Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Rocky Mountain College - Montana Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a tight knit family and a welcoming atmosphere. With a tiny population on the campus, everyone knows everyone else, which is awesome grounds to build long lasting friendships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you prosper the inner region of Montana because there are many new exciting and awesome adventures awaiting! Sign up for as much activities through the school as much as possible.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in theatre, equestrian studies, and aviation would love it here, since the students I've met here that pursued those interests have a fervor for the programs that probably indicates how well-developed they are. Also, those who prefer a cozy coffeeshop atmosphere to the bustle of a large university will appreciate the serenity of Rocky.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd say a good piece of advice would be to visit, since it will really give a glimpse of what the school is like. Even if people say Montana is cold (because I hate the cold, and I heard that plenty when applying), you should give it a shot because the weather is actually tolerable, even without having to compromise your fashion sense. Besides, the beautiful pictures on the Rocky website don't do the buildings here justice.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is pretty expensive, being a private school, but there are lots of financial aid opportunities and work study positions available to ease the burden. They seem to make it possible for anyone who wants to go here to afford it, and there are schools that cost about as much with fewer scholarship opportunities. In the end, it's a good deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small and quaint, making it practically impossible to go unnoticed. Even being shy as I am, I've gotten to know several people. Also, my admission counselor worked closely with me so I wouldn't get caught up in the difficulty of acclimating to a new school.

    Am learning a lot

    My English class is actually challenging, something I didn't expect to find in college since most of my friends seemed to have an easy time with their writing classes. The professor is infamous for being stingy with A's, but that's why the class is so intriguing. There's actually a standard for success, and we're given advice on how to improve, as opposed to receiving just a grade. Also, the math classes seem challenging and move at a decent pace, but the professor always makes sure there aren't any questions before moving on, so no-one gets lost unless he puts in absolutely zero effort.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rocky small campus always has campus security on duty and ready to help they can even escort you to your classes if you feel unsafe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student with a population under 1,000 students, Rocky has every kind of person imaginable.

    Bang for the buck

    Rocky may look expensive, but I am actually paying less here and getting a better education than attending a bigger public school.

    What to do for fun

    Rocky offers a plethora of fun activities to do with their Outdoor Recreation program. it can vary from skiing to rock climbing. Also there are always intramural going on around campus, which are all extremely fun!

    Food and Dining

    Rocky's food is actually really good compared to most other places they offer a varying menu with tons of variety. They offer a huge selection of food for the size of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Rocky's dorms are most likely the best I have ever seen or heard of. Most dorms don't give you your own full bathroom. The second year dorm rooms are also very above and beyond the required and model apartments to describe them better.

    Academic Rigor

    The small classes make it a requirement to attend class unlike bigger schools. This helps push students to actually learn the material. The professors are also extremely smart, funny, and kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend Rocky, I know you wont regret it. Everyone here is friendly and willing to help out. The professors here are great teachers and amazingly funny and understanding. If you do come to Rocky come ready to have the time of your life with great people surrounding you every step of the way!

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountain College is a friendly and safe environment for all students. Rocky's small student population creates a great one on one relationship with your professors. I feel that Rocky's extremely friendly staff and students are a great place for any student to learn.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody who is looking to start a new chapter in their life, enjoy trying new things and meeting new people. Also anybody who is willing to put effort towards their school work and wanting to learn new things. Students looking for a great college education on a small campus, and in a small class size who are also passionate about learning. At Rocky all you have to do is ask and you will receive. There are endless possibilities at Rocky!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the title of a private liberal arts school scare you away from at least applying. What is the worst that can happen, you end up getting an awesome scholarship and actually like going to class and making life long friendships. That is what happened to me! Also be open minded, leave your high school ideals at the door, and reinvent yourself. You only get this opportunity once!

    Bang for the buck

    Rocky provides a lot of financial aid, whether it is the academic scholarships Rocky gives students or it is the many different loan options that Rocky helps students get set-up; they help you try and take off the burden of paying for college if you need it. Also Rocky provides many work study opportunities which everyone should take advantage of. Rocky provides many fun opportunities that are at no cost their students. Rocky provides many intramural sports, which is a great way to get involved and meet new people. Also they have an awesome outdoor recreation program which is also free, like hiking through Yellowstone or skiing at Redlodge for the weekend among many other avtivites. Another bang for your buck is that all your lab fees, technology use fees, and parking fees are included in your tuition fees before school starts so you don't have to worry about paying for a required lab. Also laundry is free which is a great bonus!

    Am enjoying being here

    Rocky definitely is my home away from home. I truly did enjoy being there. I made some great friends that I know I will have for the rest of my life. The small size of the campus allows everybody the chance to feel connected to many different people and activities at Rocky. Everyone at Rocky is very friendly and encouraging, it does not matter what grade someone is in they are always friendly. Being home for the summer has made me realize how much I enjoyed it there, and I cant wait to go back this year!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Rocky expect every student that attends their class to participate in class discussions and activities. They also create a friendly and personal classroom environment by learning each students name. The professors are passionate about what they teach and want their students to display the same amount of passion in the classroom. By displaying their passion for their subject it was easy for me to become engaged in my learning. Also my largest class at Rocky was 35 students and that was General Biology and my smallest was 9. The small class size allows you that chance to work one-on-one with your professors. I have already learned so much, and I am only going into my Sophomore year.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security cameras all over the dorms, with people you can even call to walk back with you from night classes if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs you can join or even start, plus there are always activities going on at the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Being an out door kind of person who also doesn't mind the cold.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a vollyball sand pit outside of the buildings that you can play in at anytime.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is definitely worth the money spent to attend it!

    What to do for fun

    I join in on some of the many activities held on campus by outdoor rec or faculty members that hold the activities.

    Food and Dining

    The whole campus gathers in one place to eat together, and even some of the students have jobs helping out in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    orm life is interesting, you definitely can't be afrai with getting to know your neighbors or even down the hall because you will become very close.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is hard for any new students, but with hard work and dedication it's not hard to reach a higher GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn in a new enviornment unlike high school or larger colleges/universities.

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountan College is a great private school for any person from Montana or outside of the state. It is also great for it's art, biology, and aeronotics programs for any student majoring in those.

  • 10/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think that their merit scholarship program is very helpful for tuition.

    Will enjoy being here

    I really like the area and how much is going on the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    The way their classes are set up looks great. I believe I will get a great experience.

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants a small school with great people.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved!!!!!!!!!!! the people here are warm and welcoming so ask questions.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No police but still safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much to do from intramurals to on campus arts and crafts.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small schools, students who are looking into aviation, athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual soap box derby in the fall and the underwear run in the spring.

    Bang for the buck

    Way too expensive, but you get what you pay for in a college education.

    What to do for fun

    Billings is a great town with movie theatres, bowling ally's and great places to eat. On campus events are planned as well which are a blast.

    Food and Dining

    Not very many options given he small school.

    Dorm Life

    The bed bug incident for starters as well as the small, dirty living spaces.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than high school while others are tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on the orientation trip because you meet a done of people.

    In three sentences

    Rocky is a good school because of the relationships you form. Classes are small and therefore you not only know all the students, but you can also form a close relationship with your teachers.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is placed in the middle of the city and around neighborhoods but it is pretty safe and anyone can request to have someone to escort them back to the dorms if they do not feel safe after a night class but otherwise it is a pretty lively and safe place.

    What to do for fun

    There are times when it is extremely boring and then there are times where it is extremely lively. There are all sorts of activities to participate in, the underwear run, throwing knives, camping and hiking in the mountains in different states, competing in horse shows, learning to ski, watch go kart racing, many other things as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always lively, people always come to talk and hang out there and just enjoy the food. The food is not like your mother's cooking but food is food and it keeps you alive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always bustling with news, gossip, activities, hangouts, all sorts of fun, watching television. It has places to just hang out and watch television or be on your computers to instant message the person sitting next to you for fun. It's a great place to make friends and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally think that if you did well in High School, you wont be able to have too much trouble in this college. It pretty much keeps you on your feet and you do need to work hard on your studies to keep up good grades but if you're a hard worker then you'll definitely be at the top.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to take all the help that is handed out to you through tutoring, teachers and fellow students. Always do your best in your studies but more importantly just have fun because it is a lot of fun to throw knives, learn archery, shoot, go racing, go kart racing, and so much more!

    In three sentences

    It is a rather small campus but it is quite lively and bursting full of individuality and creativity. The professors are all wonderful people that always want to help students in need and everyone is nice around campus. It always has some activity for students to enjoy and have fun in.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras in parking lots dorms ect. This college is one of the safest colleges I've ever been to.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Equine, Environmental, Chemistry, Aviation, Recreational sports, Skiing, among tons of others.

    Bang for the buck

    Rocky is amazing in every aspect. The End.

    What to do for fun

    Free student activities every week along with free outdoor recreational activities every week.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Student Union Building with a Cafe with friendly staff that knows most of the students that come in by name. The food is not the greatest ever, but also not near bad. They have great hours and are also open for Late Night from 7:30 to 9:30. The meal plans are pricey, but not anymore than at other colleges once I did my research.

    Dorm Life

    There are 4 different dorms here; 2 freshman dorms for different styles of living, 1 family based on campus apartment and 1 other set of on campus apartments. The dorms are kept up and have Resident Assistants and Resident Directors in each building with security. It is a small school so security isn't invasive but it is up to par.

    Academic Rigor

    Rocky offers amazing classes and requires general requirements and therefore giving a well rounded education to every student. The classes range from Aviation, Equine, Art, Environmental Science and Sports Management. This college offers so much and the one on one with your professors is so crucial and unique to this college. The classes will test you and also give you amazing opportunities out in the community of Billings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here! Get involved with people in your major, join clubs, do ALL of the free student activities and outdoor activities because they are amazing. Also just have fun and learn from your professors and classmates.

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountain College offers many opportunities to have an amazing career. One on one time with professors and a family feeling to go along with it makes it one of a kind. This college has everything from fun activities to amazing job/internship/volunteer opportunities.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe here. It is well lit at night.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school for my area, but a good GPA gets you a fantastic in house scholarship, making it much more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The outdoor and recreation department always has something exciting going on.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, albeit a bit greasy.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken very easy classes as well as ridiculously hard here. I transferred from the state university system, and I find Rocky more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes and get to know your professors. They can write meaningful recommendation letters!

    In three sentences

    Rocky provides a great small college experience. The campus is gorgeous, and you really get to know your professors and advisor. There are some awesome professors here, along with a few bad apples, just like any school.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Very safe school. There are never reports or news of anything happening on campus. Everyone looks out for everyone else, and there are security cameras and faculty checks on everyone.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not currently in any clubs but they range from music, drama, dance, art to volleyball, basketball, football, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for aviation, healthcare, art, history, music type students. Overall anyone should be able to find something they enjoy at Rocky.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing seems to weird to me, sometimes classes are in the buildings you least expect them to be. For instance my music class is in the Science Building this year.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a more expensive school, but its worth every penny. A student gets a better education with more hands on learning. Since there isn't as many students as other Montana colleges, students get to spend time knowing professors and gaining more experience towards there field of study.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to the movies or to the stores around Billings Mt. There are a lot of school activities all the time from skiing, rock climbing, football games, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, there are tons of choices. The food is constantly changing, and always seems fresh. There is also a cafe place next to cafeteria where coffee and snacks are available to students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm, but have heard positive things about them. Everyone seems to get along at rocky.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough, but they are doable. A student must be dedicated to his or her studies, because I probably spend at least 4-6 hours a night on homework. I am currently enrolled in 19 credits, and 3 of my classes are Science courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain a good GPA, and consider this college for many different studies. Don't limit yourself to MSU colleges, give private schools a chance. Have good reference letters and academic progress.

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountain College has changed my life with its overall academic programs. I have a more positive outlook on my career choice, and owe it to the wonderful professors and faculty at rocky. Very helpful college that puts students lives and goals first.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mountain biking, climbing, paint ball, camping, clubs, intermural sports, and varsity sports are all available at Rocky.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and cafe have great food.

    Dorm Life

    There are is always some activity for those who are interested.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are demanding but professors are always available to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountain college is the perfect size; larger than high school but small enough to recognize each student as a person. The staff at Rocky Mountain college are knowledgeable and caring. All the buildings on campus are with in easy walking distance of convenient parking.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is great security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs that you can participate in all around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like the feel of a close knit community.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your moneys worth when you go to school here. The education is top notch.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of different activities to participate in. There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is convenient with great staff.

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community in the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are top of the line and the best you can find.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing and participate in as many things you can.

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountain College is a beautiful college. It has great professors and staff. There is also always something fun going on.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe. Locks, ID cards, cameras.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless amounts of clubs and activities, and if something doesn't fit your needs you are free and welcome to make one that fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    Aviation, Equestrian, Physicians Assistant. They have great majors for those fields especially.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    It is said that RMC is expensive but you really do get what you pay for. And usually you end up getting some type of scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of activity or something going on to join into.

    Food and Dining

    It's low grade cafe food that is over priced. With the unlimited meal plan you're going end up paying $8.75 per meal and feel like you just ate slop. The only good thing about it is the flock of freshman that group to it so it's a good place to meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    It's a crap shoot on who's your room mate. The dorms are pretty fare and you can move stuff around freely. It's only about $2000 a year for housing which in retrospect isn't that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to actually take advantage of your college education then it will be difficult at times but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really know what you want to do when you get here.

    In three sentences

    I am a freshman at this college and so far I love it here. I looked for a small school in new surroundings and I found it. If you are looking for a college with a great community where you are a name not a number RMC is fit for you.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Rocky Mountain College is less expensive than most private schools I looked at. So far is has been an great decision to come and study here.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, what I do for fun is study and then do well on my tests and assignments. There are a ton of on-campus organization and groups that do everything from bowling to skiing to mountain climbing to ping-pong.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall here has average food with a lot of selection; the best part is that you can eat your feel each time you are in there. It feels a little bit expensive to me, so for this semester I have opted to forgo a meal plan and make my own food in my dorm.

    Dorm Life

    I live in an twenty-one and older residence hall on campus. It is just like living in your own apartment; weird room mates included! It is nearly always quite on the weekdays and I never have any problems with other students in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very busy with my school work; I like to think that I spend more time than the average student on my school work. I have been rewarded for my hard work with excellent grades in all the classes I have taken. The faculty here teaches well, and they expect you to understand and use the information they have given you, instead of just rote memorization.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be a procrastinator! Get your application in early; since this is a small school, spaces are harder to come by, so getting things done early helps you get your foot in the door. Also, check out the requirements at Rocky for the degree you want to get--make sure you are willing to take all those courses.

    In three sentences

    Rocky Mountain College is a small Liberal Arts College Located in Billings, Montana. I was drawn to it because of the small student body, and the low ratio of students to faculty, and for the most part, that is what I found here at Rocky. The faculty are more than fair when grading, and are always willing to talk with you whenever you need help, if time permits. A member of faculty in the field I want to study is actually my academic adviser.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been quite a few car break-ins and like 1 stolen vehicle this year. This definitely needs to be improved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Outdoor Recreation, ASRMC, Minecraft, cinematic club, Debate Team, Psychology Club, Residence Halls Association, Relay for Life, Chaplin, Stand-Up RMC, SAS program, LEAP program, Ambassador Program, Peer Mentor, Peer Instructors, and Student Activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor Recreational students (Rocky Climbing, bike riding, etc.)- They spotlight this more than anything else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Finals they provide massages and therapy dogs.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a private school and may cost more, they provide many scholarships and grants to help lessen the cost. They also have free parking, free laundry, and many free student activities.

    What to do for fun

    Rock-Climbing, Movies, Skii

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are very expensive for a first year student and not the best quality. You can chose from 10-meals/week or unlimited.

    Dorm Life

    You must stay in the Freshman dorms as a Freshman/transfer first year student. Widenhouse CoEd and is very nice with bigger rooms, mini fridge, personal bathroom, and sinks. Anderson is okay, it is gender separated with males on the bottom floor and females on the top floor. It has community bathrooms/showers which can be scary at times and most likely need to be updated. It does have a community kitchen with a stove. Rimview is like an apartment style but you must be of sophomore standing to live here. It is separated into 4 private bedrooms with a living room and a sink, and full-fridge. Then there is jorgenson for the 21 and over.

    Academic Rigor

    Since the school is smaller, the faculty to student ratio is outweighed. It is fairly rigorous but not enough to be stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the school before you make your decision, it is very small and not surrounded by many fun attractions. The school spirit is also very low. For example, the crowd at a football game is mostly an older crowd and the student section is very weak. If you are looking for a down-to-earth type of school, this is it.

    In three sentences

    RMC is a very small liberal arts school that is historically beautiful throughout all of the seasons. It has been said that RMC is a community within a community.