Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

SUNY Empire State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students that are employed full time

    Will enjoy being here

    Has all the course i need

    Will learn a lot

    It will online at my time

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not know yet but I am sure it is up to standards.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure what their sororities are.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know the answer to this question yet; however I do know there is a work study program, so I am sure there are clubs and actives for the students to get involved in. I hope to get involved in a business club.

    Great for these types of students

    Empire is great for students who like to learn on their own and who do not need a lot of baby sitting. I was also informed it is for students who take imitative and who are motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is a small building. It is not very big. It has a few rooms in it. I believe the one in Rochester is a lot bigger, that is where there is a lot of face-to-face meeting occur.

    Bang for the buck

    Empire we will meet with our mentor once a week or every other week I was explained if we wish to besides the phone, to help us with our studies. I was informed for being an online school they are very helpful to the students.

    What to do for fun

    Well, I find my learning fun and going to church, but for others there is social life around the town, a big lake and lots of woods.

    Food and Dining

    There is all kinds of restaurants around the town. We have colleges in our small town. I have recently graduated from the one college and now will be attending the other.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms with Empire because there is online learning.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not know about their academic rigor yet; however, I was warned to ask for someone else for a mentor if I got a certain professor, but it appears I did not get here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I was informed that you need to be able to write well and that there is no test there. I do find this appealing, because I suffer from test anxiety. I have learned how to write a paper well so I feel very encouraged about attending.

    In three sentences

    I am starting there in the fall, so far out of six people I have spoken with that have attended this college only one has not liked it. I believe this is good odds. The college has a great success rate and graduation rate. I am really looking forward to continuing my education.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY IMPORTANT FOR THE WELL BEING OF THE STUDENTS.

    Clubs and Activities

    ITS GREAT TO BE A PART OF THESE EVENT FOR NEW GROWTH IN EXPERIENCE.

    Great for these types of students

    IT HELPS STUDENT BUILD CHARACTER.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ATTEND EVERY EVENT YOU CAN SEE FOR FREE.

    Bang for the buck

    I AM A COUPON QUEEN!!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    I LOVE GOING TO THE MOVIES AND TRAVELING.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE DINING.

    Dorm Life

    I AM A COMMUTER.

    Academic Rigor

    GRADES ARE MOSTLY IMPORTANT.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDENTS SHOULD ASK THEIR PROFESSOR ABOUT WHAT KIND OF GOALS THEY WANT TO ACHIEVE DURING THEIR COLLEGE JOURNEY.

    In three sentences

    I AM A BUSINESS MAJOR AT EMPIRE STATE COLLEGE. I WANT TO PURSUE A TOWARD MY MBA IN BUSINESS. I LOVE THE BUSINESS WORLD AND EXPANDING MY KNOWLEDGE IN BUSINESS CULTURE AND DIVERSITY.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    really smart, hard working, very very very self motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't read all the reading material in the online classes - it takes too much times, but find some other way to get the info inside of you faster.

    Bang for the buck

    You're getting a good degree, But it is quite expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    Working too hard is more like it, and my 'mentor' hasn't been too helpful at all...

    Am learning a lot

    Really hard college. The work is really hard. For one course I was writing 4 page papers every two weeks.....

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research tot make sure you are happy with you school choice and that5 you can complete your education there. Be sure your credits transfer!

    In three sentences

    So far everything is going smoothly. Their orientation process was easy and very informative.m I can't wait to start learning!

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    empire state foundation

    Great for these types of students

    working people

    Bang for the buck

    i just think it is a great college for the working professional. there are on line courses, meeting with the mentor or work study groups

    Dorm Life

    no dorm where i go

    Academic Rigor

    love it

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy!!! it is very flexible to your needs of what you want your degree to be in

    In three sentences

    i enjoy going to suny empire state college because i can do my studies at my own pace. being a mother and employed it is more convenient for my children to know that i am at home not to mention getting supper started the tutors/mentors are great and have helped me in a tremendous way

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    school newspaper, mentorship opportunities, conferences, carnivals, student outings.

    Great for these types of students

    responsible younger students who are dedicated to their studies; non-traditional adult students with families and full-time jobs; recreational students who would like to continue their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not known.

    Bang for the buck

    suny empire state college is a state school, so tuition is very affordable. you get a great education for the price. this college is a great fit for a working adult with a family who wants to finish a degree or work on a new one. students do not have to be regimented to a traditional class schedule.

    What to do for fun

    there are opportunities to get involved with student activities, such as the online school newsletters, baseball games, carnivals, and conferences, as well as additional activities at the local campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are available in many subjects, and can be very demanding. there is a lot of reading, and papers, but it is very rewarding as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is important to really understand the amount of dedication it will take to be an independent student or distance learner. it is not like the traditional classroom, and much of the work is done on your own.

    In three sentences

    a great place for the non-traditional student to have it all - a full-time life as well as school. the local campuses and mentors are great for independent learners who like to meet their instructors directly, and the center for distance learning is great for students who enjoy the ability to study anytime, anywhere. suny empire state college allows students to choose the way they want to learn, and achieve your goals, your way.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for adult learners especially if you work and have a family.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely a great value for the money. suny school at a fraction of the cost.

    Food and Dining

    there is no cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is very interesting and keeps the student involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    call them and fill out an application.

    In three sentences

    empire is a great school for adults. the teachers and mentors work with you and your schedule. it is a great school to get an education from!

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt entirely safe any time I was going to a class at Empire State, whether in Manhattan, Brooklyn, or Staten Island.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since this is not a residential school and since it has so many satellite locations, clubs and activites are not a priority here.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, independent, older students with some college already under their belt.

    Bang for the buck

    For in-state students, this is an absolutely great deal.

    What to do for fun

    This is not a residential college, so what you do for fun is up to you!

    Food and Dining

    This is not a residential college. What you eat is up to you!

    Dorm Life

    This is not a residential college. Where you live is up to you!

    Academic Rigor

    Some variability with respect to the classes, but generally speaking, you get out of the classes what you put in to it. Some faculty are more committed to providing useful critique than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be clear about what you are pursuing, with respect to educational and career goals. The college has few requirements -- you must be self-directed and self-motivated to succeed. If you lack the focus and motivated, you may want to either begin with the General Education requirements or simply attend a residential college that has more structure.

    In three sentences

    It was a great way for me to re-enter school as an adult with considerable college experience under my belt. The student body is incredibly diverse and the faculty is very committed to the students. While I would prefer not to take on-line classes, I was grate that Empire State offered this option as it made it easier for me to take the classes needed to complete my degree.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Does not apply.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    There are not many courses that require tests, but tons of paper writing, and research.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be very self-disciplined to do the work.

    In three sentences

    I love this college setting, I am going to the center for distant learning. I am able to work at my own pace. This allows me freedom to work and raise my children, while I do my papers and research at times that are convenient to me.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults - matriculating or students who prefer to do their learning via online courses.

    What to do for fun

    With the setting for the courses being online, the fun is what you make of it.

    Food and Dining

    I will not be eating on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living in a dorm. I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to take a class at this institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to be completely responsible for your degree, from degree planning to ensuring you have everything needed for graduation.

    In three sentences

    This college is for the adult student looking to have control of their own degree plan. It is not the traditional setting. The mentors are your link to the school and your degree. The main setting for this college is online courses.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Same goes for this part.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student so I can not comment on this part.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems that they are interested in your academics and want to help you do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    I haven't taken a class yet, so any information I give probably won't be as helpful as another returning students would be.

    In three sentences

    It is easy to get in contact with your advisor and they are so helpful. My advisor has kept in touch with me even when I had to take some time off and was very understanding of my issue.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I guess the campus is secured, I am an online student.

    Greek Life

    Do not apply to me

    Clubs and Activities

    Do not apply to me

    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are great for students that are busy with family and work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do not apply

    Bang for the buck

    Great online classes

    What to do for fun

    Do not apply to me

    Food and Dining

    Do not apply to me

    Dorm Life

    Do not apply to me

    Academic Rigor

    The academic that you choose can be challenging, but the results of hard work serves a good purpose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be perpared to work hard and produce their work on time. Students should be able to keep up with the rest of the class.

    In three sentences

    This is a college that have well trained teachers that will work with you, and they always answer your emails in a timely manner. The teachers also respond to questions in discussion in a timely manner.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non Traditional. Working adults with families.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stick it out. Make sure you communicate with your mentors, they are there to help. Set realistic goals and remember that without sacrifice, success cannot happen.

    In three sentences

    Empire State College is the perfect school for working adults. This college will allow those who entered the workforce early in life to advance at a later stage. The unique approach to education is very beneficial to those who are non-traditional students.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For this question as well as the remainder, I am an on-line student and the questions really do not apply to me.

    Food and Dining

    Again I am an on-line student and do not eat at the college.

    Dorm Life

    I am an on-line student and live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    This college keeps you challenged. The work is right where it should be for the academic year that you are attending.

    In three sentences

    Currently I am an on-line student. I can honestly rate this college an A. They are very helpful with any issues.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the Metro campus only occupying three floors of a downtown New York City office building, I haven't had an unsafe experience.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some students have started clubs around different subjects, including a radio show.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults and others who are capable of handling a highly independent environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value if you are a New York State resident who's willing to take CLEP tests, apply for life credit, and pass all of your classes.

    What to do for fun

    Regular art shows and presentations at school's two art galleries draw busy students in. But if you want to stick around the neighborhood, there are TEDx NY Weekly Friday salons that are free of charge and open to the public at the nearby Saatchi & Saatchi building. Downstairs is also the Kate Werble Gallery.

    Food and Dining

    Snack machines and free coffee/tea in the student lounge. There's a few delis, food trucks, and restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    None. The Metro campus is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are 4 credits, which means you get a lot of work are are often required to do all the assigned reading. If you want to more or less college credit for a class, you can usually arrange that with a professor. Sometimes graduate-level classes are also available to undergrads.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Know what you want to study because every student has to design their own degree program. 2. You can take in-house classes, online classes, independent study, and cross-register at other schools (expect to pay the difference if it costs more than an in-house class). You can also submit transfer credit and apply for life credit. It's exciting to have so many options but you have to figure out the right combination for yourself. Some people are clear about what kind of graduate program they want to be accepted into and use that to shape how they design their degree at Empire. 3. Be ready to write extensively about your past professional accomplishments if you want to submit your life experiences for college credit. It can be exhausting to reflect on what you did and did not do this far in your life. However, the payoff is the clarity that you gain from the process, which can help you plan for life after graduation. 4. Get acclimated to this unique educational environment by attending as many of the academic workshops as possible. You may even want to take a class on developing college-level study skills . 5. Attend the annual academic conference to gain a greater sense of an academic community. Submit to it if you produced strong final projects in your classes. 6. Ask for help if you think you are drowning. Most professors will help you figure out how to get back on track. If not, speak to your advisor or someone from the tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    Flexible learning options, supportive faculty, and a mature learning environment make this one of the best academic environments for those students who are ready to be focused primarily on their education.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being a non traditional student my fun is enjoying life to it's fullest each and everyday whether it be in my role as mother, grandmother or counselor. Having had the opportunity to change the course of my career later in my life has allowed me to have fun in everthing that I do.

    Food and Dining

    When I originally visited the school prior to enrolling I found the food to good. The area surronding the campus is lovely in Saratoga Springs and the small shops and restaurants create a terrific and diverse atmosphere for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately dorm life is not an option for me at ESC as I am a mother, wife, grandmother and I have been blessed with a terrific employment position working with women and children affected by substance and alcohol abuse. Dorm life, although I wish I had been able to enjoy it is not within my goals lol

    Academic Rigor

    At ESC you set the pace for your learning experience that best suits you. For me, Learning gives me more drive and energy to accomplish my goals. For you, it may be direct and detailed. Whatever your choice of academic rigor, you do it at ESC.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's never to late to learn something new. Take a leap forward and follow your dreams. Each and everyday that you are enrolled in a higher education institution such as ESC you expand not only your mind but also your options in a struggling economic society. ESC provides you with the ability to tailor your degree to your passions and goals, giving you the choices that make your education uniquely you.

    In three sentences

    ESC has allowed the opportunity to create a new career for myself by offering a comprehensive and supportive learning environment. The professors, counselor and staff are available when you need them which is often not the case with distance learning institutions and the they are knowledgeable and friendly. My educational experience these past 3 1/2 years has been not only enjoyable but has opened my horizons to new and bright future in the twilight years of my life.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am a distant learning student, however Saratoga the home of Empire is a nice and quiet area in Upstate New York.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various activities you can join in any major or interest and an online portal where you can network with other students as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Empire is an excellent choice for adults who work and have families. the distant learning classes are rigorous and the flexibility is a plus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most interesting aspect of Empire is that it has locations throughout New York. This makes this unique in that there can be a student event in Buffalo and the next event in Newburgh.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is very reasonable and they even offer time payments where you can break up the tuition payments over a few months.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of options at the University Campus in Saratoga if you live in Upstate NY which I do. But, even if you do not live near Saratoga there are plenty of meetings throughout New York and even webinars.

    Academic Rigor

    I give Empire State College five stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your mentor and take the course on customizing your degree. This will put into focus what courses you need to take and what life credits you can receive for professional experience.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Empire State College is a wonderful place where you will be challenged educationally. The distant learning options are wonderful for adults as you can have tremendous flexibility with your schedule. I recommend this college to all my friends and family who are thinking of finishing a degree or going back to school for a new career path.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As an online student you are given many options to still engage in on campus activities, or with your fellow students. Take advantage of what you can.

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Dedication to online classes is extensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Log into courses everyday, always check in the evaluation section what your professor expects of you.

    In three sentences

    I am attending through the online program. The school allows you to customize a degree plan to fit your career goals. All the classes I have taken so far have been very engaging and educational.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students of all types can work well in the designed system of Empire State College. There are many ways to learn including, Online, Independent learning and classroom settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Designing your own degree program that meets SUNY expectations is a new and exciting way to attend college

    Bang for the buck

    The people here understand that it is your money and that you need to be able to learn at your pace.

    What to do for fun

    Syracuse, Saratoga Springs and Utica offer many exciting things to be done throughout the day and night.

    Food and Dining

    Although, there isn't any food at the campus locations there are many local restaurants to dine at.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at this college because the work you do is off of your computer or at a meeting place with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend orientation and don't ever be afraid to communicate with your mentor and the college itself.

    In three sentences

    Empire State has the ability to work with everyone's schedule to assist all that want to attend in getting their degree in what ever field the individual is looking for. Their Educational Planning course allows each student to design a program loaded with courses that interest the student. With the help of each students personal Mentor degree programs are designed to meet New York educational requirements.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being located in a business park, Empire State College (of Buffalo, NY) is completely safe.

    Greek Life

    The college does not currently have greek affiliations.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college does not have clubs that I am aware of however there are many opportunities to get involved with different activities as announced.

    Great for these types of students

    Empire State College is great for: Adults, working adults, single mothers, single fathers, grandparents. those raising families or even couples wishing to attend together.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    N.A.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a state university, you actually receive the benefit of a private college at a state regulated price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many conferences that take place at the college which you can both attend and be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The college does not have on campus food service.

    Dorm Life

    The college is located in a business complex and does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classwork can be extremely difficult at times, but the one-on-one time you have with the professors help to spell out success. It is easy to customize a degree to fit what you truly desire to do in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Empire State College is designed for the student who is accustomed to balancing work, school and home. Thought it is designed with this in mind, it is not for the weak, underdeveoloped or non-focused student. You should be prepared to work harder than you may have ever worked but know that the ultimate reward and sense of accomplishment is amazing!

    In three sentences

    Suny Empire State College has singlehandedly changed the way adults attend college. You feel as though you matter to the faculty and your success effects them on a deeper, more personal level. Though it isn't an easy ride, it is one that I do not regret taking and value my education here more than anywhere.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    seems fine, primarily work from home.

    Great for these types of students

    independent workers/thinkers. full time workers.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the $, especially of your looking for non-traditional school.

    What to do for fun

    clubs and associations

    Food and Dining

    none, except for local nyc fare.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses become tough if you fall behind, just like in other colleges; except here, you probably didn't hear a lecture as its primarily independant study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to review other schools' curriculums to have an understanding of your intended majors requirements. Be prepared to go at it alone, it is very much an independant thinker's/worker's world in here.

    In three sentences

    College is for self starters. It is an ideal choice for full time worker. You can customize your degree to study exactly what you want.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I pay about 3,000 dollars a semester so in the grand sceme of things this is an awesome price.

    What to do for fun

    Take more classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are college classes. so some of them can be tough, but just what anyone would expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school the online learning is excellant, just make sure that you manage your time appropriately.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college. The online learning is excellant and allows you to work on your time. I am ery impressed with this college.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    great

    Great for these types of students

    All students of all ages, creed and color

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    downtown brooklyn location awesome

    Bang for the buck

    fair tuition

    What to do for fun

    great study hall with computers

    Food and Dining

    excellent reception spreads

    Dorm Life

    not at the brooklyn campus

    Tips for prospective students

    the college is challenging and rewarding

    In three sentences

    an awesome college, the mentors in brooklyn are amazing

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    None experienced

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student activities

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, international students, full-time employees returning to school, self-disciplined students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    My experience here is much better than 5 years on campus at another SUNY school.

    What to do for fun

    There are several student activities and alumni activities available, but you do have to reach out to participate. You can do most of your studies online if you choose, therefore, you can remain connected to your current living/social situation.

    Food and Dining

    Like the dorms, you're on your own.

    Dorm Life

    You live in your own home/apartment. Dorms not available

    Academic Rigor

    Since studies are mainly self-driven, you truly get out of it what you put into it. You really can schedule your homework and mentor meetings to work with a full-time job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to plan your studies carefully. The variety of studies and mentors in the profession are plentiful and make for excellent networking opportunities.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Empire State College is the perfect school for any working student. The program of study is designed to be applied immediately to your work life. Courses are mentor-led, not lecture-hall style.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk with a mentor before enrolling- they are knowledgeable and realistic.

    In three sentences

    Best Choice for Online Education. Supportive Staff Active Student Body

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online courses are helpful to people who cannot relocate to attend a college or university, employed people and students enrolled at more than one college or university.

    Bang for the buck

    Online courses are less expensive at Community Colleges, but ESC offers some courses not found anywhere else online.

    Academic Rigor

    Pay close attention to when the course begins and ends prior to registration. It is only one indication as to the pace of the course. Look for a course syllabus if you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    ANGEL courses require you to work independently within the time frames given. Online courses are not 'easier' to take based on their content. They can be easier to fit into your schedule though. Already having strong time management skills and attention to detail is preferable.

    In three sentences

    Empire State College offers an ANGEL undergraduate course that is a pre-requisite for a Masters program that I would like to enter. ANGEL is a flexible way to continue your education and not drastically disrupt the rest of your life. Empire has a wide variety of courses to choose from.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for the education.

    What to do for fun

    Homework!

    Food and Dining

    There are only snack machines but they did offer subs in orientation.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but not discouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard!

    In three sentences

    A+ Great college.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a lot of other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    I live at home and do not go on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I live at home and do not go on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research which degree best fits you. Check out other programs that offer the same program to make sure empire is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Empire is a great college for someone who is working full time. You can use work experience as school credits. There are many different courses to choose from.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great school with wonderful mentors. Instructors give great feedback.

    In three sentences

    I feel the college is offering what I need to achieve my goals. I really enjoyed the mandatory Finaliziang and Planning Your degree course. I really learned a lot about myself and the college I am attending.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AWESOME.

    Clubs and Activities

    SEVERAL CLUBS TO JOIN!

    Great for these types of students

    Adults

    Bang for the buck

    You def get a bang for your buck if you are requesting Prior Learning credits. You will not have to take predetermined course track. you will be allowed to create your own and challenge whatever classes you feel fits your work history. Be advised though this is hard work (not an easy A)!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities for students through the college. Keep an eye on the announcements and invites.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a rigorous program due to the fact that YOU are the pilot! Time management is essential for all working adults. Teachers are helpful for the most part but there are some slackers.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be an active member of this process. I send several emails to stay updated on my Prior Learning Assessment process (college credits for work experience). At times it was frustrating because the process is SLOW but in the end it all paid off with several college credits for my work experience.

    In three sentences

    ESC is a great college is you are determined to attain your degree. Truly a great college for adults with work or life experience in the field of their study. Work and LIfe experience will help you challenge some courses and get college credits for your knowledge and experience!

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are no dining options on this campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging. Great conversations and work that focus on critical thinking skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded about what you want to do and don't feel the need to rush any decisions about majors. They assist you in developing a great plan for your degree so be sure to take your time and always speak to your mentor about any reservations, concerns, ideas or thoughts you may have about your degree and academic progress.

    In three sentences

    It is a great institution for those who have active lives and are looking to complete their education. They provide a lot of great support and have great resources. Empire State College cares about helping students reach their goals.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would be able to give information about the safety of the campus as I am taking courses online.

    Greek Life

    I'm still learning of the greek life that the college offers.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm still learning of the clubs and activities that the college is offering.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY - Empire State College is great for adult students that are pressed for time and cannot be in a traditional classroom setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since this will be my first semester and I will be taking courses online, I wouldn't know of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to private college in New York State, SUNY Empire State is very affordable. You get quality education for an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    I take photos for fun and have entered a few competitions. I also like to travel when time permits.

    Food and Dining

    I'm unable to give food and dining experiences as I live off-campus and take courses online.

    Dorm Life

    I'm unable to give the dorm life experience as I live off-campus and take courses online.

    Academic Rigor

    I will be starting courses this month, so I am unable to give information on my experience or academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    SUNY - Empire State College is a college that allows the flexibility for a student to choose a degree plan that works for them. A student doesn't have to have a specific major, but one that suits their goals and career endeavors. It was helpful to meet with my assigned mentor to outline my degree plan as it helped me see where my progress as long as I stayed on my course schedule.

    In three sentences

    SUNY - Empire State College is a great school for adults who have little time to be in a traditional classroom setting due to busy lives. The programs are flexible and are set up so that one can create their degree plans that best fits the career they are looking to pursue. Before a degree plan is approved, your assigned mentor will go through it with each student to make sure the courses are congruent to what field of study the student is pursuing.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Local, rather safe location.

    Great for these types of students

    Do-it-yourself type of students for sure!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None observed- All work is self-guided-

    Bang for the buck

    Certainly worth it, relative SUNY cost.

    What to do for fun

    The College lets you go to other local colleges & use their facilities. Great benefit!

    Academic Rigor

    Great for a student who wants to manage their degree on their own & have support when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot of the work for yourself! Do not expect the mentor's & staff to keep up with you. They are great at helping if there is a problem, I like that they use email heavily over calling me.

    In three sentences

    ESC is skilled at processing a student through careful steps, I enjoyed meeting multiple college representatives. I liked that they were prepared to meet me for the first time, my mentor had already reviewed my transcript & prepared most of the documents for me. A great part of ESC is that you have a choice in studies. You are not forced to take a single study with no alternatives.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    The expectations are set by yourself. The professors are very supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen and take notes

    In three sentences

    The staff is very supportive and flexible.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is really great for distance learning students like myself. If you live in New York State, there are many different sub-offices for the school so that no matter where you live, you're near a branch. This makes it very convenient to work with mentors when you need the human element brought in. It's also great for students who want to fine tune a degree to the career of their choice in that you're able to design you're own degree program to your specifications.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges and universities, I'd say you get quite a big bang for your buck. The school isn't so incredibly expensive that you can't pay for at least most of it with grants and scholarships. The education gained from the school is high quality and could hold its own against any other college or university. I believe you get an excellent education for a fraction of what you'd pay at a more costly college or university.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure what there is to do for fun around campus as I'm a distance learning student and don't live on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I'm a distance learning student, so food and dining don't apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    I'm currently a distance learning student, so dorm life doesn't apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    As with many colleges, some courses seem to be more rigorous and challenging than others. The course topics that I was skilled at came to me easily. Those that I wasn't as skilled at were more challenging. It's up to the individual, the courses they take, the program they're in, and their willingness to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tips for students who want to pursue an education through SUNY Empire are: Be disciplined in your studies - Most of the courses are online and staying on task can be challenging when you're faced with all of the distractions of the internet mingling with school work. Be diligent in your studies - As with all colleges, staying on top of your studies and working hard are what'll help you through each semester. Work with your mentor - They know many of the ins and outs of their school and they want to help you succeed so heed their advice and wisdom.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Empire State is a great college for those who want a wide selection of courses they can take online. They're also a great school for those who've gone to a SUNY 2 yr school and want to continue their education for a 4 yr degree. They also have a wonderful program in which you can design your own degree program to fit exactly the career you're aiming for upon graduation.