Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College at Plattsburgh Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to do laundry before arriving at school. Bring warm clothes, and a lot of bug spray.

    Bang for the buck

    Residence halls could be a lot better in many ways - they are not clean and not very comfortable. Appears that there are not enough showers/toilets in the hallway bathrooms, and not enough washing machines and dryers. Little to no air conditioning in most buildings.

    Am enjoying being here

    Faculty/staff are not very knowledgeable in certain areas as they should be and aren't all that friendly. A general lack of politeness and friendliness among students and faculty/staff. Few people are personable and make you feel welcome. The clubs, though, are very enjoyable and interesting, and there is a wide variety of clubs/organizations to join.

    Am learning a lot

    Some professors are not very clear in their teaching methods, or they rush through the notes and just tell you to go online to get what you've missed. Some faculty make you take classes you aren't ready for or don't want to take.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a lot about Plattsburgh being a party school. The truth is, is that it's a choice school. You choose what you want to do. Plattsburgh has the opportunities there. Just got to learn to balance it all out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is key! A big key.

    Bang for the buck

    The dormitories and bathrooms within could be in better condition. Then again, it is meant only to be a living space during your stay, so it is mostly meant to be useful. I'm having trouble paying for college, but it was the second most affordable, SUNY Albany being the first since it's 10 minutes away from home. However, it is not a bad deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is pleasant. The campus is pretty small, so it usually does not take me more than 10 minutes AT MOST to get to class. That should be easier during the really cold winter days. I had joined one martial art club, in which the people welcomed me very much, and i had also participated in a few rallies at the school.

    Am learning a lot

    However, learning is not just in classroom. I am learning to live on my own. I am also learning that being independent is a lot harder than I thought it would be. Classes are fairly decent, but I feel that most of the time, I have to be teaching myself. The professors barely use the books in class, but have the students read several chapters after one class. Time management is something I am still learning.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student. Art, education, political, and science-based studies are the most suited here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you haven't applied to Plattsburgh already, I would recommend doing so. It wasn't my first choice to be honest, but I promise that should you attend, you will not be disappointed.

    Bang for the buck

    Surprisingly enough, I always felt like Plattsburgh State was severely underrated. There are too many exceptional professors at PSU that don't get enough recognition for their dedication to their career. Not only that, but for what you pay, you get an optimal education in a fairly well-maintained environment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Plattsburgh is somewhat close to my home, so I was already familiar with the town, but to anyone who is incoming to the area, you have nothing to fear, and everything to expect and be pleased by Plattsburgh. The layout of the campus is wonderful, and the size of the city of Plattsburgh is comfortable enough to find everything you are looking for within a short distance.

    Am learning a lot

    I have met some of the most unique, peculiar, and interesting professors during my time at Plattsburgh, and I can say with full honesty that I have never regretted my choice to attend college at PSU. I learned an incredible amount of vital material for my major within my first semester, and they are all skills that I will never forget.

  • 11/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who loves the outdoors and doesn't mind a smaller campus. It isn't huge yet isn't tiny. It seems homey.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you will not like it if you are looking for a city school. This is cold and rainy but its beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be expensive. If you can afford it, come!

    Am enjoying being here

    Plattsburgh State is supported by its surrounding community. If you love the outdoors and don't mind harsh weather, its worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    It depends on how motivated you are but this school makes it possible to get good grades.

  • 06/22/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who like rural setting,but near bigger cities surrounding it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an early decision.

    Bang for the buck

    The most affordable.

    Will enjoy being here

    Will try my best.

    Will learn a lot

    The Best Choice

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel that all types of students would enjoy this school. We are extremely diverse in the people we have and we pride ourselves on it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a VERY COLD campus. It is not a place to come unprepared for. Winter clothes are a necessity. Know how to do laundry before you get here. Having to ask someone your age how to clean your clothes is very embarrassing and makes you look immature. Don't assume that because you were the best at everything where you came from, that you will be here. There are a lot more people to deal with. Just try your hardest.

    Bang for the buck

    I find that some of the dorms aren't as up to date as desired. They are shutting down one of the dorms this year to redo it, but what they should really be doing is replacing all of the washers and dryers. Many things have been destroyed in these machines. If you do the math, the washers and dryers are used more times in one year than by a family of four in 15 years. They need to be the first priority so that students don't lose property. On the other hand, the buildings can be pretty disgusting, but that is also due to the students that live in them. The food is okay, except for Clinton dining hall some days. Everywhere else is pretty good.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a great college! The atmosphere is wonderful, and the people are awesome. Most people are very nice, whether they know you or not. I had strangers help me find where I needed to go. The cleaning lady in my dorm would share all the gossip she knew about the dorm, and the rest of the school. The dean of students is apparently extremely lenient, he just doesn't want to see you in his office again. The campus itself isn't that large. Though having to go from one side of the campus to the other is about a 15 minute walk, its not that bad. That's also probably the longest you will walk anyway. Otherwise, 10 minute walks are the norm, but they aren't as bad as you'd think. The campus is right in the middle of everything. You can take a shuttle uptown to all of the brand name stores and restaurants, and its free, provided by the school. A walk downtown is about 15 to 20 minutes, depending on where you live, but it doesn't matter, because it is totally worth it to, not only see some of the beginnings of this town, but to go to Koffee Kat (amazing coffee shop), Junaidz (local hookah bar; definitely an experience), or Pizza Bono (the spot everyone can go for good pizza that you can use your college card for). There are other attractions such as the wonderful ma and pop restaurants, shops, and convenience stores.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot, in, and outside of the classroom. I've learned that it isn't as easy to survive on your own as you think, and its good to keep in contact with your parents. Friends help too. I like that, when I'm in class, the teachers really seem to know what they are doing. Though some teachers are more difficult to follow than others, you learn which teaching style is best, and just learn to cope with the rest. The teachers are really trying to help you, even when I was switching majors, every teacher and advisor I had involved just wanted me to learn what I wanted and to get where I needed to be.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Plattsburgh State is a great school for students who want something different--something out of the ordinary. This tiny little college nestled in the Adirondacks is full of the extraordinary. I'm a Latino student tossed in with Caucasians, Blacks, Asians and other racial groups. Plattsburgh State would be suited for anyone that is willing to take a risk. It's in the middle of nowhere, that's a risk in itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Plattsburgh! It's definitely nothing like New York City or Southern California, but it's a place many people don't know of. It has a total different ambiance and feel than any other place I've ever been to, which makes it all that much more interesting. The locals are friendly, the faculty is knowledgeable in their areas, and Plattsburgh is only a short drive from Montreal, Canada.

    Bang for the buck

    Since I'm an out-of-state student my tuition is through the roof! I've had to take out numerous loans and heavily depend on scholarships, work-study, and other forms of financial aid. I will be in great debt once I graduate from Plattsburgh State, but in the end I think it will be worth it. My fees and tuition are nearly doubled, which I find truly absurd. I think I was better off attending a school back home because I wouldn't be in debt, would be close to my family and be close to people with a similar background. In essence, I feel like I'm paying for the college experience and not so much the education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being from Southern California and moving to the frigid North Country was definitely a shock for me; both culturally and environmentally. I hail from the heart of Orange County, where the winters' don't get any colder than 50 degrees. In Plattsburgh, the winters' drop to negative degree temperature, something I had never experienced. Aside from the cold and harsh weather, I have truly enjoyed my stay in Plattsburgh. I had opportunities to attend a CAL State and St. John's Univ. in the city, but I declined. I wanted something different and I have definitely gotten that here. I love Plattsburgh.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a sophomore at Plattsburgh State and I think I have learned a lot so far. Some of the material being taught in the classes seems like a lot and more advanced than it should be, but in the end it seems only beneficial to the student. Most of the professors I've have are very knowledgeable on their areas of study and know what they're doing. By far, all of my journalism courses are teaching me things and material I wouldn't learn in other schools. The journalism department is very well trained in the subject and thanks to the professors I have learned immensely.

  • 05/06/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get great teachers and great facilities for your tuition dollars here. The school is constantly growing and expanding, renovating buildings for newer technologies and research as well as the wide variety of student groups and clubs.

    Did enjoy being here

    I spent the best years of my young adult life so far here at PSU. The campus is beautiful and spread out, and not too larger to travel. Great friendships were established, and a lot of my lifetime friends are from here. I learned a lot about myself as well ans grew up a lot while at PSU.

    Did learn a lot

    Plattsburgh has a large diversity of students, teachers, and programs. I learned a lot about my field and a few others as well as the local history of the Champlain Valley. I grew up a lot through my experiences here at PSU.

  • 04/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Plattsburgh has a wide variety of students and is great for anyone. There is a great nursing program, communications program and many many other programs that anyone can fit into. Though if you don't like the snow or cold I wouldn't recommend Plattsburgh it does get a little chilly here but makes for great skiing and snowboarding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be unique. Plattsburgh or any college get thousands of application so make sure you stand out. The best advice though is to be you! Your application is about you and when the acceptance committee sees your application they think everything on their is all you so be honest and positive. Also visit the campus it shows commitment.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a state school so tuition is lower than a private school but the education I'm getting is at the same level if not higher than a private school! Room and board is more expensive then tuition is.

    Am enjoying being here

    The weather does get cold but I do love it here. The first moment I stepped onto campus it felt like home and it was comfortable. I didn't feel scared or intimidated like I did in other schools. It's a great place to be it's small enough to feel connected but big enough to succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the majority of my professor and they are knowledgeable about their field and many of them still work in that field so they have the most current knowledge available. I'm learning so many new things and one of my classes actually inspired me so much that I picked up a minor!!

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus, there is a university police as well as blue lights for students to press should they be in trouble. they patrol every night and keep the peace in order and quiet. they arrive promptly and are helpful in every way possible.

    Greek Life

    there are many fraternities and sororities to choose from. greek life can be the place to make your closest friends and meet many students from different areas and from similar majors. it is another option besides joining clubs and attending activities and a great way to show your creativity.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs to choose from. it varies from environmental friendly to the korean association to the international marketing club. each club is given a budget to create activities to promote their club and really share with the rest of the students.

    Great for these types of students

    students with high gpa can join honor societies and those with a sports background can join teams. the college offers varsity basketball, hockey, tennis, track and so many other sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a lot of the buildings are interconnected, allowing students to shave time off from walking along distance. there are short bridges, stairs, and elevators going in several directions, allowing students to determine on their own how long it takes to get to class and offices.

    Bang for the buck

    besides campus life, the town offers a lot of fun ways to enjoy the weekend. students can go hiking, snowboarding, go downtown to hang out with friends. the location of the college also allows students to travel to montreal and vermont and learn about the culture and important values of the people.

    What to do for fun

    the student activity association creates many events on campus for students to join in and share with. events include game night, movie night, bingo, and many activities every week or so. the association and clubs also host musical events, performances, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    at suny plattsburgh, there are several dining halls and late night places to eat at. the food is always fresh, buffet style, and even a semi-formal restaurant served by students. food includes various styles and ethnicity to share with.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a great way to meet people, especially riding up and down the elevator everyday with the same people. dorm activities allow people from different schedule and different backgrounds to really mingle and chat. experiencing dorm life allows people to live with others and become exposed to new cultures.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic curriculum is not easy or difficult. it really depends on the student and how hard they are willing to work for their grades. professors are extremely helpful here and there are extra tutoring lessons provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    first year students and transfer-ins should try to get involved as soon as possible. there are great ways to meet many people; join clubs, volunteer, and participate in dorm life. time management is very important in between classes, assignments, clubs, and having a social life. balanced correctly and it'll be a great college experience for you here!

    In three sentences

    suny plattsburgh is a well known college for education and business as well as other majors and was one of the first colleges to be accredited. the populated town allows a wide variety of diversity among students. it is also a great opportunity to visit canada as it is so close and learn of another countries' history and culture.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a quiet rural area. It's small enough to enjoy the surroundings, but big enough to get things done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active if you come to Plattsburgh. Lots of connections can be made. Don't sit still. If you make the effort to come to Plattsburgh, make the effort to get to know everything you can.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for the price. Cheaper than most, but in absolutely no way less of a school for it. In this case, not getting what you paid for is a good thing.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have to admit, I hate the cold. Plattsburgh however, has lots to do to get your mind off the weather. Trips to the neighboring states, campus events, and the people all around (if you look) make the place as warm as can be. If you really hate to cold, the study abroad program (76 Countries) can definitely warm you up.

    Am learning a lot

    SUNY Plattsburgh has a ton of resources for learning. Professors love their students and don't mind having us contact them on their off hours. We have lots of student tutors to explain any subject in a more understandable way if need be. The library is also ridiculously sized, and we have access to any book across all SUNY's. There is no excuse to have not learned anything. Information and people willing and able to help are literally at your finger tips.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are amazing and they are all very helpful! Whatever your major is or will be there is a spot for everyone here at Suny Plattsburgh. If your unsure about what college you would like to attend don't cross this one off your list because it could be the perfect college for you!

    Am enjoying being here

    One of my favorite places in the world.

    Am learning a lot

    I am always leaveing class saying to myself, wow I didnt know that.

  • 11/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Plattsburgh welcomes everyone. The area may be a bit boring but it's what you can make out of it! Anyone can have fun here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have motivation! Come ready and be determined! Leave behind nonsense because this school takes safety seriously!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low compared to other SUNY schools. If you are an EOP Student, so many grants are given you to. SUNY Plattsburgh are very kind enough to give money to those who need it, just so students can stay in college to keep learning. This school is very understanding and their staff are very amiable!

    Am enjoying being here

    SUNY Plattsburgh presents the campus with so many activities because they understand that the area is sort of boring. The best activities presented are the shows such as Night of Nations and Plattsburgh's Best Dance Crew. If those aren't interesting enough for those that are extremely outgoing then downtown Plattsburgh might be good. At downtown Plattsburgh, there is a club called Therapy which closes at 2AM in respect of college students who get out of control with the partying. There is also a few hookah bars. If those are still not appealing, the stars above are a nice view and even further down Plattsburgh, there is a beautiful lake with surrounding grass and trees where thinking is allowed.

    Am learning a lot

    It's my first semester here and so far SUNY Plattsburgh is a good school for me. I am learning on how to be an individual and not rely on others as much; this school helps build self-confidence. I'm also learning more about myself such as the talents I never thought I had. SUNY Plattsburgh has a variety of activities and they are willing to welcome anyone, even the inexperience.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not a place you're ever really going to be worried. there's plenty of places to reach campus security and a blue light system so not too much to worry about.

    Clubs and Activities

    more than enough to be satisfied and they're always willing to create more if you can get people interested.

    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy, people who like to party, international, and artsy there are others, but that's kind of the vibe you get.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a suny school so the price isn't bad and there are a lot of available scholarships. i'd say it's pretty worth it as far as colleges go.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs and activities and a number of sports. a lot of students enjoy going to hockey games as well as basketball, soccer, rugby, and track. there's cinema's and plenty of places to eat as well including smooth moves which is a smoothie place a lot of people like. there are a few clubs downtown and you can always find a party.

    Food and Dining

    the dining halls aren't bad and there are three of them so you'll have choices. i would recommend the sun downer. however they other places to eat on campus like the campus stores, griddles, tim horton's, subway, samuel d's and the hawkins cafe give you lots of extra variety and plenty of good food.

    Dorm Life

    as far as your space its about average for a dorm setting. i would recommend living in a suite, you'll be closer with the people you live in and be able to leave stuff in the bathroom which is nice. i've met a lot of great people through living in the dorms in plattsburgh, there's always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends a lot on what you take. there are plenty of easy classes especially in gen ed things you might not be as interested in. if you're interested in tougher classes they're not hard to find and you can learn a lot. there's also a good honors program that has more discussion based classes and a lot of fun activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    bring warm clothes and a good attitude. there are plenty of things to do and friendly people to do them with. be willing to get out of your room and meet people it will ensure a good time.

    In three sentences

    at suny plattsburgh you get out of it what you're willing to put into it, so the more you care about your education the better education you're going to get. you can find some really interesting professors that are generally very willing to help and actually care about individual students. student life is bursting with activities from numerous clubs in everything from sports and outdoor activities to theater and art and we're close enough for an easy trip to montreal.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is pretty safe, not much happens here. the biggest threat is theft but we have a decently large on campus amount of cops to deal with any issues that arise.

    Bang for the buck

    decent price for what you get, not great but not bad. if they work on decreasing the pricing for food plans for on campus students then you may like the school alot more. you may like the college alot more if you live off campus because their is much student housing that cheaper in nearby areas.

    What to do for fun

    suny plattsburgh and the town of plattsburgh has lots to offer! if your interested in global issues, the sciences or business topics the school has alot to offer for extracurricular. but if you like to party i would suggest the nightlife away from the campus. the biggest advantage this school has for fun is the fact that if you go here you are less than an hour from canada so you can take some great trips up there and learn much about are northern neighbors.

    Food and Dining

    i think the dining is great on campus and would have given it a 5 out of 5 if they did not jack up the prices on food in such places as subway and a place called the sundowner. but the school has a tim hortons that is decently cheap with great snacks and 2 dining halls that both have a large mix of foods and can eat till you cant move. also on the negative side, is the fact that they usually require you to get a food plan if on campus and it can be quite expensive!

    Dorm Life

    i lived in dorm for one semester it was decent, but do not expect very big rooms for the price you pay! the best part about dorm to me was it was convenient and most of the time the students next door would not be too loud and their was decently thick walls to prevent issues with sound.

    Academic Rigor

    suny plattsburgh tries hard to make sure all its students do well with the student support services and a large room dedicated to tutoring for every kind of course material. i have taken roughly 60 credits here and the hardest kind of classes most students i think will face will be the maths and sciences especially chemistry and calculus.

    Tips for prospective students

    know that suny plattsburgh is not a huge school, but that it has decently small classes with an average i would say around 30 students, though with a few lecture halls around 100 students. they have great student support services that help the disabled and students that just need a little extra help getting around a speedbump (hard class or subject material).

    In three sentences

    a very interesting and clean school that strives itself on being very professional but maintaining respect for the students and helping them throughout their 4 or so years of school. they are a accredited business school and have great science and arts degrees. they currently are fixing the dorms to be nice and adding a new business building!

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very, very safe. There are blue lights 200 ft. in every direction that someone can press if they do not feel safe. After these are hit, the campus police (who are located in the middle of campus) will be on the scene in a matter of minutes. Also, the fire alarms are very sensitive: hair-straighteners set them off from time to time. Regardless, when there is a real threat, the fire alarms are very trustworthy and the fire department has (and keeps) a reputation of making it to the resident halls in three minutes or less. There is also a very low rate of criminal activity on campus, which can also be viewed on the Plattsburgh website (Plattsburgh.edu).

    Greek Life

    I am personally not in any Greek Life organizations, but I have many friends that are. Plattsburgh has a very strict zero-tolerance hazing rule. The fraternities and sororities are very popular and active on campus. The directories are on the Plattsburgh website: plattsburgh.edu

    Clubs and Activities

    Once again, there are over 65 clubs and organizations. This year, a friend of mine (Dave Grove) started a group called the Hard-Hattians. This group goes to all of the sports games (or a majority of them) and provides support for the Plattsburgh Cardinals.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, studious, energetic... it really is a campus for a wide variety of personas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, just a very studious, energetic, and fun-loving campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and food is overpriced, but that is to be expected since tuition rises have been on the rise for years now.

    What to do for fun

    There are 65 clubs and organizations on campus to choose from that often hold events. There is an event occurring almost daily at the college. Also, there are many clubs and night-life places to choose from, if that is your calling. There are a few movie theaters and a couple of bowling alleys for those who want to socialize or go out on fun, calm dates. For the adventurous types, there a mountains to climb and rivers to kayak in, that are in pretty close proximity to the campus. If the city of Plattsburgh is not big enough for you, you can also take a 20 minute ferry ride across Lake Champlain and go roam the streets of Burlington, VT. For fishers, Lake Champlain and the Saranac River (which runs right behind the campus) are available to fish in. There are also many sports and activities going on daily, either by the campus or by everyday students. Needless to say, the only way one can get bored in Plattsburgh is if they choose to sit inside all day and refuse to take a look around. There is always something going on in Plattsburgh, that I can promise!

    Food and Dining

    Quite simply, the food is not very good here. It is enough to get by, but the food begins to disgust you after a while. There are many resturarants (cheap ones) around the area, so if you can afford it, you can and should go out to them. Also, there are a few supermarkets (Walmart, Price Chopper, Aldi's, Hannaford) that students can buy groceries and cook their own means in, in the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends upon which dorm one resides in. The freshman halls - Whiteface and Wilson - are extremely lively and very exciting to live in. Everyone is very socially interactive, partially because the dorms are meant to be that way. That being said, the noise levels of the freshman dorms can overwhelm you at times, making it hard to study or sleep. The Banks high-rise is like this, too, but this building is not a freshman dorm. Kent, Mason, and Macomb are three low-rise dorms that are co-ed - boys in one hall, girls in the other. The dorms are shaped in L's, so that the guys are one one side of the L, and the girls on the other. These dorms are a bit more quiet. Finally, MacDounah and Harrington are at the far end of the college. These cost a little more to live in and are often filled with Juniors and Seniors, but due to their academic level, they often have more homework, making the place much quieter to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses here are a breeze, but those are mostly the introductory courses. That being said, some of the introductory courses are pretty hard and they do require an extra level of work. Students who plan to give their all, are willing to study and read the textbooks, and who use the academic options available to them will have no problem with getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    LEARN TIME MANAGEMENT!!! Plan on making studying one of your number one habits (this tip goes for any college student, not just those who are looking at Plattsburgh). Become involved - there are 65 clubs and organizations on campus that would love to have you, and will take you for free! Take advantage of all the academic help that the college provides you: learning center, tutors, writing centers, and the professors' office hours.

    In three sentences

    There is a very friendly atmosphere. Academically, this school is very rewarding and is frequently rated among the top 50 for New York State colleges. The SUNY Plattsburgh campus is very energetic, lively, and an extremely fun place to live in.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. No matter where you walk, you are not far away from anything, and in cases of emergency, University Police are always close by, and there is a system of blue lights spread throughout the campus to press in times of need.

    Greek Life

    A handful of my friends have already joined sororities and fraternities and couldn't be happier. They are always planning and attending different events and have met a lot of new people with whom they've created strong friendships.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to join for many different interests and there are also many sororities and fraternities for those looking to get involved in Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Plattsburgh does have a strong art program for any incoming art-majors!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two of the most beautiful building on campus are Hawkins hall, where most math classes are located, and Champlain Valley hall, both for their attractive exteriors.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Association is always planning different events during the week, and on the weekends, they plan nighttime events in the college center.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a lot of variety in the food choices at the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is very comfortable since we are able to decorate as we please and our floor-mates seem to be very friendly with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    During my first semester, a few of my classes were more challenging, but not too overwhelming, and I realized that this challenged helped me gain new skills for my major.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus seems huge when you first get here, but you'll learn quickly that it only takes about fifteen minutes to get to the furthest building.

    In three sentences

    The students are very friendly. The professors are always helpful. It is easy to learn new things that you never would have been able to experience in high school.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great. They need more healthy options in the dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, and the social life while living in them is great. It is a community.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is very academically thorough and will provide students with all they need to know regarding their subject of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask professors for help when you are struggling, they are are willing and able to aid you. If you put in the effort, they will give it back.

    In three sentences

    I give SUNY Plattsburgh an excellent rating. It is small enough to be able to work one on one with teachers out of class, but big enough to meet tons of new friends. The area is beautiful and peaceful as well.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe Plattsburgh is among the safest campuses in the U.S. We have Blue lights all around the campus, so if you ever feel unsafe you can run and press the blue lights and it sets off an alarm which is very loud and the University Police would be there in about two minutes.

    Greek Life

    All the organizations on campus is great. There is a strict NO HAZING policy that each organization abides by. I'm a member of The Sigma Tau Gamma and I don't think I would be the individual that i am today.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love being involved so I am in 3 clubs on campus plus the Student Association Senator. Iâ??m the VP for Club Caribbean. Iâ??m member of No More, also a member of the Math club. Since Iâ??m a Senator, Iâ??m the Vice-Chair of the Political Advocacy and Awareness Committee. The college has so many clubs and organization, you will never be bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Whiteface mountain, where you can snow tube or white-water raft, or going tubing

    Bang for the buck

    There are often events that students get chance to win prizes at the end of them. The Student Association offers students the chance to take the shuttle to different popular sites in Plattsburgh.

    What to do for fun

    You could go bowling with friends on the weekends, go watch a movie with friends; you get a student discount. You could enjoy your time on campus as well because there is always an event going on.

    Food and Dining

    I won't lie; sometimes the food can get annoying, but Iâ??m happy that they have a section that you can cook your own food if you donâ??t like the food that they have that day.

    Dorm Life

    I won't lie; sometimes it gets crazy especially on the weekends. Most studentsâ?? werenâ??t allowed the freedom that they enjoy when they get to college, so they have no idea on how to act as adults.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that this institution strive for academic excellence more than any other college. With the help from my professors and the services afforded to me I earned a 3.9 GPA my first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    I can't stress this anymore but stay focus because about four students from my floor failed out after the first semester of freshman year alone. Be yourself, don't be scared to say whatâ??s on your mind, professors like it. Also just remember that itâ??s what your make of your experience and not the college you attend.

    In three sentences

    If you plan on being successful in the future i believe thaat SUNY Plattsburgh is the place to be. If you're having doubts about this college, i would say give it a try because i once had doubts but grew to love it from the excellent professor student relationship to the immense resources avaiable to students its out of this world. Also just remember that its what your make of your experience and not the college you attend.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is alot of things on campus. Every friday and saturday night Late Night Weekends host events and there is always something to do in your dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, it is the best way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is an amazing school. It has so much to offer for everyone. There is no place like it.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police (UP) is right on campus and the RA (residence assistants) are always there when you need them

    Greek Life

    very excepting. they are also very involved. not my cup of tea, but i recommend it for anybody interested

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many, you are bound to find one that you really like and fit in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the foot bridge in the back of campus is great. its a great spot to go and clear your head or just hang out. I enjoy it a lot

    What to do for fun

    so much to do. Campus is right by the lake so on a nice day you can walk downtown and go sight seeing, very close to montreal and burlington. Also there is a mall.

    Food and Dining

    not the best, but you can tell they are trying and has defiantly improved over the last year

    Dorm Life

    get involved. Helps wonders. getting involved was the best thing i could do my freshman year, helped me meet new people who i know i'll be friends with for live

    Academic Rigor

    work hard, and you'll succeed, if you don't apply yourself then thats your own fault. professors and advisors are very helpful, kinda hard to fail out unless you don't apply yourself to your work

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shopping in both Plattsburgh and Burlington Ferry Rides on Lake Champlain Hiking in the wonderful Adirondack Park Kayaking, Canoeing, and Boating on Lake Champlain

    In three sentences

    Suny Plattsburgh is set in the beautiful North Country, surrounded by beautiful towns such as Lake Placid and Saranac Lake. The Suny school is home to many wonderful professors who are very willing to go out of their way for students. Suny Plattsburgh, has an outstanding student body that embody the characteristics of well rounded students.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Good

    Great for these types of students

    students who are misplaced workers/adults returning to school, as well as young adults pursuing their bachelors degree.

    Bang for the buck

    I attend the branch campus and find it very convenient to suit my needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to actively engage with other students and faculty if you need help.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy at this college. The course work is appropriate. I like to convenience of the class options.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have NEVER felt unsafe walking around campus, even at night. In case of an emergency, there is a blue-light system. The blue-light system is a bunch of stations with blue lights on them with buttons that you hit in the case of an emergency. There are several stations around campus in which you can hit the blue-light button, and university police will come and help you. Keep in mind, university police are certified state troopers, so they're safe,

    Greek Life

    I would definitely recommend joining Greek life. I joined a sorority my freshman year, and it's one of the best decisions that I've ever made. Greek life is a great way to meet now people, and it even looks good on your future job applications.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus that I can't even count them all. There's always a clubs and activities fair in the beginning of the fall semester. It's a great way to figure out which club is the right one for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Just because Plattsburgh is one of the less expensive SUNY's doesn't mean that it's cheap service. Plattsburgh is affordable, which saves your parents the stress now and saves YOU from paying a lot of student loans later.

    What to do for fun

    Plattsburgh has a lot of things to do both on and off campus. There are a lot of programs, games, and guest speakers on campus every week. There are a lot of restaurants and a mall close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the meals get a little boring, but there are a lot of options. There are retail food options such as Subway and Tim Horton's, as well as late-night dining options. Dining halls are not open 24 hours, so definitely keep food in your room as well.

    Dorm Life

    I would highly recommend living in one of the freshman-only residence halls your first year. It's an opportunity to meet people your own age and that are in the same mental place as you are. Some of the dorms definitely need to be updated, but as long as you keep your room clean, there shouldn't be a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a small school, so there are small classes. The professors actually care how you're doing and want to prepare you for the real world. I strongly recommend attending his/her office hours if you need help. Your academic advisor is always there to talk and help you as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Just because there's not always written homework, doesn't mean you shouldn't take time to review your notes. 2) Professors will help you only if you help yourself. 3) An agenda or a planner is a must-have tool. 4) Find a nice, quiet place to get for work done (which may or may not be in your dorm room). 5) Come up with a set of rules for you and your roommate. 6) If you need it, get a tutor! It will be worth it. 7) Get involved! There's so many clubs and organizations to choose from. 8) Be serious and study because that's why your there. Your parents aren't paying for you to party. 9) Stressing out will get you no where. 10) Remember to still take a break and have fun!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh recognizes each student as an individual person, not just a social security number. Plattsburgh offers students every opportunity to succeed with its dedicated staff and free student tutors. With Greek life, athletics, and many other student clubs, Plattsburgh offers many ways for students to meet new people and become a part of the college.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a small campus shared with Adirondack Community College, it is generally very peaceful and friendly.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent at the branch campus location.

    Clubs and Activities

    The branch campus does not sponsor any clubs or activities at the branch. Students are welcome at the ACC campus events.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for young people in the area interested in one of the four year programs offered here, can help save you money on education if you don't have to leave home for it. Great for adult learners to continue their education while working and raising families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The branch campus is still fairly young and is working on developing more of a presence, traditions are yet to come.

    Bang for the buck

    Nationally accredited four year degrees without having to live away from home while studying really cuts the cost compared to other programs.

    What to do for fun

    Join ACC students on the quad for Frisbee, enjoy the Saratoga-Glens Falls-Lake George area social outlets and Aviation Mall for movies. Students can get discounted tickets in the ACC student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining options at the branch campus are limited, they are only open part of the day. Pack a lunch or go to a nearby restaurant, some offer college discounts.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent at the branch campus in Queensbury, not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are generally rigorous as compared to freshman and sophomore courses. I feel ready to take on Masters level work now.

    Tips for prospective students

    Course selection is limited due to the fact this is a branch campus. Be prepared to take web courses and use cross registration with ACC as allowed. Realize there is not much flexibility in your schedule as times will be determined by course offerings. Follow your CAPP report, again there is not much wiggle room if you take courses out of the program's designed sequence and meet the requirements within 4 semesters for junior and senior years.

    In three sentences

    Professional, dedicated educators and staff at the Queensbury Branch Campus have made my experience here very rewarding. It is very convenient to have access to a 4 year degree program at the local community college campus, which is easy to navigate and accessible. I feel confident I am getting top-level education.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe once on the campus of SUNY Plattsburgh. Having the blue lights spaced out through out campus makes you feel comfortable even if you are walking alone at night. UP also keeps you safe by patrolling the streets on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a big Greek life here at SUNY Plattsburgh. They are involved with multiple volunteer opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for almost all majors, plus the other volunteer and student committee clubs make it fun and easy to meet new people, and get to know staff and students. There is also an event on campus to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Plattsburgh is great for students who want a fun social life but those who also care about their school work. Being only 45 minutes away from Whiteface mountain makes it great for those who enjoy outdoor winter activities. And the beautiful weather in the spring makes it enjoyable for anyone who loves sun and fun outdoor activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of SUNY Plattsburgh makes it a great place to go. You get everything that would be offered at a 40,000 school for way less.

    What to do for fun

    There is tons of opportunities to have fun and make new friends. Clubs for almost every major help you get comfortable with staff and meet new people. Intramural sports are fun, competitive but also easy going and of course exciting for any sport loving fan, which makes it nice for those who are not willing to commit to our varsity sport teams.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always available which is very helpful with those that have a inconvenient schedule. Tim Hortons and subway on campus make food on the go very easily accessible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm buildings have exactly what you need. The RA staff and the CA staff in the freshman buildings make your experience so much better. Getting involved in your building can be fun, and these people make it that much more exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of academics here seems to be similar to any other school, but the helpful staff in all the departments on campus make success easier then it may be somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources available on campus. There a free tutors and library staff that will help you succeed. Staying on campus for the required two years really helps you get involved in campus life and meet new people every day.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a great state school to attend. It has the small feel of a country-side area, but it's not too far from the necessities. The professors and staff here are more then willing to help you succeed which makes your experience here that much better.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many options for food and dining on the SUNY Plattsburgh campus. There are also two main dinings halls and several other dining areas such as Subway. Late night dining (9pm-12am) offers lower prices for food and two free meals swipes per night for people with the unlimited meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are typical in SUNY Plattsburgh. There are several high rises buildings and 3 low rises, as well as suite style buildings. Unlike many other campuses, SUNY Plattsburgh has two buildings designed for freshman only if they wish to live with people in their same class rank. All dorms are located fairly close to academic buildings and there are shuttles available to take you from your dorm to your class during the winter season.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics in SUNY Plattsburgh are very thorough. You are required to meet with academic advisers and talk about your plan for the classes you want to take, months before the beginning of the semester. With the CAPP Report, you are constantly updated on the courses you need to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the campus, it's not as bad as you may think. Students in this school are welcoming and encourage incoming and prospective students to become involved on campus. One thing that is important to do is not become too wrapped around the freshman experience. Focus on what's important, like academics. With focus and the right amount of fun, you're guaranteed to enjoy this school.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school with many opportunities. Being in a smaller school can make one feel closer to home. There is a possibility of creating bonds with people and/or faculty that could last a lifetime.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an open container law now, where if you are caught with any container filled with alcoholic beverages you can be arrested

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun, hiking up the mountains, swimming, sports, fishing. Anything you want to do, you can find here in Plattsburgh

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!

    In three sentences

    SUNY College at Plattsburgh is fun and well laid out school. I like the faculty and the students as well. There are so many activities to do here.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, sports teams, and intermurals. You could also go skiing at Whiteface Mountain which is less than a half hour away. Burlington, Vermont or Montreal, Canada are also fun places to travel to on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but what makes it special is all the events that the school holds in the cafeteria. There is a lot of nights that they make special food for a holiday and decorate the place while playing live music and having contests. It is really fun!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm's are awesome, and everyone is very welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to take classes that aren't going to challenge you here, but it is also easy to take classes that will challenge you. You have to be in charge of setting the pace for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the club or job fair and get involved, attend many sports games, work hard on the weekdays, and have fun on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a welcoming and safe campus. At this school, it is impossible to feel like just a number, because it is so easy to get involved and a close knit community. There are also plenty of ways to challenge yourself academically.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the safest colleges that is known in this area. Online there is a safety report of the institution for the past several years.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities to take part in. There is one and sometimes two, for every day of the week. They participate in many events throughout the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an outdoors person and/or like the fresh mountain air while being surrounded by trees and mountains, then this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The science building has its own green house with a fish aquarium that is self-cleaning by the use of aquatic plants and other natural sources.

    Bang for the buck

    This area is full of history and culture. Many are proud to live here and welcome almost everyone who wishes to visit or move here. The majority of the residents are extremely nice and are very well mannered.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, biking, nature trails, mountain climbing, four wheeling, Lake George, kayaking, canoeing, boating, water skiing, Six Flags, winter skiing, snow shoeing, snowmobiling, cross country trails, motor cycling, car shows, Americade, Adirondack Museum, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of food has increased over the last few weeks and one of the cafes is currently being renovated for the Fall semester. In 2013 the cafeteria will be renovated as well.

    Dorm Life

    Currently there are no dorms. They will be completed in 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is moderate to heavy. Spring and Fall semesters are moderate and the Summer Semester is heavy. The Summer semester consists of five weeks as opposed to the usual 16 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    By taking a placement test you can test out of certain classes to speed up the completion of your degree. Ask the college for practice placement tests to study. These will give you sample questions of whats on the placement test and greatly increase your chances of doing well.

    In three sentences

    This college is located in the Adirondacks just three minutes off the North way at exit 19. This campus is currently building dorms and dining facilities for 400 students that will be available in the fall of 2013. There are nature trails for walking at the campus and a near by bike path that leads to Lake George.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are worried about campus safety don't be. Plattsburgh is a small town and not much that happens on campus is out of the police's view. Everyone is very helpful and want you to feel comfortable in your environment.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Plattsburgh is totally afforable and if you are willing you'll get more then your money's worth. When you're in college you have so many opportunties and just because SUNY Plattsburgh is a smaller school does not mean they lack those opportunites.

    What to do for fun

    In all honesty I haven't had much time for fun with all my course work and studying. But there is tons of it around campus especially is you like the outdoors. Just to name a few Plattsburgh is located next to two bodies of water a lake and a river, your have access to hiking and cliff driving locations. I can't forget to mention Montreal and Burlington Vermont either.

    Food and Dining

    Eeek. Kidding kidding. There are two dinning halls on campus and one take out place where freshman are allowed unlimited swipes. The food in those dining halls isn't what your mother/ grandmother made but it is edible. Some days the food is better than others. October had been a pretty good month food-wise because we had October fest and Saint John's took over the food one night for a celebration and the food was awesome. One thing I really love is late night. It is awesome when you have a class or lab in my case that ends after 9. With your one late night swipe you can get food at subway or the Sundowner (the best dining hall on campus)

    Dorm Life

    I am currently a freshman here at Plattsburgh and live in White face hall. The dorm is older and not the prettiest building on the block but my roommate and I made our room very homey and inviting. My CA(Only in freshman buildings) and RA are extremely friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are only cleaned from Mon.- Thurs so be warned if you have partiers on your floor it can get gross fast over the weekend. As for my floor mates they are awesome (I live on an all girls floor so it can get crazy)

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Plattsburgh offers many courses that are extremely time consuming and require a lot of your attention. But that is not the case with every course you will take here I only say this because I am in all major courses and one Honors course which require a lot more study then a Gen. Ed. per say. Overall the course work here is challenging you to broaden your mind and work had for what you want. It is a good thing to have and you'll definitely benefit. Keep in mind there are always people willing to help if you are struggling with a harder course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit your school before deciding it is Your school. Don't settle; this is where you are beginning the rest of your life. Apply for scholarships early it never hurts to be ahead of the game and the organizational skills will help in school.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh has a lot to offer perspective students. Not only is Plattsburgh located in a great city but it is also only a short drive from Canada; not to mention a quick fairy ride to Vermont. Overall the campus atmosphere is wonderful, the faculty/staff is friendly and inviting.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining wasn't terrible but it wasn't spectacular either.

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't a big fan of living on campus. I'm happy I did it because I was able to make some amazing friends but the dorms are not the best, though they are renovating all of them over the next few years so that is an upside.

    Academic Rigor

    The work wasn't that hard. The professors push you to be your best and if you are having trouble with something most if not all are more than willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Though Plattsburgh is a small school I am happy I chose to go here. The school is small enough that you know everyone and people are incredibly friendly. The smaller environment also helps in terms of degree programs, because you are able to get to know your professors as well as department on a more personal level.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police everywhere along with safety buttons. The fire department puts the college first, so if they are atending to a fire downtown and get a call for the campus, they will leave to go to the campus. The college is the main priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus and you're allowed to start a club of your choice.

    Great for these types of students

    Montreal is only a hour away, so anyway interested in the French language wouldgreatly benefit from that. Also, students who like the view of lakes, rivers, and snow would enjoy it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many beautiful sites on and near campus (Lake Champlain, Saranac River, and Lake Placid).

    Bang for the buck

    Plattsburgh isn't necessarily cheap or expensive, but it is one of the cheaper state schools.

    What to do for fun

    You can go downtown to the mall and other stores and shops, or go for a nice bike ride on campus along the Saranac River.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many choices for food. In the dining halls there are many choices for all types of students, and also there are tons of restaurants and fast-food places near the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and nothing special, but nothing horrible either.

    Academic Rigor

    It is one of few SUNYs that offer International Business as a major, and it seems to have a great variety of majors as compared to many other schools.

    In three sentences

    The campus is a great size, it's large enough to explore and have fun, yet small enough to get to classes in a timely manner. The professors seem very dedicated to their professions. The school itself seems clean, organized, and friendly.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my experience it's been really safe, I've never encountered anything out of the ordinary or dangerous. But like everyone should be on any new college campus and in any new town, you should always be aware regardless.

    Greek Life

    We have a zero tolerance policy for hazing. We have a variety of sororities and fraternities on campus, from multicultural, to Latin based.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something to join here, we even have a club to learn to play the ukulele. If we don't have a club that interests you (which I doubt) then make one.

    What to do for fun

    Montreal is about an hour away for Plattsburgh, go explore. Go downtown, its pretty area, and there's good food down there. Go check out the docks. We have a lot of great places for hiking, skiing and kayaking.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on where you eat it can be a hit or miss. The Sundowner in the Angel College Center has different assortments of food that a lot of students prefer. We have two dinning halls, Clinton and Algonquin, as a freshmen I preferred Algonquin, now I prefer Clinton, though I only eat there weekends. The food at either place is either they get right or they get it so wrong, the food is my only complaint on my college but we also have a Subway and a Tim Horton's (Canadian version of Dunkin' Donuts) in the ACC.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which building you live, dorm life really isn't an issue. Your only allowed one refrigerator to your dorm and no microwaves, toasters or hotplates. There's a kitchen in every residence hall. In Adirondack Hall there's a kitchen on every floor, which is awesome because in other dorms you have to go all the way down stairs to get to the kitchen. Each dorm has their own events. Freshmen dorming is highly recommended because you get to bond more and you do a lot more activities. You get to know people faster.

    Academic Rigor

    GOOD! We might not be the top SUNY, but we have a lot of great teachers here who like to challenge us.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a warm coat for winter, you will need it.

    In three sentences

    It's easy going. Everyone feels at home here. There's always an event on campus.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, the blue light system is always in place if there is ever danger. The fire department is nearby for those times that someone burns a bag of popcorn.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hockey games are the best! They are always fun and a great place to go with a group of friends!

    What to do for fun

    The campus activities, join a club. Montreal is a short drive away and there is ALWAYS something to do on campus in the ACC.

    Food and Dining

    The nice thing about Plattsburgh is the options. Little Al's is great in a hurry and Algonquin has nice healthy options that taste great!

    Dorm Life

    Living in a freshman dorm the first year is a great option. The RAs and CAs put on great programs. The campus activities are always a fun time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are academically challenging and also enjoyable at the same time. There is always a wide variety of classes available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to speak up for yourself if you need help. The tutoring center is a great place, use it!

    In three sentences

    The professors know the material that they are teaching and are able to lend help when needed. I like that they are always willing and enjoy the have their students stop by their office hours. I love the programs that the various clubs and organizations put on.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    university police are always on call but I've heard of some instances where they did nothing to help fellow students.

    Greek Life

    A small percentage of students are in greek life but it feels like to me 1 in every three of my friends are in a organization. the school has a no hazing policy but beware. All organizations have their dirt.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on on campus due to clubs. Don't forget to check them out!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this extremely beautiful statue garden in myers on the second floor. It's a perfect place to escape and do homework or just enjoy the art. My favorite is the one of a woman lieing down. she looks pregnant and she is thinking about her baby.

    Bang for the buck

    Not getting much when it comes to the meal plan.

    What to do for fun

    you can go to the mall, walk 45 minutes to the lake, go to school events such as; comedians, hypnotists, free movies, shows, guest speakers, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    You get really tired of the food real fast. Beware what you eat, you might find plastic in your food.

    Dorm Life

    Spiders and tons of them, they take a while to turn on the heat but over all the rooms are generally big.

    Academic Rigor

    Hit the ground rolling or be left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, and make sure you make some time to relax. oh and bring some pots and pans along with extra money to buy food.

    In three sentences

    A college that blends into a small town. Pretty campus. The school is the real reason for diversity in the town.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    SOOO many clubs and clubs sponsored events its unbelievable.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options everything from pizza to subway right on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cozy and close to class and dinning.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes.

    In three sentences

    A warm friendly staff. Great loction for snowboards, hokey fans, and skiers. Everything you could ever want right on campus.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest areas to be in. There are always police patrolling and blue lights are scattered throughout the campus. Campus police are no joke.

    Greek Life

    There is absolutely NO HAZING on this campus. When a Greek Organization is found to be guilty of this they are shut down.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus that it's almost impossible for you not to be involved in some way/shape/form.

    What to do for fun

    There are On-Campus and Off-Campus things to do all year round. I would definitely suggest going to the Rugby, Hockey and Soccer games. Definitely look at the flyers on campus to see what's going on. There aren't many/any concerts, but there have been Psychics, Comedians, Musicians and other fun/free activities.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Halls are Dining Halls. There isn't anything glamorous about them. Clinton is the Dining Hall that is open everyday. Algonquin is open Monday-Friday. Both have Vegetarian options and a special fridge for those that have food allergies. Downer is also a great option. Subway and Tim Horton's are also on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Overall a good experience. Freshmen halls are a little less exciting than other buildings, but they are by no means bad. When living in Freshmen housing you will be sharing a bathroom with up to 20 more people, which some may not be comfortable with, but was never a problem. They try to make sure that there are fun activities in the Dorm halls during the week and on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had very hard classes, and milder classes. The professors are there to challenge you, and that's what they do. Most classes have a good mix of reading and outside work, although there are always classes that require a lot of both.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Campus before committing to PSU. Consider the area around the Campus. Remember your passport (Montreal is 45 minutes away). Definitely get involved in something on this campus.

    In three sentences

    It may be small and It may be far from your hometown, but the students and faculty at Plattsburgh State help you feel right at home. The professors are kind, and always available. The residence halls are well kept and the custodial staff is more than pleasant. It may get a little lonely, but there is always something to do on campus. Picky eater? No problem, because there are plenty of options on/off campus for you. Overall a great school and atmosphere. Small School, Big Impact.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just getting involved on campus, becoming friends with as many people as possible and taking advantage of the Plattsburgh community as well. The parties on the weekends are a good time, just the cold weather can put a damper on things once and a while. But other then that, it's a great place to have fun with friends you make while up here!

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls can be great and can be bad, I do love the ACC Sundowner, because I feel it is more convenient and has more choices.

    Dorm Life

    I had a great experience my first year, in non-freshman only housing. I loved my floor, RA, etc. However, my sophomore year in the suite living (8 roommates) did not exceed my expectations. I did get along with most of my roommates, but the noise level was too high and distracting me from my studies so I moved into a single across campus. However, this process took me two years to get to a single room, and I would not change it for anything. Living with others really tests your boundaries and pushes you to get to know other people.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough, but they have pushed me to realize my true potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident and get out in the campus community. Believe in yourself and do what you want to do and don't be afraid of any opportunity that presents itself. And lastly, don't be afraid of change, that is what forces us all to grow.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a great college to become your true self. If you get out in the campus community, you will greatly benefit. The student body is vastly diverse, which is great for personal growth.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple clubs and many activities (most for free)

    Great for these types of students

    International Students

    What to do for fun

    Not many places to go to have fun, there's only one mall with one movie theater inside but there are a few bars and clubs, some decent restaurants and MANY activities outdoors both for winter and summer.

    Food and Dining

    Dinning plans are required for students living on campus, the options are not really many or very healthy but at least some dinning halls stay open until late.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms are old but the ambiance and people there make it a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary in degree of difficulty but in general it is not impossible to pass a class with a good grade if you actually go to class, do the assignments and study for the tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is easy to work with the people in admissions, there are multiple scholarships available and even work opportunities on campus and in the community to help you pay for your expenses.

    In three sentences

    Small college Many International students Affordable tuition

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is downtown, intramurals and varsity sports.

    Food and Dining

    Do not eat much on campus but what I have had is diverse and good tasting.

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know I am an off campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    Good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where your classes are before the first day.

    In three sentences

    Spread out campus. Good student life. Helpful teachers.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a downtown and there is a lot o stuff to do down there.there are plenty of parties on the weekends and plenty of clubs to join. You should never be bored at SUNY Plattsburgh.

    Food and Dining

    There are three main dining halls and they are each equally good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice.Some dorm halls are bigger than others, but its a great place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are amazing and sufficient.

    Tips for prospective students

    SUNY Plattsburgh should stay focused and always work hard. when you are having trouble seek help and advisement. People at Plattsburgh are there to help and care about your future. Have fun and enjoy yourself but stay focus and remember your academics are important.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a great school. It gives multiple opportunities and great school to attend if you want to be successful. SUNY Plattsburgh is the place to start the journey of your career.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never felt my life in danger.

    Greek Life

    is very active in community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    numerous, cant even name them all.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its kind of quiet on campus although here are some off campus parties.

    Bang for the buck

    not as expensive as other colleges. Actually gave me more financial aid than others.

    What to do for fun

    you can join a teams sport, whether it be professional or intramural, you can join fraternities or sororities or you can just join different clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK, you might get tired of eating the same thing over and over. The good thing is there's always a different spot you can eat at.

    Dorm Life

    There is always someone there to talk to and making friends isn't going to be hard at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but fair. Some professor will have different teaching styles that you are not used to but they are flexible in helping you adjust.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for the cold winters, you really need to bundle up.

    In three sentences

    The environment is so friendly. The professors are helpful and will take time to answer all of your questions. There is always something fun to do on campus.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of sporting events and shows. Group movie trips and frat & sorority volunteer options to keep you busy!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices from smoothies to subway. Vending machines in all buildings that you can swipe your cardinal card at. Cardinal cash is cheaper than cash in the main dining hall, which can be unfair to off campus students.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm. Keypad entry is safe and changes often. Fire drills are no fun at 3am lol!

    Academic Rigor

    There is a computer lab that extends hours during finals week. Teacher's general reply to e-mail within 24hours. Follow your professor on Pinterest and Linked In for extra credit :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your taxes quickly so you will have information for FAFSA. Financial Aid office is easy to talk to and will help you with anything. I have never lived on Campus, but the paper and local realtors have great semester rate housing.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have emergency telephones located all around campus, they have a blue light on them that is lit up at night. The campus police are always patrolling around campus and someone is always in the building. The police unlocked my building for me one time at 4 in the morning when I forgot my key-card!

    What to do for fun

    There is a whole bunch of clubs, for absolutely every type of person. Downtown is awesome for a coffee date or a day of thrift shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the dining halls aren't as clean as they should be and it really depends on who is working there that day. Sometimes the food is absolutely delicious and sometimes it's just not. The two daily dining halls are very good to people with allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here aren't as small as community colleges. The rooms in the suite buildings are smaller than the low rise buildings, but they are all pretty decent sized for living.

    Academic Rigor

    I really love learning, so this school was a great choice for me. Professors love answering questions and a lot of them are humorous, making learning fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to new people. People aren't mean like they were in high school, everyone is always willing to make new friends in college. Don't stay locked up in your room all day! Go outside or to the library to study, somewhere with people!

    In three sentences

    Plattsburgh offers a wide variety of classes and degrees to suit your wishes. Plattsburgh has great housing, on and off campus. Plattsburgh also is very generous with on and off campus jobs, work study and part time.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe here. The cops are always out on patrol especially on weekends i think they do a very good job with that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more then a 100 clubs and teams to join here.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type that like to sudy in a quite place Plattsburgh is your new home.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous this to do for fun. You can go hiking, join a club, stand peotry or singing in one od the dining hall, biking, swiming, yoga zoomba. and alot more.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall serve really good food. You have the choice to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate is really cool and my neighbors are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    If you care about your academic performance Plattsburgh is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Really peacefull place to focus on your studies. There are a lot of friendly people auround. The Dorms are really clean.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For People who want to concentrate on their studies Plattsburgh is the best place: no distractions

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs. Also a lot of late night activities such as zumbathon, game night, movie night for free

    In three sentences

    Professors, local community and the students here are so nice. Professors are always willing to help you. Great college!

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All ethnic backgrounds

    What to do for fun

    School plan trip to various places such as shopping day at Burlington. Hanging out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind

    In three sentences

    Great college of NY.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station right on campus.

    Greek Life

    I love Greek life. I'm actually in a sorority and it has changed my life for the better.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of different things to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do for fun such as: partying, joining clubs, hiking, swimming, the gym, Canada, shopping. etc. Pretty much anything you can think of is available.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and there is a Tim Horton's and Subway on campus. But, as with any food the same food does get old after a while. However, there are many different places to eat so the choices are endless.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are great!! I love dorm life and always having friends there. It helps build relationships with friends more and they pretty much become your family.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic load isn't too much too handle yet it is challenging at the same time. It is most certainly harder than high school, but I am actually learning and retaining information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared for the cold as it gets very, very cold in Plattsburgh. Keep and open mind and make the most of your time.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is in a great location and has tons of opportunities to travel and/or enjoy the outdoors. I am absolutely in love with how small the campus is, I come from a small town and enjoy seeing the same faces over and over again. The class sizes make it easy to maintain good relationships with your professors.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Like I said earlier, definitely take advantage of your surroundings. Montreal is only an hour north, so I'd recommend heading up there, as long as you have a passport.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are a bit pricey, but the food isn't bad. You get a lot of variety, and the people in charge of the food appear to listen to student suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Macdonough, and despite rumors of it being haunted, the rooms are very nice. Laundry can be an issues at times, so just plan it out. Bathrooms and common areas are kept generally clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Your 100 and 200 level courses aren't too vigorous, but 300 level classes definitely entail more work. I've been lucky enough that the professors in my department (geology!) are very good at taking difficult information and presenting it in an easier fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the natural surroundings! When it's warm, go hiking and kayaking, and in the winter, ski!

    In three sentences

    If you like nature, and don't mind a brisk winter, SUNY Plattsburgh is a great choice. Most of my professors are friendly and accessible, and the staff in general is very friendly. Dorming and food are average for a state school.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it is safe. Never had any issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    Not far from the Canadian border. Plattsburgh does have a small nightlife scene within walking distance of the school. Burlington is about 50 minutes away and they have a much better nightlife scene.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is provided by Chartwell and is acceptable. They will work with students and their dietary needs. They do have Subway shop for those Subway fans.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus. However there is not much to do in the surrounding area. I recommend getting involved in some of the clubs and activities.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that all of my professors have been excellent and enthusiastic about their course material. I've had only one professor whose heart was not in it. Although, he did know his stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the state of the art computer lab and feel free to stop on by the tutoring center. They have great tutors available for most subject.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh is a great school. They have a great Supply Chain Management program. They just completed construction of a brand new building for the Business and computer sciences.

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 54

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plattsburgh is an exciting area in the Adirondaks. Skiing in the winter and hiking in the summer. We are right next to lake champlain so there are many lake activities and recreational opportunities. There is a lot of shopping, a newer part of the city, and an older part for which ever style you are looking for. But that's just off campus, on campus the school student association puts on a large amount of events including movie nights, game nights, talent shows and much more. There is also plays to watch or the concert band. Also Plattsburgh athletics are a huge rave around the college and the town. The men and women's hockey teams are incredible along with all the other sports that are interesting and fun to watch. Lucky for students it is usually always free to go to these events. No matter who you are or what you like, Plattsburgh has something to offer you, I am positive.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different locations to get food on campus. There are two large dining halls, a restaurant/dining hall in the main campus. There are also stores and hidden coffee shops and snack areas like Tim Hortons where you can grab a coffee or a bagel, or star bucks. The choices for food are endless. There is so much and it is all you can eat buffet style. Never as good as a home cooked meal, but it definitely does the trick and satisfies those cravings.

    Dorm Life

    One of the most memorable experiences you will have is meeting new people in a dorm from all over the states. You learn who you are as well as who others are. You will make lasting relationships with friends and maybe even find your true love. Living in a dorm gives you freedom and a chance to see what you are like without the nagging of your parents. Being homesick is normal, making friends and occupying your mind takes that right away. I highly suggest at least living in a dorm once, it is a memorable experience.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what college the academic rigor is much higher than high school. Plattsburgh is known for its academic excellence and being a student means you are a part of that process. College is a privilege, take advantage of the education you are being offered and take your school work as a challenge not as a burden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and go with the flow, no need to stress out. If you learn to organize yourself and your school work everything is less complicated. Join clubs and get involved it makes your transition into college a breeze. Don't be afraid to embarrass yourself, we all have done it and it makes us stronger and lets us learn to laugh at ourselves.

    In three sentences

    PSU is an undiscovered adventure. There is a large of diversity of students and chances to start college on a clean slate. The faculty and staff are very considerate and interested in what they teach.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 4 police forces that stroll through campus (University police, Plattsburgh City Police, Plattsburgh Town Police, and State troopers) in addition to a blue light system on campus. The blue light system has scattered posts around campus with blue lights on the top. If you feel unsafe at any point, you can push the button on the post and a cop will arrive rapidly. That being so, I have never once felt unsafe at any point during my time at SUNY Plattsburgh.

    Greek Life

    Roughly 13% of the student body is involved in Greek life, so there is a presence, yet it is not overwhelming. The Greek life here are mainly involved in philanthropic work and each have their own individual causes that are the focus of their efforts. It is refreshing to see students my age working to better the world instead of simply do the Animal House thing, although they do still host mixers and parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Association is our student government, run by the students for the students. They offer subsidized trips to all sorts of locations, sponsor movies, cover club's budgets, and do all that they can to make your experience the best that it can possibly be!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy folks for sure. That being so, there are city like opportunities within an hour in Burlington and Montreal. College is what you make of it, so if you want to, you can always find something to do!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming weekend offers alumni and students alike an opportunity to connect, thus increasing the networking. There is a tug-of-war over Hawkin's pond and many laughs every year. This past weekend, two students got married on the steps of one of the buildings after meeting here.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best values in the SUNY system and definitely one of the best in the nation!

    What to do for fun

    -Burlington, VT -Montreal in Canada -The Green Mountains in VT -Anything in the Adirondanck park -Lake Champlain activities (beach, kayaking, windsurfing etc)

    Food and Dining

    After living on campus for years, the food becomes repetitive. That being so, even at home, I get sick of mom's meatloaf, so all you have to do is have a little creativity in regards to mixing it up!

    Dorm Life

    The residence hall staff are friendly and create a welcoming environment from day one. It is often the first time living away from home for most students so the staff are here as a support system for the students. But they are more than just staff members, they are friends as well. They put on fantastic programs, often including delicious food, to give the students study-breakers and offer a chance to hang out with others within the building.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program, of which I am in, challenges you to think critically. Although this a cliche term, its value should not be downplayed as in real-life situations you are required to connect all that you have learned to give stellar patient-centered care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your academic adviser from early on as they are a valuable support system, in addition to being able to get you into course that are full. In addition, they are excellent references and can connect you with internships within your major from early in your academic career!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Plattsburgh offers a quality education at a wallet-friendly price! The internships abound for all majors and the location is ideal for all sorts of individuals. I put my whole-hearted backing to this college!

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 54

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    K.I.N.K.S (natural hair club) Jedi Dance Productions Akeba- Black Student Union

    Bang for the buck

    If your parents are well off then you should be fine. unlike me, i'm struggling.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club or organizations you enjoy for fun. Hang out with friends in your dorm or head out to a party. Also, different clubs are always having events on campus for the students to go to and participate in, like fashion shows, pageants, dance and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fine the first year but after that, you better get used to cooking for yourself. Its repetitive and fattening. If you have the will power to go to the gym, please do so.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm can be very fun if you're lucky enough to have the right people on your floor. Also if you get stuck with an unreasonable RA (resident assistant), well that sucks for you.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your major your work load may be fairly light or very heavy. Nursing students have some of the toughest coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Don't become one of the students that no one knows because your don't show support to the clubs and organizations. And although partying is fun, you can burn yourself out very easy.

    In three sentences

    It is very small but inviting. It's hard to not get involved in the various activities the college has to offer.