Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

SUNY College at Cortland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cortland is great for students who are athletic. The sports teams are amazing, especially the men's and women's cross country teams, men's lacrosse, baseball, and football teams. Many students are athletic because Cortland has a massive Physical Education program, and many students are also into the fine arts and things along those lines because Cortland also has a pretty strong fine arts department. I would suggest Cortland to anyone interested in Physical Education, Health Education, Sports Management, and anyone interested in adolescent education for History, Earth Science, and English.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for incoming and prospective students is to get involved. There are 8,000+/- students at Cortland, and you really need to set yourself apart. Be proactive and get involved with clubs, athletics, and recreational activities. There are literally hundreds of intramural and recreation sports on campus so if you are an athlete definitely get a team together and sign up for some of those. For students who are interested in the fine arts, there is a great fine arts center on campus and I have heard great things from people involved with the fine arts. Get to know your advisor and use them. You will have questions about classes and which ones to take and when. Email, email, email. The best thing you can do is to get in touch with your professors for any questions you might have. Introduce yourself to them on the first day of class so that they recognize you. Trust me, it goes a long way. DO NOT PREPACK!!!! Look up your schedule online, search your books online, and buy your books from a site like half.com or google them. The bookstore loves over charging for textbooks, and you can pay a fraction of the cost for books by not buying them from the store. I have found a $200 book from the bookstore for less than $10 on half.com so I really encourage you to search for your books elsewhere.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with all of the downsides, I believe your bang for the buck is pretty good. Right now, student housing is being renovated, so many dorm halls are going to be amazing. I live in the newest dorm hall on campus called Glass Tower, and it is truly like living in a hotel. Most freshman will be placed in Cheney Hall and DeGroat Hall, which are both freshman only housing. You have many resources on campus for academic help, and your best bet for student employment is working for ASC, which is the food company on campus. The financial aid advisors are great with any financial questions, and they have helped me with many concerns that I have had. Overall, the quality of education received is pretty good, and I definitely suggest attending if you are going to be a Physical Education major.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to Cortland, for physical education. I make it a point to say physical education because in all honesty, there are many flaws, and some minor drawbacks. I absolutely love most of my physical education classes up to this point, and I have developed my self as a person and put my self in a great position for a career in physical education just by attending Cortland. The campus is great, especially since there is a bus system that brings you to and from class. Now for the problems. Health services is terrible. If you have to go, clear your afternoon because you will be sitting in the office for up to three hours. Residential services may seem nice at first, but if you go to them with any concerns or questions be ready to receive terrible service and to basically be told there is nothing they can do for anything. The food tastes amazing, and there are tons of options, but the meal plan is terrible. For a meal you get an allotted amount of $6.00 and if your food costs over that amount it is taken out of Dragon Dollars. Sounds good so far, but you cannot buy a $6.00 meal. In my opinion a meal would be a decent portion of food with a drink, and in a good scenario a side of some sort. At Cortland, that does not happen. Be prepared to receive terrible customer service from the food company as well, and at first it seems great, but after a semester or two you realize just how badly they rip you off. Also, there isn't much to to do around Cortland, so Syracuse, Ithaca, and Binghamton are your best bet for any kind of mall or something really fun to do on the weekend or in your free time.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a second year student at Cortland and I have learned a lot. I am a physical education major, and I can honestly say that no other school in New York state, and maybe even the country can compare. The professors are amazing and all of them are willing to help with any questions you might have. So far, I have taken many activity classes such as basketball, soccer, track and field, and even SCUBA DIVING!! I have also learned a lot from my student composition classes about how to become a college level writer, and even from my general education classes, such as history.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cortland is a good fit for any type of student. If you are not athletic it doesn't matter. There are plenty of activities and club available for those who do not enjoy sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest not buying the books from the school store. I have bought all my books there, and they are overpriced and don't have a good buyback price. A lot of money is wasted on books and I would suggest buying or renting books from an online source.

    Bang for the buck

    The meal plans are nice, however they are very expensive and sometimes not the most flexible. The meals from each week roll over, but only 2 of them can be used the next week. What ends up happening is all the meals roll over but by the end of the semester they can't all be used, so the meals are wasted.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very inviting. The people are for the most part friendly, especially the ASC staff. The people who work in Corey are some of the nicest people I have ever met. I have made many great friends here who I will keep in touch with for the rest of my life.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a junior on campus and a Speech/Hearing major. I feel that it is one of the hardest majors here at Cortland. The workload is intense, but the material is very interesting. I can't believe the information that I have learned so far and there is so much more to learn. Sometimes there isn't enough time to learn and comprehend everything that needs to be absorbed. All elective classes are very interesting, and there are a variety to choose from.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletes, they have an exellent athletic program for almost every sport, and if you want to be a teacher.

    Will enjoy being here

    when people think of cortland they think of the parties and thats all good, but for some people (blacks and hispanics) you might find it a little difficult to adjust maybe not at the school because everyone seems accepting there but in the town the people in certian places (Subway) arent to welcoming to new things. but besides that its great...there are loads of different activities there for you to do if you arent the partying type.

    Will learn a lot

    from what ive seen just by visiting, they are a very good school when it comes to getting you the information and help that you are going to need during your stay.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUNY Cortland is equipped with the blue light system in case of emergency, and has on-campus University Police Department.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Cortland is an exceptional school for both athletes, musicians, and anywhere in between.

    What to do for fun

    Cortland's Student Affairs Board does a great job of planning events for the students. Activities such as laser tag, hypnotists, workout sessions, zumba, and concerts, are all put on by SAB for students to have fun, and hang with friends. There are karaoke nights, swimming, and ice skating, as well as the many athletic events and plays that are constantly going on. You would have to try very hard to be bored at SUNY Cortland.

    Food and Dining

    Cortland has exceptional variety and quality when it comes to school. Besides the main cafeteria, which always includes a variety of food so you are bound to find something you like, there are dining places all over campus so that no matter where you are, quality food isn't far away. From Dunkin' Donuts, to Subway, to Friendly's, among a variety of other places, students will always be able to find what they are craving.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the best parts of SUNY Cortland. It is here that many people make most of their friends, and Cortland does a good job at pairing you up with roommates. Although you may start out tripled, that will quickly be spread out as the semester progresses. Each dorm is equipped with a leader who is there to help with whatever academic problems you may have, such as writing a paper, a resume, etc. Dorms challenge their students to do well academically by having floor competitions for who gets the highest grades. All the Residence Assistant's are around for consultation for roommate problems, or personal problems, and are there to help. With the frequent games and activities offered, dorm life is a fun, interactive atmosphere where students can get connected.

    Academic Rigor

    College is much different from public high schools. You can't take the easy way. At Cortland, studying, going to class, and reading the textbooks is required for one to do well. Classes are challenging, but not to the point of failing. If you study and read diligently, and ask the teacher, or tutors for help, they will help you succeed. The teachers at Cortland challenge you, yet they strive for your success, not your failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to get involved with SOMETHING on campus wether it be a club, sports team, or sorority/fraternity. Don't be shy about making friends. Even if it takes a while, you WILL find people here that you click with. If you have a question, do not hesitate to ask. Take full advantage of the help centers. Be prepared to study, and read textbooks. If you are diligent about these two things, college will not be as daunting as some people make it out to be. Lastly, have fun. Cortland is a blast, as long as you keep your academic and social life balanced.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cortland is an incredible smaller, tight-knit college where students are not just a number. Every student can actively participate on campus, if they so choose, and have a chance at making a name for themselves. Cortland's professors are deeply invested in their students, and our athletics are top-notch.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, those who don't mind the cold, and those who want to be positively challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a lot of warm clothing! It gets very cold at Cortland! Also, get involved with something; there are an endless amount of clubs and activities available to students.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Schools in general give their students a great education for prices a lot cheaper than private colleges and universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cortland is excellent for student athletes, and for anyone who enjoys sports. The Recreational Sports department is amazing, so even if you don't play a varsity sport, you still have the chance to play on a rec team. The people here are friendly, and there is always a college run function, or party off campus to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    As a freshman at SUNY Cortland, my classes were chosen for me my first semester. I did not know much about my professors or college courses when I started here. However, every class I took taught me something different and challenged me in different ways. At times, the studying got frustrating but the good grades in the end were well worth it.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is expensive, but what college isn't? The meal plan may seem expensive but you get a lot for your money. There are quite a few places to eat and Neubig Dining Hall, the all you can eat place, gives you plenty of choices. The food is excellent everywhere. The school even provides bus transportation on the weekends to one of the plazas, which houses Walmart, Price Chopper, JC Penney, Kmart, Payless, Fashion Bug, and more. The money you pay to come to Cortland is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I loved Cortland when I visited and I have fallen more in love with it being there. I consider Cortland my second home.

    Am learning a lot

    Although the General Education classes seem likethey are useless, they give you a chance to explore different areas. There are a bunch of interesting classes and endless possibilities of classes in the different majors.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like a small class room and a friendly campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make sure to do all your extra credit and homework (it can help your grade)!

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a private school education for the cost of a public school. Everyone is very professional and excited to teach.

    Am enjoying being here

    Cortland is a great small town. On campus there are many different things to do and a lot of places to meet with friends. I'm part of a Greek organization and there are always things to do with that. There are numerous club teams to play on, a number of Greek organizations, any club you can think of and there is always something to do when your on or off campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn so much at Cortland. The professors are great and most of the classes in your major are small, giving you great opportunities for help from the professor. I've learned a lot so far, there are a lot of opportunities to research with professors and all the classes are interesting.

  • 10/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Cortland is great for everyone, there's so much to do on campus that it's hard to just sit around; there's ALWAYS something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    The parties here are HUGE; if you're not into partying it does put a little damper on things. The good thing is that there are SO MANY CLUBS here on campus and it's very easy to fill your time with more fulfilling things to do and still be able to meet new people and network.

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here, it's so beautiful and I love my classes & professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    SUNY Cortland is pretty far from home for me because I am from South Jersey, but it's easy to make friends and people are generally pretty friendly here.

    Am learning a lot

    My education thus far at SUNY Cortland has been both challenging and rewarding. I am currently majoring in International Relations, and I really enjoy the majority of my classes.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your neighbors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring adequate clothing for the intense winters. This school is great for International Studies and Anthropology.

    In three sentences

    The area is beautiful. The Anthropology department is the best in the SUNY system. The professors care about your success.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights all over campus and will contact the campus police. Also, the campus police station is located in Van Heusing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different intramural and club sports if varsity isn't for you. Also, there are many clubs besides sports. If there isn't a club that you want, get it!! The power is in your hands!

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of Cortland's track team. I got recruited my senior year in high school. Besides running i attend football games, am apart of La Familia Latino, and spanish club. There are always some sort of fun activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and there is a variety. There are five available areas to eat on campus. Neubig, being one of them. This is the main dining hall and there is always a large variety of food to eat. Tonight was italian themed.

    Dorm Life

    I am a freshman and I am tripled. Most freshman in my class are tripled, however, it is not as bad as it sounds. All of my roommates and I get along very well. As long as you establish rules and everyone follows them there should be no problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The only problem I personally have are classes in lecture halls. I tend to get distracted easily and find it hard to pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should study hard. Just because you are taking a class that you don't care for or does not relate to your major, study hard and pass the class. You won't be happy if you fail a course and have to pay more money to make up for it or risk graduating. Also, join clubs and get involved! There is so much to do on campus, you will never be bored.

    In three sentences

    Cortland is very diverse. I see people of many races attending the school. Everyone here is so polite and very excited to be here.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights all over campus as well as a big presence of University police.

    Greek Life

    There is a big Greek presence on campus. Many people choose to be involved in it, myself not included though. I have found many friends outside of Greek life and didn't feel it was a necessary part of my college career.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to choose from. Sports, languages, academic subjects, model UN, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Jocks, good school for people who want to be teachers. Great international studies program.

    Bang for the buck

    Cortland has so much to offer and I have rarely heard anyone say they wish they went to another school.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of sports clubs and intramural sports, as well as academic clubs. Attending sports games is always a good time as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options on campus, from the regular dining hall to Subway, Dunkin Donuts, and other places where you can order pizza, pasta, paninis, and other options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the best place to get to know people. The people you meet your freshman year are the people you will be friends with throughout your four years. Living with many people in the dorm allows you to learn more about yourself and how to interact with others.

    Academic Rigor

    You are able to find very difficult courses and professors, but if you put in effort and show up to class, each course can be passed. Some people can get by with little effort, but it is worth it to try hard and receive good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should join clubs and teams to get to know people. Have a presence in class so professors know your name. Have a life outside of your coursework.

    In three sentences

    There is a big sports presence on campus. There is a lot of educational opportunities through the departments as well as studying abroad. It is a big enough school where you do not know everyone, but where you will pass people you know on campus often.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious and athletic.

    What to do for fun

    Sport clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    1)Visit 2)Talk with professors of your intended major 3)Talk to students.

    In three sentences

    1) A warm campus. 2)Helpful faculty. 3)Athletic students.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can honestly say that I feel 110% safe at Cortland. I have had late classes and have had no problem walking back to my dorm by myself. If a student should feel threatened or uneasy though, Cortland has a Campus Blue-Light System. There are blue lights hanging all over the buildings at Cortland, and should there be an issue, all you have to do is walk to a blue light, pick up the phone, and Campus PD will be there within 60 seconds. You will always be able to see from one Blue-Light to another, and the Blue-Light System has been in place for over ten years and has only had one report of someone actually having to use it. That instance was only because a student did not like walking without friends, and asked University Police to escort him/her back to the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is something that is always an option, but there is no pressure to be involved in it. There are three recognized fraternities and about seven to ten sororities on campus. Cortland is not a college where Greek Life is pushed; you will have some friends that are involved and some that are not.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cortland offers over 160 clubs on campus. There are everything from sports clubs to clubs just because. If you want a club that Cortland does not yet offer, all you need is four people and a faculty advisor, and your club will immediately be created! For example, Cortland even offers a Quidditch Club (from the Harry Potter series)!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking individuals with goals that are attainable but require dedication in order to reach, those that enjoy a close-knit community/small town.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are an in-state student, it's perfect. Out-of-state students like myself, however, may have a little more trouble managing tuition bills. There are many government programs and other scholarships that can help fray the costs though, and for the quality of the programs offered, the cost is without a doubt worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Besides just hanging out with friends, there is a program called Cortland Nites. Cortland Nites offers things to do every night of the week, including $3 movie nights, $5 snow tubing at a local ski resort, and more free activities than you can imagine. There have been artists come to Cortland during the week to draw caricatures for free, Build-A-Bear has allowed students to create their own animals for free; everything is offered at little-to-no cost. The most I have ever paid for an activity has been $5 for snow tubing, which was TOTALLY worth it. There are also many recreational activities to get involved in, whether you are more interested in Varsity, Club, Recreational, or Intramural level, there is something for everyone!!

    Food and Dining

    There are a TON of places to eat on campus. There is Neubig Hall, which is the all-you-can-eat dining facility, which offers a wide variety of food. There is an island bar in the center of the dining area which makes breakfast sandwiches in the morning and things like quesadillas for lunch or dinner. There is a gluten-free station for students that must be or choose to be gluten-free, as well as a full salad bar, soft serve ice cream machine (Cold Stone is offered at night!!), and lots of different foods. There is also a Subway, Friendly's, and Dunkin' Donuts in Corey Union (our Student Union Building), as well as Dragon's Court which houses a grill for burgers, fries, hot dogs, mozz sticks, etc., Dixie Chix (a complete comfort food station), Yolato (frozen yogurt), and Veggie Patch, an all-vegan option. In addition to those buildings, Brockway Hall houses Hilltop, which has the BEST brick oven pizza, and makes a bunch of things like chicken sandwiches, burgers, etc., and there is even a full sushi bar! On the bottom floor of Old Main, there is Dragon's Den, which makes more sandwiches and ensures that there is always a building within walking distance that offers a good meal. Using Connections you can also add money to a Cortland debit card which allows you to travel to many of the restaurants downtown without using a meal plan or having to carry cash. The local Applebee's also accepts Connections. There are more than enough options for food that are ALL extremely delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Cortland offers new students a chance to choose where they would like to stay on a Housing Preference Form that is filled out once the housing deposit is paid. There is even an apartment complex on-campus that is about half of a mile away from the school where first year students are allowed to live if they so choose. Roommates become best friends, and it is extremely hard to leave at the end of the year knowing that you have made friends that you will never forget.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are without a doubt difficult. There are professors that make some courses easier than others based on their teaching styles and how they run their tests. If you apply yourself and take advantage of the opportunities for success offered at Cortland, there's no way you will not succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try your hardest; this isn't high school anymore. There is a ton of help at Cortland for you, from tutors to office hours with professors. College is what you make of it, so don't waste a moment (or a dime) on anything that will not push you closer towards your ultimate goal.

    In three sentences

    Cortland is an extremely friendly place. The courses are challenging and the professors are always available to offer extra time or help. I feel at home when I'm there, even though I'm actually five hours away from my home.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always cops patrolling around on campus, but of course it is always best to go in groups of people at night.

    Greek Life

    There are a decent amount of fraternities and sororities that are recognized by the school and national headquarters.

    Clubs and Activities

    As stated before there are endless amounts of clubs, about 100 or more.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a state school so if you are from NY it will be a good price. Tuition is the same as any other state school, unless of course you are from out of state. On-campus housing is reasonable and no worse than other schools. You can always save by moving off campus after two years or if you are already 21.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is a very physically active campus. There are two gyms, a swimming pool, basketball courts, tracks, and much more. There are always tournaments going on and club sports. There are also fraternities and sororities to join to partake in fundraisers and community service. The campus also has clubs directed towards certain majors, but you do not have to be in those majors to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are various places to eat on campus, including Subway, the campus pizza place, Friendly's and many other options. There is also a dining hall that is all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make of it. It can be very good or very bad. I have seen it go astray for other people, but if you are open and level headed even the worst situations it will work out for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Most people I have encountered at SUNY Cortland do well and put their best effort towards their classes. Professors also hold very high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thoroughly look into your major requirements and try to understand it as best you can before you enroll/get to school. Speak with the staff in the various offices, they can be very helpful to understanding everything that you need to do.

    In three sentences

    The experience I have had at SUNY Cortland is great. The opportunities there are endless academically and socially. If you are looking for a nice place in Central New York to go to school I would suggest to at least visit the campus.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    After graduating from a local community college, I feel the larger campus at Cortland will be much more challenging and exciting.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like many SUNY schools, Cortland has the Blue Light system. These are lights located around campus that have phones that can call the police in case of an emergency. In the event that a crime is committed off campus, they both email and post signs letting people know what happened and where just so students can be cautious. We do have police on campus as well as a health facility. For bigger emergencies, the Cortland Hospital isnt far at all there are ambulances on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are quite a few sororities and fraternities on campus. I can't give much information on them because I am not in one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different kinds of clubs to choose from. Activities are available within groups as well as put on for the entire campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and future teachers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a graveyard in the middle of campus. This sounds creepy but honestly I usually forget it's there.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that Cortland is a great school. You get a lot there for the SUNY price.

    What to do for fun

    There is SO much to do for fun. There are walking trails close to campus, a free gym, tons of clubs and teams including intramural teams, as well as cheap off campus activities put together by the students activities board.

    Food and Dining

    There are, I believe, 5 or 6 different locations on campus to pick up food. All of them are excellent. Don't count out Neubig until you try it and make up your mind for yourself. I like it there! Also, the Friendlies and Dunkin Donuts on campus don't hurt either!

    Dorm Life

    One great thing about the dorms is that they always have activities set up during the week so the students can have fun and get to know each other. Mixed halls are offered as well as upper-class only halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Like at any school, class difficulty depends on the class you are taking and the professor teaching it. Usually, if you do your assignments and readings, you do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    The weather can be very unpredictable and changes often make sure you are prepared for that. Snow boots and rain boots are a good idea. Use ratemyprofessor.com when making your schedule.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police and they do their best to keep it safe. Nothing severe happened that I could recall. I felt safe at anytime during the day and night no matter where I was on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big, but I really did not take interest into it only because of sports, and money. Plus they are not to nice and only look out for one another, but thats when they are together. When they are separate individually they are cool people.

    Clubs and Activities

    They run a tight ship with their intramural sports, but it is very competitive. I really enjoyed playing soccer even though I never played a game in my life. Our club teams are really good to and practice as if they are a varsity team.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to be a part of education major I would recommend it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well I had some of my brothers friends up at school I would usually hang out with them on West Court and play video games, and ask them questions about teachers and anything about classes that I was struggling in.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is tight and anything could help. I know when I graduate that the field I am going to is tough, but I will attempt it and do my best. My bang for buck could be a little cheaper in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Many intramural sports to play. Also attempting to play on the varsity teams is a good way to stay on top of your things. They tend to keep athletes out of trouble, but kids will be kids and make mistakes.

    Food and Dining

    There are a majority places to choose from and eat at, but it is no five star restaurant more like a fast food take out place. I recommend eating at Hill top in the morning though. They have a good variety of foods to choose from

    Dorm Life

    I honestly can say the dorms were nice. Although we had three people living in a two person room my roommates were awesome. not to mention the people in my hall way were just as good and I now hang out with them during the summer.

    Tips for prospective students

    One can easily be distracted, but keep that goal in mind that your here for an education. Make sure you stay the course and make friends a long the way. Never burn bridges with anyone and be available to help and take help from people. (Especially Professors because they have been there and done that).

    In three sentences

    Overall teachers are very fair with their grading. People are great and easy to converse with. Finally I met a lot of great people already, and that was only after one year, but can not wait for the next three years to come.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities going on every single day! There's a big sign on Corey Union telling you when clubs meet. If you can'tr find something to do, you aren't trying.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is actually pretty good. And in addition to that we have 5 other places to buy food and drink.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great place. Many of the buildings have been redone and updated.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are hard, some are more lenient. You have to find a balance of what works for you. But sometimes, the tougher the challenge, the more satisfying the results.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head on your shoulders. Cortland is a great school but you need to do you part and focus your priorities.

    In three sentences

    Suny Cortland is a wonderful school. The faculty and staff are very accommodating and care about the students. There are tons of things to do on campus that can help get you involved.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    All SUNY schools are very much worth your money. At the major universities, i.e Ithaca College or Cornell, you spend 30,000 a semester as apposed to 4,000 for the exact same education, not going to a SUNY school is just unwise in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I don't believe this institute is all that difficult. In my opinion, it's the same as anywhere. Keep up with your studies, don't fall behind or slack off, keep your drinking and partying to a minimum, and you'll do fine.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cortland is a beautiful campus located in Cortland, NY in the heart of the finger lakes. The college is the host of the NY Jets training camp, but also has wonderful athletics itself. The college is relatively inexpensive, offers a wonderful education in a wide variety of majors, and is a overall good place to go to continue your studies.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go work out in the fitness facilities, rent some sports gear and play at park center, or even go to an event sponsered by the student activity board.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. With many different dining establishments and different styles of food, there's never really anything that doesn't taste great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and are filled with people eager to converse.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum has just enough difficulty to keep the student challenged but not enough to overwhelm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you join clubs. The experience you can find in them and the friends you can make is great.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cortland is a phenomenal establishment. From the residence halls to the teachers, and even the dining facilities. I wouldn't want to attend any other school.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of people go to frat parties or bars on the weekends, but you can find other things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, Get tripled and avoid Neubig Hall

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is so nice here, everyone is friendly and teachers really try to help you. They care about their students a lot and always plan things so students have fun. The school is pretty big and there is something for everyone.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You hear a lot about off campus rapes etc.

    Greek Life

    Pretty good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CORTACA!!!

    Bang for the buck

    All schools are so expensive these days.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat. Movies. Bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come in with your mind set on a major, be open minded because things may change.

    In three sentences

    The campus is really beautiful. I like the smaller size classes. It is a good school.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some campus activities, but other than that you have to typically make your own fun

    Tips for prospective students

    The large lecture halls are not efficient in successfully learning

    In three sentences

    The school does not have much variety in available majors. Overall it is a good size school. The surrounding area is very dull and unpleasant.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe walking around campus by myself, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY OPPORTUNITIES! There is basically a club for everyone and if there isn't a club you're interested in, it is easy to make one!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cortaca! The big football game between Cortland and rival Ithaca. Such a fun day.

    What to do for fun

    SUNY Cortland is a very athletic school, and even if you are not on a sports team, everyone is always at the games and it is such an exciting feeling. There are choirs and a theater program, A LOT of intramural and club sports, there really is a place for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    There is so much food here! So many options also. I never really got tired of eating on campus because I could always switch it up.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I lived in was newly re-done so it was VERY nice. The RA's were all very nice and helpful also.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load here (depending on your major) is very reasonable, I personally have not had one of those nights where I am up until 4am doing work. There is enough to keep you busy but usually not too overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to arrange an overnight if you can. It's a great way to really get the feel of what living in a dorm room and experiencing all the aspects of the school are like. Also, take advantage of what your school offers, college is the time to get involved.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cortland is an excellent school. The professors are really helpful and want to see you excel. There are so many ways to get involved on campus too, it's great!

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The campus has all different types of Greek life; social, multicultural, and service sororities and fraternities. We even have a local sorority!

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus literally have a club or activity for anything you can think of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The famous Cortaca jug is a football game against our rivals Ithaca College every November. There is always so much school spirit on game day.

    What to do for fun

    Cortland is located in between Syracuse and Ithaca which both have so much to offer. If you don't have access to a car Cortland Main Street is only a short walk from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Hilltop is by far the best place to eat on campus. We also have a frozen yogurt place, Dunkin Donuts, and Subway on campus

    Dorm Life

    They have re-done most of the dorms and are building a new dorm building right now.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the jobs and activities fairs, there is so much to learn at these events.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cortland is a great school. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The college offers a lot of extracurricular activities for all different types of people.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually go to the different programs that are offered on campus because there is something different everyday!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study HARD! Don't be afraid to be who you are this is a judgement free zone!

    In three sentences

    Cortland is a great university. Very modern; everyone is awesome! Also the president of the school is great you will see him on campus walking around and supporting different events!!

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cortaca, the Ithaca vs. Cortland football game, giant drunk-fest...tons of fun.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to the college bars, find one of many food spots, do something involved on campus. There are a lot of things to do around the city and surrounding cities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good luck finding a job.

    In three sentences

    The people are great. There is always something to do around the city. The college atmosphere is perfect, not too big for me.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. I do practice safety. I do not go out late at night on my own. If you feel unsafe late at night when leaving the library or something, you can call the Campus Police and be escorted to your dorm. Also, there are emergency blue lights and phones all around the campus if needed.

    Greek Life

    I have not participated in Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs and activities on campus. You can play any sport from basketball to football to track and field to swimming. If sports are not for you, you can always just sign up for the gym and either work on the machines or go in the dance room for anything from Zumba to yoga. As far as clubs, there are clubs for anything and everything. I am in a club for American Sign Language. If you have friends that want to start a club with you, you have that option also.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Cortland is quite diverse. I have seen students from many ethnic groups. My friends are from different walks of life. There is no limit on who can attend Cortland. You are all welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Cortland is definitely worth the price you pay and more. It's a public school in a private school setting. The location is not so bad and the education here is perfect. I believe that if you are looking for a school that is affordable as well as diverse and good based on academics, then Cortland is a good school for that.

    What to do for fun

    I have made friends. We hang out when we can. We attend fashion shows, plays, movie nights in town. We had a formal night where we got dressed up and had fun. Our football team is the Red Dragons. In mid-November, I experienced the big game of the year between our Red Dragons and Ithaca Bombers. The game is called Cortaca. We travelled to Ithaca and experienced the rivalry football game. There are also many different events held in dorms by the resident assistants. There are many things to do on campus such as sports and plays as well as many things to do off campus also. It is just a matter of finding them and having people to go with when you do.

    Food and Dining

    Although I miss my Mom's Caribbean cooking, Cortland has a wide variety of places to eat. On campus, we have Dunkin Donuts, Friendly's and Subway. The dining halls provide an enormous variety of meals - wing night; pasta night, hamburgers, wraps and sandwiches. The food at Cortland is so great. I remember the first time I had it. It's honestly like going out to eat at every restaurant there is night after night after night.

    Dorm Life

    Although at first, I was scared, you know - the new environment, no family, no friends, everything new, it actually isn't so bad. You learn to adapt to the dorm lifestyle. I think in the end it is actually more fun than living at home with your annoying siblings. You become friends with the people across and down the hall. These are some of the same friends you end up hanging out in their dorms late at night watching movies, going out to eat with, going to parties with and maybe even having slumber parties with. The Dorm Life at Cortland could not be any more amazing, fun and much like home !

    Academic Rigor

    Thus far, the professors are excellent. There are a lot of support groups for extra help. I needed help with my writing and I was able to get someone to work with me when I write papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit SUNY Cortland. If you are looking for a smaller campus, this is the place for you. The campus is not as large as the big universities but it still has a lot of extra curricular activities. It's also not too far away from New York City. Also, if you live in the New York area, whenever you want to come home, the school has buses running to bring you home and back. It is just a matter of getting your ticket first come, first serve. Its not too expensive and really cater to their population of students from New York.

    In three sentences

    I wanted to attend a school that has a strong education program. I did my research, applied to SUNY Cortland and was accepted. This is my first semester and I thoroughly enjoy being at SUNY Cortland with the Red Dragons.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University Police Department was very organized, efficient, and effective with responding to and handling calls. Any concerns were addressed immediately, and the blue light system provided extra security for students walking late at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cortaca, the annual Cortland vs. Ithaca College football game, becomes a massive day of drinking and rioting. Stay safely in your room or off campus until it blows over.

    What to do for fun

    Cortland is a small town, but there are numerous nature trails, preserves, waterfalls, hiking spots, and shopping centers within a short drive.

    Food and Dining

    The food was always fresh and well prepared, and there was a decent variety. My only complaint is that there was only one vegetarian place on campus, and I would have liked more options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms were kept clean and secure, and very central to all essentials of student life. The staff was very friendly, though there was always at least that one room of guys or girls on the floor that came to college to party instead of study, and their antics were disruptive at all hours of the day and night.

    Academic Rigor

    My degree was challenging, though not overwhelming. The courses and material were reasonable in work and practical in application.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, not to slack off. Find the right group of classmates to socialize and study with, as well as some friendly upperclassmen to help you out.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cortland has a very safe and engaging atmosphere. Students are free to explore their academic futures and build their lives, while given a multitude of extracurricular pursuits to further their experience.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD (university police) scale the perimeter of the campus day and night it's pretty safe here nothing to worry about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cortaca is not as bad as people make it seem it's fun just a tad bit rowdy.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! You'll make plenty of friends. There are campus parties and events everything here is a great way to meet and make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. Only down side is the portioning system that they have implemented at one of the biggest dining halls but hey that place is all you can eat! So portion me up baby I'm coming back for seconds and thirds!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful. The suites are amazing & they have singles where you have your own space.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind and just be yourself. It's easy to make friends by joining clubs and although the work loads may seem crazy, we have extra help centers and once you get the hang of it, things are not that hard.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very beautiful. Everyone is extremely diverse and friendly. The courses are challenging yet interesting.