Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Rust College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rust College is great for any student that has the willing mind to be educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    When entering Rust College you should expect to gain knowledge, as well as life survival skills.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Health and Science Business Teaching Degrees

    Bang for the buck

    Small College where the teachers know your name and care.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities on Rust College campus. In order to pledge here at Rust College you would have to achieve a 2.5 GPA and 29 credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much you can do here for fun. You can go to the gym and hang with your friends, play ball. Also, you can hang in this place called the rec. In there you can watch movies, dance, shoot pool, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Rust is not to die for. They have the same food in there every week. However, the food do not be nasty, its just that everyone get tired of eating the same thing every week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here at Rust College is not so bad once you get use to it. However, when you first get here you probably think I'm ready to go home! In some cases you will have to just bare with Rust College.

    Academic Rigor

    Rust College has tremendous Academic programs. Although they do not have hands on training it still is a awesome place to be. Most of Rust College programs are general studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this school to anybody. It is a great way to prepare you for graduate school. Coming to this school would be something you would never regret.

    In three sentences

    Rust College is a great HBCU. It is a wonderful learning environment and also great for those who does not like huge institutions. Rust College is the school of my dreams because I have always wanted to attend a small but great HBCU.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No one without a Rust College ID badge is permitted on the campus. Security is strictly forced especially when the campus is open to the community.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're not used to big cities or a big college campus, here is the place you want to be..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Founder's Week is the best week out of the year. It's when alumni come back to celebrate Rust's founding day with the students. We have a basketball game which we play our classic rivals from LeMoyne Owen College.

    What to do for fun

    Our campus is small so if you want to just chill, we have the Rec. In the Rec, there are pool tables, a movie theater, and there is a room where the video games are located. The Rec is also located next to the swimming pool. If that isn't enough, you can go to near-by cities like Memphis, TN and see the Grizzlies play at the Fed-Ex forum. Or maybe just go to closer colleges like Ole Miss (the University of Mississippi), Northwest Community College, Lane College, or Lemoyne Owen College.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cooked and nothing is left overnight. Everything is cooked the day of ensuring freshness of fruit and meat. If there's something you want to recommend, the cooks don't mind at all hearing what you would want to eat. They actually have a comment box as soon as you walk into the cafeteria and it's up to you whether you want to comment or not.

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't really a people person coming out of high school and into college. My freshmen year I didn't stay on campus, but when I moved on campus my sophomore year, it was life changing. I made my first friends with my roommates and the people on the hall, actually in the entire building. We'd run into each other and start conversations about things like sports, fashion, and even class.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors all have one or more master degrees and a ph.d in their field. With me being in the science department, my professors made sure that we were hands on in the labs (may I add are the best part of being a science major). The lectures are short but descriptive and on point.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to pay out of state tuition, everybody pays the same amount. Books are already paid for, so that's extra money in your pocket. If you're a student who wants to get to know the professors one on one, this is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing experience attending Rust College with its rich history and all. The professors are incredibly gifted at teaching and there are classes no bigger than 20-25, 30 max. So on a scale

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't say that there is anyone in the student body that doesn't know who the chief of police is because we see him on a daily basis! Security does a great job at patrolling campus to make sure there aren't any trouble makers and unidentified guests on campus.

    Greek Life

    Because Rust College is a HBCU, it has the typical greek organizations. The subject of The Divine Nine is a favorite among the student body. Our Greeks make EVERY party and event on campus their own and usually provide unique opportunities for students to come out and enjoy themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for every major or interest. Every club and organization has an opportunity throughout the year to show what they're all about by having their own week! The weeks are FILLED with activities such as talent shows, parties, fundraisers, and much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Rust is great for any type of student! Smarter students are able to let their light shine, whereas the students who did not do as well as they could have in high school are able to easily prove how unique and smart they are! Rust will turn a shy student into a social butterfly, outgoing students into public and professional icons around campus, and the lazy student into one who is able to unlock the wonders of their potential and go for it!

    What to do for fun

    There are local parties EVERY week! The school throws events like, dance parties, spoken word, pool parties, basketball games, volleyball games, and late night munchies! Not to mention, Rust hosts a program called Lyceum Series. This is a program in which Rust invites famous and notable singers, actors, musicians, authors, dance companies, and even Rust alumni who have made a big name for themselves! Trust me, with these events and your academic work, you won't have time to be bored!

    Food and Dining

    Love your mom's cooking? Well you won't have to worry about missing it too much for our cooks provide us with the foods we know and love! Students are always welcome to make menu suggestions. There are a few restaurants within walking distance that serve even more good southern food!

    Dorm Life

    The old fashion dorms may throw you off at first, but once you make friends, your dorm room will be the furthest thing on your mind! The dorms are NOT co-ed, but the dorms are close enough for students to mingle.

    Academic Rigor

    We have great teachers and small sized classes, so you will not have to work hard to get extra help when you need it! It may surprise you, but some degree programs can be completed in as little as three years!

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you come with an open mind and a smile on your face, you will be as great as you want to be! Rust provides an environment that will keep you focused on earning your degree while still offering PLENTY of opportunities to experience college life to the fullest! Our favorite motto is, You should have been a Bearcat !

    In three sentences

    Rust is small, inexpensive, and provides many opportunities to succeed beyond imagination! Here, we are a family and treat each other as such. Oh the world is full of colleges, but there's one that is my own!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security officers.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc. Zeta Phi Beta Fraternity Inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Math & Science Club, SGA, Student Govt., Band, Choir, Cheer, Majorettes, and dance team

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Academically, it's a good school. However, some teachers treat students as if they're still in high school and don't respect them as adults. (i.e Mr. John House-Humanities Division)

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, join a frat. or sorority, party.

    Food and Dining

    95% of the time, we're eating chicken products. Fried ckicken, baked chicken, chicken nuggets, chicken strips, chicken-on-a-stick, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Some students haven't matured yet, so they expect people to clean up after them. Some people are loud during night hours, making it hard to sleep. But that's expected going into college.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors care a lot about student success. But they don't always make sure every student understand their teaching methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a vegetarian, Rust College is NOT the place for you. Playing a sport or joining a club will make your college experience so much better. Missing class will really hurt you in the end. Your professors notices when you're absent a lot.

    In three sentences

    Rust college has great professors who actually cares about student success. During mid-terms and finals, the internet usually tends to stop working, making it harder for students to find information. Students are very involved with school activities.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a Historical Black University. People from the community are allowed to tour the campus during school hours. While this can be a little scary because you are not always able to recognize visitors from students; the Campus Security is always visible.

    Greek Life

    There is some Greek activity on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think anyone interested in attending Rust will find that it is rich with tradition and they are highly focused on helping every student do his/her best and be successful.

    What to do for fun

    At Rust, there is usually something going on to see or do. If it is a Campus sponsored events or something else, there is usually something to do. Most of the students get along and they really become your family away from home. Even during quiet times, you won't be bored to death.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. Not a lot of variety but it is always tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is fun and exciting. Rarely are there any boring moments. We sit outside at night on the porch of our dorm and really get to know each other. So far it has been a great time.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any school; you are required to attend class regularly and you are responsible for making sure all of your assignments are turned in appropriately and on time. They have many tutors and Academic Specialists to assist you in every area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what you want to do. Get involved in organizations that center around your major as well as other campus organized activities. Don't limit yourself and stay within your comfort zone. Get to know the staff-they are a great bunch of people.

    In three sentences

    Rust College is great at getting students involved. There are many students there from all around the world. The Staff at Rust encourages students to always do their best.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security officers

    Greek Life

    I love the greeks that are at Rust but really do not know too much about the greek life. However, I do plan to learn more about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rust has lots of activites and clubs that the students can join all year around.

    Great for these types of students

    HARD WORKERS, dedicated students , willing to learn and still have time to PARTY!!!

    What to do for fun

    I party, I read, I work out and I shop on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    We definitely can use some newly remodeled dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Acaademics are GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never forget your purpose as to why you came to college and to also never lost yoyur motivation.

    In three sentences

    Rust College has a great academic program. The teacher's are marvelous at what they do! On a scale of 1-10 I'll give Rust College a blazing number eight.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have security around the campus yard with different posts set if they are needed for emergencies.

    Greek Life

    we have greek life on the yard of rust college. the sororities and fraternities that are on at the moment are; alpha kappa alpha inc, alpha phi alpha, inc, phi beta sigma inc, zeta phi beta inc, and omega psi phi inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    we host a great deal of clubs here at rust college: jr. recruiter/ambassador, alpha kappa mu, pre-alumni council, e. a. smith honors society, mississippi association for educators,

    Great for these types of students

    students that did not give their best in high school and are looking for another chance rust is the college of second chances.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this past year the baptist student union choir hosted a dodge ball game. it was a great turn out that brought over 200 students together were gathered.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is a flat rate which means you are able to get more out of less. the best deal about this is that the more classes you enroll and complete the less time you have until graduating.

    What to do for fun

    rust has a number of activities you can get involved in. i am currently a member of a view organizations, pre-alumni council, and e. a. smith honors society. we play basketball, football, and lift-weights. if you are not fond of these you can sing in the various chorals we host. we have the rec which a place specialized to theater, pooling, table tennis, and card games.

    Food and Dining

    the food at rust, i have to smile about this one, is very old fashioned to soul food. the cafeteria is like another home filled with mothers that gives encouragements on those tough days. to some it up chicken all the time and the salad bar is always available along with fruits.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life here at rust college is like any new experience in life. it gives you the free room to grow into your destiny and allows you to shape into what is to be your future as a leader.

    Academic Rigor

    academically rust compose of honors courses as well as different clubs that motivates greatness. there are tutors that are here to assist you around the clock to make sure that you give your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    your education is not rated by who you start with but whom the degree is awarded to. have a mind to soak all knowledge to release it into positive places in your future.

    In three sentences

    rust is a college that was organized to allow education to blacks doing tough times. the school is a great place for studies to be excelled. the academics are very fair and you determine your path's pace.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A full time Security Staff (armed and unarmed) is on and off campus in cooperation with local Sheriff and Holly Springs Police. Plain clothes and uniform for your protection.

    Greek Life

    Yes, even though Rust College is a Historically Black College, in Northern Mississippi, we have students and teachers of various ethnic backgrounds. Come check us out!

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds.

    Great for these types of students

    I encourage potential minority students to research the history of Rust College and hopefully this will influence your decision to attend a very progressive school of higher learning. If you are of African-American descent you will find acceptance and pre and post bellum sights and museums celebrating Civil Rights achievements and civic contributions made by distinguished African Americans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rust College was founded by the United Methodist Church, so there is a Christian emphasis, with various religious life nearby.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable. According to the US News, Rust College is one of the 10 least expensive colleges in the United States.

    What to do for fun

    Holly Springs, MS is a small town with plenty of opportunities to get busy. Memphis, TN is approximately 30 minutes west. Swimming, fishing, Stock car racing, and more.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent, more than adequate dining facilities. When I have the privilege to eat in the cafeteria they always have more than enough and a divers selection. The cost is reasonable for off-campus students free to on-campus students or included in their housing package.

    Dorm Life

    Can't vouch for dorm life as I live off campus but that may change in the Fall.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, Rust is challenging academically. The teaching staff of this institution average PH.D. level and with many years of experience in their field and in the teaching profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the opportunity to attend a small college like Rust. Here you are sure to get the personalized, professional instruction that is necessary for you to be the best that you can be.

    In three sentences

    Rust College is academically challenging even in the summer session and I like that. The teachers/professors are more than competent and possess extensive backgrounds and training in their various disciplines. They seem to do the best they can to make the subject matter relative and interesting. That is appreciated. This is my first term at Rust and I am impressed.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never dine in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I have never live in the dorms before.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor go the extra mile to help each one of their students.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend Rust College, make sure that it is a last resort. You must be very focused on the tasks at hand to excell her, but the courses are not hard.

    In three sentences

    Rust College is a legit college; however, rules and regulations are not enforced at Rust. I view this college as a second chance college. As far as me recommending it to a high school senior-i wouldn't.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    is have great greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    NAACP, PreAlumni, and etc

    Bang for the buck

    cheat school but you learn something new

    Academic Rigor

    Business Dept. Rank 4 in HBCU