Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Roosevelt University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Perfect fit for those that love the city life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Same as for any other colleges or universities visit the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school but they give plenty of financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students ans staff are great. Everyone is friendly, and willing to help in whatever they can.

  • 12/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CCPA students!

    Tips for prospective students

    The secondary education is not fit for a student who does not want to major in your concentration. For example if you want to be a secondary education English teacher then you would major in English and minor is secondary education.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not worth your money unless you are in CCPA. Roosevelt is not know for much other than the CCPA. If you are not applying to CCPA then you should spend your money at another institution

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors here are great, but the financial aid department is very impersonal and they can never explain why money disappears from your account.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot and you get a lot of individualized attention because the class sizes are small. The professors are also very accessible as well.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The loop can be trouble at night, but the dorms are all very safe and secure. As long as you're not wandering around at night by yourself, you'll be safe, especially with police circling the neighborhood constantly (to keep us safer!) http://roosevelt.edu/Security.aspx

    Greek Life

    There are some sororities and fraternities starting up at Roosevelt, though I really can't say much about them. http://www.roosevelt.edu/CSI/Orgs/Greek.aspx

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for everyone at Roosevelt. There are different associations for students of varying backgrounds and several sports teams. Here's a list of the student organizations that Roosevelt had in the Spring 2012 semester: http://www.roosevelt.edu/CSI/Orgs/List_of_Student_Orgs.aspx

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Roosevelt University actually has a formal Homecoming dance every year! And the Auditorium building, located on Congress and Michigan Avenue, has a ton of history. It used to be a hotel, was used to house soldiers at one point, and is now a school. The library is huge and beautiful, and offers an incredible view of the lake from the top floor. The library stacks also stretch for one whole city block. There are several various theatres within the building, and the main, well-known theatre (though it has a separate entrance) taking up the first floor and resulting in the odd horseshoe shape of the halls. There are hidden stairwells and bathrooms, and the building is overall enjoyable to be in. Picture of the library: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-XekJWAFcLSs/TlKbt8iHqCI/AAAAAAAABhM/cvkh6MYBs3Y/s1600/Library-overall.jpg

    Bang for the buck

    Roosevelt University is a private school, and thus a bit more pricey. There are plenty of financial aid options, however, and many scholarships available. The dorms are expensive too, especially with a meal plan, but the scholarships can be put towards housing. If you put it into the broader perspective, living in the heart of Chicago could really cost you so much more, without an education.

    What to do for fun

    Its Chicago! Plus, almost everywhere has a student discount. First, the school has plenty of activities to involve students. Also, living in the dorms, the RAs (resident assistants) have constant programs that apply to students of every type. If you don't want to stay in the dorm or the school, there are plenty of museums (with free days for those of us who can't afford $20 museum tickets), city parks, stores and endless shopping (though you don't have to buy everything), numerous neighborhoods with different personalities and cultures (the CTA pass is a part of tuition, so traveling is even easier), beaches, Navy Pier, historical buildings and monuments, and for Hospitality geeks like me, so many hotel lobbies and convention centers dying to be explored.

    Food and Dining

    With the new dorm building open, there will now be two cafeterias open to Roosevelt students (one at the new Wabash building, and one at the University Center). If you do not live in one of the two buildings with a cafeteria, you can still get a meal plan. The cafeteria is very vegetarian and vegan friendly, and always has many options for everyone. Unfortunately, cafeteria-style food does get old. To the Chicagoan's advantage, there are plenty of restaurants in the area otherwise.

    Dorm Life

    Many, many housing options, especially with the new building just opening for the 2012-2013 school year. All the dorms have great views of Chicago, and are conveniently located in the south loop, very near to public transportation. Most of the dorms are also shared with other schools in the area (DePaul University, Columbia College, Robert Morris University), and there are several rooming options (apartments, suites, studio apartments). Each building also has very high security, so don't be worried about the dangerous city. The south loop has cleaned up a LOT in the past 20 years. More info on living in the dorms: http://www.roosevelt.edu/ResidenceLife.aspx

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take and the professors you have. Some grade more harshly than others, and some classes are easier than others. Same as any other school. The general education classes are pretty easy, but still take them seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get involved. Join a sports team or a certain club. Go to events. Be apart of the school, and you will have so much more fun. Also, make sure to stay on top of your classes. Even though you don't have to call in sick for classes anymore (for those of you right out of high school), that doesn't mean you can stop going. And get to know your professors! They're all down to earth and extremely friendly.

    In three sentences

    A wide variety of students from all different backgrounds, the school is was started as a social justice establishment and (almost) keeps this up. Plenty of political science and political justice majors, while also offering a great Psychology program, and an extremely reputable Hospitality program.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be a person NOT just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and activities to expand your resources.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay A LOT for tuition AND books, however, Roosevelt is currently building a 32 story addition building which will be academic and dorm (it looks amazing) and small classroom sizes make the experience that much better. Your instructors know you by name and notice if you're not in class! The dorms are great too!

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many clubs and student activities to get involved in, and so many resources such as free tutoring, plenty public computer labs and a very resourceful Academic Success Center.

    Am learning a lot

    I love my professors! I am amazed at how much I have learned and am looking forward to learning more in the fall.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the non-partier, great for the introvert and out-going types at the same time, people who love the city life, and those who are liberal-minded with a passion for social justice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the honors program to make the most of your time at Roosevelt!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, yes. But this school gives tons fo financial aid and is very generous with merit scholarships. Housing in downtown Chicago is really the most expensive thing about Roosevelt.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is downtown Chicago, how much better can it get?

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are what you make of them, if you aren't trying then you won't be learning. All of my professors have been great so far!

  • 05/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 7 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    roosevelt students aren't particularly an active sort. so if you're expecting a huge rally every weekend; you might be disappointed.

    Bang for the buck

    it needs to improve alot but it's trying to get there.

    Academic Rigor

    i love my professors and my classes. i usually only have one dud class per year, and love the rest.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in social justice, human rights, liberal arts, leadership, policy making, activism, and community involvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of correspondence from departments like financial aid and student accounts. Also, visit the school outside of the 'visitor week' events. It will help show you what RU is really like.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is increasing, but to be fair, tuition is rising at comparable institutions.

    Am enjoying being here

    Beyond the academics, there are sporting events, student organizations, and endless leadership opportunities. Plus, it's located in Downtown Chicago, so there's never a dull moment.

    Am learning a lot

    The fulltime staff members at Roosevelt University are incredible. Because of the small class sizes, courses are focused and driven. Plus, Roosevelt students are passionate about campus life, which really adds to the learning environment.

  • 02/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Training and Development, Integrated Marketing Communications, Business, Social Justice

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, talk to advisors and if possible, current students.

    Bang for the buck

    It's private and expensive, but among the more reasonable of the private schools here in Chicago. Well worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Best decision I could've made!

    Am learning a lot

    I am enrolled in the MA in Training and Development and it has been a phenomenal learning experience. The class sizes are small, the professors are interested in facilitating your learning process. This program is well-recognized in my industry.

  • 04/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are interested in Communications, Journalism (TORCH NEWSPAPER-Roosevelt University's student-run newspaper), Political Science, (the school was founded on 'Social Justice' and they are very passionate about their politics), Science and Psychology majors (advanced biology and chemistry labs).

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would, if you're interested in a specific major or undergraduate department, call and make sure that it is what you want. You want to pick a school that offers the classes and courses that you want to pursue. The last thing you want to do is get there in the fall and it's not at all what you want. Inquire and make sure you're making the right decision for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely! Though, Roosevelt University is a rather expensive school, granted, it is a private university; however, it is in the heart of Chicago Loop and the education achieved there is definitely bang for the buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am absolutely enjoying my time spent at Roosevelt University. The classes are fantastic. The class sizes are very ideal in order to have a happy and productive college experience. The faculty and administrators are happy to help with anything any current student or prospective student needs.

    Am learning a lot

    I am certainly learning extraordinary things at the prestigious Roosevelt University. This college was my first pick and I am so honored to be a part of such a great educational institution. The small class sizes are great for one-on-one interaction with the teachers, and you're not just another number!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Roosevelt University has unique opportunities for students of various ages.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and tour Roosevelt University. You will really enjoy the atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Roosevelt''s tuition is affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the small class size at Roosevelt University.

    Am learning a lot

    Roosevelt University is challenging.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are a few options, I am in Alpha Gamma Delta and I love the girls. Also Alpha Phi Omega is a good one!

    Clubs and Activities

    If you reach out, you will be very satisfied, and if you don't see a club or activity you want-- make it!

    Great for these types of students

    Independent but involved! Not afraid to get out of shell!

    Bang for the buck

    Very pricey, but reach out and get scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    You are in the heart of Chicago, there are numerous things to do! Never gets boring! There are shows, zoo, navy pier!

    Food and Dining

    Very fresh and healthy choices, but will get old after awhile

    Dorm Life

    New residence halls that are very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard, and study often! The teachers leave it up to you to learn material!

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump into the school. You take from it what you want and make the experience how you want! Get involved with everything you can and introduce yourself to staff. Stop into the Center for Student Involvement Wabash building 323 to learn ALL the ways you can get involved!

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University has become my second home. There are improvements that need to happen on courses, but what university doesn't? RU is set in a perfect location; South loop of Chicago!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no crime and its a dry campus.

    Greek Life

    There's almost every sorority and fraternity and they are very nice and laid back.

    Clubs and Activities

    The basketball team is awsome!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, go to club to dance, take a walk on Michigan Ave. Go to concerts, and Museums.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. Chicago is known for the best Pizza plus there's nice restaurants everywhere in town.

    Dorm Life

    The new building is beautiful. It has a great view of lake Michigan and living downtown is so much fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and there are many mentor that can help. So the education here is high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships early and learn your way around the city.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice,friendly and clean campus. And living in the city is a plus! The staff in Roosevelt help a lot in answering questions!

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safer in Schaumburg than downtown. It's stupid that there's night classes, considering the safety risk, but they promise that if you don't feel safe, you can call the safety desk and ask someone to walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wouldn't know; just that there's a lot. I'm sure there's even more downtown.

    Great for these types of students

    Diehard liberals Black supremists Schaumburg - Psychology and Pharmacy Students, (and maybe Education, but you can't get your concentration in English or History) Chicago - Everything else

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In Schaumburg, there is a daycare center right next door; even connected to the building.

    Bang for the buck

    NOT. Go to DePaul or Loyola or UIC or something. Just DON'T come here.

    What to do for fun

    In my opinion, you don't go to college to have fun. You go to college to get a degree and graduate and get a job. Nevertheless, Roosevelt is always offering things (activities, clubs, events) through the Student Life Center. Not to mention that Roosevelt's downtown campus is, well, downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Overpriced with limited options, many of them not very healthy. Go across the street to Ikea and get a free breakfast on Mondays, or a huge slice of pizza for $2, or one of their other awesome offers of great food.

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know. I commute from home. Saves a LOT of money.

    Academic Rigor

    Average, I guess. Depends on your field of study, classes, the levels, and the professors themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a different college. If you must come here, don't get a night job. Practically all the classes you need are at night. Take everything they say with a grain of salt. Remember, this being a liberal university, they pride themselves on things like socialism, but then the overpaid profs get mad when you ask them to practice what they preach and contribute to your college fund. If you are in the College of Education, they will claim that they will place you within x miles of your residence for your field experiences, but they don't. You will get placed with a special recreation association (how does that help you TEACH special ed kids?) in the next county, and when you try to nicely tell the RU coordinator that that's over an hour drive one way and that there's over 5 SPED schools and special rec centers within a mile of your house, she'll nicely tell you that she doesn't give a ****. They will lose your student teaching application. They will not tell you anything about the Content Area test or the APT test or even that they exist. The profs will give only a week for assignments that require a lot of time, like trying to contact other lazy profs for interviews who don't check their email. They won't bother to check your transcripts to see that you just took this class at your local community college. Then, when you try to drop the course, they won't tell you the proper way to drop it, and you'll receive an F at the end of the semester. You will then need to hunt down your former professor from that class at her daughter's dance competition to get her signature for a petition for a late withdrawn grade. Your online portfolio of major assignments and dispositions from each class (Taskstream) will lose everything you submitted when they upgrade it. Just don't come here.

    In three sentences

    Disappointing: I purposely chose Roosevelt Univesity in Schaumburg because it is within driving distance of my house, and then I find out they're transferring practically everything I need (the entire English and history programs and some of the education classes) downtown. And I can't go downtown either because they eliminated the shuttle! Not to mention that my academic advisor purposely delayed my graduation date and drained my college funds by advising me to take unncessary classes, then let me fail them by not telling me how to properly drop them.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know, the campus is safe and secure. Students tend to feel very safe when on campus and venturing off campus.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Chicago! Chicago students get great discounts in the downtown area, as well as some outer neighborhoods. Take advantage of the museums in the area, Navy Pier, restaurants, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found all the classes, online and on-campus, that I've taken so far to be rigorous and academically challenging. The bulk of my classes have been online and the level of time management that one needs to take these classes is unparalleled. Additionally, the level of difficulty for each class has been pretty even. I've take some 100 level classes that demanded as much quality of work as some 300 level classes! The professors are quite good about requiring excellence from their students and the work they produce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student hard, study often. Take at least one online class, while at Roosevelt University, you might find it more challenging and interesting than being in an on-campus class! Take advantage of the library, as well as the librarians (they are a wealth of knowledge and are so helpful).

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University has a diverse student body, experienced and knowledgeable professors that are dedicated to promoting higher education, and quality resources readily available to students. The staff works hard to provide students with timely and accurate information, ranging from Student Account information to financial aid. Lastly, the academic advisers are friendly and helpful in aiding students to select the right classes for their major which makes for an interesting and challenging personal curriculum.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join sports or clubs. This is the best way to find your niche and make friends and acquaintances for the rest of your life. Social and career networks are almost more important than you degree itself. If you are not into sports or clubs than I suggest living in the dorms for 2 years to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Roosevelt is great, The cafeteria is not a cliched dining hall of death. They serve Mexican, Italian, and American. I love to eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally lived in the dorms but I have been in the dorms. All I can say is that they are dorms. Do not expect the Trump Hotel accommodations. But not to worry. Dorm life is tons of fun and a great way to make friends if you are not into clubs and sports.

    Academic Rigor

    Roosevelt University is very challenging academically. Each professor I've had was great at teaching because they were willing to be tough on students. They are curmudgeonly old crones that give out abundant work. The hardest class I had so far was surprisingly an English class. The professor pushed us to reach a higher level of reading comprehension and it worked because the assignments were fun yet challenging. I think the academic rigor at Roosevelt University is challenging because the professors are passionate about their jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important part of college is showing up. Do not make the mistake of flaking out on an education you are paying for. High school is over and college is a time to show the world AND yourself that you are autonomous and capable of surviving the rest of your life independently. Do not expect success and growth to happen overnight. Work hard and apply maximum effort to every class and you will see the greatest gift that a college education provides: a well-rounded and informed mind equipped with empathy and critical thinking skills.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is full of friendly and open-minded professors. I am more than confident that I am receiving my money's worth in education. I have made many friends and networked thanks to Roosevelt University's vast and seemingly never ending array of helpful staff and students

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The higher your gpa, the bigger the scholarship award.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a bit pricey, but they offer scholarships based on gpa and financial need which make it very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The academics are solid. It's located in downtown Chicago, so there's always something to do. The student population is very diverse, and for the most part pretty friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part, classes are interesting, and professors are very knowledgeable.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the guards are at all doors and you can call any campus phone to get them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are to many to list.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you as a student will fine your voice and understand human rights

    Food and Dining

    there is a wonderful cafe on campus but there are plenty of food of any taste within block of campus

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but new dorms will be open this year 2012.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask a lot of questions to all dept..... i got the run around when i first was enrolled on campus. i sorted through everything to get answers. two seperate buldings that are used for classrooms are 10 blocks apart. that is a pain when the weather is bad.

    In three sentences

    the campus is great with a wonderful learning experience. enjoy going everyday to see what i am going to learn for the day. the energy with the students pushes you to learn.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they food is ok

    Dorm Life

    i have to check out this fall hopefully all go well

    Academic Rigor

    They help you if you need help great school great teachers

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Were starting to get some sports teams, which have had some mixed feelings across campus. Lots of small clubs and activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Performing art students have to check out the historic auditorium theater! WGS, hospitality, business, biology, psych, sociology, and those who care about social efforts would love RU.

    Bang for the buck

    Some will say Roosevelt is expensive, and yes, it is a private university. But I love the attention teachers give their students, and think I am getting an amazing education for my money.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the heart of Chicago...what isn't there to do?

    Tips for prospective students

    Roosevelt offers small classes, not giant lecture halls here. All of my teachers have been welcoming and all have offered help to those who ask for it. Living downtown can be expensive!

    In three sentences

    An urban campus makes Roosevelt University perfect for so many majors, including my own, Hospitality and Tourism Management. I love the focus on social issues that the school has throughout all majors. And I can't wait for the new vertical campus to open next fall!

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm in a good area and feel safe. You have to know where to go and where not to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    Roosevelt sports programs are wonderful. I'm also a student work at Roosevelt which is great.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Chicago is expensive but the experiences you gain are forever!

    What to do for fun

    Any number of museums and shopping for everyone! Take advantages of the parts and beaches. Make friends!

    Food and Dining

    Dorm meals were good. Great places to eat in Chicago. Try them all.

    Dorm Life

    My first year was in a dorm. Good meals, easy access to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, it's hard but take advantage of study halls. Teachers are willing to help; work with them if you need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class and get the most out of it. Live on or near campus and get the true feeling of college life. Take advantage of their sports programs.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are easy to work with and always make time for you. Enjoy the Chicagoland area and opportunities. Loved my 2 years with the basketball team.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So safe there is always security on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are fun but are a huge commitment, clubs are more fun. I made a ton of friends through a group called A.L.A.S. Its a Latin American group that does a lot of charity work and informs students of the traditions of Latin American culture.

    Bang for the buck

    Your money goes to a lot of good, my school does a lot of charity drives and stuff.

    What to do for fun

    All I have to say is, YOU ARE IN CHICAGO!!!!!!! SO MUCH TO DO EVERYWHERE!!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    Only have one thing to say, ITS DORM FOOD.

    Dorm Life

    Soooooo fun, I got to dorm at the University Center on state street and I had the opportunity to meet so many cool people that don't even go to my school!! And the new building is amazing and has amazing views of the whole city!!

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes are challenging but they are so worth it the teachers are really cool and love helping out their students. I highly recommend taking the Human sexuality course and if you have to take English 101 or English 102 take it with either Mairin Barney or Carrie Brecke they rock!!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be open to new experiences -Don't be afraid to travel but be safe and travel with someone -Go to the sporting events they're fun -Go to the free events hosted by our different clubs they are so fun and FREE!!! -Join clubs and groups they help you meet some really great people

    In three sentences

    Wonderful students, staff, and environment and an up and coming athletics program that is doing very well for its first couple of seasons. New buildings are looking amazing and the views are wonderful. Finally, the concept of social justice is taken seriously, we almost all of the students take the motto of social justice very seriously.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Focused on social justice

    What to do for fun

    Academic clubs like Psychology club.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    Great. They have worked hard to build environmental friendly facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    Exceptional

    Tips for prospective students

    If you apply yourself you will be amazed how the professors are willing to work with you.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt university is a very focused on the success of students. The academic advisors take time to help students understand. The professors are excellent and professional.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Beautiful view of Chicago and a very nice dorm room. The building has eveything.

    Tips for prospective students

    The School is a beautiful place. Just make sure you know that it is the right college for you. Its like high school but your more independent and free and it feels good but you have to be careful and watch yourself. Just because your free you don't have to go out and get crazy that's not what college is about. You go there to accomplish. Drinking is not an accomplishment it can be trouble so check yourself, and don't get crazy.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful school and I can not wait to attend classes there. The dorms are amazing and the people are so nice. I'm extremely excited to start my second year. I know this school is going to be better than the last. The classes I have seen are really going to help out with my major and what I want to do in life. It is going to be a great 3 years.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Free day for students at the Art Museum of Chicago.

    What to do for fun

    With the money I save from preparing meals at home, I am able to spend more time with my three beautiful grandchildren. It is taking them to experience museums, planetarium, and aquariums that I am able to keep them stimulated in their growth and education.

    Food and Dining

    I prepare my meals at home. An added plus, I can have left-overs for lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only my previous experiences to go by - I maintain a balance between school work and down-time. By taking a break from school work to do an activity to wind down (and does not require much brain power), I am able to return to my school tasks with a fresh eye.

    Tips for prospective students

    During the process of transferring from one school to the next, plan your time wisely. Be sure to give yourself time to walk around the campus and speak with the students about their experiences.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University's staff are a pleasure to work with. While making my way through the transfer process, I am shown respect, consideration, and courteousness. Roosevelt's staff are also very patient with me, answering any questions, as I maneuver through this unfamiliar process.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk the Magnificent Mile and go shopping or to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, and many restaurants surrounding the school.

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful view as I've said before :)

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major, I guess.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school. See what I'm really talking about.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is unique in it's architecture, with a vertical build. The top 13 floors as the dorms serve as the perfect view of the lake for students. The variety of people who attend helps students make a diverse social life.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Open campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Many things to do in the City.

    Food and Dining

    Near to many public dining opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would try and get as much financial aid and as many scholarships as i could before starting school.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes they ensure that I am getting sufficient attention. I love the schools dedication to social justice. I wish the tuition was more reasonable.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a great job around the campus, finding someone is always very easy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports teams at the Chicago campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Smaller crowds during the day or if you prefer to be in the city for its attractions.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost is the same as any other private university, more expensive than a state school however.

    What to do for fun

    There are various games in the cafeteria for students to play - such as pool or ping pong. There is also a fitness center for students to work out in their free time. The center for campus life has a TV with Netflix and a Wii available along with popcorn.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent with great variety throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging, but just like any other school some can be hit or miss.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend the Schaumburg campus, then you will need to find housing - only the Chicago campus has a dorm.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at the campus is extremely friendly and helpful. The school is ideal for those seeking smaller crowds and more one-on-one time with professors. Overall, great school and many opportunities.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is a cool school. They are located in the Loop of downtown Chicago which is an amazing location as far as diversity goes. The new building they just built is amazing and they have the very qualified teachers to match. They also have a lot of great programs and amenities to make your time at Roosevelt well worth it.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards every where, and for the dorms you cannot enter unless you have your Roosevelt ID. And there are guards guarding that as well.

    Greek Life

    Huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many!

    Great for these types of students

    Performing Arts/Education students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None as far as I know!

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive to go here, but it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    They have many activities around the campus! And if not that, they always have free things going on around the park areas, and everything is in walking distance!

    Food and Dining

    The new dining hall is great! They have very good food and all the workers are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the new dorms, and they are amazing! The view is beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    It is very hard here, they push you to your limit. So be ready to work!

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY EARLY! They love seeing that you are most interested in this school. This school is wonderful for performing arts and music education. It is mostly classical music, but we do have an amazing jazz program.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt has an amazing environment. Roosevelt is a top-notch school with many opportunities. The performing arts part is the best school here.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have a lot of Sororities, and two Fratenities and the greek life is still growing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tower in the Auditorium building the elevator is really unique.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun, is everything in Chicago, there is always something to do either on campus or on school because so much is going on in downtown Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    The pizza on the first floor on the Michigan side of the Auditorium building are very tasty and good.

    Dorm Life

    Wabash Building is really nice. Row is more apartment style then dormitory style. The University Center is alright you get the benefit of have other schools in the building.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in the Wabash building it has a really amazing view.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt Teacher's actually care about your education and are willing to help you in anyway possible to be successful. The staff is really friendly. The dorms are really amazing,

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety rules on campus is usually enforced when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've never joined any clubs yet, but I recently discovered that there was an anime club here. I was pretty shocked, I never expected any fans in a college like this.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition will be costly no matter what university you go to. For the first few years you get what you pay for as far as a meaningful education goes. It is important to do well in the classes so you won't have to end up repeating a course over and over. Its a waste of your time and money.

    Food and Dining

    The school food is fairly decent. Most students just stop and go to restaurant chains located near the school before going to class or during lunch to get a more filling meal.

    Dorm Life

    The new high-tech Wabash Building is the perfect residence for students. It has a beautiful bird's eye view of the city and has instant access to the school so you won't have to wake up early to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The first years of college is like a review of high school. Many of the classes are large and it may make a more individualized learning experience hard to achieve. There are reasonable office and tutoring hours after class so it isn't impossible to get the help you need in a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students thinking about attending RU need to do the best they in their current grade level, and have a good idea on saving money before the semester to buy any required books for classes out of pocket. The prices will surprise you.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything in downtown Chicago.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to be prepared for and comfortable with living in a large city, as Roosevelt is very much an urban campus.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is a very good option for those seeking a more progressive, highly liberal university. Its urban location and its low teacher to student ratio offers a very unique college setting.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    GO TO ROOSEVELT!! This comes from a person who had lost all hope in the US educational system due to the crappy system in other colleges..aka Harper... do not waste you time there I couldn't be happier with being here. This place makes me want to study, to do better and I'm finally on my way to become a dentist!

    What to do for fun

    My campus is located in Schaumburg IL - also a north suburb - you name -Schaumburg or the towns next to it have it.

    Food and Dining

    Due to the 2 yr college I was under the impression all cafeterias suck. Well it's just not true. We even have Chinese food, Starbucks with discount, salad bars and freshly made pizzas, BBQ...u name it! I'm super impressed.

    Academic Rigor

    Roosevelt could not be more awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are currently involved in a 2 yr college, thinking about transferring to an actual school... DO IT! NOW! Don't think twice, community colleges are absolute waste of time and are structured so they can just pocket your money and rob you from any hope there is. Get out of there asap! Once you transfer, you'll understand what I am talking about

    In three sentences

    Before attending this school, I was trapped in a 2 year north - suburban community college. I felt like all hope for my future was gone - taking pointless classes and dealing with impossible teachers. Then i transferred here, and before I know it, i was on the right track again - i have the will and power to go the way I always wanted to - they just pushed me to do it. Apply! It will change your life!

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food starts off good in the begining of the school year at the University Center, and it continues to worsen as the year goes. The Wabash Building has had good food this year.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you are housed (which is done by a lottery system) you may have a varying strictness. The University Center is the most strict (legalistic) while other dorms are nicer in my opinion. All dorms have excellent and expedient services.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor depends on the class level. Classes are challenging, and attempt to incorporate social justice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized and follow up when working with Roosevelt. Most of the offices are on top of things, but they aren't the most updated or organized of schools. Also, make connections with professors at office hours; they will be more likely to help you the most in the future.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is a great social justice school in the heart of the South Loop in downtown Chicago. It's historical relevance is shown in the Auditorium Building, an older facility. It's new Wabash Building has stellar views, bigger class room sizes, and we are currently getting another gym facility across the street.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    School cafeteria is great. the serve subways, pizza, pasta and all sorts of items and goodies.

    Academic Rigor

    The educators are very understanding and push for each student to strive for excellence.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is a diverse school with wonderful educators that truly care about the progress of their students. The school is located at the heart of downtown, so you get the urban, busy city feel as your walking to and fro campus. I've enjoyed my stay, this being my last year, Roosevelt university will have a special place in my heart.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school hosts many small events throughout the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students for tips on selecting professors.

    In three sentences

    Great small classes. Professors in the science department are very helpful. Could use a more effective system in the financial aid office.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a really safe school to be in the student will be so comfortable in this school to the point that they will feel like if they were in their own home.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life each organization has a different set of values philanthropy & service, leadership, and friendship. In addition, membership in a fraternity or sorority extends beyond your college years; joining is a lifetime commitment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs and activities which I will only mention one is the TRiO Club which helps 1st generation Hispanics to keep on going with their school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to achieve and love to be in small classes then this is the University for them. The people at the school are always ready to help out the ones who need it and they offer a variety of programs to help them out with their academic needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Roosevelt University is at downtown so pretty much the locations on campus are what we call now a days pretty dope meaning everything there is just awesome. It is close by the lake as well as the Sears Tower, Water Tower, Millennium Park and etc.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth the time and especially the money because it has everything that a student would want to look for. The tuition may be to much but depends on the student who is smart enough to file for scholarships and have excellent grade

    What to do for fun

    Roosevelt University is next by the lake and millennium park as well as other famous places here in Chicago. Students will have a wonderful time walking and having fun at downtown as well as going to the Water Tower and Sears Tower etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great they have a whole lot to choose from and the lunchroom is big as well. Its a great place to meet with friends and just hang out.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in Roosevelt University despite of the fact that I do not live there by the way I look at it the dorms are awesome! The students have everything that they need and will have a good time and create great memories just by living there.

    Academic Rigor

    I could say that they are somewhat strict. This is because each and everyone of us are adults and students better keep in mind that we are not dealing with elementary school and high school. It's up to the students to make the effort into passing and attending all their classes in order for them to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I can give to prospective students are that first of all they have to attend all their classes and try their best to pass. The university has great programs that they can get in to from which they can have the tutors that they need. Also, to always go and talk to the adviser and ask them any questions that they might have to have a successful semester.

    In three sentences

    From a scale of one to ten I would give it a ten because it has all the resources from which a person can look to. Also, The people there are awesome and ready to help students when needed. Finally Roosevelt University has a great environment and I am sure anyone would love to attend here.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not ate at this school yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Im thinking of attending.

    In three sentences

    Think Roosevelt University in Schaumburg, IL will be a great choice for me. My cousins go there . I like their way of teaching. Heard they have great teachers and professors.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Enhhh...not the greatest, nor strongest.

    Greek Life

    Not the greatest. This school is not a traditional school. So don't expect much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some. Not many. And they usually aren't consistent and don't last.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition I've ran into was the fact that I have not run into a student who was enthused about going to Roosevelt. Everyone says this school was not their first choice.

    Bang for the buck

    From going to Roosevelt, you do NOT get what you pay for at all.

    What to do for fun

    Your in the City. You will find something.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks. Period. I don't even know how to explain how bad it is.

    Dorm Life

    Not many options. Prices are unreasonable. Change is impossible (room switches, roommate problems= not much help).

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great. Professors are better. Many of the classes feature lectures. Be able to stay awake. Grading is satisfactory.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded about change, it happens a lot here. Get used to seeing the same people over and over again. Prepare to study hard and long. Remember every one's experience is different.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is not a very diverse campus. More in tune with the city life, Roosevelt satisfies all the needs of an average city goer. Roosevelt is a very small school with very small classes.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located in the South Loop (safest place in Chicago) and has security guards on every floor. Students need special ID cards to enter every floor.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports and many clubs & activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students trying to earn a degree. Students trying to live in a big city. Students who want to pursue college athletics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Floors 1-5: Student Services & Activities, Fitness Facilities Floors 6-13: Classrooms, Labs, & Offices Floors 14-31: Residence Hall

    Bang for the buck

    Athletic programs at Roosevelt are improving and will be competitive in the upcoming years. It is a great place for athletes.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely anything, it is right in the heart of Chicago, which is the 3rd biggest city in the United States.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and take a tour of the city near Roosevelt to see how much you can do.

    In three sentences

    I visited Roosevelt University and I just really liked everything about it, especially the new campus and athletic center. Roosevelt is clean, new, and somewhere I want to be. Roosevelt has everything is perfect for any student trying to get a great education in a big city.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, parents, people who work, grad students.

    What to do for fun

    In Chicago, there is so much to do that I could not begin to explain. In Schaumburg, there is not as much to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider all options and look into the major requirements. Do not major in something you do not want to study.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is a nice school, but not worth the tuition prices. The Professors are not as knowledgeable as some from other schools. The campuses are both nice and new.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location would be the haunted room located in the second floor of the historic Auditorium building.

    Bang for the buck

    Roosevelt is among the most expensive and prestigious private universities in Illinois and Chicago. It has a rich traditional history but has also expanded and modernized greatly recently. They definitely make every penny worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The school's center for student involvement is constantly hosting fun events both in the school and around the city for its students. Some of the events include major sporting events, concerts, and festivals. The school also has great lounges with pool tables, fooz ball, ping pong tables, flat screen televisions, and cool views of the skyline. There is also a large state of the art fitness center and basketball gym.

    Food and Dining

    Roosevelt has a state of the art brand new dinning center in the new building. It has flexible meal plans and hours. It also has a great variety of meals for meat lovers, vegetarians, vegans, and or people just trying to stay in shape.

    Dorm Life

    The new Wabash building is the second highest educational building in the country. Located right on the famous Chicago magnificent mile and lake front you will have the best views of down town Chicago. The night life and activities are vast and great.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Roosevelt can be both challenging and lay back. The bio and CCPA majors have intense workloads. While the students in the college of Arts and Sciences are not as overwhelmed by their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read about Roosevelt's social justice mission because it is something they promote a lot throughout the school year.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is an upscale community type university. It has a great Student/Teacher ratio and a lot of support. It is outstanding.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm at school. I live with my parents.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are checkpoints within the building to help prevent unwanted visitors.

    Bang for the buck

    Very fair price for the experience that comes with living and attending school in downtown Chicago. The academics are also great and up to par for what you are paying.

    What to do for fun

    You could always go to the rec center located within the campus. If not you could catch a Cubs or Sox games by taking the L to the respective stadiums.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided in the cafe floor is great. Large variety to choose from. In case you for some reason get tired of the food options there are many nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The campus has one of the best views in town. Living spaces are large and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    This university definitely puts academics first. The academic advisors make sure and tailor your schedule so you can get the classes you need completed.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who need financial aid make sure and talk to the financial aid office, they could help with finding more scholarships. Make sure and schedule a campus visit in advance so you can see that great campus.

    In three sentences

    Very great academically based college. Located in a great part of downtown Chicago. Great staff that is there to help in anyway possible.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour security, and you can only access the dorms via scanning and showing your ID card.

    Greek Life

    I don't participate in Greek life, but there are fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's to many to list. There's literally a club or a group for everyone, with every interest. And if they don't, the school encourages students to start one!

    Great for these types of students

    People who love the urban setting, and enjoy a fast paced lifestyle. We don't have campus grounds, the city of Chicago IS our campus. It's also a great school for people who want a college who keeps up with the ever changing world and also really focuses on going green.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I kid you not, Johnny Depp shot a movie scene on the stairs in the main entrance!

    What to do for fun

    It's Chicago, there's ALWAYS something to do in Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a lot of different food choices and even catered to vegetarians needs. You can always find something to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    THE DORMS ARE AMAZING! One of the coolest aspects of the university is it's extremely unique architecture and if you love sky scrapers and big city buildings, you will love the dorms because you get big windows and you're way up on top of the building. It's really very neat.

    Academic Rigor

    That depends on your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good scores and try your hardest on your ACT/SAT's. They take them very seriously and will put you in certain developmental classes to help you build your skills in key subjects.

    In three sentences

    The campus is totally beautiful, and very unique. Everyone I've come into contact with have been extremely nice and helpful. You'll love it if you're seeking the city life.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start planning and making appointments early. Classes fill up quickly, and there's so much you need to do and people you need to speak with before registration can begin.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is a beautiful campus, with a helpful staff. The older building that isn't used as much holds a wonderful history, while the newer building holds light and promise for the future. While most schools seem overwhelming Roosevelt does not.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Great variety for all students. Little bit of everything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have had three of my cousins attend this school, plus a lot of friends. I have yet to hear a complaint from either one.

    What to do for fun

    Start a club! Join some of the great clubs and extracurricular activities such as sororities, internships, athletics, mentoring programs, the list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    The new building includes a very spacious cafeteria. It's been hard not to order something the times I've been there, the smell was fantastic. Yet again, many opportunities for dining, whether it be their cafeteria, or great places nearby. Perfect location.

    Dorm Life

    Although more on the expensive side, I would say it is worth it to live on campus. The new building is immaculate, one of the nicest places to live. View is incredible, and it doesn't hurt to know that the vertical tower is completely new and improved.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Roosevelt is on top. They are prestigious, but still have that warm feeling. It's the best of both worlds. The amount of opportunities as far as majors is great, not to mention creative extracurricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be to really understand what major they would like to study and know that whatever that it, Roosevelt will have it. Research is the most important aspect, everyone on staff is really friendly when it comes to questions and concerns of others.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt has a unique atmosphere in that everyone feels warm and welcomed, which is not the case for most colleges. My family has loved everything about Roosevelt and I would like to be added to that list. The best part is feeling that you are in good hands, the personal level of this school is extremely impressive.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk along the Lakefront, go shopping down State street, visit The Bean, go to Navy Pier and see a Shakespeare play, take a river boat ride, talk to homeless people, do a service project, go to Ronald McDonald House Charities and make meals for people, and the list goes on

    Food and Dining

    The food was great, it's just the variety that needed improving. Toward the end of the year there was more to choose from which definitely improved the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    New building. That's all I've got to say.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes really challenge you to a level of thinking that is sometimes hard to keep up with, but definitely worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. TALK TO YOUR PROFESSORS!- They are there to help you and by building a connection with them early on, you have both improved your grade and built up your network for later on in life. 2. GET INVOLVED!- It's great to jump headfirst into school life, that way based on your activities you have a solid, balanced social group

    In three sentences

    A great social justice school dedicated to helping students and building connections. Not only is the school a great match for the movers and shakers of the world, our Performing Arts Academy has been compared to and valued higher than Julliard. If you're looking to change the world through whatever avenue you prefer, Roosevelt is definitely a school that can help you reach your goals.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent!

    What to do for fun

    It's Chicago! There's SO many activities to do. Millennium park, Shedd Aquarium, the museums! Simply walking down Michigan Avenue or by the lake.You will never be bored.

    Dorm Life

    I reside off campus so don't know too much about dorm life, but I have seen the dorms. They are pretty nice and have an amazing view! I've also heard nothing but good things about it from friends who live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and you will simply fall in love! Great campus, great faculty, what more can you ask for?!

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt is a great school.The faculty and staff are always incredibly nice and always willing to help you in whatever way they can. The campus is clean and extremely easy to get around.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School ran activities, parties that my friends tell me about. But really I just love to draw at the park or walk around downtown with my friends. Oh yeah, and shop.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food there and there are vegetarian and vegan options as well.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun dorm life for students of all ages. Parties are not very often but they can be found.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are awesome and rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!! Connect with the teachers and the staff that is there to help you Dont be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is a close knit, small class sized school with great teachers. The dorms are great and are in a very awesome location right in the center of Downtown Chicago. Roosevelt is a diverse school with great benefits and academics.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining area is very spacious and professional, and the food is great. I spend much of my time studying in the dining area.

    Dorm Life

    I am actually a commuter, so I can't really express the concept of living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically and personally, the courses, professors, and even classmates challenge you to step out of the box and see things from other perspectives. Break the habit of timid ness, because there will be plenty of open discussions during class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be resourceful, take advantage of all the things offered, and get to know your advisors, professors, classmates, etc, it is worth the time.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is filled with diversity, historical architecture, and resources that aid in the success of its students. The professors are very professional, the students are respectable, and the staff, faculty, officials, advisors are all helpful. I can honestly see myself being able to thrive in Roosevelt University due to the great opportunities for future advancement that it offers. Thus far, it has been a great experience!

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every program Roosevelt has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University has a very diverse program for students. The instructors are very professional. Everyone at Roosevelt cares about the students.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy spending time with family, friends and my boyfriend.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to be ready to learn a lot from the courses that he/she elected.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University's professors keep the student attentive with the courses. I have just started attending to this university and I have found no issues. The courses are really helping me and guiding me to my career in law.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food there is cooked in front of you and you have different options. You can eat what the campus offers you or you can go to one of the many restaurants that is in the area.

    Dorm Life

    living on campus means, getting to know people from different places, having a secured place to live, having access to the on campus events and having a wonderful view of the downtown area. Great food on and off campus, lot of places to visit and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    Living on campus maybe hard for students who do not live in the Chicago area, they may become homesick but the campus and school is very friendly. There are many programs as well as events that help first time students adjust to the change. Some students may have a challenge with the courses but there are also people that are willing to help students when they need it.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is hard for me to stick around campus because I also have a job, but I do know that there are weekly activities that happen on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is variety and most food in the cafe is good

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely dedicated professors teaching what they know best

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to as many scholarships as you can!

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt has some of the best professors that truly care about their students. There are many opportunities to engage with everybody. The only downside of this university is the price tag.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Both the Chicago and Schaumburg campuses have excellent dining centers. Fresh made food is always available, with options for every type of eater. Whether you are a meat-lover or herbivore, you will find a meal to satisfy you at Roosevelt. As an added bonus, the food is also very affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Roosevelt has a large body of teachers in many different areas of study. The curriculum has always been challenging, but never over-bearing. The professors at this institution really go out of their way to make sure you understand the material, and teach in a way that helps relate what you learn to real-life situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have open communication with the school. From admission to graduation, the faculty at Roosevelt is unbelievably helpful and reliable. If you have any questions, concerns, or problems, the staff here is dedicated to making your experience as easy as possible.

    In three sentences

    Roosevelt University is an exceptional school with an amazing staff, faculty, and student body. The social justice principles on which the school was founded in 1945 still shine bright today through the ever increasing diverse and friendly students. Roosevelt is sure to help every student find their way to success.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of night life nearby and also there are many cool spots to hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the Academic success center!!!! Go to the professors office hours (stop in to say hi sometimes, get to know them)

    In three sentences

    Close knit community. Social justice oriented. Very great programs.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat near Roosevelt, so your optionsa are endless.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms in the Wabash Building are beautiful! They overlook the Buchingham Fountain and Lake Michigan.

    Academic Rigor

    Roosevelt has a wonderful academic program which is what caught my eye to apply.