Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rutgers University-Camden Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to have fun but do not want it to take away from your learning because of too much then this is a great school for you. They try to make it interacting and they have a lot of resources to help you with your school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of financial aid because there are a lot of students and you don't want to miss out on your money. Go to class it makes the work a lot easier to understand if you are actually there when the teacher teaches it rather than just trying to learn from the book.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is great and I'm only paying 1,500 per semester after all the financial aid I'm receiving and 1,000 of it will be paid by work study so you tell me is it worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is great. There is always some type of student involvement activity going on, not always interesting but they're trying. The only down fall is the expensive cafeteria food but you can always order out.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers make there schedule around you and if you don't understand they are happy to help. They will even take the time to make extra work just for you. I am really learning a lot and actually remembering it later on.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is located in camden know as one of the most dangerous places in US, but the campus is always surrounded by security, we have our own police, and emergency phones around campus, so safety on campus is no issue.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus, whether its movie night, trips to Philadelphia, trips to see Broadway plays in New York or our campus BBQ and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is not bad, but i rarely eat on campus..but i do love the pasta and items they have in the grill section.

    Dorm Life

    I am living on campus for the first time this fall, but my friend lived on campus last semester and i was always there in her apartment. They are actually opening a new building for graduate housing and its really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to take classes serious at any school, but we do have excellent teachers here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rutgers Camden is good if you love the Rutgers name, but want a smaller school compared to the huge New Brunswick campus.

    In three sentences

    I love this campus because its a small school and very convenient to travel to especially for commuters. I get to school everyday using the riverline by paying just $1.50 each way. There is so much opportunities, job fairs, activities at this campus that you can never be bored.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and many inter mural sports on the campus Rutgers is also a D3 level college. Rutgers also has a state of the art GYM allowing the students to stay in shape and have fun doing so. Lastly Rutgers hosts many student orientated events through out the year making Rutgers a blast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choosing Rutgers Camden is a excellent decision they offer many majors and have great programs. The students there are nice and friendly as well as the staff. All the building are up to date as well.

    In three sentences

    I would give Rutgers Camden a 8 out of 10. The campus was a very clean and welcoming place all the students and staff were well educated and helpful. It was a very secure and neat campus i was very pleased with my visit to Rutgers Camden.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security couldn't be better. Security is everywhere. Call boxes are all over the campus and you can put their number on speed dial. They will come in a flash. Even though the school is right in the center of Camden, safety is just not an issue.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are present but in smaller numbers because this is the smallest of the three campuses. When I visited the New Brunswick campus, the Greek houses were everywhere. If that's important to you I would suggest the larger campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for every interest and many that cater to students of many ethnic grounds. Most clubs meet weekly. All have events and rallies regularly. There is something going on at the student center almost everyday, often during free period. This makes it easy to participate between classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers is welcoming to everybody. As a commuter, there are buses to everywhere. There is also a high speed light rail line that has a stop right in front of the student center! The Commuters Club is a great way to meet people with like schedules. If you board, there is a group for you too. However, they do cater to the law students. I believe this is because of their very intense classes and study habits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year at the beginning of the fall semester an all campus party is held. Students make these very odd looking vehicles and run them off a pier right into the Cooper River. Whoever can stay airborne the longest wins. Really good time!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a real bargain. Tuition is so much more reasonable compared to private colleges. The variety of majors available is huge. The financial aid office offers creative ways to help pay for school. Also, each department offers tuition assistance as do service oriented groups,if you meet their GPA requirements.

    What to do for fun

    There is something going on every weekend as well as campus events during free period. I am part of a group of scholars that perform service oriented activities to benefit the City of Camden. I have become friends with the others in the group. We have a great time volunteering. It really doesn't feel like work.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. The variety in never ending. Problem is that it is very expensive. There are a number of very quaint little places you can grab a quick lunch outside of the student center that are within or close to campus. The prices are usually a little easier on the wallet.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus because I can't afford it. However, I have friends that live on campus. Security it great. Therefore, you don't have to worry about you belongings. The dorms are setup in a series of suites with three rooms in each sharing one bathroom. Really nice! You are also matched up with someone who has like interests. For instance, the same sleep, study and party schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    As a member of the Honors College, know that you will be challenged. The school has a great reputation and they certainly live up to it. The professors are thorough and on point. There is no hand holding. However, all are available if you need help, There is also a free tutoring service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Spend a day at the campus to see if you think it's a good fit. Make appointments with counselors and prospective professors. Make appointments with financial aid counselor to see what's available in the way of help to pay for school.

    In three sentences

    Small campus with all the benefits of affiliation with a big school. The professors, counselors and programs for the opportunity of service to others is great. As a freshman coming in in September, I was made to feel welcomed as part of a community, a family.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is in Camden, it is one of the safest place that I have been in a while. The school has its own Police department and they are active to protect the school 24/7. There are also escort services whenever a student doesn't feel safe walking alone to a certain part of school at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life in school is not a great deal. Don't get me wrong there are Greek Societies but it is not a major part of the school like the academic and cultural societies are. There are about 10 Greek life societies on campus and the do their part in making the school a better place but not in a major way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large diversion when it comes to clubs and activities. From School/Academic related clubs like the science club to Cultural clubs like the Black Student Union and the Latin American Society.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is right next to Philadelphia, students tend to take the train into the city at night and when they feel like going out for a guys night or a girls night. Also the train station is in walking distance of the school which makes it more easier to get to where your friends are having fun for the night.

    Food and Dining

    Well, this is one of the not so good feature that the school has. The School cafeteria is the main dining service alongside a Starbucks and Mobile food karts. Since the campus is not that large, there are limitations to the food options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms consists of two kinds of building living. There is the towers building, this is just like any other dorm in which you have a roommate and a common living room. There is also the apartment building which is built like a normal apartment whereby you own your room to yourself but you share the living area and the kitchen alongside two bathrooms. Also, the dorms are in walking distance of the classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic aspect of life here is amazing and the environment promotes great learning skills. Since the classes are smaller compared to other bigger Universities, professors seem to pay more attention to their students academically and when it comes to class attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should try to brush up their communication skills because living in such a small community would require constant communication both with your friends and your professors.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Camden is a great environment that encourages learning. It is a small community that pays attention to all its students whether academically or socially.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to live at home and go to a great state school; commuters; who want their degree in 4 years; who want a great education for not alot of money

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school. Definitely apply, you won't regret it. It's a commuter school, so only 500 people live on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are in-state student at Rutgers, it's definitely a bang for the buck. You can't beat the price and the name your getting in the school. Rutgers is known around the world.

    Am enjoying being here

    The first couple weeks were strange. I felt like an outcast because I knew absolutely no one. But after a few more weeks, you start to recognize people from your classes and you can put names to faces. You start to become friends with alot of people, they're in your boat too--they don't know anyone either.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very helpful. They want to see you succeed. If you are having trouble with a class, Rutgers-Camden has a learning center that can help you out with whatever subject you need. Be prepared to study and read long chapters. It's a HUGE difference between high school.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a world class higher level education, Rutgers cannot be beat! In-state rates are very affordable. You will get an even greater bang for your buck if you take your first two years of classes at a community college and transfer in with your Associates degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    Rutgers Camden is a nice campus nestled in a not so nice neighborhood, but I've not experienced any problems and security is always around. Some of the older buildings could use some updates; the science lecture hall leaks when it rains too hard.

    Am learning a lot

    I enrolled as a transfer student from a local county college, and have learned a great deal after a year in. All of the professors I've had have been very approachable and the on-line class options are both informative and convenient.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While Rutgers-Camden is indeed in the center of the city of Camden, New Jersey, we not only have the city police patrolling on a constant basis, we have our own internal police force and security guards posted along all the streets on which students would be walking. I have been here for two years and have never once not felt completely safe. The campus is beautiful and well-maintained. No student who is considering Rutgers-Camden need worry about their safety while they matriculate.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers-Camden is great for urban students, or students in other areas that don't want to or can't commute to New Brunswick. It is the premiere choice in South Jersey because of the prestige the name carries. However, it is more than just a name; all of Rutgers is part of a centuries long tradition that any student would be lucky to a part.

    Bang for the buck

    The name of Rutgers carries with it respect and prestige, for a relatively minor tuition. There is no better school for those who are in South Jersey, or anywhere else, who want a first rate education but also wants a small campus with dedicated professors.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on campus that is both fun and rewarding; this includes a great deal of community services. This is important because the campus is in a city that needs as much help as it can get. There are many groups, theater opportunities, and we have a few pool tables on the first floor of the Campus Center. The sororities and fraternities have events throughout the year, and the various groups work tirelessly to entertain the students.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the Campus Center is somewhat costly, but all of it is tasty and quick. There is the much-needed Starbucks that none of us could live without. The dining room provides for every type of culinary preference.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus, so I don't know about the dorm life. However, from other students I have heard that the dorms are very satisfactory.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes are very difficult, and the professors expect a great deal out of you. I am a double major in Psychology and Criminal Justice, so I can't speak to the rest of the majors, but I have been challenged on a constant basis by the classes and by my professors. However, if you put in the effort, and you actually do the work that is necessary, you will excel at Rutgers-Camden.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to know the basics, which should be obvious. Know how to write papers, and how to correct mistakes. You need to be open enough to expand your horizons and engage in intelligent intercourse with both your classmates and your professors. If you see a class you want, make sure you take it, as it may not be available until the next year. One important tip to make things easier is to get your Associate's Degree first and then transfer to Rutgers. It speeds the way and gives you a good foundation with which to begin your Rutgers education. I recommend if you can to take public transit as parking is very expensive. You should join as many clubs as you can, and do as many Independent Studies as possible, as it will allow your professors to get to know you; this is integral for when you need letters of recommendation. Also our professors are excellent teachers and excellent people to know. Enjoy the experience, and get as much as you can out of it, because take it from me, time flies very quickly.

    In three sentences

    The moment I stepped onto the campus at Rutgers-Camden, I was at home; a huge sigh of happiness escaped me as I walked through the quad. In my two years matriculating there, I have met top-notch professors who have done their utmost to help me learn everything I need to know to become a part of this giant world around us. The school is being threatened by government intervention, but all of us have rallied together and I know that whatever happens in the future that every one of us will continue to bleed Scarlet til the day we die.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although Rutgers Camden Campus may often be stereotyped for the location of which it is in; it is in fact a very safe campus environment. There is security guards on every corner the university covers, campus police that patrols the surrounding streets of the campus along with the city police who does their daily stops and checks for safety. Did I mention it has public transportation (the river line) that drops you off right in front of the school as well as a Rutgers shuttle that takes you to and from the student parking lot!

    What to do for fun

    Since being in college I have been so busy with trying to keep up with the responsibilities of a fulltime student and a fulltime employee where I serve as a direct support professional for the ARC of Burlington county that I don't even remember what fun is. I'd say fun for me since being in college is the opportunity to enjoy family and sleep. Work now play later!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Rutgers is to die for, it is amazingly great! A bit costly but well worth it!

    Dorm Life

    Im sorry I have not been able to experience the dorm life for I commute to and from school.

    Academic Rigor

    As already mentioned I am in Rutgers Social work program in which I have the requirement to obtain a 3.0 or better up until the time of graduation of which this requirement I take very seriously thus previous school year earning a 3.2 with hopes for an even better GPA this present school year!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending Rutgers as a transfer student form a community college like myself it is best to get in contact with Rutgers counselors prior to attending the university and have them assist you with taking proper classes that will transfer and be accredited for during the time of transfer. Lastly, ALWAYS ALWAYS take advantage of the summer semesters if they are made available to you; by doing so your college education will be done in no time and you will be off into your career field in no time. P.S always network with individuals who has other majors that aren't similar to yours i.e future lawyers, police officers etc. because as the saying goes it's not what you know it's who you know and you never know when you may need any of the peers that you are in connection with presently in the future!

    In three sentences

    At Rutgers I have been given the opportunity to meet peers who shares the same major as me as well as studious professors of whom I have been able to engage with and learn from. Through Rutgers in Camden Social work program I have learned and mastered the code of ethics of which I have already began applying to my personal and professional life! To sum things up, Rutgers has a very set of skilled staff working in the social work building in which they provide students with fundamental resources that will prepare us for the social work career field.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops on campus walk on and drive around all day and night. There presents is always known. They are the kindest people you could ask for help.

    Greek Life

    I plan on joining the Greek life within the next few years.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't remember which clubs and activities are offered there are so many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers is great for all students it doesn't matter your race or nationality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't seen any yet, but when I do I'll let you know.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools Rutgers is cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Rutgers has lots to do and they give you discounts on everything. I'm planning on going to the aquarium, museums, and much more on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried the food yet, but I can't wait to try it.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus. The dorms are nice and not far from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet, but I believe the academic rigor is challenging in a good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your thinking about coming to Rutgers you will receive help from everyone. From students, alumni, and teachers there never to busy to help you accomplish your goals.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University-Camden is a great school to attend. You don't feel like a number but a valued student. Because the campus is small you have the feeling of still being in your comfort zone but you have and gain your independence as well.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Philly or going home

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare to find out things are different than you imagine

    In three sentences

    Research driven, small academic community, it is what you make of it

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I cannot lie, even though Camden is usually regarded as a being a dangerous place, this campus is heavily guarded with security and campus police. I felt safe on the campus, all the time. But when you leave the campus that is something different.

    Food and Dining

    The food is GREAT! I was sold on coming to the school because the cafe is so nice but the food is really even better. There is plenty of variety from what you can eat and if you have a meal plan it is inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best place to live in. If you live in the area, feel free to live at home, you will not be missing much because many of the other students commute. There are a lot of maintenance problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not hard at all, but I was a little upset that the teachers took attendance so seriously. You have to make it a priority to be at ever class. Usually in college if you can keep up with your work without going to ever class your fine but not at this school.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Camden has a beautiful campus and easy access to the Downtown Philadelphia Area. The professors are very easy to work with and try to help the students the most they can. Also there are always events to get involved in and organizations looking for new memebers.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers are on patrol 24/7 if your smart and use your discretion. You will be alright.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is steadily growing on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Loads of clubs, Greek life and different activities to engage in

    Great for these types of students

    Great for personable students.

    Bang for the buck

    As in state resident it is certainly a bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty to do in Philly. Alot of night life over there and it is literally one stop over the bridge. Many options are avaible on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is above average

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Dorms are very spacious the community is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    As it is Rutgers Univeristy you as well as your peers are taking high level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and see if the campus is right for you. Its proximity to Philladelphia is amazing.

    In three sentences

    Nice tight knit community. Very under rated as a campus. Gret atmosphere

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student from out of state. I will be attending Rutger's in Spring 2013 and therefore, cannot rate the college.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safey is grade A. There is security at every corner and cops patrolling the streets daily. The campus is very safe and friendly.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is excellent. There are many seats so everyone can eat with plenty of room. There are different sections in the cafeteria to choose from including: The pizza and pasta section, the sandwich and wraps section, the stir fry and steak section, and the grill section.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all set up like a suite, it is a very comfortable living style for you and your roommates. You each get your own bed and have a bathroom in your own suite. There is a workout room on the 6th floor, and pool table rooms on a couple. The dorms also provide us with a washing room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your parking pass early. Make sure you get a food plan the food here is great. Get involved with something.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Camden is an excellent diverse University. It is a very safe campus, it has excellent sport facilities and dorms. Here at Rutgers there is somewhere and something for everyone.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Philadelphia is just right over the bridge.

    Food and Dining

    Has starbucks and a cafe. Not much other food that you can get.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms here so I can't tell you how the dorm life is.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic stable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The camden campus is so small that you can get to your classes within 10 minutes. Different age groups that go there.

    In three sentences

    Great free activities to do on campus. The teachers are there to help you out. Plus plenty computers in the computer lab.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The train is blocks away to take you into Philly.

    Food and Dining

    The campus center has a cafeteria and a starbucks.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging enough to make you feel like you are earning a real degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus and see what it's about.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Camden has high quality instruction. The small class sizes make you feel like more than a student number. The campus is nice- don't let the word Camden scare you off.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities happening on campus. There is quick access to malls, concerts, casinos, and clubs because Philadelphia is a train ride or 5 minute drive away from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is okay. They do have a Starbucks on campus which can be a good or bad thing dependent upon ones caffeine dependency.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are close to the city and provided with protection with three different police departments. You will definitely feel safe at this university.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are understand that students here work and take several other classes. It is possible to work or have fun at Rutgers University and still be able to pass if your a dedicated individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend prospective to go and visit the campus prior to making a final decision, because the classes and the campus is undoubtedly smaller in size that the other campuses. If you enjoy a more intimate class setting with passionate professors Rutgers University could possibly be the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University- Camden is an excellent institution with stellar professors. The university is a very accessible location for residents in the tri-state area. This University does allow smoking on campus and for that reason I would rate Rutgers University as a 4 out of 5.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police force, which constantly does rounds throughout the school, and the Police force of the city, the Delaware River Port Authority officers and State Troopers also patrol constantly as well. They will even escort you to the train station and other commuters services if you asked them to. The Camden Campus has actually been hailed as the safest Rutgers Campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a few Sororities and Fraternities. Most of them are about community service and academic growth. The campus takes strong pride in its dedication to community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs constantly have some sort of event going on, whether it be a Wii night, karaoke night, wing night, play-offs, fairs, concerts, charity events, you name it. There is an Asian Cultural Society, a Korean Club, a West-Indies and Indian Club, Anime Club, a Biology Club, a Chemistry Club, a Psych Club, a Chess Club, a Campus Involvement Club, a Student Ambassador club, just to name a few, and there is a variety of intramural sports to choose from. Whatever your interest, there is a club for you

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is more of a commuters campus. This is the best location for people who do not want to stray away from home, but who also want to feel that independence to go out on their own. A lot of people meet friends who they will eventually share apartments with in the surrounding area, and Philly is a great place for those who enjoy the city and the adventures that a city has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a catering restaurant on campus called Friends Cafe. It is everyone's place to hang out with friends while grabbing a bite. It is the place to go to chill and enjoy some great food.

    Bang for the buck

    Rutgers has a relatively cheap tuition, but there are a lot of unexpected fees that accumulate even as a commuter. Even so, there are so many opportunities that students can take advantage of, like the gym, learning center, career services that last even two years after you graduate, professional tutors, and so many helpful professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities happen on campus. For example, there are annual health and various other fairs, special discounts on concerts, university-wide sporting events, Cultural Events and large-scale community service projects. There is also a club that encourages you to be more independent and sponsors day trips to Philly and teaches you how to commute on your own.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of dining options, and the food is pretty good. There are food trucks, and a corner store that stays open until midnight. You can also get food from restaurants really close to campus, and you can even use some of your express money stored on you ID card at these restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and comfortable. Spacing may be an issue, but everyone that I've talked to says that they are able to work it out with their roommates and that everyone' s comfortable. There are a lot of events that the RAs and CAs host so there's always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The University challenges its students pretty well. I feel that I am getting a really good education, and all the opportunities I need are here. I enjoy my classes a lot, because I really get a lot out of them and am opened to new and different ways of thinking. Basically, I leave each class inspired to learn more about the topics discussed.

    Tips for prospective students

    You really have to do your own research in regards to what will be coming up. There are many opportunities for research for example, but you have to really put yourself out there and find them. Being involved on campus is the best way to know information. Joining clubs also helps to let you know the specific teachers and mentors that would guide you to a successful future. The faculty and staff genuinely want to help and I appreciate that I can have close relationships with my teachers.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University-Camden offers many opportunities to its students. The area of the campus is ideal for internships, since Philadelphia just a short commute away. The staff genuinely care about it's students, and although the campus is small, it offer's all that a larege research university has to offer.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do for fun. There are many events that go on throughout the week. Sometimes they happen during the day, such as picnics and games, and some are at night, such as the Snowball dance and the luau.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious. They are made right there on the spot and always fresh. They constantly keep the salad bar fresh and the pasta is yummy! The sandwiches are made on the spot and made with perfection.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live at the campus, but I have been inside of the dorms before. They are well protected and clean. The people are nice and the guards are friendly. Definitely someplace I would not mind calling home for a couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics make you study hard. The professors will push you to the best of your abilities. The professors are high is stature and have doctorate degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely learn how to manage your time wisely and buy the books to read from. Many times the power point slides they give you in class are not enough to study from in order to get a good grade.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University is a great school. The professors are helpful and nice. I go to the Camden campus that is great if you prefer small classrooms.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. Many people are nervous about this because the campus is in Camden, but the University has it's own security. There are also emergency phones throughout campus and a shuttle that runs which can pick students up from anywhere on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am an extremely healthy eater and can be quite picky. Although the campus has a salad bar, most of the food was very greasy and unhealthy. I often ate the same things every day or went grocery shopping and bought my own food. Unfortunately, I was required to have a meal plan even though I had a stove in my room and often prepared my own food

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was okay. I lived on campus for two semesters. The first semester I went home almost every weekend. This is pretty common among students. However, there are always things to do on campus over the weekend. Since I was an upper classman, I lived in an apartment style dorm both semesters and it was great. There was plenty of space and I got along with my roommates. I would never live on campus as a freshman or sophomore because I believe the room are extremely overcrowded. Also make sure to keep your own record of correspondence that you have with the head of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor can vary greatly depending on the professor. If you are looking for a challenge, apply to be a member of the Honors College as these classes are often smaller and more intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved outside the classroom. There are many different on campus clubs and activities. The University will even allow you to start your own organization if you have an interest that is not already offered by the campus.

    In three sentences

    Overall, the experience was above average. I have mobility issues and the school was extremely accommodating. However, I would only recommend it for students who are looking for a small campus.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    - Explore Philadelphia - Attend Riversharks Game - Attend Music Concerts at The Susquehanna - Visit the Local Aquarium

    Tips for prospective students

    - Be Responsible - Stay Focused - Attend Class Regularly - Have A Relationship With Your Professors - Have Fun - Take Your Education Seriously

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University has a great reputation in the work field which is extremely beneficial to many future career aspirations. A degree from Rutgers can be a vehicle to a very successful career and great relationships with successful alumni of Rutgers University. Attending this University will enhance the college experience of many students transferring into Rutgers as well as students who choose not to live on-campus.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has full-time security guards and our own Police Station! The Police Station is directly next to the gym. Security guards are also posted at certain areas around campus, easily accessible at any time. We also have the shuttles, available to take you to/from the Parking Lots, of to the Bus and Train stations! Also, no one is allowed into the Dorm Buildings without proper identification. The guards at the front desk are there 24/7, 365! Because the Police Station is part of our campus, police often ride and sit around campus. They are extremely friendly.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Philadelphia for fun! The Ben Franklin Bridge is a fun walk into Philadelphia and the walking entrance to the bridge is literally right behind the school. If you do not feel like walking, take the Patco train! Both are extremely easy to access. Enjoy nightlife in a lovely city! Staying in New Jersey is also an option! Walk down to the Waterfront and enjoy your view of Philadelphia, a view you could also have from your bedroom window!

    Food and Dining

    All of the food is real, and you are allowed to leave the cafeteria with it! Grab and go is great for those rushed mornings. All food is fresh and made when you ask for it. There are also things already made during the busiest times of day, but those things are still fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Here at Rutgers-Camden we are lucky students. All non-freshman students live in apartments! However, Freshman do not get the short end of the stick. They stay in 3-bedroom suites with 2 people per room. Each room has a mini-fridge/freezer and microwave. The suite also has a living area and bathroom! No sharing with the entire floor! The entire building is air-conditioned, and there is a kitchen, laundry room, computer room and multipurpose room in the building. On the apartment side (the buildings are connected) there is also a fitness room and mail room. We also have a new building for seniors and graduate students and the building has loft apartments. It is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology seems to be the toughest course for freshman but everyone sticks through! Teachers are extremely helpful and offer to help whenever they get the chance. Just remember to study and you'll be fine! You won't need to have you head in a book 24/7 just to pass, everyone works together to make sure you do not struggle. Free tutors are also offered!

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that this is college and anything you do may affect your grades. Unlike high school, teachers do not hassle you to turn in your work on time. You either turn it in or you don't. Although it sounds great, if you have forgotten to do an assignment, you are out of luck. Remember to write down any assignment a teacher gives you, along with the assignment's due date. Studying is essential to having good grades! Do not get side-tracked your first year if school! It is very easy to get distracted with all the exciting things happening around campus. Set some time to study alone, and maybe even with friends. That was you can have fun and still get good grades! Studying for about 30 minutes before a test if helpful too, if you have the time. Become a well-known face on campus, do things and get around! Make as many friends as possible. Speak to all of your teachers. Knowing them will help you in the long-run. They will be able to guide you, answer some of your questions, and will later serve as a great recommendation. Speaking to the Dean would also be great. Talk to students with the same major as you. A lot of times, knowing people will help you out. Who knows, they may get a great job and be able to connect you into the field! Every once in a while, career fairs are held on campus. Don't be afraid to go to these fairs even if you aren't attempting to get a job! Like I said, you want to know people that have connections in the field you are studying. Knowing these people will definitely pay off. Especially since they could hire you themselves! At the end of the day, you are in college. But that does not mean you cannot have fun! After you have done your schoolwork, relax! Unwind. Have fun with friends and do things you love to do! It will help you do better, as you will not be stressed out all of the time.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Camden is a great school to attend. Everyone on campus is fun and friendly! This school will become your home away from home.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here is always present and willing to go that extra mile to make you feel safe. You cannot go anywhere on the campus without seeing them wishing you good morning or good afternoon.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is very active at Rutgers University (Camden Campus)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities here that would meet any student's interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers University is great for both the high school student who either struggled or excelled through high school. Rutgers holds all their students to high intellectual standards. They also provide the tools that every student needs to meet those standards. Employers love to hire Rutgers graduates for this reason.

    Bang for the buck

    When I was applying for scholarships, they would not give me money if I was attending a college that was private. They charge too much money, and their graduation rate was too low. That is why I ended up at Rutgers.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is close to so many attractions. Students get daily e-mails of the different promotions and trips the school offers. You can get tickets for anything at our student center booth. You would have to go out of your way to get bored here.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is exceptionally delicious. However, it can be expensive, no different than any other college campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I cannot review this aspect at Rutgers University (Camden Campus). I have been told that living in the dorms are very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Rutgers University (Camden Campus) is quite rigorous. Every student, no matter what their major, has to take 2 math subjects, and they do not consider algebra a course -- if you cannot pass the entrance test, you have to take the review until you can pass it. However, the learning center here is well equipped. I have an exceptional tutor who explans math to me in a way that I can finally grasp it. They also have seminars on how to take notes, tips for studying, writing essays, etc. I truly feel I am intellectually growing at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your local community college's career center and ask to take a skills/inventory test. Get a list of potential positions you would enjoy working in. Talk to people who actually do those jobs and see if you would really enjoy that particular work environment. Visit different college's career centers and set up appointments to speak to students who are sophomores / juniors in those professions. Ask them what courses you should take to prep you for the college coursework for those professions. If I were you, I would take algebra I and II, pre calculus and calculus and statistics at a community college before enrolling in an university. Don't let math intimidate you; I did. I have always regretted it. I am 48-years-old having to take my math courses now. Do not make the same mistake I did. Also, find a speed-reading course and take it, no matter how much it costs. It will help you fine-tune your study time later.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University (Camden Campus) is providing me with an exceptional educational experience due to the location, curriculum, and career counseling center. The campus is close to public transportation so getting to my 8:00 a.m. class is not a problem. The curriculum is stimulating with professors who not only love to teach, but also are networked with employers who could possibly hire me upon graduation. The career center is helping me create a stellar resume to obtain part-time employment while I am a student, helps me to fine tune what my minor should be and prepares me for interviews upon graduation.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere on campus and also in all the parking lots. There is a shuttle that'll take you from the farthest parking lot to campus. There is a police station located right on campus as well.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is growing in this campus. Not every large Greek organization is not represented is here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. When you're not studying nor in class, there is most likely a meeting for one of your clubs or an activity or seminar that is going on to keep you involved and/or thinking about your future.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love being knowing all your peers and feeling a closeness to your peers then come to Camden.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition at Rutgers Camden is everyday between 12:20 and 1:20 there are no classes. This is when there are venders and activities are going on. For example, if its a beautiful day, they'll have a dj with free food and games.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe you're getting what you paid at Rutgers Camden. The education is really good and they are always giving away free things at the all the events so you won't really find the need to buy any Rutgers clothes or anything else with Rutgers name on it. You also get discounts on plays, concerts and games that are happening in the Camden/Philadelphia area

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities going on campus during the day and at night. The campus is very close to Philly, you can take the train station over there. Also, there is a pub down the street if you want to stay local.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't many places to eat on this campus. It's still expanding but for now there is only the school's cafe and a small pizza shop. 7-11 just opened on campus. There's more food places opening in the graduate dorms.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, I can't give much on the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very demanding. Studying every night is a must and go to your professors office as often as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Don't be afraid to ask questions about where something is and also in the classroom. You'll meet people this way.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus but this to me is a good thing. I feel close to my peers and a sense of family. Also, the classrooms are small so it is easier to build a relationship between my professors.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like all the programs they have for graduate students. I also admire the scholarships they have for students. The campus is safe and secure.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe around the campus, but if you are a commuter don't go home too late (5 o'clock is the latest for me).

    Bang for the buck

    It's great for in-state students because Rutgers is quite well-known, but it's quite expensive for out-of state students.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things going on in the campus, especially in the first week of school (free food!). Philadelphia is only 15 minutes away and New York is 2 hours away.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good, especially the grill section. There is also a nearby restaurant called Friend's Cafe if you want something other than the food offered in campus.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student, but I from what I see from my sleepover in my friend's dorm, the campus gets really quiet in the weekend and not much is going on on the weekend. Freshmen's dorm kinda sucks, but upperclassmen can live in apartment-style dorm, which is better because you have your own room and share kitchen with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher/professors, I am a freshman here and the classes here are not that hard. You just need to read the textbook and study on your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all of your classes because some professors in here actually take random attendance and take off points if you missed the class. Take advantage of the learning center because it's free and already included in your tuition.

    In three sentences

    A good college for someone who prefers small and close community. Even though Camden is regarded as a dangerous place, the security is very tight and I feel safe commuting from Philadephia.Some professors here actually cares about your study.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play pick-up game, attend concert, dance parties, club and so on

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning looks comfortable and clean

    Dorm Life

    The dorm are suitable for students and makes one feel as safe as home

    Academic Rigor

    Education is first, then follows dedication which will all lead to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized, get involved and do not procrastinate

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Camden campus is amazing. Rutgers Camden is well organized. Rutgers Camden is best suitable for me.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent at Rutgers. There are vans that drive around campus watching the school and if you need a security guard to walk you to your car you just have to call the school police station and someone will be there to walk you.

    Greek Life

    Rutgers Camden have a good amount of sororities and fraternities. The school is starting to grow in its amount of organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers Camden is great for people who want to pursue a nursing,law. ,psychology,or biology degree. There are a lot of research opportunities for these type of students.

    Bang for the buck

    The in state tuition for Rutgers is actually not to bad. The highest amount would be the housing,but if you commute it's a lot cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Since Rutgers camden is near cherry hill and Philadelphia a lot of people go to the mall or south street. On campus there are usually different events going on such as fashion shows and comedy shows. There is usually a back to school party in the beginning of the school year in the multi purpose room.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Rutgers is okay. They have a pretty good breakfast selection and a great pasta station. Some days they have special entrees such as Buffalo Wild Wings or tacos.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Rutgers Camden has improved. The rooms are a good size. You can either share a room or have your own room depending on what side of the dorm complex you are on because there is an apartment side that has a full kitchen and single rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Rutgers are difficult and a lot of work,but the work is practical. If you need help I recommend meeting with your professor or make an appointment with the learning center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be use the learning center. There are great tutors for all different subjects. Take advantage of small classes so professors can get to know you better and help you with your studies. Also go to different club meetings so you can see what group you fit in.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University-Camden is a great school if you are interested in nursing or law. The school is a small school which is great for one on one with your professors if you need assistance. There are a lot of different clubs that you can get involved in as well as sports.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't much danger unless your out at like midnight alone on the streets of Camden. Campus itself is safe, they always have security guards everywhere-- just don't be out alone during odd hours.

    Great for these types of students

    People who live near campus

    Bang for the buck

    State school so it's not too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Philly to do things

    Food and Dining

    There's a starbucks on campus and a subway under the grad housing and the dining hall. That's it. So there isn't much to choose from unless you want to go off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics rigor obviously depends on your major, I'm currently a nursing major so it's definitely hard to keep up with but it's not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a relatively small and quiet campus, don't go here if you want a party school. Mostly commuter, not much to do if you live on campus. It's also not recommended to go off campus-- they want you go to philly if you want to go out which is a quick train ride away (there's two train stations two minutes walk from campus- the riverline and the patco).

    In three sentences

    It's got potential and it's much safer than one would think. Quiet, small campus that is definitely growing. Positive environment on campus, lots of diversity everywhere.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see police cars patrolling and security officers. There are also call boxes. Even at night, there is lots of security so i've felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I joined several clubs and there was so much going on I couldn't even attend everything!

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the price. It's definitely a lot more than community college but it's the best option after that.

    What to do for fun

    There's music, sports, crafts, lectures, games, concerts....

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of pizza at events! The cafeteria isn't bad. There are also a few corner stores and food trucks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. They are right across the street from the campus though, very close.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is up to the professor. Some classes require more studying because tests are the only grade but other classes require a weekly assignment and several tests. Overall, it was a lot of work but keep organized and it's totally do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're aware of you're surroundings, just to be safe. Join or start a club to feel involved right away; it worked for me and they give you a free period so there is always time to go to lectures or meetings.

    In three sentences

    It's a safe school with a lot of opportunity. They have activities for all interests daily, excellent professors, and a cozy campus. I've already gotten more involved in service and have had more help; through lectures, observation, and activities; with choosing a career after college.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Delicious

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Tough, but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and youll taste the sweets of your fruit of success.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. Great professors, envrionment and culture.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Various student activities and groups, as well as sports and different off campus trips.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafe and Starbucks was right on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have meet many great people throughout my time at Rutgers

    Academic Rigor

    Research is one of the best skills you will get from your education at Rutgers. And that is a skill which is useful in any area or career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find an area of study you enjoy, and try your best to stick with it and you will be surprised what you can accomplish.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers is a great school, with a focus on research in various areas. The professors I have had classes with have really helped me to be a better student, as well as preparing me for furthering my education as far as I wish, with the skills that I have learned. I never wanted to go to college after high school, but I now have a different outlook on life and love the education I have received.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards around. And if you don't feel safe walking at night or going to your car, they have Rutgers vehicles that will take you anywhere you want to go. It's very convenient!

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't too huge, but it is known. Once or twice a semester, there may be a probate, when all the greeks show out, but throughout the semester they carry on just like any other student. You nay know who's a greek by the jackets they wear.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're an in-state student, I guess it's worth the money. For someone who's coming out of state, I don't think they should spend a lot of money to come to this simple school. They should try Rutgers New Brunswick first.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and sororities that people can join. During free period, there are usually fun activities and guest entertainers coming onto campus, and in the gym they have special physical activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not good! It's all bland and expensive. The only good place to get food is either this little cart outside of the campus center crossway, or any food places off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in a dorm so I can't really critique it. However, I hear that the dorms are really fun and a necessary part of the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are good, for the most part. The classes can also be very interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure this school has the most important things that you want because the school can feel empty and slightly useless if there are things you wish to do on campus but cannot.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice, small campus where you get to see familiar faces. There are a lot of great activities and the beginning of the semesters. It's just the behind the scene work, like registering for classes, that makes the school annoying at times.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No campus or place is 100% safe but my campus has security officers patrolling the area all the time & you are also encouraged to call for escort service rather then walking alone.

    Greek Life

    Do not belong to it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to choose from, ethnic clubs to major clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Geeks & fun loving, both.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May be but none that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Well, I spend my time in the library because it is quiet & peaceful but I see people having fun all over campus, places like campus center, student lounge or the convenient store playing pool.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of opportunities on campus & around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in them but the dorm building does look pretty new & modern.

    Academic Rigor

    You definitely get challenged but I still find the time & space to breath.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is small campus compared to the other two campuses but very peaceful & easy going for people who are laid back & don't like the city rush.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love my University. The campus is beautiful with rich history. It is a very affordable public institution that is accredited and is very much research oriented.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Run far far away from the Social Work program

    What to do for fun

    Rutgers has alot of campus events that you can enjoy that are free.

    Food and Dining

    Same menu everyweek. You will get tired of the school food.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on the dorms, but I heard there very hot and not comforable. I suggest just getting an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic advising is okay. There not jumping out of their seat to help you, but they always have an open door

    Tips for prospective students

    Rutgers is a good school , but stay away from the Social Work program. You will save yourself time and money.

    In three sentences

    Horrible Social Work Program in Camden. Don't trust the advisors they only thinkabout themselves. Alot of student are found transferring out of that program including me. I switch my major recently because of the internal issues of this program.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, Camden is not the best neighborhood anymore. However, both the school, its students, and local law enforcement go out of their way to make sure the campus is beyond safe. Don't worry.

    Great for these types of students

    If you either want to stay close to home, or move to a metropolitan area, Rutgers Camden provides just that. Plus, you have the ability to balance work and play with the amazing entertainment hot spots nearby.

    What to do for fun

    I've lived in South Jersey since birth, and I'm very thankful for that. Rutgers Camden is close to more fun than many can even process! Nearby, the Susquehanna Bank Center and aquarium are nestled into the Camden waterfront. Catch a great concert at the Susquehanna Bank Center, or hop on the PATCO train to Philadelphia to see a Phillies game, shop, enjoy the best food you could ever ask for, or even see another concert-- the choice is yours. Rutgers Camden is truly the prime location for both work and play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep a track of your grades, beginning in 9th grade. Rutgers uses both a self-reported academic record system and a mailed transcript system. Any discrepancies between the two could cause you to lose your shot at admission. Also, it's listed on the website that prospective students are able to apply past the admissions deadline, so don't fret if you can't make it.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Camden is an amazing, high quality school with a great location close to Philadelphia, suburban New Jersey, and many entertainment and gastronomic hot-spots. Rutgers offers a myriad of programs, spanning from business, to law, to even a pharmacy school. Many members of my family have attended Rutgers Camden, and through them I can see what an amazing school Rutgers Camden truly is.

  • 07/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a personal friend to the security guards, there hasn't been one moment where I haven't felt safe on campus. The police officers drive routinely around campus, and there is a security guard outside of every building. I would say it's definitely one of the best for campus safety!

    Greek Life

    As an outsider/observer to Greek Life, I can say that it is a lot of fun. However (due to size), there are not a lot of organizations. Most of them have three-school chapters, along with Rowan and Stockton. With that in mind, if you are a strong interest in D9 organizations - Rutgers-Camden might not be for you. However, if you go to Rowan or Stockton - you might see our Greeks on your campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities at Rutgers-Camden, so there is something to spark everyone's interests. If one doesn't find a club that tickles their fancy, they can easily make their own club. So, room for involvement is constant on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers-Camden actually has a lot of international students, adding to the global appeal that Rutgers is known for. It is truly great for any student who doesn't want to feel small on campus. Camden is a very intimate campus, compared to New Brunswick & Newark. So, it's good for just about everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Accounting Office and Armitage Hall are connected underground, so sometimes you can walk into the S.A. office and walk out of Armitage. That has happened to me a couple of times, and I was definitely confused. Despite that, there are some peculiar events on campus - more than locations.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering that Rutgers-Camden has a great location (transportation wise), it's very accessible and affordable. As the state university, it has definitely been an affordable staple to New Jersey!

    What to do for fun

    No matter where you turn, there's always a random celebration or party at Rutgers-Camden. No holidays really go left not celebrated, so keep your eyes open for fun events and trips. Despite Camden having a bad reputation as a inner city, the campus has many highlights to itself. There's safe ways to have fun on campus, so be mindful always.

    Food and Dining

    As a foodie, the cafeteria is love. The breakfast every morning is always on point, and the regular afternoon food is good too. However, it is a little on the expensive side (to be very honest!). Also, Friends Cafe is a great place to eat as well. They are also a little expensive, but well worth it.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter student, I don't know much about the dorm life. From having friends who live in the dorms, they seem to love it. There's always something fun going on in the dorms, so anyone can come to love the dorms over time. Just be careful of crazy roommates - it does pay to watch people sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, it is academically rigorous. However, Rutgers is known for being a strong research school. So, the resources are very selective yet invaluable. As a prospective student, you'll come to find out that one trip to the library can be life-changing. It is a good rigor overall, so there's nothing to fear - it's a good challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would say to be willing to dive into anything and everything. For a small campus, there is a lot to do. Don't be afraid to go into a club meeting, or just be afraid to join in on any activity. There is something to spark every interest and there's always new people around who would be just as scared as you are. College is a fun experience, and Rutgers-Camden is the perfect example of that!

    In three sentences

    In the 3 years that I have been at this campus, anyone can come to love everything about it. The classes are the perfect size and all of the staff/students are very close-knit. I'm going to be very sad upon graduation because my time here has been the greatest time spent.