Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Rutgers University-Newark Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independent diverse openminded vivacious/lively

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a research school, so be prepared for a lot of outside work as well as classroom work.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    oas(organization of african students)

    What to do for fun

    socialize at the student lounge relax at the golden dome intramural sports path train to ny

    Food and Dining

    yummy

    Dorm Life

    commuter

    Tips for prospective students

    be in class on time. get involved in campus activities. utilize all the resources in the school because you are paying for it.

    In three sentences

    rutgers newark located in the inner city. small size school. the school has great professors to work with

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Persons who are determined to reach their goals. Hard working individuals who don't waste time and try to give the college a bad name. Students who are diligent, punctual, analytical and industrious. Students who are looking for a GREAT college experience with top notch professors who've won many prestigious awards for their EXCELLENT work. First Generation students like myself, even though college is expensive, it is worth every dime once you graduate with a degree-after all, it's RUTGERS UNIVERSITY!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    I know some prospective students are worried about grades that could either make or break their dream of attending Rutgers. All I can say is that, Rutgers is selective BUT you still have a chance! Rutgers-NB is the most selective campus of the 3 and hence competition to get in is high. Even if you don't get admitted to the main campus, the good thing about Rutgers is the fact that they allow School to School transfer. If you get accepted to Rutgers-N or Rutgers-C then after a year you can apply to transfer to Rutgers-NB and I think majority of students do this after their freshman year. Apple as early as possible as well because competition is stiff so don't waste time. Also, just go with a positive mind, be friendly-not super friendly remember you are not familiar with everyone just yet. Study hard, work hard, play hard-have fun and be happy. Remember of the thousands of applicants that Rutgers receives every year, you are one of the few persons they like most to attend their university.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on your residency, for me I'm an out of state prospective freshman and I believe that it's quite pricey even for me. I guess it goes hand in hand with all the amenities the university tries to accommodate for its students-trying to please them and let them feel safe and comfortable in the environment. Regardless of the price, a degree from Rutgers is worth every dime =)

    Will enjoy being here

    Located in the most convenient Newark-New York City metropolitan area I believe the atmosphere is quite friendly. New York City alone would drive any international student into stardom, having all the amenities in one convenient location for its pupils, Rutgers-I believe-is a home away from home.

    Will learn a lot

    From all the articles and reviews that I've read about Rutgers University, I am confident in my decision to attend this prestigious institution for higher education. Having world class technology, distinguish PH.D recipients-teachers-I know for a fact that I will learn more than I had bargained for.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small campus, not too many people, amazing courses along with amazing professors not to mention the food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Offers a great engineering program which you can do for 2 years there and hten 2 years at New Brunswick or anywhere else.

    Bang for the buck

    I know it is worth the money because I will receive a solid education and meet new people who I can become freinds with.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus there is small but pretty awesome. Everything is reachable and I know I will meet new people and become friends with them. There are restaraunts right on campus which I can go to and there is an atheltic center where I can go to do whatever it is I want. The professors there are also really nice and very helpful. I'm looking forward to having the time of my life.

    Will learn a lot

    Rutgers University offeres amazing core courses along with very intelligent and influential professors. Talking to some of the current students and advisors I can say that I will learn alot and finally understand what I want to do with my life.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security and the police do a pretty good job. Sometimes campus safety alerts can come a little too late. Campus itself is really, really safe considering the surrounding area is not always like that. Petty thefts by other students. Be smart about where you keep your stuff/locking your door or car.

    Greek Life

    Rutgers-Newark isn't one of those Greek schools, but there's a live Greek culture. Lots of good parties from what I hear.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you could ask for, really. Sports include soccer, tennis, basketball, volleyball, intramurals, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are not bougie or bigoted. People looking to school for two, four, or six years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rob's Pizzeria and Danny's are two food joints that are basically a part of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost effective for in-state students, and reasonable for out-of-state students. You really get a good education without spending crazy amounts of money.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities, especially during the beginning and end of the semesters/during exams. Always something to do on campus, except for on the weekends. NYC's 20 minutes away, and Halsey Street and Downtown Newark have a lot of interesting things to offer.

    Food and Dining

    You get fed. The food offered for those with the meal plans in the residence halls is par.

    Dorm Life

    Dead on weekends, and two of the buildings are noticeably aging, but housing is pretty good here. Really convenient, considering this is predominantly a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes and departments range from basic to extremely challenging. There's always a course to keep you interested or further your learning (as corny as that may sound).

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come if you're uppity. We're centered in a lower income urban area, and we receive less attention and funding than the main campus.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Newark was my first choice for a reason. It's a quaint, well-kept school with a diverse student body, respectable faculty, and is considerably down-to-earth compared to the main campus. It's a good school.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel safe with campus police monitoring the campus perimeter 24/7.

    Greek Life

    http://robeson.rutgers.edu/

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of them, for more information, check: http://robeson.rutgers.edu/

    Great for these types of students

    ALL TYPES FROM ALL ETHNIC BACKGROUNDS. RUTGERS-NEWARK HAS BEEN RATED THE #1 MOST DIVERSE CAMPUS SINCE 1997! THAT'S FOR 15 YEARS!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located in the heart of the Downtown Neark area surrounded by historical landmarks of Newrk,Nj including museums, art galleries and libraries.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes!! This school gives you so many opportunities to learn more about the world, yourself and your community.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs, teams and organizations all year around. Also, there are tons of charity events, drives and parties in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food is Good... Various Rutgers Dining restaurants in the dorms/campus, and a lot of other options (subway, sbarro, dunkin donuts ) in the downtown Newark area.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't doomed personally, but I know that the dorming life here is FUN! There are always events going on to give you your best college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Rutgers-Newark gives you the best opportunities to advance your academic skills and do you best in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    This particular Rutgers University campus is small compared to others. So this has it's advantages and disadvantages. Some advantages being you won't get lost! You are more likely to have classes with people you know and the interpersonal connection with the students and faculty is much better! However, it's disadvantages are there's not much of various hang out spots that you can go to, everyone knows everyone, (so stay out of drama) and it's a different setting for those more familiar with large campuses.

    In three sentences

    Diverse, Rigorous and Comfortable

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Newark is a lot safer than you'd think, but people still get mugged. As long as you stay alert and stay on campus instead of wandering, you should be fine.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus is quiet and there isn't much that goes on. New York City is probably your best bet. you can take the light rail to penn station. Just be careful!

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan food is horrible! Danny's, Subway (even though the owners are rude), oh, and Rob's has the best pizza in the world.

    Dorm Life

    University Square is probably the best dorm around. Dorm life is definitely not as much of a social setting as it could be.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professor's require more work than others. Many first year classes are easy but freshman tend to not take class seriously. GO TO CLASS. Attendance is usually an easy opportunity to get an A. try to look over your notes everyday. just 15 minutes a day is way better than cramming it all at the end during midterm/finals week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know the rules and check degree navigator as much as possible to make sure you're fulfilling your requirements. The faculty here is not as well versed on university protocol as it should be. Also, be sure to check ratemyprofessor.com 90% of professor criticism is true and a bad professor means more of your time in the library, alone. Speaking of books, try to order your books online. Look at a few different book sites instead of just one. I've gotten many $150 books for 30$-$50. When you have 5 or 6 classes a semester, that can really add up.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University Newark is a small, conveniently located campus in the heart of an up and coming urban setting. The campus is affiliated with a number of employers within, or moving to, Newark. However, the commuter-school setting does not provide the media's advertised college experience.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Residential students imaginative assiduous inventive keen

    Tips for prospective students

    Commuters- Be prepared to come to school an hour earlier before the start of your first class. To find parking is a drag.

    Bang for the buck

    With or without financial aid, tuition should not be so hectic to deal with as with other universities. Students will definitely get their money's worth in Rutgers-Newark.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many sororities and clubs in Rutgers-Newark and most people are friendly. Students are bound to meet friendly and interesting people.

    Am learning a lot

    Rutgers-Newark offers many great courses with awesome professors willing to help anyone who does not understand a certain topic. Students are guaranteed to learn a lot on their relative field only if they do all assignments.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Joined TKE. Best choice I ever made

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student support is immesne and uncomparable to any other community

    What to do for fun

    I like to take venture on the different stores and food shops around Newark. taking the Path train to NY and explore the big apple.

    Food and Dining

    Allot of small mom and pop shops to eat

    Dorm Life

    Live in Fraternity House, thanks to the school

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind, listen, and explore your dreams. Dreams are what we are made of

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University is one of the most diverse places Iv ever been in. This place is full of cultural background. You can describe this school as a melting pot. Everyone from all walks of life adhere in this great school.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Rutgers has several dining halls on campus to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The student's have an option to live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Rutgers University is a research school. They carry almost every major. They have tutoring to help students with the transition from high school or another college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It isn't easy to get into Rutgers. Your GPA has to stay at a 3.0 and above. Rutgers has everything you are looking for and want in a school.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers has a lot to offer a transfer student like my self. They have made the transition from community college easy for me. Rutgers is the only school that carries Social work as a major in traveling distance from my home.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great safety by the police, 24 hour patrol at all times around the whole campus, and they keep the campus as safe as possible in the city of newark, nj

    Great for these types of students

    that are interested in getting in school, getting their work done, and getting a job as soon as possible

    Bang for the buck

    worth all of the money coming to this school if you want a great opportunity for internships and many different opportunities for joint programs for all different types of majors

    What to do for fun

    there is a path train that can take you to the train station, which takes you to new york city for a very cheap price, there also are alot of attractions next to the school such as the prudential center and many restaurants, bars, and lounges.

    Food and Dining

    the food is buffet based style, the food is great and it is always hot when your receive it.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great, great size and spacing, the people are all nice and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    the college and classrooms are not extremely hard, but they are challenging and they are great for your own knowledge of your major. the classes are always manageable to get good grades through some hard work

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are interested in small classroom size, great education, and a lot of helpful internships and connective programs rutgers-newark is a great school for you. schedule your classes according to your own time. enjoy yourself and the facilities it has, and get ready for a great and enlightening 4 years.

    In three sentences

    rutgers-newark is a great small campus school which is a commuters campus that focuses mostly on education, and internships. it is very small classroom size for the most part, and professors are all usually very kind and helpful. the school has a great business school and is one of the best in the state of new jersey.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    visit the city or go to the njpac.

    Food and Dining

    food is passable, though the cafeteria is rarely open and often runs out of food.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are great, as are the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    the education you'll receive is wonderful, but it does come at the expense of the college lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    the staff is generally very enthusiastic about helping students learn and get the most out of their time there. the facilities, unfortunately, are clearly aging and wearing out. as a mostly commuter school, there are few activities outside the classroom.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    take the light rail straight to newark penn and then hop onto the path train to go straight to ny. so many things to do there. if not you can go shopping on broad street or visit an event happening at the prudential center and njpac

    Food and Dining

    places to eat are ok. you'll get tired of them eventually.

    Dorm Life

    i wish i dormed for the school year but that requires me putting out money i don't have. but if you're one of the fortunate ones i recommend you dorm. you won't regret it and you'll get more of your college experience and help you need.

    Academic Rigor

    most professors want you to excel are always there if you need them. you just have to reach out to them. don;t waste last minute to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    get rid of your senioritis before school starts. college is no joke and it's expensive. you'll realize the true meaning of money once its your money your paying with.

    In three sentences

    there is no doubt rutgers is well known for it's diversity on campus. the people you meet are amazing and the professors know what they are teaching.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel completely safe on campus. there are blue lights everywhere, as well as police. also, if you feel unsafe you can always call the security number and they will escort you where ever you have to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs on campus you just need to find the one that suits you. i just recently joined the nj energy corps. to help newark residents and students learn about how to cut their energy bills in half and how to lessen their contribution to global warming.

    Great for these types of students

    if you're looking for a major or minor that rutgers university doesn't supply you can always take njit classes right across the street for rutgers credit.

    Bang for the buck

    rutgers-newark provides a great education for the money you pay. they also provide a lot of student services that are really useful like a writing and tutoring center.

    What to do for fun

    for fun, i usually walk around campus with friends, chill at the lounges starbucks, or spend some time hanging out with friends across the street at njit.

    Food and Dining

    i can't speak for the dining hall because that's only available to campus residents, but as for the commuters lounge the food is okay. there are plenty of on campus restaurants and cafes to eat which are much better. you can also go across the street to njit and eat in their lounge which is so much better!

    Dorm Life

    i commute, so i'm not too sure on the dorm life, but from what i've experienced from sleeping overnight it is pretty great.

    Academic Rigor

    in my opinion, the professors at this university really know what they are talking about and really care about the students in their classes. the environment at rutgers can get stressful, so i'd suggest to visit a tutor in bradley hall if you're struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    at rutgers-newark it is really easy to meet new people, so i would suggest that prospective students put themselves out there. i would also suggest to talk to upperclassmen and advisers to get a feel for what classes to take and how to handle the work load.

    In three sentences

    although the school is located in newark, the campus is very safe and secure due to the surveillance of newark, rutgers, njit, and essex county police. the campus is also a fair size making it easier to find classes. the diversity present on campus is high and really contributes to your education because you learn how to communicate with others different from you.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus although placed in the middle of town, it has great security. There are always police officers walking around and making sure everything is okay. There are also telephones everywhere on campus in case one needs help or wants an officer to help them get somewhere at night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Rutgers is great. There are so many organizations to choose from. I can't wait for this upcoming year to join a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many great clubs to choose from. Rutgers always has activities for students to enjoy and learn from. They have health fairs and carnivals.

    Great for these types of students

    Rutgers in great for students who want to succeed in college. It is also a great school for students who enjoy being a part of clubs and sports teams.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to college can be expensive. One smart tip is to bring your own lunch if you commute. Eating at home or in your dorm will save you a lot of money in the end.

    What to do for fun

    For fun one can just hang out with everyone from their dorm. They can also go to parties Rutgers hosts quite often. The dorms also host some events as well.

    Food and Dining

    This is a great variety of food to choose from. They have everything from pizza to Indian cuisine. There is always something new and good to try on and around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun. One gets to make new lifelong friends. You have someone to experience everything with. Dorm life helps because you can spend more time studying rather than commuting everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are definitely tough, but if you made into this school then more than capable of succeeding. Rutgers offers a ton of help so no one should fail a class. Studying becomes a priority which in the end pays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would give to prospective students would be to come prepared to work hard. Prospective students should enjoy every moment because it goes by fast. They should also get involved to the experience even better.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University has an amazing diversity of students. The professors are so helpful and kind. There is always something fun to do on campus.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really safe , there are three police department on campus.

    Greek Life

    Fun but should be considered after first year.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs for everyone. over 100 clubs and student organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    great for all students.

    Food and Dining

    Might wanna find alternative places o dine the food is good but not to the liking of everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm-ing is the best decision you could make . its fun and everyone you meet in the dorms will become like your family . the room are well set up and closets are big!!.

    Academic Rigor

    There are standards that we all have to keep up with. College is not high school so we must all work hard. Lots of work is given and to be completed in little time. Rutgers is a world class school and has high expectations. Tutoring services are always offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and academic advisers. Join the many clubs that the school has and keep up with your school work.College is not high School its your first step into the real world

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is an ideal school for students who love diversity. The school is like a big family where everyone knows each other. All classes are close to the housing buildings the school is amazing.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Art gallery, music, food.

    Food and Dining

    It is lacking. I wish there was a great variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but definitely worth it. You will learn a lot at Rutgers. They also have wonderful research positions that will broaden your experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always read the matierial before going to class to help you to better understand all of the lectures. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    I love the university. Everyone is pleasant and the work is challenging but you really do learn a lot. Great school.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The restaurants in Newark are amazing. From La Iberia to the Spanish Tavern to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que. It also is not that pricey at all. Just delicious. The best thing is that it is all just a couple blocks away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is definitely another opportunity to get to know yourself better. It is exciting and there is always something to do. Also, because everyone is super friendly, you will make a lot of friends and discover new things together.

    Academic Rigor

    Rutgers is definitely challenging but it also depends on the student and the type of classes they decide to pack on. I, for one, will be taking biology, calculus and chemistry all in one semester, along with English. So the rigor is definitely there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure to stay on top of your grades and visit your mentors to make sure you are on the right path.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University is always open to helping freshmen adapt to the campus and overall, the experience, as smoothly as possible. The mentors are always willing to help find new opportunities for growth and attempt to look at things through your shoes. Ultimately, Rutgers University is very welcoming and one of the most diverse schools in the nation.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have yet to taste the food, I will be attending in the fall of 2012.

    Dorm Life

    I have not had the opportunity to embrace the dorm life because I live minutes away from the Rutgers Newark University. In that aspect I can not share much of a personal opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    Until I have fully enabled classes, I will be able to define their academic rigor.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers is a profound University, with much diversity and programs. Rutgers Criminal Justice department is one of the best in the state of New Jersey. The counselors are much more attentive than any educational institution I have been to.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campuses are equipped with safety buttons and patrol is always on guard along the streets that the campus is located on. Shuttle service is available from one campus to the other so you don't have to walk or take a car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs are available for Students. Since I am in Supply Chain major I will share that there is a supply chain club that provides Students with industry speakers events, networking events etc Depending on the interest anyone can pick what fits them best and dedicate their time to it.

    What to do for fun

    There are always plenty of events that take place on campus and outside of it. Students get various invitations, e-mails that prompt you where to go and what to see, including: Career fairs, concerts, sports competitions etc

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat while on campus, Paul Robeson has at least 8 different places including pizza, Starbucks, cafeterias. So you don't even need to go anywhere and waste time on commute, just eat on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Can't say much as I don't live in dorm, but I can tell from the way it looks that its very clean, well maintained, can include a meal plan and is conveniently located, close to mass transportation and NY City.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the Professors work directly in the Industry, some wrote their own textbooks, so the experience you are getting is valuable and hands on. Something that can be easily translated into your future work environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely look into our new major in Supply Chain Management, also in other aspects of Business. Use all the career center resources that has plenty of professional connections and provide an opportunity for internships and potential job offers.

    In three sentences

    I am a Rutgers Business School Student. Highly recommend this school because of four reasons: strong faculty staff, affordability, credibility on a job market, a great place to get a degree! The experience that you get while in school will help you get further in you career than you can imagine.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out

    Food and Dining

    its okay

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus at all times because if you do not the grades will show.

    In three sentences

    They work with you far as money. the Staff are great. their is a lot of competition.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every school will have its dangers, but if you are sure to stay within the campus area, police presence is always available and you will safe within the school community.

    Greek Life

    While I am not in a fraternity, I have heard great things and some of my best friends at school are involved with fraternities and sororities and always help the campus grow its reputation and Newark as a whole.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs and activities are awesome, and having worked at the Office of Student Life and Leadership, I have seen first hand that the support for all the organizations is world-class and always readily available to help facilitate the next big thing on campus,

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse students who are willing to open themselves to new people and opportunities, especially business and criminal justice students, which are the top two areas of study at the University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Inside the Paul Robeson Square, once the weather gets nicer, there are always little festivals, or the radio station playing music, or just being able to sit on a bench and enjoy the area, something new will always be available in the square.

    Bang for the buck

    Having only spent $13,000 to go to school for two years, compared to most students paying that in one semeseter at other schools, this is definitely a state school that makes the most of your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Organizations, Intramurals, state of the art facilities, cafes, parks, accessibility to Penn Station to get you in and around NJ/NY...whatever you want to do, it's here. The helpfulness of the staff is something that continues to amaze me year after year of attending school here and the opportunities I have been presented with in the past two years are unimaginable from a study abroad in Spain to a Habitat for Humanity trip to Indiana, if you open yourself, the opportunities are endless!

    Food and Dining

    There is something for everyone in Newark if you are sure to just look around. Hispanic, Italian, Indian, Chinese...whatever you want, it's here. The University is right in the center of the city so you will have access to all of the great food available, and if you want a little change, NJIT is right up the block and you can enjoy their food resources as well!

    Dorm Life

    I have only stayed on campus for a short time during pre-season for my fall sport of Men's Soccer, I am a goalkeeper for the University, but from my friend's experiences, it gets better as you get older. The first year is a regular dorming experience, but your second year allows you to move into University Square which is a beautiful apartment to share with four friends and it provides pretty scenic views of Newark.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put in the time and effort, then you will be able to succeed wherever you go, and it is no different here. You will be challenged, but that is what it takes to obtain a college degree and that is how it should be, so be prepared to work,but like the saying goes, work hard, play hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! It is obvious to say this about any school you go to, but it's the truth. School is what you make of it, no matter where you go, you can have the experience of a lifetime if you just open yourself to new people and new experiences. Every school has so much to offer, and Rutgers-Newark is no different. Being in the heart of a city as well, you can easily branch out to different parts of New Jersey or New York very easily, and you can get in touch with Newark in so many different ways. So do not just stay in your room or if you commute, just go back home right after school. Stick around and you will see all of the great things your school has to offer!

    In three sentences

    Most diverse school in the nation with an excellent student body as well as faculty and staff. Having worked for the Office of Student Life and Leadership as a work study, I can honestly say that getting involved in the school is the best possible thing through a club or other student organization to get involved with not only the campus, but the Newark community as a whole. Wherever you go, you must make the most of your college experience and I can honestly say attending Rutgers-Newark has been the best decision I ever made in my life.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do things that you normally would not do. ie. Take classes that you do not have interest in, studying abroad, it's your undergraduate college career, do it big!

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University-Newark is one of the most diverse campuses I have ever been in. The learning is amazing. The professor's dedication to teaching is what makes being a student enjoyable.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are everywhere at every time so you feel safe 24/7

    Bang for the buck

    Rutgers University is a renown university world wide. The cost will hurt you at first but the degree will evidently make you feel better.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Frats, Sororities, and even finding studying groups.

    Food and Dining

    The food the campus offers is okay and could be better. I suggest you go eat at the food trucks because they are simply and absolutely delicious

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing and fun. You have suite styled dorms with a common lobby for people to be able to have fun and communicate. The roommate system is great and even helps you match with someone that is ideal for your living style.

    Academic Rigor

    You are going to find some of the hardest professors and teachers you have ever met on this campus. Their goal is to ultimately make you strive for higher goals than you already have. The work load is not easy, but ultimately rewarding in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and learn as much as you can from your teachers and even your peers. This campus offers the most diversity you have probably ever seen in your life. You have extraordinary professors with great talent who will help you until you understand the material thoroughly.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University on the Newark campus is an experience I am greatly going to enjoy. At first I was upset I was denied from the New Brunswick campus, but I later learned that Newark offers more attention to an individual student. The diversity in the staff and student pool is tremendous and certainly teach you how to get a long with others.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can do anything for fun. There's a gym to play basketball, workout, swim or even play tennis. You can play any inter-mural game in the plaza area because there is so much room for everyone. You are limited by you imagination.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great, theres always different things to choose from everyday. You will never feel like your eating the same thing everyday. Theres multiple pizza places, a truck called burger box who makes the juicest burgers in newark. There is a variety of food at Rutgers Newark.

    Dorm Life

    There is something to do every day, or night. Either if its a party or a school event or even a sports game, Rutgers Newark always has something happen. Its never a dead campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You get a decent amount of homework, but the professors are very understanding and give you time to complete them. You learn every day and there are people standing by to help you if you feel overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college should definitely be number one on your list, the night life is great. You are a 5 min away from penn station that can take you to New York. The people here are friendly and everyone gets along like a family.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is a great college. There is so much to do after school, and its very diverse. I ma having a great time at Rutgers Newark

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, there are always many people around, security is always present. Key is to always be aware of your surroundings.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students

    What to do for fun

    In Newark there are many places to hang along with museums, art galaries, bars. NJIT is across the street. Great city life.

    Food and Dining

    Popular chain eateries availble along with the college dining services which prepares great food.

    Dorm Life

    Not a huge amount of dorms at this school but they are similiar to every other college.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work and arrive with classwork completed along with readings also completed. Alot of writing is required and if needed there is a writing lab for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive early to find parking either on street or in parking garage. Be on time and prepared to participate.

    In three sentences

    The professors realize that most students juggle school along with work. All are willing to work with you if you have an issue. Many areas for assistance are available.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People think that since the school is located in Newark it is automatically a dangerous area. The school honestly does not even feel like your in a bad area. There is always Rutgers Police strolling around at all times of the night. It's pretty safe here no problems so far.

    Greek Life

    Their are plenty of sororities and fraternities on campus mostly Latino based .

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is a great place for students who do not have a social life. It is kind of a dry campus especially on weekends, since most people commute. If your into reading and researching the library is probably going to be your best friend.

    What to do for fun

    I recently joined an African dance team in September. I'm not much of a sports person so dancing is what I enjoy doing most. I also enjoy reading its doesn't sound so much fun but it helps kill time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food isn't the best but it is probably better then jail food. The place that does have excellent food does not use your meal swipes but instead flex dollars which is basically money on your id card. Subway is very close and open twenty four hours which is great for late night eaters.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitory is fine. Woodward is where all freshmen live. It consists of three rooms, two students in each, a bathroom ,living room and sink area. It is basically an apartment without a kitchen. Connected to the building is Stonsby which is the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion there is not a class that I do have that I can consider incredibly easy, but that's just my opinion. All my classes challenge me in some way .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming here just to attend parties and fool around this is not the place for you . Classes are quite difficult and you need to spend more time in the library instead of hanging out. In high school you could fool around and get back on track but not here You have to stay focused and motivated at all times , because if you do not you will slack big time, and that is just a waste of money.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is a pretty great university. It is much smaller than Rutgers New Brunswick but if you're not into a huge school Rutgers Newark is your best option. The food is not great but edible. Classes are not easy but there are plenty of places you can go to for help and tips.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, the classes are difficult but rewarding.

    In three sentences

    Although it's a pretty tiny school, it's great. The classes are engaging, and given the small setting, it's easy to make friends. Great school for nursing and business majors.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's an on campus police station and they have security that constantly patrols the campus. At the front door no one can enter the dorms without identification the door is locked and only those who have a Rutgers id card can enter the building. All over campus there are posts where you can request a police escort wherever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    On frat row there are so many parties every Thursday. They have Greek events for those interested in pledging to a sorority or fraternity. The Greek life here is really big and important to the students here, I may even consider pledging next year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities and clubs to join. The school has dance teams, sports teams, academic and just for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for academic students focused on their studies, there are many libraries and quiet places to study in the quiet. Also those into sports have a variety to choose from. The golden dome provides a gym, a basketball court, tennis court, and an awesome soccer field. This school is very diverse full of different interests and different hobbies.

    What to do for fun

    The big apple New York City is a short, inexpensive train ride away. Going to New York is easy because the campus is so close to Penn station. If I ever find myself bored i go to New York City or Jersey Gardens Mall to shop and hang out in the weekends. Unfortunately because this is such a commuter campus, most people are gone over the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to lie the food isn't the best thing but the dining hall is always clean and the staff is really nice. They remember your face and even start to remember your preferences and what you normally eat. The hours are pretty reasonable as well.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm at Woodward Hall and it's pretty nice. The dining hall is right out front and you don't have to leave the building when you're hungry. The room advisers always have something fun planned like movie nights or bowling. Each floor is divided based on special requirements, for example there's a quiet floor, a party floor, and an athletic floor. There's something every type of student here.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is very ideal. The professors and instructors make sure no one falls behind and that every student is caught up on what's going on. Another useful device we is called blackboard. This website helps to keep everyone up to date with homework, projects, and announcements. Some professors even post the notes on blackboard to study later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students considering this school should definitely take a tour here to get a feel for the place. It's a very urban campus in Newark, NJ and a short train ride New York City. One of the best things about this school is that there's always something to do, you're never bored. The professors are very helpful and they know what they're talking about. They offer extra help to any student that asks for it.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for those who like a cozy small campus near a major city as New York is just a short train ride away. It's a very diverse campus that offers a little bit of everything and everyone seems to know each other. There's always something fun going on here.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    new york city

    Tips for prospective students

    Study everyday, dont let anything stop you from studying

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University is a fun school indeed. It has a variety of students so you dont get bored of seeing the same race all the time. Rutgers has very convenient locations of classrooms

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do here, especially at PRCC or the Golden Dome

    Food and Dining

    Stonsby could better

    Dorm Life

    I love dorming, my home away from home

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is so small I love it! It's small enough that I manage to remember everyone I meet and it's close to home.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are a lot of robberies that happen on and off campus. we are alerted right away by mass email by the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of fraternities at Rutgers Newark, we have a whole street of frat houses also known as frat row on campus. many students join the fraternities and all of them also have many connections outside the campus once we graduate.

    What to do for fun

    there are all types of clubs to join for all types of people, we have great sports teams along with a great campus center just to kill time in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    there are multiple shops and dining places right under the dorms so that there is no commute required for small everyday needs.

    Dorm Life

    all dorms are high security which is great for the safety of all students. there are multiple shops and dining places right under the dorms so that there is no commute required for small everyday needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Almost all professors that teach at rutgers have a PhD in their field of studies which allows all for very rigorous learning in all class students take here.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to join a very intensive learning experience as well as doing tons of fun extra curricular activities and going to amazing parties. this school is the perfect combination of all these things as long as the student is able to balance them.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is a fun school to attent. The campus size and class sizes are just right, the class are not to small like in Rutgers Camden and not to big like in Rutgers New Brunswick.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a hookah bar around the block.

    Bang for the buck

    It's great. The business opportunities they give you when you join the business club organizations is crazy. There are always representatives from leading company's visiting and giving help to students. It's great with networking and finding positions for after college prospects.

    What to do for fun

    If you love food, then this is your college. Also, there are many places you could go to. Take the path to penn station and you can make your way to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is okay in campus. But the surrounding restaurants are great. Being located in Newark, there are so many hidden restaurants and food trucks that must be tried.

    Dorm Life

    Being a commuter school, not many stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics isn't very hard depending on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend Rutgers especially if you're going for business. The business programs are top notch and the advising department is great. The career center is great for finding internships and there will always be help for those who seek it. They have great faculty-student relations as long as the student reaches out first.

    In three sentences

    It's a very diverse community where you can feel at home anywhere as long as you plug yourself in the community. Being a commuter school, not many students stay on campus unless they are involved in campus activities and clubs. Academic difficulty depends on the majors you take but as long as you apply yourself, you won't have a hard time.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    many police and phones are located all over campus which guarantee the safety of the students

    Greek Life

    many fraternities and sororities are on campus most of them can be found on Greek row which is located on martin Luther king blvd

    Clubs and Activities

    football and volleyball games.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    pledging for fraternities, allows people to make great life long friendships.

    Bang for the buck

    could be cheaper but otherwise okay education for the price.

    What to do for fun

    many activities are always around campus such as party's at night volleyball and football games, go to the Robeson center there are always many individualism there with which one can communicate.

    Food and Dining

    would not know because i never paid for the meal plan but i heard its quite good.

    Dorm Life

    great lots of girls, great opportunity to meet many other people.

    Academic Rigor

    due to the fact that most teachers cant teach many students end uo struggling and end up failing.

    Tips for prospective students

    get on the deans list and acquire scholarships that way you don't have to pay for school and make sure you do not leave things of for the last minuet.

    In three sentences

    Its not that bad, however in every class you have to rely on your own ability to learn things. The library is great many books and computers. Also another good thing is the tutors how ever its hard to make an appointment with all the other kids trying to do the same thing.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are so many places with different types of food. You are sure to find whatever interest you.

    Dorm Life

    Rutgers has very clean and modern housing that involves daily student activities in each dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and level, will depend on how much time you need to set aside for each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into all of the colleges Rutgers has to offer. Not only does Rutgers have many schools and colleges, but it also has many different majors as well.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers- Newark is a great State University if you are looking for diversity.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    School is a great expense, but Rutgers University is one of the cheapest schools around.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but the professors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come prepared to study a whole lot!

    In three sentences

    I had had a great experience transitioning from a Community College into Rutgers University. The counselors are always available to answer any questions, or concerns you might have. Most importantly it's a great school at a reasonable cost!

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. In my three years of attending Rutgers-Newark nothing threatening has happened to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rutgers-Newark has something for everyone. You can be sure to find a club or activity that fully interests you.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to go against the grain of standard academia.

    Bang for the buck

    There are times during my academic career where I really felt I was in an ivy league institution. Rutgers-Newark gives a high-standard of education for a lot less than the highly competitive universities. Plus, most of their professors are coming from prestigious schools like Cornell, Columbia, and Yale.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be willing to ask questions from staff members. I have found they are always very helpful and truly looking out for your best interest.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Newark is a campus that is greatly understated. Its location seems to hurt its reputation, but as a current student I can attest to always feeling safe on campus and gaining the most from their facilities. Rutgers-Newark is a school that deserves more recognition for its outstanding academic regimen and diverse teacher and student population.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. There's Bistro in the business school, their pretty good, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Not living there. But I heard is nice when you are a sociable person. But, Newark isn't so safe to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Positive

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mgoverns

    Food and Dining

    Thai place on washington is great

    Dorm Life

    Not the safest neighborhood

    Academic Rigor

    Sciences are rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to every lecture and give atleast 30 extra minutes to look for parking.

    In three sentences

    Great diverse institution with many opportunities for students to pursue any area of professional interest. The faculty is very helpful. Perfect for a student that wants to go into the sciences or law.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun?? Other than studying and participating in a rigorous school schedule?

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of restaurants within walking distance of campus from Thai to pizza.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing, I haven't worked this hard since my undergraduate days.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to hit the ground running!

    In three sentences

    I am currently a graduate student attending the summer session. The professors are tough but fair. Say goodbye to sleep!!

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus they have community service officers patrolling on foot, scooters, and cars, day and night. I feel very safe on campus, and if you have any issues you can definitely request a personal escort.

    Greek Life

    I'm not too sure about Greek Life, but I have seen some of their shows and there's so many fraternities and sororities that if you want to pledge you have many options.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a variety of clubs, you just have to see what fits you. I am apart of 2 clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are friendly and like to meet different people Rutgers Newark is for you. If you like your classes to be more than 12 people but less than 300 Rutgers-Newark is for you. If you oversleep in the morning Rutgers Newark is for you the classes are so close, you'll still be able to make it on time!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not really sure about any unusual traditions or locations on the Rutgers Campus.

    Bang for the buck

    One of my favorite things about Rutgers Newark is the campus. It's beautiful. The dorm rooms are like apartments instead of dormitories, the best part.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of things to do for fun. I love that Rutgers has many events that you'll see flyers for. Comedy shows, famous people coming to speak, dance shows, things like that happen all year around. Your RA may plan some events as well. The fraternities have events too, so just pick what you want to do!

    Food and Dining

    Okay, the food could be better, but it's not the worst. I have my favorite meals there for breakfast, lunch, & dinner. Also you have the option to eat the cafeteria food sometimes and eat other places when you feel like it. As long as you pay attention to the cafeteria times, you'll be fine. It's my second year and I'm getting a meal plan again.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life! It's very exciting, although sometimes distracting. You'll have to discipline yourself, but I recommend dorming for everyone. The experience is unforgettable.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said the classes aren't easy, but they're not impossible. You have to really work hard and study. Majority of the classes are small enough to either ask questions if you're confused, or most professors offer private time for those who are really struggling. I have no complaints really.

    Tips for prospective students

    As far as tips, I can only think of the usual ones. Be prepared to work hard, it's not easy, and the classes' levels of difficulty depend on the ones you choose. Studying is no longer an option. Also get ready for someone to be around all the time, you're new roommate!

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Newark is an awesome school academically and socially. The diversity there allows individuals to get to know people all over the word and to learn through many experiences. The size is perfect, not too small, but not too big, right in the middle.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit NYC during the day or for night-life, or take a train to the main campus at New-Brunswick and sort of be able to enjoy the college life a lot more than in Newark. Take a train to other areas of NY or go to other famous regions like Boston, Philli, and DC.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality and variety is very average and on top of that, meal plans are very expensive so I would not recommend them.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be much better in terms of appearance, inside and outside. Also, there should be more activities inside the dorms to help students get to know each other and create relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very academically challenging university but it is only because the diploma awarded to students on the day of their graduation has a lot of weight when it comes to finding jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find things to do outside of campus because inside campus there is not much to do besides taking classes and playing sports.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is not located in the best location of New Jersey in terms of crime and also in terms of infrastructure appearance. For that reason the university should focus a bit more in having a very pretty and appealing campus for those who come visit. They should make sure that visitors come to the university and are able to tell the difference between the university and the rest of the city, which is not very pretty.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent food .

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs here are rigorous but the professors are very understandable.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Newark is a very beautiful campus which is only a train ride from the worlds greatest city. The students and staff here are very friendly and welcoming. I haven't been here for long but I feel like I'm away but yet at home.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great choices of food both on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, I don't dorm here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are pursuing a science, do not bother with community college, just come here first, it is faster.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Newark is an excellent, affordable college option for new jersey residents. The professors write the books, and are known worldwide. It can't be beat.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are at least 4 police departments that patrol around the campus. There are the rutgers police, NJIT police and NJ transit and Newark police. There are also many call boxes if you need them as well as the ability to ask for a police escort if needed. There are also shuttles that run all night long from the train station directly to campus.

    Greek Life

    there are a decent amount of fraternities and sororities at RU Newark. Not too many, but enough to give you a variety to choose from depending on the causes that interest you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs. All different kinds.

    Great for these types of students

    People who feel they thrive in an urban area.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that you get what you pay for. The education is a solid one with a good foundation in all aspects of business. For the other schools on campus, I am sure it is the same. You graduate with not only a solid foundation in your major, but a solid foundation in all of the fields that encompass your major.

    What to do for fun

    NJPAC, Prudential Center, Newark Museum, NYC, lots of good Portuguese retaurants in the Ironbound section, lots of little shops and cafes all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better. It's not bad, but highly priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are different types of housing to accomodate everyone's needs.Dorms are conveniently placed around food, and entertainment making it easy to find something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Very intense learning experience. Prepares you well and makes you well rounded to take on a variety of different tasks and situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay ahead of the game. Utilize all the resources given to you, you pay for them so why not? Reach out for help if you are sturggling with your courseload, there are tons of tutoring centers and professors who are willing to help you get through whatever you need.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, Helpful, and experienced staff and faculty. Lots of great student organizations for a variety of community issues as well as experience in your major. Close to NYC and a lot of big employers for all majors.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is kind of low. ared robbery incidents often take place around campus after it gets dark. Don't take evening classes unless u drive.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campusis not that great, but there are many good restaurants around campus. Robs, Danny's and Metro cafe are the most popular ones.

    Dorm Life

    Rutgers has 3 dorm buildings. All of them offer excellent services to the students.

    Academic Rigor

    Rutgers offers many programs for undergraduate and graduate students. Rutgers business school and law school are both highly rated. It has many experienced and talented professors, especially in the department of Arts and Sciences.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1. Dont party all time 2. know your priorities 3. make lots of friends 4. network 5. have fun 6. Dont leave things for the last minute 7. plan your days ahead

    In three sentences

    This university is highly challenging, but at the same time, there are few professors who are willing to motivate you and help you succeed.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involve. The dome is fascinating.There's always something going on. You'll be in there most of your free time especially if you're an athlete

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are better than most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics come a first Study hard, get together with a couple of friends and create a study group. Study groups are very helpful especially for science courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help or assistance with anything don't hesitate to ask. The staff and professors want you to succeed. Don't procrastinate. Get involve, the more things you become familiar with, the easier it will get.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is a diverse and resourceful place to pursue your career. You will interact with people from all over the world which will prepare you for your future job. The staff are very helpful and passionate about your success.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    My testimony is grand go for it Rutgers University-Newark is an excellent choice!!!

    Food and Dining

    Great food almost like your momma's try it!

    Dorm Life

    Just like home all the resources and plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Rutgers University are known for their academic rigor your academic achievements from your prior school are what got you there and your ambition is what is going to keep you there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students can expect an smooth transition from high school to college because with the technological and diverse environment any student would have no problem settling in.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Rutgers University is a excellent choice and that they deserve 5 stars. Rutgers University is diverse campus and makes every student from any ethnic background feel at home instantly.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    stay on campus and you do not have to worry

    Greek Life

    mediocre

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much but there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    open, diverse, ambitious, looking for new opportunities, likes the city

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everyone gets excited for the pancake breakfast

    Bang for the buck

    - Don't buy books from the bookstore! Buy them online at amazon!

    What to do for fun

    -Go to New York -Eat in the Ironbound (Portuguese area of Newark with amazing burgers) -Visit Intrinsic Cafe for Bubble Tea -Visit other college campuses (New Jersey Institute of Technology is literally right across the street)

    Food and Dining

    Needs improvement.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are wonderfully done and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus has small classrooms with a lot of quality attention, but the academic resources and programs are lackluster.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Learn about the city of Newark (where to eat, parks, where to go, where NOT to go) 2. Don't walk off campus at night 3. Learn how to take the train 4. Be open to new cultures and people

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark is a small school with quite a bit of character. If your looking for a diverse campus with a quick train ride away from the bustling city of New York, Rutgers Newark is the school for you. Although not as resourceful as Rutgers New Brunswick, Rutgers Newark is a lively campus that only on keeps growing.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The lightrail that'll take you to New York is only a couple of blocks away and Ironbound is a great place to eat and hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    It's kind of a hit or miss in this category. There are trucks serving food and some little diners around the campus itself, as well as food in the campus center but the thing to really watch out for is the resident dining hall, Stonsby. They have their days while others it seems as if they aren't really trying.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are nice in comparison to what other college dorms would look like. Your own shower in your room? Who wouldn't want that? Though people do tend to go home on weekends for the sole fact that this is mostly a commuter school (more dorms are being built as I speak) and there are rarely any parties on weekends. There is NJIT right across the street for those who want to make more friends and hangout outside of Rutgers and the two schools mingle with each other since we can take classes at either school and will most likely count towards your degree.

    Academic Rigor

    Being part of a medical program associated with the med school, these classes will test your knowledge and often have you thinking outside the box. These professors won't tolerate slacking off. If you don't want to be prepared to put in effort, then this school may not be for you. My physics professor told us that how the students do in school reflect on their careers, which in turn will reflect back to the school. She gave us an example where if she gave out an A to a student who later becomes a surgeon, and that surgeon removes the wrong organ, that will reflect back on Rutgers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students would be: Join Clubs - you never know what you'll like until you go out there and try. Don't be afraid to make new friends - no matter race or religion, pretty much everyone is friendly on this campus Be yourself - this is college, not high school. The friends you make here are probably the friends you'll have for life so don't stick yourself with a group of people you can't stand. You're not forced to hang out with anyone because there aren't options, unlike high school. Everyone has their preference and college is the perfect melting pot for friends.

    In three sentences

    Transferring here was the best decision I have ever made; everyone welcomes you and it starts to feel like home. The classroom is more one-on-one with professors, so you're not just a number in the crowd. The atmosphere is overall invigorating: being in this diverse campus opens your eyes to so many different ideas and people.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe, however, off-campus is not. The campus is highly guarded with Rutgers police, as well as Newark police

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities available to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are not highly advertised, or well known.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are very focused on their schoolwork.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are grease trucks located right near the sports fields. You can get all sorts of sandwiches and food here. It isn't the healthiest option, but it's great.

    Bang for the buck

    Education wise, this is one of the best options around New Jersey. It is very inexpensive, and is very well-known and highly credited.

    What to do for fun

    Although Rutgers Newark is located within a city, the city itself is quite dangerous. There is not much to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is of reasonable quality. It is definitely better to get a meal plan, due to the expensive food options around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is mediocre. The dorms themselves are nice, and interacting with fellow students within your dorm are very fun. There is not much to do, though, on or outside of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well-taught but not exceptionally challenging. They are definitely do-able, if you study and focus on the tasks at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise getting a meal plan, even if you are living off campus. The food that is available to buy around campus is very expensive. Also, definitely invest in a parking permit as opposed to parking in the metered spaces. The meters only except up to two hours worth of change, and it is very easy to get a ticket.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers Newark provides a unique and diverse campus atmosphere, with a wide variety of individuals. The classes are interesting, and a majority of the professors are highly knowledgable and helpful. The campus itself is very safe, the surrounding areas, however, are quite dangerous.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Newark is a dangerous city so it is not advised that you leave campus alone at night. There are escorts who will guide you to other areas at night or to your car which is nice. You have to take precautions in Newark with your phone since its kind of dangerous. But there are staff and campus shuttles that will take you to designated safe areas which is a big plus.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in this so I am not really sure how big it is on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    With more than 400 student clubs and organizations, Rutgers is sure to have a group where you'll fit right in. Find others who craft, game or garden. Share common ground in cultural organizations that connect students by their common interests in food, language, art, dance and/or music. Volunteer your time or perform community service. Network in student chapters of professional and preprofessional organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    There are great programs offered and are focused on individual needs. Public Administration majors (SPAA School has one of the best programs in the nation for public administration!) The business school and nursing school are also highly recognized. Rutgers is a diverse campus and is suited for everyone traditional or nontraditional students. Everyone can find their niche here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rutgers Newark's Institute of Jazz Studies is the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz and jazz-related materials in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    13,000 tuition is not bad! Worth every penny! You don't want to graduate with high loans and it is definitely a good idea to explore your options and apply to as many scholarships as you possibly can.

    What to do for fun

    Things to See and Do Newark is one of the best cities in the country for arts, culture and entertainment. Choose your interest - classical, pop, jazz, opera, ballet or modern dance... American, European, Tibetan or African art... parks, baseball, history, architecture, theater... it's all here or just a short walk from campus. The Arts at Rutgers-Newark Paul Robeson Galleries Newark Museum www.newarkmuseum.org, 973.596.6550 NJ Performing Arts Center www.njpac.org, 888.GO.NJPAC Newark Bears at Riverfront Stadium www.newarkbears.com, 973.483.6900 NJ Historical Society www.jerseyhistory.org, 973.733.7784 Newark Public Library www.npl.org, 973.733.7784 Newark Symphony Hall www.newarksymphonyhall.org Prudential Center Arena www.prucenter.com Aljira Center for Contemporary Arts www.aljira.org, 973.733.7784 WBGO Jazz Radio Station http://www.wbgo.org, 973.624.8880

    Food and Dining

    It is great, there are many restaurants that have variety of foods for students. The prices are not outrageous and students get to explore new cultures through the food. There should be a little more variety, though. There are restaurants open late at night, which is helpful when you have late nights of studying.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is primarily a commuter's campus but students who dorm here say that it is great. There is a lot to do; there are sports games to watch (Football is big here), museums to visit, concerts, etc. Since Newark is close to New York City job opportunities and internships are easy to find and a great escape for fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Students are challenged inside and outside of the classroom. Since there is a lot of diversity on campus classroom discussions are highly intellectual and engaging. There are great tutoring and writing center services that accommodate to any student's needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make of it and don't base yourself simply on the rankings. Make sure that you visit the campus and this will tell you if that college is meant for you. College is like a four year marriage, choose right! And most importantly have fun during your college experience, you only get to do it once, so do it right!

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University is a great school and offers various opportunities for its students. It is a small and nurturing campus full of excellent and caring professors and diverse students. It is the most diverse campus in America according to U.S. News and students are not a number here, but a person; professors actually know your name!

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do around the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard and have a goal!

    In three sentences

    Rutgers University is definitely the biggest bang for your buck. It is a reputable school and is cheap as compared to schools in the area. The benefit of the Newark campus as oppose to the other ones is, its much smaller, therefore, you do not feel lost.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People blow things out of proportion when it comes to living in Newark. It's not bad at all in my opinion. I obviously would not recommend to any one to walk outside by themselves, or go jogging after sunset by themselves, especially is streets away from university heights. However I do not feel unsafe at all when I walk by myself to work in the morning. The police is everywhere here. They are in cars, on scooters, on horses. I almost feel like there's more policemen more than students. They offer an escort service if you feel unsafe to walk, bike, or drive by yourself at anytime. The university also offers a free shuttle to the Newark Penn Station, Inter campus, Shop rite, Walmart, and a couple other stops. This is very convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    In-State tuition is so cheap. If you have to pay something on the spot, go argue with them in the financial aid office. My friend was supposed to pay 3000$ last week and when she asked them for support or any additional grants, they gave her 2850$. Buy all your books online from amazon or half.com. Be open to the idea of renting.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the city Play music or dance and perform Decorate the floor read join religious organizations

    Food and Dining

    Dinning halls are okay. There's always something to eat. I wouldn't say that there are many choices though. The kitchen staff is so nice. The downside of the dinning halls in RU Newark is its timing. Breakfast: 7:30-10:30 Lunch: 11:30-1:30 dinner: 5-8 late night: 9-12 (Not available every day in the week and start 2 weeks after school)

    Dorm Life

    By simply choosing to be one the quiet floor in my application, I was placed in a perfect spot. Most of the people on my floor don't party or get drunk. As a group we got really close to each other and we learned how to have fun in many different ways. We eat chinese or thai food, play board and video games, watch shows and movies together ... We never get bored. Here is the set up for the room. Every suit has 3 rooms, 1 bathroom (toilet and bathtub), a living room, a vanity area (2 sinks and a huge mirror). The lighting in the room is pretty good. You only need a TV and a digital cable to hook it up to the wall, and they have everything else set up. Make sure one of your suit has at least 1 good router. The WIFI in the study lounges is pretty good, but since the building is concrete, it doesn't get to all the rooms. There is a port in the wall were you can connect a cable to your laptop, but wifi is a lot more convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    If you challenge yourself in highschool and take a couple of honors classes, you will have no problem getting an A here if you do your part. The material is hard but the professors are supportive and have office hours. You can always get help for free at the learning center.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're dorming, you have to have a meal plan for the first year. Go to campus center and change your meal plan setting so that you have less dinning hall swipes and more flex dollars. You can spend flex dollars at STARBUCKS <3, and other places. The dinning hall sucks. In your second year apply to tutor students in the classes you got nice grades in. It's $10 / hr and if there is no one to tutor, you can just sit there, wait, and get paid anyway.

    In three sentences

    Close to everything. Good place to start under grad. the area is not as dangerous as people have been telling me before I come here. Just be aware of what's going around you.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So many activities to do on campus. Clubs, sports, hang out areas are just a few to get you interacted.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, not the best, but not the worst. There is many options of food around campus though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is so fun! Everyone really gets close to each other, having 5 other suite-mates is really sweet.

    Academic Rigor

    On academic topic, classes are very challenging. You learn a whole lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone is super laid-back, you do not have to worry about not making friends. Sports is a must! I'm a soccer player at RU-N, it's an amazing experience.

    In three sentences

    One of the most diverse, interesting universities. You definitely do get a 'home' feeling being on campus. I do not regret it at all choosing Rutgers-Newark.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety sucks. There is a robbery almost every other week. Be careful. Walk with friends and don't go near dimly lit areas.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is also very prevalent.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are very prevalent.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who want to be surrounded by a vast sea of different faces of different colors form different backgrounds. Diversity is the key. Rutgers-Newark houses students from almost every country in the world. The Paul Robeson Campus Center has this room called the Multi-Purpose Room where there are flag hung all around the corners of the ceiling. It is said that the flags represent all of the nationalities that make up Rutgers-Newark.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are quite a lot of grease trucks where food can be purchased. The food is of low grade and quality but many students still line up to eat from there. I'm not quite sure if this is unusual from Rutgers Newark specifically or if other colleges also exhibit such activity.

    Bang for the buck

    The library provides a tremendous amount of liable and credible and worthy information. There is a program in which you can borrow books free of charge from other libraries. Definitely check out Dana Library.

    What to do for fun

    The gym, coined the Athletic Center allows the students to play a variety of sports including basketball, volleyball and badminton. There is also a exercise/working out area located in the basement of the gym. It is also possible to play football or soccer in the field if it is not occupied by the college sports teams; the same goes for whatever goes on in the gym. Besides playing games, I guess you can go out and drink; there are a few select bars to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There are a rich variety of choices in terms of food and dining. I suggest packing your own lunch if your commuting because the same food over the course of 4 years can get pretty boring. If you decide to live on campus then by all means, get the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to New Brunswick, the Rutgers Newark dorm life is trash. It's trash. Yep, that's it.

    Academic Rigor

    The students are more interested in developing cliques much like high school and education comes second. The rigor for learning is minimal is not non-existent.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is not about partying. Only a select few make it out of this college with some valuable knowledge and a great career lined up for their future. Concentrate in your studies if you decide to go here.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers-Newark sucks. If Rutgers is a must, I suggest New Brunswick. Rutgers-Newark sucks.

  • 04/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Policemen on horses everywhere.

    Greek Life

    More for dorm people. But I heard the Greek Life is real.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of choices to choose from. You're favorite color is purple ? I'm sure there's a club for that. There's always some event going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated and open minded.

    Bang for the buck

    I think if I just buy textbooks and never attend class, I would still pass.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something, like an event going on. Get involved. Make some friends and network. Everything works to your benefit.

    Food and Dining

    SO MUCH FOOD. The choices are endless.

    Dorm Life

    More people commute, but those that dorm only have good things to say about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Rutgers is accredited and has a high reputation and it definitely lives up to its academic standings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused ! Don't slack.

    In three sentences

    AWESOME. AWESOME. And AWESOME.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems very secure and once or twice you even notice a police officer around that could help you in a sturdy situation. The life off the campus and in the city is a another story.

    Great for these types of students

    Social Knowledgeable Party With a future

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers or mentors could use a better form of engagement with student and try to make a conversation as personal as possible; make the other person feel as if they really care.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going to the beach or socializing with friends as well as study or read research articles that involve biochemistry.

    Dorm Life

    It is fun, you have your personal space, you can really get the 'home' feeling.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous and professors expect you to be on your game, no slacking and complete attention to your work. A great work ethic explains a person and their character and Rutgers really focuses on that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage into a one on one conversation with your peers as well as your

    In three sentences

    It is a big campus, it seems great filled with greenery and smiling faces. The people seem to be friendly as well as helpful. The school also has excellent facilities.

  • 10/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's generally pretty safe here as long as you don't wander off into dangerous areas outside the campus. There are police always around the area patrolling. If you ever do feel unsafe they offer escorts (to your classes/dorms). They make sure that students feel safe on campus. That being said there are occasional crimes (mugging) that do occur in neighboring areas around the campus but not anywhere within the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not much to do on campus with the exceptions of a few active organizations and clubs. They do offer activities here and there during the first week of the semester/midterms/finals. I wish they would do more though.

    Bang for the buck

    There are some professors that are very passionate and extremely smart in their field. There are some very interesting classes. The campus life could be better though.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Starbucks on campus. There is also a general dining area which offers Jamba Juice, pizza, and other fast food options. There is also a shop on campus which offers packaged snacks and food. They could do better with providing more healthy options on campus. However, near campus there is also a Pizza Hut and a Subway. Right across the street there is NJIT which also has a lot of other options if you ever get bored of Rutgers. (NJIT and Rutgers students always seem to be on each others campuses)

    Dorm Life

    I only have friends who dorm and they seem to be very close with others in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It widely depends on classes and professors. Some classes are extremely demanding and require a lot of your time and effort. Some classes are more laid back and professors seem to be very relaxed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you are looking for lots of campus activities and a traditional campus life. Lots of students are commuters and you would have to make more of an effort to meet people. Also, it's not really an unsafe campus as most people believe when they hear about this campus.

    In three sentences

    Rutgers doesn't have the traditional campus feel and is more of an urban campus. College life isn't too crazy here and can be boring at times. Some professors are absolutely wonderful here and you learn so much from them.