Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any issues with safety. As a matter of fact, I'm a Criminal Justice student at RCCC and had to write a paper on campus safety. During my research I found that RCCC has never had a reported incident!

    Greek Life

    I will be inducted into Phi Theta Kappa this month. I'm so excited.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to do. RCCC is very active and offers tickets and rides to all types of events.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students!

    Bang for the buck

    In-State tuition is very reasonable. If you qualify for $0 on your EFC through FAFSA, and you take 12 credits (which is considered full-time), with books, you can usually get some money back.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the cafeteria. However, when I go to the bookstore, which is beside of the cafeteria, the food smells really good.

    Academic Rigor

    RCCC provides a stimulating core of classes. I am in the Criminal Justice program and I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA as soon as you decide to go to college, don't wait. Contact your High School for official transcripts; either have them sent to the college directly or to you, but do not open them.

    In three sentences

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College is a great community college with several different locations. The Criminal Justice classes offer a stimulating environment. I would recommend this school to anyone!

  • 06/10/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Did enjoy being here

    i also..enjoy being a student of rccc..

    Did learn a lot

    yes...i did learn a lot..when i attended...

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    good school if you like small class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    go here if you want to save money and/or transfer afterwards!

    Am enjoying being here

    The student government plans monthly activities to join in on and the student center is a great place to meet people

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers know their stuff and will help you if you ask!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards sit in the parking lots and students feel safe going to school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rccc offers sports and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students in need to financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    Most affordable classes you will find.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the computer lab during your breaks from classes.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten in their cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you are planning on taking (ex. Microbiology) the classes are not easy. I would assume they are at the same level as a university. Most credits do transfer to state schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask to talk to a student adviser to help you register for classes.

    In three sentences

    Rccc has great teachers who know what they are doing. Students and staff are friendly and helpful. Application process is fast and easy.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Doesn't have very many clubs or activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't bad if your a North Carolina resident.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing to do in the area for fun.

    Food and Dining

    A few fast food restaurants around campus, McDonalds, less than a mile away. Cafe in student center is very costly.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its best just to do basic classes here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask other students about teachers befor you register to take their class.

    In three sentences

    The college is ok to get your basic classes in. Some of the teachers are good, some not. There Internet never seems to work.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On site security. I see them each and every day.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Bio-engineering and Nursing students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck compared to all the other schools in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of student groups and local shopping and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Local fast food and a on campus cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Lots of apartments around the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend a information seminar and tour the campus.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Rowan-Cabarrus Community College for 5 semesters. I find the staff very friendly and helpful. I have encouraged my children and friends to attend as well.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    they make sure that you are right there where you are supppose to be. You can look up your progress online.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to know what you are majoring in yet. There are people their to help you along the way. it a an exciting place to be.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy it here. It gives you a chance to get your main courses befor you go on to a major colleges. The teachers are really there for you.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Low income, just starting out in life.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for beginners.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the courtyard. Eat with friends in the cafe.

    Food and Dining

    The food is moderate.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    It meets my requirments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for everything. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The school is affordable. The staff is very helpful. A very welcoming space.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is fantastic.

    Great for these types of students

    RCCC is s great place for students who dont want to go to a huge University or who dont like to be in huge calsses. At RCCC you would get more one on one time with teachers then you would in a University.

    What to do for fun

    I like to stay active and play sports. I spend most of my days at the gym or outside playing sports. Track, Volleyball, Basketball and Soccer use to be my main sports i played.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure how the food and dining is because i have not had a chance to eat at that campus.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms on RCCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is fantastic at RCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time, and know where your classes are. Pay attention in class and stay ontop of all your studies. Don't let yourself fall behind in your studies.

    In three sentences

    RCCC is a very nice school and has the what i am looking for in a college. The location is not to big or small, it fits the size i'd like to attend.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Going to the bookstore

    What to do for fun

    Shopping Fishing Golfing ReadingI

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Always put God first. 2. Please study hard this is not like High School. 3. Do not ever give up it may seems hard sometimes, but it will be alright.

    In three sentences

    This is my first year at this school, and i think that the teachers there is very helpful in helping their students to succede. on a scale from 1 to 10 i will rate them at a 10.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually hang out in the library on my laptop--I know, such a party girl!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty decent, and there are good lunch deals. Not too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college--no dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher/class, but for the most part the English and arts classes have been pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a challenging community college, this is not it. I've taken 19 credits two semesters in a row and found it to be pretty much no effort on my part.

    In three sentences

    Not very challenging. Great class sizes. Good library resources.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a sherrifs car that patrols the school. There are also some gaurds by the bookstore. If there are any wet spills, or cracks in the pavement, there are large orange cones to prevent you from getting hurt.

    Clubs and Activities

    M.I.S.T.E.R.S. and W.O.W. are some clubs. And they had a new Spanish/foreign language club last semester.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of people. I know people from all ages. Once we had a mother and a daughter in the same english class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Occasionally we have wii tournaments.

    Bang for the buck

    You can buy used textbooks or even rent new ones. To rent though, you need to have a debit card, so that they can charge you for any damages. When you are through with your books, you can sell them back to the library......but I would sell them online. You'll get more of your money back this way.

    What to do for fun

    I study for fun. Make a study group and go out! After a test you can go bowling at woodleaf lanes, down the street. Or a movie, at the Salisbury Cinema. Make lasting friendships.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, but on fridays they close at 12:30pm. The food is pretty reasonably priced. It taste pretty good too.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, so it does not have any dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that the academics of this school keep you busy. But if you don't procrastinate, you will have plenty of time to have a social life. There are evening courses, and some courses on the weekend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to do your homework. If you can find a friend to helpyou study, go for it, because its fun too. As long as you take it seriuosly. It doesn't have to be boring. Studying with a friend, and having fun can help you to retain your knowledge better. If you need the bookstore, they close before 1 on fridays.

    In three sentences

    I love the class options, whether it it internet-based, or classroom interaction. The teachers get everyone involved in the discussion. Sometimes the RCCC.edu site is down, but they let you know they are fixing it, and that Blackboard will be up soon.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security all over the campus very helpful.

    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    YES it's very cheap and you learn a lot.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY

    Food and Dining

    McDonald's is very near but campus cafeteria has so great food.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    The class are not hard some teachers can be stressful but I would recommend searching the teacher on ratemyprofessor.com and finding out the teachers reviews very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put God first and you can accomplish anything in school or life. It's also great to start at RCCC if you are not sure about a major.

    In three sentences

    RCCC is a wonderful school that made me learn that I can be anything I want in life. Its a beautiful school with many opportunities. I would recommend this school very much.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with disabilities. The disability services are great and easy to access. Great for students that want a smaller campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is great. It is a great way to get general requirements out of the way before transferring to university or get an Associate Degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of fun things to do in the area. Restaurant options are close by. The mall, bowling, roller skating facilities are located close to the school. Theater is also located at the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is good. I especially liked the Back To School breakfast that is offered at the start of each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes that I wanted to take were not offered any of the years I attended there. Offer more of the general and elective classes that are listed, but not offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started with your adviser as soon as possible. Take advantage of all the services offered at RCCC.

    In three sentences

    RCCC has been exceptionally good for me. My adviser has been involved and coaching me the whole time. All of my teachers have been dedicated and knowledgeable.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They do have clubs and different t things like that.

    Food and Dining

    Prices too high.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers could of helped more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you wanna do and have a plan. Don't count on others to help you.

    In three sentences

    A college that somewhat cares about their students. I feel the three years I attended wasn't the best they could of been. Maybe listening and trying to help students more would help the college.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is excellent. They make sure that everyone is safe at all times. Installed emergency towers in student parking lots, that with just a touch of the button, the local police are alerted if anything negative happens on the campuses or around the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA (student government association)-handle all of the student activities/events that happen on all of the campuses

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer Students, who want to save some money or are afraid to jump into a university college life right after high school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    South Campus, North Campus and Cabarrus Business & Technology Center and North Carolina Research Campus and Cloverleaf Center and R3 Center

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not that bad, and with financial aid the money burden is lifted. With this aid, tuition and books are paid for. In the end I was so happy to be a graduate from here!!!! :-) I came and did what I set out to do. Now that I have my double major associate degree in Arts and Criminal Justice from here, I will be able to transfer to Winston-Salem State University or any other North Carolina School and come in as a Junior!!!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on campus, in between classes. The school always has activities/events going on that cater to students

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, and the prices are reasonable. Have a student center, and big cafeteria for students. Where you can eat and dine with friends inside or outside

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. It is a technical 2-year school

    Academic Rigor

    Whatever program you are studying, the classes make sense. General education courses are taken care of when you graduate. Ideal for transfer students like me

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what program you want to study. Take as many classes as you can, so that you are not attending the school for more than three years. Take summer classes, if you can, time will speed by. Apply for financial aid, if you need it and cant pay for classes on your own. Stay in touch with student services, and they will help you with anything you may need help with.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing. They offer a variety of programs, and the teachers are dedicated to helping you reach your educational goals. I graduated on May 11, 2013 from this school with an associates degree in Criminal Justice and Arts and now I will be able to transfer to any university in North Carolina and pursue my bachelor's degree as a junior

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are not that great at RCCC. There are not very many clubs offered for students to join.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a community college, it is definitely worth what you pay for. Essentially, you get the same education for half the cost.

    What to do for fun

    RCCC has many different activities to do for fun during the school hours. They have an outdoor courtyard where they host many events for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria on the campus and the food is alright. I would recommend going off of campus to get any type of food.

    Dorm Life

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College does not offer dorms as a choice of living. Everyone who attends lives off of campus. There are many apartments nearby though.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not find the classes extremely challenging. I have only been attending RCCC for a year, and I have only taken the prerequisites. I start the Nursing program in the fall and have heard that it is pretty challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend going to speak with an adviser about the different programs that RCCC offers. I would also go tour the campus. It is not very big, but it will help you more than you think.

    In three sentences

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College is a great and affordable place for an education. The instructors truly care about the students and want them to do well. The advisers also do a great job directing students with academic needs.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has never had any serious incidents. Security is always there on campus, and they stay there for hours making sure that students are safe. Emergency poles were built, for people who are in danger. Police/ fire deparments are notified at fast rates for any emergencies

    Greek Life

    No greek life available. Some greek clubs and organizations are announced for people with academic excellence

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a SGA club that I know about. There are other posters around campus about other groups. Activities are announced through student emails and posted on flyers around the school

    Great for these types of students

    Any age is welcome. Students who will work hard and stay on track. Mature people who have set goals for themselves, will succeed here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many locations. There is a north and south campus. The north campus is located in Salisbury nc and the south campus is located in concord nc. There is a cabarrus business & technology center located on concord nc. There is a North Carolina campus in kannapolis nc. There is a cloverleaf center in concord nc and a r3 center in kannapolis nc

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the time put in. Coming to class is important. Keeping on track with your academic progress is essential. Its only a two year school.

    What to do for fun

    The SGA which stands for the student government association at the school, has monthly events that happen on campus. These events are always free for students, and even families are invited. Most of the time prizes are given through giveaways and contests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, and offered at low prices. Food deals are always posted for breakfast and lunch items. Renovations are underway, to make the cafe bigger and have even more diverse foods available for students still at low prices.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Once a person knows what they want to study, taking classes is a breeze. Keep up with each class that you take, because it is possible to repeat classes. Most classes will transfer to any university of your choosing. Advising counselors will help you with any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, so that you can start taking classes right away. Know what program of study you want to pursue while there. You will get done with your classes sooner than later. Apply for financial aid. Classes and books can be expensive, having extra money will help, plus a refund is given out to students.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for students to come and learn. The school is not expensive at all, nobody is turned away. Valuable education is granted to those who work hard, and the reward is an Associates degree in a field that your interested in.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has always helped whenever I have needed their assistants.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have enjoyed the different clubs that the school offers. Such as Spanish club and art club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and getting to dine with your friends brings everyone closer.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic. You get to meet different people and make lots of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but if you ask for help, study, and use the resources the school offers you will succeed in all your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study and don't give up when things get complicated. And don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College has an excellent academic program. The school provides classes that you can fit in your daily schedule. The staff is also very supportive and friendly.