Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rock Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like a more quiet atmosphere and a more down home feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Balance your classes for you lifestyle, especially if you are going back to school after a long period of time.

    Bang for the buck

    You can not beat the cost compared to other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus and environment of the school is a very good place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors and classes available are perfect for what I need.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Computer skills are a must, so be sure you know how to use it, if you do not, you should enroll in the college's computer sciences (CIS 101) course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is a community college, you will be expected to have the skills of a student enrolling in a 4 year school. The instructors will challenge you in many ways, and you should be prepared to know beyond the topic of the class. You should also have sufficient computer skills to use the online services, as well as internet based submissions for papers and other resources.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, Rock Valley College definitely tops the list when it comes to a need for great learning at the right cost. Tuition is based on the credit hours for the course, and it is relatively cheap compared to other schools. You also gain access to the college's resources, including an extensive writing center to help achieve your paper based goals, and a tutoring center free to students where you can be tutored by students who have completed the class with a B or higher, or by instructors.

    Did enjoy being here

    Rock Valley College may not offer much in the way of activities, due to it's size, however, the campus itself is very nice, class sizes are generally below 30, and you meet a great deal of people from the community. I personally worked at the tutoring center on campus, and met a great deal of people through it, all of whom I have become great friends with.

    Did learn a lot

    Rock Valley College Provided an excellent learning and preparatory experience, by providing challenging courses with expectations of a four year school. I would definitely recommend this college for learning.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, Not sure on major, want easy gen. eds

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in and get out. Rock Valley is not the kind of school that you want to be stuck at for an extra semester. A lot of the staff can be helpful, but you have to know who to look for, and unless you know someone who works for the college, that can be very hard to do. I would only recommend Rock Valley if you are really hurting for money to pay for college, and if you need to turn around your GPA from high school. Otherwise, work hard at getting into a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Rock Valley is pretty cheap, but the college experience is almost nonexistent. It was worth attending for a year to get some Gen. Eds. out of the way, but staying for a full degree would be a bit too much to ask for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    Rock Valley can be a very depressing place for students coming right out of high school, especially if you don't know anyone at the school. I came from out of district, so I mostly saw a bunch of people in their 40s going back to school, and unmotivated teens my age that I didn't really relate to. I am not saying that this is everyone at the school, but those two groups tend to overshadow the bright individuals attending.

    Am learning a lot

    Rock Valley is really hit or miss with the quality of teachers that you get. Some are brilliant and can teach you a lot, but others are very unorganized and unfocused, causing the classroom to be a boring and annoying experience. The only good thing here is that a lot of the classes are impossible to fail, unless you are horrible at attendance, but that isn't learning, that is passing.

  • 08/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to only get a 2 year degree and then enter the work force then this is definitely the place for you. It will give you a great college experience and prepare you all in just 2 years. Even if you're planning on going farther in your college life, starting at Rock Valley College for your first two years is smart and economic. It will cost a fraction of the price of attending a 4 year school for the same degree, but it will also prepare you for what universities will be like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send your FAFSA in for a chance to receive financial aid! I learned of this after my first year at Rock Valley College and have received financial aid that has paid for all of my tuition and extra costs while attending.

    Bang for the buck

    Rock Valley College, while only a 2 year school, I believe is on par with many 4 year colleges out there. The tuition is based on how many credit hours each class is and is relatively cheap if you're going for an Associates degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    Studying at Rock Valley College has been a great time in my life and I won't ever forget it. When I finally graduate it will be a sad day as I will miss being there and seeing the professors in the hallway that have taught me so much and have been more inspirational to me then I ever thought could be. I never thought I would enjoy going to classes so much as I have here or actually been excited for a Wednesday because of the history lecture I would be attending.

    Am learning a lot

    I have found that as long as you put the effort into showing up for class and listening it is almost impossible to not take away information that you can use for the rest of your life. Many of the professors are just as good as those you would find at a university, but are much more personal and will help you out because of the relatively small class sizes.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are dedicated about their education. Students who like to save money while still taking the same classes as their fellow graduates attending a university. Students who want to meet new people. Students who want to experience new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would ask that prospective students go into Rock Valley College with an open mind. Many students come to this school thinking, oh, it's just community college or it's just like high school because everyone comes here, but it really is not. I've met new people, learned new things, and have had a lot of new experiences. I'm going to college, and I feel like a college student! I also advise taking a class if someone suggests it. If one person suggests it, often times you will hear from other people enjoying the class. My last tip is do not stress out if you do not have a major. In fact, most teachers prefer students without majors! You start college at a young age, and you have years to figure out what you want to do for the rest of your life. Do not settle for something you do not enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Like many students at Rock Valley College, I had to make the decision to come here because of financial reasons. Best decision ever! I am a huge bargain hunter, and Rock Valley College is one of those schools that offers all the classes anyone could need with an affordable price tag! The bookstore allows students to buy, sell back, and even rent textbooks. Parking is also free which is a huge plus, and there is even a bus system for students who do not have or want to use their cars.

    Am enjoying being here

    I will never and have never regretted making my decision to go to Rock Valley College. Because it is a community college I have met a lot of new people from my own town and towns around mine. Every new semester opens up more doors to meet new and exciting students and teachers. The teachers here are very passionate about what they do. They actually enjoy teaching! The classes are never more than thirty students, which is nice for a better student-teacher relationship.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot here at Rock Valley College. I already know my major, but I am currently finishing up my general education classes. I like that the first two years basically has to be general education classes because it allows me to learn about subjects I never would have thought about taking. I have learned about all sorts of different fields and have even talked to/ learned from passionate individuals. There is even a free tutoring center ran by qualified students and teachers that help with all subjects, even art!

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    returning to college, professionals looking to further higher education, students just out of high school.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of opportunities to join clubs and different activities on campus. get involved!

    In three sentences

    i am incredibly impressed with the professors at rvc. not only has my experience been a positive one, but i have actually found this school to have a higher caliber of educators than what i have seen from other colleges i have attended.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depends who you are...

    Food and Dining

    There's a Papa Johns and Subway on campus, plus a lot of places deliver to campus. You can find almost anything you want within a ten minute radius.

    Dorm Life

    There really are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college, so not all of the classes are incredibly difficult, but if you take it seriously, the professors are more than capable of giving you a fantastic education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know which classes you want to take ahead of time, so you can allot your time wisely. Not to mention, that it doesn't hurt to look up your professors on RateMyProfessor.com; It seems silly, but the reviews are usually right!

    In three sentences

    A great school with wonderful professors. Has an incredibly friendly atmosphere. Plus, the campus is absolutely beautiful!

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a huge priority for the college. All the crosswalks on main campus have signs near them warning of pedestrians (and some even have small stop signs), certain stairways outside are closed in winter to prevent falls on the ice, the parking lots are plowed and sidewalks salted very early in the morning during winter, and speeding inside college grounds is swiftly dealt with.

    Greek Life

    There are multiple sororities and fraternities in RVC that I am aware of, but I do not belong to one. Occasionally I hear something about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join, and they are well-advertised and meet regularly. I hear they are all enthusiastic. I don't hear much about games, either home or away.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for anyone who likes a small (well-decorated) college with few people and fewer issues. You'd best transfer to a 4-year university to get your degree, but RVC is good for getting in your gen. eds; the professors are friendly and the work made for people who don't slack and want to achieve.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new landscaping was just recently completed on main campus. There is now a set of gravel paths winding around the stream in the center of campus. A huge fountain sprays up next to the main bridge crossing the stream, and benches are set around new plants and trees planted by the paths, all running down to the waterside.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent price, especially for those transferring to a university who want to get in their gen. eds, or any classes you need for your degree that are available at RVC. Prices in the bookstore, however, are not wonderful. Refunds can be given for purchased books at the end of semester or you can rent the books, but buying online is still cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, groups and teams to join. You can get a gym membership to work out in the lovely gym, or just hang out in one of the many lounging areas, some of which have TVs and/or computers.

    Food and Dining

    Each location has some sort of vending machine. On top of vending machines strewn around campus, the main campus has a pizza counter and a Subway counter in the Student Center and a coffee and muffin hut in the foyer of the library. Stenstrom Center has a small kitchen with some vending machines, a microwave, a sink, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Rock Valley College has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which class you take with which professor, some classes can be a breeze, even boring, but most classes make you work. Each professor wants you to give it your all, which can be tiring for a full-time student, but ultimately satisfying and definitely worth it to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    The layout of any of the locations can be confusing at first, but there's always a map in the front of the building, and some have signs pointing the way to a certain section for specialized courses (the Stenstrom building has multiple signs pointing the direction to the automotive and welding rooms, since they're sort of hidden away). Get to know your professor; most professors will help you out more or give you more feedback on work if you're friendly with each other. Above all else, read the notices! Whether it's an email or a piece of paper on the wall, make sure to read it. There's often some tidbit of info. that could impact your school day (certain stairways or parking lots may be closed, library might close early, date for refunds on books bought from the bookstore is coming up, etc.).

    In three sentences

    RVC is small and spread out, with multiple locations specializing in different types of courses (one building focuses on computer courses, another on industrial work and the medical field, etc.). The atmosphere is very comfortable, and several locations have a beautiful landscape with plenty of lounging room, both inside and out. While it is comfortable, it is also work-oriented; most people aren't just sitting around waiting for their next class, they're working.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never any problems on campus. The police on campus are super nice and always available to help. Flat tire, out of gas, dead battery...they'll help with anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs! I'm actively part of Student Life and President of Campus Activities Board. You meet so many people, and create a network of friends. You'll learn so much from everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students! Whether just out of high school, transferring, or continuing your education, Rock Valley is easily the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    Papa John's & Subway inside the Student Center. And the school is minutes away from riverside and east state.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, but there are apartments located nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will push you, a lot of them won't go easy on you. They want to give you the education you're paying for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go for your Associate's Degree. It may seem pointless if transferring, but it really helps.

    In three sentences

    Extremely great start for those who aren't ready to head out to a 4 year yet. Amazing staff/professors and fun atmosphere!

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus cops are actually really helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    really good!

    Bang for the buck

    epic!

    What to do for fun

    clubs, and extra curricular activities are awesome. campus gym is pretty good as well.

    Food and Dining

    there are three on campus restaurants. meg's cafe, subway, and papa johns. microwaves and vending are available throughout campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    depends on your schedule, really.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved outside of class! get involved outside of class! be involved!

    In three sentences

    pretty awesome place with awesome teachers. great class offerings and extracurricular activities. awesome, growing, campus.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports that you can play at rock valley college and also many clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Rock Valley has a great Food area where you can choose from subway and other great great places.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Although Rock Valley is a Community college the classes really prepare you.

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is a great community college. The campus is small, which is great, and classrooms are small. Rock valley college has many careers and degrees you can pursue.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on campus and walking/driving around monitoring the school. If someone needed an escort to their car at night or help with locking their keys in the car, a campus police officer would always be glad to assist them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities at Rock Valley College, including Model United Nations, Philosophy Club, Psychology Club, Black Student Association, and many more. There are also athletics including, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's tennis, men's golf, women's volleyball, softball, and baseball. Each sport competes in the National Junior College Athletic Association Division III. There are also many teams that have gone to Nationals over the years and have either won Nationals or placed pretty high.

    Great for these types of students

    Rock Valley College is a great place to start for any students that live around the Rockford area and are not sure what field of study they would like to go into. Also, if you aren't quite sure about going away for school right away, Rock Valley is a great place to start your college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Rock Valley College is very cheap and you will get an outstanding education for what you are paying. It only makes sense to go to a good community college first, instead of paying thousands of dollars for general education classes at a bigger university.

    What to do for fun

    The Starlight Theatre at Rock Valley College (which is an outdoor theatre) puts on many plays throughout the year which include the drama students. There are also showcases put on by the Student Life Department that include talent shows, performers, etc. First Tuesday lectures are also done on the first Tuesday of every month, that include a different topic and are discussed in lecture form by a professor in that subject area.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Rock Valley College consists of Subway, Papa John's Pizza, and Meg's Daily Grind. There is no cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Rock Valley College.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors grade easier than others, but for the most part, most of the professors grade tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main tip for prospective students is to be prepared to do your work. Many people think that because Rock Valley is a Community College and not a University, that the work will be very easy. It is not! Many of the professors here have their PhD and have taught at bigger Universities. They expect their students to do college level work, just as any other big university would.

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College has a wonderful teaching staff who work very hard to make sure the students get everything they need. The classroom size is about 30-40 students which is also nice because the professor gets to know his or her students a lot better. Being a community college, Rock Valley keeps their prices extremely low, so almost anyone can afford it.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues.s

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't participated.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for motivated students who love working on things. There is a lot of book work, so you can't just be a grease monkey.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We get to hang out on the runway the day before the big Rockford air show. The Thunderbirds practice for hours that day and we sit out and watch them.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends. Everyone is working towards a similar goal in the Aviation Maintenance program, so it's easy to make friends with common interests.

    Food and Dining

    I can't say. I never eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You can work really hard and learn a lot. But you can easily slack off and pass (but not learn anything).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the disorganization of the financial aid office and any other office on campus. Also, in the Aviation Maintenance Technology program, you get what you put in. You can work really hard and learn a lot. But you can easily slack off and pass (but not learn anything).

    In three sentences

    The Aviation Maintenance Technology program is good, but has a lot of students in it. The financial aid office is very unorganized and unprofessional. The school is very economical (you get a lot for your money).

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Good

    What to do for fun

    Football games, EXCELLENT theater productions

    Food and Dining

    I personally haven't dined here but there are a lot of options for those that do.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. COmmunity college.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here and get your associates degree before going to a four year university!

    In three sentences

    It's campus is easy to get around. The staff and teachers are very helpful. There are many extracurriculars for anyone.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    RVC doesnt have any dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to give yourself plenty of time to find a paking spot. Sometimes its very hard to find one! :)

    In three sentences

    RVC is a very good commuinity college. I have attended it in the past and feel that it is good for our commuinity! I love that it is so close to my house and the professors are the same as any state university. I actually am proud of RVC.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police officers in the parking lots of the school as well as emergency points on campus.

    Greek Life

    As this is a community college, there are neither fraternities nor sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to choose from, as well as music lessons, theater, and campus jobs in which one could participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student, whether you want to save money, are unsure what you would like to major in, or even would prefer a smaller classroom and teacher-to-student ratio, would enjoy attending this school for its academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gorgeous theater in which the theater department produces plays by students in this field.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending this school gave me a superb education from fantastic teachers-- the same academic experience from any other college-- yet was more affordable than my laptop.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs one can participate in as well as enjoy the perks of living near the city of Rockford.

    Food and Dining

    Located in the student center there are only two restaurants as well as a coffee shop in an adjacent building, yet other restaurants surround the school.

    Dorm Life

    As this is a community college, there are not any dorms available for students, though there are apartment complexes near the college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Though this is a community college, the classes are designed in an intensive manner and reflect similar trends of other schools and universities; many teachers previously taught at state and private four-year universities and retained the same curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always remember to meet with your guidance counselor: he or she genuinely wishes to help you along your path to whatever end you decide. Plan as much as you can for any future plans, yet remain open-minded as you begin or continue your college career. Though this is a community college, take it as seriously as you would any other school or university-- the teachers and workload are just as intense.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school with a great, dedicated staff who strive to provide students with a successful college experience. The classes are flexible enough for anyone to attend and are structured to promote an intensive learning environment. One of the best ways to begin your college career if one intends on transferring; otherwise, a great school to acquire a certificate or associates' degree.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Great for these types of students

    students that want to stay at home while receiving a college education.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are expensive if you don't receive any aid.

    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria available with a Papa Johns

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are super easy to follow and professors are reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great community college to take your prerequisites.

    In three sentences

    This college has small class sizes that allows the students to interact with the professor on a more personal level. A lot of tutors available to help students. The small campus makes it easy to find which building your classes are in.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Phone boxes, and cops patrol the area, and keep it very safe for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfortunately, I don't take part in any of them yet, but am looking forward to them.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to expand their Computer Skills, Nursing, or many of the Arts/Communication skills should come here. Teachers are quite amazing when you get into the specialized classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing comes to mind, it's a relatively small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very effective, and very cheap for the dollar. Classes get you prepared for the university level classes, and ready to go for a BS.

    What to do for fun

    There's really nothing going on outside of campus, but there are some great clubs on campus to join and meet like minded individuals

    Food and Dining

    They only have a few restaurants available, Subway, Papa Johns, and various vending machines. Most restaurants close ~5pm on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nonexistant for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are definitely tough, English comes to mind. Others are much simpler, such as Western History, but I've enjoyed pretty much every teacher I've met so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss classes, and take advantage of all of the resources RVC has to offer. They really do care about their students if you take the time to ask.

    In three sentences

    This school is definitely cheap, but effective at getting you an AA, AS, or AAS and helping you transfer into a 4 year university. The teachers for the most part seem to care about how you're doing and where you're going.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are not sure if college is for them. Those who are not sure what they want to major in. Those who can not afford a 4 year college right away.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my great friends. I like going to country music events. I enjoy being on a boat or tubing on the river.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food and dining places of all price levels. Most are very close to campus, within 3-4 minutes. There is some on-campus food choices. 3 star.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available. Many apartments are in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to have a solid ACT score or you will have to pass entrance exams to be able to take college level classes. The professors are very knowledgable and are willing to work with you if you show up to class and make a reasonable effort to do the class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait to register for your classes. To get the class dates and times that fit your schedule, register within the first hours that registration starts online or by phone. You can rent books if you use the online book program and you can save a lot of money.

    In three sentences

    RVC is a small college located in a great area of Rockford, Illinois. RVC has reasonable tuition costs and is affordable to most any family's financial budget. The general education classes are transferable to a 4 year college.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The best 'bang for the buck' at RVC is by far the tuition rate. You really can't beat it. Its truly what is making my dream come true. Had RVC been relative to other schools, I never would have been able to talk myself into going back to school.

    What to do for fun

    As stated in a previous section, I'm an extremely busy person. I'm more of an all business, not so much play. However, there are many things to do for fun in the area. These things range from theatrical experiences to stock car racing, to mini putting, to laser tag, to movies, to museums. Rockford is a large area with many opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    As a night student, I'm a 'get in and get out' kind of person. So, I do not get the opportunity to experience the food and dining offered at RVC.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. I live at my home in Belvidere, IL.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is hard for me to answer at the moment. At some times, it seems very tough. Although, at other times, it seems easy. I work 45 hours during the week, run my own side business, race stock cars on the weekend, and try to have a social life. Therefore, at times it seems extremely hard because I may have not had the adequate amount of time to study. However, I was blessed with a great and tough academic upbringing, which prepared me for all things related to academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rock Valley College offers many opportunities at a remarkable price. Do not take this for granted, because you won't find another institution like this. Although RVC offers so much, you still have to shape your own future. They will give you the tools, but you need to pick them up and put them to work. RVC will take you far, but 'how far' is up to you.

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is the a great place for adult students. The low tuition rate and night class availability is what makes working a full-time job while furthering your education and career a possibility. Also, every instructor I've had so far has had a great personality, which helps with motivation to come to class and the willingness to learn and do well.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel 100% safe on this campus. Everyday I am there I see police patrolling the area and there are plenty of help phone call boxes around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have various clubs and activities, but my favorite has been Intervarsity.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone trying to gain a great education while saving money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lovely creek that runs through the campus. Lots of beautiful study places located outside three seasons of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall I am satisfied with my education at Rock Valley College. The professors have been truly helpful and care about my learning. The campus is beautiful and the students and faculty are kind.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun around Rockford. Things like bowling, movies, volunteering, ice-skating, attending sports games like hockey, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I really enjoy the Subway that they have on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always room to grow, but Rock Valley College does a good job for being thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    File your FAFSA for financial aid. Apply for a work-study at the actual campus. Do your homework. Always review your study plan goals and the syllabus weekly. Stay focused and only commit to responsibilities that are in your top five priorities while attending school full-time. Go to church every Sunday and get connected with a small group that are committed to God and His ways.

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is a great college if you are looking for good education for minimal costs. The professors are interested in the students and their learning. With the varying clubs, R.V.C. provides a good college experience at a low price.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Rock Valley College is one of the most cost effective community colleges in the area. There isn't a college close by that can beat that.

    What to do for fun

    There are lists of clubs and activities along with the physical education center and it's gym access to students. If you're into anime, science, or history, there are clubs for those and much much more!

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple restaurants in the Student Center which is handy for between classes or even on the way out for the trip home. They currently have a Papa Johns and a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Rock Valley College does not have any dorms but there are apartment complexes nearby for students who wish to live own their own or close by the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Rock Valley is very focused on the academics of students and making sure it's students get the education they need. They show this with their constantly expanding course curriculum and campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise any student who is looking into attending RVC to speak with an academic counselor. They are all willing to help you figure out and achieve your goal(s). Be organized and prepared for the semesters to come as the classes get filled up quickly. If you need help in a subject, nearly every professor I have taken at Rock Valley has been more than willing to get you back on track. If you need help, just ask!

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is constantly trying to expand its campus and classes. They have recently added the Jacobs Center for Science and Math which adds numerous classrooms and expands the colleges focus on mathematical skills. In general, Rock Valley College does a very good job and keeping it's curriculum on course with what is in demand today.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus with enough security to feel safe. I have never felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a community college, it has great groups and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are unsure about their futures.

    Bang for the buck

    Rock Valley is a great investment. It allows you to get off to a great academic start at a low cost.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very dedicated to you individually because of the smaller class size.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure on what you would like to go into, Rock Valley is a great place to start! If you are tight on money, consider Rock Valley.

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is a good starting point. Rock Valley College helped me decide on my future. Rock Valley has been a low cost good experience.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent lighting and campus security. You never feel your safety is compromised.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who are not sure they are ready to go away to a 4 year university this is the best place. The tuition is more than reasonable for the amount of guidance and personal attention.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the tuition for the caliber of education.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of fast food places in the student center.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your guidance counselors regularly. Get involved with the enormous amount of clubs.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with a knowledgeable faculty. My experience over the past two years has been very positive and has prepared me to go on to a larger university. I highly recommend Rock Valley for your general education classes and to get the guidance and advice on careers and areas of interest.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Alot going on all the time. Last week there was a band playing during lunch on a Wednesday!

    Great for these types of students

    The online classes and instructors are great for me being a stay at home mom

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Watch out for the geese.

    Bang for the buck

    Low tuition

    What to do for fun

    I don't have time for fun right now

    Food and Dining

    Needs more selection

    Dorm Life

    Great student Atmosphere

    Academic Rigor

    Get ready to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Computer Labs allow you to print with no charge

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley is a great school. Could use variety in food availability on campus. Clean Campus.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rock Valley policeman seen around campus. Phone stationed around campus in case of emergency. I've never had any problems on campus. If there is an emergency or if something has happened, you will be notified by faculty or through student portals.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different student-led activities, groups and organizations around campus. You would want to get involved to enhance your RVC experience, instead of ONLY going to classes. Their are different athletic teams, some sorors./frats., community involvement, and so on.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is hassle-free, tuition very affordable, and you can go to games and other events on campus at inexpensive student rates.

    What to do for fun

    So many student led activities, student groups and organizations to join. Of course, you should get involved in these activities. Being involved around campus will enhance your experience at RVC and, who wants to ONLY go to classes?

    Food and Dining

    You can find vending machines in every building at RVC's main campus, some food vendors and small cafes in the RVC main campus Student Center, which is convenient for between-class lunch, if your class schedule permits. Nearby restaurants and other stores, otherwise, bring a lunch, especially if you have a full schedule.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry, no dormitories. On the bright side, you save money!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Go to your classes, do your work, and maintain at least a 3.0 GPA, you'll be alright. In case you start to fall behind, there are subject labs around campus that offer tutoring and assistance in classes you are failing.

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is a great community college for people to go to, especially those who do not want to go to a 4-year university, those who want to further their education, and for those who don't know what university they want to attend. RVC offers many degree programs, majors and certifications. Financial aid is a piece o' cake, there are many resources available for students, and the student life is great!!!

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of parks in the area, a mall not far away, and lots of other places to shop.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a Subway and Papa John's on campus. The Subway isn't even full service, but the food is average.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to do homework, even if not given a grade. Finals are never easy, so study hard. Take a non-western class to broaden your horizons!

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley is an above average community college. The rates are affordable, the teachers are knowledgeable in their subjects, and it is a nice campus with new buildings and renovations being completed.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs like Ultimate Frisbee, Bowling, Tabletop Gaming, and plenty more! Students are also welcomed to start up their own clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway and Papa Johns in the student center, but you could always leave campus and stop somewhere else to eat. There's a deli not far down the road, Burger King, Wendy's, McDonald's, etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teacher's give you a lot of homework, while others just expect you to pay attention in class. Try to be alert and get all your work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's nice if you don't have enough money to go to a four-year college right away. I would advise trying to save up money. I also advise paying attention and acting like you want to be there. There are some laid-back teachers, and some not-so-laid-back. Also, a lot of homework seems to be online, so be prepared to type a lot!

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. There are helpful teachers. There is a wide diversity.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who'd like to explore options, have time to figure things out, and still work towards a goal.

    Bang for the buck

    $100 a credit hour, great deal, still not affordable unless you take out loans, but all college is expensive. Definitely one of the lowest rates available.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and laugh between classes. The school still feels youthful and fun, so it's pretty easygoing.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple of small restaurants in the student centers, subway and papa johns, but I take night classes and they are closed by the time I get to school

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at rock valley, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult, yet not completely overwhelming. Still able to hold down a job while attending this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out slowly. Take a couple of classes and get the hang of things. If you take too many classes, it will be overwhelming. Slow and steady is the way to go.

    In three sentences

    Rock valley is nearby, affordable, and gives a quality education. The class size is small and teachers actually know your name. If pure looking for a great school to start out slowly, rock valley is your best option.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    their are emergency buttons in about every corner.

    Clubs and Activities

    a variety to choose from. From LGBT club to Alias club

    What to do for fun

    Their are plenty full clubs that one can join as well as space to enjoy with your colleagues.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your resources. Go out and about explore your school. You never know what your school has to offer you until you search.

    In three sentences

    Rock valley College is a great school to prepare you for a university. It is affordable, very great education and their is a huge amount of connections. I rate it a 8 out of 10.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police department and there are many safe zones.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in between classes. You can go play sport or work on music.

    Food and Dining

    Subway, papa johns!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not to hard but you have to remember this is college. The higher level the harder it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, choose RVC. It is so fun and engaging. They help you with everything you need and the class sizes are not to big.

    In three sentences

    Rock valley college is the best community college I could have choose. It's so fun with campus life and clubs with all kinds of students. There is no way anyone could fail because there is a huge tutoring staff.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There are only a few food choices, vending machines, subway, papa john's, and meg's coffee house. Unfortunately there is no Coke products. it is a Pepsi campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living, as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that most of my classes are challenging yet not so challenging as to deter from succeeding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should try and familiarize themselves with the financial aid process and deadlines. Ask questions, if you have a question it is probable that others also have your question, so it is helpful to get an answer!

    In three sentences

    Rock Valley College is a great place to begin your collegiate career. There are many opportunities offered to help students succeed. Rock Valley College is a school that offers many different types of programs including programs that help you prepare for transfer to a four year school.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have 24 hour security available. They can help you unlock your car when needed and get to your destination fast.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great diverse groups on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you want philosophical talk, go to the circle couches.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable prices compared to a four-year university. Many four-year students come back to take classes in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    You have the option of Meg's, Subway, and Papa John's. All good but close too early.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will make you strive to the best you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in college.

    In three sentences

    They have smaller classroom sizes. The teachers are well accredited. The campus layout is beautiful

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    RVC has a very small campus that is constantly patrolled by the campus police and is very well lit. Also, there are emergency call stations located all over the campus.

    Greek Life

    RVC does not have Greek life since it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am aware that RVC has some clubs, sports, and other activities, but I do not participate in any since there are so few offered.

    Bang for the buck

    RVC is a community college, so it is very, very affordable. It is not the ideal college experience most students are looking for, however it will allow students to earn an education for a fraction of the price of many other colleges and universities. But since it is only a two-year college, students can still move on to four-year colleges and universities and gain the college experience.

    Food and Dining

    RVC only has four options for food: Subway, Papa John's, Meg's, or the vending machines. Subway and Papa John's are located in the student center, located near the atrium where students can dine throughout the day. Meg's is a small local cafe located in the Educational Resource Center building. I highly recommend it. My personal favorite is their chocolate chai tea! And, if all else fails, there is always the vending machines which are conveniently located in each building.

    Dorm Life

    RVC is a community college and does not have on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    RVC has a strong science program. Every science class I have taken was not easy, but the teachers were nice, helpful, and showed genuine interest in their students. On the other hand, their English department is lacking. Some English teachers only assigned minimal amounts of homework, while others loaded it on as if it were the only class the students had to focus on. Overall, I would say RVC is fairly well-rounded in the sense that most teachers encourage their students to learn, rather than to simply get through classes with passing grades.