Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

SUNY Col. of Agriculture and Technology at… Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Future Farmers

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit.

  • 07/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like the counrty setting, who are intersting in learning about Agriculture and some other areas of intersts. If you perfer a smaller sized school.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I went for a campus tour, it felt like home, I felt great there. This college is definitely for me

    Will learn a lot

    I am planing on learning as much as I can and pass my knowledge on to others.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've been here nearly four years, and know of no serious incidents on campus. upd are strict enforcers.

    Greek Life

    no greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    wide variety of clubs campus wide. something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    students of all ages who really want to learn something that they can use in real life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you may just see a professor walk through your lecture with a piece of aluminum foil on his head, looking for the mother ship...........

    Bang for the buck

    other colleges and many government and private companies favor cobleskill students due to our well-rounded, practical education.

    What to do for fun

    i am an old commuter, i go home.

    Food and Dining

    the food is varied and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter student, this doesn't apply.

    Academic Rigor

    this is college. some classes may seem easier than others, some harder, but you will have to work. if you're falling behind or can't understand something, tell your professor right away so he/she can help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid of your professors, if you like your advisor, chances are you will become friends, if you don't, it's ok to change. if you take entomology, start your bug collection early. try to arrange your schedule so you're taking at least one class you can ace, one 4.0 can save your gpa in case you tank other classes.

    In three sentences

    i am very impressed with the level of education i've recieved here. the faculty of the plant science dept. are outstanding on both an academic and personal level. i'm learning more than i ever thought i would, and having alot of fun doing it; we get hands-on experience as well as lectures.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUNY Cobleskill has their own police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities for just about anyone. Here is a link with the list of clubs and their description http://www.cobleskill.edu/campus-life/student-life/clubs.asp

    Great for these types of students

    If you are majoring in agriculture there is a wonderful program. Also all animal lover students who wish to get a degree involving the study of animals. Great for pre-vet students. I believe there are some computer classes as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a barn across the street from the campus. Many horses, pigs, rabbits and goats.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a New York resident and wish to travel upstate this school is very affordable. They offer financial aid assistance as well.

    What to do for fun

    Since Cobleskill is located in the mountains and the weather is usually cold and doused in snow they're many ski resorts. Also many parks to explore, if you are the out doors type. Several barns and stables located near the campus. Small town to do some shopping and errands. The school offers many programs for the students such as events throughout the semesters.

    Food and Dining

    Many places to eat and pick up food on the go. They have a program called Cobycash and it can be used in dining and several other listed locations outside the campus. Very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Very safe with a RA on each floor. The school has its own police department. You have three options to decide which suite is best for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused on your goals. No matter how tough it may feel at times remember the end point and how it will be all worth it in the end. Never give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your desire major in depth. Make many trips to several colleges to decide which is best for you and how comfortable you will feel. Discover all of the activities and programs the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cobleskill is a beautiful campus set in a scenic environment. The staff and students are a pleasure to speak with and more than happy to help. Success of the students is their number one priority.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD and SI (a student assistant program) help keep it safe. No major incidents

    Clubs and Activities

    They are around but not everyone utilizes them.

    Great for these types of students

    Aggies, Pre-Vet, and Business

    Bang for the buck

    You wont be wowed by the experience but you definitely wont be disappointed either.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we have a student activity building called Brickyard Point, which houses activities every day of the week. If your not as into going to dances or activities there are comedians, musicians and sports events to attend. For everyone else who does not enjoy the above activities own a computer with games they enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    I personally do not like the food here. The choices are never really healthy, and sometimes it does not seem fresh. Specialty dinners were always extravagant and worthwhile but on average its just sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not too bad, but they are strict. You cannot have guests in freshman dorms during the week, but in upperclassman housing you can have guests up to three times in a row during the week. In addition problems include not being able to control heat in upperclassman dorms, but the experience is overall enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    The School is not the easiest school around but it is not full of back breaking sleepless nights. The campus does provide a series of difficult courses if you are to pursue streamlined bachelor degree. From my experience nothing is terribly hard before the 300 level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to deal with the food, its not all good. Make sure to visit all of your resources, its really good to know people. And buy nice sneakers the campus is built on a hill.

    In three sentences

    The College has its issues but most of the staff is passionate. The food could be healthier, its a job trying to find food good for you that tastes good here. Other than that it helps open opportunities that most usually do not get.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is extremely safe, there are emergency poles in several different places on campus. UPD (University Police Department) is always around in case anything happens, even if it's late at night and somebody doesn't want to walk alone, they can ask UPD to accompany them. The walkways are well lit at night as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life isn't recognized by the school. Any sororities or fraternities that are available are all underground.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of clubs at SUNY Cobleskill. Whether it's culinary, outdoors, getting to know international students, or even archery, a long list is available and the school supports clubs greatly.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Cobleskill is well known for Agriculture, working with John Deere. I would recommend students who want to seriously excel in Agriculture to come here. Business and Graphic Design are also two well known majors.

    What to do for fun

    During the week the Resident Assistants have programs that are either educational or community builders to bring people together. Also during the week there is a building called Brickyard Point that has a different activity going on each night of the week.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few different dining halls, which offer a semi-limited range of foods. The dining halls are starting to shift their menu to a more healthy and nutritional one. Any allergies or specific suggestions are taken into consideration.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are safe and welcoming. There is a sense of community within the buildings. There are programs going on almost every night of the week.

    Academic Rigor

    At the beginning of each semester, the teacher tells the students the syllabus. The majority of the time, the class sticks to the schedule. The instructors are usually there for the students in case they need help. If an instructor fails to come to class, the school finds a replacement and the class goes on.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school itself isn't as big as other SUNY schools, and it has limited resources. However, the majority of the instructors are excellent, and make the best use out of the resources the school does have. Whenever you are unsure of something, don't hesitate to ask the instructor or even the tutors in the library. If you're having a problem with somebody in the building or on your floor go to the Resident Assistant or the Resident Director of the building.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cobleskill is a well rounded school. It is are committed to making the best out of its students with the supplies and resources it has. The school cares about students education (academics), safety (residence halls), exploration (different clubs) and many other aspects.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The UPD is out at all times and they are always willing to help a person in need!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for agricultural students but also has a great early childhood education program!

    Bang for the buck

    I mean college these days is pretty expensive but Cobleskill's expenses is well worth it. You get a good education for a decent price.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and there are always comedians and movies to watch on campus. If you have nothing to do, there is a rec center in each dorm room and plenty of friends you can make within walking distance!

    Food and Dining

    Prentice and Hodder are my two favorite places to eat. Champlin is more of a buffet style. It really just depends on what kind of foods you are interested in.

    Dorm Life

    At Cobleskill dorm rooms are kind of small but it is college, so you shouldn't expect huge rooms. Some dorm rooms have bigger rooms then others but the RA's and RD's make the experience wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic's at Cobleskill are wonderful. The advisers make everything very clear and help you go down the right path that you are interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is an agricultural school. Therefore, it's a lot of farm. If you are looking for a big city school, this isn't the school for you. The classes are small and the teachers are wonderful!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cobleskill is a great school and gives students great opportunities. It is a very diverse school but the least judgmental place that I've ever been in my life. People are very friendly and the teachers are wonderful.

  • 08/16/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yeah

    Tips for prospective students

    find help in the campues

    Will enjoy being here

    yeah i like cobleskill n the town

    Will learn a lot

    yes eop help me to improve how cobleskill is going to be

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aggies

    Am enjoying being here

    It feels just like home here, and everyone is super nice.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Only a hand full of clubs and a few decent sports teams.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is decent, but not right for what they offer you.

    What to do for fun

    Not far from Albany and there is a nice little town.

    Food and Dining

    A few good dining areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out other schools first.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are great and the only reason I have stayed. Over all school is very unorganized and there is a big lack of communication that affects the students. Has caused me a lot of headache.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The most challenging area for any student, in any school, is to develop the ability to want to learn. If you can do this you will make a good impression on your teachers and it WILL improve your grades.

    In three sentences

    The School is well equipped to accommodate a variety of different majors and offers many areas of study to expound upon your chosen major. This allows for a very competitive resume when approaching the job market that could give you the advantage that one needs to land the job before the next person in line.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there is a place called Brick Yard Point. They have different themed nights all through the week. For example on Wednesday nights they have country night. There are also billiards night and hip hop night.

    Food and Dining

    There are three different places that you can eat on campus. First there is Champlin which is the main dining hall with a buffet style. the second is Prentice Hall which is more like a fast food joint. There are many options to choose from and there is a large dining area. The third is called Twisted Whiskers which is also is like a fast food joint but a lot smaller with a small dining area.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is an experience I think that every person should have. The dorms have improved greatly and I think the best place to try to get into is in one of the suites in Vroman or Weiting.

    Academic Rigor

    The early childhood department is really all I can speak for since these are the main classes I take. The teachers are great and fair with the homework they give and they grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a perspective student try to find a major that you may be interested in and pay attention to what classes you will need and as much as your advisor will help you, you need to help yourself too.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cobleskill is a great college in a quiet country town. The campus is nice and clean with improvements every day. The college students are very diverse, come from all places, and everyone seems to have fun along with their studies.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Brickyard Point or take the bus to the mall on Saturdays and Sundays. There are also many other activities for each individual to enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit SUNY Cobleskill first and take a tour. It's free and you can get all the information you need before taking the big step of deciding to go there, or anywhere you may want to go to school.

    In three sentences

    The academics aspect of SUNY Cobleskill is great. The programs and extracurricular activities are another good quality of Cobleskill. i think the recreational activities could be better.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police have a station right across the road. I see them frequently patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs to cover them all. Pastry Arts, Archery, Community Service, Student Body. etc..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ski lodge is closed for skiing but it is open for hiking. And there is Coby's restaurant in town that you can eat at with a meal plan once a week.

    Bang for the buck

    I plan out my meals and get plenty to eat. Lots of hikes into the hills for class labs :)

    What to do for fun

    Coby Late Night activities, Brickyard Point craft nights and Archery Club.

    Food and Dining

    At least 6 eateries on campus with different hours and specialties, from Buffet to made to order.

    Dorm Life

    You share a room and the walls are thin, but it's not too shabby. On the weekends its like a ghost town, but they have activities for those who stay.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots to keep you busy, but if you are organized it's not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here to learn. Going to class and taking notes will make or break your success. All you have to do is try.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice college in the country. Lots of hands on learning and academic help is accessible. Teachers who give second chances if you are putting the effort in.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD is always on watch constantly protecting and servinf the student body. They are great to work with and easy to get along with. They do their job with great skill at organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus but the work that they do or provide for the student body isnt seen much on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Agricutural and FFA involved students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brickyard Point is a nice place to hang out with a movie theater on the top floor and a dance floor downstairs.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, depending on your major, this affects everyone differently. If you are on their Pre-Vet track, this school can easily help you launch your career. I've heard it from many couselors though that many people use this school as a stepping stone to move on to more productive schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on provided by the Student Life Office which plans many activities at Brickyard Point, the student union, and for activities in the gym on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Having a large culinary program on campus, the dining halls always have something fresh and new in the dining halls. The food is cooked in front of you and is very good.

    Dorm Life

    All residence halls become communities as soon as you step into them. Your floor becomes a family of its own and the support from RA's and RD's is tremendous.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your major. If you are involved in a science major or agriculture major, the work is rigourous and very hands-on. If you are a communications or liberal arts major, the classes are not that difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any college, be prepared. Once you hit college life, no one will be there to help you with all of your problems. College is a time to grow and learn to take care of your life as if you were living on your own.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cobleskill is a very hands-on school that will get you out of the classroom and involved in real life situations. The atmosphere on campus is friendly and always welcoming.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities every day/night that are available for students to go to and participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food isn't the best, but over all it is great!

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorm. The RA's are amazing and everyone becomes like a family.

    Tips for prospective students

    SUNY Cobleskill is not easy. It takes a lot of hard work! I would suggest having a good relationship with your advisor because he/she will really help you when you need it.

    In three sentences

    The professours are over all very helpful. I have truly enjoyed my experiences here. I am looking to graduate a semester early and move on to get my bachelors.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They police station is right on campus

    Food and Dining

    Great food all around

    Dorm Life

    looks great

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great size for kids that need smaller classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see the school

    In three sentences

    I can't wait to start in the fall. Its a great school in a rural area but is still close to things.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FFA members and those who love to be outdoors.

    What to do for fun

    There seems to be a lot of opportunities to be outdoors, like hiking, fishing, and horseback riding. There are plenty of clubs to get involved with and other student organizations that will provide entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out all of the campus so you can get a better feel of everything. This will also allow you to see more of the opportunities the school can provide.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for anyone who loves the outdoors and farming! They have a variety of livestock to work with and plenty of room. I would rate Cobleskill very high (8).

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sometimes, shows occur in Bouck theater. Often, on Fridays and Saturday', different types of sports games occur in Bouck Gym and there is bowling under Twisted Whiskers. There is a new activity daily in Brickyard Point.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very bad. Check for mold and be sure that whatever meat you eat has been cooked properly, especially and Champlin. I sometimes get food poisoning from Twisted Whiskers. Prentice is the best place to go.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is okay. I enjoy my roommate but I dislike having to share a hall and bathroom with 15-20 other females. Many people are loud and the Freshman dorms can become quite dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, the difficulty of the course depends on the individual. I am studying animal science, which requires difficult courses such as Chemistry and animal sciences. The work loads are heavy and require a lot of studying. I have a GPA over 3.5 and have some difficulty in the classes.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy SUNY Cobleskill for the most part, but the Financial Aid office is unorganized and the Campus security is lazy. Many students are from other countries and allows for an individual to gain a greater understanding of other cultures and customs.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD keeps a close eye on the campus and there is an emergency blue light system

    Clubs and Activities

    Cobleskill has over 50 different recognized clubs

    Great for these types of students

    liberal arts majors, agriculture students, business majors, graphic design, animal sciences, paramedic and emergency medical students, fisheries and wildlife, environmental studies, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cobleskill is the only college in the state that has its own fish hatchery and slaughterhouse.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, hang out with friends, go to pizza shack in town, visit one of the animal barns, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Cobleskill Auxiliary Services(CAS) does its best to satisfy the needs and wants of its students. It works collaboratively with the college to provide a variety of meal options. The culinary students can often work while in school in these facilities.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs are very good overall though freshman dorms are never exactly peaceful at night. You can keep fish as pets but nothing else, there is wifi in the dorms but for more reliable internet, the library is the place to go. You can have guests over Friday and Saturday night if your roommate is cool with it and you must sign them in and back out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not overly so.

    Tips for prospective students

    SUNY Cobleskill is a great college for those who are intimidated by large institutions, city schools, or who just don't want to pay an outrageous tuition. Many students from the city find it to be a great change in scenery, although country living isn't for everyone. there are lots of awesome clubs and opportunities for students and the teachers are great. Cobleskill is great for transfer students, students who plan on attending grad school or those who just want to join the workforce as soon as they leave.

    In three sentences

    A small student-friendly campus that brings together students from all over the state, country and world. Cobleskill has some very strong academic programs with lots of clubs to join and is home to a variety of majors in the agriculture and technology fields as well as business, paramedic, and liberal arts classes. It is located in the small college town of Cobleskill in the Catskill Mountain range about 30 minutes from the state capital of Albany.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe, there was never a time where i felt not safe.

    Bang for the buck

    the parties can get really fun really fast.

    What to do for fun

    i like to work out for fun and there are many people who enjoy the same pass time so it is easy to find a work out partner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not the best for freshmen but, if you get lucky enough to move t an upperclassmen dorm take it.

    Tips for prospective students

    if i had any tips to offer freshmen college student going to Cobleskill. Stay focus and on top of your school work. It is easy to get overwhelm.

    In three sentences

    to rate my first semester at suny Cobleskill i would give it 3 out of five stars. Simply because i have yet too fully experience every opportunity that the school offers the students but, i do enjoy the extra help i receive in case.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There's one fraternity on campus which is the honors co-ed fraternity. The rest of greek life consists of fake sororitys and fraternitys that students make up.

    Bang for the buck

    They give out very little money. If you aren't good at school it's better for your money because it's harder to fail out.

    What to do for fun

    The campus does have fun events like comedians, mind readers, sporting events, movies, and craft nights.

    Food and Dining

    Some food is good, but not the best. It's a step up from high school dining.

    Dorm Life

    Most of campus leaves for the weekend and there's things to do but it gets boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very easy A's if you put effort into them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't do well in school I would suggest you come here. If you're looking for a rigorous course selection in the field of dairy go somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Cobleskill is a college that teaches at a high school level. In my program (dairy management) they dumb things down for students who don't do well with education.