Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Rose State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up. Get to know the students in your class, and get to know the teacher. As long as they know you are there to learn, they will help you get an 'A' in the class. They care more than you know. So don't underestimate them.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally think Rose State has an amazing program trying to keep the price of getting a higher education down so we can afford it. Just because it is cheaper doesn't mean you're getting second-hand benefits. They are the best school I have ever been to!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus has a great atmosphere. All the people that work there are very nice, and all the staff are hand-picked I believe to help us students have the best experience we could have.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great. They actually care about you and your grades. The reason I believe I learn a lot is because those teachers have a passion to actually teach you something. I love how much I've learned in the short time I've been here!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is patrolled by officers 24/7 and has several emergency sirens.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for every interest!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who care to learn and not about partying.

    Bang for the buck

    They have the best tution in the state and strive to keep it low!

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations you can be a part of, and they also offer a wonderful wellness center.

    Food and Dining

    They are remodeling the cafe to include a coffee shop. They already had wonderful burgers and not it's about to get better!

    Dorm Life

    N/A There are very affordable apartments near by

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very personal, your teacher will always know you by name!

    Tips for prospective students

    Books are much cheaper at the book store around the corner.

    In three sentences

    Rose State is an awesome college for first time students or for the working adult. Most of their classed are offered on the web. They have friendly staff and very helpful advisors.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i attend rose state because it is less expensive than the surrounding 4 year universities. i am getting all of my basic prerequisites done here and then will transfer to a university to finish up my bachelors degree. they offer lots of classes that are transferable to the surrounding 4 year universities. they also offer lots of associates and technical degree programs. it is saving me money to attend rose state for my freshman and sophomore years and i am getting a great education from professors that really want to see me succeed. the smaller class setting allows for more one on one time with the professors and make it less intimidating for one to learn.

    What to do for fun

    they have all kinds of activities for students to get involved in. they have theater production, musical productions, and lots of student clubs that cover a wide range of interests.

    Food and Dining

    they have recently redone the food court at rose state. they now offer a wider variety of foods. they even offer starbucks beverages.

    Dorm Life

    i don't believe they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors here at rose state really care about your opinions and want you to get involved in the classes. the professors do not just lecture the whole time, but allow for in-class discussions. the in-class discussions help to make sure you really understand and retain the information you are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to other students and ask them which classes to take. i have taken different classes offered by the same professor because they are that great. find out about scholarships and sign up for as many as you can, paying for college is expensive and every little bit helps. attend your classes do not waste your time or money by not caring about your education. you will get as much out of your education as you put into it.

    In three sentences

    this is a great college with awesome professors. they have smaller class rooms which allows for more interaction and instruction from the professors. i have been blessed to have the opportunity to attend rose state and be taught by professors who truly care if i understand their classes.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Concurrent enrollment, military, and those wanting to get their basics out of the way before attending a larger university.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition waiver for all H.S seniors participating in concurrent enrollment.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the library.

    Food and Dining

    Did not utilize dining services.

    Dorm Life

    Did not utilize dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Average academic rigor of a typical community college. Small class sizes are typical.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay careful attention to the concurrent enrollment requirements and forms. Rose State requires that you complete a concurrent enrollment application every single semester.

    In three sentences

    Rose State College is a good local college for concurrent High School Enrollment. They offer extensive on-line course options, so you can complete your basic education requirements without traveling to the campus. They work closely to ensure courses taken will transfer to other 4-year universities.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of clubs and organizations to get involved in. The gym always has intramural stuff going on at all times. They also have Fitness Challenges like the Indoor Triathalon and the indoor marathon. No matter what, Rose State's Wellness Center has a fun and exciting activity to offer at any time of the year. Also, get involved in Leadership! They take you rock climbing and to the aquarium and other fun stuff! Its a non-stop rollercoaster ride here at Rose, and I would have it no other way.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria with amazing food and a cafe with a Starbucks. Food on campus really is not that bad. I eat it almost every day and I'm never not satisfied with what I get.

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said earlier, these teachers expect nothing more than hard work and good grades from their students. And if one of their students is not fully grasping a concept, they take time to help that student. They want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely come to Rose State to get the basics out of the way. Don't waste your money and go to a HUGE 4 year university when you have a community college right around the corner. Also, go to class. Sounds like a simple concept but it is more difficult in college because of the freedom that comes with being in college. If you go to class, you'll be more successful.

    In three sentences

    Has amazing and challenging professors that I did not expect to get from a community college. Here, they truly care about your success and make sure that they do everything they can to make you successful. Success is the whole theme at Rose and it has made me strive to do better and finish quicker.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is car security patrolling through out the day and night, as well as security on foot. The school is well lit at night with cameras in unknown places. I have never felt unsafe or uncomfortable the two years that I attended Rose State College.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure Rose Sate has a Greek life. The closest thing that I can think of is Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, which I am a member of. Students seemed to be more focused on school. Plus there are a lot of non traditional students that make up the student population.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are active clubs and activities on Rose State's campus. The clubs are very welcoming and clubs are required to reach out to the community which is really good. I enjoyed myself, it gave me something else to look forward to at school.

    Great for these types of students

    Rose State is good for students who are focused on school because it is a quiet low key campus. You will see more students in the classrooms or library rather than just hanging out. Also non traditional students will feel more comfortable here because there are many attending.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions or locations on campus that I know of. This school is geared towards helping students get started or to continue and further their education in the hopes of reaching their desired career and that's about it. Campus electricity does shut off for a few minuets at least once a semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Renting books online is were you will get your best deals EVER on book renting or buying because the Rose State bookstore can be pricey just as the bookstore right of campus across from the baseball field. I spent $370 on two books one semester and $760 on 5 books from online the next semester. Not to mention free shipping and a discount coupon for the next time when you use that online book rental.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing one can do in college is make new friends. Meet new people and explore. The night life downtown is really nice and there are a few places to relax and have a good time with company but you will do some driving. overall it is a nice area.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a cafeteria on campus. I don't eat much on campus and I don't think that either food places get a lot of business year around but there are a lot of fast food and dine in restaurants off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Rose State does not have on campus living. However there are apartments right off campus that are walking distance. It isn't a big complex.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like every other school, Rose State wants their students to succeed in academic and personal goals. Most of Rose State's credits are transferable and the teaching staff does grade by the book. The school even offers free math, English and science labs, as well as a tutoring service and much more. If anything, Rose makes it hard for its students to fail, it would be something that requires effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great idea to have in mind your purpose for attending Rose State, whether it's to build credits for transfer or a degree. I say that because that will leave a smaller chance of you wasting money and time taking classes you didn't really need in the first place. The more you know what you want the smoother or faster things will run during your duration at Rose Sate.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Rose State was a great place for me to go after high school. I was able to graduate on time with two honors and an associates of arts degree. My two years went by so fast because I was focused and spent most of my time utilizing the labs and tutors that were provided for students.

  • 12/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply here, its great teacher and great students and are all very helpful and nice.

    Bang for the buck

    very good prices on tuition and the classes teach you a lot

    Am learning a lot

    i really learn a lot from RSC with its small class sizes its the perfect learning center!

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't have a lot of money to pay for school, but still want a great start to a great educational future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely don't be afraid to call and ask the RSC admission office, or any other office you need advice from, for help. They're incredibly kind and try to help in every way possible.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great two-year education for an incredibly low tuition rate.

    Will enjoy being here

    Rose is beautiful, helpful, and easy to work with no matter what you're looking for.

    Will learn a lot

    The small class sizes and professors with great reviews promise a great educational experience without the crowded anonymous feeling of a large and overwhelming lecture hall.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is not uncommon to see at least one police officer a day and it is not uncommon for them to be out walking around when the weather is nice

    Clubs and Activities

    still being in high school i am not in any of the clubs at college

    Great for these types of students

    high school concurrent, transfer students, military since tinker afb is less than 5 minutes away, and adults that are trying to get a degree later in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in most buildings the bathrooms are located at the east and west end of the buildings as a general rule the mens is at the east end and womens is at the west end

    Bang for the buck

    it is a good place to get started and for some degrees to finish but there is no housing so most students live at home or with a friend in the area.

    What to do for fun

    most things in oklahoma city are within a 15 minute drive and there are 2 lakes within 30 minutes

    Food and Dining

    cant say i have ever eaten there but there is plenty of fast food close by

    Dorm Life

    there is no on campus dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the work will keep you challenged but is not really hard

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you find a counselor if you try to do it on your own you will end up taking extra classes. if you plan on transferring make sure the classes you take will transfer because some require 6 or 9 hours at rose for 3 hours at some of the 4 year colleges

    In three sentences

    rose state college is a good starting college to transfer from not saying that they don't offer degrees to. it is a reasonably small college and campus and its also very cheap compared to the 4 year colleges around. all the professors have been nice and willing to help.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many things to do for fun, or to just pass time here. we have a great wellness and aquatic center. we also have many computers that you can surf and access nearly anytime of the day. i love spending my afternoons up here when i have nothing else to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospective students, i suggest you really put your heart into your studies, and always come to class. the professors have so much to offer you; everytime i go to class, i learn something new. make sure you are diligently working and you will do absolutely great.

    In three sentences

    rose state college would definitely have to be a ten. the staff really cares that you understand and learn as they are teaching you. i truly feel as if each student gets a very personalized learning experience.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional Students, single parents, low income individuals also!

    Bang for the buck

    100 %

    What to do for fun

    All varieties of clubs and outings, available to interested students!

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks on campus! Great food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm that I am aware of!?

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring all past transcripts to enroll!

    In three sentences

    A wonderful opportunity! Convenient Campus. They believe in me!

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've taken a night class before and felt safe walking to my car from the building at 10pm (I walked with the students in my class since we all left at the same time and parked in the same area). They have numerous emergency telephones in each parking lot and they are lit up blue at night. During the day I feel safe going to and from the parking lots but I'm not sure if there are security cameras. Campus security are seen driving around in their carts often (not sure how good they are) and I see a cop car on campus once a week or so. I carry pepper spray and keep an eye out any place I go (school or other), and if you're aware of your surroundings you should be fine. The buildings have many security cameras so I felt safe going in/out of buildings and walking the halls.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, non-traditional, and people who need flexible classes. Rose has night classes, telecourses, hybrid courses, interim classes, summer classes (8wk and 16wk, online or on campus), online classes, and on-campus classes (with many different times and teachers). I suggest Rose to any student who isn't sure what they want to major in or if a person just wants get their prereqs for a cheaper price than the surrounding universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Wellness Center is really nice and up-to date. It has great equipment and the treadmill area has very nice televisions to watch while working out. My friend says their zumba and yogas classes are fun and definitely worth taking. I suggest the library also for any studying you may need to do- they have two floors and many chairs and desks to use. Computer lab always has plenty of open seats. They have nice cushioned chairs in the first floor so you can read in a quiet, comfortable place.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a scholarship, but I still calculated it and it's about 1/4 of the price I'd be paying at OSU in Stillwater. Rose offers almost all the prereqs you need at major universities for so much less. The tuition here is a drop in the bucket compared to the universities here in Oklahoma.

    Food and Dining

    Meh. They have a pretty nice gas station type selection of snacks and soda/juice/water/etc in the cafeteria but their actual cafeteria food lacks good choices. It's easier to just go off campus to the restaurants in Midwest City near the school or bring/buy a protein bar.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class and the teacher. If you ask around, you'll find out quick who to take and who not to take. Personally, all my prereq classes were challenging and kept me interested (but were easy enough to slack in as the semesters came to an end...). I felt I received a quality education by going here. My teachers were genuinely invested in my success and would explain things until the class understood them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you figure out what teachers to take and which ones to avoid. Also make sure the credits you earn here will transfer to the university you will ultimately go to, otherwise you've wasted time and money. Don't write this school off because it's a community college. Getting a scholarship here can be easier than the universities (less competition), so you may even be able to get your prereqs completed here for free (or even cheaper than regular tuition). Rose is definitely worth looking into.

    In three sentences

    Awesome college to go to whether you're concurrent, doing it all online, all on campus, or a mixture. The class size is excellent- I never had more than 24 students in a class (and that was in Comp I) and my teachers all knew me by name by about the 2nd/3rd week. The good teachers help create a relaxed learning atmosphere and make the classes enjoyable. Library is great- it's small but has great resources. The only negative aspect of Rose is the advisors (in my experience). They can give you the run around at times. Work with your future-university advisor in addition to your Rose advisor to figure out which classes you need to take at Rose so they'll transfer (and to avoid any hassles with Rose's end).

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of any real problem at Rose. Cops/Security patrol the lots and have always seemed very safe.

    Greek Life

    I know there are different greek life clubs, but have never looked into them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Broadcast club, hispanic club, math club and more. A lot of clubs to look at.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, working students, blue collar workers who wish to obtain a degree to further themselves. Great value, great campus, great two year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The blowing alley where they hold classes is very popular. Students love the instructor and students love to meet up and have a bowling night most fridays.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very low, you can get your degree for a fraction of the cost. The majority of their credits pass along to other Universities if you plan to transfer. Great college guidance, they will help you plan out whatever you want to do.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't too much to do besides working out at the gym, swimming at the pool or watching a baseball or softball game!

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria, the food is alright. They have a cafe, over priced. But lots of nearby places.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I am aware, there are NO dorms on Rose's campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as challenging and informative as any Big college. I too psychology at Rose and helped my girlfriend pass her OU class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to choose a schedule that works for YOU. Rose is a great school that is designed for the blue collar/working student. Lots of available classes. Don't try to rush things.

    In three sentences

    The cheapest and most popular two year college to my knowledge. The school has and amazing transfer program to UCO and have always made an effort to help me out when it comes to my future.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, Chemist, Medical, IT

    Tips for prospective students

    I would not recommend this school for the Game design degree, but for other degrees it seems fine.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cant really say I am enjoying it, since they cannot get their stuff together when it comes to the Game Design degree.

    Am learning a lot

    The math and science teachers here are great, I understand more and more much easier than I did in H.S.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    rose state has a higher success rate with students who go on to transfer and whom obtain degrees than schools that have the same financial value

    What to do for fun

    plenty of fun things to do in the area you name it

    Food and Dining

    plenty of various types of dining places, new shopping center which is a hub for the small suburb

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life lots of close to campus housing safe neighborhood

    Academic Rigor

    its all up to you some instructors are very good and challenge you while some allow you the bare minimum

    Tips for prospective students

    as always you get out what you put in you can skate by and make it but its better to pply yourself and get the most out of the college experiences take all opportunities to meet new people and network .

    In three sentences

    rose state is a great place of entry into academia for me, the staff is helpful and understanding.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe there.

    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Oklahoma Intellectual Legislative Club.

    Great for these types of students

    For whoever wants to have a better education and a better life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of extracurricular groups. Very active.

    Bang for the buck

    Good value for the money.

    What to do for fun

    The library is a good place for group studies and to hang out together like one big family.

    Food and Dining

    The people in the cafeteria don't really know what they're doing.

    Dorm Life

    No campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are demanding but are there to help you. If they see you're trying, they will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for an easy way out, Rose State is not the place for you. The classes and professors expect a lot but they are there to help you and give you the information that you need. You're in the big leagues now. You're in the EDUCATION building!!

    In three sentences

    The most exciting and interesting place I have ever been. I am a 57 year old woman finally getting my education. The people are so amazing and try to help.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun, go to the movies, shopping and going to Dave and Busters.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is great and the workers that work there a friendly.

    Dorm Life

    They are no dorms at rose state it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The school focus on their students and everyone loves Rose State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Be prepared. Come to class.

    In three sentences

    Rose State is a great school. The staff are friendly and helpful. Good school choice.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Rose State is a great starting 2-year college. It is a great place to get all your minor classes completed. The teachers are great as well as the campus.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe and doesn't really have crimes.

    Greek Life

    They have a few clubs that are for this but no houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs like student council,travel, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Most of the classes are not to hard if you study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library has a lot of nooks that you can go to study.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a really good education for the price and the classes are smaller.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to a zumba class, swim, and hang out with friends after classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great cafeteria with amazing food when you are hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure to do your homework on time because unlike high school most teachers won't take late work. plus, if you plan to keep the same gpa you had in high school u will have to study about an hour for each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early so you can get the class you wanted. Make sure to purchase the used books because they go fast from the book store.

    In three sentences

    Rose state college is a great place to get your basics. It a college that everyone can afford to go to. If you are looking for a place that is fun and cost less come to rose.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The have campus police and the campus is small so it is very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Baptist Collegiate Ministries is a fun club. Student government is also a big club at Rose State.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a numerous amount of free resources available at the school!

    Food and Dining

    I love the cafe. I go there everyday. My favorite part is starbucks!

    Dorm Life

    Rose State does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as challenging as they should be but not unbearable. The professors work very well at helping their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved in as much as you can and take advantage of all the free resources.

    In three sentences

    Rose State is small and affordable. I love the class sizes. The teachers truly care.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency phones are well placed, security rides around regularly, and lights are bright.

    Clubs and Activities

    Next year I want to join the Travel Abroad Club and go to Turkey and Greece.

    Great for these types of students

    All types! I see older people who are going back to school, high school students getting a jump start on college, artsy, geeky, athletic, and people just trying to figure out who they are. It's a good place to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Cafe is my favorite place to study, use WiFi, and visit. People that work there are really nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent price and good quality.

    What to do for fun

    They have different clubs and sports, but I haven't gotten too involved since I am a concurrent student.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe as well as a full sized dining facility. Food is warm and tasty but a little pricey in the dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I put a lot into my studies so I find it challenging and interesting. The more my professor knows and puts into his or her class, the more I like it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and be engaged, try to really learn and be willing to learn something new. Study and plan ahead; it is not like high school. Be accountable for yourself and enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    I love my teachers who are passionate about what they teach. My American Government teacher made learning about the elections and government fun, interesting, and something I could relate to in everyday life. I like college because everyone is on the same playing field and no one cares where you went to high school.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available here at Rose State. I am not currently involved in any because of my work schedule but many of my friends are in clubs here and they all say they are quite enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think of this as an easy way out of college. Rose is just like any other college, you still need to put forth the same effort you would at another school.

    In three sentences

    I think Rose State is a very good school. I have only attended one semester here but i had all very good teachers that really taught me a lot. I look forward to my next three semesters here.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play softball for this school so I do not get to see what all there is to do here at Rose.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining could be a lot better. Some of the cooks are very friendly and can be slow. The prices can be a little high, but overall it is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Rose unfortunately does not have dorms. So you would either have to live at home or find a roommate and get an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. Some teachers are difficult but overall they tend to work well with their students. If you need help in a subject, Rose offers free tutoring services to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    This small college is cheap and great to get your basics done and out of the way.

    In three sentences

    Rose State has small classes, nice teachers, and nice students. Some teachers are hard but nothing to be worried about. Also, the Administration and Financial Aid services work well with the students.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students: traditional freshmen, returning adult students, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education received at RSC is far higher than the amount of money which it costs.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are very high quality.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of RSC is at the perfect level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early. Work hard. Work late.

    In three sentences

    It is not too expensive. It is not too large. It is high quality.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is smoke free, so don't worry about killing your lungs unless you are a smoker suffering from nicotine withdrawals (sorry smokers!). There is security on staff and nearby emergency phones in parking lot hanging near selected poles.

    Greek Life

    I cannot give you any thought to this one at this time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's quite a handful to go around. I am a member of the Veteran's club but am currently not active due to military duties and maintaining focus on school.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're into pre-med, liberal arts studies, theatrics, or anything abstract and creative, this is very much the school for you before transitioning into a major university, especially if you're on a tight budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't say I have yet to find anything unusual about the campus as of yet. The one thing I can say is that we have quite a large eclectic group of students and in a very good way. :)

    Bang for the buck

    It's very affordable. Though yet again, I definitely recommend pushing the scholarships, Pell Grants, or anything the school offers minus student loans if at all possible. You will thank yourself in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    Rose State is best known for its liberal arts and theatrics programs, so needless to say there's always events going on within these majoring fields from theater to music and creative writing and so much more. They have even established a center for children and adults to spend time honing in on their artistic side too!

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the cafeteria and recently things have changed since I last ate there. The food is decent for dorm life but I can't say anything more than that. All I can advise is that people go and try for themselves.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak on behalf of the dorm life as I currently live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, certain classes can be more challenging than others. Maybe not at all. I'm a pre-physical therapy and liberal arts - art option majors. I love to take on a challenge while pursuing an abstract approach to my primary major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from student loans as much as possible. There are plenty of options out there for you to take on. I'm a big advocate for scholarships and Pell Grants. The school also has a student workstudy program for anyone interested in working to pay off any loans or school fees. Do not be afraid to approach people for help. Rose State is student friendly and staff members are more than willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Rose State College is what I call student-friendly. Instructors are willing to take the time to assist students in need without fear of reprisal. The school is conveniently located nearby and is a clean smoke free campus.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I use the pool

    Food and Dining

    nice little cafe

    Dorm Life

    They done have a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and meet the students and staff

    In three sentences

    Very nice the people are very helpful. love the campus and the layout.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for students who need a little more time to mature or need more focus from the teacher.

    Bang for the buck

    Free tutoring and cheap tuition to help in quality classes so I say you get your money worth.

    Food and Dining

    The food, specifically the burgers needs a little bit of work done on them but the grilled chicken sandwich is to die for.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the teachers work hard to help their students succeed. Some will form study groups with students and will hold conferences wit individual students to help better understand what each individual needs help in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not that good in a particular subject then seek help from the tutors available in the libraries as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    A school filled with dedicated teachers who are willing to help. No need to fight for any of the teachers, because the small classroom sizes allows for better interaction between teacher and students. The only downside to the school is the food.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am so glad I chose to go to Rose State College to begin with instead of a 4 year college. It is very affordable and I was not wasting my money when I was just doing basics and not sure what my major was.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs or activities. There is plenty to do and for all sorts of people!

    Food and Dining

    Rose has good choices in the cafeteria, and when that is closed they have a nice cafe open called Java Rose. It's easy and affordable to eat lunch or grab a snack.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing currently provided through Rose State College; however, they are working on adding some housing by 2015.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that academics are strong at Rose and that even though the material can be hard, the small class sizes allow for a better understanding of the material by more frequent interactions with the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisers and teachers. They will be more than willing to help you out with anything you need. Also, since Rose is nor currently a college with housing, make sure you get involved with some of the activities on campus to get a feel for your fellow students.

    In three sentences

    Rose State College is a great environment for students looking for more one on one interactions. The class sizes are small and the teachers are invested in their students. I could not be happier attending college elsewhere!

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and have never had any trouble.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for business and accounting majors. The professors have worked in the field and bring their expertise to the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is one of the lowest prices for the area and the local employers recognize Rose graduates as some of the best to employ.

    What to do for fun

    Ever so often the student activities department will host different events on campus and those are always fun to attend. I have seen inflatables on campus (sumo wrestling,) tug-o-war, basketball free throws, chalk art, and other expos. There is a gym on campus with a swimming pool and tennis courts. There is also a coffee shop and outdoor sitting areas. There is also an outdoor butterfly garden.

    Food and Dining

    I cannot rate the food because I have never had it, but the dining area is fairly large and appears comfortable. The school will bring in external vendors and feed the students for free, which is always nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses challenging and rewarding, yet the professors are able to really help you learn and make it seem as though even the hardest content is doable. Some classes are enjoyable and fun and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. Getting to know your professors is so valuable and will help you in the long run. Most of them are willing to help you learn, understand, and grow. They will not eat you alive and they do care.

    In three sentences

    Rose State College is perfect for me! The class sizes are small, the professors are relatable and are able to apply their teachings to real world scenarios. Best of all it is affordable!