Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

SUNY Institute of Technology at Utica-Romeā€¦ Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/28/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Small class sizes, more personal. Great dorm rooms.

    Will learn a lot

    Met with head of computer science dept. Brilliant approachable man.

  • 04/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, willing to try new things, open minded.

    Bang for the buck

    Small SUNY school that has almost all brand new facilities. They are pretty competitive and will provide a challenge.

    Will enjoy being here

    Seems like there are plenty of activities to do. Many new buildings.

    Will learn a lot

    It has a new nursing program, a partnership with st. elizabeths hospital.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is absolutely safe. There are security guards on duty from Morning to night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are almost 40 clubs in the school. And the best thing about clubs is that yo can start our own lub with minimum 8 people. Really Cool.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for every student especially those that are into computers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best place on campus is the Student center. And the field house which is our gym.

    What to do for fun

    During the week there are a lot of activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining room is not so wonderful; but at the Student Center you can get whatever you want to eat made and it is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely excellent. It is like a hotel form of living.

    Academic Rigor

    The student teacher ratio is 1:1. And the teachers and advisers all have office hours and if they don't you can always email them using your SUNY IT Email.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont worry.

    In three sentences

    The school to me is absolutely amazing, the students there are very friendly and if you don't drive you can always pool with someone. The dorms are also amazing, it is like being in a hotel only sharing a room with your roommate and that too can be interesting. The food in the Student Center is amazing, It will have you wanting more.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol the campus all of time. Very safe

    Greek Life

    I don't believe they have them on campus. I am not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports

    Great for these types of students

    The student who isn't aggressive and who would get lost in a large university.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education for the price

    What to do for fun

    Ski bus offered in winter, sports, gym open for different types of play, a lot of campus activities year round

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. My only comment about dining is the dining hall doesn't stay open long enough for students that are in night classes or play a sport. That was a little disappointing because if you were hungry you were out of luck since the dorms didn't have stoves.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms were very nice. I liked the community room and having 10 bedrooms all connected. It's a great way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNYIT prepares you well for getting a job during your college days and also after you graduate

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus ahead of time. Talk to advisers ahead of time. Get involved in school activities and sports.

    In three sentences

    SUNYIT is a small 4 year school, with all the benefits of a large school. you can get 1 on 1 help. You can live on campus or off campus and still be close. New lacrosse program on a brand new turf field! Yeah!

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want to work towards their goals. They have a great mix of online, hybrid, and lecture style classes. In the psychology program we have all three of those types of classes as well as classes that have us improve our writing skill and provide us with opportunities to do service based learning projects. I think that anyone who is willing to put in the time and effort will really enjoy SUNY IT.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for anyone majoring in a field of technology. Personally, I am a psychology major and have picked up quite a bit of education regarding technology and plan to use it in my daily life. I feel that this has given me a more rounded education.

    Bang for the buck

    The idea behind going to a SUNY school is that you definitely get a better price tag on your education. I believe that SUNY schools are a great option and provide the same education that the private schools offer. I gave this category 3 stars because they have not impressed me with the school scholarships. For returning students, there is only one scholarship available. I believe that there should be more merit-based scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a psychology student and have found that I enjoy our program because of the small class sizes and the interest that the professors take in their students' success. We have a great program to find jobs once a student graduates, and I have found very few complaints. However, there are always issues that all colleges have, such as professors that sometimes seem like they don't care, and terrible dining hall food. Both of these issues are being improved on and we have a new student center where the food is not only better, it is of enjoyable quality.

    Am learning a lot

    I believe that there are a lot of opportunities here. For almost all of the classes, I feel that it makes sense for me to take them. I feel that they are relevant to my degree. However, as with all colleges, there are classes that become disappointing or result in very little learned. This varies highly on an individual basis.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SUNYIT is an isolated campus in the middle of nowhere with very little to do on campus. Exploring the local clubs may seem fun at first, however it gets old and they're just not that great. The only way to have fun is to find someone who owns/rents a house.

    Food and Dining

    Be careful when selecting your meals, it could be your last. Seriously though, the food is hit or miss, and after one semester you won't be able to contain your excitement of eating a home-cooked meal. Stick to the grill, salad bar and sandwich cart, you have been warned.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cameras all round the campus, never had any issues personally but hear about stolen phone or other some items.

    Clubs and Activities

    many of the clubs are not motivated and have little to offer for the time you will put in them. most likely you will make a few friends but have nothing to show if you time schedule are not lines up to go to the meetings.

    Bang for the buck

    local area has many jobs that can help pay off loans, leaving you less time to worry about friends. many jobs you can find are related to the studies at the college. some of the teachers will leave you questioning unless your more of a self taught person.

    What to do for fun

    not hangout with people playing card game or video games. sadly leaves the only option for some... drinking. however there is a good pool hall in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    food is great, however currently cafeteria is small and crowded. college is changing this...

    Dorm Life

    again if your not a gamer or a card gamer friends are harder to find. people don't leave their room other than to get free stuff during events or to place at game events(not sports related). you have a good chance of having a double size dorm to yourself since must transfer after a semester or not showing up.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers are fair, some don't care and most are on another planet.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're a gamer or a card gamer you'll fit in. if your someone who is looking for fun not included in this look else where. not many girls and few places to met friends.

    In three sentences

    awesome school, with a lot of opportunity. currently expanding a lot and shows promise in growth. small campus with great dorm views at high price.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention early on in classrooms. Don't forget to have a little fun, and not stress out too bad.

    In three sentences

    Very comfortable setting. Professors are encouraging and fun. There are many activities to do nearby.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers lots of activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!

    In three sentences

    I think the school is very organized and the professors are excellent!

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are less focused on the social aspect.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities in SUNY IT.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the best. Food is a bit overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm, nor have I stepped foot in one.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, the classes are quite interesting and diverse. I really enjoyed taking some of the unique courses that are offered in the psychology field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to do well at this school, it is imperative that you push yourself to become involved. There is not much direction, at least from my experience. You are on your own for the most part.

    In three sentences

    SUNY IT has a very diverse staff. I have found it somewhat difficult to make close friends at SUNY IT. The organizations and clubs at SUNY IT have raised a large amount of money to benefit the local community.