Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY Maritime College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for those seeking adventure on the seas, New York City opportunities for culture and a sense of belonging to a small college group.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is limited enrollment so don't wait to make up your mind about attending SUNY Maritime College.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Maritime College has reasonable tuition in today's college market, especially for State of New York students. Lots of tuition assistance available for the military minded.

    Will enjoy being here

    This is a beautiful campus on the Hudson River near New York City. Summers traveling the world on the school ship.

    Will learn a lot

    I will receive a B.S. degree in Maritime Transportation, a license to pilot the large ships and a commission in the USMC on graduation.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are very strict on who comes onto campus. the naval reserve center is also located at the entrance of campus.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at maritime.

    Clubs and Activities

    sailing is a great team or club to be on. we have a great football team, lacrosse, and basketball teams as well.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes, students looking for a change, students looking to join the service one day, students who want to work with or on boats.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the regiment is unique to maritime. maritime is a coast guard school, so it prepares you for the services if you choose to go that path.

    Bang for the buck

    job placement is almost guaranteed if you graduate from maritime. so in our economy, it is well worth it to get a degree from maritime. also, if you go on summer sea term, you get to travel all over the world with your friends.

    What to do for fun

    maritime is very close to new york city, and other colleges. so day trips are very easy to go and have some fun. otherwise, we have a very nice gym facility where you will find many of the current students.

    Food and Dining

    chartwells, maritime's food provider is not outstanding, but there are many choices to pick from to find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    there is not much going on in the dorms, because maritime has a strict dry campus policy, which is strongly enforced. however, you will make life long friends, which is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at maritime are no joke. they are challenging and make you have to put in a lot of effort and hard work to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    maritime will not give you the average college experience. there is no parties, or greek life. the regiment will however, give you a unique experience that you will not get many other places. also, job placement after graduation is almost guaranteed. it is worth it if you are willing to put in a lot of work.

    In three sentences

    suny maritime college is not the average college experience. it is very challenging, and will make you work hard for your degree. however, when you excel in a class, you will feel very rewarded, and maritime has very good job placement after graduation.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent return on investment.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is less than an hour from Manhattan, so anything you want to do is available.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is not the best, but the staff is nice.

    Dorm Life

    Students are varied and interesting, and campus is close to the city. Not much happening on campus most of the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The STCW classes are a bit on the challenging side of the average college curriculum, but most classes are not devastatingly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for a very structured lifestyle if you join the Regiment of Cadets.

    In three sentences

    There are numerous opportunities for students to take advantage of on and off campus. The school is for individuals who have a very good idea of what they want to do in the future. Also, graduates are benefit from an enormous alumni base and most are employed soon after they finish.

  • 01/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working Motivated Very dedicated Honest Athletic love a challenge Interested in the maritime industry

    Tips for prospective students

    Best thing for future students: 1. Do your research don't just read reviews on the school and make your final decision. Research it, look up curriculum's, visit the school, shadow the school for a day. Find all the info you can to make sure you know what you are getting into. About 30% of the freshman students drop out of the school simply because they saw on the website that theres 100% job placement for graduates, but they had no idea what they were getting into. Don't be in that 30% do yourself and the school a favor. I would be happy to give you info email me devonken.10@sunymaritime.edu or look me up on facebook: devon kennedy. 2. If you feel like its the right school for you then get in shape! Your life will be breeze compared to everyone else if you a physically fit. 3. You cannot be a lazy person. If you are lazy chances are your also unmotivated to succeed in life don't bother applying if you are not motivated and hard working because you will fail out. 4. Finally! Be excited to attend Maritime. So many students are very negative and hateful towards the school and you don't only bring yourself down and turn into a drop out student you bring everyone else down. If your excited about college you'll be a happier and more successful person.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Maritime is pretty fare for the most part with everything you end up getting. There are a lot of things that can be pricey which is expected at most colleges i would say its a good deal overall.

    Am enjoying being here

    Maritime college is far different from your typical party school university. It is a regimental school which means you live a military lifestyle during the week. I would say overall, as a student, its a more intense schedule and it takes getting use to. Personally after the first month I got very comfortable with my schedule and daily life at Maritime. You'll find all the regular stress of college, but yes for the most part i do enjoy being at Maritime college.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a current freshman at Maritime College and recently finished my first semester. I feel like so far i have learned more than the average college. When I returned home for Christmas break i shared the things i have learned and experienced and a lot of my experiences blew other people away. My friends have told me I make them feel like they have hardly done anything compared to what I have told them. If you want a very unique, special, and challenging college experiences that will put you through things you never expected to accomplish them Maritime is the right college for you.

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am no pro at college reviews, but I hope mine has helped you in deciding to come to Maritime. This review is completely honest and truthful. If it has helped you, then I'm glad. If not, my apologizes. If you do plan on coming here, get involved in what Maritime offers. Accept any offers they might give you, including an invite to the Admiral's Dinner, etc. These events have great networking and you will truly benefit from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to come here, make sure it's what you want to do. You have to be willing to give up a normal college life Monday through Friday. If you can do that, then you are set. It is a great place to be from, and everyone knows Maritime College. The alumni are great and will provide you with anything you need. The uniforms and the military life-style take some getting used to, but in my own opinion, I think it is worth it. The summer sea terms are a lot of work but it prepares you for the real life of a Coast Guard Officer. Seeing the world is a great opportunity and you will have so much fun in foreign ports. I promise! Our ROTC programs are top of the nation, and our sports team have great coaches. You will truly build your own family at Maritime, one that others will not expect. They will not be going through what you are, but it will be worth it in the end.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not graduated Maritime yet, so I personally can not speak for myself. However, I have friends that graduated and from what I've heard, what they tell you is true! You will be graduating with USCG license, a major, and maybe even a minor. You will be taken for a job over a civilian who is applying because you have a structured background. One of my friends just graduated in May and he was hired by MSC (Military Sealift Command); his starting salary is $110,000 per year, plus Navy commission, and he is only 21 years old.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is not a normal college. I do not know what a normal college night is because I do go to Maritime. I am a girl here, one of 26 in my class, and it is not easy. This is not an easy school by any means! But do not let it discourage you. The first year here being a freshman is the hardest! You will not enjoy it, but you will learn from it and appreciate it later on. Your days will be occupied by PT-ing at 0500, followed by breakfast, room inspections, formation, classes, regimental activity, dinner, mandatory study hours, and TAPS. This will be difficult but it will provide you with a structured life that will help you later on in the work field. On another note, the summer sea terms that are required for all USCG licensed cadets will be awesome! You will explore different countries, different people, and a different way of life. For anyone planning to ship out, or even if you just love the water, this is a great experience!

    Am learning a lot

    When I look at this open box, I am trying to think about how I can even begin to tell you what I've learned at Maritime so far. I am entering my junior year here at the military-lifestyle college. To begin, I guess I should start with the people here at Maritime. The people and the friendships that I have come across have been like nothing I have ever experienced. The boys here are one of a kind, and they will have your back from the very first day of indoc until the day you die. You are forced to be with one another, whether it be on land or in the middle of the ocean, and for some reason it creates a bond. I have learned so much with these friendships alone, I cannot even begin to explain it. You learn respect, tough love, kindness, appreciation, laughter, and how to have one hand for a shipmate. As far as the experience part; Maritime has shown me the world. I have been here for only two years, yet I have seen places no one has even heard of. I have been to Newfoundland, France, Malta, Ireland, Russia, Denmark, Latvia, and Poland. I have seen Spain, Africa, Gibraltar, the Azores, Sweden, Scotland, Sicily, Italy, Canada, and England. I have learned about different people and their cultures. I have learned more about ship life then I can even begin to describe in this tiny box. I have learned about the maritime industry, international trade, the weather, the ocean, the maritime business, our military, how to fight fires, how to save lives, how to launch life boats, how to drive a ship that is 600 ft long, how to tie a million different knots, how to wear a uniform the correct way, how to keep my rack tight enough so a quarter can bounce off of it, and so much more. Maritime is truly one of a kind college and you will come out with so much experience; in friendships, in the working industry, and just in life in general.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Zero

    Great for these types of students

    Military oriented or very mature and responsible students who are willing to work hard early for a very unique and fulfilling life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Revolutionary war fort on campus, 185+ years of tradition. This college is unlike any other in the country.

    Bang for the buck

    $65,000 low end salaries for all regiment deck license graduates with >75% job placement, %70,000 low end salaries for engineering license graduates with 100% job placement

    What to do for fun

    Study, sports and Summer Sea Term

    Food and Dining

    Certainly not the greatest food in the world, but better than many.

    Dorm Life

    Regimented system

    Academic Rigor

    your lowest credit load will be 18 credits a semester if you wish to graduate in four years,

    Tips for prospective students

    Fully understand the school, its history and its opportunities before applying.

    In three sentences

    A great opportunity IF you are willing to buckle down. This school offers a regimented system which enables students to sit for the U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mainer Licensing Exam. Positive atmosphere may be lacking, but the light at the end of the tunnel is very bright

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    really safety. the best

    Greek Life

    no really

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, athletics,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I spend most of the time in the library, classrooms, and gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok, and dining to

    Dorm Life

    Nice people around always

    Academic Rigor

    It is a lot of effort students have to put on it but it is worthy.

    Tips for prospective students

    They will have to like the life over seas or working in the Maritime industry

    In three sentences

    One of the best school ever

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Can go to the gym, swimming, Can go for a run, many school clubs available.

    Food and Dining

    Is very delightfull, have many options to choose.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great and very comftable place too live.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic is great, many great professors are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work really had, always ask questions, and don't be shy and be confident in every aspect you do.

    In three sentences

    Suny Maritime College is a school that would teach how to be professional in the future. Teach you many aspect of life, like comunication skills, learn how to manage your time, and teach you how to become more confident in general.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Very close to the Manhattan. Walk to the express bus to NYC, museums, cultural sites. Bus ride to the Bronx Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Yankee stadium, or Citifield and Beaches.

    Food and Dining

    Actually the food is the best out of the 2 other colleges I attended. Tastes like someone actually making fresh food daily

    Dorm Life

    Dorms could use an upgrade, paint job, new furniture

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, not for the student who just does enough to get by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the bare minimum as far as living arrangements. Don't bring alot of clothes if regimental student not necessary mostly wear uniforms. Even though may have to do a little more physical activity well worth being regimental student. Look into it really worth it for the licenses you get.

    In three sentences

    Maritime has a challenging curriculum for the engineering student. It provides a realistic hands on education for the real world with experienced engineers. Beautiful setting on the long island sound.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are surrounded on water by three sides. We have a Fort that is used as a state fall out shelter. It is a military school so everyone is somewhat inclined to defend themselves. We feature a police department on campus. Not to mention there is a Navy Base on out campus as well. Seeing marines running around with gas mask and m16's is not unusual.

    Greek Life

    The regiment is the only Greek life around. We feature no sororities or frats. But we (the regiment) are a close knit student body closer than any frat or sorority.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several traditions that are 100 percent exclusive to our campus. They range from amazing ceremonies to everyday life. But you will only find out about them if you attend. We have a fort on campus. It was made in 1856 and features 10ft thick solid granite walls and an amazing view. We also have the Empire State docked at our shore side. A 565ft long ship used for our SST.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do. We have just about every sport you can think of. Not to mention there is a club for everything. And if you can't find a club for something it only takes 5 people to make one. And if your a MUG, you will have plenty of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is moderate at best, however we are getting a new company this year so I can not tell you what the future food will be like.

    Dorm Life

    Your first year you are a MUG. (Midshipmen Under Guidance) You are nothing more than that. You are allowed a computer, a lamp, a printer, and an alarm clock on your desk. You can not bring any furniture or decorations. Everything is placed where they tell you. You can not leave during the week. It gets way better in the following years.

    Academic Rigor

    A normal college student has around 15 credits a semester, we average around 18-20 a semester. Our classes are hard but rewarding. And there are only a few colleges around that allow you to do what you can do in Maritime classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to have an interest in what your doing, and work hard to get it. Most people do not graduate in four years, this is a challenging school. And be prepared to give up partying for major studying.

    In three sentences

    It is a crappy place to be, but it is a GREAT place to be from. If you complain a lot and don't put effort into things its not the college for you. If you are a hard worker and can handle a lot of responsibility, give it a shot. It really is a good college.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has a pretty good safety record.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are looking to become merchant mariners and those who can deal with the highly disciplined regimental environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful in the summer, early fall, and late spring. Unfortunately through most of the academic year it's cold rainy and windy. As a Military Academy the school has a lot of unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    If you graduate as a Licensed Merchant Marine Officer, you will enjoy the best starting salaries in the nation. Its also a state school so the cost of attendance is the same as any other SUNY School.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and athletics are pretty good. If you have initiative it's fairly easy to organise a new club on your own and Student Life will help you with funding it. On the weekends you can go into the city for any type of entertainment you could want.

    Food and Dining

    As a senior I can note that it has improved, albeit extremely slowly, over the years. Compared to other schools I've visited though, the quality of the food is pretty bad.

    Dorm Life

    If you are a non-regimental student you won't enjoy this type of environment compared to a normal college. If you are a regimental student your quality of life will be significantly lower than what you would have at a normal school. However if you are dedicated to persuing a Merchant Marine License, you should be willing to put up with the militarized lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    I only rated it three stars because it truly is mixed. The school is easy to get in to and the lower level courses are easy. Upper level courses and actualy graduating can be difficult. The USCG License Exam is a set of 7, three hour exams. Some of which you need a 90% competency on. You need this to graduate, and if you are perusing a non-license major I don't know why you would choose Maritime over a more traditional College or University.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should only attend if your goal is to be a Merchant Marine Officer. If you are willing to put up with some of the negatives of this school to achieve your goal you will do fine. Otherwise you should seriously consider another school where you might get a better education and have alot more fun.

    In three sentences

    A bad school to attend. A great school to have attended. Still the best State Maritime Academy.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

    In three sentences

    Very good school for engineering. Everything is hands on and I wouldn't find any other way to learn better. You can also go abroad during the summer on summer sea term.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. It's on a peninsula with 24/7 security and police.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs available though not fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious Committed Well-balanced

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Regimental life is just what it says - regimental! Be prepared.

    Bang for the buck

    Ranked amongst the best schools for highest paid graduates in the US

    What to do for fun

    Go to the city on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Always available and selection is actually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Warm and adequate rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Vigorous academic schedule but lots of help available.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a traditional college. Not a party school so be prepared to work and work hard.

    In three sentences

    College has a very good academic program. It's strict and teaches discipline in every aspect of life. Good college all around.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Armed guards at the front gate and only one road in and out of campus with vehicle searches conducted after sunset.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    One of the saving graces on campus is to join a club or a sports team.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for no one really, but everyone just has to put their head down and carry on with it until they are done with their 4 years here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Used to be lots of fun crazy traditions on campus but the new school president has successfully squashed all of them out.

    Bang for the buck

    Student accounts is a thorn in everyone's side here. Many peoples accounts get unexplained charges put on them. And the system the school uses won't allow the employees to show the students where their money has gone.

    What to do for fun

    Mostly everybody leaves campus on friday as soon as they can since about 90% of the school lives on LI. Pretty much the most fun thing to do is leave campus.

    Food and Dining

    The mess deck was redone last year and the food quality has improved since last year but still the quality of food is lack luster.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is bad no overnight guests not even on weekends. Even if they are family they can not stay here. The windows are in pretty bad condition so the rooms become very cold in the winter months.

    Academic Rigor

    The credit load here is unlike any other college. But the classes that pertain to your major are very interesting and you will use for the rest of your career is you sail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you really want to attend school here, and make sure you do your homework on your visit and talk to current students.

    In three sentences

    This school can be misleading with pertinent information. The curriculum can be frustrating with what is assigned as necessary to be taken compared to what is actually going to be used.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and extra-curricula activities.

    Food and Dining

    If has its good and bad days.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet, so if you like to party, do not come here.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are getting into.

    In three sentences

    A great experience both in and out of the classroom. Professors are very helpful and patient. I am very happy to be attending.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    AWESOME

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous Excellent Oriented Sports and Gym, even body building Fun and games Disciplined and Ethics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cultural Club meeting, and dinner, where every culture is welcomed and celebrated

    What to do for fun

    Games, competition, outtings, Club events, sports, Gym, campus volunteering and work

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Prepared for the best!

    In three sentences

    leadership, excellent and commitment

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is horrible...enough said.

    Dorm Life

    90 % Go home to Long Island on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    Come here if you are willing to work hard and you don't mind not having a typical college experience. You will work hard, you will suffer, and you will have to put up with a some red tape. 4,5 years it will be worth it.