Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rockland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the public safety is always driving around the place. you always feel safe that if there ever is a rpoblem you can easily report it

    Clubs and Activities

    Im not very into the clubs but from what i hear they are pretty great!

    Great for these types of students

    RCC has a real diversity of students! great place to meet all types of people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rcc hosts an annual July 4th celebration with fireworks and a concernts

    What to do for fun

    Check out the clubs and fitness center! great pool!

    Food and Dining

    Awesome cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The proffessors demand perfection but the overall academic level is not to high

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of the tutoring program and library. The faculty is very helpful and it can really give you a chance to do well in school!

    In three sentences

    Rockland Commuinty College is an awesome place to start your higher education. The faculty is extremely helpful. Their tutoring program is absolutely amazing! It gives every student a chance to succeed!!

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are working full-time, they have classes from 8:00am to 7:00pm.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lot of security, make sure not to smoke on campus as it campus security will hassle you.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs, but the only downside is that they all meet during club hour, thus making it challenging to be in multiple clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who may have underachieved in high school and want to get into elite schools. it is easy to succeed here, and good grades coupled with extra-curricular activities will make you an appealing transfer student.

    Bang for the buck

    school is inexpensive, but this is not reflected in your school experience.

    What to do for fun

    the student union is a good place to hang out and meet people. make sure to join clubs, not only for your own fun, but also so you have some stuff to put on your application if you want to transfer to a four year school.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has decent food, but it is a little overpriced and their is no meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it is not difficult to succeed at rcc. professors have a knack for giving out study guides and letting you know whats on tests. the classes are thorough to an extent but sometimes feel to be slow paced and lacking depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get an idea of what four year schools you plan on attending, and what requirements you need in order to transfer into their programs. make sure to take those classes during your time at rcc.

    In three sentences

    if your local and don't want to pay top dollar for four years of school, then this is a good way to spend your freshman and sophomore years. community college is not the college experience that you envisioned in that their is no dorm, hence minimal campus life. however, there are activities aplenty and it's a communal feeling in that its a small school so you run into the same people a lot.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's a well known basketball team and other sports like baseball and tennis. recreation-ally there is a swimming pool open for the public at night.

    Food and Dining

    there's a dunkin donuts around the corner as well as pizza, subway,wendy's, and planet fitness. on campus there is a regular cafe but sometime they cook spanish food that is worth 6 bucks!

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorming in this community college

    Academic Rigor

    academically dependable. the teachers do not just read from a book and ask you to write papers, they actually teach and know what they are talking about,. i learned so much from the classes and i built close relationships with all my professors and that helped me when i needed recommendations!

    Tips for prospective students

    talk your teachers, they are most likely down to earth and want to see you pass unlike these cuny school tenure professors that just see you as dollar signs. the clubs are very involved so participate. also use your resources they are all there and waiting.

    In three sentences

    it is an awesome two year school. saves you a lot of money for education that is worth it. the teachers are all awesome.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety officers stationed all over and they are all very friendly. There is not much violence at all. Mostly the guards just give out parking or smoking tickets.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much offered at the school for a little over 100 dollars per credit. Great academic programs and a lot of extracurricular activities.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, clubs, clubs. There are over 50 clubs and programs offered, from academic clubs to simply sports clubs. If you don't see something you like you can always make your own. It's very easy to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, yet average. There is however a wide variety of food including a salad bar and deli. There is an abundance of healthy alternatives as well as many kosher options. however most students choose to leave campus for food.

    Dorm Life

    RCC is a commuter school. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone at the school wants you to succeed. They offer a variety of programs and workshops that will help you with almost every subject or area. They also have a very well known Honors Program which provides you with internships and study abroad programs. The program is also a great thing to add to your resume for a 4 year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think its important to get to know your professors. Don't be just another face in the classroom. If you get to know them they will be even more helpful to you. Also, don't just go to class and go home; Join clubs. They give you a lot of opportunities to do fun things and make life-long friends.

    In three sentences

    RCC provides you with a lot of great opportunities to succeed. All the professors are very friendly and knowledgeable and are always there for anything you may need. Its in a great location with a lot to do both on and off campus.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most of the time the security is on top of everything. They respond pretty quickly

    Greek Life

    There is only the honor society

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 50 plus clubs on campus. Making your own club is very easy as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not ready to go to a 4 year or students who need to come back home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Fest is a lot of fun and check out Club Fest

    Bang for the buck

    Great school money wise. Just staring out for a 2 year school. Tuition Yearly is about 5 thousand.

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs and get involved. Clubs meet during common hours

    Food and Dining

    Unhealthy and way to expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is No Dorming on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too hard if you're not an honors student. Honors classes can be very hard at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own lunch or go off campus.

    In three sentences

    Great Professors who are willing to go the extra mile and help out. Facilities are in good shape and well kept. Cafe food is not healthy and too expensive.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To give you an idea, my car's battery died somehow (presumably from the extreme cold of winter weather) and I called the public safety office to ask for a jump. They said their battery charger was out, didn't mention anything about using jumper cables and one of their patrol vehicles, but they did offer to let me use their phone. (you should find that last part funny) But yeah, if you're in trouble on campus, just run for your life and hope for the best.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities on a community college campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The SGA is interesting until you realize that many of your peers are there to get food after the meeting. Not that politics are ever a clean or honest endeavor, but you get to see a lot of the lowest forms of diplomatic, cheesy-smile humbug in this presumably important campus organization. The debate team coach was pretty brutal and often turned red after yelling at and cursing out his debaters that couldn't give him exactly what he demanded. Both were interesting experiences anyway. I liked the activities involved with the English department (probably the most legitimate to take part in on campus) and even if it's often revision of pretty basic topics--volunteering at the tutoring center offered a really valuable chance to help students by giving them quality instruction. All in all the activities level out to a neutral rating for me.

    Great for these types of students

    I'd say if you want to save a ton of money (on your car insurance by switching to Geico) and want to get your pre-reqs out of the way till junior year, then this isn't an awful option. Of course, if you're on this website then you probably have taken the initiative to pay for the school you intend to study at, but I'd say community college during this time in society is viewed as an affordable solution to people in need of post-secondary education. That's pretty much the type of student this school is great for, but the student looking for an opportunity to change himself from poor habits found and adapted during secondary education might also benefit from studying here (especially from personal interaction with several profound professors).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the bridge between the Academic I and II building that helps avoid moving between buildings in freezing weather. I think the Tutoring Center plus the Office of Student Involvement and the Academic Advisement Center are often neglected but can be helpful if explored. The people in the Financial Aid Office were okay with me since I don't push too much, but they can be jerks or unhelpful. Aside from yelling at different staff members or getting escorted off the premises by security, I don't often notice any unusual traditions. But yes, the Library has a study room with a chalkboard. I haven't seen that students have access to the Ellipse (the major-league lecture room on campus). The computer lab is there with (basically) unlimited printing for those who want it. There's the Blackbox Theater that can be nice for performers. I think that about covers it.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm going to Cornell University after completing my education here, and it was a great pivot or inflection to go to this school after facing many difficulties during my first year of college in India. I feel very mature and responsible while also not flowing with the waves of a generation and after training myself to become more disciplined at this school, so I'm glad for the independence I learned here. I can only speak for myself and I haven't yet got to my career destination (don't put all your faith in me), so I'll say that this was about as big a bang for me as I could ask for with the bucks I paid.

    What to do for fun

    I've seen some kids throwing around a football, which seemed fun. There are musicians playing in random spots sometimes, so you could do that if you wanted some attention. There isn't anything specific for students to do for fun, but you can make your own fun within limits. I liked to talk to professors since several of mine were piercing with their knowledge and expression.

    Food and Dining

    Packaged directly from the garbage canisters at local high schools and provided to you at unbelievable costs daily. At least they warm it up, but it's really a wonder that the school hasn't made any substantive effort to re-establish a better dining experience.

    Dorm Life

    There is housing, but I haven't met anyone staying in it. People around campus can be very detached and you most likely will get to know people from your classes more than others that aren't.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes (like Physics) are incredibly tough with vague directions. Mathematics and English courses got me to bust my rear, and my teachers were the sort that showed a real passion for their work (which would make me feel lousy if I didn't pull the effort). Be smart by checking RateMyProfessors, and even try to talk to the teacher directly before taking the class. You can understand by their mannerisms, vibe, tone, etc if you will like their class(es).

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the MT/S Honors Program; it is the pillar of the college's credibility as a formidable house for education. Don't anticipate meeting many mature or thoughtful students here; rather try to make friends with your favorite instructors if you seek intellectual stimulation. In spite of a lot of present negative talk and attitude, don't hesitate to try to involve yourself in campus activities that interest you or seek out help from anybody with something you're interested in. Generally, as it is anywhere else, if you're respectful and humble they'll most likely help you.

    In three sentences

    Phenomenal humanities and mathematics courses (if the right teachers are selected). Lacks good instruction in many science courses, but for the cost isn't always absolutely disappointing. The atmosphere is what you make of it, but yes there is a lot of teenage angst and indolence with students on campus.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely on task.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are thriving at this school! Constantly encouraging their students to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    All types! This school appeases to plenty diverse cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With the recent 9/11 statue, there is a sense of American patriotism that one can sense in the air amongst students.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in clubs as well as other school activities!

    Food and Dining

    Non-existent.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult but easy to maintain as long as you keep on top of your work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study and take classes you are interested in!

    In three sentences

    For the students interested in liberal arts, this is one of the best colleges to be at. With the intriguing classes as well as extremely educated professors, there is great opportunity here for students to excel. The capacity to learn is endless.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely secure. The sheriff is constantly going around in his car and well as public safety.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of historically interesting things in and around Rockland County. Theres bear Mountains and Rockland Lake, which are both absolutely stunning. Theres new city bowling and were only about 40 minutes from the city!

    Food and Dining

    No idea

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not as tough as one would expect from a college. Again, depends on the professor - there are some really tough ones but for the most part (other than the nursing department) most teachers are a joke.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check the professor out on ratemyproffessor.com to be sure your getting the best teacher for the particular class your looking into! Also make use of the tutoring center and the library!

    In three sentences

    Its a fairly challenging college. It offers various degrees on all ends of the spectrum. There are lots of clubs and extra curricular events that you can join and attend.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students looking to transfer or just take classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great for the price of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are places to eat around the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are interesting and teachers want to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can here.

    In three sentences

    This college is excellent. The teachers are great and really want to help you. The value is good.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They see everything that goes on and are very helpful!

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, low profile students, independent learners.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a steal for in-state residents. If not living in New York can be a bit more pricey.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are not provided

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are provided at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The online classes are tougher than you would think! But I enjoy my business and marketing classes the most. Instructors are very understandable and flexible with due dates.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of school clubs and activities

    In three sentences

    Good School w/ great programs for helping students w/ difficulty learning and understanding the curriculum.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is public safety security guards circulating around campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities that are offered in this school ranging from a variety of literature groups to cultural clubs (Asian Club, Caribbean Club, etc.) to many eco-friendly clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who are unsure of what major to choose or those who are not financially stable, this college is perfect for them: it offers students a well-rounded program of studies and they also supply a good amount of financial aid to those in need.

    Bang for the buck

    With what the school provides--excellent professors, course material, and a decent campus life--it is definitely worth the price you pay for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available that take place during common hour where most students are off from class.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay; a slight step-up from high school cafeteria food. The price is slightly high.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging depending on the individual. However, most of it challenges lies in how much time the individual is willing to commit to their studies and for each course.

    Tips for prospective students

    The MTS Program is definitely worth considering--the teachers are very helpful and the course material is a slight step-up from AP classes in high school. Help is almost always offered whenever needed and when the student asks for it. Do not take more than the recommended amount of credits unless you really think you can handle it.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent school for a community college, maybe even better than some local colleges. The teachers are really helpful, especially those involved in the MTS Honors Program. The material provided is very affordable and is of excellent quality.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    eh. No problems on campus.Very safe by nature. They are lazy as a result. They patrol the parking lots making sure you don't park in the faculty sections and bust smokers mostly. Ya know, PRIORITIES!

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa. No sorority or frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've made so many friends with my fellow students, professors, faculty and local politicians. Get involved in what interests you. Multi-Media Production is where I gravitated to.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults, weekend, night, Veterans, nursing, Communications

    Bang for the buck

    This college, for me, is about a total of $2200 per semester but worth it! I am an adult Vet who is starting college way late in life. I am excelling at this college (GPA 3.89). Study, pay attention, be there. Don't make excuses, don't waste other peoples valuable time or the money if you aren't going to want to be in college. RCC YES!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, if you have any. If you don't, make friends! A lot of good people go here. Bright, personable, and funny!

    Food and Dining

    Horrible, but I am told this is changing. A vending truck comes by with food, snacks and drinks

    Dorm Life

    Aint any yet

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the courses you take and how you balance it all out. Everyone has finals and projects at the end of the semester. Don't expect slack to be cut for you, its college. Do the work. Find a balance of courses like an Art class and Nursing 323 in the same semester. How hard is Improv class? It's not. The final is to take part in an Improv session in front of an audience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and be open to learning. Don't view college as a way to kill time. You waste your fellow students time when you are partnered with them and you decide to skip. Show up, do the work, follow the syllabus.

    In three sentences

    Very affordable college. Most of your professors are really cool and understanding of unique situations. Very Vet friendly school and an awesome Vet Affairs Counselor to help out Vets.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always around to ensure that all students are safe- at all times. IF you EVER feel that you are in danger, just give them a call by utilizing the many emergency phones around campus. They will gladly escort you to your respective places.

    Clubs and Activities

    Definitely Join Student Government Association, SAB, and the dozens of clubs that are offered in RCC. The more you volunteer and help people, the better your outcome will be down the road.

    Academic Rigor

    MTS Honors Program - 4/5 Rigor Regular Classes - 2-2.5/5 Rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help! Utilize every resource that is available to you, and make the most out of your time at RCC. The faculty and professors all want you to succeed; you just have to meet them half way. Get involved, and network with other students as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Enrolling in RCC is one of the best choices that you can make. It is for students who are currently undecided on their major, save money on tuition for undergrad, or just need a second chance to succeed academically. The secret to succeeding in RCC is to get involved in the community, and join the prestigious MTS Honors Program.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a cop always on site. Seems like a pretty much safe environment to be honest.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great variation of diverse clubs! Such as: The Gay Straight Alliance Club, Video Game and Anime Club, Robotics Club, Student Nurses Association Club etc. I really want to join the video game and anime club:p

    Food and Dining

    I'm sorry I can't say anything about this, I never really been to the cafeteria. I've bought things from the vending machine. Yum:D

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm?

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more rigorous than others of course. I basically consider the rigorous courses the ones that are 4 credits such as A & P I, A & P II, Microbiology, Biology, Chemistry etc. I believe that sciences like those actually challenges students. It's all or nothing. I've taken A & P I, going to take A & P II, and Inorganic Chem, probably Bio too (all with lab) for my nursing prereqs. In my A & P I class we covered 14 chapters in 3 months and I was never more stressed out in my life. There is just so much to process in but it is understandable because after all I am preparing for my nursing education. It provided a great foundation of the material and I had a PhD teacher who really helped us out a lot and narrowed the vocabulary to a level which we understood. The book for A & P I and II has somewhat of an incomprehensible vocabulary as well as explaining things redundantly. The authors will seriously take a whole page to explain something that my teacher explained within 10 mins on the board with drawings, diagrams and simple vocab. Best professor ever. Finished the class with an A- Thank you Dr. M.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just prepare yourself for whatever course you're taking. You may know what course you are going into but what you don't know what you are actually going to encounter. In the end, just make the best of it while you're there. And if you're looking to transfer join clubs, join sports, volunteer there, and internships while you can. Other schools want a competitive student. Stand out.

    In three sentences

    The classes offered are great, some more academically challenging than others. However not all of the professors are not necessarily fantastic. Meaning that some of their teaching styles are hard to accommodate to, nevertheless, to understand. Be prepare for some of these teachers, other than than, great academics, great diverse environment and excellent clubs. P.S. Some rooms are smaller than others which makes it very uncomfortable too.