Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to get involved in any type of Environmental field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. Talk to current students.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a State school, ESF isn't that costly. I am out of state, but have an ESF academic scholarship which covers the extra out of state tuition. I believe its around $5,000 a year, but unfortunately it is slowly going up. Your first year will be the most costly considering you're made to live on campus. You live in Syracuse dorms and eat Syracuse food, which Syracuse being a private school makes the whole cost of living more than it really needs to be. But it's definitely worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    The small school atmosphere is perfect for learning and keeping your stress levels down. The campus is tiny, impossible to get lost. Classes are on the smaller side so they are better for discussion. Everyone on campus is aware of environmental problems and everyone is environmentally conscience. And if the small school thing doesn’t appeal to you, keep in mind ESF is on Syracuse University’s campus. As ESF students we are allowed to join in on any Syracuse activities (fraternities, sororities, sports, clubs, ect.) and even take certain classes offered by them. You get best of both worlds. People around campus are friendly. I’ve maybe met a handful of people I don’t like. Everyone is studying relatively the same thing and everyone gets along. It’s easy to include the whole student body into activities on the quad. And there are TONS of activities to get involved in. Anything you could possibly think of between ESF and Syracuse. The only thing that gets me is the winter time. Syracuse is a cold miserable city in the dead of winter, but besides that, it’s perfect!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning tons about the things I care about. SUNY-ESF offers only classes which concern almost any environmental field. In English we read books all about the environment, in History we learn the history of the environmental movement, in math we calculate the height and width of trees. All the professors at ESF are excited to pass on the knowledge they already have. They all have their own studies going on and it’s very easy to be personable with anyone of your professors. The school is smaller, therefore there is plenty of time to talk to your professors. Yes, classes are challenging. But they are fun and without major grade curves you know you're actually learning what you're being taught.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy, hard workers, passion for the environment

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to hit the ground running, it will be a lot more work than you're used to in high school, but definitely worth it. It has a partnership and is right across the street from SU, on of the biggest party schools in the country, so don't get too wrapped up in all the parties. Time management will be your biggest obstacle to overcome. There will always be something to do, especially if you're living in the dorms (Centennial), but in order to get a good GPA you will need to spend a lot of time doing homework and studying. A lot of students create study groups so you get work done and have a social life at the same time. Also, GET SLEEP! With everything that's going on, sleep can sometimes get lost in the mix, but without sleep you are more likely to doze off in class which does not leave a good impression on the professors and you will be more likely to get sick. Have fun in college too! Join clubs that you're interested in and GET INVOLVED! Also, don't be afraid to go to your professors for help. Utilize their office hours, not only will they help you and answer any questions they have, but it will show the professors that you are truly putting in a good effort to do well in the class.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for what you get! Compared to a lot of other colleges I looked at this was definitely one of the more reasonably priced ones. I am an out-of-state student but received a scholarship from ESF so I am basically paying in-state tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am loving every minute of it. The learning communities in the dorms are very helpful, you meet so many new people that all share the love for the environment, the professors are great, and employers will be impressed at your resume just for going to this college.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very academically stimulating! The professors present the information in a way that helps you retain the information over a long period of time. Since it is an environmental school and most of us are very passionate about the environment, the material presented to us is interesting and relevant to our area of study. There is so much to learn here, don't be afraid to 'nerd-out'

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They dont really do much....most people dont really cause havoc on campus since its so small. SU is a whole different story

    Greek Life

    Syracuse university has it, we don't.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some amazing clubs on campus, and at SU. we all pay a fee to SU for activities so join their clubs! the most active club on ESF is GCI (green campus initiative), which you should join if you want to make a change in the world.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, down-to-earth type people, activists, scientists, environmentalists, woodsy people, lumberjacks, people who love nature, vegetarians, vegans, friendly people, out of state students (we need more of them), in-state students (price is cheap)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you cannot walk across the quad or you are at risk of being tackled.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and prices are going up but it's still a good price for such an amazing school

    What to do for fun

    clubs and organizations host a lot of events, there are a lot of shopping places, cafes, food places, bars, tea-shops within a walk of campus. The Westcott Theater is close by and has some good (music) shows. The carousel mall is very close by car and there is a free bus there on weekends. Downtown has many hidden gems but many students don't venture down there often. The bus down there is sort of unreliable and you probably don't want to walk that far often, especially if you get sketched out by homeless people and beggars on the street. Much of the nightlife is based around the off-campus housing scene and SU frats/sororities. Personally, if you go to ESF, I would recommend staying away from the Greek life at SU, but if you are that kind of person, go for it. But there are parties going on off-campus every weekend and there are basement music shows going on a lot. But that's not all that off-campus offers because many clubs have off-campus events such as potlucks, movie nights, tea parties, and get together's.

    Food and Dining

    Our meal plans are for Syracuse University food services and they have many different cafes, grocery stores, and unlimited buffet style dining halls. The meal plans required by dorm residences, you get both a set-amount of meal swipes a week and superfood, which is a declining balance type plan, which you can use in the grocery markets and cafes on campus. The meal plans are a rip-off in my opinion because it costs around 13-18 dollars per meal, depending on your meal plan (you will never eat 13-18 dollars worth of food in there at a time). Some dining halls have pretty great vegan and vegetarian options, and there are a vast amount of random organic and gluten free items scattered around the dining halls, you just need to find them. The best veg. dining halls are probably sadler, shaw, and BBB. The worst is probably Ernie and graham.

    Dorm Life

    Up until Fall 2011, we lived in Syracuse's dorms all around their campus pretty much. This year we have brand new dorms, which are semi-nice (yet they built them in less than a year so there are many defects to the building). I would suggest if you are transferring in to opt to live off campus and check orangehousing.com for roommate classifieds or google the daily orange and look under the classifieds. The dorms are VERY strict, the Ra's live to get students in trouble if they even hear the slightest noise after quiet hours, even just normal talking, they will knock on your door and give you a warning/write you up. The dorms are also located VERY far away from anywhere (other than class) you need to go. It is inconveniently located downhill/downstairs from anywhere you will want to go, making it a pain to walk or bike anywhere. (Most) The freshman live in doubles, with their own bathrooms, and are all located in one 'wing' of the building. Upperclassman live in another wing and have their own bedrooms, connected to one other persons room by a common room and bathroom. There are also apartments in the building, which have kitchens, four (singles) bedrooms, full-sized beds, and two bathrooms. They come with a couch and a chair, dining table with dining chairs, and a coffee table. The freshman seem to all know each other because they all interact but the upperclassman side is sheltered away and don't really interact much unless you already know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    you cannot be afraid of hard work

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you live off campus AS SOON AS YOU CAN, for it is MUCH cheaper, it prepares you for the real world and budgeting a little more, it allows you to have such a different college experience, and causes you to be put to the test as to how responsible you can be. Get involved with as many clubs/organizations on campus as you can, and join Syracuse University's clubs too because as ESF students, we all pay an activities fee to SU so don't let that money go to waste, they have some awesome clubs. I also suggest taking a few SU courses, especially their electives, because they have some really cool classes such as an herbalist class, food justice class, all sorts of religion courses, and visual arts classes. Also, be prepared to spend many nights studying and doing work because this is a hard school but manageable. You cannot be afraid of studying, libraries, writing papers, and doing lab reports.

    In three sentences

    Your experience at ESF will be what you make of it because there is always something going on around campus, but you really have to make smart decisions what you do with your time. The course work is hard but manageable if you don't go out partying every night and actually study hard. Syracuse U. students are sometimes very judgmental and think ESF students mooch off their university but that is not true, and with that said, there are some really awesome people at both ESF and Syracuse University.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly well-lit at night, with those alarm boxes in fairly accessible areas. No major hazards that I've seen. Every year, a group of volunteers goes through campus with the campus police and points out spots it thinks need to be addressed, so the campus is fairly up to date with things.

    Greek Life

    Not much for greek life - I know we have one sorority that at least puts up tables here once in a while, but from what I hear, its nothing like a typical sorority. Not sure about fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot at ESF itself - you'll probably end up doing more at SU if clubs and activities are really your thing. Each major seems to have its own club, though, so at least join those to get introduced to other people in your major. The Insomniacs events are usually really fun, so I definitely suggest checking them out if you go here.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for very studious students - the workload won't be horrible to you. Also, given the nature of the programs here, this is a fairly liberal-friendly college. We're not all just giant hippies out here, but we're fairly far out, man.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lug your Mug - You're given a travel mug at the beginning of the year. Almost every on-campus event expects you to bring it and will not provide cups (or plates, or anything else disposable). This is to reduce waste. Don't walk across the quad. Skip, cartwheel, roll across it, nobody will care... but if you just walk directly across it, you will have committed the highest of the stumpy sins. At some point, before this tradition started, an aerial photograph of the quad showed a giant X across it from people cutting across and killing the grass, so now everyone's really serious about not cutting across the quad to save time - hence why you can't walk, but it's acceptable to do silly stuff to cross. This isn't on campus, but Oakwood Cemetery is directly behind Centennial and has a lot of cool spots in it if you just walk around for a while. I have a favorite reading spot and everything there. Just be warned - it may seem like a good place to smoke or whatever, but it's fairly heavily patrolled these days, and you will get in trouble.

    Bang for the buck

    ESF is fairly cheap by most standards - you get an education you could get from a bigger college for a state college price, as well as access to everything at SU, if you so please. However, if you have a broad range of interests and aren't just narrowly focused on the environment, that access to SU seems almost essential. You won't really find anything other than that on the ESF campus. Centennial is insanely nice, but the price is huge (somewhere around the 6th highest room and board in the nation, I think). If I wasn't getting most of the money from financial aid, I wouldn't be able to afford living here. And getting an off-campus apartment with a few friends is definitely cheaper once your second year comes up (as well as having all of the other associated advantages).

    What to do for fun

    There are a few student clubs and organizations you can join at ESF, and you have access to all of SU's clubs and organizations if you wish. You'll have to look around and find something that interests you. People tend to start up impromptu games on the quad, like the normal frisbee games and such. People in the dorms start card games or other games in the lobbies, or gather up to watch show premieres. Every Friday there is an Insomniacs event from 10PM-2AM in Marshall, each one has a different theme and is hosted by a different student club or organization, so they're cool to check out.

    Food and Dining

    You have access to all of SU's dining halls, which is very nice. However, some are nicer than others. The one closest to ESF campus and Centennial Hall, Sadler Hall, isn't the best, so you'll have to walk a tiny bit farther than it may first seem if that's a major issue. And Sadler's food still isn't all that bad, in my opinion. SU's dining is very vegetarian and vegan friendly, and though I'm not either, I find that sometimes the vegetarian and vegan food is better than the regular food! You also get a certain amount of money on your ID based on your meal plan that can be used for food outside the dining halls. There's a campus delivery service that only uses this money as well as a few small grocery stores on SU campus that use it and/or normal cash.

    Dorm Life

    Centennial Hall is exactly like a hotel. The freshman rooms are better than some of the upperclassmen rooms I've seen at my friends' colleges. You get a mini-fridge/microwave combo with each freshman room and your own private bathroom for you and your roommate, as well as your own air conditioning/heater that you can set yourself. No problems with drafts or being roasted alive. The RAs almost never do room checks, if that's a worry. And if you hear about the fire alarm problems from the first year Centennial was open, those are fixed (though they still do get set off fairly often, that's a fact for any college dorm). The RAs are also really chill people. Yes, they'll nail you for doing stupid stuff. But they aren't power-crazy or overly peppy or anything annoying like that. As long as you're cool to them, they treat you as an equal.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't know how to rate this star-wise - it depends on what you're looking for. If you're looking for a really reputable school that holds its students to very high standards, ESF is definitely the place for you. The workload is massive though. It's manageable, and none of it is unnecessary (believe me, professors don't like dealing with all that, and they don't create it just to give the TAs stuff to do). However, you'll be wishing you had more free time, and partying is going to end up being a very distant concept to you. I'll be frank here - If you're looking for an easy school that you can just coast through, don't bother applying. You'll either skip out on a lot and end up with a horrible GPA, or keep your head in your book and become resentful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Winters here are absolutely brutal, and they start early. Make sure you either pack a nice, heavy coat, or you go right out and buy one once you get here. I only came from an hour away, and the difference still was enough to shock me. If you're coming in as a freshman and staying in the dorm, take advantage of the mentor activities and the activities the RAs run. Yeah, they seem corny and dumb (and the mentors/orientation leaders tend to treat you like you're still kids if you let them), but they'll help you get out and meet people. There's an amazing sense of community here and everyone's more than willing to include you, but you have to put yourself out there first. Don't walk across the quad. Just. Don't. Skip, cartwheel, roll across it, nobody will care... but if you just walk directly across it, you will have committed the highest of the stumpy sins. People have gotten tackled over this.

    In three sentences

    I'm just starting my second semester here, and I'll note one thing - the people here are extremely friendly and enthusiastic, but definitely are NOT your typical college crowd. We're not all hippies like you'd expect, but you'll begin to notice that us stumpies (including the professors!) have some odd little eccentricities that you'll either find totally charming, or just plain weird. The campus as a whole (small as it is) tends to reflect the people here, and all of it creates an amazing sense of community.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that have a commitment to social, political, and environmental improvement would be perfect candidates for this school. If you have a passion for science and the environment in the form of Chemistry, Bioengineering, Biology (Wildlife Science, Interpretation, Aquatics, etc.), Law, Forestry, Natural Resource Management, Paper Engineering, Landscape Architecture, etc., then consider ESF. If you want to go into medicine, veterinary science, education, field or lab research, there are degrees offered here that will prepare you. Do not come to this school if your undying passion includes writing, literature, any of the performing or fine arts, and do not come to this school if you are not eager to actively improve yourself and the world you live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live far away from campus! It's hard to get involved with other students and the community. Try hard to be outgoing, you'll learn so much more and make great connections. Also, take everything in stride. There are some aspects of ESF that can be frustrating (registration, bad professors, quarrelsome classmates, etc), but just remember it's all a learning process- use it for the betterment of yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    ESF is very inexpensive, even for a SUNY school. For in-state students, tuition plus fees comes to about $3000 a semester. It is incredibly affordable, helpful with financial aid and loans, and you get a priceless education. There is no reason to go to an expensive school if your college career plans match up with what ESF has to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    ESF can often be a very homogeneous area, with people being very similar in their lifestyles, beliefs, and interests, and this can be difficult for people that do not share these similarities. However, the more you get to know people, the more you will enjoy college life at ESF. The students here are interesting, friendly, and energetic. There is always a support system for you to fall back on with Student Life, the tutoring center, other offices, and student organizations. You will never be bored here if you talk to people and actively participate in in on and off campus life. The campus is also right next to SU, and you can take advantage of their gyms, the Carrier Dome for college games, Thornden Park, Oakwood Cemetery, and the ever-popular attractions on Westcott St.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at SUNY-ESF are challenging, yes. However, they are also fun and invigorating, often helping you to find new world views and to share your ideas, as well. Most of the teachers are helpful and friendly and are more than willing to work with you if you are outgoing and take initiative. If you are determined and enthusiastic, you can conquer the concepts in classes and make the most of what you're given. Studying for exams is a must, and never leave lab reports until the last minute. I've learned so much through my classes at ESF that I use in teaching, self-led research, and simply everyday life. You learn about life as a dynamic and moving force, not as a bundle of black and white facts.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ESF is located in the city of Syracuse, so there is crime of course, but I have felt very safe on campus during my time here. However, just like any city, it is not safe to walk alone very late at night, especially off of campus. There have been reports of crime in the areas bordering campus. For safety, there is a blue light system across campus, in case of any emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are a few fraternities and sororities that are specifically ESF organizations, however the majority of them are at Syracuse University. SU is huge on Greek life, and ESF students are freely welcome to participate in it at SU, similar to their access to clubs and activities there.

    Clubs and Activities

    ESF has a variety of great clubs, activities, and sports teams for students to join, and ESF students are also allowed to participate in all of Syracuse University's clubs, activities, and sports, with the exception of Division I athletics at SU. With over 300 choices of clubs to join, there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    ESF is a place for hard-working and determined students who want to make a difference in the world. Students at ESF are very friendly and care alot about the future of the world, the environment, and each other. The student community across campus is simply wonderful. ESF is like one big family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest tradition at ESF is the rule that you are not allowed to walk across the quad. Students can run, hop, or skip, but they are not allowed to simply walk across the grass to cut to the other side. If they do so, they will get tackled by another student who sees them do this. Being an environmental school, this rule was established to prevent grass from being worn down to a dirt path from constant travel.

    Bang for the buck

    ESF is a SUNY school so the tuition is very cheap. I would say the bang for the buck is really big. The ESF facilities are very nice and the professors and classes are challenging, yet very high quality. ESF students also have access to all of Syracuse University's facilities, activities, and even some classes, while still paying SUNY tuition. Besides the overpriced meal plan through Syracuse, what you get for the money you spend is totally worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun on and off campus. There are many many events going on every weekend at both ESF and SU, so there is never a dull weekend in the city. Free buses run to Destiny USA mall every Friday and Saturday, so that is something fun to do as well! The huge cemetery behind the dorm hall is also a cool place to explore and relax in during the nice fall days before winter hits. It's a great study spot as well!

    Food and Dining

    ESF currently doesn't have their own dining halls so ESF students eat at Syracuse's dining halls. One meal plan swipe is all you can eat, so one never goes hungry. If anything, they have leftover meal swipes at the end of the week which unfortunately don't roll-over. The food is generally good, and there is a large selection of vegan and vegetarian options as well. The only complaint about the dining is that the mean plan through Syracuse is so expensive, especially compared to the amount ESF students pay for tuition!

    Dorm Life

    ESF just built their own dorm hall in 2011, Centennial Hall. They are extremely nice, better than any of the SU dorms! There are 2 people per room in the freshman wing, and each room is very spacious with its own bathroom, fridge, and microwave. The lounges and basement are all very popular places to hang out, and the atmosphere in general is just awesome. It's such a fun place to hang out with you friends, and it's really cool because your entire freshman class is in the same building. The other wing of the building consists of suites for upperclassmen, although freshmen are only required to live on campus the first year, but the suites are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    ESF is a challenging school, all of the majors being science based, but it is totally worth it. The rigor of the courses prepares you well for life after college. Students here have to put in a lot of hard work and study a lot, but we definitely know the balance between school and having a ton of fun as well. Time management is the key.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school to see how you think you would fit in. Go to information sessions about your intended major, talk to professors, and go to open houses. Most importantly, talk to the students who actually go here and get their opinion on the school. Feel free to ask current students anything that will help you figure out if ESF is the right place for you!

    In three sentences

    SUNY ESF is an environmental school with a diverse group of students that all share the common goal of making a difference in the world. It is a relatively small college, however, the tightness of the students is what make this place really special. Also, the close relationship with the professors is unlike one you will find at any other college.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ESF has campus police and SU has a whole fleet of DPS

    Greek Life

    Anyone that wants to do Frat or Sorority stuff and ESF student can join an SU frat or sorority. There is also Alpha Xi Sigma, the honor society on campus and a community service Frat

    Clubs and Activities

    ESF and SU clubs are plenty filling all interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Nature and environment enthusiasts, Construction Management guys and gals, Science Minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can't walk across the quad. Also we have a week of festivities during the week of Earth Day. Pretty much the biggest deal on campus all year.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY = 1/2 the cost of private schools and a school like ESF has all the connects that a private school would. Plus the added bonus of having SU right next door is amazing. They have every major you could think of and I've used professors at SU as a resource multiple times. The courses at ESF are also some that aren't found anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Syracuse has tons of stuff to do in the city...concerts, comedians,..etc. There are also plenty of clubs at ESF that you can join from trivia club to Engineers Without Borders.

    Food and Dining

    SU dining halls are pretty much better than any other dining hall I've been too. Buffet style and always nice people working there. Soon, ESF will have their own dining hall but how that turns out is still in the air.

    Dorm Life

    Centennial is beyond sweet. Super nice rooms and you have your own bathroom. Stickley Furniture puts that icing on the cake and you can control the temperature in your room. The building is near brand new and is real close to campus. Transfers may still have to dorm at SU on South campus but that still isn't bad.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on how involved you are. No matter the major, you can get yourself into hard courses and really improve your knowledge. However, if you so choose, you can have an easy (which isn't really easy because ESF is a top notch SUNY school) schedule and lay back and not take advantage of everything ESF has to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide what makes you happy and go for it. Work hard and get prepared to be shocked at how different college is from high school. Be active and social...these 2-4 years are the only years you will be able to enjoy this.

    In three sentences

    SUNY-ESF is an awesome environmental school. There are few colleges around the nation that have the same resources that ESF has. The small nature of the school is comforting while having the surroundings of Syracuse and Syracuse University to spice up the college life!

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus. We have key fobs to get into the buildings and campus police that drive around. Any time there's a security problem in the area, we get notified via email.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at ESF. We are a very small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Never walk across the Quad; if you have to get to the other side of the quad you can skip, jump, hop, run, but whatever you do- do not walk across the Quad.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls have a large selection of food. There's something for everyone including vegans and vegetarians. The food doesn't always taste the best, but it's pretty good for dining food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun. We have bathrooms in each individual room with normally two people in each room. There's plenty of room and everyone is friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    ESF is hard. There's a lot of work involved and the professors expect you to be prepared for class and to participate.

    In three sentences

    ESF is a small school, but because of that everyone gets to know each other really well. The professors are incredible, and they really care about you doing well individually; they are willing to work with you if you have a problem. ESF is an awesome school- four out of five stars!

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at SUNY ESF is a third of those paying at Syracuse University, yet we are still able to reap most of the benefits. It has a small school feeling yet has all the amenities of a large school.

    What to do for fun

    The Westcott Theatre is within walking distance of the university. If live bands aren't your thing there are always fraternity parties, bars on Marshall street, or clubs downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Just recently got our own student center with a cafe in it - Trailhead Cafe. Otherwise Syracuse University offers meal plans for SUNY students. The dining halls are always available and offer a wide selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    The school just recently built dorms for the SUNY ESF students. We had previously been placed in Syracuse University dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intended to be challenging so that SUNY ESF graduates excel in real world situations. The school has pushed me to work hard more than I ever received in any other institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for the cold winters.

    In three sentences

    The small scale of the school allows you to get to know your professors personally. They are always willing and available to meet if you are not understanding the course material. I am hardly ever in a lecture room with more than 30 students.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a blue light system installed throughout campus. The campus police are very friendly and are always available if needed. I have never once felt unsafe or uncomfortable at ESF.

    Greek Life

    There are many sorority and fraternities through Syracuse University and a few through ESF. There are lots to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join any club at ESF or Syracuse University. A few of the ESF clubs include the Wildlife Society, Conservation Biology, and Music Society.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, fun loving people who are interested in preserving the environment for a living.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Be prepared to see a lot of people without shoes on even in the dead of winter. In April we don't have Earth Day, we have Earth Week and its a blast! The Gateway building is brand new, has a green roof, is environmentally friendly and is home to the Trailhead Cafe.

    Bang for the buck

    A great education at a highly accredited school for a good price.

    What to do for fun

    There are free movie nights, clubs to join, and free buses to Destiny USA on Fridays and Saturdays. The Carrier Dome is right across the street where there are concerts, football, and basketball games. You can also head over to the ice rink for skating.

    Food and Dining

    You can have a meal plan with Syracuse University and/or get one with the Trailhead Cafe. The Cafe has a lot of delicious options and the SU dining halls are good if you need something quick.

    Dorm Life

    Centennial Hall is pretty much brand new. The RAs are really nice and are always glad to help you. There is also a lot of space to hang out in the building outside of the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Those who are not prepared for ESF are picked out rather quickly. Freshman year has a lot of work. As you get more into the groove of things and take classes that you're really interested in it won't be as bad. Be prepared to be doing a lot of hands on work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll discover very quickly whether or not this is the school for you. When you're hanging out on campus it may feel like it's all fun and games but when you're in the classroom there is no joking around! Classes here are tough!

    In three sentences

    Everyone here is so friendly! All of the classes relate to the environment in some way or another. ESF has a great atmosphere.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything Syracuse university can do plus more.

    Food and Dining

    Trailhead cafe is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Really nice dorms with great people but strict.

    Academic Rigor

    More challenging than most schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a challenge so be ready to work hard in the sciences but learn a lot of valuable information.

    In three sentences

    The friendliest people are at ESF. Everyone is very nice and excepting of each other. The professors are close to their students and I couldn't have picked a better school for environmental education.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those deeply involved in environmental politics and needing a small school with big school opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with environmental issues prior to applying, freshen your knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    Technology and funding are lacking, the out of state tuition is still a bit much considering that the actual college of SUNY-ESF doesn't have all that many perks.

    Am enjoying being here

    The city is fantastic, with a lot of things to do and the scenery is great.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes have a great curriculum, a lot of interesting course work.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking into environmental-, wildlife-, or landscaping-type studies should seriously consider ESF.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely visit! ESF has a lot of interesting aspects to the campus, and so does SU, and once you get to know the area you'll probably love it. You should also look into all the different sub-programs that some majors have, like Environmental Science with a focus on aquatics or a focus on urban development, for example.

    Bang for the buck

    ESF really isn't that costly, and from what I've heard, they have top-ranked programs and opportunities, and are right up with the major colleges in field research. ESF graduates have really high rates of acceptance into master's programs or the work force.

    Will enjoy being here

    This seems like a really great school, and the campus in and trips to the Adirondacks sound really great!

    Academic Rigor

    ESF has all the programs I'm looking for in a college, and anything I can't find there I can do at Syracuse University

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor people, environmentalists, scientists

    Tips for prospective students

    Read your text books before class, research anything you do not understand and get as much background information as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and many scholarships to be awarded. Another benefit is that you can take SU courses for SUNY price. However, they recently capped the number of classes you can take there, and if it's offered at ESF you cannot take it at SU.

    Did enjoy being here

    I personally was not happy at the college. I felt out of place, didn't make friends, and almost felt duped into attending the college when I was told it had a great pre-vet program. While my professors were willing to help me the best they could, administrative faculty were incooperative and rude many times when I had questions. My second semester I needed tutors for three of my classes and the Academic Support Center was no help in finding me tutors. Due to schedule conflicts I was unable to get help from my professors or TA's and pretty much fell behind in every class.

    Did learn a lot

    What I managed to retain was well worth it. The school really wasn't what I was going for, but it was a new experience. The teachers go fast through the material so it's a constant game of catch up if you haven't read the chapter prior to going to class.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there are community service projects and trips to the state fair, skiing, snowboarding, hiking, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Sadler dining hall is the closest to centennial hall but there are other places to go eat even down in Marshall Street on SU campus, gives it a 'downtown' feel to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    It is nice to live on campus because of the convenience. The rooms are spacious and pretty, almost everything is brand new.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work but it is worth it. They are preparing you to look for work out in the field and have experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy to express your inner self. ESF is a judge free zone. People are friendly and there are groups for everyone.

    In three sentences

    SUNY ESF is the perfect school for earth lovers. The campus is small and friendly with some accessibility to SU's campus. Living on campus is good to meet more people.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You get to learn all the officers and there's DPS all over the campus and off campus helping you out

    Greek Life

    Completely SU's territory

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a part of several sports teams and clubs. There's something for everyone and if you feel there isn't, head over to SU and join any of their clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone anyone anyone. From the hippies, to the party animals, to the book worms

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DON'T WALK ACROSS THE QUAD! You will be tackled.

    Bang for the buck

    With the right scholarships, academic work ethic, and if you're a NY state resident, it is one of the top schools in the country.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, a sports team, and make as many friends as possible. With an endless amount of friends, you always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    It's all through Syracuse University, which is still good food.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful dorms and the best part is, after your freshman year you are free to rent an apartment and live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but worth it all in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library, it will be your greatest tool. If you don't have a set of friends to push you through, you won't make it. Take advantage of every basketball game that Syracuse has to offer.

    In three sentences

    I've been to hell and back and the rock that has kept me afloat is SUNY ESF. The professors I have and the friends I've made have set me on the right path to success. I couldn't have chosen a better school.