at sporting events because we get free entrance. The clubs we have also range from specific majors, to religious groups, all the way to our paint ball club and other personal interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. Every student has the option of dining in our food court or stoping at the mini store/sandwich bar known as RoMo's. RoMo's is a place where a student can get pretty much anything from snacks for there dorm rooms to q-tips or shampoo and conditioner. It also has a sandwich bar where students can get cold or toasted sandwiches made to order quickly for the on-the-go student. We also have a wonderful food court for the times when students wish to have a sit down meal. It includes a pizza shop that sells mini pizzas and pizzons and peperoni rolls. Then we have a place with made to order wraps. Then a taco bar that sella all different kinds of tacos and nachos. Then a chinese shop then sells egg rolls, wontons, and any kind of noodle you like. Then the grill that serves burgers, chicken, steak, and during diffent times in a semester shark, swordfich, salmon, talopia, crap legs, lobster tail, and many more. We also recieved a new addition this past year, a smoothie bar. They make not only made to order smoothies but made to order crepes.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms are co-ed dorms but are however seperated into floors, like boys will be placed with boys on one floor while girls could be on the floor directly above. All the dorms are also key card accessable meaning you cannot get into a residential building without swiping your ID card. The school also provides free laundry services.

    Academic Rigor

    It's nice because every student is given an academic advisor who you have to meet at least once a semester before you can register for your next semester. I like it because that way the professor can suggest classes that can help you in your future. Every student is given a class check sheet for their major and you must complete it to recieve your degree. The advisor not only helps you to acheieve this goal in as little time as possible but may also suggest a class that isn't on that checksheet that could be very beneficial towards your future career. And if you're not sure what you want to do with your degree, these professors have real work experience in the fields we are striving towards.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school itself is small and distanced from the outside world. Not from everything because there's a shopping center right across the street, but you don't see random strangers walking through campus. My biggest suggestion is to join as many activities as possible. A lot of students end up transferring to bigger colleges because they get bored easily, but when asked what they did at school, they said nothing.

    In three sentences

    The environment is friendly and so are the people. I also love the class sizes. I like the fact that when I see my professor, whether it be in the classroom or on the street, they know who I am.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you can walk through campus at night safely and not worry about being attacked.

    Greek Life

    Is present but could be better.

    Clubs and Activities

    if we don't have it, You can make it.

    What to do for fun

    Make your own fun, don't depend on parties drinking and drugs. The simplest things can be the most fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    The work isn't hard, doing the work is whats hard. Try to steer clear of distractions.

    In three sentences

    Rmu has a great atmosphere and wonderful people. The tuition is WAY too high. The academics are great and always improving.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on. Bonfires occur a lot in nice weather.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always fresh and delicious!

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that keeping any documentation of payments is a very good idea. Always I would recommend everyone doing the monthly payment plan.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris challenges the mind to make a person think more. Teachers there are always around to help you and listen. Also, the tuition is very high, they accommodate with monthly payments.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The fun at RMU is through various sporting events, club events , intramural and Pittsburgh is not to far either you could go to a Steelers game or etc and go to the various clubs in the city to have a good time or just make your own fun

    Food and Dining

    RMU has many various selections of food and dining RMU has two cafeterias we have like a market place for snacks an etc. The choices vary everyday and there is always a healthy selection of meals and the food makes your taste buds feel like they are in heaven.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a good atmosphere within the students within them obtain new friendships and become like a family within a short period of time. The dorms have everything you need and more and the RA's are helpfully with getting you comfortable to the new college lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at RMU are challenging but it makes you a better student to makes you push your self with your studies and if you need help due to the small class numbers the professors are more of an aid. There are various fields to get into and these classes mold you into what career you want after college and makes it possible to obtain.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students RMU is an excellent university to excel at whether it be from academics, sports, clubs and etc, and you make the path you want to go down and the professors and the staff at RMU will keep and try to help you with your mission while at the University and even after graduating.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is a great university with many options and will benefit your life in the future and it prepares you for the future and the real world. At RMU you will have a great time meeting new people, getting an excellent education, and getting involved. RMU is a comfortable atmosphere and any student will feel at home at this university.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very visible and accessible.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club I participate in is a science/math club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are going into business or health, you will probably get a better start at R. M. U. and it doesn't matter where you come from.

    Bang for the buck

    All schools are expensive. R. M. U. is worth it, if I can obtain a good job after graduation. They seem to prepare all students for the job hunting challenge.

    What to do for fun

    The work out gym area has weights and other exercise devices. Seems to be very clean, too.

    Food and Dining

    The variety is outstanding and all the food has been tasty. I have a big preference for pizza!

    Dorm Life

    There is always something interesting happening. Staying in the dorm gives me a great deal of comfort.

    Academic Rigor

    I do believe that high school prepared me for the college level courses and any help I may need can be found on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to do as many events and activities, so you can get well acquainted with fellow students.

    In three sentences

    R. M. U. is a very well maintained facility that presents a secure and fulfilling environment. All buildings can be easily and safely accessed, via walking paths. It's great to see big screens displaying current activities!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe

    Greek Life

    not interested

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to join if you want

    Great for these types of students

    very small classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Primanti brothers close a Pittsburgh tradition

    Bang for the buck

    expensive

    What to do for fun

    intramural sports

    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    small dorms need a little updated

    Academic Rigor

    strive for excellence

    Tips for prospective students

    nice location, close to Pittsburgh

    In three sentences

    Professors are very student oriented, small college atmosphere

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe on this campus. They are always driving around. My friend left her cellphone somewhere and we called the police and they picked it up and held it until we could get to it. There are also a lot of security cameras and they can see every dorm room and who entered.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big on campus and students can join their freshman year. I am not involved in greek life so I really don't know much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said the weekends are dead here expecially if there are no sporting events, but it's nice to just sleep in, hangout with friends and catch up on homework. I live an hour away and I only go home about once a month. If you do know someone with a car though you can go the Robinson Mall which has every store and restaurant imaginable and its only a 15 minute drive from campus. Also, downtown Pittsburgh is about a 20 minute drive depending on traffic.

    Great for these types of students

    RMU is a great place for anyone looking to get a great education and to make the friend of a lifetime. Everyone here is so friendly here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Romo's is the hot spot on campus. everyone goes here to get a bit to eat and just hang out with friends. The Wheatly center has a critique room with these really cool and comfy chairs. I cannot describe them, but definitely check them out.

    Bang for the buck

    RMU gives virtually all students some sort of aide. I got a scholarship for my academics as well as financial need from the school. It is a private institution, but for college the cost is do able

    What to do for fun

    The weekends on campus are kinda of dull because many people go home. The football games are fun and also the basketball games. RMU has a great basketball game so they are always fun to go watch. Join clubs. They are a great way to meet knew people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for awhile, but then it get really old after awhile, but defiantly check out the cafe in the Wheatly center because everyday at lunch it is a special meal and it is really good. Also Romo's is good for when you are looking for a great sandwhich or a late night snack.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. Yes they are small and the bathrooms are kinda gross, but its easy to get over that. Everyone is so friendly and the RA's are their for you, but are not always looking over your back.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that I am getting a good education thus far. The classes are challenging and do require attendance and hard work, but the work is not overwhelming. The professors really do care about each and every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself, take you classes seriously, but also get out there and have fun.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love it here. It is a very safe environment with, but without an overabundance of rules. You will get an excellent education, but you are not overwhelmed with loads of homework and the teachers genuinely care about your grade .

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With fully capable police officers on duty 24 hours a day you are guaranteed to feel safe. They patrol day and night. Work late? They will pick you up and drop you off at your dorm if you feel unsafe in the dark.

    Greek Life

    Greek life galore! RMU has many fraternities and sororities established on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have an idea for a club? You will be able to start your own if it isn't already offered at RMU. We have a wide range of clubs and you're sure to find one that fits your interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Detail Oriented Commuter Residential

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a fire pit that is the site of many campus sponsored events. Bobby Mania occurs at the beginning of each year and includes many kick off festivities including fireworks!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit pricey but you must remember it is a private institution. The level of attention you will get from professors and the close knit campus life should be things you take into consideration while making your decision.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor courts for basketball and volleyball are always in action. Our Island Sports Center offers free mini golf for students, and free ice skating on certain nights.

    Food and Dining

    There are two options for dining on campus, in addition to a Starbucks. The cafeteria has a plethora of food choices ranging from Italian to Mexican to Chinese food. Romo's Cafe offers sandwiches, salads, and a grocery store type grab and go options.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is ever expanding and new dorms are popping up everywhere. There are many options of campus housing to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect to receive only your best performance. Note that it is because they want to make you the best you can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to visit the campus. It is a beautiful tour that allows you to get a sense of how it would be while attending.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris gives you the small campus experience without sacrificing a quality education. The professors are exceptional and committed to meeting your needs. There is also a great sense of pride among the students, WE ARE BOBBY MO!

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere all the time. This is a very safe campus. You get to know the police very well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name. There is something for everyone and if there isn't one, you can create one.

    Great for these types of students

    All students fit in here.

    Bang for the buck

    Several new buildings offering new majors with state of the art technology. What a great school! I can't imagine being anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and intramerals. Things going on several nights. Plenty of areas to just go out and play, walk around, sit around or whatever. Never boring.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent. For the money you get a huge amount of food. Many choices and a few different places to go.

    Dorm Life

    Not too bad. Air conditioned rooms, which is nice. It is all in what you make of it. Plenty of room for all your things.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes haven't been to difficult. As long as you make time to study and do your homework, you shouldn't have any problems. Tutors are available all the time if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great teachers and classes. Plenty of food! Teachers are always willing to help and listen.

    In three sentences

    This school is a very open and beautiful campus. I feel so at home here. RMU is always growing in the most positive ways and i am so glad to be part of it.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a safe home like feel thanks to it's sheltered location. You are always close to someone so the protection is wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places ot meet and study with other students. It is easy to make friends and find something to do thanks to the many clubs and organizations there.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT! You cannot appreciate the secluded campus feel without seeing it for youself. The campus seems isolated but right through the entrance there is a plaza across the road. ENGAGE YOURSELF! Don't be afraid to ask questions. Enrolling in college can be hard and sometimes scary. The people who work there are very helpful and willing to assist you, but only if you ask!

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is extremely student friendly and amazingly inviting; current students and teachers offer their assistance in any way they can. This makes the enrollment process much easier and you more confident in your choice of attendance at RMU.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Hockey-inline and ice are available

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a Pens game! Student rush

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus. It is very nice.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. It has a great financial aide package. It is in the top in the country for actuarial science.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Of all college cafeterias that I visited, this school has the best food.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of dorms and apartments on campus which are very convenient!

    Academic Rigor

    The quality of classes for each major is efficient. The quality of professors in my major allows me to succeed. They truly care about you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small school. This can be a good thing or bad thing depending on what you are looking for. Not much of a party school, so if you are looking to get an education and meet a lot of people in doing so, this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is a great school and a wonderful opportunity for anybody who wants to continue their education. I've learned a great amount of information in classes for the past three years. Also, the social life is very plentiful.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walk through pot smoke every night and a cop could be sitting right in the parking lot. They only do anything if it is shoved right in front of their faces. They mostly write tickets. Dignified meter maids

    Greek Life

    SAD they want you to pay 500 to join and that's the cheap ones. Also no Greek housing

    Clubs and Activities

    Most just want you to sit at a table and advertise their fundraisers.

    Great for these types of students

    Rich Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around summer class time when they are offering summer courses (at 1,000 dollars a credit) they set out pink flamingos which are promptly stolen by the end of the day.

    Bang for the buck

    They charge you to park, eat, use the printers, and live on campus. Only free things are the sugar packets, newspapers and the events that are considered community service. Rare free trips are offered to a small group of students who are apart of the multicultural organization which is offered to black students and allows white students to join if they can prove that they are multicultural. Our student union is called the black student union who claim they just haven't changed their name yet

    What to do for fun

    Open mic Tuesdays where one guy sings country every week. Underage parties (pot and alcohol). sometimes other events are held but there are rarely any turn out.

    Food and Dining

    They boast about healthy options but really these option include tiny expensive salads or any size salads from a salad bar that sits out all day. Other food is mostly cooked in the morning and then (in front of you) stuck under a lid and squirted with water to heat it back up.

    Dorm Life

    Sucks. The Ra's don't care they only applied for the job for the free housing. The washers stink and people throw your wet clothes on the ground.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers care others do not.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff is not helpful. After you are through the admissions process and pay for your first year,they act like they could care less if you need help or not.

    In three sentences

    An okay place to go. Expensive and full of rich snobs, I do not recommend for anyone who is not rich. I am going here on scholarships and loans and I get looked at weird because I have to work and pay bills.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Must drive 5-30mins for things

    In three sentences

    Good school but you can go to another school just as great for a lower cost. Defiantly think about cost it will come back to you!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great for nursing students.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris has a top nursing program. It has great facilities and labs for hands on learning. It also has a nice campus which is very spacious and close to Pittsburgh.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many activity though out the year for the students. Some for the students that live on campus and some for the commuter. They will have notices pined up all over the place so no matter where your at. you will see some kind of flyer telling you what's going on for that week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, always do what is required of you, and always do your best and work up to your potenal.

    In three sentences

    I think that attending Robert Morris gives me the opportunity to build on the skills that I acquired from getting my other two degrees. I am honored that I have an opportunity like this.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe while on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy a medium size school on a suburban campus

    What to do for fun

    Lots of parties, and pretty close to the Pittsburgh

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, but expensive

    Dorm Life

    There are a million places to live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the second degree nursing program and there is A LOT of work

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    In three sentences

    I've really been impressed by the dedication of the professors to the students. Everyone that works at the University really wants you to succeed. The students are very friendly and diverse.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! I never feel paranoid of nervous.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do as long as you're willing to look for it!

    Food and Dining

    It's very good and satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    It's small, but very liveable. The cleaning staff is so sweet!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be difficult, but it is worth it. I feel like I'm actually learning, not just memorizing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open for all opportunities and look for them!

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris University has wonderful opportunities. This school offers a great education and is totally worth the money you pay. I love it here!

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive, but the education is good.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. A lot of the students go home.

    Food and Dining

    Romo's and the Wheatly Cafe are very good. the cafe isn't the best quality.

    Dorm Life

    The majority of the students are forced to live off campus in the Holiday Inn. There isn't a good sense of community at the Holiday Inn. I liked it better when I lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes and professors are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become active on campus. Go to all the activities the first weekend, its a great way to make friends!

    In three sentences

    Okay school. Not a huge social life. You get a lot of attention because it is a small school.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police station on campus, various phone booths, I always know I am safe here.

    Greek Life

    I belong to kappa delta rho and my brothers have become my second family. All greeks have an amazing bond that makes school something to look forward to.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from, from greek life, to academic clubs. Theres always things to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny as Ive made memories that will last forever, great networking, and a solid education

    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs, intramural sports, events, and activities. Greek life is amazing as well.

    Food and Dining

    All is excellent with a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small but adds to college experience. Met many great friends in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenges you yet gives you the help needed to ensure you do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Hit the books hard, never get discouraged, and get help when needed.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris University is an excellent school which provides above and beyond help to its students. The teachers and staff are always looking out for your best interest and push you to succeed. I recommend my university anyone applying to colleges.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I currently work full -time as a Registered Nurse at a local hospital. I am a part-time student at Robert Morris Universitiy pursuing my Master's in Nursing Education using the online program. The online program is excellent and allows me to continue to work full time and complete my Master's degree in 2 years.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are actually Pennsylvania State Police. They drive and ride bikes around campus periodically. Every member of the campus safety team is polite and approachable, and someone is always at the Barry Center in case they are needed. There are rules regarding drugs and parties, but they do not go out of their way to bust people. If you make it obvious that you are doing something wrong, you will have a problem, but they are fairly lenient.

    Greek Life

    There are about 10 (total) social fraternities and sororities on campus. Some groups are more prominent in campus activities, but they are all involved. In addition to the social fraternities, there is also a chapter for both the national band and theater honors fraternities on campus, but they do not participate in most RMU Greek Life activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs for performance, including cheer, dance, majorettes, color guard, band, theater and choir, as well as many club sports. Our student media center (newspaper, television, radio, and yearbook) is continuously developing. RMU also holds an open-mic night every week. In addition, we also have associations for different majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the night before the fall semester starts, the entire student body is invited to â??Bobby Maniaâ??, where there are snacks, activities, free shirts, music and entertainment for everyone. Itâ??s nice to either catch up with old friends or get to know somebody new. Once it gets dark, there is also a fireworks display. Some places to visit on campus are the garden in front of the theater, and the chapel (during sunset is the best time, in my opinion). Also, the roof of the communication building changes color at night and can be seen across campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Robert Morris is a private school, so it is expensive, but they give a generous amount of scholarship money, as well as offering students free t-shirts and other promotional items throughout the year, which makes it seem a little more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Students can join the student section for many different athletic teams, or even join club or intermural athletics. They can also join a wide variety of clubs and participate in different student-life sponsored events. If you donâ??t want to join an organized group, grab some friends and hang out on the large front lawn, play some beach volleyball on the outdoor courts, or hang out in the recreational gyms. Also, there are open-skates, mini-golf and student bowling nights at the Island Sports Center.

    Food and Dining

    When first arriving to school, the food is amazing, but you do get tired of it by the end of the year. There is a fair variety of options, including Italian, Chinese, wraps, Deli foods, a salad bar American grill foods and a mini breakfast bar.

    Dorm Life

    A few of the buildings are older and a little outdated, but they are supposedly being renovated. There are also some very new buildings. On campus, you can live in traditional dorms, apartments, or in the limited number of suites (accommodates 10-not co-ed). Off campus, there are two university-owned buildings within about �½ a mile; students get to campus via shuttle. Traditional freshman dorms are separated male/female by floor. Upper-classmen dorms are by room, suites by floor, and apartments are co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are exactly as I expected college to be like. They were challenging; harder than high school. However, unlike how my high school teacher portrayed college, most of the instructors really do care about you and will give you any help you need, within reason. I have had a few classes that were actually too easy for me, but overall they are just right. Nursing courses do seem to be extremely difficult from my outside observation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Academics are important. After all, thatâ??s what college is for. However, it is also a good idea to find a balance between studies and social activities so you donâ??t get too stressed out. Donâ??t be afraid to try new activities and meet new people, as long as itâ??s safe, healthy fun. Also, explore campus. There are some beautiful and neat places around campus that it would be a shame to miss out on.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is a great community atmosphere! It is small enough that your professors will know you by name, but also big enough to experience diversity and offer the ability to meet new people every day. There is also great sense of school pride from most students.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who is suited towards a smaller campus.

    What to do for fun

    Take the shuttle to the shopping center.Someone

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Average, it is college after all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out Robert Morris. With the wide variety of majors, you can surely find one that interests you and that promises you a great future.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris University is the best local college I have seen. The professors are excellent and the campus is wonderful !

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My first encounter with campus police was in my First Year Study Seminar (Freshman entry course) they came in to introduce themselves and tell us about their policies. During this the head police officer said to always say hi to the officers and if they don't respond to report to him and he'll take care of it. They want to be open and friendly. Also we have emergency call boxes located all over campus. It is very safe and I have not heard of anything bad happening at this school for as long as I know.

    Greek Life

    I happen to be apart of this on campus. We have about 6 fraternities on campus and 4 sororities. I am in Phi Sigma Kappa, and I love every minute of it. Best decision I made other than choosing Robert Morris University to further my education. Unlike some colleges and universities Bobby Mo does not have Fraternity Houses or Sorority Houses. The campus makes this up to us by giving us suites which has our letter painted on the walls.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the clubs and activities here at Robert Morris University. There is just so much to do... Say that we don't have a particular club that you would like to join, well get a few of your friends together and head on down to Student Life and fill out a form and bam! you got yourself a club. Just recently a couple of my friends started a Facebook page for RMU League of Legends which is an online game and we got enough people together to create this club. As of last semester we now have this club. Awesome isn't it?!

    Great for these types of students

    Robert Morris University is great for just about anyone. I can't honestly pin point any student here. I have friends who travel from Alaska to play hockey here, and I have many friends who are from Saudi Arabia, and those middles eastern countries. People of all colors are here and many find a place to call home here at this university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is kinda a unset tradition, and if the school found out I said this they might be upset but for sake of conversation we have an annual dumpster fire at the end of the year. At the end of Spring semester all the furniture that students don't want are thrown in a dumpster that the school rents. Low and behold every year someone lights all that wood and cloth up in flames. No one ever gets hurt, I think the school is catching on to this and the dumpsters usually are placed in areas most logical for a fire. In the beginning of Fall semester the school does this thing called Bobby Mania which is like a fair and at the end of it their are fireworks. It is mainly to get incoming Freshman excited for their stay here at Bobby Mo.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Robert Morris University is a privet school and you pay a privet fee, the experience has way more to offer than just a price tag. When compared to other schools in the area that are privet we happen to be the most affordable and well... the best pick.

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life is a big part of my life on this campus, but their are other activities that people can get involved in such as club sports, RMU Mic night; which is every Wednesday night in the main cafeteria where a stage is set up and students can show off their talents, basically like a talent show but no competing. Their are academic clubs, political clubs, gay clubs, and religious clubs. Honestly if you have the interest for it, their probably will be a club for it.

    Food and Dining

    The food for the most part is good. One thing that they started last year was a sushi bar which was a success. We have a local Starbucks that is located on campus. New to the school like the sushi bar is Wheatley Cafe, where food is served up in a more traditional manor. The Wheatley Cafe makes you feel more at home, with a home cooked meal and a fire place in the middle of the seating area to give it that extra warm feeling.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living in a suite with 9 other people. I picked everyone of them, and I love living with them. We have 5 rooms with 2 people each of them. We also have a huge common area with a window that overlooks the school property.

    Academic Rigor

    Most general classes are pretty easy, but once you get into your major the classes start to get more intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for the greatest push in your life. Robert Morris tries to get each and every student out into the community to network and develop character and relationships with people. They push you to become a more confident person.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris University is not just a little College that it once was back in the 80's. Bobby Mo has grown from being primality a business school to a school that offers a variety number of degrees including Computer Information Systems, Nursing, and even Nuclear Med. Companies in the greater Pittsburgh area rave about my school, which makes gives me confidents when I apply to jobs within the area.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't that great. It's like a bunch of high school students. They all have their cliques within their group and do not seem like a real sisterhood/brotherhood.

    Bang for the buck

    RMU is not work the $32,000 tuition. I have no idea where my tuition money is going but not to any good causes.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun unless you meet the right people who are always doing something. There isn't much of a night life and you can't do anything off campus unless you have a car.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but sometimes makes you sick afterwards.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is horrible. It feels like you are in jail. The walls are brick or white and nothing feels homey.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors who are amazing and others who make you teach yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on majoring in nursing I suggest you get amazing study skills. The program is extremely hard.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is a very boring school. There is not much of a night life. A lot of the professors are foreign.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Free shirts!

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, gets boring after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what dorm hall your in there pretty nice and comfortable. Don't live in Gallatin!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best out of your time here. It may be small school, but there are wonderful people and the professors are amazing!

    In three sentences

    Small, great, warm feeling school. Perfect size for learning and getting to meet people. You get the college experience.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety department on campus is great and gives out useful information and the campus police number out to every student in case of emergency. Always have someone on patrol so all students feel safe and secure. Are always around if needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great on campus. All of the Fraternities and Sororities interact with each others and generally get along well. All keep great standards and are community service based. Definitely are a great organization to look into even if at first you have no interest in them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great many clubs and organizations. If the student does not like any of the clubs they have the freedom to start there own and build it and advertise it. There is an activity going on almost everyday that even if the student doesn't want to participate in can still go and watch for the entertainment.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any fields in the business department. Great for students who like small classes where the professor will know who you are. Great for students who like multiple opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual but awesome location on campus is in the Wheatley Center. The room has chairs that a totally different from normal chairs, better defined as chair hammocks. Students go there to just sit in them and either relax or do homework in a comfortable atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    You are for sure paying for a bang for the buck. From academics to food, to campus life. Also for the job placement straight out of college that Robert Morris is known for.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple things to do for fun. One thing is that there are a lot of inter mural, club, and D1 sports to play. Go off-campus to any of the food places, movies, or go straight to Pittsburgh which always has something new to do. Hanging out with friends is always a fun activity regardless of the meeting place.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food at all dining areas on campus. The food is in my opinion rated between average and above average. The dining staff is always active and friendly to the student life.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are very nice and have three floors with one shower room and one bathroom. The suite's contain five rooms one for the CA and four for students (two per room). The suite's contain one bathroom with two stall's and two showers and a large common area. Finally the apartments have a common room and a kitchen with a stove, oven, and full size refrigerator. The apartments also have 4 single bedrooms and two bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Is good and difficult, but can become much easier if planned well and ahead of time. Never procrastinate because the work will become strenuous and difficult. Will also become easier if you communicate with the professors who are your best resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the lead program, it is a great experience and an educational experience that prepared me for college. Apply early to get the most information and the best experience of the college. Your senior year of high school work on time management which is a big skill in college.

    In three sentences

    Campus Life is great and always a pleasure to walk around. The academics are high standard and worth every dime. Food is average to very good.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't really see police officers, but I have never felt unsafe on campus. But the police officer that presented in the First Year Seminar class was very nice and helpful. However, there's one spot (right in front of the honors dorm of course) where some kids get together and smoke hookah all day. It's pretty annoying sometimes.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is definitely present, there's just no Greek housing or anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    I joined the marching band, jazz band, and pep band because I've been a band geek since I can remember, and because you also get a stipend, which is pretty great. Also, join a major specific club. I'm a Sport Management major and recently joined RMU's Sport Management Association, which is really good experience and has some great speakers at our meetings that really helps further my interest in my major (and helps with networking!).

    Great for these types of students

    If you're not interested in that crazy college experience then go here. If you actually want an education (especially in business, nursing) then come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When we play Duquesne in football and when we get a touchdown they shoot off a cannon or something.

    Bang for the buck

    From how the Robert Morris University name holds with certain degrees, I say it's pretty worth it. They also hand out a lot of scholarships from what I've noticed. I have the Tuition Exchange scholarship, so I really can't say much about price.

    What to do for fun

    If you have a car then you'll probably have a lot more fun, there's the Mall at Robinson, Ikea, and the city of Pittsburgh, but if you don't have a car like me.. well join things, make friends that do have a car, and just get involved on campus. It does get boring though when you're stuck on campus though. We also have a media center that works like a Red box, which is pretty nice.

    Food and Dining

    I never tried the food until the day classes started, and was told that it was bland and not good at all. I honestly have no idea what those people are talking about. The food is great, I love it. There's always so many options to choose from and I haven't had anything that's been bad. We have a cafe that changes constantly, but there's a grill style part that offers burger, chicken tenders, fries, etc and my personal favorite, Freshens, which offers crepes, frozen yogurt, a bakery, etc is available every day. There's a past station, salad bar, different soup, pizza place, and one that's catered by Parkhurst (something like Eat n' Park's catering company?). There's also Romo's which is like a convenient store with a gourmet Subway, another salad bar, and a mini coffee shop/bakery. Then in one of the classroom buildings there's a Starbucks. (: There's also a lot of restaurants on the street of RMU so you have options.

    Dorm Life

    I like the dorms, although I have the smallest room on my floor (if you look at the floor plan it's significantly smaller than the rest). They have an A/C, so you don't need to buy a fan or heater. I personally like the brick walls, closet space is good. The beds are only nice if you invest in a nice mattress pad, I spent $100 on mine and it's probably the best thing I've purchased. They're currently no lounges or game rooms because they over accepted last year, so you either have your room or go somewhere else to hang out.. I did hear a rumor that they're coming back, but I have no idea. Laundry is free!

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not taking many major specific courses now, but the gen ed stuff isn't all that hard at all. It mainly depends on the professor, but I haven't been overloaded with work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, if you get the priority application like I did, use it. It's so much easier not having to write an essay and get recommendations. I only took the ACT's and was told I wouldn't get accepted, but here I am.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, but hills and stairs everywhere.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Robert Morris has police station right on campus and frankly they are everywhere. Once a party gets going it will be shut down eventually for the most part, but some do not if you are quiet. If anything is stolen they will check the security cameras and solve the problem right away. Public safety also has very strict policies especially on fire alarms, drugs, and tampering with someone internet identity.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a big thing at our school. We have several frats and sororities. Haze Free. They run most of the events at our school and the people that are in them seem to have a blast.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for your major are very good here, but other than that most of the clubs for pleasure don't get much down and the people are not very inviting.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who put education first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year in the very beginning we shoot of fireworks at bobbymanina which a dance party outside.

    Bang for the buck

    You really do get the bang for your buck. First of it is a lovely campus. You get free tutoring which is very helpful. Your teacher's want to help you out the best they can and they are require to have office hours on campus so you can ask question. For the business and nursing Robert Morris provides excellent boards of education for those studies.

    What to do for fun

    There's not too many parties, but when they come around you must go they are tons of fun. A lot of people do different kinds of sports. You can join clubs or greek life which is pretty big at school. The hockey and basketball games are fun to watch as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food Robert Morris is good. I can't complain too much. You have some home cooking, pizza, healthy food, sandwiches, burgers, soup, salad bar, and a little corner store. They also have this pub like place at Yorktown which is off campus but it is a part of the school. It kind of hassle to get there.

    Dorm Life

    Robert Morris really puts tries to make dorm life a community atmosphere and they try to bring everyone together almost like a family. Each dorm has its own activities set up which brings you all closer together.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my teachers were awesome they help you out as best as they can. And if they see you giving it your best they will throw you a couple of points. These teachers really know their stuff and know how to get things done.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Robert Morris get involved with everything you can it's small school, but it is very hard to get to know people because so many people live off campus. There is not many parties either unless you know the right people. Some people get home sick and see their friends having a awesome time at other schools, but you should really give Robert Morris a chance. Robert Morris is a place where people can thrive academically with help from teachers and staff. One last thing prepare for the hills.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Robert Morris 3 out of 5 stars for a college. When it comes to student life, their isn't much to do. Though the key is education and they have some high quality classes and teachers at Robert Morris.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Robert Morris is very expensive, but you do get a lot of perks

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friend, go into Pittsburgh, whatever you want

    Food and Dining

    Robert Morris University has the best food!!!!!! it is better than my mothers cooking

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best but Yourktown the apartments for upper classmen are awesome

    Academic Rigor

    I have had no problem with the amount of work so far. The work load is managable

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, the more people you meet the more fun college will be, but always remember that schoolwork comes first.

    In three sentences

    A smaller, proud school. Professors are very understanding and fun. This is a great school

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is key - in the down town campus they offer escorts to the parking garages at night.

    Great for these types of students

    strong independant learners - the instructors are always there to help but because of the work load required outside of class being able to maintain a personal schedule to keep up is important

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school and price is very comparable in the area

    What to do for fun

    There are over 100 clubs and intermural sports to join. Also the downtown campus is close to the cultural district which provides plays, music and night life.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options at the Moon campus are great for all dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    I can not comment on dorm life as I am a commuter but I know that on campus living is on the rise.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to get overloaded at RMU beacuse of the amount of work required for each class, set your schedule accordingly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus that you intend to do most of yoru course work from to make sure that it is the best fit for you. Don't be afraid to do coursework from several of the campuses to make your schedule work for you.

    In three sentences

    Robert Morris is a wonderful place to learn with insturctors working in the industry today with up to date knowledge and experience. The school is technologically advanced and cutting edge with research. The staff is always willing to help.