Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Roger Williams University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Roger Williams University is great for absolutely any type of student just because there are so many different things that you can do. There is a place for everyone. Roger Williams is centered around a campus that is beautiful and ever growing. The people there welcome you with open arms and the friendly atmosphere is what keeps people coming back. If you are the type of person who wants to do well in school as well as have a social life and participate in sports and extracurricular activities, than Roger Williams is definately the university for you. You can achieve greatness in academics, as well as in all of these things equally as this university takes all of these subjects seriously. It is important to go to a college that feels best for you, not for someone else. If any of the above sounds of interest then a visit to Roger Williams University is in good order.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is something that I think everyone should have the chance to endure. Everyone will go through their own experience and learn many lessons that will help throughout life. Tips that I could give to prospective students is to not be afraid of college. It is a long journey that will lead to your ultimate destination, and your happiness. It is very important that when you get to college you be yourself, and do not be afraid to meet new people. You have to understand that everyone is going through the same thing as you, but it is simply the way that you handle it that will make it that much easier for you. A very important fact that everyone should consider and act upon, is getting involved. Get involved in some things, or get involved in everything. Trust me, I didn't believe this at first, but if you get involved you be so glad that you did. There are so many rewarding experiences waiting for you, so take them on with a smile on your face and determination in your soul. College is the last step before you are truly on your own, so use your head and follow your heart.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, Roger Williams University fits this description perfectly. The reality is that tuition for all colleges and universities is expensive; however, Roger Williams University makes it worth the while. Though tuition is high, they ensure the best education possible for all students. They are always putting weekly events on for the students and they always try to keep them free to the students. They have saved money to build and renovate new and old building in order to make the students college life that much better. Roger Williams gives students the opportunity to ride the city bus for free and save the students money for transportation. They also keep class sizes to around 20 students so that everyone is guaranteed a close relationship with the teacher. Unlike lecture classes that are held in other colleges, Roger Williams does not lecture. All of the professors teach using a hands on approach. Every student can and will learn the material in their classes. They do not use teacher assistants either. Every class is taught by a part or full time professor. In addition, the athletics and the facilities that are offered to the students are to the highest caliber. Every student is given ample opportunities to succeed and to follow their dreams. There is nothing that this university could want more.

    Am enjoying being here

    Ever since I moved into my first dorm that I had ever been in, I was intimidated, and to be honest, I was scared. My first thought was that I was not going to meet anyone and that it was not going to be a good experience. However, once the first day or two went by, and the orientation process has been completed, I found that I had made many friends and that I had fit in perfectly. Everything that I was worried about was just my fear talking. I loved college, and it was at this time that I knew this was where I belonged. I made sure that I got involved on campus through extracurricular activities as well as through athletics, and this was one of the best things that I could have done. As a result I formed a group of friends that I knew would be long lasting. Roger Williams University is a campus that is always changing for the better. They strive to improve the quality of educations as well as the quality of the students' lives in general. There is so much good that I could say about Roger Williams. It is an unbelievable campus and I cannot wait to start the next semester.

    Am learning a lot

    The academics that are offered at Roger Williams University are incredible. I will soon be going into my second year at this university and so far I am very impressed. I am pursuing the major of business-law and, this school, as well as my academic advisors have been wonderful. They have outlined my class schedules and have thoroughly explained the course of action that I will take. They are always interested in what I have to say and consider every thought that I have. If there is ever anything that I am unsure of whether it is in classes or within my extracurricular involvement, the professors as well as the entire staff are more than willing to explain it to me as well as any student. They make sure that everyone is on the right track and they go out of their way to ensure the understanding of everything that is presented to students. Through my academics, extracurricular activities, and athletic involvement on campus, I am learning how to manage my time wisely, how to stay healthy, and how to stay organized and keep my studies in order. I have gotten so much out of college so far and I am very happy with the way it has turned out. Being at Roger Williams University has been very rewarding thus far and I cannot wait to see what the future holds.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is welcome here, no one is left out! It is great to walk through campus and you are likely to hear about 10 different conversations in all different languages! Come and visit and you will see exactly what i am talking about!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here, come visit and you will see the magic this school has to offer. Once you get in and decide to come here the best thing to do is get involved. There are so many clubs. From Newspaper, to Psychology club, to the chair rearranging club. There is never nothing to do and the best way to meet people is to get involved in anything and everything. You will fall in love with this school the minute you drive through the entrance.

    Bang for the buck

    Sure this school is expensive, but what school isn't these days. For a great education that will take you places in this growing economy, Roger Williams is a great choice for your dollar. All the hard work and effort that is put into the school is shown, you never feel like your not getting what you deserve for what you pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the friendly atmosphere, and the people. From orientation on i have been able to make great friends. I love walking to class and watching people play football or frisbee in the quad. Students are all dedicated to the school and so involved, it really is a family away from home! You will never feel left out!

    Am learning a lot

    Ever since going to Roger Williams i learned more about my major alone then i ever could, with the great one on one support from faculty, and my wonderful advisor. It has really opened my eyes life around me in a positive way. Going into the real world is not so bad when you are going to roger William's. You learn not only about your area of study, but you also learn alot about yourself.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Roger Williams is mainly known for their Law school and their growing Marine-Biology major. Yet, you may not know that they have growing and spectacular Psychology and Criminal Justice majors as well. Also, students in other majors agree that it should be known that Roger Williams shouldn't just be credited for Law and Marine-Biology. The school works just as hard to have the best schooling for all of the other majors there. Therefore, no matter what major you are, Roger Williams is the place to be, especially if you're going to be in Law or Marine-Biology!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure about Roger Williams and haven't been there, just visit the campus; that's how most students fall in love with the school. Though, you have to keep in mind that it offers much more than just a beautiful sight, but also great teachers, amazing food, and comfortable living space. If you have visited Roger Williams and you still aren't sure, talk to the staff, the teachers, or even the students. They will all tell you how much they love it there.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it may be pretty expensive (around $37,000) to attend Roger Williams, it is definitely worth the money to attend. They are very generous with their scholarships to those who need them and are willing to negotiate with you. Between their freshly landscaped grounds and being 20 minutes from Newport as well as Providence, Roger Williams definitely offers a lot for the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Roger Williams is a beautiful campus right on the waters of Narragansett Bay and there are always things going on at the school. It may be casino night one night and then transvestite bingo the next. The dorms are all comfortable and filled with fun times and the food was voted one of the best out of every college, if not the best. It is definitely an exciting and quite a learning experience to come to Roger Williams University.

    Am learning a lot

    Roger Williams offers an amazing array of majors-from Psychology to Marine Biology to Criminal Justice. On top of that, the teachers offer one-on-one time if you ever need any help in that class. Just go onto ratemyprofessor.com and see for yourself the kind of things other students have said about their teachers and classes!

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students can attend. There are many majors to select from and I've met all kinds of students who are really different. Hard working students are always good though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard to achieve a good GPA in high school, because they give a nice scholarship to incoming freshman that are renewable.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a private school, it's very expensive. The classes are very good though, definitely worth taking. I just have to look for more scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Orientation scared me because I was certain that I wouldn't find any friends in my major, but as soon as school started those fears were erased. I also decided not to live in the Architecture dorms, in order to meet more people outside of my major, and it was a really good experience. I really loved my single even though it was small. I am going to be rooming with someone this coming autumn though and am quite excited for that change. The scenery around Bristol is fantastic, and there is easy access to the ocean. The bus system is really great too and since students get bus passes, it's easy to get around if you need to. I really love attending Roger Williams, freshman year was really fun and I learned a lot and met so many people. The food isn't bad either. I'm hoping sophomore year will be just as good, if not better, than freshman year.

    Am learning a lot

    The architecture program at Roger Williams is really strong. It is rather difficult, but as long as you enjoy it everything goes well. The teachers are all clearly interested in their professions, which helps with the learning process. They are usually quite easy to talk to as well, and I have done well in all the classes that I've taken so far. I am going to be entering my second year of school and am quite nervous because I've heard that second year classes are a lot harder. Nevertheless, I'm sure that the classes will be interesting and well worth the effort.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Roger Williams University is a great place for learning. If you are worried about your education, classroom experiences, faculty, and professors, look no further. RWU is the place to be if you plan to focus on your education. If you are looking for extra curricular activites, sorrorities, diversity, parties and down right crazy fun this is not the place for you.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security department is very serious about keeping the students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join. Make the most of it!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but I chose it for the academic learning experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extracurricular activites that the school sponsors for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    RWU's food has been highly rated as one of the nation's best for many years! The food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not as easy as some may think. It takes courage and accepting people for who they are, that will make dorm life a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are more difficult than others, but, if the student puts forth the right effort, they will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should arrive with an open mind and a willingness to learn.

    In three sentences

    RWU is a fantastic school that thrives on building a student's academic performance. The staff and professors genuinely care about their students and will help them reach their life goals. It is truly a great place to learn.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    RWU puts a really big emphasis on community and school involvement, so grades aren't everything in this school. There's smaller class sizes so its great for students who want a more one-on-one type of learning environment where they won't be just another face in a large lecture hall. The school offers a really great Marine Biology program that gets students involved right away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and take a guided tour and don't be afraid to ask questions. Its the best way to get to see all there is to offer. Arrange to sit in on a class so you can get a feel for what it will be like to learn here. Don't be afraid to apply even if your grades aren't the best, because RWU will look at the type of leadership roles and involvement you had in high school as much as they look at the grades on your transcripts

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit expensive, but overall, will give a great college experience. The professors are very helpful, the campus is beautiful and lively, the dorms are a lot nicer than many other schools', and the food is some of the best you will find on college campuses. There are also plenty of ways to get scholarships through the school and many students are given work study to earn some pocket money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous and its pretty easy to find something on campus to do. There are many clubs and organizations on campus that are varied and are about a ton of different interests. These clubs often sponsor events on campus too. Even if there isn't some type of planned event going on, it is usually easy to find something to do, especially with the water being only a small walk away. The school also provides undergraduates with a free RIPTA pass, which means you can ride into Providence, Newport and anywhere else that RIPTA goes.

    Am learning a lot

    One of the great things is the RWU doesn't have graduate students other than the law program, so there's plenty of opportunities to work with professors. All the professors are great and really want to work with you to get the best grade possible. There is an amazing peer tutoring center available for help in all the CORE classes as well as in writing and math. In addition to learning in the classroom, in many of the classes, professors encourage their students to also go out into the field and work with them on projects that are currently being done, which is great for those students who learn more by doing.

  • 12/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is ideal for party enthusiast... friendly individuals... sports lovers... students who would like to strive in the real world after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about RWU make sure you are willing to work because this is an academically demanding University. Make sure you do you research to make sure this is the right fit for you. Also, make sure you set up a visit and if possible see you can make a weekend trip.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses are rigorous but very rewarding in the end. The scenery is out of the world. It is a cozy school on the edge of Bristol located on the mount hope bay. They have plenty of social events and students organizations. It is a big sports school a lot of the students participate in athletics.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a big fan of RWU it is like my second home. I love most of my professors and deans are very helpful. The deans are instrumental in maybe just a simple question or even helping you with a personal problem. I am in the outing club and the parkour club.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been at RWU for a year now it was my second choice school. I am enrolled in the Gabelli School of Business which is also an accredited business school. The professors are really hands on and reach out to students in need. The class sizes are fairly small so the professors get to know you personally. The professors offer accessible office hours for tutoring and questions. Also, the tutoring center is very helpful and can help you kids with difficulties in any subject.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Love a beautiful campus, looking into an architect major, any science major. If you are looking into a law degree, coming to Roger Williams give you an advantage if you plan on applying to the RWU School of Law.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you save up some kind of money, no matter where you choose to go to college. Money becomes a top priority, if not already, once you start to live on campus. Make sure you are on top of all assignments and stay organized to lessen your stress. It may seem like you've heard this more than you need to but get involved on campus! I am in the organization that plans the events on campus (CEN) and I play for intramural volleyball. It really helps you meet new people and builds your college experience as well. It is okay to be to yourself sometimes but for the first few days or weeks try and make an effort to meet people and have new experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    The resources they offer makes the tuition worth while. Since it is my first year I cannot speak on most of the professors, but my current professors are worth what I paid. The library has access to so many sources and books that would not be available had it not been for the tuition. The amazing gym is open to all students and there is enough equipment for many students at any given time. There is a good variety of food to buy/eat all over campus in case the regular food gets boring. The only issue that there is is with printing but it is understandable because no one wants to waste paper and ink for miscellaneous things.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and a good size to get from class to class but also being able to see different people everyday. I am a student of color so it was a culture shock coming into a predominantly white school. Although it is predominantly white the students here are very welcoming and many have also come from very diverse high schools as well. Most dorms have a view of the ocean and/or the beautiful bridge. Everything is within walking distance but not too close.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently Undecided, but pursuing a possible Psych/English/Journalism Major and Roger Williams is really helping me narrow down my interests. I came in almost completely undecided but as I found out more about the classes offered my interests narrowed down. The classes I have are instructed by amazing Professors who know exactly what they're talking about and can teach the information in ways we can best relate to. The curriculum is set so that every student is able to be well-rounded in all areas while being very informed in their preferred area of study. There are classes for seniors to interact with fellow students out of their major because in the past four years they have had classes with just those in their majors. The subjects here have a good range of interests to satisfy most students.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, its worth it.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and school. They take care of their students. Great learning environment.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not use ratemyprofessor.com as a way to pick your teachers!

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams is very determined to help students make the most of their college experience through academics, extra-curricular activities, and athletics.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There's no Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of great clubs to choose from. Students are also allowed to create their own clubs quite easily.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can high five the statue of Roger Williams on campus for good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Great academics, great social life.

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of clubs (you can even learn to surf in the Surf Club)! All of your on-campus friends are in walking distance. There's also an Eco-Friendly Shuttle Bus to take you all around RI.

    Food and Dining

    The best food in the Northeast!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm building is best, they're all equally great! Good walking distance from classes. I gave 4 stars only because some dorm rooms are a little small.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics, very challenging. You'll definitely get what you pay for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades and participate in many clubs and activities, they will help you find what you love to do and it's always great for the experience!

    In three sentences

    RWU is a university that has it all with its perfect balance of educational and social opportunities. With a variety of clubs, sports, and intramural activities, not to mention its geographical surroundings, there is surely something for everyone. Each student and faculty member I met during my visits to the campus were so friendly and I can't wait to attend in the Fall!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I work at night and I walk back to Cedar and have never felt unsafe. It is well lit and campus safety has a strong presence on campus.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the Providence place mall during the day. When it is warm out its fun to go into Newport or to walk around Bristol. At night, I recommend going to either Roxy or Colosseum in Providence.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! I'm a vegetarian and I've rarely had trouble finding food I can eat. There is a great stir-fry bar and quesadilla section. It can get really busy at peak hours though.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where you stay. I'm staying in Cedar which is a freshman dorm. It is super cramped and dirty. If you turn in your housing deposit right away you will be more likely to be in a nicer hall like Willow.

    Academic Rigor

    Your classes can be difficult if you want them to be. I had a very easy first semester, which was good. For my second semester I am taking 18 credits which is a lot! It is good to try to take as many of the CORE classes freshman year because they are very easy and they can help you figure out what you're interested in (or not).

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to visit a few times. Try to visit in the spring because that's when it is the prettiest! Visit rwu.com too because there's a lot of info about the different majors offered.

    In three sentences

    It is great! The atmosphere as well as the great professors are why I love RWU! It has a great Engineering program that not many people know about.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Academic wise, you will not regret coming to this school. I personally love the academics and the professors at Roger Williams. But outside of the academics, I have found it hard to do anything fun around campus.

    What to do for fun

    I have found it difficult to find anything fun to do on campus. The activities that are promoted on campus are either at a bad time or they do not appeal to my interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Roger Williams is great, you definitely get what you pay for. They have options for vegetarians, and even help promote a healthy lifestyle with the salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live you might like it, or you might hate it. I live in Maple and it has its ups and downs. I know many of my friends live in a building called Cedar and they absolutely hate it because it is dirty, cramped, and very loud.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Roger Williams are very friendly, if you have any questions or concerns they are always there to answer. The class sizes are very small so you will definitely get the one-on-one attention.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Saftety and the RA's are strict on campus, so they are on top of most things going on. Although this can have it's downfalls to some students, they also give a comfort level knowing you will always be safe and not far from help when you need it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs to even list. There is a club for anything you can think of, and if somehow there isn't, it is extremely easy to create the club yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are right on the water so it is nice to be able to walk a few minutes down to the shore and enjoy the beautiful location. The location of the Mount Hope Bridge also makes the location even more beautiful, especially at night.

    What to do for fun

    Take the RIPTA to either providence or newport. Providence is filled with clubs and has a huge mall, where Newport is great to walk around in, shop, and go out for a nice dinner.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing and nearly all of it is locally grown and natural. I work in the kitchen and know all the time and dedication put into the meals. I have not had one meal that I didn't like.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm atmosphere is unique from one another. It is very easy to make friends no matter where you are placed. The dorm communities tend to turn into families and you get to feel very comfortable with the people you end up living with.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that the classes that I've taken to be challenging, although I've had friends who have had it easy not doing much work for their classes. The professors are willing to work with you if you need help and if you do the work, you will do well in class. You cannot fall behind

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you put into your years here. Try to become involved in as much clubs and organizations as you can...there are plenty of them and it is very easy to fit them into your schedule.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public saftey officers are ALWAYS there to protect us and are on call 24 hours a day 7 days a week!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have an international program called the ELS program. These are students that do not speak english but wish to do so and are enrolled in special classes to help them achieve that goal as well as continuing their education. We also have a bell that rings after every home game goal.

    What to do for fun

    Spring concerts, Fashion Shows, Roger After Dark, Sports, off-campus parties, dancing, cooking, learning, reading, beach, friends, kayaking, swimming, working out, running, low-ropes course, there is SO MUCH to do here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early and often, it's easy to do at RWU as we offer over 80 different orgs and clubs, and if that's not enough, you can create your own!

    In three sentences

    An amazing place, beautiful, respectful and resourceful. I would not want to go anywhere else, the academics here are unmatched, the faculty and staff are always motivating us to do better.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Needless to say that, at roger Williams University, the dining is amazing, so you better watch how much you eat and what you eat!

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe! It is located in Bristol, RI which is a small quaint all American sort of town with almost zero crime. Where everybody knows everyone else. The school has campus police and state police if any trouble arises, but it is overall a extremely safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at RWU. The students actually voted to ban it, not the college itself.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, Science, Mathematical, Social, and driven students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The statue of Roger Williams, whom the school is named for, is actually not of the actual man, because the real Roger Williams never had any photos or paintings done of him. It is actually modeled after a former school Dean.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. The gyms are exquisit. They are clean, new equpment, nd user friendly. They have a wide variety of workouts from treadmills to swimming. There is free kayaking, a multitude of clubs, sports, and orginatzations. Also you can take RIPTA, which is the public transportaiton, and be to Providence which is a small but fun city with many shops and restaurants, or Newport, which has great beaches, parks, museums, and food; all in about 15-25 minutes depending upon traffic.

    Food and Dining

    No other college can compare to Roger Williams food. It is fresh, natural, organic, and made everyday. Almost nothing is frozen and many of the products come from local farms. It has a diverse selection from Chinese, vegetarian, Italian, Mexican, sandwiches, and so much more.

    Dorm Life

    The best dorms i have ever seen! Clean and most under 40 years old, the newest just being 2 years old. Almost 50% of the dorms have gorgeous views of Mount Hope bay and bridge. The water is literally at your door step.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall the school will challenge you, however some majors are more demanding then others such as the architecture, Marine Biology, and Law majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college with diverse majors, a wonderful student body, community driven, and a love of education; Roger Williams is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams is a well rounded University with a diverse set of Majors ranging from Architecture to Marine Biology. It is located in the most beautiful landscape I have ever seen of any college; with the ocean, hills, greenery, and gardens/lawns all around. I also have to say the food is the best I have ever had from a college, nothing can compare to the Mongolian grill.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its average. There is Public Safety. They are not cops though.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from. Don't not try a little bit of everything cause it is a way to meet people and do what you love. New clubs are being created all the time.

    What to do for fun

    The Hawk's Nest and right outside the C Store have different things to do, including air hockey, pool tables, ping pong, and TV's. There is a pool, and a gym, and there are kayaks down at the water which are opened seasonally, and free to students.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is great first semester, can get repetitive and go down second semester, but is great for those with food allergies and most of the dining have great hours and good choices.

    Dorm Life

    It is how you make it. RAs are there to make sure you don't hurt yourself or others, but are usually your best friends there. They are helpful for a lot, and dorm mates are how you make of it. It can be fun or it can suck. It's up to you. Just be careful when going to parties, Public Safety will show up usually.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are a major part of going, just be careful of your profs. Check them out on ratemyprofessors.com before you choose that teacher. Some classes are easy in general, and some you actually have to apply yourself (like any school). Ask your friends, classmates, or RA who would be a good teacher for certain classes or who they had. It really does help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your money in early so you get first pick with housing because the good housing goes fast. Also, forced triples are not a bad thing, they can help in so many ways. Do not knock living learning communities before you try them, many people don't realize how amazing they can be.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams University is a great, small, private school, but is very expensive, especially when the money doesn't go to scholarships or the WiFi, but to the landscape of the school. Also the food starts out well during the first semester, but becomes repetitive and horrible during second semester. Also, housing isn't the best because they over accept and do forced doubles and forced triples, so good luck.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always around no crime ever, all EMT

    Greek Life

    We don't have any

    Clubs and Activities

    If we don't have it make it !!!

    Great for these types of students

    outoging, active, go getters

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    shake rogers hand for good luck

    Bang for the buck

    it does cost alot but it worth it

    What to do for fun

    hang out go into providence, newport ect....

    Food and Dining

    ranked top nationally, healthy all made form scratch and all eco friendly food options

    Dorm Life

    We call them res halls but they are awesome fun and make some of the best friends around

    Academic Rigor

    Gives great opputunites for the student to be challenged and learn

    Tips for prospective students

    bring rain boots it rains a lot in RI

    In three sentences

    Roger williams is a small liberal arts school in Bristol RI. With excelent academic rigor and breath taken a views of the mount hope bay, Roger Williams really exemplifies a wonderful mix of culture and academics. The community at RWU is something unfound anywhere else.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is always hosting special events for students, including concerts, fundraisers, farmers markets, and plays. There is also easy transportation to Newport for shopping and beaches, as well as Providence for dancing and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining commons is top-notch. You swipe in and the cafeteria-style dining hall is all-you-can-eat goodness! There are also many other options for food all over campus, including Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts to fuel my studying sessions.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different dorm styles to satisfy all students. I enjoy quiet and seclusion in my dorm, but I also like to venture out to different dorms for party-scenes or just hanging out with a larger group of friends. Roger Williams allows me that opportunity. My roommates and neighbors were respectful of my needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Roger Williams is definitely a place of learning, but it also allows its students to enjoy the beautiful, bay-side campus. The professors expect much out of the students, but they are also lenient if you respectfully approach them with your problems or questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that cares about you as a person, not a number, Roger Williams is the place for you. It is full of friendly staff, approachable professors, and many many options.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams is a small, tight-knit University. It stands up to its motto, Learning to Bridge the World, with its many internship and job opportunities. It also has many classes that you care about.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities and some sports, but not a huge sports school.

    Great for these types of students

    Great area for the outdoorsey type as you are right on the water! Also good for those that are serious about their studies- not a huge party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Baypoint houses many sophomores. It is considered on-campus housing but is actually over the bridge. There is a shuttle bus that provides transportation back and forth to campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent at the main cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    If you like a quiet campus- you'll love it. Sometimes it's a bit too quiet but it's still a great campus so I don't mind.

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself, you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here if you like the feel of a small school with individual attention. Get involved with campus activities!

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams provides me with a safe learning environment. I love the country/coastal feel although it isn't far from the city of Providence either. The staff is mostly helpful and students are friendly and welcoming.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe here

    Greek Life

    Barely existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs to join

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dont step on the seal by CAS!

    Bang for the buck

    Pricey but worth it

    What to do for fun

    Go to Providence and shop

    Food and Dining

    amazing.

    Dorm Life

    DONT LIVE IN CEDAR

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but definitely managable

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live in Cedar Hall!

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams is a great school! Although it's expensive, it is definitely worth it! The food is awesome!

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non-existant

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a whole range of clubs and activities to take part in

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight breakfast! Days before finals the upper commons are open to all students where breakfast is served as many student stay up studying for finals

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great overall experience and you will meet great people who are easy to get along with.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, take a walk down by the beach.

    Food and Dining

    You will eat the best food

    Dorm Life

    People are greta

    Academic Rigor

    Law, Dance and architecture programmes are very good the other schools are average

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to spend a lot of money

    In three sentences

    Excellent small, private school. Has a friendly, family orientated community. Beautiful campus

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus! People are always around especially public safety!

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and things going on on campus! you'll never be bored!

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but a really great school.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on whether its going to Providence or to another dorm! So much fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing, both Upper and Lower Commons dining hall is great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Everyone is really friendly. Feels like a home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all my classes, easy to create schedule. The teachers are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded! Give new things a chance.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams is the perfect school for me! Its right on the water so I have a 24/7 view of the ocean! All my classes are great and I've made the best of friends!

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I couldn't feel any safer here. The public safety officers here are always driving around and patrolling and there is never a problem. Bristol is a safe community and Roger Williams is just a safe.

    Greek Life

    Academic only.

    Bang for the buck

    Roger Williams is not a cheap school and at times I have a hard time paying but I love it here and I know majority of the campus feels the same. The campus is absolutely beautiful as it is right on the water all the buildings are much nicer than many of the campus' I have visited. The teacher to student ratio is small, leaving more of a classroom feel than a lecture.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities set out for every weekend for sober fun. There are events such as Roger After Dark that are every Friday night that include themed food and activities. As well as over a hundred clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is #1 in the North East and #5 in the country. Do I need to say more?

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and cozy and are really well kept with the amazing maintenance staff.

    Academic Rigor

    It obviously varies from major to major. I see engineering and architecture students breaking their backs while others are less intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want sororities and fraternities, the only ones offered here are academic. Thats one thing that turns people off but I have made my best friends here and location location location!

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams University is a medium sized school with a small school feel. I enjoy being able to walk around and almost always see a familiar face. Not only that but RWU has small classrooms as well as endless opportunities including leadership positions, clubs and organizations and much more.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many opportunities to get involved and participate on campus! There are plenty of activities and events hosted. It's a very good campus to become part of and easy to be important and make a difference.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food; great dining and kitchen staff. They are very accommodating to requests. Just send an email or speak with the chefs yourself!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and it is great to be on campus. I recommend staying on for as long as possible. It is much easier to live on campus. But living off campus will save you plenty of money.

    Academic Rigor

    Not worth the money. It is a great school with great opportunities to get involved. Sliding by is easy; most professors and classes do not push you for the true higher thinking you would want from a university - especially for the price!

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No matter where you look, you can always see a public safety officer near by. I have never felt unsafe even walking by myself at night.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is so much to do with the events provided by the school alone! Also the school is only 30 minutes from Providence, RI where you can enjoy club life and the mall.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING. Many different options and the food is always good!

    Dorm Life

    Many different options to choose from depending on what year you are. They provide a variety of styles like the classic dorm life to a more apartment like style.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely welcoming and willing to help you with extra help. Also it is comforting to know that unlike other schools where you are just a number, these professors know your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Can be very windy at times because it is on the water so be prepared. Also make sure to bring a rain jacket and rain boots! Again its on the water so it tends to rain there a lot.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and staff are very welcoming and show they care about their students. Campus is beautiful, there are always landscapers working on the lawn. Campus size is not to big that you feel like you don't exist but not to small that everyone knows everyones business; your always are meeting new people!

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Strict, but good if youre in trouble.

    Greek Life

    There is none. The parties on weekends are mostly hosted by sports teams.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them make sure to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Rich people who won't be in debt, but really anyone who wants to have fun wile earning a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spring weekends are awesome! The concerts are usually pretty good also.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Newport beach or shows at Lupo's heartbreak hotel.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing!! be careful of the freshman 15 from the commons though!

    Dorm Life

    Pretty good! It all depends on the people around you so make friends fast!

    Academic Rigor

    Not very hard unless you're a science major or engineer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good financial aid package, otherwise don't come! But if you do, join a sport or club right away. The best and easiest time to make friends is freshman year.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams University is a beautiful school located right on the water! You can enjoy amazing sights while studying and walk down to the whenever! But the cost is outrageous, the debt isn't worth it.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The varsity sports are pretty good for a D3 school. Go to games and support the Hawks. There are so many clubs to join, as well as organizations. You won't be bored. RWU is located about 25 minutes away from Newport which is great to go to on the weekends, just to get off campus. Providence Place Mall is also only 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    RWU has the best food ever.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm is different, which makes it great for everyone that comes to live here. There is a dorm just for freshman only, which is great for meeting everyone during your first year. There is also a dorm just for sophomores off campus which is also really awesome. There are quiet dorms, but also regular dorms for a great experience away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will depend on your major and the professor you take the class with, but professors are almost always willing to meet with you and help you out if you are in trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus is beautiful. Food at the dining hall is amazing and one step down from home cooking, although nothing ever beats a home cooked meal. Bring a raincoat and rain boots! Get involved with a club or organization; it's an easy way to meet people and make life long friends.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams University has a beautiful campus which makes being away from home a lot easier to deal with. The small class sizes make for a better learning environment. Professors, faculty and students are all so nice.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    P-safe get raged on but they do their job professionally focused on student safety.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 60 clubs. Organizations program successful events weekly.

    Great for these types of students

    Active students. looking to take advantage of a smaller community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Small campus. Nature walks along the coast.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable education. Tuition freeze is in effect.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs, organizations, sports, inter-murals.

    Food and Dining

    Bon appetit.....enough said. No one beats RWU dining.

    Dorm Life

    Campus is on the bay. Students are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    What you put in you can get out. Professors are great. Adjuncts are unbelievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the community and size of RWU.

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams revives an 8. Campus is unique. Programs are diversified.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety can get anywhere on campus within three minutes of your call. They are all very kind and want each and every student to feel safe within the Roger Williams community.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is clubs for every time of person imaginable! There are also many varsity sports, as well as intramural and club teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Roger Williams is great for students focused on academics and who want to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The shell path has to be one of the most beautiful places on campus. It is a path going around the bay side of campus, lined with white shells and the nature and ocean. It is an awesome place to unwind after a tough day and relax.

    Bang for the buck

    Roger Williams, yes, is an expensive school. However, they are generous with financial aid, and I can honestly say it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    On weekends, if you want to party, you will find them. Many kids go into Providence and go to the +18 bars and clubs. Also, if you don't like the partying scene, there is an awesome club on campus called Roger After Dark that provides things to do every friday and saturday night where it can be ensured no alcohol and drugs make an appearance.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is fantastic. Every weekend they have make your own omelets, and for lunch and dinner everyday you can make your own buritos, quesadillas, and stir fry. They have plenty of options for those that are vegetarians and vegan. Also, everything is offered gluten free.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are awesome, for being a freshman. Other schools I saw freshman had tiny rooms in weird areas on campus. Here, the freshman dorms are all over looking the ocean. The rooms are great sized, however many people this year came into a forced triple situation. They were eventually de-tripled, but living with a cramped room coming into college can be frustrating.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Roger Williams is not easy. The professors push you and they all want to genuinely see their students succeed. If you show you care, they will help you as much as they can to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for you prospective students: - do ALL of your homework - get to know your professors, they seem to be more helpful when they know you are intrigued and care about their class - sit in the front row of your classes, that way you know you will always pay attention if the professor is watching you

    In three sentences

    Roger Williams is an academically challenging university. It provides fantastic support systems for incoming freshman during the tough transition phase. Roger Williams has a great social life for those who are not interested in involvement with drugs and alcohol.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, whether it's 3am, 5am, or 1pm.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus, but you don't even notice. It has no effect on the experience...

    Clubs and Activities

    They have the option of making your own club, so as long as you can find 14 people interested in the same thing, you can do anything from squirrel watching or long boarding to Quidditch or art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's right on the water....beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on on campus, but it's also really easy to go into Newport or Providence and do something there!

    Food and Dining

    YUM and voted number 1.... that's all that needs to be said. All the food is freshly made and delicious. There are unlimited options and they do a very good job of changing around and rotating food so it doesn't get boring. They serve fresh fish all the time (I've had stuffed quahogs, lobster bisque, lobster, salmon, fried calamari, scallops, shrimp...) and have a vegetarian bar every day so vegetarians never need to worry about eating. They are also very accommodating when it comes to allergies and gluten free.

    Dorm Life

    No matter what year you are, there are multiple dorm options to ensure you will be happy where you are living, and everyone is very welcoming! The RAs are incredible and very helpful as well; they aren't looking to just be mean and get you in trouble.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of academics depends on your major, the classes, and the teachers. In general, the classes are neither impossible nor easy...just perfectly in the middle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to talk to students on campus and the tour guides, they genuinely love to tell you about the school and their experiences. And get to know the admissions people as well, they can be really helpful when you're applying or looking for financial aid help!

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful and one of the major reasons I fell in love with this school, but because we are directly on the water, there is a lot of rain. The teachers are willing to help whenever and wherever possible and are actually interested in your education. As for the last sentence...The food is incredible and rated number one in the country by students for multiple years; fresh fish, organic, vegetarian, fresh made, options, what more could you want?

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Roger Williams University public safety department is exceptional. All officers are well trained and experienced in law enforcement. The department of public safety is easy and a pleasure to work with.

    Greek Life

    There is no traditional Greek life on Roger Williams University campus. The only fraternities present on campus are academic in nature.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 different clubs and activities on campus for students to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that have very high academic goals will thrive here academically. Unfortunately, there are many students that do not take their academics seriously; these students can be a distraction to those who strive for academic excellence.

    Bang for the buck

    Roger Williams University is a very serious financial investment. Though the university's tuition is below the national average, Roger Williams has many fees that get added to your monthly bill. Room and board prices at Roger Williams University are slightly higher than the national average but the housing options are very limited for Freshman. Books and lab materials are not included in the cost of tuition, which add upwards of $500.00 to your bill monthly.

    What to do for fun

    Multiple clubs and organizations run programs for students on campus throughout the year. Movie nights, live shows, and concerts are frequent throughout the year. One major concert is held in the spring with a popular performer.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the best part about this university. There is always a large selection of choices for every kind of person. vegetarian and gluten free options are always available.

    Dorm Life

    Your personality will play a huge part in how dorm life will affect you. Which dorm you select to live in will also play a big part in your dorm life experience, though there are limited selection options for freshman. Upperclassmen do have more housing options, but only one residential building is new and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Roger Williams University are really what you make of them. Classes can be easy or very difficult as there are different levels for all classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for limited diversity in the student body. Get involved with as many clubs, programs, and activities on campus that interest you. Make sure to find you time, don't overwhelm yourself with work.

    In three sentences

    All professors are excellent, knowledgeable, and always willing to help. The housing department is difficult to work with and the housing placement process is very confusing. There are always party alternative activities and programs running on campus for those who chose not to drink and party.