Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College at Old Westbury Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -outgoing - not easily distracted -want to save some money by staying in state

    Tips for prospective students

    -At SUNY Old Westbury you have to be willing to get involved and make your own excitement our you could get bored. -If you plan on dorming you should know that since the school is so close to the city many students go home on the weekends, however the school is starting new organizations to get more people to stay on campus during the weekends. -The dorms aren't very diverse

    Bang for the buck

    -There are some things that need improvement, however for what you pay to attend SUNY Old Westbury cant really complain to much. -The biggest problem is that we are one of the least funded of all the SUNY schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    -The dorms are a lot nicer and bigger than at other schools. -The food needs improvement -They are in the process of constructing a new academic building -freshman can have cars on campus

    Am learning a lot

    -Most of the classes are worth 4 credits -very few classes on Fridays -small class sizes -student professor relationships are hard to develop

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -If you plan on staying/living close to home (more that 2/3 of the student body are commuters) -If you love small campuses. -If you love small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Its a very small college -You must make sure they have your major. They offer a little over 30 majors. (a rough estimate) -They offer rolling admissions, so its never too late to apply!

    Bang for the buck

    -Its very cheap tuition -I have grants and scholarships that don't allow me to pay out of pocket. -HOORAY for no loans!!

    Am enjoying being here

    -You must go out of your comfort zone -Join activities that interest you

    Am learning a lot

    -Professors teach way differently from high school teachers. -Professors tend to go at a quick pace, but as long as you do your work, you'll be fine. -NEVER PROCRASTINATE!!

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for outgoing students who love to be social and still be in an environment where you can learn and further your education. It is a small school so you will get to know everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Old Westbury is the perfect school for you if you do not want to be too far away from home, but still feel like you are away at school. It is located in Long Island and is very close to the 5 boroughs of NYC. This way, if you ever get home sick, home is just a few minutes away. Our classes are 4 credits which is fantastic and we mostly have no classes on Friday's which is also great

    Bang for the buck

    Being that it is a SUNY, the education is more affordable than other schools, but given the recent budget cuts, many things at the school have suffered.

    Am enjoying being here

    At this school, you will have no complaints about a social life. You can work hard, and have a lot of fun as well. It is very homey and i feel like i fit right in

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy my major so now i can say that i am learning a lot,but the first two years fulfilling general education was a drag. Once you get into the hang of your core classes,it become a lot more interesting.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, money concerns, wanting to live close to home, moms returning to school, full time workers

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here only if you want to save money. the entire class schedules are designed for two days of classes for commuters

    Bang for the buck

    For someone like me who is a full time employee, and a full time commuter student it is great, but the school itself is lacking in funds for many of their programs the analytical science class does not have the correct tools, and for the bio chem major they don't provide certain classes which is a massive inconvenience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter. the science department is again great. we are our own building and it turns into a close knit community where you know everyone. While the people are nice the I personally do not enjoy the school. There is nothing wrong with the department is all the other departments and all the misdirection they give you when you want a single piece of information

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the biology department. There are certain teachers that definitely make themselves available for the students as much as possible and there are others who could care less. The classes are advanced for an undergrad degree. i am deff learning alot

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has university police and safety aides. safety aides patrol around the whole campus from 8pm- 12 or 2 am.

    Greek Life

    greek life at suny college at old westbury is good. most of the greeks are divine nine and multicultural.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are very diverse and has many different types of club to join. most of the clubs are very competitive but knows how to work together.

    What to do for fun

    there are many different clubs to join and greek life. being active in student activities is not only good on resumes but also it allows you to gain new friends!

    Food and Dining

    the food at suny college at old westbury is not that great. there are times where the cafe serves good food but usually its the same food. most students prefer to eat at the den or the coffee shop, which has fast foods and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at suny college at old westbury is fun depending on who you hang out with. the campus is a dry campus, which means no alcohol allowed. dorming allows students to grow emotionally and mentally since they are away from their parents. during the weekends, a lot of students go home. the residential halls are very beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    suny college at old westbury requires students to maintain a 2.0 gpa in order to dorm, become a member of greek life, or be an executive board member. most departments requires student to have a c+ or above.

    In three sentences

    suny college at old westbury has a beautiful campus. its a 4 credit college. the college is small class lectures which is about less than 35 students per class.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the mall, or attend campus programs

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan to live on campus you will have a blast, this school is not exactly rigorous but you do have to work.

    In three sentences

    i like this school, it is very diverse and for such a small school they offer a lot of clubs. another thing i like is the small classes, the only thing i would change would be adding more on campus activities.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food isn't bad, it's pretty good and there are some many options. if you want to eat out there are many places where you can go that isn't too far away.

    Dorm Life

    woodlands dorm rooms are very big and feels like home. there are washers and dryers on every floor which is nice and convenient for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm starting out with a 16 credit schedule.

    In three sentences

    this is a very beautiful school with a large facility. the students and faculty are very welcoming and nice. if you need things done it is better to go to the school to finish up what you need done.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around. I feel safe, and there have been no incidents that I know of since I have been there.

    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition price for the education.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of activities, so get involved to stay busy and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be better in the main dining hall, and most of the food is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is Business Administration, and the classes I have taken this semester have been great. They are not easy but the school offers alot of help to those who need it, so there is no excuse not to do well because the help is there. The advisors there help a lot as well, they give good direction of exactly what classes are needed to obtain your degree. That prevents you from taking classes you do not need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest making sure that if you take out a student loan, you double check to make sure everything is okay with the processing before you register for the next semester. Keep track of all the loans you borrow.

    In three sentences

    Old Westbury has a great faculty and staff. The professors are very helpful inside, and outside of the classroom. The campus is very friendly, and not too big.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety cars are always on campus. i wish at nights there was more lighting since it has many trees

    Great for these types of students

    looking for cheaper 4 year college

    Bang for the buck

    you will get some type of grants from the state.

    What to do for fun

    there are panther pride outings. mall is nearby. many sports to participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared before class. know what your major is before applying any where. this campus is great for transferring into or out of.

    In three sentences

    they have caring teachers who will take time their own time to help. smaller classes to for a more personal attention. scenery is nice to walk from one building to another.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tennis courts, a gym and the student activity center where various events are held.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should take into consideration that there aren't many of the same classes offered given the shortage of professors.

    In three sentences

    The technology and facilities have to be up to date. The professors in the Science department aren't very helpful and their should be more professors.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are alot of Greek organizations on this campus with all of the D9

    Great for these types of students

    Education and business majors.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, the student government puts together activities, fashion shows, parties, comedy shows and amusement park trips.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe can have its up and downs as far as good food. However, there is a deli, coffee shop and den with Nathan's and other fast food.

    Dorm Life

    Old Westbury in my eyes has the biggest and spacious rooms in the entire Suny system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get advised by your majors department in order to take the right classes you need and correct gen eds. (especially education majors)

    In three sentences

    SUNY College at Old Westbury is a very big campus with a very small student body. Because it us so small, the class sizes are small. However, the offered courses are very low and competitive to get in.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University Police is always driving around and making stops to the dorms (sometimes too much). They always block off the front gate entrance from 10pm to 5am and collect ID's from students who don't attend Old Westbury

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big on campus. There are a lot of Greek letter organizations but this school is mostly a Divine Nine School (Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Zeta Phi Beta, Alpha Phi Alpha, Phi Beta Sigma, Sigma Gamma Rho and Iota Phi Theta).

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are very active on campus and try to throw fun events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Academic Village which now simply known as The Village has a very unusual structure. Students that have been going here for years admit that they still get lost at times. Rumor has it that this was the work of an architect that designs prisons.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap! Old Westbury is not the best SUNY school but, if you live in the 5 boroughs and want to be close to home then here is your best bet. If you dorm there are a couple rules that makes no sense but you find ways around it.

    What to do for fun

    The Greeks on campus usually throw fun events as well as other clubs and organizations. There are also room parties and other social gathering so try to make lots of friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food is far from the best! Sometimes it seems like the chefs just cook up whatever they can find and feed it to the students. Sometimes the food is decent though, the opinion of the food varies from student to student. There is also a Nathans and a Boars Head sandwich spot as an alternative if students don't want whats being served in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacey but the bathroom and sometimes even the hallways can get very messy. There is a wing of about 20-40 students and if sometimes breaks something the whole wing gets fined. Overall it is very quite, most students go home on weekends so it can be very peaceful in the dorms. Sometimes it could be boring though because there is usually nothing to do on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors and nice and well educated, but sometimes you'll find that professor that is stuck in there ways and don't help students advance academically. But you'll find that at any school you attend so that shouldn't worry you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved and join as many clubs and organizations as possible, don't just sit in your room and do nothing! People look mean but they are actually nice when you get to know them. If you looking to party all day though, this school is NOT for you. The new rules makes it very difficult to party and act a fool. This is also a DRY campus which means no alcoholic beverages allowed on campus (although there are plenty ways around that).

    In three sentences

    Suny Old Westbury is a very diverse school, there is a good mixture of Blacks, Whites, Hispanics, Asians, etc. The classrooms are small so teachers get to know you better on a first name basis. You also get to meet new and interesting people.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    VERY BIG ON CAMPUS!

    What to do for fun

    I dance, and I play on the varsity athletic teams.

    Food and Dining

    Definitely not your moms cooking but still very much edible.

    Dorm Life

    Residency is pretty well lived.

    Academic Rigor

    Be On Top Of The Work!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved Engage in school activities Make sure you are on top of your financial aid Have good time management skills.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Old Westbury has been good to me over the past two and a half years. The class sizes are small allowing a personal relationship with the professor. Campus life is pretty well lived aswell.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food from the cafeteria is really bad.

    Dorm Life

    Well, I can't really say anything about it because I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    A great school

    In three sentences

    It is great school. It is not expensive at all. The school has different races.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. Despite all other failings, it's safe. The police on campus are ever-present, and there are boxes all over the place that call the station if you're in trouble.

    Greek Life

    None, as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch, but they have very specific niches. There's the anime club, which is very specific. A couple of culture clubs that cater to the non-caucasian population

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking to raise GPA before transferring. People who don't particularly care about the academics in a school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Old Academic Building is almost abandoned now that there's a new one. It's a sort of fun place for people to go, because it's so much like a maze. The rooftop is really awesome. I liked it a little better than the new one, even if it was a really old building.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really cheap, so you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Go home on the weekends. If you and a bunch of friends are there, and you have cars, there's a mall about five miles away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food, and there's a Dunkin Donuts on campus. But the school's caterer isn't all that good, and the things you can get from the regular stands are pretty cruddy.

    Dorm Life

    Wasn't a dorm student, but knowing a bunch, I can say that life *in* the dorms isn't all that bad, for the most part. The problem is that everyone smokes or drinks, despite it being a dry campus, because there really isn't anything to do. It's so far from other places that it's annoying to go out, but boring to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    The school's academics are mostly a joke. Unless you're in the Honor's College, don't expect the be held to high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's really hard to get involved in campus life. Join one of the few clubs there. Try and make friends early on, because most people aren't all that friendly.

    In three sentences

    The professors vary from very good to very bad. The school is a good fit for commuters, but doesn't offer residential students a solid campus life. Overall, the school isn't all that great; if you want to go away to college, look elsewhere.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The worst crime I heard occurring on campus is marijuana and/or alcohol use which is very good if you're talking about a safe campus. Lots of parking tickets issued because of the University Police being on campus and having nothing better to do with their time when they know they have more commuter students on campus at one time than there are spaces available.

    Greek Life

    Many sororities and fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities held.

    Great for these types of students

    Black students practically run everything here since the president of the school is black and a priest, Christians have a lot of programs as well. There are white people here but most commute so they don't stay on campus long enough to get involved and most of the people who dorm are from the city and are black so they run majority of the programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dunkin Donuts, Nathan's, Boar's Head. Piano in the Student Union where the bookstore is located, also by Nathan's, and a fee-less ATM.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Cheap school is cheap. Staff is minimal and a lot of older teachers. Cafeteria food is not great but that's Chartwells I guess.

    What to do for fun

    Down time consists of movies, television, music, gym, and the internet. Otherwise I'm studying and doing work.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells based cafeteria and Starbucks coffee, packaged deli sandwiches and salads, Boar's Head, Nathan's, Dunkin Donuts, and Au Bon Pain.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of programs and activities. High focus on black students because majority of those who dorm come from the city and most are black. Many people go home on the weekends and people are gross in the bathrooms sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it's not the best school in the state doesn't mean the classes are not tough and the work easy. It's not high school anymore and the teachers won't treat you that way. There is a lot of work assigned and hard tests that require a lot of time studying for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and do NOT procrastinate work!! You will feel better about getting assignments done with as soon as possible instead of worrying about it last minute. Studying weekly instead of cramming helps you learn the material for long term not just until the test ends and makes you more confident for exams.

    In three sentences

    Little availability per class offered because of lack of teachers. Some teachers are old and burnt out and should be replaced and yet they are the only option but other teachers are so nice and easy work. Lots of hard work and studying but that's average for college.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go out with friends to a party or to the gym to play sports.

    Food and Dining

    The caf�© food isnt always on point but you cant go wrong with nathans.

    Dorm Life

    Way better than being a commuter because students come together.

    Academic Rigor

    The learning is really good and teachers are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to manage your time good.

    In three sentences

    Old westbury is diverse. It isnt bad like people might make it seem. The teachers are good.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join various clubs, sports or even create your own group!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have an amazing time! The people are very friendly and helpful!

    In three sentences

    IT IS AMAZING!

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall for residents and commuters with meal plans only, a dunkin donuts, a Nathans, and an atrium which is like a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    I dont know anything about this because i commute but Old West has the biggest dorm rooms out of all the SUNY schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Im not exactly sure what this is but i guess im going to say old west has many classes but could use more major varieties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be prepared. If you don't like it at Old West...then transfer.

    In three sentences

    I'm not exactly sure how great this school is to other people, but to me it's not all that. They barely have much food options unless you definitely have a meal plan and dorming from what I've been told isn't that great unless your roommate is a good person. Otherwise, I do like that we get Fridays off and the professors care about you getting your work done.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    THe old dorms are in terrible shape.They should be replace.

    In three sentences

    Old Westbury is filled of talent and is inexpensive.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I will say I was screwed twice with the University Police, if this applies to Campus Safety. I never got this apparent email saying that there is no more guest parking available, and you need a parking sticker at every lot, and I parked at the Athletic Center, which as everyone including one officer said, doesn't require a parking sticker, there were signs on every other lot saying you needed a sticker, but none at the Athletic Center to prove those people wrong. I was eventually given a ticket, and I called the University Police to ask them why I got the ticket, and this one male officer explained the no guest parking email that should have been sent to me, and I told him that I never got it, and he just told me that there's nothing I could do about it, insisted that I should have gotten the email, and now I just have to pay it. Later on I was told by another officer that there was something I could have done, and I was really annoyed, it was only fifteen dollars, but it was still fifteen dollars that the school did not deserve. Another problem is the stupid parking stickers they give you. Apparently the stickers from the years before 2013/2014 were a lot better, but the stickers this year can just fall off from some wind or snow, and disappear. I just had this happen to me from the ice and snow over the holiday break, and I had to pay five dollars, I only knew that I could go to the police after I read the paper on the sticker that said to go to the police if it is lost or stolen, and that same day I got it, sure enough, it was gone. I had to file a police report to get a new one, and this one helpful officer said that the chief made a statement that every person with a lost sticker is supposed to file a report with the police, and those people will be given a free sticker when you present the report to the Bursar's Office. I went to the Bursar's Office after getting a report, and they said I needed to pay five dollars, and they said they couldn't do it. The officer who gave it to me said if they give me trouble, just have them call the police, and it should be taken care of. I did that, and the lady at the Bursar's Office said that I had to pay. I went to the police after that, and this blonde female officer, and Hispanic looking male officer behind the desk, were just rude and dismissive towards me, they didn't read the whole thing apparently, and the Hispanic looking one suggested that I was lying against the statement I made, even though what I said was on the statement. I re-read it after they sent me off, and I walked back to them to clarify, and the blonde officer said It's not our problem! Talk to (officer's name)! Needless to say, I was pissed, but after talking to the officer I needed to, it only took one more time of going to the Bursar's Office, getting sent out, since she refused to call up the police, going to the police, and having them call the Bursar's Office, being reassured that this time I will get my sticker, going back, having the lady make me cut the long line, and I finally got my sticker. All of that trouble, just for one sticker. A few weeks later, as I am writing this, I had to have another police report written out to get a new sticker.

    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't into the arts, though there is a BA/BS Visual Arts degree offered.

    Dorm Life

    It's not supposed to be good, you can't really get out anywhere unless you take the shuttle bus, or have a car, which most people don't have cars, and the bus is not run with the school or anything, so it is always late, and very inconvenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    I didn't have a choice in going here, I was supposed to go to somewhere else also close by, but then my parents told me that they couldn't afford it. Make sure this school offers the major you want, because I already knew they didn't have film, but I realized far too late that I probably could have gone somewhere else not too far away, and not too expensive with a film major. Even if this year is taking care of the gen ed classes for me, now I am just sitting around at Old West doing nothing productive.

    In three sentences

    Good school, all the professors I had were nice, and willing to work with you. Most of the other students, however, were boring. I was a little bit disappointed that despite what they say about being so culturally diverse, they do not have a music or film degree or club in existence, and that is a big reason why I am transferring for my second year of college.