Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Leaders, innovators, and people who want to make a difference in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school but have several opportunities for aid. If there isn't a program at the school that you are interested in they will help you find a program outside the school. All of the technology is top of the line so that after graduation you are immediately ready to begin your career. Rose also has a job placement rate like you wouldn't believe. Companies come from all over for a Rose graduate. If you are having trouble with your work you can go to tutors, homework help lines, learning centers, and both the teachers and students are more than willing to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus life is amazing. The faculty and the students work really hard to make sure that the incoming freshman have fun and make friends while teaching about the school and residence life. I have never seen people get along so well so quickly.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are looking for a college that have everything you will need for a career in Science, Math, Engineering, or Technology Rose-Hulman has a course for everything.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kids who love (and understand) 'The Big Bang Theory', Star Wars, and Battlestar Galactica.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Visit the campus. If you're not into the smaller campus and small student body, you'll know after visiting. Conversely, if you're not sure about what type of campus you're looking for, visiting will really help. Take AP and IB courses and really challenge yourself to prepare for the workload.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but when you think about the career placement (close to 100% within 1 year of graduating) and the return on that investment, it becomes worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's important to understand that this school is not for someone looking for a larger state school. It's only about 2,000 students for an undergraduate education - but if a close-knit community with emphasis on teaching and creating a network of support and understanding is something you want in a college (as I do), Rose is definitely for you. The Rose staff are always friendly and are never curt. They always want to help and are there for you - this includes faculty, staff and other students (especially in the residence halls). You are surronded by people who enjoy the same types of things you do.

    Am learning a lot

    They accept a lot of AP/IB credit, so you're not relearning anything (if you don't want to, of course. There is always the option to start at the beginning and lay a good foundation, which a lot of students chose to do). The best thing about Rose-Hulman is how they teach the information - it's about the theory AND the application. Often times, in higher math and science courses, the real-world implications of what you're learning can be lost in the fast pace. It's tough, but at Rose they fit it all in there and you end up learning a ton more once the quarter is over.

  • 04/18/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nerds, unsocial people, and intellectual masochists. To put it crudely, people in love with their brain and intellectual potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT THE CAMPUS. You have to see whether you'll like it there or not. For people that come from balmy paradises, it snows and can get somewhat cold.

    Bang for the buck

    I must admit I was shocked by the price of tuition. It was pretty much the only reason why it took me so long to decide to go to Rose. But as I stated before, there are few comparisons to a Rose-Hulman education.

    Will enjoy being here

    The town is somewhat dead, as compared to other college campus cities I have visited. Terre Haute is in the middle of farm country, and is around 200 miles away from either Indianapolis or St. Louis. The campus is not as big as I expected, but I like them that way (for people that want a big-college experience, this might not be the place for you). No matter how empty the college or the city looks like, I bet that with a little participation in the many school clubs, along with various internships, co-ops, and study-abroad trips, Rose-Hulman can be just as much fun as any other school

    Will learn a lot

    Rose-Hulman is all about giving the student as much knowledge as possible. I must admit, it looks quite challenging, but that's why I have been attending a local community college, to get somewhat prepared for the shock. The labs are messy, dirty, but full with so many cool gadgets. Teachers are always accessible, know what they are teaching, and are somewhat funny (in my overnight visit, maybe not so much in real life...). I really look forward to mess up with those cool gadgets

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are really interested in math, science and engineering because no other types of majors are offered. Students who would enjoy the small campus atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider what you really would like your college experience to be like before you make your college experience. Rose-Hulman is a great Institution, but it is not for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Rose-Hulman is definitely expensive, however the personal attention, small classes, and career services department make it all worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Very friendly and personal environment. However if you are looking for the big-college experience, consider how important that is to you before making the decision to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn everything you need to know to be successful in any of the math, science, or engineering fields offered at Rose-Hulman.

  • 03/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students wanting to pursue engineering -Students interested in math and science -Students that prefer a small school / close community

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard! Rose-Hulman can be a lot of fun, but you have to commit a lot of time and effort into your schoolwork. A lot of students that attend Rose didn't have to try very hard to make A's in high school. That changes when you get to Rose.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Rose-Hulman, but I will admit it is expensive to attend. It feels worth the money for me because it is a prestigious school and upon graduation I will be able to attain a career to pay off my loans. I also love the school's environment and the availability of homework help and tutors.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are tons of different clubs and activities you can get involved in which is great because it gives you a chance to do something other than homework! However one of the best things about Rose is the feeling of community. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We even have what we call 'open door' policy which basically means everyone leaves their dorm doors open. This isn't required but it helps build the sense of community and since we have such a small, close-knit community things are rarely stolen.

    Am learning a lot

    Rose-Hulman is definitely a fast-paced school! This means I am learning a lot fast. Sometimes it feels like we are moving too quickly, but there are plenty of opportunities to get homework help! The Learning Center is open all week (during the day and in the evening). There you will find tutors that are able to help you understand the homework you're having trouble with.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Rose! It may be a little intimidating at first but it doesn't take long to get accustomed to the work load of this top tier college.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part the people here are great. It is not hard to find great friends. The campus is beautiful and there are always intramural sports going on. I was on 15 teams this past year. I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are incredible. It is very rare where I have a teacher that I am not a fan of. The professors are always in their office and will drop whatever they are doing to help with questions. 100 times better than my high school teachers

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eager young minds

    Tips for prospective students

    Petition the Financial Aid Office to review your aid package. Try to get work opportunity.

    Bang for the buck

    Being #1 (US News and World Report) pretty much guarantees a shocking price tag but after the Grants and Merit scholarships you are automatically applied for with your acceptance you are looking at a much more reasonable number. The available student employment options are very attractive for those of us who don't wish to work off campus but still want walking around money. All of the professors have their doctorates and are always available and helpful outside the classroom. The normal class sizes are around 25 people and the one on one time is a definite plus. I really have utilized the on campus learning center where they have available to all students exams and tests from previous years. I found these extremely helpful when studying.

    Am enjoying being here

    This institute has a truly unique environment in which learning has the utmost importance but is also healthily balanced by the several IM sports and clubs to join. There is always somewhere on campus where you can get free food (which is important for us poor college kids) and join in fun activities.

    Am learning a lot

    Rose-Hulman is a great school for those students who love to learn! You really can't ask for teachers who are more sincerely interested in not only the classroom topics but also the lab sessions.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus, even when walking around alone at 2am (really, it's that safe!) Public safety is available 24/7, but I'm sure they get bored because nothing ever happens.

    Greek Life

    There are 8 fraternities and 3 sororities on campus. Greek life is different here then it is at larger schools, and a large amount of students are involved in Greek life. It is a great way to meet new people, get involved on campus, and really add to your overall college experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities around campus, I'm sure I haven't even heard of some of them. Also, if there isn't a club that you are interested in, you can start your own! The worst part about the clubs and activities is picking which ones to join because there are so many options.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds! Anyone who wants to major in engineering or science, and enjoys having fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year the freshman build a large homecoming bonfire (google them!) and the sophomores try to tear it down. The freshman take turns at night guarding the bonfire, which is a fun bonding experience for all of the freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey, but many students are able to get scholarships to help with the price. Rose also has almost a 100% placement within the first year after graduation, which is almost unheard of. Between the experience and the placement rate, it is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater and a mall in town, along with a children's museum, an art museum, and many other fun things to do. It seems small, but you can always find things to do. There is also almost always something fun going on around campus, and Indianapolis and Bloomington are just about an hour away for day trips.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway and Noble Romans on campus. The food in the dining hall is okay, but not great.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Hall staff is amazing, and that makes res life absolutely fantastic! They help you get integrated into the school, and your floor-mates become some of your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Rose is a very tough school, but everyone here wants you to succeed and is willing to do whatever they can to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit colleges that you are considering. My visit to campus is what sold me on Rose-Hulman. Also, for juniors, consider looking into Operation Catapult, a summer program for rising seniors, to get a real Rose-Hulman experience.

    In three sentences

    Rose is a home away from home for everyone who attends. It is a small school, and we are all one huge family.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is VERY small, with an open door policy. Campus security is not an issue at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Im excited about the archery club. Plus I think I might try band, since their are even programs for beginners!

    Bang for the buck

    With nearly 99% job placement, employers are practically begging you to work for them.

    What to do for fun

    There are excellent sports programs and facilities for everything from varsity to intramural clubs. The theatre programs are also super fun for both viewers and participants.

    Food and Dining

    The food seems pretty good, but not fantastic. On a plus side, every dorm room comes with a refrigerator, so keeping your own food around is especially easy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and roomy. The painted walls and variety of furniture arrangements make it feel more like home instead of the jail cell atmosphere at most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    The students have to be dedicated to their studies because the classes are very challenging and require a lot of work. However, the profs are very interesting and extremely accessible for assistance. The students are also great about helping each other succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit!!!! For the best idea of what the university is like, stay overnight in a dorm and sit in on a class.

    In three sentences

    A small and expensive school, but the personal attention from fascinating professors, great support from motivated students, and excellent career services and job placement make it all worth it.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    Excellent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse and growing. The Student Government supports the clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. Shy and timid. Outgoing and extrovert.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the students join a fraternity or sorority. On your birthday, prepared to be laked.

    Bang for the buck

    Rose-Hulman has a great financial aid department that will work with everyone so that it won't be a financial burden to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Join a fraternity.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical dorm food. Although, the staff try to mix it up at times.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are ran differently. There are sophomore advisers along with Resident Advisors who live on the floor. The SA goal is to engage the students on the floor to get together and bond. Also, there is an open door policy allowing and more thriving environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Rose-Hulman pushes students to think harder and work harder. Although, Rose-Hulman provides a supportive environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before your make a decision. It really helped me to see how different Rose-Hulman in both the academic environment and the student life. Don't dismiss this school because of the small size and the location.

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman is a thriving environment both creatively and academically. It provides a supportive environment that allows for students to explore and question. It also allows students to grow and be exposed to the real world by offering programs, events, and opportunities.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Rose is hands down the best. I have not seen any safety incidents during my time here.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is enjoyed by nearly 40% of Rose-Hulman students. It's a great way to connect with people of similar interests and values.

    Clubs and Activities

    With over 90+ clubs and organizations there is something for everyone...and if by any chance there is not something you like, anyone can start a club. The process is easy and the student government will cover any cost.

    Great for these types of students

    Rose-Hulman suits those with a strong interest in mathematics and science. They specialize in all of the engineering departments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen engineering the homecoming bonfire (it's quite impressive), The statue of the Self-Made Man, GIVE'EM HELL ROSE!

    Bang for the buck

    The total cost of schooling may be one of the highest in the United States, but I would say it is worth every penny. Personally, I am paying almost half tuition with the RHIT scholarship and grant I received. I am proud to say that I am doing it all on my own and I have enough confidence in my education at Rose-Hulman that I know it will pay for itself.

    What to do for fun

    Swimming and rope swinging at speed lake. State of the art athletic facilities for sports. Campus wide game of human vs. zombies, and over 90 student clubs and organizations!

    Food and Dining

    Okay, the cafeteria food is not the best, however, there are several great meal exchange options (Subway). More importantly, there is always free food at campus cookouts which seem to happen at least every other night and everyone is welcome.

    Dorm Life

    The open door policy is amazing. You will learn to build trust with everyone in your dorm and it will almost feel like home. Also, you will meet many new and interesting people by abiding by the policy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but help can be found almost anywhere. Professors can be reached at almost anytime of the day via electronically or face to face.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work harder than you have ever worked before. The curriculum will push you to your limits. Do not give up!

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a problem at all. The campus security officers are professional, but not necessary on account of the fact that students here are just decent people that don't steal.

    Great for these types of students

    People that want to double major. People that want to graduate in four years. People that want to have internships or co-ops or study abroads.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole naked laps thing kind of put me off. I don't care for that.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many opportunities here and you'll be surprised at the amount of your scholarship (and the lack thereof at Purdue!) Purdue broke up their scholarship allocation based on majors. That means you have to be in the top 13% of applicants (key word applicants) at Purdue Engineering. Rose is not the case.

    Food and Dining

    The ARA has a lot of variety. I really like getting stackers, a hamburger and chicken sandwich on the same bun. But everything just tastes so bland after a while. I try to eat there as little as possible.

    Dorm Life

    To be honest, I thought it would be a lot more calm than it actually was. At times it seemed like I was living in a fraternity house, when all I wanted to do was go to bed early on a Friday night. It took a lot of getting used to, but Rose is all about getting along with the people you live by and it got a lot better.

    Academic Rigor

    If you're not on your toes the entire time for classes you're doing Rose wrong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ambitious. If you're coming here, do some research on opportunities you can take advantage of. Internships are big. Plan early is my best advice.

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman may seem like that unlikely option based purely on the cost, but you'll be surprised. The quality of education here is wonderful, but be prepared to be challenged. Visit and see if the environment is right for you, apply, and be surprised (the application is easy)

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus has lots of recreational activity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend yet.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a recreation center with intermurals which can be fun and the school also offers a large variety of clubs

    Food and Dining

    required for freshman but you could technically stay there all day and east with one meal. Okay food

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are average but they do allow you to build your room into a loft if the ceiling is high enough. Seniors and Juniors stay in appartments which are fairly decent

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work but worth it with their job acceptabce history

    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs, and don't be afraid to meet new people

    In three sentences

    Good but lots of nerds and has few girls so if there is a party girls have no problem getting in.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I couldn't ask for a safer community to be a part of!

    Greek Life

    Rose-Hulman offers 8 fraternities and 3 sororities, on a bit of a smaller, less intense scale than bigger schools. But definitely a great opportunity if you are interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of clubs and activities at Rose is endless! There is definitely an opportunity for any interest you may have.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated and determined, those who want a small school atmosphere, big sports events are not a big deal to them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming pep rally and bonfire are a really fun experience!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Rose-Hulman is more expensive than most other schools, but it also has been ranked #1 for undergraduate engineering for 13 years in a row! The education we receive here will pay for itself once we enter the work force.

    Food and Dining

    Not many options for food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Life Staff are AWESOME! So many fun activities to get involved in if you wish.

    Academic Rigor

    Rose is definitely hard academically. They want to challenge us to prepare us for the real world. But there are so many resources to help you excel, and professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you are prepared for a heavy work load and the small school environment.

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman is a great place to pursue a top-notch education. The atmosphere is fantastic and there are so many opportunities to get involved in whatever sparks your interest.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is like it's own little bubble, very safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life isn't what you'd find at a state school, especially for girls. It is worthwhile but only if you're into it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone, and the student organizations/clubs are well funded to do great activities or make a difference to their cause.

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, modest, smart

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bonfire for homecoming is spectacular.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of bang, but it costs you a lot of buck.

    What to do for fun

    The town doesn't offer much. The movie theatres even close at about ten thirty most days.

    Food and Dining

    The food is acceptable in quality, but is overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. The atmosphere is friendly. Rules are weakly enforced until property or person is at risk.

    Academic Rigor

    It's mostly mental. If you prepare to work hard, then you prepare to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend Rose-Hulman, prepare to work hard. If you don't want to work hard, find another college.

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman offers a great education from a great faculty if a student is willing to attend class, work hard, and spend some time at office hours. The cost of attendance is high, and scholarship reward isn't great. The students here are mostly very friendly and fun to know.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! I have walked around campus in the middle of the night alone and have never felt the need to look over my shoulder. Our campus security are very friendly. With the open door policy on campus there is an immense amount of trust between students.

    Greek Life

    There are various Greek groups on campus and some also off campus for guys and girls.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every club you can image exists at Rose. However, if there is not a club that exists you can simply create it!

    Great for these types of students

    Rose is great for students looking to study engineering. It is also great for students who want to attend a small school and looking for a challenge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every night after midnight there are Taco Bell runs. While studying into the wee hours of the night the only thing to look forward to is piling into a car with friends and going to the only place in town that's open to eat and taking a break from studying.

    Bang for the buck

    While 50 grand a year sounds like a lot of money to go to school it is most def worth it! The job placement after graduation is wonderful. 100% of students know before graduation whether they will be going to grad school, have accepted a job, or will go to server Uncle Sam. Rose is a once in a life time opportunity. It requires a lot in the beginning but is worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    While there is not much to do in the town itself, students are never bored. There is always some production being held at the school. The wonderful, fun-filled city of Indianapolis is on 45 mins away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty basic however there are lots of places around town to go and eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great! Our campus is small and very close. Rose is my home away from home. This is where I have made lifelong friends.

    Academic Rigor

    With Rose-Hulman being the number one undergrad engineering school in the nation there is an enormous effort put into maintaining that title. Instead of running on semesters there are quarters. So, instead of two sets of classes we have three sets of classes in one year. Quick pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the help on campus. There is a learning center in the library, class sizes are very small, and there are no teacher's assistants. Teachers are willing to help no matter what time of day it is. Get to know all of your professors!

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman is one of the most family oriented schools I've visited. It has been ranked the number one engineering undergraduate school in the nation for over a decade. Rose-Hulman is a great opportunity!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends from the dorm or other dorms you will become like family. There are also a couple good places to go in town.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining isn't the greatest however it isn't that bad either. This shouldn't be anyone's deciding factor on the school, there are a couple amazing meals here though.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life, it is like we are a little family. I have gotten taken care of when I was sick and I have taken care of others. We help each other along and the residence staff actually cares.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't a dull moment at Rose in terms of the academics. Professors want you to learn meaning most tests will be on understanding the material instead of repeating facts back. However professors are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow your passion and dreams, if engineering is for you then Rose is your place for engineering.

    In three sentences

    Great and challenging college. Rose will challenge you and push you to achieve excellence and they will stop at nothing less.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome. If you're inclined to go greek, go for it! If it's really not your scene, who cares?? Meet the people anyway - chances are 1/2 your friends will be Greek anyway.

    What to do for fun

    Terre Haute is certainly no New York or San Francisco, but it's go great food and some nice little areas. A motto I've adopted for myself that's served me well is: It's not about where you are, but who you're with. So - go out, make friends, make good (and the occasional bad) choices, and always remember to monitor your facebook account.

    Food and Dining

    We always complain about not having enough options on campus, but in reality, there's not much to complain about. Get to know the dining staff - you'll appreciate it around finals when you're low on cash but need the extra espresso shot!

    Dorm Life

    We have residence halls, not dorms. A dorm is where you sleep. A residence hall is where you build relationships - a home away from home. You'll be with some of the best people around - get to know them!

    Academic Rigor

    Hard as you-know-what, but totally worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Study hard, and start early. 2. Don't forget to have fun - improving and learning about yourself is worth it. 3. Don't be afraid to ask for help. 4. Keep an open mind. 5. You won't necessarily be the best anymore. Get over it, and learn to love that C or B. You know what they say, D is for Diploma!

    In three sentences

    1. RHIT is one of the hardest things you'll ever do, but also one of the most rewarding. 2. RHIT is really a family - we study, we laugh, we party, we cry, and we single handedly support the entire energy drink industry together. 3. RHIT is quite the investment, and it's also an experience worth having.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Security team are for you not against you. They wont pull you over for no reason or give you parking tickets.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds. If you are a nerd you will never feel so at home. Everyone thinks like you do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bonfire every year at homecoming. The freshmen have to build it so that when it ignites the porta potty on top drops through the wooden tube. Not only do they have to design and build it, they have to guard it 24/7 because the upperclassmen will take it apart.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports! And visiting the labs for fun.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is nerdy so things are pretty quiet

    Academic Rigor

    The engineering courses will wipe you out. The core courses arent too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the learning center. Use files from sororities or fraternities. Stick with the students who are studying in groups. Everyone who comes in was top of their classand therefore thinks they are the smartest but by junior year you think you are an idiot.

    In three sentences

    It is the number 1 school for engineering in the nation, with the highest degree earned at a graduate level. Quite possibly the most difficult thing you will ever do in your life. They are willing to do anything they can to help you make it through.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new people or go down the street to the next school. It is a good college town and pleases the all kinds of college students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing to brag about but it's on regular standards. If it's not for you there are other choices on campus and there is always off campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is welcoming and easy to work with. Don't spend your time in solitude. be ready to work with others.

    Academic Rigor

    be prepared for the toughness, but overall it's nothing anyone can't handle. Be ready to ask for help. The workload is somewhat excessive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the their ranking, if you need help it is offered here. There are many opportunities to be had at Rose-Hulman. Keep an eye out and and open mind.

    In three sentences

    They have an excellent academic program and work well with students. The Professor's care about the undergraduate experience. The atmosphere is very welcome on campus.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe on campus. I could be walking back to my dorm from the library at two in the morning and I would never feel as though I were in danger. There is plenty of security at Rose-Hulman, and the students here are very courteous to the belongings of others. I feel so safe in fact that I can leave my door open to my dorm room, only to come back a few hours later and see that everything is just the way I left it.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great. But do not get the wrong impression. It is not Animal House, and we do not throw crazy parties. Instead, we form bonds of brotherhood while bettering our campus and the surrounding community. I myself am a part of the Sigma Nu fraternity, and we have engaged in countless community service projects to raise money and help out those in need, like Bikes for Tykes and Polar Plunge. It is definitely a great experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, there is always something for you here at Rose-Hulman. From fraternities and sororities, to academic and national clubs, like NSBE and AMEE, and countless others. And if you are the one person in school history that finds that there is nothing for you here, you can simply create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love math, science, or physics, I strongly encourage you to come to Rose-Hulman. We are all about sciences, and you will actually learn the material here at Rose-Hulman.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year for Fall Homecoming, the Great Bonfire is held on campus the Friday before the big football game on Saturday. For this event, ROse-Hulman students (being the engineers we are) build a giant, fifty-foot-tall wooden structure made of railroad ties. The railroad ties symbolize what this school was originally founded to do, and that was educate more engineers to help construct and design the railroads involved in Westward Expansion during the nineteenth century. Anyway, when this structure is completed, it is set ablaze on Friday night, and the entire student body comes out to watch it and celebrate.

    Bang for the buck

    Do not get me wrong, being a private school, Rose-Hulman gets a bit expensive at times. But in the end, it will all pay off tremendously. I am just a freshman, and I can already tell that it will be the best investment of my life. Also, there really is no need to stress too much over cost of attendance. The school will do everything in its power to make sure that the cost of attendance is affordable for each and every student.

    What to do for fun

    Even though it is a technical school, there is always something going on at Rose-Hulman. Countless charity events are held on campus in order to better the surrounding area. Also, sports events are a very hot commodity when deciding what to do on the weekends (if we are not stuck doing homework). No matter what it is you like to do, there is something for you that is offered at Rose-Hulman.

    Food and Dining

    Food is exceptional, and for the price, a student could not ask for fun.

    Dorm Life

    I have never seen better dorm life. Everyone gets to know everyone in his or her dorm, and the doors are always opened. There is a real sense of family that cannot be found at any other school. It really is the experience of a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a reason that Rose-Hulman is the number one engineering school in the United States. This school is able to educate more students to a higher ability than any other school I have ever seen. Students enter their freshman year, knowing nothing about engineering, and they graduate knowing more about engineering than anyone in the nation. That comes with hard work and a lot of dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a college that makes you feel the most comfortable. Don't just choose a college because you are a fan of the team or because your friends are going there. Go to a school that offers exactly what it is that you want to do, and go there. Do not let anything stop you. Follow your heart. I can tell you from experience that it will be the best decision of your life.

    In three sentences

    Attending Rose-Hulman is one of the best decisions I have made in my life. I can already tell that this school has everything I need in order to better myself for the huge world that is out there. I love being a Fighting Engineer !

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone at Rose-Hulman feels very safe. They leave their doors open most of time because they know that no one is going to steal anything. Walking around in the middle of the night is no problem as long as you're still on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, hard working, nerdy.

    Bang for the buck

    Rose-Hulman is extremely expensive. The financial aid department is extremely understanding though, and will work with you to help you as much as they can. Also, the almost 100% guarantee of employment after graduation makes the price-tag more than worth it.

    Food and Dining

    There is good food on campus, but if you want to eat something like Chinese, you'd have to go into town.

    Academic Rigor

    According to all the students there, Rose-Hulman requires a lot of hard work and studying to succeed. However, many students say that they feel better prepared for work or graduate school after graduation.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They now have a music minor offered to students along side their engineering and technology majors. It's a great way to broaden views and see other fields besides math and science. Plus, who doesn't love to go see a good musical every once in a while?! Having a theatre on campus makes it all the better!

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rose-Hulman campus is awesome because we have an open door policy in our dorms, where no one locks their doors, and very, very rarely does anyone ever have any issues. The entire campus is very trustworthy. You can leave your backpack sitting somewhere while you go somewhere else for a while and you don't have to worry about it being taken while you are gone. Our public safety officers patrol campus just to make sure nothing is going on, and are very reliable and helpful if you ever have a safety issue you need taken care of. You can walk around campus at night by yourself and never have to worry about anything happening. I have never felt unsafe at Rose.

    Greek Life

    While our Greek life may not be as big or as prominent as other schools, it does exist. Rose is home to 3 sororities and 8 fraternities. A large percentage of the student body is involved in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rose has a club for just about anything you can imagine. And if you want to be involved in a club for an interest of yours, but one doesn't exist yet, you can start your own! Getting involved is super easy at Rose because there is seriously something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to work hard and put a lot of time and effort into their schoolwork. Students who aren't attracted to big state schools and are looking for a smaller, family atmosphere on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    While Rose is one of the pricier college choices, you really can't beat the education you are receiving and the atmosphere on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and groups on campus to join if you are looking for something to do. There are also several events throughout the year open to all campus to participate in. These events are hosted by different groups: fraternities and sororities, academic groups, other clubs, residence hall staff, etc. Our Hatfield Hall also hosts many shows throughout the school year and student's often get free tickets. Intramurals are also a big thing at Rose. There is never a shortage of things to do on campus. Outside campus, Terre Haute isn't exactly the most exciting place to be in, but you can still find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have very limited options for on campus dining, but that is to be expected from a school our size. The main dining hall isn't anything special. We also have a campus Noble Roman's and Subway. Once you are past freshman year the meal plans are pretty flexible.

    Dorm Life

    The open door policy is great! It really helps everyone get to know each other better and start new friendships. The RAs do a really good job of making sure that anyone who wants to get involved in dorm activities can.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, Rose is hard, but it's not impossible. It's a big transition for most students, as a majority of us were in the top of our high school class and didn't have to put forth much effort in high school. Rose definitely takes effort and motivation, but it is completely do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus if you are thinking about attending Rose. It is a small school and has a very different feel to it, so make sure that is something you want in a college and will love about the school.

    In three sentences

    Rose is a fantastic school where you can get a top notch education with small class sizes and personal attention from faculty. The campus definitely has a family atmosphere you can't find at other schools.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    100% Job placement within 6 months of graduation. Most jobs are very well-paying with top companies around the world.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals. Stuff in town, usually seasonal.

    Food and Dining

    Subway, Pizza, Asain Express or cafeteria. All other food has to be reached by car off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Small, close, clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The phone number for campus safety is handed out at the beginning of the year to everyone. All buildings are within 15-20 minute walking distance of dorms or the Union. All pathways are lighted and several guys here on campus will be happy to escort you to your dorm if you are afriad to walk alone.

    Greek Life

    Three sororities and several fraternities are stationed here. However, that doesn't mean you are excluded by those who are part of them. It merely gives them another title. Most all Greek life here is open to the rest of campus, excluding a few group-specific events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most clubs are science or math oriented with a few gamers clubs on the side. Those who like building your own car or a 'concrete canoe' will have loads to choose from while those who fancy art or english may flounder a bit.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who sat at the front of the classroom or at the back. Introvert or Extrovert, it doesn't matter. As long as you are willing to work hard for your classes, Rose will make sure you have a fun year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hallympics is an olympics of sorts for all of the halls on campus. Freshmen versus upperclassmen in a battle of wits and brawn. There's also the Greatest Floor which is a whole 38 hours of contests to see which floor among 30 is the best. The prize? $1000 and gloating rights for the next year. Also, for your birthday, beware the lake. Many people have been thrown in thanks to the traditional 'birthday laking'. If you really don't want to do it, no one will force you, but come on. When's the next chance that a group of people are going to pick you up and pitch you into a body of water?

    Bang for the buck

    If you work hard, Rose is definitely worth the money that's been put in. Graduates have a 90%+ placement rate, meaning 90% of our seniors have jobs by the end of their senior year. The average pay check for these jobs is at $66,000 or so per year. And if you're looking to find out how the world works and how to make the greatest impact, Rose is definitely your ticket to the next biggest discovery.

    What to do for fun

    Terre Haute is rather small. You have a couple bowling alleys and skating rinks, even a refuge for exotic cats, but other than that, it's the friends you make that make your year. I can't remember how many midnight Walmart runs I've made, just to pull a few pranks on the people there with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of on campus choices. There's pizza, subs and coffee if you don't like the cafeteria food. However, most restaurantes are about ten minutes by car. Most weekends, people here find themselves going to Steak'nShake at 2am, just to get a half-priced milkshake. Oh yeah, and take the seven by seven challenge.

    Dorm Life

    Roomates are random the first year. You can either get a really good one, or a really bad one. I lucked out and found my best friend. The rest of the dorm is pretty good too. Depending on which one you get assigned (for freshmen), each has a different aspect. Some have lobby parties, others have apartments. Mine has the 'Fourth Dimension' which in and of itself, sounds like something from a Sci-fi movie.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to want to succeed if you come here. You have to have a goal in mind and the will to work towards it. Otherwise, you are just wasting your time and money. If you want an easy college, Rose is not for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take an over-night visit and explore the campus and see what it would be like to live here. Also check out a classroom or two and the learning center were every student goes for help, even those at the top of their class. More than likely, it's the learning center that put them there.

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman is a small school, meaning that we have a close-knit family like atmosphere with not only our dorm, but also other halls all over campus. The curriculum is accelerated, covering a year and a halfâ??s worth of studies in only one. Though the lessons may be hard, the professors are always happy to help and upperclassmen are eager to lend a hand.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No crime on campus. Very close knit community.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone trusts everyone else not to mess with each other's crap. There's no violence, just silent judging.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities are alright. There's only one I like, because it's the tiny one for weirdos that wouldn't otherwise be in a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs are just more work. Unity (our gay-straight alliance) is the only one I really care about. It's growing, at least. It only got official club status about 6 years ago.

    Great for these types of students

    Workaholics and those that don't need sleep would do well here. You'll fit in best if you're white, straight, male, cisgendered, and conservative. If you aren't, you'll have to go find the few that match you and go hang out in the corner with them. Nearly everyone is masculine here, even the girls. At least, that's what it feels like most of the time.

    Bang for the buck

    If all the bang you care about is getting a high-paying job, then I guess it's good. If you want to actually develop personal skills or become a better person, then you're out of luck.

    What to do for fun

    Study. Drink. Study.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very low grade here. You'll pay $9 a meal for about $3-quality food. The cafeteria is not very clean and Aramark does their best to cut every corner possible to maximize profits. They restrict the times you can use your meals like crazy, and you basically can't get food on the weekends at all without spending your own money, until you get access to one of the later meal plans, which are arbitrarily restricted to upper classmen���¢��������and then you can only use the fake-money on weekends, and if you run out you just have to pay with your own money even if you still have meals left over.

    Dorm Life

    There is not much dorm life. Everyone spends 90% of their time doing homework.

    Academic Rigor

    The one thing this school does very well is push you beyond your breaking point with work and rigor. You will learn everything well, in the classes you don't drop out of.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have problems with anxiety or depression, find another school. If you need a full night's rest every night, find another school. If you have problems with time management, you will either improve, or fail out. Always talk to your professors as much as possible. They are the only saving grace to help you through your suffering at this school.

    In three sentences

    There is no work life balance. You will not sleep. You will probably get a good job afterwards if you don't die trying.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are no drugs and everyone is so friendly they have your back no matter what and are always willing to help if you need it. The morals are so high here no one does anything bad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -Greatest Floor event - once a year for 24 hours your floor participates in a variety of activities to see who is the greatest floor

    Bang for the buck

    Rose is ranked #1 in the nation!! The students here are the best and are so specialized in their major they have no problem finding a well-paying job as soon as they graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Rose-Hulman is not a party school but there are parties at the frat houses which are fun and there are a variety of activities to do on campus, There are a ton of clubs to joins and Intramurals to participate in. If going out is not your thing, there's always people watching movies or playing games. The sophomore advisors are always planning things for the floor/dorm to do as well. In addition there are the sporting events to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dining hall is pretty good. The have made to order omelets which are fantastic and the food for lunch and dinner is alright. If you don't like what they have, you have meal exchange which you can use at Subway, Jump - Asian food, or Noble Romans - pizza mostly.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms have air conditioning which is nice when the weather is hot. There are also sophomore advisors for the freshman to help with homework, to plan fun activities, and to make your college experience the best that it can be. The rooms are a nice size and are clean. There are maids/housekeepers that change your sheets, vacuum, and take out trash. You become very close with the people living in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very challenging but it's for the smart people out there that can handle it. Know how to manage your time and you'll be fine. Everyone (students and faculty) is very willing to help you know matter what. There is also the learning center where they have tutors and previous tests for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in lots of activities in high school, get above average grades, know what engineering you want to do

    In three sentences

    Rose-Hulman is honestly the best college. The people in the school community are so intelligent, so loving, so nice, so welcoming and just amazing in general. You will not be disappointed when you go here.