Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College at Oswego Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Snow Enthusiasts, Prospective Teachers/ Education, Broadcast Majors, Meteorology Majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must have a huge love for hockey. SUNY Oswego's hockey team brings the whole school together for all the home games, and it is a huge event, which is free for current students at Oswego. Plus the hockey team is amazing! Also, the main tip I can give you, be prepared for winter. You want to invest money into a good, warm, wind resistant jacket. Also splurge a little on some nice snow boots. You won't regret it. Another thing, Oswego students are offered a debit card at the beginning of the year, and the card website makes it so easy for your parents to send money to you. It is usually avaliable next-day.

    Bang for the buck

    The room and board plan is the main investment and it was the part that is the most worth it. The dining hall connected to my dorm is better than some fancy restaurants that I have been to. My mom comes to school all the time just to eat there.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love almost everything about SUNY Oswego. First, the lake is amazing. My room has a perfect view of the lake, because I am in a lakeside dorm, and it is very relaxing. My most favorite part though, is the hockey. The games give you something free, and fun to do, when you have no money.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of my classes, were very enjoyable. I took a public speaking class and learned such a huge amount of material, without realizing it. I did so well in the class and learned so much that the teacher asked me to be his Peer Educator for the next fall semester.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 17 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International students have a ball here. The campus is so diverse, it can make any type of student feel comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is very secluded so try to make friends quick. Pick you're dorms wisely. Pack very deep. Bring lots of food. Always have a debit card ready for quick withdrawals. Most importantly, do not be intimidated by anyone. Everyone won't like you but the ones that do, stick with them. oh yeah STUDY very very hard.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've made a lot of friends by joining clubs and attending various events. The more you put yourself out there, the more people you will meet.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a lot of classes offered at Oswego. I learned a lot about subjects that were not even in my major's curriculum.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are at all interested in SUNY Oswego, it is worth the visit. If you prefer a large and diverse campus, and like the snow, then you should visit SUNY Oswego.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most important pieces of advice is to do well. College is exciting, especially at SUNY Oswego, there is always something to do. Although that can be fun, it can also be distracting. Do you school work, and then have fun. If your grade at Oswego is too low you could get kicked out, so try to stay focused. Then be open-minded. This campus is so diverse, with so many people of different races, religions, and opinions.

    Bang for the buck

    Oswego is one of the many SUNY schools therefore the price is still a lot, but much cheaper compared to other schools. First there are academics, there are many majors and minors available on campus and then there are some classes you could take just because they seem interesting to you. There is also a lot of academic support; setting up a meeting with your teacher during their office hours, tutoring, and “ask a librarian” which can help you with term papers, and other projects that involve research. Then there’s the food, which is usually really important to everyone compared to mom’s home cooked meals. There are five dining halls on campus, all of them are generally the same but they each have their own hours and meals. For example one dining hall, Cooper, makes ice-cream sundaes and milkshakes certain days during the week. When my family comes to visit one of their favorite parts is coming to eat in the dining hall. The food is good, and if you don’t like the main meal there are always other options that are there every day like the salad bar, sandwiches, pasta, and more. The meal plan can be expensive but if you get the unlimited meal plan, which is required for freshman, you can go as many times as you want to any of the dining halls when they are open. Another important factor is the dorms. There are 13 resident halls on campus and they are currently building a new one. Some of them are in better quality than others; however each of them have their own benefits.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a big family person, therefore I was really nervous to go to college. However when I am visiting home, I start to miss college. That’s because there is usually always something going on there The big sport there is hockey and the games are Friday and Saturday nights. It really brings the students together, we even have our own section in the audience, and even better the tickets for students is free. We also have our own movie theater on campus in the campus center which is the main building. The movies are older than ones in the movie theater but newer than the ones on DVD so they are still pretty new, and the tickets are cheaper than going to a movie theater in town. Besides the bigger events on campus, there are so many clubs and organizations that you can get involved in based on your interests. The college has over 140 different organizations from Chemistry club to Outdoor club. If there isn’t a club you like, than you can create your own. Oswego is a large and diverse campus. We have so many international students, that one of our dorms, Hart Hall, is an international dorm but any student can dorm there. . The campus is beautiful, it is right on the lake, and the sunsets are amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    When going to college most students are nervous about the work. However at SUNY Oswego the teachers really want you to do well, especially when they see that a student is trying to do well, and they care about their grades. In addition as a student, if you might be nervous to ask for extra help from your teacher you can be tutored, and there are many other ways to get extra help on campus. For example if you have an English essay that is due on Friday and you finished early, let’s say Monday, Oswego offers students to have their essay’s read by a professor who will show you where you went wrong and what you can do to make your paper better. In the same prospect students who are doing well in a subject can tutor one of their peers and get paid. Overall there are many ways to make sure you are doing well in your classes at SUNY Oswego, especially since you don’t get progress reports in college like you do in high school.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 12 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Broadcasting, Communications, and Business

    Tips for prospective students

    Long winters so be prepared with winter clothes, state of the art facilities for business and broadcasting departments. Great people that work there and the students are always fun and doing something.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Oswego is beautiful. Students who love nature, water, and countryside should definitely visit the campus. Oswego has an international dorm which hosts students from all over the world. Anyone who wants to meet people and make friends from other countries should also consider coming to Oswego.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college prepared to work. Too many students fail out or have a very rough first semester because they forget that they are there to go to school, not to party.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the cost of attending SUNY Oswego is very reasonable, the biggest problem I see is wasteful spending. This occurs in two ways; students are forced to spend far too much money on the meal plans, and the money that the school spends seems to be spent on the wrong things. The campus is constantly being improved visually, but teachers lack the money to print handouts for students. Many students are angry with the way money is handled because it appears that officials care more about the aesthetics of campus rather than the quality of living quarters, food, and school supplies.

    Am enjoying being here

    Oswego is one of the most beautiful campuses I have visited, especially during the summer. There are a variety of programs, clubs, and other extracurricular activities offered, and students are usually very friendly. The downside to living on campus is the constant lack of blue skies during the winter (which continues into nearly May) and the food.

    Am learning a lot

    As with any school, Oswego offers a wide variety of classes and the potential to learn a lot. It's up to the students to put enough effort into each class to learn. The students who complain that they aren't learning anything are often the same students who don't do assigned readings or pay attention in class. Although I have not taken classes in every department, the professors in the Art and Communication departments seem to be very knowledgeable and interested in sharing their experience with students.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student would enjoy it here, as long as you enjoy classes that have 20-40 students in them...

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the college, see if you enjoy the atmosphere, and if you enjoy smaller than normal classes, you'll defiantly love it here...

    Bang for the buck

    Oswego is considered cheap for a University. Suny schools are generally cheapand tuition adds up to about 20,000 a year...

    Am enjoying being here

    Suny Oswego is the best!! Being from the city is a completely diffrent experience. It is a bit secluded and tiny, but beautiful... It is also FREEZING!!!!!!! so invest in a good Nothface... There are also activities for EVERYONE to enjoy and benifit from. Since we are such a tight-knit community, students come to know Oswego as home...

    Am learning a lot

    I have changed into a completely diffrent person from high school. I credit Oswego for me becoming more intelligent and confidant. I am learning things in classes that I thought I never would, and I actually love waking up each day and going to class... Don't get me wrong; they are not easy, but you usually get out of the class, what you put in...

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Broadcasting/communications majors. Winter loving folk.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your winter gear! You do not want to be caught unprepared in an Oswego winter. Try to get into Riggs Hall if you can... it's the newest and by far the nicest dorm on campus. Also, get involved! There are so many opportunities... don't waste them by sitting in your dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a SUNY school, so the prices are lower than private schools. The scholarships offered here are pretty helpful and the dorms (on East campus at least) are definitely worth the money. When compared to other SUNY's... the food is great. =]

    Am enjoying being here

    SUNY Oswego is great for social life. As a new student, I found it extremely easy to make friends. The RA's in the dorms offer many opportunities to get involved with the people in your dorm and there are always activities going on on campus. The clubs and intramural sports are welcoming to students who want to join. The lake is also a favorite hang out destination. If you're getting tired of campus, there are a ton of places to go in town. Bowling, movies, and Coldstone ice cream are just a few. The only thing that I ABSOLUTELY do not enjoy is the cold, long, winter. It wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't for the wind. If you can't stand the cold, I would recommend a college further south...

    Am learning a lot

    I am a biology major at Suny Oswego. The work load is rough, but there are many opportunities for help available. Many of my classes hold weekly study sessions and tutoring is free for any course. A lot of our coursework (homework's and quizzes) are done online via the ANGEL learning management system where you can also view all of your grades for every assignment. This is extremely convenient. The one downfall of the education environment, however, is the advisers. My advisor does little to nothing to help me decide on classes or throughout the year and I haven't heard of a single one who is actually helpful. This is very frustrating as I am pre-med and need to know what classes I need for graduate school.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is definitely strong here. We have our own personal ambulance here SAVAC and they are students trained to help you and bring you to the hospital. They are extremely professional. The school has you sign up for emaergency contacts with the police on campus, so the moment you call 911 you are put in contact with them immediately. Also, at the beginning of the semester you are asked/requiered to sign upi for a texting/calling service for on campus emergencies. They really help you keep in touch with what's going on.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club there are so many: Aikido, Fencing, outdoor club, Go to Bev's ice cream shop, its soooo gooood!!!! Go to the movies in town go to a hockey game swim in the lake have a picnic in the quad on the grass in the fall semester and at the end of the year. The weather is perfect then.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are good and somedays are bad, but if you have unlimited plan like most freshman do then you can eat whenever and as many time as you want a day. Just be aware of the freshman fifteen, it is possible.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in my dorm. I live on Lakeside, so I love the view of the lake. Sometimes it is annoying because osme phones lose signal in certain dorms, mostly Johnson and Riggs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are definitely a challenge. Some are easy and some are hard, depending on the material and the professor. No one said college was easy and that's what your there for isn't it? To be challenged. Well I will definitely say that I am challenged everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. Introduce yourself after class and visit them. They will remember you and if they know your name it will help you in grades and contacts. Look around the campus so that you know where you are. The first day I came here I immediately went to find where all my classes were. Do it before classes. You do not want to get lost trying to ifnd the building your class is in. There are a lot of buildings. Make friends, join clubs, do community service, get a job. DO SOMETHING PRODUCTIVE!!! There are so many things you can do in your free-time, just pick one.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego is extremely far away from home, but I know that I definitely made the right choice. People here are extremely friendly, you just have to get to know them. The weather is beautiful and lakeside residence halls are just as great because of the view in the summer and spring. I do caution those who consider coming here, like most other reviews, to invest in warm clothing and snow boots for the winter season. You will be ecstatic that you did, trust me. I am currently a sophomore and a peer advisor on campus so the best thing to do when you come is get to know your professors, they will be helpful in so many ways. Also, move around campus and find all the buildings, this place is huge and there is so much to do.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Teaching fields are huge here on campus, along with business, meteorology, public justice, art, etc. Anyone interested in volunteering, internships, jobs, and on campus clubs will have a great time with all the selections to choose from here!

    Tips for prospective students

    If anyone is looking into going to SUNY Oswego, I'd recommend being prepared for the weather, like all of the snow, but especially the wind! But it makes the college experience even better!

    Bang for the buck

    The dining plan seems like a lot of money, because it is, but it is worth it! Especially being connected to the dining hall, the food is better than some of the restaurants I've been too! Plus the dorms are amazing nice, especially Riggs, and the campus is kept up with everything from landscaping to technology!

    Am enjoying being here

    SUNY Oswego makes you feel more comfortable than I can describe. I was planning on going home over the weekends sometimes but after going here it is like I never want to go home!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here could not have any nicer professors. So far I've noticed that they are really student oriented and they know what they are talking about.

  • 01/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that love hockey, snow and lots of it, and being at a place where you can be you own person are the types of students that would fit well here. If you just be yourself and keep an open mind your niche on campus will come to you. the freedom you are given to be you own person is amazing and the people are always great to talk to. many are just like you, going from day to day things, and would love to add you as a friend. Outgoing students would fit great here too and friendly students are even better. You will have no issues fitting in at Oswego.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dress for the weather is probably the best tip any one can give a new student attending Oswego. the springs and summers are great and being near the lake is amazing because you can go swimming when it's really hot, and the lake effect wind cuts down on annoying insects. There really are virtually no mosquitoes which is awesome. the winters are brutal though 50 mph winds are uncommon but you'll definitely experience a few after only one winter. Also don't be afraid to step outside your comfort zone, you may not be a huge hockey fan, but the electricity of the games you feel when surrounded by so many excited peers is a great feeling to go nuts and lose yourself in the crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is always kind to you since it's a SUNY school, and i always end a semester feeling like i learned a lot. the money you spend, and will save by going to this school will be money well spent. As compared to the thinks you learn while attending, it's a done deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus always has fun things going on almost everyday. Whether it's karaoke, weekend movies, dances, and hockey games. The lake is very scenic and i love to look at it outside my dorm window. People are friendly but won't generally make the effort to befriend you so you'll have to take the first step yourself. I always miss being at college when i leave for breaks and can't wait to be back with friends.

    Am learning a lot

    As I'm sure it's with any college, the professor makes a huge difference in your ability to learn as well as your zest for learning. Your professor makes classes fun or tedious. At SUNY Oswego there are many great professors that care about your college career and want you to succeed. many are personable and approachable. Many will even talk to you about other things than the course and you can strike up a real friendship if you put in the effort.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who loves snow, cold, and winter. If you like boating or kayaking the lake is right on campus. There are plenty of places to go hiking. We're one of the top schools for education and foreign language. We have one of the best college hockey teams. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    -Bring warm clothes for outside in the winter -Cool clothes for the dorm rooms, because they are small and get hot quickly, especially when the heater is on. A fan would also be advisable. -Bring a bathing suit so you can enjoy the lake or pool.

    Bang for the buck

    It's one of the cheaper SUNY schools in New York, but they could be spending more money on renovating dorms and more scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    The lake is an awesome place to go relax. There are plenty of friendly people and I feel comfortable and safe.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the teachers here. They are always more than willing to help.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Enroll in the Honors program if you can. -Make sure you sit with new people at the dining halls the first couple of weeks- everyone is outgoing at this time. -Go to the counseling center if you're homesick or have any other huge problems- they are professional, effective, and very nice. -West Campus is more of a party center as far as the dorms go. Lakeside dorms are beautiful. Central has ease of geting to classes, but the buildings are older. -GO TO CLASS. Don't skip all your classes- it isn't worth it and you will get on academic probation. -Meet your professors during their posted office hours. They won't bite, and it will make the class more interesting and possiblly help you out if it's the difference between a B and a B+.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't waste your (or your parent's) hard earned money on a fancy private school. The SUNY system is truly fantastic, but the tuition prices do rise every year due to decreased state and government funding. But the good thing about Oswego is when you enter as a freshman (or transfer) you get a guaranteed tuition rate. That means even if the tuition goes up the next year for new freshman, yours will not go up all four years. Room and board might increase, though...

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it here at Oz. The students are friendly, the faculty members are very committed to giving you their best, and the campus is just beautiful. Watching the sun set over the lake is a useful stress reliever. It's the best view at any New York college, I can guarantee that.

    Am learning a lot

    I really enjoy my classes at Oswego (aka Oz). The professors are fantastic, especially if you car to take the time to get to know them at their office hours. I'm in the Honors Program- which is really very easy to apply for: if you have a high school average over 90%, you are sent a paper where you check yes or no to the Honors program. I advise checking yes if you apply! The clases are smaller and you really get to know everyone because the same 80 or so students will be in your classes all four years. It isn't really much harder than regular core courses, just with more discussions and in depth.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are going to do nothing with there lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere ells.

    Bang for the buck

    On the website they show that the school is less expensive but in reality they bled the students dry.

    Did enjoy being here

    NO. The college has been going down hill for years. The school has been relaxing it requirement to get in, making more money from students. As a result I saw an increase in people failing out, drinking more and violence. Yes Oswego is getting more violent. The school has been trying to kick out the frats for years. As a result more things have gone underground. Harder drugs, more drinking and more fighting.

    Did learn a lot

    This school did not prepare me for my current job or any job really. Most of the things I learned were important only to the instructor.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your a student who will not mind roughing through a snow storm and wind to get to class you'll be a good candidate. Oswego may be a little crazy in the weather department but anyone who wants a beautiful campus with plenty of new people, Oswego is it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school in winter months! This is because you will get a taste of the worst weather you will experience there! The summer is amazing, but if you do not know what you are in for you will be in for quite a shock!

    Bang for the buck

    On top of the tuition guarantee, which is that during all of your years you attend SUNY Oswego your tuition will not increase. The meal plans are great, there are a wide variety from anytime to when you only want a few. Also the college is updating all of there residence buildings to entirely wireless and near furniture.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at Oswego, granted it receives a lot of snow and there is usually a constant breeze. One major benefit is that it is right on the shores of Lake Ontario and has amazingly beautiful sunsets! There are also plenty of amazing family-run restaurants near campus, that are delicious!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Oswego are amazing! There is a wide variety of teaching methods for every class. Out of about three chemistry professors i found one that I learned well from and have had no trouble understanding the material 95% of the time. This goes for all majors too, the English, History, Science, and Business departments all have an amazing selection of classes and professors.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mostly outgoing and adventurous students would love this school. There are also so many opportunities for every student, no matter what their personality.

    Tips for prospective students

    One important thing I wish I knew was the requirements of Johnson Hall. Johnson Hall is an all freshman dorm building that has a GST 100 course requirement. This course requires you to do 10 hours of community service per semester and many, many other assignments. They all have quick approaching due dates, so if you choose to live in Johnson Hall, do the assignments FAST. You do receive one college credit if you pass the course, if you don't pass the course, you get kicked out of your room a week before finals.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many of fantastic features to Oswego which will make the price of attending completely worth it. There are movies shown on campus, open ice skating on campus, great food and variety of food in the dining halls and many more fantastic recreational features.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's never a dull moment when living on campus. With so many people around and so much to do, it is easy to keep yourself entertained. At the same time it's also easy to have time to yourself in dorm rooms or in the library.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at SUNY Oswego are fantastic. The professors are not the typical boring, lecture types. They bring excitement to the classroom and show to have plenty of passion for the subjects they're teaching.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on your homework and make your schoolwork more important than spending time with friends.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is great and there are plenty of opportunities to make new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are wonderful and always more than willing to help the students with their studies.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of events happening every week. Not to mention over 150 independent clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Quality food and wide selections!

    Dorm Life

    Nice people from all over populate the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They'll work you hard! But it's never totally over-bearing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and stay ahead of schedule!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego is a beautiful, diverse and quality college. You can expect a difficult time but you'll learn more than you thought you would.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Lots of fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of student organizations!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lake Ontario! Main highlight of campus, easily. Gorgeous when it's nice out and when it's cold the lake turns into gian ice mountains.

    What to do for fun

    Party! Drink! Tons of bars and lots of frat parties. Also a lot of campus events if you're not a drinker.

    Food and Dining

    Overall, food on campus is good; better than most would expect. Laker Dining Hall is one of the best and newest. Good food and there main special is Chinese and they usually have stir fry and pizza's made to order. Cooper Dining Hall's special is the Cooper Creamery, which has great ice cream. Pathfinder has an awesome grill with made-to-order burgers, quesedillas, etc. And Little Page isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    Live on west campus if you're trying to party, but avoid Oneida Hall. Avoid Waterbury and Scales as they are extremely old and the only two dorms not connected to a dining hall. Funelle Hall isn't bad because it is in the center of campus. Hart Hall is as well but it is the international student dorm which means there are a lot exchange students living there. Also, if you're a freshman, don't live in Johnson. They'll treat you like babies and everyone else will make fun of you.

    Academic Rigor

    Wide grade range accross the entire student population but classes can be rigorous at times, but it often depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest pain in the butts at this school is scheduling. So, when registration time rolls around, make sure to be on top of your game and meeting with your advisor to make sure you are getting into the right classes. Also, NEVER sign up for a class without looking up the professor at ratemyprofessor.com. And finally, live on west campus if you're trying to party!

    In three sentences

    Oswego is pretty strong academically, especially in the Schools of Business and Educations. It has a lively social life with a lot of campus events and tons of bars. Overall, it is a great party school where you can still get an education and enjoy the experience of being away from home.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love snow, diversity, hockey, and a good time.

    What to do for fun

    HOCKEY GAMES. Students get free tickets to the Laker games. I've been going to the hockey games since I was little and they're one of the best things about the college for me. Now that I'm taking classes on campus, I get to go to the games for free and sit in the students section. Keep in mind Oswego is a pretty small town so unless you're 21 and can get into bars, there's not much to do off-campus. There's movies and bowling, but that gets old pretty fast. Also, there's the Oswego Speedway, if you're into that. There's plenty to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I eat on campus every chance I get. There's a bunch of different places to eat and there's always a wide variety. I love the Lakeside Cafe in the library, where you can get Starbuck's coffee. It's also a nice place to chill.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I've toured through a few different ones and they all look nice and clean. Riggs is the newest currently and all of the lakeside dorms have an awesome view of the best sunset in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for winter. Oswego winters can be crazy, I've lived here my whole life and the snowbanks are consistently taller than my head.

    In three sentences

    Oswego State has an awesome view of the lake. The professors are very knowledgeable. If you want to make friends here and be successful, then you will be.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Oswego provides excellent programs in the fields of Meteorology, Business, Education, and The Arts to name a few. Oswego also has an excellent hockey team, so if play hockey or enjoy watching it, it's great going with friends and watching a great game.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those planning on applying to the college, first plan on dressing warm. The wind and cold can be brutal at times during the winter, so it's best to stay indoors during severe weather. In addition, get involved! Joining clubs, participating in residence hall activities and going to conferences not only helps build a résumé, but it also helps you meet friends along the way.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Oswego's lakeside view, 100+ registered clubs, great dining halls connected by a system of tunnels and on-campus activities help keep students productive.

    Am enjoying being here

    SUNY Oswego’s closely-knit community is at the heart of the Laker experience. Oswego provides the perfect opportunity to immediately become involved with on-campus activities, as well as social events and fund raisers. Being active in the Oswego community has definitely been both an enjoyable and positive experience.

    Am learning a lot

    With hundreds of courses to choose from, and excellent professors who are helpful and dedicated to their students, Oswego State provides a lot of opportunities to learn and shine. Professors are more than willing to help you out in class and during office hours if you need help on the material. Some professors even allow students to conduct hands-on research alongside the faculty, something few colleges offer.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for anyone who wants to learn and meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you learn good study habits. I've never had them, and I truly wish i developed them much sooner. The work is never ending, but in the end, it's worth it. Also, for the dorm room, don't bring an ungodly amount of stuff. Remember that the rooms are quite small, and you're sharing it with another person.

    Bang for the buck

    You truly do get the same education as if you were in a private school, but it's cheaper. We get good food, a nice room to stay in, Starbucks, and a great learning experience. Everything you could get with a private school, only A LOT cheaper!

    Am enjoying being here

    Oswego is a lovely place. There's Lake Ontario, which is beautiful at all times of day and all types of weather. The education I'm getting here is amazing. The food is very good. The one thing I don't really enjoy is the partying. Many people are here just to party, but that's like every other college.

    Am learning a lot

    All the professors I've had so far are amazing and extremely intelligent. You shouldn't feel intimidated by them. They are there to help you! I was afraid at first, but I soon learned that they just want to help. And plus, you're paying for this education. Get the most out of it!

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    oswego doesn't have the blue light system, but they have rave which, in my opinion, is even better. when walking around, you see a lot of campus police that are watching out for you. i always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    there are quite a few sororities and fraternities that reside off campus. everywhere you look there are sweatshirts with greek letters on them.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everyone here. so many options and you can start your own if you don't see one you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    oswego has a lot of nerdy yet cool kids walking around on campus. a lot of artsy people but along side them are the sophisticated business kids that thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bluffs are a cool place to go. they are oddly shaped rock ridges and are a good sightseeing place and also a good partying place if you are into that.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a suny school, so the price is right. they have good ways to save money and are always looking to help out if you can't afford it.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lake right outside your door and lots to do in the summer with it. also there are club activities and sports and government and lots of things you can do for fun, depending on your interests. it is very rare that i am bored here at oswego.

    Food and Dining

    i am a really picky eater so i don't really like the food here and probably wouldn't at any other college. a lot of it seems to be good for other people though. i am just used to eating organic foods and can't stomach manufactured stuff. it's good from other people's perspective.

    Dorm Life

    the new dorms are awesome. they are big and clean and modern. the older dorms aren't nearly as nice, but still give a good feeling that you are home and that you have people that will help you whenever you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    oswego is a respectable school and has good programs that you do have to work to be in and remain in.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to oswego! their programs are good in business and education. also, they have some odd majors a lot of colleges don't have such as zoology and cognitive science. bring your boots though because it sure can be cold!

    In three sentences

    it is a great college to attend because it has so many options for academics and also club activities. the professors really care about what is going on in your life. the campus is beautiful and is a great medium size.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics is a big part of my life. I would recommend it for anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sunsets are sweet

    Bang for the buck

    This one is difficult because I am currently struggling just to afford to attend this school. I will be a senior next year and really would like to achieve my Bachelors. However because of the price I do not know if I will be able to do that.

    What to do for fun

    Usually I go out to bars and house parties, but I am also an athlete and really enjoy that as well

    Food and Dining

    Better than my mom's meals!

    Dorm Life

    Love it, made some of my best friends in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be very difficult depending on the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be focused on doing your work to be successful and know how to balance your social life and school work.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience so far. The professors for the most part are helpful and flexible. The work is difficult but being committed to success plays a big role.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a good thing there aren't many incidents because UP leaves a lot to be desired.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price SUNY Oswego is a really great school.

    What to do for fun

    If you're under 21 the outlook is pretty grim, most people hang out on Bridge Street (the bars) for fun. There's plenty of on campus activities and clubs if you're into that - Hockey games are pretty much a holiday here but any other sport is mostly regarded with apathy at best.

    Food and Dining

    Auxiliary services runs everything, the closest thing to real food on campus is Freshens/half a Starbucks in the library. Everything is ridiculously overpriced so learn to cook.

    Dorm Life

    West Campus if you like to party, Lakeside if you're a baby or nerd.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to earn your grades but it's pretty laid back for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a job at a dining hall and ditch your meal plan, save $$$, live in Hart/Funnelle to be close to the library, PLUS plan is the greatest treasure you'll ever know.

    In three sentences

    Oswego is top tier for SUNY, maybe even NYS in general. For the price it's a really good school socially and academically. It doesn't snow as much as people say it does.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have no fear Campus Saftey is there! Campus police is all around making sure people are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs and activities for all types of interests.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good school overall but wouldnt it be better if it was cheaper!

    What to do for fun

    Campus holds a lot fo activies. Recreational sports, swimming, watching tv in the lobbies with pool and more. There are the weekl parties if that's your style.

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a variety of clothing. This was a strange winter. Comfortable shoes.

    In three sentences

    Suny Oswego is a great School. The distance might be far and the weather not so certain but the people are quite friendly. The lake is a wonderful view and the teachers are so knowledgeable with a will to help.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The clubs are fun to do. Recently I joined a walk that raised awareness for child abuse. This was the first cause I joined to support after community college where I had done walking for Amnesty International.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus less on the partying and more on the studying.

    In three sentences

    I just completed my first year here and so far I'm enjoying myself. It's a lot bigger than the first college I went to. All the classes I've taken so far have been challenging but also a great learning experience.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly University Police officers around the grounds.

    Greek Life

    Very popular on campus, with a lot of selections.

    Clubs and Activities

    The best thing about Oswego is how many clubs there are on campus, and if you do not see one you want, you can create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy the cold weather and snow. People who enjoy being surrounded by a diverse student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have some underground tunnels!

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the economy and money is tight, SUNY is a great consideration to begin with, but SUNY Oswego is a great environment with a wonderful community.

    What to do for fun

    Sit by the lake, open-mic night, and many other events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety, with multiple dining halls available.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms worked for me, do wish all of the dorms had wireless though.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes are what you put into them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore classes out of your comfort zone, to help you determine the best major for you and to truly grow and gain from the college experience.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful school. Plenty of interesting classes available with dedicated faculty members.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A relatively safe campus, but I still say there is safety in the buddy system or in numbers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do if you choose to get involved!!! Visit The Point in the campus center if you want more information/

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one thing I know all students look forward to in their final senior semester is The Bridge Street Crawl. Which is a bar crawl through the city.

    What to do for fun

    Get INVOLVED, meet people!!! There are so many clubs academic and non-academic, intramural activities, open lectures, volunteer opportunities etc. there is no reason to be bored! Choose to be active, and remember being part of clubs and such looks great on a resume'.

    Food and Dining

    For University food, I would say it is very good. The Dining Halls have regular food and also choices for vegetarians and those on special diets, there is even a nutritionist on campus to help you make healthy choices.

    Academic Rigor

    University life (on or off campus) is very different from High School or Community College. As a transfer student I found my GPA going from 3.78 to under a 2.9 a few times. The best thing to do is to talk to the Professor when you are unsure of what they want, the always have office hours, and there is also tutoring for many of the classes, use the resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    A beautiful, and not too big of a campus and reliable bus service around campus. To incoming Freshmen and everyone for that matter, when feeling overwhelmed, home-sick, etc., please make use of the Counseling Center, every counselor is a wonderfully understanding person willing to help you with what ever you need! To transfer students, University is NOT like Community Colleges. There is a Transfer Mentor program that can help you learn and understand the differences, make use of the program.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a GREAT University! All the staff, Professors and even students at SUNY OZ are willing to help in any way possible.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat or grab a movie, shop, or party.

    Food and Dining

    Great food many different options to choose from on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms, many different buildings to choose from. Spacious rooms, comfortable environments.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is pretty good, the professors are fairly helpful, and there are always tutors available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over pack you don't need everything in your room. Don't party too much, learn how to balance fun and school work. Stay focused, study as much as possible and keep up with notes.

    In three sentences

    SUNY OSWGEO is an great school full of opportunity. It is fairly diverse and there are a lot of events that go on, on campus. If you love the wind then Oswego is the campus to attend.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good always helpful police around.

    Greek Life

    I don't belong to any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't belong to any but there are plenty on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that likes to learn anything and really you must like to be in snow... in the winter they get lots and lots of it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some dorms actually have access to Lake Ontario

    Bang for the buck

    Very excellent school for the money.

    What to do for fun

    lots of things, easy walking to the downtown area and many things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining halls are very clean and well stocked and pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Is great, no pressure to participate in events if you don't want to.

    Academic Rigor

    very good not to hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should really like snow.

    In three sentences

    The people here are very friendly. The campus is in a great location and well situated. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students are welcome in Oswego.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bridge Street Run- which is a day where all the students on campus wear a white t-shirt and get together and go to bridge street and sign each others t-shirts. May Day Weekend- A weekend in May, well usually the end of April where there are a bunch of parties and events right before finals week. Whiteout- The biggest hockey game of the year where the hockey team plays a hockey game and everyone wears white to encourage the team.

    What to do for fun

    Ice skating in the hockey rink, bowling, the movies, go out ot eat, go to lee hall, go to the pool, go to the lake, play tennis, play basketball, go to Zumba in the gym, go to parties, order food and watch movies with friends. Go into town, go to Walmart.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to say no to your friends early on because they can be your biggest distraction. Attend a lot of events to network and become involved. Try to stay out of your dorm room as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Oswego is an amazing university. It is diverse, fun and offers a lot of opportunities. Most of all you not only learn in the classroom but learn a lot of valuable life lessons.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is the school local police that you can always call at any time, there is the SHAVAC a school own (run by some students since is also a club) ambulance, there is the fire inspections done by ra's during the semester, and there are fire drills done twice each semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join, from crafting to sports I believe SUNY Oswego almost has them all. There is a list of all the clubs online and information about who to contact. The clubs are run by students and there are always happy to get a new member to join. They put a lot of different activities on campus for everyone to join, during the start of the semester the the out doors club set up a rock climbing course in the middle of the campus for anyone who wanted to could climb up and have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for those students who like to: -Try new things. -Meet new people, specially those from other countries -love to eat sweets (that is so me) -Like to have a taste of all four seasons -Like academic challenges. -Likes to read books (the library is to die for) -Likes to participate in any clubs. -Want to be away from home but feel at home.

    Bang for the buck

    To me the price is reasonable you pay for what you get, the food is not as good as your mother's or grandma's cooking since no one else's food can compare to that and the professors are very helpful and always ready to help. The dorms are in good condition and there are many ways that you can arrange the furniture before you even arrive on campus!

    What to do for fun

    There is things to always entertain yourself. Each hall has a little game room in which there are some games you can play such as ping pong, pool and table hockey. For those who prefer video games there are games and consoles that you can take out with your id from the main desk of your hall; just last night after a long day of doing work my roommate and I played pool, made an attempt to play ping pong and played some Mario kart on the Wii that we rented out. There are also many events that go on campus and in town that you can attend and get a discount for being a SUNY Oswego student.

    Food and Dining

    There are different places for you to choose from where to you want to eat from, there is also a menu online of where and what they are serving certain food which makes it easy to decide where to eat. There is also the program where depending on your meal plan you get LakerDollars which you can use to order online from certain places such as Dominoes Pizza and some others.

    Dorm Life

    I have yet to hear of someone who doesn't like their roommate, I love mine very much since we get along great. Something that I found helpful is that you get to get in contact with your roommate before you move in together which is a big giant plus! However, for those who don't get along with their roommates there are also ways for you to get a new roommate, commit with the roommate that you already have or live on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    Since is my first semester things seem to be very easy, but after speaking to some of my peers who are seniors and juniors they tell me that it becomes a bit of a challenge after all, and who doesn't like a good challenge from time to time? Something that i really like about the school is that you get to choose what classes you want to take and they have a wide variety to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    The weather here is fantastic and remember to pack you bathing suit for the days that you just feel like taking a dip in the lake on warm weather. Freshman year things will be easy academically since to me it seems that is because the school is trying to make it as easy as possible for you to feel welcome and take your time to get used to the change of environment. If you want/need to get a job on campus apply early since the jobs get filled up very easily.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego is what i was expecting it to be and much more. The campus is not too big nor too small which for me is a plus since I'm lazy. The weather is fantastic and if your dorm is not overlooking the lake then you are kind of in the middle of all of the educational buildings and not around them like on the other halls.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police is available whenever you feel unsafe, although I have night classes and I have never felt unsafe on campus. There is a new app called Raveguardian, in which you can update where you are going on campus so that, in case of an emergency, UP can locate and help you more efficiently. There are blue boxes located around campus with emergency phone lines if you ever feel in danger.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of campus. You can find a sorority or fraternity that's right for you if that is what you choose to do. However, not all people on campus join in on Greek life. I myself am not part of a sorority but I have many friends that are.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs and activities to choose from, and if you still can't find one that interests you, you can easily create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    At Oswego, there is no type. We're all a bunch of different kinds of people thrown together and it works. It is an extremely friendly atmosphere with hardly any cliques.

    Bang for the buck

    I know a lot of people who are paying thousands of dollars more a SEMESTER, for the same great education I am receiving at a SUNY school. I don't think it gets any better. If you really are coming to college to learn, you will learn. You don't have to pay big bucks just for a school's title. Oswego is a great school inside and outside the classroom.

    What to do for fun

    You can always find something to do on and off campus. Greek life is a big part of our community here, but don't think that you have to join a sorority to have fun. If you don't like to drink, you can check out open mic night, every Thursday night in the cafe or go to improv comedy on Saturday nights. There are always new movies playing in the campus theater for just two dollars. Joining a club or a team is a great way to stay busy while having fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of dining halls to pick one, each with a different specialty. I have stayed with friends at other colleges and I have found that none of them can even compare with the food we have here. I also love that there are a number of vegetarian choices here, as other schools are very limited with those choices.

    Dorm Life

    It is a typical dorm experience. Sure there are things I would prefer about home, but dorm life isn't supposed to be perfect.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone here is focused on their work, and although it is a fun school, it is very easy to balance your time and get your work done because everyone else has the same mindset; school first, party later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see what all the hype is about for yourself. It took only one visit for me to be won over.

    In three sentences

    My school has an extremely welcoming, friendly environment. I feel I have made the right choice and I am extremely happy I changed my mind at the last minute. Oswego has something for everyone and I love the diversity you can find nearly anywhere on campus.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have good campus safety that patrols throughout the day to make sure everything is ok. There are also ways to get them to help you feel safe by arranging some alerts with your phone and stuff. They are very helpful and do their jobs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 150 organizations and clubs on campus and that number continues to grow. There are clubs like Equestrian Club, Arts and Crafts club, several musical groups, science club, meteorology club, the Oswegonian (school paper), and the list goes on and on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always have a humans vs zombies thing that happens on campus. Anyone can participate and the students really get a kick out of it.

    What to do for fun

    There are SO many things to do for fun on campus. It all depends on what your definition of fun is. I personally love to go to the plays and musicals, I love to go to late night with friends, go shopping in town and play in several music ensembles on campus. There are a bunch of organizations and clubs on campus that can also be very fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options in the dining halls and allow you to be whatever you want, whether it be vegetarian, vegan,...etc. I also like that they offer late night, which is basically another meal after dinner for people who missed dinner, or just want a snack.

    Dorm Life

    Life in a dorm is nice for me. But it is not for everybody. There are times where it will be the best experience ever, but other times you don't want to be anywhere near a residence hall. Overall, it is a great way to find friends and develop a community.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes have their own version of challenges. The gen-ed classes are less difficult, but still have enough difficulty where you feel challenged enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to attend class. Bring your warm clothing, because it can get pretty cold at Oswego. Be ready for a lot of different people and cultures to be around campus.

    In three sentences

    It has a great campus environment. They are really helpful to students in whatever major they are in. I love the small classrooms.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could hang out with your friends while doing some shopping or you could go to the movies and watch some movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just don't slack off and be prepared for the large workload.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. Its so quiet and everything is so wide and spacious. I really like to come back again after my first year.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has own police force it is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Yes there are many fraternities and sororities students may join.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an active member in meteorology club and better forecasting bureau. I am a meteorology major and I enjoy the different clubs the university has to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Oswego is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whiteout weekend is a great time of the year. At SUNY Oswego our biggest sport is hockey and this weekend the Oswego Lakers play our biggest rival SUNY Plattsburgh.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good education for a very reasonable price. SUNY Oswego is also rated second in the world for college sunsets. Our beautiful sunsets on Lake Ontario are priceless.

    What to do for fun

    In my free time I like to go swimming at the pool. I also love to play Call of Duty and other videogames. I enjoy playing intramural sports and taking walks by the lake.

    Food and Dining

    Food at school is great. However I am from Long Island New York and I can say upstate people do not know how to make good pizza and bagels.

    Dorm Life

    Depends where you live. Riggs hall and eastern campus is very nice, central campus is very convenient because it is close to all the academics. Western campus is for people who love to party however it is its own part of the campus because it is far away from everything.

    Academic Rigor

    I am going to say that 100-200 level courses are a lot easier than the AP/IB courses I did in high school. However upper divison courses (300-400) are much harder than AP/IB classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip for a prospective student is to take more classes so later in your college career you will not be as stressed. Before you get to college take a lot of AP/IB courses to get credits to save time and money.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego is a great school with a great atmosphere. I am pursuing a dual major in meteorology and computer science. There is a nationally recognized meteorology program and in the fall of 2013 there will be a new state of the science complex for students to use.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A nice selection at all dining areas

    Dorm Life

    Looks like nice rooms

    Academic Rigor

    Looks like some great hands-on learning in the area of broadcast studies

    In three sentences

    Found a very friendly atmoshphere.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flat rocks by the lake is the hangout place. D-bus(Drunk bus)! Fridays and Saturdays, the D-bus will come around campus and pick you up and take you to whatever party/bar you want to go to. 2$ each way. Admittedly, the driver is a tad sketchy looking but atleast you're not driving drunk.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY schools are a great choice. You can get a private school education without paying an arm and a leg. Although, Oswego, tends to have higher activities fees than many other SUNY schools so just be aware.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is pretty huge....and so are the bars! Hockey games are pretty big here at Oswego!

    Food and Dining

    In addition to regular dining hall hours, Oswego has late night offered which runs from 8:30 to 11 and you can get any kind of food. Most of the dining halls are normal buffets but Mackin is a unique dining hall where you can order up to 6.75$ in food and they will make it for you. It is used as a meal on your plan. You can also order food from local restaurants online using your flex money on your id and they will deliver right to the dorms. I would suggest the unlimited meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    West campus dorms are pretty....gross. The buildings are old and not as aesthetically pleasing as the newer dorms. West campus tends to be louder and more of the party place. Actual dorm rooms are small and you share a bathroom with the floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Just about every class you will have to do group work-establish connections early on and learn to work with your partners so when that final project comes around-you can get a good grade on it. Most of the classes were roughly 25 people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do something, you're going to hear this over and over again-but seriously get involved. Don't be boring. Bring warm clothes-cannot stress this enough. Learning the on campus bus schedule comes in handy. Parking on campus is terrible! You need to pay to have your car on campus and most of the time you won't be able to find a decent spot near your dorm/building.

    In three sentences

    Oswego is big and small at the same time. Lots of different majors.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you're ever bored on campus, you're doing something wrong. There are so many clubs, it's crazy. We have everything from cheerleading and intramural sports to fencing club, from BASIC to video game clubs, and from ballet to Irish Step Dancing. There is also a club for nearly every major on campus, as if you didn't get enough of that during class! There is also an open mic night once a week, as well as trivia night. Once winter hits, the hockey games are the most popular events. If you don't love hockey now, you will before you leave Oswego!

    Food and Dining

    I have a lot of complaints about the dining... First of all, the options for anyone with dietary restraints are limited. Oswego caught my attention because they said they always had at least three vegetarian options. As a vegetarian used to having salad every day in high school because of a lack of options, this was very exciting. Until I got to school and found that sometimes the condiment bar was one of the vegetarian options. Mustard and relish aren't a meal, I'm sorry. I've also had many experiences with burnt or cold food, or dining halls closing early or running out of food and not making more because they didn't want leftovers. All in all, if I could give zero stars I would in a heartbeat.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life!! There's always something to do, and there is someplace for everyone. Students have the option of 24 hour quiet floors, substance free floors, freshman only dorms, suites, or singles if they want them. Most dorms allow students access to a computer lab and kitchen, which is wonderful for all night study sessions. My only complaint is that every year I have had problems with the heat in my room.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had very few classes that I found easy. That being said, none of the classes are impossible to do well in, provided you go to class, do your work, and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take lots of different classes. College is a time for you to get to know yourself and your interests, and you'd be surprised how many different classes there are available! Also, don't give up on something just because your advisor suggests against it. That's a big problem with the freshman advisement program, they're focused on success and retaining a higher percentage of students instead of challenging the students.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego has been a wonderful fit for me. I love my classes and professors. However, the freshman advisors aren't really as helpful as they should be.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe of campus.

    Greek Life

    I am also involved in greek life. I can honestly say that becoming apart of Alpha Sigma Chi has really been the key to my happiness at Oswego. They are my family away from home. Its nice to have a group of women that are there for you no matter what. Also, we are very involved on campus and with the Oswego community. We host fundraisers and partake in community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is so important to get involved in a club. Currently, I am apart of the Pride Alliance club at SUNY Oswego. It is great to talk to new students and get together to do things on campus. Every fall semester we have a Drag Ball to raise money for our organization. It's ALWAYS a big hit and students really enjoy it.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who doesn't mind the cold!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you first arrive there is something called the candle ceremony. I thought it was the cutest thing ever.

    Bang for the buck

    I've only attended Oswego for one semester, and I can honestly say it has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. Oswego has helped me grow as a person. I've made fantastic friendships. One key to a happy and successful stay at Suny Oswego is to get involved! Talk to people on campus and join a club or organization. If there isn't a club you feel you are interested in, you can start your own!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Oswego! - Catch a movie with friends - Hockey games are SO much fun - Join a club or organization - Take a walk down by the lake to see the sun set - Ice skating - Swimming in Lee Hall - Movies in the Campus Center

    Food and Dining

    Oswego's dining hall food is awesome! There is so much to choose from. There are also a lot of vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free options.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm! Our residence hall is so cute and also clean! We have cleaning people that come in daily. I love my roommate and neighbors. We all get along great.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe I'm getting a great education at Suny Oswego. Education is what you make of you. You have to apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    - When living on campus, live on the west side. - Subshop is a must - Hockey games are so much fun - Get involved! We have some amazing clubs and organizations on campus. Take the opportunity to become apart of something!

    In three sentences

    Attending Suny Oswego has honestly felt like a dream come true. Our campus is beautiful and the atmosphere of it all is something I wouldn't trade for the world. Also, the food is fantastic.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are usure of what you want to major in, Oswego is great, because there are such a wide range of options as far as what you can major in. So if you are unsure, you can come and take a little Chemistry and a little English, a little of this and a little of that, until you settle on what it is you want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are right on a lake, so during the warmer months, students will eat meals on the shore and sometimes just hang out by the lake to listen to the waves and watch the sunset. Although we do get a lot of snow and wind here, so there aren't as many warm months as we would like.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Oswego really is cost-efficient. You have the opportunity to get a great education in the major you want, and because it's a SUNY school instead of a private school, it is so much less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and organizations here. We have everything form horse-back riding to Humans vs Zombies to The Jedi Order. For the most part, if you can nae it, we have it, and if we don't, then starting up your own club is pretty easy as long as you can find others who are interested.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is awesome!! There are so many different dining options for all time of the day. There is a cafe in the library, everything from pizza to salad to tacos to burgers in the Campus Center, and dining halls on both sides of campus, one of which is a bufet style. M only complaint would be that ommuters hve to pay $9 for meals in the dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I am a commuter, so I don't have personal experience with living on campus, but all my friends absolutely love it. Many of the residence halls have events specifically for the residents, so you have a chance to meet people in your hall outside of classes. The RAs and RMs are pretty awesome and helpful too.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take and what you are good at, but my experience has been that the classes challenge you to think more than you usually would and about things you usually wouldn't. While the classes are challenging, I haven't been afraid of failing. As long as you do what you're supposed to, passing shouldn't be an issue.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your advisor isn't being as helpful as you would like, you can go to the department's office and request a different advisor. If you find a professor you love, take a bunch of their courses, because you don't want to end up with a prof you can't learn from. Other than that, just stay on top of your work, and you'll do fine. And don't worry if you don't know what you want to major in yet. Because of Oswego's range of major choices, you get to take a wide range of classes and test the waters to see what you're interested in.

    In three sentences

    I love it here; there are so many major options, and most of the professors are laid-back, but not to the point of laziness. You are always learning new things and discussing new ideas. And of course, it's more affordable than a lot of other colleges.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The only issue I have is I wish it was a little healthier. What little healthy options they have, are often not that healthy at all, or are not desirable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pack warm! Use a planner! There are great resources like the Compass, OLS, other tutoring services, the Counseling Center, so don't feel like you're all on your own, if you need a little help, don't be afraid to get it.

    In three sentences

    SUNY College at Oswego is located right on Lake Ontario, and although it can be quite cold, it is a beautiful campus. Besides lectures, the classes are not too big, and most professors are great and will give help when needed. The dining and residence halls are great.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its an open campus so there is always the threat of danger but late at night campus is pretty quiet with lights to light your way. Winters are obviously darker but there are many services provided for your safety.

    Greek Life

    I only really know about the d9 greek life but there are a lot of other fraternities & sororities. The big ones on campus are the Phi Beta Sigmas & Alpha Phi Alphas

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple organizations such as Alana (Asian Latino African Caribbean Two & a half and etc). Theres basketball, track, hockey, football and etc. Also, there is the radio station, news station and school newspaper.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone, especially people who like smaller universities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BSR - Bridge Street Run is where you walk down the strip of Bridge street and everyone's selling food and drinking or w.e. Its the last day if class

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap well for New York State residents

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations you can join. Also, there is pretty much events every month.

    Food and Dining

    Provides a good amount of food and always encouraging feedback from students. Lakeside dining hall is the newest and cleanest dining hall. Cooper is wider but disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    Depends what dorm you're in and whose on your floor. I've lived in Scales hall for the past two semesters and the rooms are bigger than any other dorm houses but the girls were very disgusting. East side of campus is laid back and close to class but West side is the party side and further from classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers in the Communication department are great! Extremely passionate and laid back .

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved ! Join anything that seems to fit because you'll meet more people and feel more comfortable. Also, plan what you're going to spend your $$ on ahead of time because money runs by quickly over here. Also, the weather over here sucks! Prepare for very cold and long winters, and random winds because we are next to lake Ontario

    In three sentences

    Suny Oswego provides great benefits for students of the Communication or Business majors. It hosts plenty of organizations and has events every week.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a number one priority for Oswego. University Police station is located on campus right outside the back on Onondaga Hall. Wherever you go on campus, espeicially at night, you are likely to see a Univertisy Police car driving around making sure eveything is going smoothly on campus.

    Greek Life

    As a member of a sorority, I can say a lot about Greek life. Sometimes Greek life gets a bad reputation but at SUNY Oswego, it's not what people expect. Hazing does not happen during the joining of fraternity's/sororities. Oswego makes sure to have programs that exemplify hazing and what kind of things would be considered hazing. Greek life is a big part of SUNY Oswego and joining a fraternity/sorority can be a great decision if you are looking for form new and long lasting friendships.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about every major/minor that SUNY Oswego offers. For more education and field trips as well as being able to bond with those in the same field of interest of you, these clubs are perfect. Community service is a big part of SUNY Oswego, during the year there are various walks on campus such as the uicide Prevention Walk.

    Great for these types of students

    Oswego is great for all students but especially for foreign exchange students. There is even a building on campus specifically for these students where there is all kinds of activities they can take part in to bond with one another and get more acquainted with the campus and school.

    What to do for fun

    There seems to be millions of activities for students to do for fun at SUNY Oswego. There's sports teams, clubs & organizations, Greek life, academic clubs and so much more. Throughout the year, Oswego has activities such as May Day. At May Day there's rides to go on, lots of free food and obstacle courses. This is just one of the many fairs/fun days that goes at at Oswego annually.

    Food and Dining

    There's nothing to complain about as far as the dining halls go at SUNY Oswego. There are various options of foods to eat for every meal of the day. There is also an ice cream shop located in one of the dining halls and also a grill in one if you're ever craving a burger, grilled chicken or anything else. Late night is also available which is great for people who can't make it to dinner or who just want to indulge, because late night is usually not to healthy food, but it's food that everyone craves once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at SUNY Oswego is everything a college student would want it to be. There are RA's in every building to ensure that students who are facing problems with roomates, academics, etc. will always have someone to go to that they can confide in. The dorms are clean and kept up to date for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    Class sizes at SUNY Oswego are perfect for me, and I have never had a professor I didn't like. Classes are appropriately challenging for whatever level they are. Major classes are generally held in smaller lecture halls so students can learn as much as they can, without many distractions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of where your classes are going to be held and try to request a dorm building that isn't too far away from those buildings. Keep focused, it's easy to get caught up in the parties but as long as you know what you're there for, you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego is a great campus where students can get the full college experience. The campus is easy to navigate and buildings aren't too far away from each other. Although Oswego gets a bad reputation as far as weather goes, everything else about Oswego outweighs the snowy winters.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Personal protection - a must!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports and clubs for all interests!

    What to do for fun

    Sports!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look relatively new.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of majors, and more staff is full-time

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at how the students interact with each other and ask a lot of questions!

    In three sentences

    The campus is like a city. There are a lot of people. The dorms are great!

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk all year around from the city to the university no matter a what time and you will be safe. We have our own police that coordinates with the city police. our own ambulance service as well. The town is safe!!

    Greek Life

    Lots of them for girls and boys

    Clubs and Activities

    more than 200 hundred clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to excel in their studies broadcasting, communications, art in all expressions, English and foreign Languages we have French, Italian, Spanish, German, Japanese,Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, Arabic etc. We just got our new science building with the most advance planetarium lab. One can study by Ontario's shores love nature, unbelievable sunsets, boating, sports, and night life!! What else can you ask for

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Green and Gold pride, Halloween, Hugs day etc

    Bang for the buck

    The city is charming and cheaper. Restaurants, Walmart, JCPenney, TJMaxx, Bowling and public transportation very accessible. and you have the option to travel to shopping centers located in Phoenix NY, and Syracuse NY the big city.

    What to do for fun

    So many activities, Art Galleries, Our own Rise Creek a Natural Reserve Conservancy, Clubs of all kinds, Ice Jockey, Organizations,Community Services, Sports everything is there.

    Food and Dining

    So much to choose from with excellent quality!!

    Dorm Life

    All dorms have excellent maintenance and supervision. for Juniors and Seniors there are Villas housings Beautiful!! and you can always live off campus if you prefer that

    Academic Rigor

    They allowed you to develop yourself and grow up by becoming mature and responsible for your own schedule and classes. One learn to make decisions, you learn to cope the good or bad consequences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind as pupils Be interdependent among academic staff and tutors Be persistent and organized and you will find your path

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent college to be part of I am very proud of being part of this college I would continue to do the best with this great opportunity of higher education

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's the university police that goes around the campus every hour I believe, we have s.a.v.a.c. and direct contact to the hospital. The lights are always on outside so its not dark when you walk back or to a residence hall.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a part of it, but they have sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's almost always something going in the residence halls, in the campus, with the clubs, or with the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Love hockey, snow, be involved in clubs/activities, ....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a pre-line to the hockey games.

    Bang for the buck

    Compare to other schools the tuition is not that bad

    What to do for fun

    Being involved in any of clubs, or spending time with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but I would like some more Hispanic food

    Dorm Life

    I wish we had more closet space

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are competitive and to the point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study Do your homework Go to tutoring Get involved

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous, has some really good and interesting classes. They have high standards for students with their work and responsibility.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UP (University Police) is just a call away all day and night! and apps to help you track your way through campus too.

    Greek Life

    Its around.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types for everyone, or you can make your own with just 6 members to start!

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lake is memorable! bring a camera. The torchlight ceremony and the school is old! which means it has history such as the story of the founder and the statue in front of Sheldon Hall which ill let you find out about.

    Bang for the buck

    The graduating debt isn't as great compared to others which is fantastic and you really get your moneys worth. Plus there are other things to remove from your bill like insurance fee and such.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of clubs to mention but the town is your to explore too. free rock climbing, swimming in the lake or the pool. Lots and lots to do! a lot of it free like the hockey games, and for 3 bucks you can open skate!

    Food and Dining

    Perfect, i am actually missing the food now! Ice cream, milkshakes, sandwiches, wing wednesday, late-night, late-bite! Gah!!

    Dorm Life

    Fun! lots to do, you will never be bored if you read the bulletin boards in the lobby of each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major but professors are willing to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there, make friends and you wont feel at all homesick. Bring warm clothing and a fan for the spring/summer time.

    In three sentences

    Great college a lot of opportunities in just my freshman year I began to work for Reslife and Housing as a Desk Attendant in my Hall. They really want you too succeed and if you look you will find opportunities.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. Campus police are located directly on campus, and these are real Oswego County officers opposed to security guards. There is a system of blue lights spread around campus so if you ever feel threatened you can go to one of them and pick up the phone to call for immediate help. There is also an app you can download for a similar experience.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is alive at this school so if you want to get involved with a fraternity or sorority then you have every chance to do so. The school is very strict against hazing so while you should always keep an eye out for your own safety, it is nice to know that the school is aware and has no tolerance for such acts.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for nearly everything. It's also easy to get involved and make your own club or organization and get funding for it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most popular places to go on campus is down by the lake. Here, if weather permits, you can swim in Lake Ontario or just skip some rocks and unwind. Just down the road is a really good ice cream shop.

    Bang for the buck

    If you were expecting to buy textbooks from the school store you are much better off buying them through an online resource because the books here are very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do in Oswego. There are many sports teams including Rowing, Soccer, Baseball, Basketball, etc. and if a real team does not suit you then you can be your own captain and join an organized recreational team for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is very good and there is a great variety of foods for students with all sorts of wants/special needs. The dining hall takes pride in listening to students by offering comment cards that are regularly answered and posted and take great consideration for any suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very organized and well done. Two dorm buildings are always connected to a dining hall in a way that prevents you having to go outside into the weather, and all dining halls offer the same food, with minor differences.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors can be deemed harder than others. Not to appear daunting, every professor takes their field seriously so expect a real workload with no shortcuts.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip for a prospective student of SUNY Oswego is to go to the club fair early in the semester, find something you are interested in, sign up and get involved. This campus has a lot to offer so if you want to meet people with similar interests as well as spending your time doing things you really like then go out and get involved. Lastly, be sure to bring warm clothes because the campus is very windy and temperatures get low fast and stay low for a majority of the time there,

    In three sentences

    SUNY Oswego is a great academic SUNY school with many majors and programs available. The campus at Oswego is beautiful, being right on the border of Lake Ontario as well as access to the many outdoor activities upstate New York has to offer. The staff is very friendly and approachable so be sure to take advantage of the office hours that nearly every professor offers.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you feel unsafe, use Rave Guardian to set a timer to get from point A to point B. Also, UP will easily come to you if you call!

    Great for these types of students

    Studying-types

    Food and Dining

    The food diversity is great, though you can see a pattern eventually. This is no problem as there is always the option of a salad and whatever specialty the dining hall you happen to be in is serving.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cozy depending on where you live. Central Campus (Hart, Funnelle) are the best accessible to everywhere, East Campus (Waterbury, Scales, Riggs, and Johnson) are futher east if you have classes in Shineman. West Campus (Seneca, Cayuga, Onondaga, and Oneida) are a bit further out from the rest of the campus, but are really fun on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes and teachers that are easier than others, but as a second semester freshman, the classes are evenly balanced if you have a good work ethic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely bring a long warm coat! The winter here gets pretty windy so bundle up!

    In three sentences

    Oswego is really a nice small big school. It's the perfect size if you want to have the intimacy of a small school and the benefits of of a big school such as college pride in a major team (hockey).

  • 05/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Couple people died, but whatever.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of opportunities to join clubs and teams, but just being on campus gives you enough to do.

    Food and Dining

    Wing Wednesdays for late night. Enough said.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are well off, and the people are amazing. Really feels like home.

    Academic Rigor

    It's College, did you expect it to be easy?

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stay up partyng too late. And do your work.

    In three sentences

    Oswego has a great environment for learning. The tech department is well equipped, as are the rest of the departments. There are also many chances for employment on campus.

  • 07/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Well, the food here is definitely not a huge factor in why people choose SUNY Oswego. There are a couple of meals that I find to be very tasteful which include popcorn chicken, steak, wing (they have a wing night), belgian waffles, and pancakes. Just thinking about it makes me hungry. Other than that, there is not much variety for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Thankfully, the campus provides three different sections for the dorms. You have the East side of campus where the Freshman usually stay. This side of campus is reasonably quiet. Then you have the center of campus where most of the international students live. Finally you the west side of campus which is more on the party side if you want to spice tings up.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at SUNY Oswego can be challenging at times. The professors here definitely prepare you for future careers that you may choose to pursue later on. Some of the professors are really strict, while others are very understanding. In all, the professors want their students to work harder.