Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rockhurst University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    RU is great for students who are service oriented and also students who love to learn! It is a great, challenging school. If you are looking to go further in college than just a four-year university Rockhurst is an amazing place to start!

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one thing I would absolutely recommend is to join every club/organization that you think you might enjoy! Rockhurst offers a variety of groups for every person. Also do not miss out on free food/movies/etc that is given to students as a reward for doing such hard work. I would also say to incoming freshmen, enjoy living in the freshmen dorms... they're AMAZING. And never forget that the teachers are there to help you, so do not hesitate to go to their office!

    Bang for the buck

    Although I love RU, I do have to admit that sometimes feel like I can't afford to go to school there. It is a private, Jesuit university so that automatically means that it is going to cost more than a state university, but I do wish it cost a little less to attend. I must admit that there are an exponentially large number of scholarships available for students seeking to attend Rockhurst University, so that's a plus! Student activity fees are definitely worth paying for because SAB (Student Activities Board) include free movie nights, catering, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes, of course, I miss being at home but otherwise I really do love it! Rockhurst has more than enough activities, including Rockstock (free concert with amazing bands) or Hawk Week, to keep you occupied. I also love the fact that RU is completely service oriented. I feel such a sense of community when I'm at Rockhurst.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the teachers at Rockhurst. No matter what kind of problem you are having, they are willing to go above and beyond their call of duty as a teacher to make sure you grasp a concept. I once spent three hours in a teacher's office trying to understand a couple math problems before the test! That teacher (no names included) has to be my favorite teacher to date!

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Average. If really intelligent you will be bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand that liberal arts education means getting stuck with professors who don't deserve ti be teaching a class, but you are required to take it. It can really suck

    Bang for the buck

    I guess they do award very good financial aid, but they seem to lack good humanities, again. So if you want science or math, sure. If not, avoid it.

    Did enjoy being here

    The people are great, I loved them. It's just that the food is pretty terrible and the academics suck. I think that if you want easy classes that require little work (outside of pre-med or math), and you want to party it up every weekend, come here. If you want a harder curriculum, stay away.

    Did learn a lot

    I found everything here to be redundent to high school. Granted my high school was a classical one, but the academics in the humanities are REALLY WEAK.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    although rockhurst does not sit in the best part of town, campus security and administration take extra precautions to make sure that it is safe for the students. there is no reason to feel unsafe on campus, but you have to be smart about your decisions when leaving campus

    Greek Life

    we do have greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    rockhurst has tons of clubs and different areas to get involved on campus

    Great for these types of students

    rockhurst is great for anyone looking for a small, private institution and students that are dedicated to their studies and education. rockhurst is not for someone who wants to slide through college easily. you will be challenged everyday! there are all different people that go to rockhurst so don't think that you won't fit in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are no unusual locations on campus really, we have a larger than life adorandak chair that can be seen on the university's website that is fun to play around in!

    Bang for the buck

    rockhurst is expensive, but they do offer a lot of scholarships to incoming freshman and the liberal arts, well rounded education that you recieve is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on on-campus that is fun to do whether its play sand volleyball or an organized event hosted by a sorority or fraternity. even if you are not interested in doing on campus activites, kansas city is full of fun and interesting things to do including visiting the nelson-atkins museum of art, shopping on the country club plaza, or going ice skating down at crown center. there is never a shortage of activities!!

    Food and Dining

    the food at rockhurst is not bad at all. i have never ordered something that i did not like and there is a plant sub on campus!

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorms really allows you to meet a lot of people and get involved. there are always fliers for fun events hanging up around the dorms and talking to everyone in your hall is a great way to make friends

    Academic Rigor

    rockhurst is a private, jesuit institution that really values the liberal arts education. you won't be put in a huge lecture hall with 1,000 students and learn the basic information of any given subject. the small class sizes allow you to dive deeper into the information and get depth on the topics covered.

    Tips for prospective students

    be outgoing! never say no when someone invites you to go do an activity and don't be afraid to be yourself!!

    In three sentences

    rockhurst is a great university for someone looking to make close relationships with their professors and know them on a personal level. also, meeting new people is super easy because of the size of the university and there are students from all over the world waiting to meet you! what i love most about rockhurst is that the teachers truely want you to succeed and they are willing to do whatever it takes to help get you to the place that you want to be.

  • 04/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you would like a small school feel, the Jesuit tradition and to live in a town where there is tons of shopping then Rockhurst is should be one of your top choices. The small school feel not only helps you really get to know the people you go to school with but it also lets you get to know your teachers really well. The Jesuit tradition is really big here at Rockhurst and it is part of why we do service and also why our core class requirements cover a broad spectrum of future career ideas. Finally the shopping, Rockhurst isn't in the middle of nowhere, it is in the heart of Kansas City. We have the Plaza 10 min. away and if you like shopping as much as me you will realize that going to a college where there is wonderful shopping close by is an important part in you decision making process.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at colleges it may sound stupid but a pro/con list is the way to go. Get out a pen and paper and sit down with your parents and brochures from the colleges your interested in and write why you would want to go to one and why you wouldn't want to go to one. It will make you see what is important to you and what you are looking at in a college which will make your choice easier.

    Bang for the buck

    Rockhurst is an expensive university and for some people that is a turn off but if you did well in high school you can get amazing scholarships to go here and the financial aid office is always willing to help. I would say it is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Rockhurst University. It is a great school and the maint hing I like about it is that it is small. When you walk around campus you will see at least one person that you know. Also, the class sizes are small so it wasn't a hard transition from high school and it keeps you accountable because if you skip class, your teachers will know.

    Am learning a lot

    It is incredible how much I learn. I thought high school was hard and I would never actually remember what I learned so what was the point, but I realized when I got to college that I remembered a lot of what I learned in high school and it helped set the foundation to what I am learning now in college.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants a great education and doesn't mind a smaller school atmosphere should think about RU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! If you decide to go to Rockhurst, you will hear this phrase a lot, but they truly mean it. I met so many new people through my experience as a Rockstar and joining my sorority, and this upcoming year, I will be an Orientation Leader as well as a Student Ambassador. These leadership opportunities allow you to make connections with students as well as staff members at RU. At any school, you can't just sit in your dorm room all day, you need to get out there, get involved, and know that there is more to life than just acing classes. Extracurriculars will also you to escape the stresses of class, you just have to find whats right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Since RU is a private, Jesuit school, the tuition is more expensive than a public university. They offer TONS of financial aide though (96% in fact). You can also get additional scholarships elsewhere and the tuition is then cut down to just as much, if not less than public institutions. Also, just graduating from a university like Rockhurst looks excellent on a résumé for future careers and it makes future employers say Wow.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since Rockhurst is such a small school, you make bonds with people very quickly and get to know a lot of different students. I feel as if I could name most of the people in my class and have a personal connection with each one of them. Just walking form my dorm to the cafe, I could pass ten people and each of them will say hi to me. You can also walk into a party and see that there are a lot of people there, but you know most of them, so it is easy to make conversation. Everyone is so nice and welcoming!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a biology (Pre-Med) major, and in my experience, I have been learning so much more than I could ever imagine in my college years. (And this is only my freshman year!) I can already see connections from biology to chemistry as well as biology to psychology. The professors know their material and try to convey it to you in interesting ways. The only thing I don't like is the liberal arts education aspect. Liberal arts basically means that you have additional core courses that you need to complete as well as the courses for your major. I would rather focus on science than have to take an art class on top of that.

  • 11/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fantastic for the types of students who love to feel like individuals not just a face in the crowd. Your teachers will really get to know each student on an individual basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would work hard in high school to get all the requirements to get into a school like this

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little expensive but there are plenty of scholarship opportunities!

    Am enjoying being here

    I very much enjoy being here the environment is great and everyone is helpful and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a ton, here all of the teachers are great! Small class sizes allow you to get to know your professors and vice versa.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus may not be located in the absolute best area, but i feel very safe. all doors are open during the day, but at nights and on weekends, everything is swipe access and, therefore, still available to you. there are desk assistants at the front of every dorm, red phones all over campus (inside and outside), and campus security is prompt and informs, through email, on any and all cases in the area.

    Greek Life

    there are several fraternities for majors, social, and other interests. there are also sororities. don't worry; there is no hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a vast assortment of clubs and activities to be part of. they serve as excellent leadership opportunities and are a great way to meet others with similar interests! there is always a place for you!

    Great for these types of students

    rockhurst university offers a variety of degrees, but from what i know, really strive in business and nursing. other fields i see a lot around campus are english, philosophy, theology, pre-med, etcetera.

    Bang for the buck

    most students receive scholarships every year through the school, but need a bit more on top of that. personally, i think the quality of education and opportunities here are well worth the cost. i love this school so much that i refuse to transfer closer to home, even after getting married.

    What to do for fun

    for fun you can hang out in the rock room watching a big screen tv, playing pool, ping pong, pac man, and such, or just hanging around with friends. there are good sized areas for various types of sports (soccer, tennis, sand volleyball, baseball, etc), including a 24 hour gym that is quite nice. there are plenty of extra curricular activities, even suiting your major, as well as plays and movies put on in the theater, a plaza near by if you feel like going for a walk, and even more.

    Food and Dining

    food consists of the cafeteria, pub, and planet sub that also has a mini version of starbucks. the cafeteria always has an assortment of 3-5 main courses to choose from and is actually quite delicious. the pub has food similar to what you would find at a bar and grill along with a bit more, such as fruit and ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    as a junior, i still live in the dorms and plan to again my senior year. it is great getting to know the people in your hall during fun little outings of events. there are also pool tables, ping pong, movies, and such that provide fun times to be had.

    Academic Rigor

    attending class and doing homework is your choice, but your decision will have its consequences, be they positive or negative. teachers here are quite friendly and accommodating, but do have their expectations as well. as long as you manage your time wisely, you will have free time during the week as well as the weekend.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit rockhurst university! you will be provided with useful information to help you make your decision, will get acquainted with the campus, and have a great time with fellow prospective students. also, do more than what's expected of you and you will surely prosper.

    In three sentences

    rockhurst university instills the jesuit tradition of learning, leadership, and service. they offer high quality classes, fantastic leadership opportunities, and vast service opportunities. in addition, it has the perfect size, feel, and beauty about it!

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    CATHOLIC

    Clubs and Activities

    CHEER, SOCCER, BASKETBALL, VOLLEYBALL, BASEBALL , RACKET BALL , WEIGHT LIFTING

    Great for these types of students

    AVERAGE KIDS THAT LIKE UNIVERSITY DORM FEEL BUT LIKE THE CHEAPER SCHOOL AND SMALL LLLL CLASSROOMS WHICH I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE MANS HEAD TO RUB FOR GOOD LUCK, THE BIG CHAIR , THE YELL SPOT TO ECHO AND GET EVERYONES ATTENTION!

    Bang for the buck

    SO FAR I CAN AFFORD IT SO WERE GOOD

    What to do for fun

    HANG OUT ON THE LAWN AND STUDY, PLAY GAMES, GO TO MASS THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!, CHEER, WORK OUT , BE WITH YOUR ROOMMATES.

    Food and Dining

    THEY HAVE A PLANET SUB, A PUB, AND A DINNER LOCATION

    Academic Rigor

    I AM DOING CHEER ITS NOT HIGHSCHOOL ITS BETTTTTTTTTTTTTTER. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    GET A TOUR THERE FUN AND YOU GET TO KNOW SOMEONE :) AND YOUR FAFSA TEAM.

    In three sentences

    EXCELLENT SCHOOL, GOOD SCHOOL AND GREAT ACADEMICS

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to talk to anyone. No one bites ;)

    In three sentences

    The staff is amazing. They are willing to help you out and are really nice!

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, coming from someone who has experienced three different college meal plans. They have a lot of choices. There's a Planet Sub, Starbucks and The Pub, which is like an American burger restaurant type place. Then there is the Caf, which is your average college cafeteria. They work off of points, which is also nice because you're not spending an entire meal if all you want to buy is a bagel.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are really nice; they're nicer than other state school dorms. XL, on the other hand, STAY AWAY! The ceilings are asbestos, which you can tell by the stench of the rooms. XL needs to be torn down asap. It is ridiculously old and run down. The Town Houses are also really nice. They're a great option for upper class men wanting to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not very difficult. If you are willing to put in the work, teachers are usually very good about helping you out so you receive the grade you want. If you went to a private high school, you know what I mean. It is very similar.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friend, volunteer, join clubs, attend a soccer game, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There's a variety of options you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The room seizes are just right.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come in with an open heart and be focused in school.

    In three sentences

    Rockhurst is a very small school that gives students as much attention as possible. This school also pushes all students to do community service and be involved in activities as much as possible. They're also very welcoming and made me feel like I belong there.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security check in. the school is pretty safe.

    Dorm Life

    i have not lived in the dorms, but they do look wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know where you are from and where you are going,it is a good first step. Now, the next thing you need to do is work hard and be motivated.

    In three sentences

    I have always dreamed to attend Rockhurst University. It was the best news i received this year when i learned that i got accepted. Rockhurst is my dream come true.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    It's private school pricing.

    What to do for fun

    Events sponsored by the school, plaza shopping center nearby, gym, arcade type hangout.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre food but it's college.

    Dorm Life

    They try

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really explore and find out what you want to do! take advantage of the service opportunity.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small. The teachers care. The kids are crazy.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is awesome. They are always available and help to make Rockhurst a safe place to go to school for the students. The security guards make rounds constantly and take care of any problems your may have. They are super helpful.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities and four sororities. They are all great ways to get involved. I am personally in Alpha Sigma Alpha at Rockhurst and it was one of the best decisions I have made here. Greek life is so much fun and really brings to close with your fellow Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, language clubs, service fraterniy, business fraternity, religious groups, singing, dancing, soccer, tennis, lacrosse, basketball, volleyball, relay for life, student activities board, senate etc.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you are paying for when you go to Rockhurst. The staff is amazing, the academics are great, and there is always some event going on at campus that is free. There are even free concerts. Rockhurst provides a lot for its students and gives them great experiences for their money.

    What to do for fun

    At Rockhurst there are tons of things to do. There is always something happening on campus. When it's warm get a ball and play soccer or beach volley ball. Go out to the plaza and shop. Go to the park and play frisbee. There is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not as bad as people say college food is. There are lots of choices and three different places to eat at. There are always ways to make the food healthier, plus we are working on even more.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is so much fun. You get to meet people and bond with everyone on your floor. You will all have a close connection and will hold your first floor mates in your heart. The dorms are clean and comfy.

    Academic Rigor

    Rockhurst is challenging but all of the professors are willing to help. There are also tutors always available. Rockhurst wants you too succeed and is willing to do anything to allow that to happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Rockhurst, you are challenged so keep up with your studies. It's easy to fall behind. Take every opportunity you can, there will be many. Carpe diem, seize the day, it will go by faster than you think. Get involved, you meet so many people you otherwise would not have met.

    In three sentences

    Rockhurst is an incredible university that has challenged me to live up to my full potential and become the best person I can be. From its inspiring staff and friendly students to all the different clubs and activities, it has become one if the most important parts of my life. Rockhurst is home and I cannot imagine being anywhere else.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On Campus very safe. Off campus not so safe. Bad surrounding area.

    Greek Life

    Not too many fraternity and sorority options, but ones on campus are extremely fun. Students make many friendships through greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sports on campus including intramural. Many sports continue to be added. There is no football team.

    Bang for the buck

    Rockhurst has many great job opportunities waiting for graduates after graduation. It is a good investment.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and intramurals to do at Rockhurst. Lobby have many areas to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Three different places to eat on campus. Something is always open until midnight. Variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are nice. Upperclassmen dorm is old. On Campus Townhouses are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Many options for classes. Classes are not too hard, but the do teach you what you need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for degree in the fields of science, medicine, and business; Rockhurst is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Rockhurst is a small Jesuit University in Kansas City, Missouri. It is a great university, it has many opportunities to get involved campus and has a great sense of community.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for small class sizes, academic challenges, while all being located in a city would do well at Rockhurst.

    Bang for the buck

    The great thing about Rockhurst is that they give out a lot of scholarships. So, as long as you did well in high school you should be able to receive quite a bit of scholarship money.

    What to do for fun

    Just five minutes away from the Country Club Plaza, Westport, and ten minutes away from Power and Light District there is a variety of activities to do outside Rockhurst. It is great to be in a major city where your options are endless.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Rockhurs

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes at Rockhurst are small ranging from 12 to 60 students. This is great because you can form a relationship with your professor and they are always willing to help. There are also tutoring sessions in the Student Learning Center which are very easy to set up. Many science classes have SI (supplemental instruction) once a week which is lead by past students.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though the area around campus isn't superb, there is campus security around 24/7 everyday of the year. I have never felt unsafe the 2 years I have lived there.

    Greek Life

    I am currently in a sorority and love it. I feel that most people do Greek Life, however, if one chooses not to it will not affect them socially. I currently life with 4 unaffiliated girls and one Greek affiliated.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities on campus such as, green club, lacrosse, tennis, inter-murals, spiritual clubs, ambassadors, social mentors, and many more. It is so easy to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    There are great business, nursing, and teaching programs at Rockhurst and the teachers and advisers help students network and find careers right away. I feel like any students are welcome, but there a mostly Caucasian Catholics, however diversity is growing for the free thinking teaching styles.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It may be a bit different than a usual large university because it is private and Jesuit, so there are some Catholic tendencies that happen on campus. However, all events are optional and not forced upon you.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love Rockhurst and KC. Though it is not for everyone, I have had the greatest part of my life so far and I am only 20 years old!

    What to do for fun

    Rockhurst is in the heart of Kansas City. There is a great shopping area only 2 minutes away. And downtown KC is Just 10 minutes away. But there is always something happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't anything great, but there are many options.

    Dorm Life

    You only have to live in the dorms freshman year. I had a blast, I just don't like communal bathrooms is all.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficult school. You will have to study. However, what you put into it is what you get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the different organizations on campus. Everyone is helpful and friendly.

    In three sentences

    Rockhurst University is a second home for me. It's a place of leadership, learning, and service in the Jesuit tradition. Rockhurst holds each student accountable for his or her actions and creates opportunities for each student who is willing to do hard work.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no phaternities or sorrorities!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have over 30 Intramurals.

    What to do for fun

    Go down to the local shopping AREA!

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the Ride to the Rock! It is so much fun

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is amazing. The students are very friendly. The teachers there are really energetic and nice.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unless you honor the Second Amendment, always be careful, as campus police might not be there to help on time. Safety has been an issue on campus, however, there have been some improvements since the growth of the campus community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fraternities and sororities. However, the business club is highly recommended, since the school is known for excellence in the Masters in Business Administration program.

    Bang for the buck

    With excellent faculty and education, it is definitely bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Country Club Plaza, the premier of Kansas City, Missouri. Lots of shopping. If you're a music lover, go to the Jazz District on 18th Street and Vine.

    Food and Dining

    Food and staff are great, however, it is better to shop for food elsewhere and eat at home rather than the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you stay, you have different experiences. The townhouses are the best. However, be careful when walking alone at night, as the school is located in an urban area of Kansas City, Missouri.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, it is challenging, but professors do care about you as students. In addition, be prepare to do a lot of writing in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare to work hard and enjoy your time at Rockhurst. Embrace friendship and develop relationships with students, staff, and professors.

    In three sentences

    Rockhurst is a great place for learning, with caring faculty and they do challenge your intellectual thinking. In addition, all teachers and staff teach from a social justice - Jesuit worldview, treating every student with dignity and respect.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being right in the heart of Kansas City, there is so much to do such as going shopping on the Plaza, visiting the many fountains, and going to West Port.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    Very spacious and this is where you will meet your closest friends.

    Academic Rigor

    One on one relationships with professors and small class sizes help with understanding concepts that could be hard to learn in a big lecture hall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself coming into college, especially at Rockhurst. Don;t be afraid to join more than one club or organization because you can do that at Rockhurst. Get involved!

    In three sentences

    Rockhurst University is where future leaders learn. From the diverse students and organizations that you can be a part of, to the one on one atmosphere in the classrooms, Rockhurst provides that home away from home feel with opportunities to find yourself and grow as a person. With the small school feel that is in the heart of Kansas City, Rockhurst is the perfect college for everyone.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a smaller environment and need to be known by your peers than this is a great college for you!

    What to do for fun

    The campus has lots of activities for students to get involved in. There is greek life, clubs, and on campus events that take place on a regular basis.

    In three sentences

    I am in the nursing program at Rockhurst University (Research College of Nursing) And I have been nothing but pleased with my education experience. The school is small and focuses on serving the students in any way they can. Faculty knows me by name and is great at engaging with students.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    really active and wonderful

    What to do for fun

    If your over twenty one there is the power and light district downtown which is pretty cool, but there is something called the Student Activities Board that does all kinds of free events like concerts, dinners sports games and so on

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to study when you first come, because it is almost impossible to make minimum standards for a major without studying

    In three sentences

    I love the community here at Rockhurst. Living here is similar to being with a family, even if you do not know everyone they are still kind and warm. In addition we have a rigorous academic standard.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always on patrol on and around campus. They keep the students and faculty informed at all times and are quick to take care of any situation at hand.

    Greek Life

    We have an awesome and growing Greek community. PKA TKE SAE ADG GPB ZTA TPA ASA

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to name. And if you want to start something new, you can just make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are pretty laid back, very adventurous, and enjoy a great education, you should definitely come to Rockhurst.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the bell tower, a blue cow, and big blue chair.

    Bang for the buck

    A good chunk of change, but you get an amazing education. Most employers around the area see that you are from Rockhurst and hire you because of that.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the City!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Rockhurst gives you many options. You can choose to go to the Pub, Planet Sub, Starbucks, or the Dining Hall if you are on campus. If you aren't feeling campus food, you can always make a quick trip to many restaurants in the area including Chipotle, Yogurtini, Pizza 51, Oklahoma Joe's, and many more delicious Kansas City eats.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were my favorite part of campus living. They are the best for making new friends in close quarters. Just don't forget to bring your shower shoes.

    Academic Rigor

    Rockhurst provides a quality education with more one on one time with faculty. The class sizes are small, so it is easier to understand the material and get the help that you need. The course work is adequate and the academic rigor is set at the right level to help prepare you for your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to branch out, go to all of the campus events and make new friends. Explore Kansas City and find new restaurants and nooks that interest you. Don't be afraid of this big city because there are so many opportunities and adventures!

    In three sentences

    This private institution offers a high quality education within a comfortable community. The students and faculty at Rockhurst are inspired and motivated to lead others. It is the great education and opportunities that draw you in, and the people that go here are the reason you stay.