Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College at Oneonta Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Based on the information above I can already testify to the fact that Oneonta in an amazing school for the sciences. Other than that I can only say from what I hear and the number of students enrolled in the programs that Education and Music Industry are also big majors here. Aside from that, this school is also very good for the ambitious student, there are lots of opportunities and areas where one can excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you’re interested in Oneonta, but you’re still not sure after reading this than I suggest that you go to the college and talk with some of the professors you will end up having. Look at the classes you would take and other opportunities in your department. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. If the school is right for you, something will click.

    Bang for the buck

    The SUNY system overall is a great system and it can be generally said that you get a lot for your money at any of their schools, but Oneonta exemplifies this fact quite well. As I stated before, I get to go on trips every semester and conduct research projects and so forth. Many of these activities can’t be done at larger or private schools and till the student is in their junior or senior year. There is not much more I can say that I haven’t already said before other than to assure you that for the price your paying, which is small compared to many colleges, you get a lot out of this school.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that I am enjoying my time in Oneonta. I’m enjoying it so much that I am even counting down the days till I go back! There are several reasons why I enjoy myself when in Oneonta. The first reason is the friends of course, I have made many great relationships and I’ve only been there a year. In most cases the professors are very personable which helps enhance the experience at the college. I also love the amount of activities the school puts on which includes but is not limited to, concerts, casino nights, movies at the campus theater, and the occasional dance. The clubs also put on lots of fun activities whether they are shows, conferences, trips or just nights filled with games. There is so much to do on this campus many people have more trouble finding time to do everything rather then actually trying to find something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    To start, I am a sophomore at SUNY Oneonta double majoring in Geology and Anthropology and also perusing a double minor in Biology and Water Resources. After just two semesters at Oneonta, I can already say that I have learned an immense amount of material. Many of my classes have included trips out into the field and the practical experience aids tremendously in the classroom. I was not an Anthropology major when I arrived, however, through the General Education requirements, I was able to take a couple classes in the disciple and become fascinated with it. Along with my classes, I am now in the process of conducting two or three independent research projects with faculty guidance and that is something you won’t find in most schools. I’ve also been able to go on a few trips including a week traveling from Oneonta to Cape Cod studying Geology. I also went on a three week trip to the Southern Rockies studying Geology and Ecology, and April I will be spending a week in Peru for Anthropology. What I am trying to say with all this is that Oneonta has provided me with a whole host of additional learning experiences that I would not be able to get in the classroom alone. Learning at Oneonta is not just limited to academics either. The school provides a plethora of guest lecturers covering topics such as filming in Iraq, to Forensic Anthropology and many topics in between. The campus generally has a leadership conference every year where one can sign up for seminars. The clubs themselves often take trips, put on workshops and other activities that all result in a greater education.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Oneonta is a great place for students considering majoring in art or music. The professors are accomplished and the city of Oneonta has a great music scene as well. Students who are interested in fashion but do not yet wish to move to the city can do really well here. Oneonta has a cooperative program with FIT. Education is also another popular major here at SUNY Oneonta. My friends in the department have nothing but good things to say about their experiences in all of their education classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student considering Oneonta should absolutely visit the campus. During your venture to the valley, don't forget to check out the actual town itself. Downtown Oneonta is very quaint and says a lot about the townspeople here. Do not be afraid to ask questions on the tour, after all, you could possibly end up living here for multiple years of your life. Base your college choice on things that are important to you. Do you mind the unpredictable weather? Do they offer the major you are interested in? You should definitely check out where your future classes are located on campus, it will really help you realize whether or not you can picture yourself living and learning at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    I was considering many other schools but in the end I chose Oneonta mainly because of the price. I never really considered coming to a state school but I don't regret it at all. Some of the programs here, like the music industry program for instance, are very well-renowned. I am getting virtually the same education as my friends who are paying three times as much as I am. There is also a small student fee upon attending, but this fee is well-worth the price as it supports and allows the students to attend events cheaply or free of charge.

    Am enjoying being here

    I haven't had a chance to become involved as much as I would like. However, this is not because there is not plenty to do here. The Student Association has activities to attend every night of the week. During the weekends I can watch a sporting event, go to see a free movie at the red dragon theater, or catch the bus to southside for some shopping. There are multiple intramural sports you can participate in. I am in the Honors Program and also hope to become a Resident Advisor sometime in the near future.

    Am learning a lot

    Although my classes have been difficult for introductory level courses, I have definitely learned a great deal of information. In high school, I struggled with Physics but here I find it easier to understand. My teachers have studied at prestigious universities and have actually worked in their fields. They have a lot to offer their students and are always willing to set up appointments if you do not fully understand the information.

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who have financial need, yet still want to go to a great quality school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get into a First Year Experience dorm. That was how I was able to meet almost all of my friends!

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools in NY state, yet one of the best quality educational experiences overall.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is definitely my dream school; a cute, quite town with a lot to do without having to go far. The setting - the middle of New York - is beautiful, particularly during the fall. Everyone here has been nice to me since day one. My family and I actually call it the Stepford campus because of how perfect it is!

    Am learning a lot

    The vast majority of professors here know an extensive bit of what they're talking about. Topics were explored in-depth and questions were explained to the fullest extent available. I'm learning a lot about not only what I'm majoring in but also about other topics of interest.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus police department and emergency poles throughout campus. I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Fraternity life is big. Sororities not as popular.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for EVERYONE! They have academic clubs, sports, recreation, and many fun opportunities to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Brain is a little cafe in one of the dining halls, which is open late. We like to go there! They also have board games and it's a nice, cozy atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    There are movies shown on campus, and once a month there is a dorm activity in a different dorm. These need to be better publicized and better attended! Lots of kids go downtown with fake IDs and bar hop, but that doesn't appeal to me. There are many fraternity parties as well. The town has great restaurants and there's a mall nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but very fast-food-like. The salads are great! It would also be really great if the dining halls stayed open later, as sometimes we have activities or classes that prevent us from going to dinner at dinnertime. And on the weekends, we like to have dinner later.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be so much better if there were activities planned to help people get to know each other and hang out together. Unless you're in a freshman dorm, there is very little opportunity to meet other students in your dorm, unless you are extremely outgoing, and you just go up and down the halls introducing yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major you choose, it varies. The education major is very intense, while the communications major is less so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities. It's a great way to meet people that are interested in the same things you are. As a freshman, definitely live in a FYE (Freshman Year Experience) dorm! It's very comforting to know that everyone is new, and there is more of a chance to meet people in these dorms.

    In three sentences

    I love Oneonta and recommend it to anyone who wants a medium-sized school. It has many options for studies as well as extra-curricular activities. The campus is very pretty.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Oneonta is great for most students. It is also great for students who are athletes. It is a good fit for those interested in Education, and Family and Consumer Science. SUNY Oneonta is a safe space for the LGBT community and is always looking for ways to support diversity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always visit a school before you decide to go there. Sometimes the first year is the hardest for various reasons. Even though many people transfer, it is my experience that things get better as you spend more time at school.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that I am learning as much here as I would be in a very expensive private school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors here are all very helpful and love it when students come by during office hours. They have their own personalities and it makes class interesting. Sometimes they'll sneak in a joke to keep everyone interested. They are very personable and the work is usually laid out in an organized manner so that all expectations are known. There is always a campus activity going on whether it be a movie, a discussion, a comedy show or something else.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a first semester sophomore here at SUCO. So far I have learned more than I could've hoped for. My major is Anthropology and even though the beginning classes are introductory, the professors dive right in to the heart of the major. I love going to my classes because I am learning things that are going to help me directly when I am working in the field.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get a solid education but make memories on the way there this is the school. I knew very little of the school but once I study up on it and went to Oneonta I loved it. It gets cold here but hey cold weather, warm hearts!

    Tips for prospective students

    This goes for any college but I feel it is true, make sure to get a high GPA in your freshman year. Also, learn to manage your time and don't allow the party life to consume you. If you can do these things you are going to leave Oneonta with a nice degree and memories for a lifetime.

    Bang for the buck

    The fact that this school tuition is less then 5500, and it is ranked higher than most private colleges in New York speaks a lot for the bang for the buck part. Want to live off campus but don't feel like paying a lot for your four years of exploration? Go SUNY, better than the City colleges but up there with the private schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met a lot of great friends from classes, clubs, athletic events, greek life, heck even at random from the dining hall. Also weekends it isn't hard to find something to do, maybe a movie, a party, and even the schools sets up some sort of activity to keep you busy.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great, don't let this school fool you! It is becoming recognized nationally for it's academics and the fact that the professors want to see you succeed only adds to this schools growing reputation.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    pass through the pillars is fun along with oh fest

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs that students can join for fun and there are always fun activities happening on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is pretty good, however there are many rules that students have to abide by.

    Academic Rigor

    many of the majors are very demanding, and most professors are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should know that the school is in an area where the weather is always changing and have to dress for every possibility. the academics have many stages and requirements for each major.

    In three sentences

    a school based on helping it's students. allows for students to do many things online. academics are student focused.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of anything happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am in Greek Life and I love it, I met a great group of girls and I know that once I graduate I'll keep in contact with most of them. There's something for everyone you just gotta find where you feel comfortable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way too many clubs and activities to choose from. Good luck!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes there's flashmobs in the quad during class...it's pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth going to this school for the amount of money you're paying.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do! There's always something going on on campus and there's like 10 different bars. Also, spring is the best in Oneonta because of the weather and the fact that the town looks so nice.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, they've been redoing a lot of things and the dining halls was one of them. The food is decent, especially the downstairs area in Mills.

    Dorm Life

    All freshman dorms were just remade so they're beautiful and brand new!

    Academic Rigor

    Speaking from the education program, it's so time-consuming and it makes you work hard, but it is totally worth it in the end. They prepare you very well for the real-world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid if you don't pick your own roommate! The college does their best pairing you up with someone who you have things in common with. Don't be shy either, try to meet people in your dorm in case the rooming situation doesn't go so well.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, it's not too big, but not too small either, just the perfect size. If you are looking for a great education program than Oneonta is the place. The professors are always there to help you out and overall, all the students are very friendly and helpful.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and activities, parties, bars and a small mall.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for off campus housing try to go though private owners not the the big student housing companies.

    In three sentences

    Great psychology program and extra curricular activities. Beautiful campus and excellent town to live in. Suny Oneonta is the perfect balance of rural living while having an active social and academic life.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    HARRY POTTER CLUB!

    Great for these types of students

    Even if you're not a social butterfly or into partying, you can still find things to do.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do on and off campus for fun. There are constantly events on campus and places to hang out. It's like a 10 minute walk to get into town but bus transportation is free and convenient, so going into town is always an option.

    Food and Dining

    the food is actually pretty good, and I'm an expert on food if I say so myself.

    Dorm Life

    There's a good amount of room and the dorm buildings are usually pretty clean.

    Academic Rigor

    it honestly depends on what you're majoring in, what classes you're taking, and your own motivation to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't get lazy!

    In three sentences

    I love it here!

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The police are usually on the watch 24/7 and you'll never be in any danger because there are emergency call posts everywhere!

    Greek Life

    There's a variety of fraternities and sororities on campus. A lot of them seem extremely pleasant and nice, however, greek life isn't for everybody! They do throw amazing and fun parties, so you'll definitely have fun at them :)

    Clubs and Activities

    They have movies that aren't even out on DVD yet playing every weekend in the campus theater! There's also comedians that come on Monday nights and for something called Oh-Fest they have extremely popular bands come and perform! Its awesome

    Great for these types of students

    Prospective students who want to live the dorm life they see in movies and there are also extremely great events downtown and on campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester they have a really fun Humans Vs. Zombies active game thats really interesting and a great way of meeting new people!

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on where you dorm and your meal plan, Oneonta is definitely an affordable college, especially if you are a New York resident!

    What to do for fun

    You can go downtown and hangout with your friends! There are hiking trails by Hartwick called Table Rock and Strawberry Fields which overlook an amazing view of the landscape and mountains. The Hunt Union on campus is awesome to hangout in with the video game lair and Starbucks! Oneonta is a wonderful college town with a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls here on campus have a huge variety in types of food. Whether you like Chinese food, Pizza, Sandwhiches, Burritos, Wraps, or if you're a Vegan they have everything! They can make you fresh wraps, sandwiches, or even stir fry. There is even a portion of one dining hall called My Kitchen where they have specialty meals daily and you can even cook your own food! They have breakfast, lunch, and dinner and all of the deserts you can think of!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are very nice and very clean! I've had a wonderful experience living in a Quad, which consists of two bedrooms and a common room. You can customize your room and common room any way you like and its very comfortable!

    Academic Rigor

    I have to say I am getting an excellent education here. The professors I've had so far are extremely knowledgable and there is even a lot of campus activities and clubs you can join that coincide with your major! Its fantastic

    Tips for prospective students

    Oneonta is a very interesting town! There's almost every type of restaurant downtown, ranging from Chinese food to Greek to Italian! The Campus community is amazing and there is even a starbucks on campus! It's a wonderful school and I would definitely recommend SUNY Oneonta.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a great college for experience and meeting new people. The students that go here are great, and I love the community! The town is a wonderful and fun college town with so much to do!

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of clubs on campus that welcome new people.

    Food and Dining

    MyKitchen has the greatest food out of all the dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    You will meet some great people in the dorms. I recommend First Year Experience to all oncoming freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Most academic programs are nationally accredited.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school will change the way you think about everything. By the time you go home, you will start to see things in all different perspectives. Come with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta has the greatest education program out of all SUNY schools. It is known for it's Music Industry program as well. This school never disappoints.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yes. suny oneonta has the best education of my four years

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard. it will pay off

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable

    Am learning a lot

    Best education in the SUNY U New York State

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone willing to work hard. Education is a big major here so if you are interested in teaching in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school! Stay with a friend if you know people going here. Visit the town, it's so cute and cozy. The bookstore is expensive so I suggest getting your books used and offline.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a Suny school the price is pretty reasonable.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is just so much to do in Oneonta! I enjoy being here so much. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The campus is beautiful and there are so many clubs and activities offered. The dorms are really nice and the dining halls offer a good selection of foods for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my classes are awesome. I have learned so much in one semester at Oneonta than I did at my community college in four semesters. I originally went into Oneonta pursuing a degree in Psychology but after taking a class that I did not think I would be interested in, I changed my major because I fell in love with the class.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, students with an education major in mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. It is not like high school where you really don't need to study. But to pass your classes you need to study and you need to do your homework and hand it in on time. Some teachers are nice and will accept papers and other homework assignments late, but others will not. Also, pay attention in class because sometimes that information will be on tests even if it isn't in your notes. Ask questions and ask for help if you need it. No one will look down on you for it.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely learning a lot here and i have experienced so much. To be honest i'm perfectly sure that they teach the same stuff here as they would at any private school. I even had a girl from Hartwick (a private college next door) in one of my classes at Oneonta! I guess we might have more options than a higher cost school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at SUNY Oneonta, the campus is beautiful and the people are great. The teachers are amazing and they want to help you so feel free to ask questions. The other students there are very friendly and it is definitely a change from high school, at least for me. Most people don't judge you for how you look or anything they accept you for who you are and i love it because that was something i didn't have in my highschool: acceptance. It is a great atmosphere and i love it.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Sophomore here at SUNY Oneonta and am pursuing a major in Child and Family Studies and will be pursuing a masters degree in Social Work. I have just recently declared my major so i have yet to learn much about it but i have learned so much in my other classes about the subject and about life. It really is a great experience.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The education department at Oneonta is very well respected and highly focused on by the school itself. However, this school is one of the better known SUNY schools and therefore any degree is an accomplishment that prospective employers and schools recognize.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors well. They are very knowledgeable and helpful not only in the classroom, but also with applications and other problems that college students face everyday. Having an adult mentor while you are away at school is extremely beneficial both academically and having a trustworthy adult to talk to helps ease the homesickness.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending a SUNY school means state residents receive a large tuition break comparatively to private schools. Though living on campus is quite expensive, this state school is much cheaper than most other colleges. The meal plan on campus is unlimited and at least one dining hall or cafe is open between 7am and 11pm which makes it convenient for any student's busy schedule.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy my time at Oneonta very much. Oneonta is a large enough school to have a variety of people, but small enough to develop personal relationships with peers and professors. To me, it is the perfect size for a school because I am constantly meeting new people, yet I recognize people on campus all the time too. There are also a great deal of activities to do and clubs to join on campus. From the Zombie Defense Core to the Knitting Club, and all the way to club sports, there is a club for every interest on campus. Outside of clubs there are always events happening on campus such as Casino Night, The World's Largest Soccer Game, and campus wide picnics in the Quad. There are absolutely no excuses for boredom on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    College is a completely different experience than high school, especially academically. You must learn how to study, what to study, and when to study, which not many people learned how to do in high school. Time efficiency is also a must so it is absolutely necessary to keep focused because there is a lot to learn. Certain classes can be particularly challenging at Oneonta, which only pushes serious students to work harder. Professors expect students work hard to earn their grades, which obviously requires learning the material, and in turn grant their students with respect and fairness. Overall, the learning experience at Oneonta involves gaining knowledge both in the classroom and on your own. Students learn about the subjects in which they are studying, but they also learn which techniques to use to help them excel in the classroom.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Some sororities/fraternities are unrecognized by the college which should raise caution if you want to get involved in Greek life. But Greek life can be great for some and not for others.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 100 clubs/organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Art, Music, Education, Dietetic/Food Administration majors

    Bang for the buck

    Before I came to Oneonta, I went to a private school. The athletic facilities, dorms, and dining halls were not nearly as nice as the facilities at Oneonta.

    What to do for fun

    Many students like to party and go out to bars, but as a student that works hard and is mainly focused on academic school work , I do a lot of volunteering which keeps me away from overdoing partying.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on major

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. I know many students who do not like Oneonta because they are not involved in club/organizations. I'm involved in 4 clubs and love all of them. It's a great way to meet people that have similar interests. Also, clubs pertaining to your major will help you to gain experience or insight to your field of study.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a a great school especially if you want a good education, but don't want to pay for a private school. Oneonta offers many scholarships in your department for your academic field, many clubs and organizations, and leadership opportunities. Many students enjoy Oneonta, but like every school, it's what you make of it.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    party, bars, skating, movies, and out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    food is great !

    Tips for prospective students

    hand in all paper work on time and stay focus.

    In three sentences

    suny oneonta is very fun. there are many opportunities at this school. the social life is also fun.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are a lot of sororities and fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to serve their community by volunteering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Passing through the pillars is an unusual tradition but it is fun. http://www.oneontaalumni.com/s/885/index-plain.aspx?sid=885&gid=1&pgid=1172

    What to do for fun

    There are on campus clubs that fits many students interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep on top of your assignments because the work can pile up in the middle of the semester.

    In three sentences

    Oneonta is a good school. This school is big on volunteering. There are many clubs to get involved in.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of this campus is very secure. There are blue towers all around the campus to ensure students safety 24/7. If you ever need help, these towers provide the ease of just the push of a button and help is on its way immediately.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved int he Greek life, but it is a great way to make friends. My friends who have pledged for a sorority or fraternity say they love it and have the time of their while still keeping up with their school work. It can be overwhelming at first to join, but its benefits shine soon after.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous club and activities offered through this college. I am involved in Habitat for Humanity and it is awesome. There was a Georgia trip offered for students to partake in and also there are many community service opportunities to partake in, as well. These community service opportunities are fun too because the one I did was very fun.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Oneonta is a welcoming environment for any student that would like to attend it. Students from all over the world come to this amazing college to have the experience local students are getting. It truly is a college that others should envy because they simply do not attend it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus provides 3 dining halls that include great variety of food items. There is also a large vending machine that is open 24/7 for whoever needs anything. They have anything from medicine to sandwiches available all the time which is very convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is not that expensive considering how much it offers. You get a lot for the money you put in. I am pleased with the costs of this college compared to other colleges that are overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    SUNY Oneonta is always trying to engage their students into joining fun activities. For instance, carnivals and dogs were brought to campus to provide study breaks to students. The activities on campus help create a safe and fun environment for all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at SUNY Oneonta is absolutely outstanding. Other schools do not have the food options that this school has. The food is very good; try not to gain weight when you come!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a wondeful aspect to the college life. SUNY Oneonta certainly provides dorms full of work ethics lifestyle, fun and a way to make new friends. The dorm life consists of being around people all the time which helps make the transition from high school to college be a altogether motion.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is great on keeping up with people. If a person fails to reach a goal, the school will be sure to let them know and they do it in a great manner. SUNY Oneonta is very on top oft heir work and will help you in any aspect so you can attain your desire.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students coming to this school or thinking about coming; come! This school offers many majors to choose from and it is loaded with people who are there to help you 24/7. This school is a great choice because it fulfills everyone's needs.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a great school with many benefits. I am now a Sophomore and absolutely love the campus, teachers and people that attend the college. I would not choose any other college and the atmosphere is inviting.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUNY Oneonta has a police station right on campus so their are always police officers close by. The campus is also interspersed with blue lights which are tall, blue poles that have a red button on them. When that red button is pushed theres a light on the top of the pole that will begin to flash and the response rate for police officers to arrive at the activated pole is about 30 seconds.

    Clubs and Activities

    SUNY Oneonta offers any club you could possibly think of and the best part is that if they dont offer it and its a club that you think a lot of students will be interested in, you can start your own club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tino's pizza is a pretty traditional place to go for pizza. Especially after the bars close and your getting those midnight munchies.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do for fun is to seek out and meet new friends and get acquainted with them. You could also go for a walk and visit the shops all down main street. Lastly, if your going to go to oneonta, make sure you stop at Tino's Pizza and have a slice of cold cheese pizza, it's amazing.

    Food and Dining

    For the first few months of school there seems to be a plethora of options when it comes to what to eat for the day, however, after a few months, these choices become very repetative. The same foods are offered everyday and rarely seem to change all that much.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year dorm life is awesome. you get the best residence halls and the cleanest too. Their big and very welcoming with their RA staff. However every other dorm building after freshman year declines in its value. Dorm life is still good dont get me wrong, but upperclass dorms dont have a kitchen or any of the game rooms that freshman halls offer.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your academic major, SUNY Oneonta is relatively average when it comes to academic rigor. Of course if you choose a harder major you are going to have a bit more work and you are going to have to put more time into it as you take on different courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice i could give to a prospective student would be to keep up on your homework. It's much easier to do your work as it comes rather than trying to catch up when you fall behind.

    In three sentences

    The environment on campus is very open and welcoming and everyone is approachable and nice. Most of the teachers respect their students. construction workers have no respect for student schedules.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many cultural clubs that thrives on the notable foreign exchange student population. Plenty of odd-hobby clubs as well from zombie nerf guns to Japanese animation and manga.

    Great for these types of students

    Education majors.

    What to do for fun

    For most party-focused undergrads, the nearby town has all the bars and clubs you'd expect for a quiet, middle-of-nowhere town. For nature lovers, plenty of beautiful scenic areas to explore.

    Food and Dining

    Good variety but quality wavers dependent on staff.

    Dorm Life

    Reasonable space and furnishings; conveniently located near dining halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Medium-level rigorousness; difficulty of course ranges depending on department and course level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the departments, scheduling and availability of courses throughout the year.

    In three sentences

    A more personal-classroom experience. Mixed bag in terms of professors. Could use more diverse course options.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are EMTs and police stationed on campus with a good response time. There are tall blue towers that are emergency lights always within sight and you can head towards if you are in danger. There is a escort service if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I said, there is a club for every major, there is a radio station, there are for-fun clubs like the outing club, an anime club, and a zombie themed club. There are more serious clubs like the Student Association, which handles a lot of the entertainment on campus. There are sports teams and quite a few inter-school games. You're more than likely to find a group you like, and they are funded by the number of members, so they have events and trips you can go on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a walk through the pillars tradition that freshmen and seniors do when they arrive and leave. There is also cold cheese pizza, which isn't as bad as it sounds.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering it is a SUNY school and not a private one, it is both cheaper and very good education-wise. It is beautiful, pretty safe, and you will get a good education if you try.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs on campus, usually at least one for all the different majors, some that are very nice for your resume too. There are sports and fields near the student union. There is a weekly broadcast that gives all the events on campus by day. (Usually bands, shows, movies, general entertainment.) There is an outing club that going on hiking, skiing, camping etc. (They are a little hard to get to, being stationed, for some reason, inside one of the Hulbert dorm.) If you like to party, you have to go to town, it's a dry campus and alcohol is very much punished. Remember to be safe and have a way to get home again.

    Food and Dining

    There are three dining halls, Wilsbach, Mills, and Hulbert. Hulbert is on the far end of campus from the student union, and next to the health center. Mills and Wilsbach are right next to each other. Wilsbach is your best bet for vegan food. They have a salad station, pasta, sandwich, and a diner like area. It's also the most popular and will be ridiculously crowded at certain times. Mills has an upstairs hall, and a marketplace downstairs. Marketplace had sandwiches, sushi, pizza, wings, convenience stone food, and frozen stuff. The upstairs has Chinese, southwestern, and diner style foods. Hulbert is out of the way, and less crowded. Everyone who works there is really nice and very friendly. They have a pasta station, sandwich and salad, a diner area, a stir fry and burrito area, and sometimes week long themed meals. All the food is reasonable, all the halls have breakfast and fruit all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are generally pretty small and a bit expensive. I've been in a FYE double, a double in Hulbert, and a quad in Sherman. If you like your room mate(s), all of these are livable. The custodial staff takes work orders for the room: to loft your bed, or make it a bunk with your room mate, to fix anything that that breaks, to remove furniture that come with the room that you do not want. The beds are extra long twins, so shop accordingly. A mattress pad would not go amiss if you do badly on harder beds. Get to know the people in your hall. Your RA is a a good person to be friends with too. Go to the hall socials, they can be fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a dual major in Computer Art and Computer Science. Both of these majors will eat a lot of time with projects and homework. Both majors get harder the more classes you do, but at a reasonable pace if you pay attention. If you don't understand a class by the end of it, I recommend taking it again over the summer or the next semester, the classes are built on the previous ones. All the teachers have required office hours when you can visit them to ask questions. The school has a tutoring service, CADE, that has peer tutoring and walk in tutoring from professionals. Pay attention in class and study, and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students, take your ID card with you everywhere you go. Don't lose your key, it's expensive. Join as many clubs that hold your interest: get yourself out there, some of these people have connections to things you will want to be involved in. This may seem pretty obvious, but go to class and pay attention. These teachers aren't like high school teachers, there is rarely attendance and it is up to you to keep yourself on track. Make friends! College is very hard when there aren't people with you. A good friend or two to suffer with you will really make everything a little easier. Make friends with the custodial staff: they are really awesome people, and can help you out if you get locked out, or lose something, or sometimes if you need something. Do everything ahead of time, if you can. It will free you up for your own leisure and seriously reduces stress. Keep your living space organised.

    In three sentences

    SUCO has a beautiful campus. SUCO's departments for Computer Science and Computer Art are not very big, but everyone knows what they are doing. It is a pretty safe campus, and have a wide range of student services with real professionals like doctors, councilors, EMTs and policemen.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a bluelight system on campus. There are blue light poles located in every location of campus. If a student ever feels unsafe walking around, they can press the button on the pole and a campus security guard or police officer will come and pick you up and bring you to your dorm or wherever you need to go. There is also a policy of signing in when you come back to your dorm after 11 PM. If you are bringing in a guest, you have to sign them in and they need to show ID too.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life in Oneonta is fun if you are a part of it. You make a lot of friends and build connections that may help you get jobs in your future. Also, you can take part in community events and fundraisers that you can put on your resume.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for everyone on campus! There are sports clubs for the more athletic people, a sushi making club, zombie club for those students who want to be physically active on campus, and music playing and music industry clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Oneonta has many sports teams, intramural as well as professional college teams. For those people who are looking to make a lot of friends and connections for their future endeavors, as well as do things that will look good on their resume, they can be a part of the Greek life on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the beginning of the year, new freshman walk through the pillars on the top of a hill on campus. it symbolizes a new year and new students. When those freshman are seniors, they walk through the pillars again, symbolizing they have completed their 4 years at college.

    Bang for the buck

    Oneonta has a campus that is very friendly and not too big. There is a swimming pool that is open for free swim during certain hours. They have stands in the middle of campus where people can hold fundraisers.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun! On campus, people can go to plays, dance shows, and to the theatre to see movies that are playing on the weekends. Also, people can go downtown and there places to eat, little shops to shop in, and concerts at times.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining halls is good. There are several different foods to choose from such as Chinese, Mexican, wraps, sandwiches, Italian, etc. There is also a convenience store on campus that has microwavable food, a sandwich making station, a pizza/Italian food station and they make sushi as well!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a always a good time. It is fun in the first place because it is where most students learn to live without their parents doing things for them. There are also a lot of fun activities that the resident advisors plan for the residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and students at Oneonta take their studies seriously. Students spend a lot of time in the library on campus. They can work together with other students, use all the resources provided to them, and get help from the reference desk too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you bring rain boots because it rains a lot! Also, living in an FYE building freshman year allows to meet a lot of people and make friends. There are a lot of interesting and fun classes to take as electives as well!

    In three sentences

    It is a school with opportunities for all different types of students. There are clubs for everyone. Most of the teachers are very helpful and approachable.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police at SUNY Oneonta are extremely vigilant and skilled. Furthermore, at any point on campus one can see an Emergency Blue Light which can be used to summon campus security in the event of an emergency, or if you just need someone to escort you home late at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at SUNY Oneonta is some of the best around. The fraternities and sororities are at the forefront of campus activity and are welcoming and kind to all students, at all time.

    Clubs and Activities

    The annual club fair shows how diverse and entertaining extracurricular activities are at SUNY Oneonta. There is a club for everybody: skiers, skaters, singers, and chess players! The Zombie Defense Corps is of particular note as one of the most entertaining and inclusive clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody who considers themselves fun-loving or outgoing will fir right in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ask anybody in Oneonta about the view from Table Rock and you will get a positive reaction. It is without a doubt the most beautiful spot in the city and, while difficult to access, is well worth the hike. Plus you get to experience nature on the way!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at SUNY Oneonta perfectly reflects what to expect from the school. Every dollar you pay comes back to you in some way, be it through campus events, free food, or of course fantastic education and learning.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activity is rampant in SUNY Oneonta. You can play intramural sports, join a club, or just lay out on the lawns during the fantastically sunny summer months. The clubs and organizations are constantly putting on fun events that anyone can participate in. Each semester there are free comedy shows, dramatic productions, and movies. I once got to destroy a pickup truck with a sledgehammer, and support breast cancer research at the same time!

    Food and Dining

    SUNY Oneonta has some of the best dining hall food in any university in the country. The Sodexo staff is amiable and skilled, plus they are always open to suggestions. You will find yourself looking forward to meals here, not ordering pizza to avoid dining hall disasters.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories are well organized facilities, always well cleaned and kept at a good temperature year round. The RA's are always actively creating events in which residents can meet and mingle with each other, and everyone is friendly and helpful. Most importantly, the dorms allow for an easy transition that will make you're room feel like home in no time!

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Oneonta manages to walk the line between soul-crushing workloads and a lack of available information. Freeloading will get you no where, so it takes effort and determination to succeed, but the saying goes you get out what you put in, and it applies here. An active mind is a healthy mind!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing! Every student in Oneonta either is in or remember's being in the position of an incoming Freshman, and you will never feel more accepted than when interacting with these people. Don't be afraid to put your personality on the map, because I can guarantee that someone else wants to meet you too!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a diverse, active, and engaging university. Both the campus and city are beautiful places to live and visit. I recommend this college to any person who wants a tried and true, genuine college experience.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to choose from. There is an exbo every semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Future Teachers Actors Nerds

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs Zombies Zombie prom second chance prom

    What to do for fun

    Wander around town Clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    There are party-ers here, they are loud and are active on tuesdays. If you are not one, there are plenty of other clubs to join to meet people and have fun. Twice a year there is a tag game called Humans vs Zombies that is put on by the Zombie Defense Corps that uses Nerf blasters. It is fun and the club is friendly.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice place. It is full of kind people who want to help. There are people that are rude and teachers that use there power falsely; but not many.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe at Oneonta. I've been out late by myself once or twice and felt fine. There are always people out at odd times anyway, so you tend to never be completely alone.

    Greek Life

    I wouldn't say that Greek Life is a huge part of Oneonta - compared to other, larger schools - but there are numerous organizations that you can join if you're interested. Hazing is absolutely forbidden so there's no need to worry about being mistreated!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities that one can join here, from something in your major to just an interest or hobby you have on the side.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the small classroom environment from high school should definitely come here. The teachers learn your name and recognize your face so it feels very personal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the first week of every school year, the freshmen pass through the Pillars on campus as a symbol of when the school first began and where the first building on campus was. The pond located at Hunt Union is actually shaped like New York State and the fountain in the middle is where Oneonta is located within the state.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs that are offered here at Oneonta. I'm already a part of 4 clubs! It's easy to get involved. There's also Greek Life if you're interested in joining a fraternity or sorority. The school offers buses that can take you into town where you can grab something to eat. If you're looking to go shopping, there's also a bus that takes you to the mall, Walgreens, Walmart, the movie theater, and many more places. Even at the school, there are weekly movie screenings and even concerts. Last week we had rapper Childish Gambino and in October The Gym Class Heroes are coming!

    Food and Dining

    They provide you with your basics so as long as you're ok with a little repetition (which you'll find at any college dining halls), the food is great! You're even allowed to do take out which I take full advantage of. There's a Seven Eleven-like store at one of the dining halls where you can get your staples such as milk for cereal or regular snacks, or an actual meal.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a newly renovated dorm, so obviously there are no complaints! The furniture and everything are all completely brand new and unused. But all of the freshmen dorms have recently been renovated as well, so they're also extremely nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The AP and College level course I took in high school definitely prepared me for the work here at Oneonta. It's still taking some time to get used to some of the teacher's requirements, but overall, there's the perfect balance so far between being easy and difficult. All of the teachers are willing to help as long as you recognize that you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember: college isn't a vacation, it's still school. Location matters but ultimately, you should be thinking about the quality of the school first. I recommend considering these entities first when looking at colleges: do they have your intended major and the cost and size of the school. Then worry about the weather where the school is and how many of your friends are or aren't going there.

    In three sentences

    The environment is extremely friendly. You come here and it just feels like home. The campus is beautiful and everybody is willing to help-just don't be scared to ask!

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus. The town is not too bad either.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. I have been to some really cool events. There is Zombie Prom in fall, concerts, comedians, poetry slams etc...

    Great for these types of students

    Most of the Students are from Long Island.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oh-Fest. Passing through the pillars for freshmen and graduation day. It represents how the college began as the Oneonta Normal School.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is well maintained. They are building more dorms right now. There are computers in every building. Great price. I have no loans right now by living off campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot of places to go in town, but a little creativity goes a long way. Ive gone roller blading, played video games on campus, they have a free movie night. There have been some big concerts on campus. Every year there is OH-fest.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a lot better than some of the colleges I have visited. Check out Wilsbach, they have a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. The suite style dorms are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes seem to be the most difficult. anatomy and physiology is the hardest science class at the school. Classes can be difficult, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard. you can make your own fun. Check the student page to find out activities on campus.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. The professors are very helpful if you are having trouble with a concept from class. Great campus, well worth the tuition, definitely bang for the buck.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The thought of something going awry on campus is unheard of. There are many outlets on campus that manage the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of recognized and unrecognized fraternities and sororities, and they are all the same. Unless you can manage a lot of heavy drinking while still getting your work done, don't consider pledging, make your own friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs, and sports that cater to the growth and development of teamwork and having fun. The list of clubs on campus is too long to write!

    Great for these types of students

    Education majors and musicians certainly thrive here.

    Bang for the buck

    Unlimited food (on campus) and unlimited opportunities make this a very good place to go to school.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do for fun on campus! There are so many clubs and activities. Sports, there's video game room on campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is abundant on campus, but it's usually the same thing everyday and it does get old fast.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life really depends on where you live on campus, there are quiet buildings and crazy buildings! Wherever you go though, you're promised to make a few good friends.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always going to be a work load for students, regardless of their majors, but as far as my major goes(music industry) the work load is decent but there is still a lot of time to chill out.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you do attend, remember this isn't high school, go to class, do your readings and this will be a very enjoyable college experience.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great liberal arts school for any student who isn't quite sure of what they want to do after college. They offer a wide variety of majors and minors with an outstanding teaching staff. The students here are mostly friendly and the atmosphere here is very chill.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I must say that this campus is very safe and university police has is usually visible all over campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much but there are a few Greek organizations on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs that people can join.

    Great for these types of students

    This institute is great for students wanting to major in dietetics . This is my major and the teachers are very good.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go downtown with my friends and have pizza or go to the bars and play pool.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is actually better than most campuses.

    Dorm Life

    This institute has average dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can become difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you know what you want to do in the future because it can be expensive if you change your major multiple times. I will advise you to go to a community college and get most of your general education causes done so that you can get a better understanding of of various topics.

    In three sentences

    This institute is great and has many majors to choose from. The classes are bigger than what I will like but the teacher are usually very good and well trained. The campus is beautiful and the people are nice.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs, a college camp, a full strip of shops on mainstreet, tons of trails in the woods, and perfect hills for longboarding!

    Food and Dining

    I love the food and the dining halls! Mondays and Wednesdays have real chefs at Mills and the food makes me feel like I'm at a fancy restaurant!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful! Its always great to know that you have a plethora of friends just minutes from your room!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always willing to lend a helping hand and are incredibly nice!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and be sure to interchange the dining halls so you don't get sick of the food!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a great college experience filled with awesome people, informative professors, and a great staff. Everyone is always willing to answer questions. Not to mention that there are always things to do!

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is a lot of Greek life to explore, if you were planning to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a countless number of groups and activities to get involved in. There are so many to choose from, you'll find the one that's right for you.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of things to do for fun. Oneonta's SAAC always has fun event planned, like movies on the weekend, bowling trips, ice skating trips, comedy acts, concerts, etc. The night life is full of energy. There are all different kinds of bars for all different types of people. You'll always be able to find something to do during your free time.

    Food and Dining

    Unlimited dining plan, if you live on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dress warm because it gets cold up here. Purchase rain boots and/or snow boots beforehand!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta's campus is very nice and chill. It has a great atmosphere and you always feel safe on campus. Overall, the professors provide a valuable learning experience and are always willing to help you.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is great. Not much goes on around here, but if something does occur the campus police are there in a hurry.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are enough options from Debate team to choirs to dance teams and equality groups. Anyone can find a club that interest them and they can even make one if necessary.

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely great for education majors since it's the number one major on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a SUNY, it is pretty great when you think about the amount you pay(which is inexpensive). Beautiful campus, unlimited dining, decent residence halls and a cute location.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small town, so it is really hard to find things to do. The campus does promote events held on campus such as comedy nights, trivia games, performances, and other activities. However, you have to keep an eye out for these things because you might miss them. Oh yeah the majority of students do go out to party on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    There are three dining halls on campus. One dining hall in particular serves food that appeals to all students ,because of the cultural dishes. the dining hall food can be quite delicious, especially when there are special occasions or chefs decide to whip up something !

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen live in FYE dorms(first year experience), and all the other students live in either quads, suite/apartment style halls, or off campus. I enjoy living around people who are similar to me. It is easier to make new friends and develop relationships. Living around other students is quite different and you learn so much from the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty good. The professors seem to know what they are teaching and often care about your well-being. It's all about paying attention and if you need help seek them from the available resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    For one, be an individual ; It's way better than joining the crowd!!!!! Don't surround yourself with people who don't complement you and by saying that I mean hang around people who are similar to you(not meaning race, but intellect). Read your syllabus and be on top of your work!!! Welcome to College!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a beautiful campus located in a small town. If you want to go to a college that is in a rural area, Oneonta is for you. It's quite peaceful and calm and lovely if you want to get away from all the noise.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    From what I've checked out, the dorms are your typical college dorms. You are not living in a palace, but unless you plan on attending Harvard, you are not going to get that anywhere. That being said, you will still be comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, I still have a few months left of high school, so I can't make any legitimate claims to the academic vigor of SUNY Oneonta.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep on top of your grades--while you may not need a perfect SAT score to get into this school, the higher your GPA and SAT scores, the greater chance you will have of receiving a scholarship from Oneonta.

    In three sentences

    While I still have a few months left of high school, I can honestly say that I am looking forward to my future at SUNY Oneonta. So far the college has been very helpful in my application process and I can see myself fitting in very comfortably there.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There are Blue Lights everywhere. If you push the button, campus police will come to your aid almost immediately. Police are driving around the campus at all hours of the day or night, so I feel safe walking alone.

    What to do for fun

    Going out on the weekend is fun, however not necessary for a fulfilling college experience. Staying in and watching a movie with a bunch of friends every once in a while is extremely satisfying in my opinion. Getting lunch at Tino's or the Yellow Deli on a Saturday afternoon is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but can get old after a while. It's good to eat the dining hall food (considering you paid for it already), but it's nice to eat off campus every once and a while. Brooks BBQ is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are very nice. At night, it can get loud outside if your windows are open. The walls are paper thin, so have a good relationship with your neighbors in order to ask them to quiet down after quiet hours if an RA doesn't do it first.

    Academic Rigor

    You are going to have your easy classes, your hard classes, your classes that you thought would be extremely easy and turn out very difficult, and visa versa. It all depends on what you like and how you respond with different teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and make friends with people from your hall and classes. You may not think you would every be friends with a certain type of person, but realize that this person may become one of your closest friends. Since the weather is always changing, make sure you leave with a jacket, but be prepared to make it off when you are in a hot classroom. Also, you shoes will get ruined by the salt, so don't stay too attached, or just leave your favorite shoes at home. Eat off campus occasionally, it will be nice to eat something other that Chinese food, pizza, or a wrap.

    In three sentences

    Oneonta is a great college. Being active with different clubs and sports on campus will make your college experience a good one. The weather is extremely fickle. The dining hall food is good at first, but can get old after a while.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a University Police Department on campus, that has over a dozen officers, all of which are New York State police men and women. They patrol the campus regularly, especially at night, and there are Blue Light Emergency phones about every 300 feet on campus that call the UPD officers to your location in emergencies.

    Greek Life

    Rushing your first semester is not allowed. Students who want to be apart of Greek life must wait untill thier second semester. There are about 20 recognized Greek organizations, and many more unrecognized; however, students are not encouraged to join the unrecognized.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, all of which want you to feel at home. In the beginning of the semester there is a club fare in Hunt College Union that showcases all the clubs and what they have to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Oneonta is great for pretty much every student, but the campus programs are geared more towards the arts, education, history, fashion, and the culinary arts,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation, freshman pass throuh the Pillars at Old Main (the old entrance to the previous Main Street) to enter campus. Then during graduation, seniors pass through the Pillars again to exit the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Many of the teachers at SUNY Oneonta also teach at a local private school named Hartwick College. Therefore, SUNY Oneonta gives you a private school-feel at a SUNY price.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater on campus, a campus union that has many afternoon and weekend activities, and a bus that will take you to the local mall from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't too bad, it is unlimited self-serve food, which is pretty good because you can make exactly what you want, how you want it. Also included in your meal plan is $300 in declining dollars to spend on food items at the bookstore, Jazzman's Cafe, Starbucks, and the on campus convenience store.

    Dorm Life

    The designated freshman buildings are brand-new and gorgeous. However, the quad and suite buildings are on the older side and are just OK. For the most part, the RDs and RAs are friendly, helpful and just want to make you feel at home the best they can.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors just want to teach you the information without trying to trick you. However, some professors want to make sure that you know the information like the back of your hand, and thier class rigor will show that. To get an idea of how your professor teaches, check a professor rating website online before enrolling in a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check a professor rating website online before enrolling in a class to get an idea of how the instructor runs the class. Also, frequently check your declining balance because it disapears fast.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is very unique. It is a medium-sized public school with a small private school feel. And most importantly, this city of the hills is located in a beautiful valley in the Catskill Mountain range.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a part of clubs related to my field of study; biology, pre-health, I also participate in some volunteer activities I enjoy watching home games of just about any sport and I also participate in some recreational sports with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try the first year experience dorms! Make sure you know how to or are trying to time manage you schedule. stay involved in activities, clubs, sports they are actually very fun!

    In three sentences

    I love Oneonta it is a fabulous school with great faculty. It has provided some wonderful opportunities for me to explore my career goals. I am also excited about the job opportunities they have for student

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD or campus police are always around. There are emergency poles with a live person on the other end if you're ever in trouble. I feel safe at all times on campus.

    Greek Life

    It seems that a lot of students who aren't involved on a sports team or club join greek life to get in the mix. Greek life makes meeting life long friends easier, along with being able to help your resume and do charity work for the community; it's a win, win situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different clubs, there's something for everyone. People are also able to start their own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Because Oneonta's a state school, you have a little bit of everything; athletes, artsy, bookworms, etc. It's pretty diverse in ways yet, the campus has a pretty even split between their Long Islanders and Upstaters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    O fest and St. Oney's day are days in the Spring semester that are a lot of fun. O fest is a huge festival down town where theres live music, food, games, all the shops are open, and all the students are out all day. At night Hartwick and Oneonta get a popular artist to come and perform.

    What to do for fun

    Go out on the weekends, there's Main Street that has a ton of places to eat, drink, and have a great time.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options, even for people with strict vegetarian/vegan diets, as well as allergies. Student & professional chefs come to MyKitchen in Mills dining hall during the week and make awesome meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are where you meet the most people, since you're all living together. The dorms are renovated a lot, the freshman dorms look brand new, along with Higgins the on campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but doable. The professors are very helpful, and class sizes are pretty small except for GenEd classes which everyone is required to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see the campus for yourself before attending any school, you'll know if its right for you the second you step foot on the right campus.

    In three sentences

    Oneonta's the perfect college experience for anyone who wants to see new faces everyday, along with familiar ones. The city it's self is a great college town (Hartwick college is across the street basically), and there's always something to do. I've made my lifelong best friends here.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oneonta's nickname is city of the hills. If you're not up to walking up and down hills, the campus might not be for you.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities on campus, not to mention a very busy night life in town. You are sure to find what you're looking for (if you look hard enough).

    Food and Dining

    An unlimited meal plan? Yes please!

    Dorm Life

    I met some of my best friends in the dorms, but also heard some horror stories. The name of the game for living on campus is be prepared and be proactive. Choose your roomie if you can, grab your duct tape, and make sure to pack some earplugs.

    Academic Rigor

    I took AP classes in high school, so I was used to higher expectations. However, for some of my friends, they were not used to 75 minute classes every other day and the amount of classwork needed to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the strength of your specific program -- some of our majors are much stronger than others. In addition, come for a visit. You might be surprised by our weather, especially if you are used to always sunny days.

    In three sentences

    SUCO is amazing if you're looking for a small town feel. Though we have the nickname Stoneonta, the student community is hard working and clean cut. IF I had to make my choice all over again, I would choose Oneonta over and over.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There were many food and dining options on campus and everything looked really great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look pretty nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Looks like a really nice school to challenge anyone academically!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta has a great campus with plenty to do and available transportation to get off campus. The surrounding area is not too urban but not rural either, ideal for anyone from a suburban location. Love it here!

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent! I never fell like I'm in danger, even when walking back to my dorm at 1am, because of our campus police! Also, some of the our campus officers have been honored for their services for the jobs they do. The campus has emergency blue lights all throughout the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is not that big on campus, but they're known and do host events for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Whatever you interest is there is probably a club for you here at this campus. Again, the college hosts and promotes many activities to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any really! Accounting, Business Economics, Chemistry, Economics, Education, Human Ecology, and Music are all nationally accredited with the highest accreditation you can get, such as our School of Economics & Business is AACSB accredited. Again our Anthropology department is very good and the other majors at this campus are amazing. You will work!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely work at look, and yes for me its a bang for my buck!

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty to do for fun! Clubs, sports, intramurals, bars, restaurants, shopping (mostly thrift stores but its still a fun experience), guest speakers, and the college hosts plenty of activities as well. You won't be bored, just get yourself out there and involved.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing to brag about. It's your typical college food that will make you miss home cooking, but its not that bad at all. They have professional chefs come into sometimes during the week and prepare meals for the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are your typical college dorms. Some buildings are devoted to freshmen for the freshmen experience lifestyle. Other buildings are double style room, suite style, and apartment styled rooms.There are some single room option as well if you don't want to deal with a roommate. Finally, there are some dorm buildings that are going to be updated soon, so I expect great dorm buildings in the future!

    Academic Rigor

    The Anthropology Department is tough, but awesome! You learn so much and the professors there want you to succeed, they push you to do your best! They're very knowledgeable when comes to applying to field schools and graduate schools, so ask them for tips and advice! From an external review our Anthro department has been rated one of the best in the country by some well known Anthropologists. The other academic are just as tough and rewarding as well.

    In three sentences

    Suny Oneonta is a well rounded institution. It's academics and professors are top notch! Located in Oneonta, nicknamed City of the Hills, it's a beautiful campus with a forest scenery throughout.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Kind of repetitive but not bad.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman all live together and the dorm rooms are fairly big and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes are hard.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue lights every where and the police is nice.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is every where.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and a lot of things to do around here.

    What to do for fun

    play video games, work out, join a club. watch movies every weekend, get a coffee, or go out .

    Food and Dining

    Food is very repetitive and not too good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, but you will manage. Quads are nice if you want to live with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want good grades make sure you get you things together and do your homework and go to class.Professors give a lot of home work sometimes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not much to worry about every body minds their own business and people have fun. Comprehension for every body is every where.

    In three sentences

    The college has a pretty campus and the Union is fun. There are movies and different things to do over the weekend. They also have the Dragon Lair in which you can play video games or board games.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Huge Greek life. Oneonta has both recognized and unrecognized sections of Greek life. The recognized chapters are the ones that the school actually accepts and supports. They are more mild than the unrecognized sororities and fraternities. They have rules to follow and have to uphold the school's standards for Greek life. The unrecognized groups are more crazy because they don't have any rules from the school to follow. These sororities and fraternities have either been kicked out of the recognized group, or do not meet the school's standards, and remain unrecognized. Either way, the Greek life is the center for partying at Oneonta.

    Bang for the buck

    For in-state students, this is definitely the school to go to, to get the most bang for your buck. Any SUNY school is really. But if you are not from New York state, then you should really be sure that this is definitely the school for you before making the investment.

    What to do for fun

    There are limited things to do in the small city of Oneonta. Most people make their own fun on the weekends by partying.

    Food and Dining

    The school gives all full time, living on campus, students an unlimited dining meal plan, which is very convenient. Dining hall food is pretty good, but sometimes there may be dud meals. There are three different dining halls on campus that offer a variety of things including a good amount of healthy options to contrast with the surplus of French fries and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorm buildings are amazing because they are new. The upperclassmen housing isn't bad, but lacks the bells and whistles that the freshmen dorms have. Resident Advisors can be strict, especially about the dry campus rules which are enforced strictly. However, there is a bus system to take students into town where there are plenty of opportunities to party. Dorms are on the smaller side of life, but are not uncomfortable. New students should check out other people's rooms to get ideas on ways to make more space and meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't too difficult to pass, but if you are looking to get an above average GPA, a good amount of effort needs to be put into getting the higher grades. Professors can be miss, but the ones that are great really make up for the ones who are lacking. The website called rate my professor will steer students in the right direction when choosing professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Oneonta is considered a party school, however many students are academically driven and can find a balance between parties and schoolwork. Socially, it is important to either get involved with sports or Greek life, because those two groups are the foundation of this school.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go into town and do tons of things there. Go for a hike, do what ever you want. Its college, its the time of your lives.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is probably better for guys, it allows you to eat a lot of food for just a swipe of your card! Many healthy options!

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms are amazing! the others are not as new, but still really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are helpful and ratemyprofessor.com is extremely useful.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is harder to get into than you think, apply yourself in high school otherwise college is going to be a wake up call for you.

    In three sentences

    The school i am supposed to be at, a place where everyone can fit in. It is a bit cold, but a great campus overall. We win Sunypartystories a lot.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are used to get more money out of you instead of keeping you safe

    Greek Life

    Never been

    Clubs and Activities

    Can't really do with part time job

    Great for these types of students

    Have a car

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some classes are off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They will end up charging you way more in fines to make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Bars

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Discriminatory towards handicapped people. I have only been injured this semester and if it wasn't my last semester I would have withdrawn already. They make it expensive and nearly impossible for anyone who has mobility issues to go here. I am a commuter and injured do to a car accident which my car was demolished. They were completely unhelpful and even made me purchase a new parking sticker because my old one that I paid $100 for was ruin in the wreck. Also, very limited handicap parking, with no close options for commuters. Just a general disregard for handicap accessibility. One day I came to class and they had piled all the snow fall from the parking lot into the handicapped spaces, so there was no parking. Thankfully someone was at my house so I had to drive home and have them drop me off at school. I am lucky I have had such a supportive family or I would have missed so many extra days due to this colleges lack of support. I only will have to struggle with this for one semester I could not even imagine for four years. Please do yourself a favor and stat away from this school if you have mobility issues,

    In three sentences

    Discriminatory towards handicapped people. Very Unsupportive!.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus that are very welcoming and a good way to meet new people and gain experience.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Oneonta offers you a good well rounded education for less!

    What to do for fun

    There are always events on campus such as free movie nights at the theatre, performances, guest speakers, and there is also always something going on in town.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorming experience thus far at Oneonta. They have great facilities and keep them clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty and staff at SUNY Oneonta are well trained and very passionate about the subjects they teach as well as their students success.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your are looking for a friendly laid back college with lots of opportunities and chances for growth SUNY Oneonta is the place for you! Just remember you get out of college what you put into it so make sure you are putting yourself out there!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oneonta is a very friendly and welcoming college. There are many opportunities on campus and off campus. It is a great place to grow and make connections.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. The campus police are great and very nice, and there is no spot on campus where you are unable to reach a panic button on the blue light pole system thing :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of different clubs and groups to get involved with from major-related groups, to greek life, sports clubs, and religious groups. It's a really great way to get involved, meet people, and make a difference!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that for the money I'm paying (it is a SUNY school) I'm receiving a priceless education. SUCO is really a place that you can reach your full potential, if you are willing to commit to your work and apply yourself. There are lots of opportunities for students who work hard and the faculty both notice and appreciate a dedicated student.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus, whether it's a movie, speaker, or some student event. Lots to do!

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining halls on campus as well as a few different cafe`s.

    Dorm Life

    I commute from home, but my friends dorms look super!

    Academic Rigor

    I have been very impressed with the depth of the curriculum, and as I mentioned earlier, the caliber of the professors. Everything is top-notch!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit!! Get to know the campus, the students, and the staff!!

    In three sentences

    Hey everyone! I'm a freshman and started at SUNY Oneonta this Spring. I absolutely love the experience and education that I'm receiving and the faculty never cease to continually impress me!! The professors are interactive, knowledgeable, and very dedicated. Additionally, I feel like the students there are of good quality as well.

  • 07/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    From what I have witnessed through my couple of years here, I can definitely say there is a great deal of music industry, education, art, and psychology majors attending this school. Oneonta certainly offers a wide range of internships and job opportunities available for students with these kinds of majors. However, Oneonta is not limited to just these kinds of students. Students who are well-rounded in all aspects of academics and extracurricular activities are well known around Oneonta, as well as students who are quite ambitious and out-going.

    Bang for the buck

    I applied to other prestigious schools, but in the end, I chose Oneonta because it was the only school that came close to being affordable for me. I struggle a bit with financial resources due to small amounts of loans, but Oneonta definitely supports you with financial aid if and when you may need it. If it weren't for me choosing to come to Oneonta, I don't think I would have been able to attend college at all because of the overwhelming expenses required from other schools I applied to. Oneonta's financial aid support has made it possible for me to attend college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is adequate, but it can get redundant for students who may get tired of eating the same food over and over again. However, I can personally say that the breakfast made in Oneonta is absolutely great, you'd probably never get tired of eating the same breakfast over again! Oneonta has three dining halls, each of which you are allowed to eat in, enter, and exit as much as you like. There is also a marketplace available for students who would like to purchase great-quality foods, such as pizza and sandwiches. There's a great variety of options available for students to choose what they would like to eat here!

    Academic Rigor

    I double major in Psychology and Mathematics, so even my first semester here at Oneonta was a rough road for me. Academics here is certainly a challenge. Since I am double majoring, the workload required of me is more than what I anticipated. Most professors will try to push students to become active in classroom activities, and they will even encourage students to attend workshops and meetings related to their lectures in order to develop a better understanding of the class material. Academics here at Oneonta has given me a great work ethic that allows me to leave no work undone.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all, if you have an interest in attending this school, then visiting the school would be my recommendation. Visiting Oneonta will give you a better grasp of what you may like and may not like about the atmosphere of the college. You'll be able to see what kinds of students matriculate in this school and the types of activities they engage in on campus. You'll be able to see it for yourself, and make a better decision on whether this school is the best fit for you. Also, if you do plan on attending this school, I highly suggest you buckle up for winter season! The cold weather up here is definitely on a different level than most other areas in New York. While there are typical snowstorms occurring up here, the weather can sometimes be unpredictable, but it's not too much of a hassle, especially if you are used to the cold. Nevertheless, make sure you are prepared for the cold!

    In three sentences

    Oneonta is a simple, yet excellent place for students to flourish their interests and integrate with other people around campus. I thoroughly enjoy the natural environment that surrounds the campus. It's an awesome school to get along with many other students!