Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College of Technology at Canton Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student, no matter what you want your major to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    All I can say is, STUDY! That is the most important thing you can do in college!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is so much fun! If you decide to go to college somewhere i would pick SUNY Canton.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn so much from the teachers! They are also very friendly!

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SUNY Canton campus sits outside of Canton. it is integrated not only on a hill but also in a forest in parts. In order to get into town the campus has built a couple of bridges that crosses a river that is also incorporated into the scenery at the college. There are two bridges that that crosses the river through an island. This island can be scary at times at night coming back from eating or partying in town which in my opinion is a thrill and very fun.

    Bang for the buck

    My recommendation would be to start college at a community or state school and end up in a established university. To get the most bang for your buck it would be best to immerse yourself into the culture and atmosphere of college first. To jump right to a five star 40 grand tuition college is foolish because of the big risk of flunking out. Get your feet wet before you jump in!! SUNY Canton is an amazing college for freshman.

    What to do for fun

    The small town of Canton is only about 45 minutes drive from the beautiful adirondack mountains where you can find things to do year round. One can ski or sled in the winter and in the summer trails are well kept. Another higher end, larger college Saint Lawrence University is right in the same small community as SUNY Canton making the town abundant with college food eateries. There are also a couple of well kept bars that cater to the student life by offering deals and student nights on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Chaney Dining hall has a wide variety of foods to choose from. From a hamburger to an asian stir fry station there is an an exuberant verity and quality to choose.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is phenomenal. With a new residence hall that has over 300 suites all fitted with bathrooms, living rooms and kitchens college life is not just very comfortable but also affordable when considering similar costs to other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Canton's academic rigor is mediocre. Upper level courses are at most, only a minimum challenge for myself. I am enrolled in the liberal arts/business program, it's common knowledge that the campus's focused programs in medical and engineering degrees are more challenging comparatively.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any prospective students looking at SUNY Canton should take into account that at Canton the curriculum is rigorous but not obscenely challenging. I would rate SUNY Canton for students ranging in the C to D category in their high school studies. Before actually going to any campus for the first semester students should preorder their books from amazon; campus bookstores are over priced.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Canton's main campus facilities are incorporated into the side of a hill making almost all window a pleasant view. The staff and the students here are intuitive and pleasant. Ethnic diversity at SUNY Canton is also a big factor when considering the school, with an overwhelming population of out of state and country students you are bound to find many interesting cultures.

  • 03/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something fun to do on campus. Tuesdays-Thursdays each student as the ability to pick up a FREE movie ticket to go see a movie on the weekends, there's anywhere between 30-50 different clubs that you can join, and the atmosphere is alive with so much diversity!

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something practically every day in all of my classes!

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i do appreciate such security, one may never hear of any major tragedies like rape or any such monstrosity. there's blue lights every 40 feet! the blue lights are phone booths that lead straight to university police and they have a response time of a minute and a half or less on most parts of the campus!

    Greek Life

    as said above in clubs and activities, yet with an addition. greek life is what you make it, obviously whether greek or not it can be about education or your next party fix. the important issue lies within the ideology of who you want to be. if you wish to be apart of tau sigma lambda be apart of them. just do not be foolish and forget yourself and your morals, nor be foolish enough to feel one fraternal or sorority organization is the one without looking at the rest. in the search of greek or non-greek education is first! and always first never forget that. the rest will come in time. we're young once, yeah... haha. however, if your foresee your bigger sister/brother helping you get to your goal of life and education look more into that organization; honestly, the other young life could wait until the big day of graduation (responsibly). that's what i found with my fraternal organization; the others i just saw doing drugs and drinking heavily -- that's not me.

    Clubs and Activities

    this question i guess is a little unfair due to me being in a fraternal organization by the name of alpha theta gamma. however, to get on that route i must say it's the most amazing experience of my life. i was such an immature boy i guess one may say. i foresaw myself just coasting and the fraternal organization expressed the true beauty of education i have never ever felt before. there was also a mentor in there (who was advisor) by the name of richard w. miller. a man who dedicated 65 year to our organization! i recently passed away two weeks ago at the age of 94. i mean, he taught us how to fly when we had clipped wings he gave us the most beautiful progressive thoughts and beauty that reflected our shields of education. he always told us hold up your shield as distractions come your way and study, study, study and study. if not study, burden yourself with mind blowing knowledge or read a book. i wish i could go on about this man; he was truly a great mentor.

    Great for these types of students

    the type of students aren't really traditional as one may foresee before coming into college. these students are bright and eclectic in their ways; they strive for conclusions of debates yet prosper in the process of becoming a graduate and or person of change.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    well, perhaps to many it's not; however for me it's kind of odd yet funny. when one is the dining hall and someone drops a cup by accident the whole cafeteria claps for them. it's kind of different and it happen to me one time. i was walking with a tray full of food and someone called my name i looked to the left and i dropped a cup of milk and everyone clapped -- i simply laughed, smiled and bowed.

    Bang for the buck

    i will say, even though the price is a little high from time one gets what they pay for. it's strange in today's standards paying reasonable for what one gets.

    What to do for fun

    There's ultimately limited things to do for fun due to the location. however, such still exist. for example, one could gain interest in the once a month student activities ranging from karaoke, live bands and get together in the main secondary eatery lounge. get to know the fraternal and sorority organizations through charitable events and gaming events. there's never a moment where friends aren't outside enjoying the weather; unless it's bitter cold as many spring semester and winter semesters are. in addition, to many countless fun activities one can grab a movie ticket from campus center to enjoy a free (in-town) movie with friends and to take the night on with a local college bar/dance hall.

    Food and Dining

    well, let's just say Chaney is not the most delectable meals in the world. However, still the same it's food. the varieties of food is very acceptable in today's economy. the dining service ranges from hamburgers, to steak and potatoes, quesadillas and much more! one may go for a salad a soup, french fries and a burger and be off to class in less than 5 minutes. which isn't too shabby.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is simply remarkable; many friendly faces, and many friends that you noticed will follow you through life. Great memories and great clean fun; unless one is over 21; yet, still clean fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I must say that Suny canton is a college and all colleges are rigorous; however, when one compares it to Oxford, Harvard and/or Yale with many schools it's just not the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would most urgently give this main tips to prospective students; you must stay consistent and prove yourself to yourself. there is a lot of distractions and complications that get in the way but this is your future ... don't let it slip away. study, study, study, and study hard this world needs some new ideologies and innovations in it. regardless of what many students complaints on tuition prices etc the point is not to dwell on it for now. the time is well spent under the thought of i can rather than i should good luck. i wish you well, and i know you can do it. it's college have fun, meet people (i can not express that any better), and love.

    In three sentences

    One may say that Suny canton is a very happy Roo family. It's hard to believe, but everyone truly gets along; not like high school where fights and physical disagreements were high. I enjoy saying that's my Suny canton whenever I see it.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure you visit the campus to see everything Canton can offer and to see it's beauty.

    Academic Rigor

    College is so different than high school. College is not about drama, but education and the future.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    U.P. should keep you safe unless you decide to go undercover Berserker on yourself.

    Greek Life

    If you feel the need to join a Frat or Sorority there are many to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Note that at SUNY Canton the weekly classes start Monday and end Thursday, not Friday so the weekend starts a day early.

    Bang for the buck

    Check out the campus for yourself. If your'e out of state or you like to see your parents often on weekends I suggest you look for a college that's closer to home.

    What to do for fun

    There are not many options in the surrounding area. If drinking is you're idea of fun than the usual frat parties and clubs should satisfy your needs.

    Food and Dining

    Fruits, Ice Cream, Chicken, Tacos, Burgers, Cereals, the Chaney Dinning Center has it all and more. Taco Bell, KFC, and vending machines are also provided on campus. There are also many restaurants to choose from off campus and Wal-Mart is a 15 minute drive away.

    Dorm Life

    Normal dorms are outdated but sufficient. The 2011 Grass River Hotel/Dorms are top notch brand new and well equipped but they are mostly for Juniors and Seniors and cost slightly more.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and they offer additional individual assistance to their students who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know which major you want and then schedule the courses you need to meet the graduation requirements for that major. Do not take unnecessary courses such as FYE.

    In three sentences

    It is a diverse campus with a variety of two and four year degrees. The surrounding village of Canton is very small and lifeless. SUNY Cantons library and fitness center however are outstanding and the campus environment is friendly and tolerant to all students.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is really nothing close to campus if you looking for things off campus your basically in the middle of no where.

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay depending on the day.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is full of drama watch who you talk to and associate yourself with because you will find yourself in the middle of something you have absolutely nothing to do with.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are very nice some of the teachers like any place of education is a little off but for the most part teachers try their best to help to the best of their ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    my advise to new students coming is to stay to yourself and try your best to stay away from the drama and worry about your work because when it comes down to it thats the main reason why you are here not to party or any other activities. its very easy to get caught up in things so watch out for yourself.

    In three sentences

    suny canton is a college where you get alot of experience from on how college life really is.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt safe.Really good security.There is a thing at every building called Blue Lightif you feel like you are in an sort of danger you can press there button and campus police are there in like 10-15 minutes

    What to do for fun

    You can play sports,there are various things you can do like watch movies go to concerts.You can be a ROO at Suny Canton

    Food and Dining

    The food was the BEST.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty spacious and you would feel comfortable and relaxed.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics all you need to do is focus and study the best you an so you an fly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be you.The experience will last a lifetime

    In three sentences

    When i visited this school.I fell in love.This is where i belonged.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every person is different but there's plenty to do. There are intramural sports , division 3 sports , dance , fashion shoes, talent shows, lounges to play billiards and jukeboxes, theres a swimming pool, newly designed CARC WITH 3 BASKETBALL COURTS, INDOOR TRACK , WEIGHT ROOM , CARDIO ROOM AND ICE RINK. There is Greek life and much more that youll find on your own.

    Food and Dining

    Our dinning hall (Chaney) has Delicious food and always tries to keep things fresh with new on-trays every week. Not to mention taco bell and kfc on campus and great options right off campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty small but the suits are beautiful and makes up for what the normal dorm halls do not have.

    Academic Rigor

    This is so far , I've just completed my freshman year. Im sure the rigor will increase.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Make sure you visit the campus. 2. Join other organizations like a club or sport ( as a freshman you will have a lot of time on your hands. 3. Make the library a close friend

    In three sentences

    In a nutshell Suny Canton is a college where students who struggled throughout High school should attend. It is college level work but with all the help and resources they have it makes it so easy and makes you feel comfortable as if you were still in high school. If you don't like the small size of it , not to worry there are three neighboring schools around!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    SUNY Canton was a old campus that has been upgraded to become modern. It is a beautiful campus with much to offer. The athletic facility is also top of the line.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In addition to the school investing their money towards the comfort and academic excellence of students, Canton college has invested a lot of money in promoting healthy lifestyle and sustainability. The newly built gym is giant home to basketball courts, ice hockey rink, swimming pool, gym facility, and classrooms that encourage people on and off campus to get fit. There are several health related fairs and events that take place during the semester. In addition, the entire campus has been integrating sustainability efforts to make the campus have a smaller carbon foot print.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, sporting events, Greek life, and student government supported events keep students entertained during the year. If going out on the town is your interest, the usually serene towns of Canton and Potsdam are flooded with nightlife loving college students from the four colleges in the vicinity, including Canton College.

    Food and Dining

    SUNY Canton, being a college centered in a rural location, obtains produce from locally grown farms. The college has cafes, coffeehouses, and meal options dispersed throughout the campus. In addition, the school introduced a Taco Bell, KFC, and Jreck's Subs located in the Miller Campus Center, much to the content of the campus population. The college requires students to have a meal plan where students can choose from meal options from the campus cafeteria, as well as use their ID cards much like a debit card to use in various locations on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the influx of incoming students from increasing admissions, SUNY Canton constructed a multi-million dollar townhouse-style suites overlooking the campus. Dorm life is determined by the events designed by residence life and the camaraderie of the Dorm wing, which tend to be moderate. There is a balanced sense of partying and extracurricular activities that students generally take part in.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Canton is completely invested in each and every student to progress them academically. There are plenty of resources that students have to help them to excel. Every major at SUNY Canton, has internships or opportunities to further develop students academically outside the classrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many opportunities SUNY Canton offers its' students. One being the ability to stay on campus for a few days to understand how campus life is in and out of school. SUNY Canton gives prospective students a chance to develop an honest opinion of college life.

    In three sentences

    SUNY College of Technology at Canton is a gem hidden near the northern scenic mountains of New York, about an hour drive from Ottawa, Canada. The College has excellent professors and staff who challenge students and dedicate each and every day to improving the college. The college flourishes on the simple symbiotic relationship of teamwork, passion, and dedication of the students, faculty, administration, and staff.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs like SGA, CAB, BSU, Dance Team or Step Team, Cheer leading, Basketball, Soccer, ASU, Hispanic Unity, Or you just go to events that they host.

    Food and Dining

    They are many places for you to eat on and around campus that conviently take money from your ID card(roo card). On campus we have KFC, Taco Bell, Jrecks Sub, Starbucks, and many more. In town we have McDonald's, burger king, dominoes, Dunk in donuts, pizza hut, and so much more. They even started a service that they deliver food from town right to your dorm door. We also have the biggest dinning on campus at Chaney where there burgers, fries, tacos, salad bars, pizza, and hot food

    Dorm Life

    The 5 stars is for grasse river suite. Its 4,5, or3 single bedrooms and you share 2 bathroom and the living and kitchen area. They have the 2 bedroom one but its more for couples than friends because you don't get your own room you would be sharing the space with a kitchen. Oh yeah the grasse river suite is co-ed. Its really really nice. All the appliances are new. Its like a hotel in here really. The ONLY bad part is the over sensitive fire alarms that people set off 2am, 330, and 530am and that was in one night. The alarm goes off at least twice a week. And of course they check every dorm room to make sure no one stays. And you get a fine if they catch you. Although there are 4, 5, 3 separate rooms all your roommates have to be 21 in order for you to drink in your room legally. No speakers are allowed and no mini fridges.

    Academic Rigor

    Acadamic Rigor differs with classes. The nursing program is very challenging. But of course don't let anyone scare you. You can do it. Many people did before me and many will after. You just have to really focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't mess up twice. If you get on academic probation the first semester DO NOT mess around the second semester. Also don't come to canton to fight because they have NO problem kicking you out. There is always a waiting list here at SUNY Canton. They make it their business to accept more students than rooms. And there is barely ever a vacant room here. Just know what you came here for and its to get your degree. Party on the weekends study on the weeks. Do not miss class when its nice out. You can only miss a week worth of classes so wait for the harsh weather to miss one. Or be a good student and don't miss any. Your teacher is your best source of information. Don't think if you get a bad grade the teacher will come to you. You have to go see them during office hours. Its wise to go see them.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Canton is rebuilding their campus right now so the campus is looking very beautiful. However I don't think they are very mindful of students at times especially those that don't have a vehicle. The financial office is really bad as well you go to them for help and they read whats on the bill to you. There should be more qualified people to be able to help you in there. The tuition keeps going up like every other college but the assistance to get aid is ridiculous.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many post things with lights on them that have an emergency buttom on them so you can contact help at alot of places around campus. The campus has actual NYS Troopers for campus security so besides being real police they are actually armed and can provide better security and are better trained than other departments/ security groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different activities to do. If there is something you want to do that the school doesnt have you can get a group started up for that. Besides the varsity sports there are intramural sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small river that flows along the campus behind the dorms. There is also a nice footbridge going over it into town.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live off campus and can use scholarships, loans, or other means to pay for the apartment then that is the cheaper way to go. Other than that part the school has a pretty good bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    There is a weight room, gym, pool, and ice rink in the sports center area which is called the roo house. There is also a small little theater which they play movies about a month or so after they come out in the theaters, and its for free. There is also other things sponsored by the school such as trips to places for a much cheaper price which sell out quick.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a few different types of foods in it. There are also a few small restaurants on campus. The main restaurants are taco bell, KFC, and Jreck Subs.

    Dorm Life

    The normal dorm with three people is a little small but manageable if you arrange it right. The suites are much nicer because they have more room and usually less people.

    Academic Rigor

    The Criminal Justice degree at Canton is very good, If you are looking to go Sheriff or something similar than this might be the place for you. The school has an a credited police academy that you can do your eighth semester that can replace having to go to certain police department academies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pack everything you need since there are nice facilities here such as the gym, weight room, pool, and ice rink. Also contact your roommates and make sure that you don't buy more than one thing of something you will need like a fridge or microwave. Bring creature comforts with you and plenty of good food like popcorn.

    In three sentences

    The college overall is good. The criminal justice program is very good. The dorm rooms are small-decent unless you get a suite then it is much nicer.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus PD is very good, I feel really safe at school, even when I have the rare occasion that I have to walk alone at night. We have the blue light system on campus. You can stand at one emergency blue light and be close enough to see the next one. I feel the student body is very safe, and the campus is a safe comforting environment. Truly a home away from home.

    Greek Life

    We have many frats and sororities! Gamma Sigma Zetta - F YZI- F DOE- F TEZ- F Kappa Xi Omega- S p honors sorority and many more!

    Clubs and Activities

    Pool Enthusiasts Club- we kind of just hang out, however I workout because freshmen 15 had to stay away! :P Habitat for Humanity- I went on my first trip with Habitat this year, it was an amazing experience and I encourage anyone with a willing helping hand to join! Spanish Club Theater Greek Life Gay Straight Alliance ( Spectrum) I participate in Spectrum, Spring 2014 we hope to do our own Vagina Monologues, go to 1 million risings website to learn more. Or V-Day's website. Student Government And many many more! I am in the Honors Program and Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Vet Tech Mortuary Science Criminal Justice

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and organizations on campus to join. We have a brand new roo's house'' which has a pool, gym, and ice rink. Also, the school has many activities such as Chaney dances, we have a big dance in the dining hall, we had the Halloween lock in (we got locked in the campus center for random Halloween related activities. We even have mixers in our campus center, where people of age can drink. There are many free events on campus such as every weekend there are movies being played in the Kingston Theater.

    Food and Dining

    Chaney, our dining hall, is not the best. Currently on break from the fall 2012 semester, I have heard rumors that Chaney is being redone, I shall report back how that goes when I go back for Spring 2013.... Spring 2013- No changes to Chaney yet. But there have been reviewers taking a look at Chaney hopefully soon!

    Dorm Life

    I live in Mohawk, I feel at home there and know just about everyone in my wing. I live in the intensive quiet/honors floor wing. I am on the honors floor and we still get to listen to music because everyone is pretty relaxed with each other and are all such good friends. The RA's and our RD is awesome. I feel like I could go to them with anything. I had nasty neighbors and called my roomate and I sluts and called us fat on their whiteboards for everyone to see. These girls were nasty. We went to an RA who referred us to the RD and she took care of the problem! Most people don't have problems with their neighbors though.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt challenged in my first semester but it wasn't too bad. It is a change in pace from high school, but if you know what major you want, you feel great about studying the things you actually need. Now having completed a second semester, I feel the pace has picked up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, it takes some getting used to if you are from a bigger town. The people of the area are so sweet, it is nice to be in town where people actually hold a door open for you.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Criminal Justice program, and love it!! I am enter my second semester in Spring 2013 and my adviser is already getting me into the classes I need for the Criminal Investigations major. My friends in other studies love it too, such as mortuary science and Vet tech.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out explore the forest, hang out at the bar, walmart.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to orientation and make sure you ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    Friendly environment and staff. I give SUNY Canton a 6 out of 10. Needs better food for students and vegetarians.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are often walking or driving around campus. there are emergency buttons throughout campus. you just press and they come instantly.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is not the most expensive however there are great opportunities for the amount you pay.

    What to do for fun

    some things to do are go to Potsdam which is a fifteen minute drive where there is bowling. there is also a movie theater right in canton. sports with friends is also great fun at canton.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good if you go at dinner time when it first comes out. also the breakfasts are great. there are other options including a rooster club were there is chicken and other things available.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are ok at best. they are small and up to six people share a bathroom. showers are usually cold.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes available are great. they teach you important things for your specific major. there are many different times so for every class so there is flexibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your work. never get behind or it will be hard to get back up again. always go to class.

    In three sentences

    There are many opportunities here at SUNY Canton. There are great majors. The majors are interactive and interesting.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AWESOME CAMPUS SAFETY I WAS VERY HAPPY BECAUSE THEY HAVE THIS THING CALLED THE BLUE LIGHT EVERYWHERE YOU GO SO IF THERE IS AN PROBLEM OR EMERGENCY THEY ARE THERE WITHIN MINUTES

    What to do for fun

    Parties,Clubs,Fraternities as well as Sororities

    Food and Dining

    Food is great.There are so many varieties of food

    Dorm Life

    I live on campus but there are options you can choose from

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive nursing program not hard to get in but you can get kicked out very easily

    In three sentences

    Canton is a well-rounded school there are various things to do on campus,so you are never bored.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus because there are university police right on campus , there are also blue emergency lights all over campus if you need help you press the red button on the pole and they will appear as soon as possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    Canton provides you with many choices there will always be a club for some one .

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to study all the time & be in a smaller environment then suny canton is for you there are plenty of things to do on campus .

    What to do for fun

    The school its self have many activities you can do suny canton provides many activities during the holidays they keep you from being bored .

    Food and Dining

    There are options like kfc & taco bell on campus if you do not wish to eat at the dinning center which is pretty cool . The dinning center has a lot of options for you and the food taste pretty good .

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a decent size I actually have a double I couldn't bare with having more then one roommate its just a hassle but I love it I can't complain about the size of the room your bath rooms are next to your doors the dorms are kept clean but it all depends on you and your roommate to keep your room clean .

    Academic Rigor

    There are plenty of academic choices but every SUNY or CUNY school are known for different things . Every school has a one or two majors they stand out for .

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for you if you do not wish to attend a hudge university. Do to the size of the school the safety rate is much higher then the average university .

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are MANY clubs and activities to participate in. Check out the website to learn more and see what interests you. Don't be afraid to try new things, it's how you find what you enjoy!

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy a smaller campus size (or just hate walking long distances), like small class sizes and getting to know your professor better, and like a community feeling, then SUNY Canton is a great option!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the great things about a small campus is having most of the academic buildings close together. Some of the buildings actually connect together so you don't have to brave the cold during the winter to get from one class to the next.

    What to do for fun

    There is an abundance of clubs at SUNY Canton to check out. The Roo's House is where most sporting events are held, and often offers free open skate including free rentals to students, open swim, and more. Of course attending the sporting events is always a welcome break from studying!

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to dine not only on campus, but within short walking distance in town. Aside from the main dining center, Chaney, there is KFC, Taco Bell, Jrecks, Starbucks, as well as 3 other eateries. There are many restaurants in town that deliver also, including Sergi's Italian Pizzeria, Pizza Hut, Domino's, Hot Tamale, and A1 Oriental Kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    There are 4 dorm buildings on campus as well as the Grasse River Suites. Most wings in the dorms are non themed and co-ed, however pet wing, all female, and various themed options are available but limited. A maximum of 9 individuals share a bathroom. Bathrooms are all male or all female.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on your course load and the amount of effort you're willing to put in. Each major is difficult in its own way. Don't waste your money; try and pass the class the first time. There are tutors available constantly, as well as resources in the library, the professors themselves, and classmates. Google doesn't solve everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm winter gear! It gets very chilly at in upstate New York, and Canton is no exception, especially with the wind chill. Also, use the money on your Roo Card wisely as there is a Taco Bell, KFC, Jrecks, and much more available on campus daily.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Canton is a great school for a variety of reasons including it's close proximity to the other universities, the academic support that is offered on campus, the relatively small class size, as well as the small campus size. There is a lot of diversity while keeping a community-like feel throughout the college.