Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Rochester Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one willing to work hard and have a great time doing it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do or try anything at least once, that is the best way to really find where your interists are!

    Bang for the buck

    By attending RCTC you are paying so much less then you would if you attened a regular university. Which is really a great help!

    Will enjoy being here

    RCTC has so many fun activities and sports that you will never get bored. Plus depending on which campus you attend, you are right near town which is full of fun things to do for young people.

    Will learn a lot

    With how much I have been to this campus, I have learn so much and there are lots of great people there to help you along the way! The student to teacher ratio is low which is great because you get more time with your professors. It is defitanly a large town, with a small campus feel.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel totally safe here. there is security at the school and at our appartment building. it's all good...

    Clubs and Activities

    there is anything that you could want to belong to here. it's great.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are not sure you want to do the big 4 year college this is a great place to go. rochester has 100,000 people, so it's a big town but it's spread out so much that it doesn't feel like it's that big.

    Bang for the buck

    rctc is a great place to go. it is cheaper than the 4 year schools and you can get the generals done a little cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    just hanging out is pretty fun. college sports are an awesome thing to do for fun. playing x-box is always an option.

    Food and Dining

    live with in your budget. eat healthy and make good choices. learn how to cook before you get to college.

    Dorm Life

    hang out with people that make smart choices and have goals. respect other people and their stuff. enjoy the togetherness.

    Academic Rigor

    go to class. get to know your teachers. don't be afraid to ask for help if you think you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    have a goal. stay on top of your classes. enjoy your new adventure.

    In three sentences

    i love it at rctc! the classes are awesome. i have met so many awesome new friends since i started school.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    RCTC has fun events going on everyday. If you are bored and cant find anything to do then there will always be something going on. We have a lot of cultural events and things like music, dance, and school pride get-togethers.

    Food and Dining

    The RCTC cafeteria has a lot of good food and healthy choices for you to choose from. The cafeteria is located on the top floor and is a good place to get some homework done or to just relax and talk with some friends. The prices are quite fair also.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you were to attend RCTC, I would recommend that you study hard as the classes can be quite tough at times. The teachers here arent afraid to help you with anything, so do not be afraid to ask questions or have one on one meetings. Advisors here are extremely helpful in accomplishing your goal to graduate and move on in life. They will help you with anything.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a very lively college with friendly people. The teachers at RCTC are very eager to teach and watch their students succeed. RCTC is a nice sized college and is not too big to the point where you feel lost and out of place.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    RCTC has no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. Many are eager to get to know you on a personal level as well, and having a strong relationship with some of your professors can be good when it comes time for references on job apps :).

    In three sentences

    Great college for the value! If you're looking for a good two-year college, RCTC is a great choice. I will recommend it to anyone!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has some emergency help poles in the parking lot. However most of the campus is indoors so you shlould always be around someone if any problems arise.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall. If you do not want to drive you could go up to the 4th floor to just meet some new people or just shill in the commons.

    Food and Dining

    Better than highshool, quick and fast for food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy going if you go to the classes and really listen.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get your books at least a day before, to prepare for the classes. Do not stress about the little things. Talk to the teachers if you have any questions or problems.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are connectable. The counselors help you with any questions you are having from things they can answer to directing you to the correct person. It is also an easy learning school.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students always have the option of having a security guard escort them to their car after the night classes. They will even give your car a jump in the winter.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of college clubs at this school such as ping pong club and intervarsity sports clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and many food machines, but most people bring their own lunch or snack in order to save some money.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms but apartments that are located pretty close to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors really challenge the students in order for the students to learn the most they can during the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the school before your first semester for a visit in order to understand what a typical class is like and the type of environment this school provides. The commuter aspect of college isn't for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Affordable school to complete the generals that are expensive at other four year schools. Usually students transfer out in order to complete degree specific classes after completing their Associate degree.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Long walks in nature.

    Tips for prospective students

    Verify the college you wish to attend meets the proper accreditation.

    In three sentences

    Rochester college appears to be very detailed and organized. The online degree program is very appealing. I am very confident in being successful choosing this college.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are right on the edge of Rochester, MN so there is an endless number of things that you can do to entertain yourself within the city. The college also has many on-campus activities that you can partake in throughout the year, such as sports and interest-groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet the instructors before you take a class from them. Sometimes you may not mesh well with their teaching style or the way they run their class, so get some details before you decide to take a full semester class with someone. There are many options for each class.

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed my time at RCTC. For the most part, my instructors have been great, knowledgable, and helpful. My advising has also been absolutely outstanding.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, become friends with your professors, and go to all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    Very high paced and intelligent professors. Great sports opportunities. Good place to start your degree.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go on trips with student life.

    Food and Dining

    Some good food, on the pricey side.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will like it here.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going here. Even though tuition is expensive, it's reasonable compared to other institutions. I enjoy what they have going for them, especially student life.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will never have a learning experience as safe as this. Low crime rate stats are available upon request.

    Greek Life

    RCTC boasts something for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Find something for everyone! Like to paint? Love the sounds of rhythmic drums? Paintball outings? Come to our college!

    Great for these types of students

    All students have solace here! Young, seasoned, and everyone in between has a place here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The football bubble hosts many events for varying endeavors. My personal favorite is the Heintz Center-dubbed the 'Blue Collar Building'-which hosts varying students' educational plans. The Horticulture wing will brighten the most dreary of winter days.

    Bang for the buck

    A quality education and career assistance from nice and knowledgeable faculty and staff-with substantially less college debt to boot!

    What to do for fun

    Academic interests to fitness and social clubs are open to all.

    Food and Dining

    Affordable, quality meals served by friendly faces.

    Dorm Life

    RCTC is a commuter college in a sprawling medical destination city. Live where you choose!

    Academic Rigor

    RCTC is just as rigorous as other colleges, but offers the flexibility to accommodate non-traditional learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like the RCTC motto says, Get Here!

    In three sentences

    RCTC is the best place to study in south-east Minnesota! Diversity is a core competency, and instructors are well vexed. I love this place!

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to get there generals done before transfering to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Many opportunites to go to sporting events, trips, many available clubs, and sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Only have eaten on campus a few times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to get your generals done. Many student opportunities and plenty of help available if you need it.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a good school that has met my needs going into Elementary Education. It is a nice campus and close to home. I would recommend this school to others.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the Apache Mall and lots of great movie theaters and restaurants. The downtown is nice, but not too big. The area is quickly growing.

    Food and Dining

    Rochester is a nice city. There are many places to eat out.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your attitude going into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rochester is a growing area. This community college is a great place to start your education off with great prices.

    In three sentences

    Rochester Community and Technical College has provided flexible online classes. This has allowed me to receive my AA degree and move forward with my education. The teachers were great and the online system was very unified.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    no rating

    Academic Rigor

    fine

    In three sentences

    Very handy for me. Small campus, makes it easier to navigate. Competitive rates.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join and everyone is really supportive

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but they close at early hours

    Dorm Life

    You can live 5 minutes away

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers are friendly and want to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    register for classes early!

    In three sentences

    This is a great school full of opportunities! There is always help when you need it and everyone is really friendly. So far I have really enjoyed learning here.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work out center

    Food and Dining

    Limited hours.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your classes transfer.

    In three sentences

    Good technical college.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    don't live the dorms.

    In three sentences

    I would rate it a 4. they don't let you transfer schools. if your on finacal aide probation and you fail a class they suspend you and thats not fair the should give you a chance to make that class up.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Live in another state- online learner

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Live in another state- online learner

    Great for these types of students

    Self-starters

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Online program

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are a good way to prepare for a BS degree. Going to a two-year college to start saves money.

    What to do for fun

    I live out of state.

    Food and Dining

    Attend an online program.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Apply yourself. Some classes require a lot of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek information about all aspects of learning. Be proactive. Be ready to learn and keep an open mind. Use college resource available to you.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at RCTC has answered all my questions in a timely manner. I am a long distance learner and their HIMC program is excellent. I looked long and hard at many programs before deciding on RCTC.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do around town, its either too hot or too cold. Depends on who you're with as well. Local attractions include Apache Mall, several movie theatres, several restaurants, Thursdays on First events, downtown shopping around the Mayo Clinc, Foster Arends, Colonial Lanes, Quarry Hill.

    Food and Dining

    Exceptional food, a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus, but there are apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an average community college. Some classes are more challenging than others, but if you attend classes and study, you should be able to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your way around campus, ask questions, make friends with classmates and create study groups, take advantage of student support services, and lastly have fun.

    In three sentences

    RCTC has a reputation for remedial education. The college mostly consists of fresh out of highschool students, but an education is an education. You get what you need to succeed after graduation.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play basketball or football with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is fun and something you will like and enjoy doing and going to school for.

    In three sentences

    I love my school they help out a lot. If you need more time to study for a test or need help with anything they can or will find someone to help you.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good, even though you may not see the security guards walking around, they are there, trust me. Also, if something were to happen in the parking lot, you can easily find the emergency box which has a insanely blue light at the very top and it is very hard to miss. If you have any concerns or anything you can easily walk up to the counselor office and talk to them, everywhere is a safe place to talk, and even your teachers are super cool about you talking to them. So, there is help everywhere that you need it, you just have to ask.

    Greek Life

    I never really heard of any greek life at RCTC unless you count things like the big clubs that go to things outside the city or sports like football and stuff going places and being similar to being a big huge family.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities that you can discover and try out. We have everything from sports like football and baseball to clubs like the GSA (gay, straight alliance) to the ecology club. There is never going to be a dull moment with try to find something, and if we don't have what you want, you are free to go up and start your own club with people.

    Great for these types of students

    RCTC is a good choice if you are struggling to really focus on what major you would like and it is also great if you would like to just stay home so that you can keep working while your other friends are off at the big 4 year schools being poor and unable to keep working, you can save a whole lot of money while you are able to keep working. You won't be overwhelmed here at RCTC when it comes to school work and working with your life schedule, everyone is really understanding and will help you out to the best of their abilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just discovered that there is a hidden coffee shop down in the nursing building of the school, my friend and I discovered it while helping out putting up signs for her teachers class. Also, you can never really predict what is coming to happen in the Atrium, which is basically the main doors, because one day there will be nothing really special going on and it'll be nice and quiet, and then the next day there will be a book fair going or a small festival will be going full blast.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending RCTC to so very worth it. It is close to home and I can keep working. There aren't to many expensive fees when it comes to RCTC and they have a pretty good program to help with expenses and tuition while attending. The bookstore is alright, they tend to jack up everything that they sell there, so that is the only real down side for getting a bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    For my own fun, I hang out with some of my friends that attend here at RCTC and I hang out with some of my fellow classmates that I have met this semester. Another fun thing to do is walk around campus, you will be surprised on what you might find while walking around the school. Clubs are another fun thing to do, I attend the Gay Straight Alliance club meetings when I am able too. Otherwise, I work most of the time and/or I am out running around with people.

    Food and Dining

    I don't regularly eat at the cafeteria but it is pretty nice place when I do go there and the food is over all pretty good, except sometimes the prices of the food can be a pretty good ouch, haha. The environment in the cafe is very relaxing and low key, everyone is eating and also working on homework and you can easily meet your classmates there to either hang out or work together.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm at all or in the apartments that are close to the school. I live at my house which is amazing because I get free room and board, and I am able to keep working at my job of two years so that I can keep building up my savings and paying off my school.

    Academic Rigor

    RCTC helps you try your best but you can't depend fully on them because they want you to be able to do stuff on your own. The staff in the student support center are very friendly and RCTC provides different activities such as support for essay writing and math help. So, even if you claim you don't have help, there is actually a lot of opportunities to get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips that I recommend for students that are planning to attend RCTC is that don't be afraid to go out and be who you are with people and also to go out and find a club because you get to meet a lot of awesome people that you can bond with. Also, don't feel pressure to be something your not and to think you need to have everything planned out to every detail, you'll just stress yourself and end up going down hill like some of my own friends that used to attend.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a pretty good school when it comes to a community college because it is very close to my own home which helps out a lot when it comes to being able to keep working to save up for money. The community in the school is very upbeat and out going, the student life group is very friendly and encouraging to new students and current students. There is also a lot of opportunities to talk to your counselors and professors without having to wait a super long time due to the school being the size it is, which is also a plus.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    RCTC is a very good college and the price is beat by no place.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of outdoor activities to do in the area like hunting, fishing, biking, running... etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is very good, and the best part is that it isn't that expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Thee aren't really dorms it is just apartments which are off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This varies on the student, and it also varies on what classes that you take along with how many credits that you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for class, and use all of the resources at your disposal.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a very good school to go to because the class sizes are not too big. The professors are willing to take time outside of class to help students out, and the Goddard library is top of the line which is a great resource to have. Finally I will have to say that it has a great atmosphere which makes coming to class an easy decision to make.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    RCTC, has a Trio support group, they plan event for us like taking us bowling and pizza, going to different event, baseball games, basketball game, movies, plays.

    Food and Dining

    College can become ver y expensive, I work 2 jobs as well as workstudy, I find myself eating out a lot or eating microwave food just because I do not have time to cook, but I do know to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I have never personally lived on campus, but I do know that your environment does matter when it comes to your success, you need accurate amount of sleep, and numerous hours of study time, if living in dorm no what your strength and weaknesses are.

    Academic Rigor

    Communication is the key to success, talk with you professors, ask all questions, don't go home wondering why when and where, the only dumb questions are the unanswered ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all resources provided on and off campus, that's what they are their for.

    In three sentences

    Rochester Community Technical College is a step toward success. Get there and expect the unexpected

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard worker

    What to do for fun

    reading and shopping

    Food and Dining

    fsoup

    Academic Rigor

    very good

    Tips for prospective students

    chose the major you like and work hard

    In three sentences

    It is the best school ever

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards from law enforcement program on campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    disc design etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, students who work (i.e. online classes)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really sure.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a non-traditional student who turned his life around and is on track to graduate in Spring '14.

    What to do for fun

    Our football team is consistently at the top of there conference. There is open gym at the regional sports center on campus, disc golf club, design club, and a whole lot more!

    Food and Dining

    There is the student cafeteria on the third floor, it comes in handy. The layout of it is very relaxing, conducive for a good study place.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I love my classes, they are challenging but i have learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early so you get a seat in the classes you want to take! Use the Learning Center!

    In three sentences

    I like this school because the classes are small and your instructors are available. I like this school because of the Learning Center, where you can get help from math coaches and for your other classes as well. I like all the computer labs here, too.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great safety at this school. What i really like is if you have a night class and it is after a certain time the security guards will walk you out to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has a lot of clubs and activities that you can join and be a part in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has so much to offer, that is something i really like about the school. They also have some really great teachers who know their stuff.

    What to do for fun

    The sporting events are always fun and i also like to go to things put on by teachers outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    The college has great food and also great hours to work with everyone's schedules.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but i have heard good and bad things about them. They are really nice because they are a walking distance from the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the college before school starts and learn where your classes are and also your way around the school.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this college and i have had a great time getting an educations here. I would like to continue with my education here and then soon transfer. I would stay with RCTC if they carried my whole program i am going into.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the are security is strength with a security office. there surveillance cameras.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many and diverse clubs and activity

    Great for these types of students

    student who spent time on their studies.

    What to do for fun

    organize fun trips at affordable prices.

    Food and Dining

    The food are affordable at a low price. have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    affordable

    Academic Rigor

    The aim to succeed through hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    have your goals set when you start studying for thing to become easy for you.

    In three sentences

    small and quiet community college for studies.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a law enforcement program at RCTC, and the future officers do an outstanding job protecting our school. Security is very organized at RCTC and I have always felt safe here. There are buttons in the parking lot that you can push in an emergency and Rochester emergency officials will rush to the scene. If you don't feel comfortable walking to your vehicle, a security member will escort you, no questions asked.

    Greek Life

    I could be mistaken, but I do not believe there are any fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs, but because there are no dorms, activities are a little on the sparse side.

    Great for these types of students

    I would definitely recommend going to RCTC if you want to go into medicine. Nursing is a popular choice here, as well as prerequisites for universities and medical schools. Rochester is centered around the fine Mayo Clinic, so if medicine is what you are into, make this city your destination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RCTC is a relatively small college, and is still creating traditions. You could help.

    Bang for the buck

    Any school seems expensive to me because I have very little money. From a neutral perspective however, RCTC is downright cheap. You get what you pay for and in the realm of colleges, RCTC tution is a steal.

    What to do for fun

    There are many school clubs and activities that are available to all students. In addition, students get free admission to all sporting events and free or reduced admission to plays and concerts. Occasional trips are offered through the school to add some variety. If you are new to Rochester, there are many tourist attractions. Just check out a phone book or ask around. Even just driving around is considered entertainment in Rochester. Silver Lake and Quarry Hill are two of my favorite sites.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo runs the food court and coffee shop located on campus. The food is very good, but a little bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    RCTC does not have dorms, but they do have quite a few decent student apartment buildings less than a mile from the school. A bike path amongst the beautiful RCTC forest brings you straight to the acedemic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged at RCTC, but not overwhelmed. The staff really want you to succeed, and will go to great heights to help you accomplish your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save money, but still want the college experience, try getting your general education classes out of the way at RCTC and then transfer to a university for the remainder of your degree. This will spare you the stress of forking over large sums of money for classes that would be the exact same thing at a university.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a great place to get your general education needs while staying in the Rochester we all love. The professors are among the highest or any community college in the state, and most of them make classes challenging and fun. As a MNTEC member, RCTC can also help you make transferring to a university a walk in the park.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe when ever I'm in school, campus securities are always everywhere.

    Greek Life

    I have never experience Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the International Student club, Nursing Forum and Student Support Services ( Trio). Last year, i went to Chicago with the help of Trio to a student leadership conference. Coming from Africa and going straight to college was not an easy transition for me because the education system in the U.S. A. is totally different. It was hard for me to understand my lecturers in class, to me the way they lectured was too fast to keep up with, their accent was different, and a lot of material was covered in a short time. It took me time to get adjusted to the education system here. Trio is very beneficial to me because they want me be involved and participate in programs which will help me succeed and make sure that am on the right tract in reaching goals. They also helped me to be aware of other resources and services located on our campus where I could get supplemental help in all of my classes.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students with ambitions, hard working, good time management and good studying skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no unusual place in my campus.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, as for me , is just going to the mall, eating and going to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest , the cafeteria is a little bit expensive for me , in order to save , i bring my own food. Days that I have a little extra money , I do buy from there and the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I have never experience dorm life but i heard from my friends that, it is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic Rigor in Rochester Community College is by pushing yourself beyond what is easy. We have a study place in school called the learning center, were students go to do their homework's and tutors are there for any questions. People who go to the learning center get good grades more than students who don't go there at all. I was never good in Math. With the help of the learning center of RCTC, I was able to get a Chemistry tutor and ended up doing well in the class with 88.9% in the class. I was nervous going through the class but I never gave up. My academic performance had improved immensely, I manage to be on the Dean List of RCTC of fall 2011.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students is that, the college is very diverse and that helps you as a new student to learn about other cultures and values.

    In three sentences

    I love my college and the instructors are all very helpful. They make sure that you feel free to ask them questions if you don't understand. There are also a lot of campus jobs , were most students are benefiting from it including me.Education is very important to me because it is the number one priority in my family. My parents are not well educated because they never had the chance to do so. From the experience of not having any kind of formal education, my parents knew on first hand basis that a good education gives you a versatile mind and more opportunities to benefit yourself and others in the world. They always wanted their children to make a better life for themselves by working hard in school in order to be successful.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been there for awhile and have never felt unsafe. People are generally nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any but there are a lot available.

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE can learn.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot less expensive than other colleges but the teachers are very well educated!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events scheduled and sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but available.

    Academic Rigor

    RCTC makes it fun to learn. A lot of hands on! Which is a plus for most people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont let the accuplacer get you down.

    In three sentences

    RCTC makes a person motivated to go to college.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great affordable college that is in the MNSCU system so credits transfer to any MN school, and also to many other universities.

    What to do for fun

    Sports games are a big one, RCTC has many great sports teams, and of course students get into each game free.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of work to do, but the setting and help make it a little better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your work and show up to class. Classes are important, and if you care about your academics then so the things that are asked, and you'll be surprised.

    In three sentences

    I believe RCTC is a great junior college. They offer many great academics, and they focus on the students success.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think RCTC is a very safe place

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to well and like a little challenge will enjoy attending this school

    Bang for the buck

    The professors here at RCTC are very nice and great teachers. They try to make assignments fun and find ways to make the lectures helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many functions that RCTC holds in the atrium that are fun to take part in. An example, they will have foods from foreign places and have a week where they serve a food from a different country each day.

    Food and Dining

    The food at RCTC is very tasteful and also is at a good price.

    Tips for prospective students

    When in college, make sure to keep up on your studies and attend every class. Sometimes if not a lot of people are in class, then there will be extra credit given out. Turn in assignments on time and make sure every test is taken on test day, unless discussed with the professor.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a great place to begin your college career. The atmosphere of the school is very nice and welcoming. There are many different people and are all very kind.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Living in an area away from campus rarely participate in activities.

    Food and Dining

    Brown bag it, helps to keep costs down.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor has positively impacted my learning experience and my ability to progress within the program I'm enrolled.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your an adult learner and will have to work in addition to attending school pay close attention to class timeframes throughout the entire program duration when committing to an academic plan.

    In three sentences

    Have had a decent learning experience here. Mainly geared toward the high school graduate more than toward the adult learner seeking education to advance into a second career.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100% safe. Never been any trouble, we are all awesome people!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports teams, GSA, designers club, you name it we have it!

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get their education cheap and be involved in community awareness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every holiday we set up stations that describe how each holiday is celebrated in different countries. Lots of bake sales!

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonably priced classes, most of them (95%) of the classes have been worth it!

    What to do for fun

    100+ clubs/organizations, Rochester is a pretty big city. Whether the fun is on campus or not, there is stuff to do!

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate at the cafeteria once, but it was AMAZING!

    Dorm Life

    I cannot say anything about this, don't live on campus. Others say it is great!

    Academic Rigor

    The class difficulties vary. Some classes have been super challenging while others have been easy going. Some people like either teaching style, go on ratemyproffesor.com to see what students have to say. Having the wrong teacher/teaching method can end up causing problems in getting a c or better for certain required classes and can impair the required knowledge you need to take from that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid taking too many credits. I have been taking 18+ credit semesters and it gets you graduated quicker, but you miss out on a lot of the experiences you could be having. It makes it hard to focus and be as successful as you want to be in each class. Chose a degree that fits you and your dreams. Don't just go in a degree for the money, you will burnout quickly. Look at all of your options and try to keep in touch with your academic advisers, they make life less stressful!

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a really great school with a lot of opportunities for people who can't afford out of state colleges or big universities. It's very community oriented and there are always free events and offers for students to make campus life exciting. The teachers are AMAZING, fun, open minded, and lenient.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am always seeing campus security walking around or driving around. Also have alert or panic buttons in the parking lot which is reassuring.

    Bang for the buck

    Great schooling for a more affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    RCTC provides a great athletic facility. With a weight room, indoor track, co-ed fun sports, and other great opportunities. They also have a variety of art shows, theater performances, and a large library with computer labs. Rochester, MN is also full of everything a large city would have available from foods, to shopping, to theaters, and etc...

    Food and Dining

    RCTC does offer a cafeteria and the food is pretty good. There is not a formal dining hall so don't expect anything large and fancy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm. There are a few off campus apartments. However, most students here commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Mostly classes are moderately challenging which helps advance your knowledge and learning capabilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that provides smaller classes and great help from instructors, this is a great place. There is a wide range of age groups that makes it feel personal to everyone no matter what age.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is great for small classes and personal attention. It has a very friendly atmosphere and the instructors are always willing to set time aside to help you when in need. The school is well kept and clean feeling.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security workers on campus patrolling and they are always willing to walk you to your car if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many clubs and organizations to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Too many to list!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my personal favorites areas on campus is sitting out side of memorial hall. There are always picnic tables to sit at and the sun always shine there. It has become a very popular spot for many when the weather is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel at RCTC you get what you pay for. The classes do seem a bit spendy but that is because you are really getting a good education!

    What to do for fun

    RCTC has many club that students can get involved in as well as a very outgoing student life organization that will put on several concerts for students throughout the academic school year.

    Food and Dining

    The RCTC main campus has a cafe, book store, and cafeteria that you are able to purchase food at. However their prices are very high and one should pack a lunch from home instead.

    Dorm Life

    RCTC does not have any dorms for students to stay in but the city of Rochester has many apartments available to rent. Some are within walking distance to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the instructors at RCTC are always trying to better you! They are always there to help, but they will certainly make you think. As with any college you can sink or swim, but at RCTC they teach you how to swim so you can be successful in what ever you choose to do next.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would always ask people you know and don't know about which instructors might be for you. There are very many different teaching styles at RCTC and some will make the class seem easy because you are able to interact and enjoy the class. While other teachers may not be right for you and you certainly wouldn't want to end up in their course!

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a great place to start your college education. I have attended a few semesters now and have been very pleased with both the faculty and staff. RCTC is a very welcoming environment for any college student.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Okay I never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really wasn't involved in a lot of clubs, however the one I was in was not very organized.

    Great for these types of students

    If you live in the area or wish to go into medical or equine studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Health services does a lot for students. They have a lot of good tips that they put up in the bathrooms, and every spring they have an STI screening for free. They also have free condoms and sanitary napkins available for students.

    Bang for the buck

    It was okay, but some of the classes were expensive. If they have the program that you want then go for it, but if it is just a Lit AA than there are better schools for your dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Rochester has a lot of stuff, but it is kind of pricey. Get involved on campus if you don't work full time. There are a lot of clubs and activities put on by student life.

    Food and Dining

    Okay but not really worth the price. If you live close to campus go home and cook.

    Dorm Life

    There is non.

    Academic Rigor

    The hardest class was my Violin class and that was because the teacher is supper involved in your progress. Other classes were easy, not a lot of expectations. Take speech with Annie Clement she is awesome and you will learn a lot even if it is online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselors. I decided to change my degree to obtain my AA faster and the counselor was able to match me with a program that would get me out the fastest. research your degree fully so that you know what classes you need before you register. Take advantage of your teachers office hours. And plan ahead for housing. There is no campus housing and it is expensive to live in Rochester.

    In three sentences

    Good for Nursing and Medical Tech degrees. Not very worldly, so don't expect a life changing education. I love their Violin instructor.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is awesome at RCTC the security staff have jumped my car when it's died in the middle of winter on more than one occasion and they drive around the parking lots almost every hour to check on everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Students going back to school after a long break or students still deciding on what they want to do while getting some generals out of the way are commonplace here.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't a lot of places around rochester for college kids. There's always the bar scene downtown, but if you aren't old enough (like me) my friends and I mostly hang around the mall. Or get a part-time job to pay for college.

    Food and Dining

    Lancer has good food, but it's pricey. I only got it once or twice a week. There are discounts for students on financial aide, though, or so I've heard.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent. RCTC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher. I've had the same class with 2 different teachers and one made it much easier for me than the other. It also comes down to your own learning style, some people are better at listening and taking notes while some are more hands on and need to be working with an equation or problem to figure it out. Teachers don't always cater to both learning styles.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's good to decide early what classes you want to take, most students are there for generals so those fill up fast. Math, English, and Science are hard to get into at reasonable times (if you want an 8 am class those always seem to have a few spots open though, ha.)

    In three sentences

    It's cheap, local, and a good enough education for those looking for 2 year schools. It's especially good if you're planning on transferring to a mnscu 4-year school because of the ease of transferring credits. It's a good college for those still deciding what to do or interested in just a liberal arts degree.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is always clean and food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes some are easy and some are hard depending on what you want to take and learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    never be afraid to ask for help. Always make sure you get help when you need it!

    In three sentences

    I love the small community feel of RCTC. All of the teachers and staff are always willing to help no matter what my question may be that day. The campus is very easy to navigate as well.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several movie theaters in Rochester, a Civic Theater, a bowling alley combined with a mini golf course, and several parks with frisbee golf.

    Food and Dining

    I was not very impressed with the food at RCTC, I rarely ever eat the food unless there is some event going on and the food is free.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I have not heard too many complaints from my friends, aside from the usual complaints that one expects from a college dorm like noisy neighbors etc.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on which teachers you get, some teachers are harder than others, for example, for precalculus I had Joseph LaForge, (Yes, like Star Trek). He assigned almost no homework, and his tests were fairly easy. On the other hand; Dana Piens, my calculus teacher assigns and average of 30 problems per night, and his tests are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first recommendation I would say is to apply for scholarships through RCTC. There is a diverse and large number of scholarships to choose from, and every little bit helps.

    In three sentences

    Rochester Community and Technical college is a great college for any student who is starting out, especially if one is unsure of his or her major.The tuition is very affordable, and the teachers are excellent. Also, the variety of classes is very good for a community college, one can even go through Calculus IV at this college.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In regards to campus safety, i think Rochester Community and Technical College doing their best. They have security agents around the school and sometimes int eh parking lots to make sure students are all safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is open to everyone and encourages students with high GPAs to join

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. Some of which are, Student Senate, Lions Roar, Yellow Jackets, Women's Volleyball Team, Football Team. These clubs can also serves as a time off school and a time to forget about the stress due to works of school load. I became a member of the Student Senate on the 24th of September 2013; i have learned about Students Health Insurance status at our school and more. Such clubs gives you the opportunity to know inside issues that go on behind the scenes in your school.

    Great for these types of students

    This type of tradition is good for students who need some external motivation and something encouraging to begin their day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hallway outside the book store. I named this hallway rock and roll Jazz. Every time you walk through this hallway music turns on and accompany you until you exit. Apart from this unusual location on campus, I would like to acknowledge the our Trio special basket of quotes. This basket is full of strips of papers of quotes, Every morning i walk into the office just to pick my quote of the day hoping for a new and invigorating inspiration. These pieces of paper may seem ordinary, but the words written on them have made a difference in every hour i spend at Rochester Community College. For example last Friday the 27th 2013, i picked a piece of paper that read live today with harmony; throughout the day i contemplated on these words no matter the circumstances to live the day in peace and harmony instead of stress.

    Bang for the buck

    Rochester has its ups and downs. Besides the fact that the cafeteria closes too early and it lacks academic rigor, two things have impressed me. The first is the hospitality of the tutors in the Math Learning Center, The tutors are always ready and willing to help you learn and understand math concepts from any angle. The second is the Science Learning Center. This center has allowed me the chance to learn Anatomy better because it contains many different body structures you can learn from. For example, during the last few weeks i have spent most of my hours after school studying for a bones exam i had last Friday. During my visit, i have also met students who are willing to help me learn as we grow together as friends and family.

    What to do for fun

    There is a free game machine in the cafeteria on the third floor. Besides this, you can join a sports team or club such as Yellow Jackets to volunteer and help out the community.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria closes too early, at 2 p.m. The foods are too expensive but they offer free water. There are multiple microwaves and seats available for warming up your food and for relaxation .

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, Rochester Community and Technical College does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not much excitement at Rochester Community and Technical College. The classroom settings are ok though and some of the classrooms are crowded. The Book store is filled with exciting books

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student looking forward to attending school at Rochester Community and Technical College, expect hospitality from the counselors and classmates. Student life Activities, such as Home Coming Week is filled with exciting experiences, such as meeting new friends. Many student organizations such as TRio and Student Senate are encouraging.

    In three sentences

    Rochester Community and Technical College has a unique structure. The dome which forms the Atrium allows sunshine into the school making you feel like your outside.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe when I am on campus, I am only their during the day and I am comfortable. The RCTC apartments is where I don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are clubs and activities but they are not that popular.

    Great for these types of students

    I think RCTC is great for post secondary students and people interested in getting their associates degree before transferring to a 4 year college.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a nice reasonably priced college that allows you to save money.

    What to do for fun

    I am not involved in a lot of things at RCTC. They do have some events going on that can be fun but most people don't stick around campus much they just get in and get out.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the cafeteria a couple times because it is a little expensive and I would prefer to eat at home or go somewhere else to eat. From what I see other people eat, the food does look really good though.

    Dorm Life

    RCTC doesn't have dorms but they do have apartments that are very close to campus. I would not recommend living in them. I had a friend that lived in them last year and she did not feel safe. From what rumors I hear going around this year is a lot worse from last year. I think a guy could feel comfortable living in the apartments, but being a girl I wouldn't feel safe or comfortable. I would recommend find apartments somewhere else in town, or living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any problem with my classes, and all of my teachers have been very reasonable and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    RCTC is a community college so you don't get the full college experience you would get at a university, but I would highly recommend it get your associates degree out of the way if you need to go the conservative way and save money.

    In three sentences

    RCTC is a good community college, I enjoy going to school there. My schedule is flexible and allows me to get in and out, allowing me to have time for all my other activities. The staff is also very nice and easy to work with for all the college paper work and registration processes.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security walking the campus and parking lots. There are also camera set up in the parking lots so it feels safe and secure.

    Greek Life

    Not quite sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs. Acting, music, pottery, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love to meet others and only need to take a few classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are always companies advertising work opportunities in the atrium which is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    You save a lot of money attending a community college then attending a university.

    What to do for fun

    Attend athletic games. Football, soccer, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I like all the variety in food and drinks. The cafeteria is nice. My last school didn't have anything.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where your classes are before you start school. Take the time to ask questions to your professors because they are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I rate the about school at a 4 out of 5 stars. I definitely thought the atmosphere would be different than it is. I like it and enjoy going to school here.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on campus and I feel very safe because of that. I know that no one will be breaking into my car while I am in class.

    Greek Life

    I like Greek food and that's about it for the Greek life for me!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities that go on through just one semester and for the most part, they are all educational and fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody who doesn't have their nose stuck up in the clouds:)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first year so I don't really know of any traditions this campus goes with, but on certain days there is free food! That's a plus!

    Bang for the buck

    I would rather spend less money for the same amount of education then go to a university where everything cost 5 times the amount I pay here. I am taking out less loans so that I wont be paying off college loans the rest of my life instead of making money, which is why we go to school in the first place. There is also a tuition freeze here, meaning that college stays the same price for each course.

    What to do for fun

    I love to snowboard on my downtime. If I am not snowboarding, I go to the cities to have fun and go clubbing with my girls. Trust me, we tear the clubs up!

    Food and Dining

    Its the best school cafeteria food I've ever had but if you went to public schools like me all your life, it really isn't saying too much.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly don't know what the dorm life is like because I live in my own apartment but everyone seems nice enough around here to live with!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes do challenge you, but at the same time, there is so much support offered to you that there is no reason for you to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and do what makes you happy. One of my teachers had us walk across campus in slow motion and I cannot describe how much fun it was to get out of my shell and be silly with my class. The teachers here want you to succeed and if you ever have problems with the coursework, there are so many options to where you can go to find help.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this college a four out of five. I love my professors and the students I attend class with. I also love the fact that it's not a very big campus so it's easier to find your way around.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi theta kappa and physics and engineering club are just a few clubs! They are all great.

    Great for these types of students

    Both serious and unserious students. There's different teachers for both.

    Bang for the buck

    Good bang for your buck much cheaper than 4 year universities.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the atrium & join clubs such as the physics and engineering club.

    Food and Dining

    Good food for those of you with deep pockets.

    Dorm Life

    The apartments are a bit unclean looking. Most people don't live in the dorms, they normally live at home with their parents and drive to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your placement test or ACT score you will either have a rigorous academic schedule or a very easy academic schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take school seriously! Do not get influenced by fellow classmates poor activities choices. DO NOT STARE.

    In three sentences

    Rochester Community and Technical College is a vary ethnically distributed school. Many people describe the experience at RCTC as an experience comparable to high school, but this is an inaccurate description for those who take school seriously (most people don't take challenging classes which make it feel like high school again). If you are planning on transferring schools I highly recommend attending RCTC for the at least the two years (generals = done).

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good school

    What to do for fun

    I have a young child at home so I don't do much for extra activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good choices

    Academic Rigor

    You can set your classes to what works for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your classes!!!! If you don't show up you will miss a lot!!

    In three sentences

    It is a positive place to be. All of my teachers and staff have been very helpful and kind to me. This is a good school to get anyone started in life.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always looking out and are willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap way to go to college and still get the academic of a university.

    What to do for fun

    Go to athletic events. Go to the activities that the school sponsors.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are great and the food tastes even better. I was very surprised on how good it was.

    Dorm Life

    The apartments that RCTC directed me toward are fantastic. It's close to school is under great management. All my friends love their apartment and wouldn't want to live anywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you but the professors help you a lot to help you reach your full potential and succeed in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities. Explore new things around campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is wonderful and very easy to get around, especially to your classes. Professors are great and always willing to help. The athletic programs are outstanding including their facilities.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is sound and even allows for prospective law enforcement figures to participate. Security cameras in the parking lot however are much needed.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs are in place and are administered by great advisors! Plenty to choose from and a lot of students get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    From my personal knowledge, the music programs here are wonderful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The notorious geese that roam the campus are the first things that come to mind!

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome school for the price. Couldn't ask for more.

    What to do for fun

    Rochester is finally starting to grow and develop a young entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Food at RCTC is ok. Somewhat high priced, although there are programs to take advantage of. The coffee shop is great!

    Dorm Life

    Although I cannot speak directly to the dorm life as I did not live there, I am aware that students are offered apartments close by the campus for moderate prices.

    Academic Rigor

    While not overly demanding, RCTC provides students with a place where they are encouraged to push themselves and grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your education, go to class, and remember that you are paying for it now!

    In three sentences

    Great community of students. Professors who generally care about their students education. Low tuition costs.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    there is currently a TWO YEAR TUITION FREEZE!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in all the school sprit. go the football games

    Food and Dining

    great food a bit pricy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm I am a mother of 5 children and I commute 60 minutes 5 days a week to attended RCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    RCTC believes in pursuing excellence through learning experiences .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you give RCTC a moment of your time and come and see for yourself.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love RCTC this is not my first college I have attended and looked at others and this school CARES about your success. they have a learning center for you to access and have FREE tutoring. RCTC also has a whole athletic department football team and all.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good,

    What to do for fun

    sports of different kinds

    Food and Dining

    nice

    Dorm Life

    - good

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    - flexibility of class schedules - high technology support - communication and new updates.

    In three sentences

    Rctc is good community college that help diversity of students with different interests and goal. The college has very knowledgeable instructors. Rctc serves a lot of different communities from different cities.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't live on campus, nor have I ever visited campus.

    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved

    Great for these types of students

    Online students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a non-traditional student. Everyone that I talked with was very helpful and guided me along the way to make sure my enrollment went smoothly. And any questions I have along the way have been answered quickly.

    What to do for fun

    I live 5 hours away so I am not sure what they do for fun down there, but I spend time with my family for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Have never been to the campus so I am not sure.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    5 Stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forget to renew your FAFSA!!!!

    In three sentences

    Great experience so far. Love that I can do every thing online and don't have to sit in a classroom. Everyone has been extremely helpful along the way.