Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY at Fredonia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Fredonia is a unique example of an educational community. Not only does the school value learning, observing, and innovation, but the people found at SUNY Fredonia clearly possess a compassion for their fellow men and women. During my first visit to Fredonia in the spring of my senior year of high school, my parents and I were spontaneously approached by a group of current students in Starbucks. They had recognized me from their class that I had observed earlier that morning, and on their own initiative, spent over two hours talking with my parents and me about how special SUNY Fredonia was. By the end of our conversation, I felt excited that I was lucky enough to have been accepted into such a caring, well-reputed, high-quality university. Never could I have imagined that my school could become my “second home” (in every sense of the phrase), and that the people I have interacted with over the course of only one year could truly become my “second family.” Perhaps people aren’t supposed to understand the quandary of who they are until they reach a point in their lives when they question everything and realize that there is no definite answer to this multifaceted existential inquiry. It is true that during my freshman year I have increased my skills in academics, acting, singing, dancing and leadership, but the most profound affect Fredonia has had on my life was encouraging me to find my own voice. As a returning student, I will use this voice to promote and embody Fredonia’s proud tradition of success!

    Am learning a lot

    Any attempt to discuss my inaugural year at Fredonia feels a bit overwhelming. There are so many things to say and memories to relive that it seems impossible for me to adequately convey how much Fredonia has come to mean to me, and how grateful I feel to have found a place where I am able to learn not only about academic topics and performances skills, but more significantly, about others and myself. Admittedly, my goals upon arriving at Fredonia consisted mainly of learning about my craft of Musical Theatre, and learning how to make my dream of having a long, fulfilling career as a performing artist a reality. I soon discovered, however, that college life would not be exclusively devoted to improving my knowledge and skills within my designated major. In fact, from the beginning of the Convocation ceremony, the freshmen class of 2012 was urged to become observers of the whole world: documentarians of what we saw, felt and explored. We were urged to recognize and become aware of our interrelatedness and connectedness, and told that limitless observation is necessary to facilitate conductive learning and growth not only for the duration of our college years, but for as long as we are productive, active citizens striving for a better comprehension of our society, goals, and personal identities. I knew at that moment, as I listened to these suggestions, that not only was I about to embark on a journey of exciting educational opportunities, but that I was about to uncover new and revolutionary ways to look at myself, my goals, and the people around me.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is best for music students with it's school of music. It's also very good for science and math majors. Both have amazing programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few well-known tips are to not skip class. Just because you have freedom from your parents now does not mean you should skip every other class to get an extra hour of sleep. If you need to do this frequently, go to bed earlier. Another tip is to keep up on all your work. Don't fall behind because catching up can be an issue and missing one assignment could be the difference between passing and failing.

    Bang for the buck

    Fredonia offers hundreds of courses to fit the interests of all their students. For the amount of money that you're paying, you get some of the best. The dorms are well taken care of as well as the campus itself. All the teachers are well taught on their individual classes and know the material well. They are always willing to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    SUNY Fredonia is considered perfect in regards to location for most students. It's not big city and it's not in the middle of no where. There are activities to do daily that are planned by many groups that are offered on campus. It's a very relaxing campus to be on.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers make themselves available for the students 24/7. If they aren't in their office, they are always reachable by e-mail or phone. They have flexible schedules so if you can't meet with them during their office hours then they schedule a time that's good for both the student and teacher.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like music or are music students. I am a science student and the balance I get here of arts and science is perfect. There's enough of everything. People who like cold and people who like small towns, as Fredonia is very small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like or can deal with cold weather. Be open, people here are willing to make new friends and you should not doubt that. This school is really friendly and a great place to live. I cannot imagine a better place to go to school. The small campus is also awesome as you don't have to worry about being lost in the crowd, and classes are really close!

    Bang for the buck

    A SUNY college is perfect for a bachelor's degree if you are planning on going on for higher education. You get the same education for a fourth of the cost. I highly recommend Fredonia for scientists, or others, who are going on to higher education. Also, in general the money pays off, as the tuition is really low and the teaching is great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here at Fredonia. The campus is very friendly and a great place to live. It is basically High School Musical, there are usually kids playing instruments in the Commons, and when the weather is nice it is common for there to be people singing. As this is seen as a music college a lot of the singers are quite good. The weather may be a problem for those who do not like the cold. I happen to love the cold so it's perfect for me.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a freshman and as such I have had a lot of introductory classes. This meaning that some of my more basic classes are quite easy. However, the more specific focused classes here are great. They teach you everything possible about the topic, the classes here are very content based. It is safe to say that Fredonia will give you an adequate education. For people with a strong background in science the mandatory introductory courses will be a little monotonous as they go over things that many people already know. From the introductory courses the classes get better and more focused.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. University police roam around throughout the night, and there are tall poles that you can press a button if you are in trouble, and a loud noise goes off along with a bright blue flashing light. University Police will come within minutes depending on where around campus you are. You should still, however be smart and never walk around alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a night at the beginning of each semester called activities night. This is when every club on campus sets up a booth in the lawn outside of Dod's (in the fall) or inside Dod's (in the spring), and gives people information about their club. There are so many clubs on campus, but if one doesn't fit your interest, and you want to start up another one, it is very simple, just go to Student Affairs, find an adviser, and a few people interested in joining, and you have your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who loves the outdoors would love it here. It is such an open campus, and there are trees and wildlife everywhere. Anyone who is majoring in education or music, this is an amazing college for both of them. Students that love the college atmosphere, but can still feel like they are at home should definitely put this at the top of their list.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best day on campus is the first warm day of the year. You see everyone outside wearing shorts and dresses, and in the middle of commons, there is a group of people playing music and a girl accompanying them with hula hoop dances. It is so lively, and it usually lasts until sundown. The most unusual location on campus is probably the physics department; it is located in the basement of Houghton hall, and is very creepy.

    Bang for the buck

    The education here is pretty solid, especially if you are a music or education major. It is a SUNY school, so it is cheaper than other schools, and the campus does offer a lot of amenities that others don't.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, it is a small town. Fredonia is known as a party school, and some of the students allow that to continue to hold true. Thursday through Saturday nights, campus is crowded with people going to and from parties. That being said, there are fun things to do on campus that doesn't involve partying; we have an ice rink, a full-size pool, a full gym, tennis courts, and there are so many clubs that you can join to keep yourself busy!

    Food and Dining

    There are three dining halls on campus: Erie, Cranston, and Willie C. Erie is a huge all-you-can-eat buffet-style hall that has every food you can imagine; and the mashed potatoes are to die for. Cranston is also all-you-can-eat, but it is a little different from Erie. They make the food for you, but they make it exactly the way you want it. They have a section for a main entree, a place to pick up chicken or salmon, a sandwich station, a salad station, a pasta station, and a fruit station. Willie C is the most expensive, just because it isn't something you pay for with one meal and you get whatever amount of food you want. You pay by the item, but they have a variety of different foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is great, especially if you really get to know people in your dorm. My suggestion would be to room with someone the first year that you don't know. It opens up an entirely new friendship circle. You come to know it as your own little home, especially if you decorate it as such.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, and which professors you have, the rigor varies. Some teachers have classes where your grade is based on four exams only, those are the classes that are more difficult, especially if you are not a great test-taker. Other classes, however, you are required to do more work, but if you don't do so well on a test, your grade doesn't plummet. Work hard, and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming students, make sure your study habits are up to par. Although most teachers here are very understanding of incoming freshman, that doesn't last long. You also have to learn to balance your study time with social time.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere around Fredonia is amazing. It is the kind of college that you can sit outside by a tree and read your book, or work on homework. Even the academic side of this school is great; the professors really help you, and you are able to create a great one-on-one relationship if that is what you wish.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are very few incidents that occur on campus, and the campus is well-lit and equipped with several emergency call-boxes. There is an on-campus police force, and we are also in reach of three other law-enforcement agencies, and minutes from a hospital.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of on campus clubs in all sorts of interest areas. There are several frats and sororities, as well as honor societies, service fraternities, and other smaller clubs. There really is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for music majors, education majors, and anyone looking for both a good education and a good time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well of course there is Maytum...the phantom, semi-circular building that was gutted for renovations and never completed. You will hear many a Maytum joke on this campus. There is a tower in the library used as a study area, which is really neat to hang out in if you need a quiet place or a place to meet up. And then...there is FredFest. The annual spring festival in which a famous musical guest is contracted to perform on campus. It is a huge party weekend, and always full of memories.

    Bang for the buck

    At Fredonia, you can get a great education at a low, state-school price. Although scholarships seem to be limited, the amount you would pay at a private school is completely outweighed by the value of Fredonia.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown! Fredonia is most definitely a college town. There are bars, coffee shops and hangouts all over town, and plenty of shopping options, including T.J. Maxx, JCPenney, the notorious Walmart, and several independently owned shops.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is excellent, although some is rather overpriced. But there are a lot of options for dining on campus, not to mention off-campus options.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus, so I have no opinion of dorm life here, but from what I've heard, most dorming experiences are good ones.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging--especially at the 300 and 400 level, but no so much so that you are guaranteed to fail. The professors are always willing to help, as long as you are willing to put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early! Scholarships are awarded based on supposed financial aid eligibility, and go on a first come, first serve basis. Be outgoing! Try new things and get involved-it makes your college experience much more exciting, and everyone here is friendly.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia is vibrant and beautiful. The professors here are dedicated and caring, the student body is welcoming and accepting, and the academics are challenging without being impossible. Fredonia is a fantastic educational value.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, Inspired, Social, Exciting, Friendly

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a prospective music student, you need to know that you're in for a lot of hard work. People look at music majors as lazy or less of students sometimes, but the truth is it's a lot of work. Practice time, bookwork time (especially sophomore year, because core classes, music classes, and major-specific classes are going all at once), and social time all need to be balanced really carefully. But you can do it. Strive to do your best and MAKE SURE YOU HAVE COFFEE and/or 5-HOUR ENERGY!!

    Am enjoying being here

    The academic and musical life at Fredonia is fantastic. I get so many opportunities to perform and grow in the exact field I want to grow in. The social life is fantastic as well. It's a smaller community but not too small. There is a good balance of places to go off-campus that the shuttle bus will take you to: Wal-Mart, TJMaxx, Topps, Rite-Aid, liquor stores, game stores, tanning beds, almost anything. It's very broad. The area is beautiful in the spring and fall, and in the winter there is plenty of snow to be had.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a piano performance major in SUNY Fredonia's School of Music. I have learned so much about music, myself, performance, and being an all around better person and musician. Not only have I grown as a pianist because of the great piano staff, but I have learned so much from the other professors as well. I even learn from my fellow music majors. We're all from different areas, backgrounds, and have different interests that steer away from music. However we still have the bond of music and so we learn from each other really well.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here! Also definitely visit the campus. It is a superb small school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students, faculty, and staff are all friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot in every class.

  • 10/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to take a break from the city and want to come and just study, as in just here for their education. This is also a very pro LGBT(lesbian, gay, bisexual & transgender) school and enviornment. You will be accepted anywhere you you will find a place to fit it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your applications early and call to make sure everything is in tip top order. When moving in or buying supplies try to think of every single minor details. As in random things that you would need but would not think of bringing. Just bring it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. I am involved with a couple of groups on campus and I am enjoy it so much. It is so different from the city but in a good way because it seems much more peaceful then the city. It is good learning enviroment. There are literally groups for anything and everything availiable at this campus. Anything you might think of is here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am enjoying my Core classes, which are classes you need to take to graduate. It's good because you can take whatever classes you want. It is not mandatory to take any particular class as long as you fulfill your ccc's.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a big music school so if your into that stuff you will love it here! the campus has an artsy feel to it and if you love being outdoors you'll love the campus! its so open and trees everywhere!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the learning center! It may be intimidating at first to go ask for help but the touters are more than helpful and very friendly!

    Am enjoying being here

    The Campus is very welcoming and the people are very friendly! There is a lot to do within the community and they are always finding ways to involve the students!

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty is very helpful, and the learning facilities are more than helpful.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on patrol. They ensure that you will be safe while you are at Fredonia, and there are cameras, lighting fixtures and emergency phones every fifty feet around the whole campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about Greek like really.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just like any other school, Fredonia has so many clubs and activities that everyone will be able to find at least one to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Fredonia is great for really anyone. It has a home like atmosphere and I find Fredonia to be one of the most diverse schools that i have seen. Whether you are enjoy music, dance, athletics or keeping to yourself you will fit into Fredonia perfectly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only strange tradition that I know of at Fredonia is during finals week, everyone screams out of their dorm windows at midnight to relieve some stress.

    Bang for the buck

    Fredonia is very affordable. With tuition being very low for a four year school you will definitely get your moneys worth for your education.

    What to do for fun

    Fredonia has a lot to do on your free time, especially at night. Going downtown with your friends, going to the movies or bowling is always fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is average. They have a lot of variety and there are a few places you can choose from. They always have different types of meals, so you aren't going to be stuck eating the same thing every day if you don't want to.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so I don't know much about living in the dorms. All my friends seem to like it, and they all enjoy getting the full college experience by living on campus and making more friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are great. All my instructors so far have been amazing, and making friends to study with for exams is easy too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money now! You spend money like it is water when you are in college and I wish i would have saved up more to have for spending.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a great school, I am from the area but I love being on campus. The class sizes are perfect, especially the ones for your major. I would recommend SUNY Fredonia to anyone.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a lot to do for fun. most college students like to go downtown for the obvious drinking at bars and parties. however, on campus there are many clubs on the campus people can partake in. each club holds several events for students to check out. suny fredonia is a pretty big music school, so there are plenty of concerts that one can attend. in the residence halls, resident assistants do programs that can be entertaining and educational at the same time. i personally like to ice skate and do intramurals.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright. i wish there were more healthier options. there are three main dining halls. all of them have there separate pros and cons. the main issue i have with the dining halls is that only one of them is open until midnight. the other two which are more buffet style and have somewhat healthier food close too early and are not really open too long on the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    like any other campus, there are those few residents that are obnoxious, but otherwise it's a great experience. you learn quickly how to live in a community and to work with others you live with to make living a better place. the resident assistants do a good job most of the time making the dorm life an experience to remember by bringing positivity.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the classes here are good. all the ones i ahve taken for my major have been fun to take and have kept me interested. there are only a few classes i thought were pointless or much harder than they should be, but for the most part, the classes are good and challenging enough to force you to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready for a change because experiencing college for the first time is a real eye opener. you should learn responsibility for yourself and the ability to compromise.

    In three sentences

    the professors here take an interest in you and try to help you achieve. the atmosphere is also very friendly. it's not the largest campus, but i couldn't have asked for a better place to be.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is pretty big, so you can just hang out and mess around with friends. You can also go into town, where there are more options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fredonia > Anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a decent sized school that feels like its own town. The academic buildings are well equipped and the professors are friendly. Despite the construction currently going on, SUNY Fredonia has a beautiful campus with a lot to offer.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is the University Police. They take their job seriously as they are retired policemen. Last year there was a problem with people stealing things from others rooms so keep your doors locked.

    Greek Life

    Not very big....did not even know where the housing was until the end of my freshmen year.

    Clubs and Activities

    many...too many to even know them all

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing people ready to make friends

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the Naked Run when the track team runs through the library naked.

    Bang for the buck

    Starbucks is expensive so is the bookstore and c store. Use your points and meals as best you can.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and sports...usually many parties going on during the weekends. FredFEST at the end of the year. Also, with facebook pages you can get in touch with other classmates you wouldn't otherwise meet.

    Food and Dining

    Three main places on campus. Erie and Cranston are only open until 7:30 and Willy C. is open til midnight. There is also the convenience store and star bucks(on-campus).

    Dorm Life

    Many different options are available. Follow the rules or you can get into big trouble. RA's have many activities to meet new people and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be difficult if you do not do the work and take the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class...even if the professor doesn't take attendance. It will help you in the long run. Also if you're having trouble in class, go to the learning center and get help.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is lively during the days and nights. Friendly environment as soon as you walk onto the campus. Many great food places...Cranston is the best.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is monitored 24/7 by police.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so many clubs and activities, I can't even list them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking and care about their future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year Fredonia holds FredFest. It's where a band/singer comes and performs and everyone has a great time.

    What to do for fun

    Every Saturday Fredonia has different activities that students can partake in. There's always something to do.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is so much fun! You have your own independence and meet great people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and don't be scared. The first year is always the hardest but if you do your best you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia was one of my best decisions. The teachers really care that you succeed. I know the classes I take are going to carry with me during my career.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fredonia University Police is on site at all times. We have real Fredonia police, not fake campus cops. Also, theres blue lights stationed all over campus so incase of an emergency hit the button and all of the survalience cameras will focus on that spot and police will arive very fast.

    Greek Life

    Delta Phi Epsilon, Sigma Kappa, Sigma Gamma Phi are the sorities and Delta Chi, Sigma Phi Epsilon are the fraternitys. Definetely consider joining one.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much to do! If you join one, you'll never get bored

    Great for these types of students

    anybody!

    Bang for the buck

    Definately worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Play a sport, join a fraternity or sorority, or join a club. There's a club for everybody on campus and when Activites night rolls around, come check it out. Its when all the organizations on campus set up a table about themselves and make sign up sheets for everyone to join.

    Food and Dining

    3 dining halls and cafe's in pretty much every academic building. Willy C (williams center) has fast food such as mozzerella sticks, pizza, chicken fingers, tacos, and a sub bar! Cranston has the best food, and an ice cream bar. They have fresh cooked steak, the best pizza, and great homecooked meals. My favorite is the pasta station. Also, theres Erie has a really good salad bar and such good breakfast on weekends. Erie is a buffet style dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is a lot of fun, a suite has 5 rooms in a hallway connected off another hallway. Theres kitchen suites too, where each suite, has their own kitchen. There's also coridor style, but there is only 1 upper classman coridor style which is hard to get into. Coridor has bigger rooms but suites are nice too

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus! come to an open house or if you know somebody that goes to Fredonia, contact them and experience it yourself.

    In three sentences

    It's a lot of fun! There are so many things to do, and WHOA (weekend hangout activies) puts on activites every Saturday night. The class sizes are perfect too.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police located on campus and constantly patrolling, Very quick response time.

    Greek Life

    Not any huge greek life, but there are several groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone, from lego club to disney club to MMA to Black Student Union.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like The Arts. Many free shows, or low cost. Several acapella groups including all male/ all female options. Plenty of intramural or club sports. A very LGBT safe community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Naked Mile: Track Team runs naked through the library during finals week with their body painted. Pink The Rink: An annual hockey game where the players wear pink jerseys, all proceeds go to breast cancer. Jerseys are dedicated after the game.

    Bang for the buck

    Love every minute I've spent at SUNY Fredonia

    Food and Dining

    3 Main dinning halls,(Cranston, Erie and Centre Point) plus an additional cafe in each of the academic buildings and Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Suite styles and Corridor styles are both the same price, with an option for upperclassmen to live in a dorm with A/C and only share a bathroom amongst 4 people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers early. Know how to manage your time in Starbucks

    In three sentences

    Excellent Community to live in. A safe environment with teachers who want you to succeed. Small class sizes for most majors allow very intimate learning.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never not felt safe on campus, but be smart and don't walk alone at night. In the past year I have heard of one incident happen.

    Greek Life

    Not a big thing on campus but it is there. We have fraternities and sororities, but there aren't houses for them. Although many of the sisters and brothers room together or get apartments together in smaller groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    In my first year I went to meetings for roughly 6 groups whether it was once to check it out or regularly. I am currently part of 4 groups or organizations: NAfME(Music Education), Music Therapy Club, and Fredonia for St. Jude, and Sigma Alpha Iota(A music fraternity for women).

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, artsy, musical, science, education, pretty much anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cheesy Friday

    What to do for fun

    Theres something happening every night. Club meetings, you can walk down town, hockey games, soccer games, other sports games, swim meets, you can swim in the pool during certain hours, drive to Lake Erie, walk to ice cream at the big dipper, hang out by commons, if you can't find something then you're not looking hard enough.

    Food and Dining

    I miss campus food during breaks and the summer! Cheesy Fridays, pizza, sushi, wraps,...

    Dorm Life

    Awesome!! You get to know people in your hallway and in your building, especially freshman year when it is encouraged by meetings and activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers grade fairly and expect you to do your best. They are always willing to help and there are also tutors you can go to in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors and get to know them, especially if the class is one for your major. Join as many clubs as you can handle and meet as many people as you can. Don't be afraid to ask anyone for help.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a place where all of the students want summer to end so we can go back despite all the work that we have to do then. The class sizes are small except for freshman lectures and some other classes and the professors are friendly and welcoming. The campus is beautiful and on hot days people are always outside playing instruments, dancing, relaxing, bike riding, or skateboarding.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. We have police on campus all the time for students in need. Only students who live in the dorm buildings can enter because all dorms are entry by card access only. Guest policies at dorms are very safe and clear. Campus is well lit at night and all buildings are very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life at Fredonia and there are a variety of Fraternities/Sororities, all have different goals and offer things to their members. Those interested are welcome to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activites. Anyone can find something to be involved in, clubs plan and offer lots of events on campus. You don't have to have experience to join, many people just join a club to try something new!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone with the desire to learn and do well. There are many resources to help students and professors are always flexible with office hours. I think anyone will do well at Fredonia if they want to get an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hanging of the greens is a holiday party that happens every year. There is music and holiday activities and crafts to do. During Halloween there is Terror in the Trees, a trail in the woods turned into a spooky Halloween trail designed to scare students who want to attempt walking it. Fred Fest is the big concert event in the spring, the school invites a famous performer to play every year.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Fredonia is worth the money. I am definitely getting a well rounded education, there are lots of class choices so I can take classes that I am interested in. They have lots of scholarships for students so the school makes it worthwhile for students to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Fredonia is a small town, but you can still go down to the park and be on Lake Erie. There are some small shopping centers and a Walmart to shop or get necessities. Fredonia is only an hour from Buffalo and not far from Pennsylvania. There are so many concerts and plays on campus that students can attend for discounted prices or for free that students will not be bored hanging around campus. The school always offers a weekend activity to keep everyone entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. Some days are better than others. There are multiple dining places on campus with flexible meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of places for students to stay on and off campus. The dorm life at SUNY Fredonia is pretty average. There are lots of different housing options to choose from and dorms are located in a variety of places on campus. There are separate dorms for freshman to help them get used to college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor depends on the classes your taking, harder classes require more time. There is an honors program for students interested in an educational challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you keep your grades up the school does have scholarships to offer. It is a state school so they except a wide variety of students.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia is a fun place to be, lots of on campus events. It is located in a small town that is easy to get around. The school is not too large so students can get lots of personal time with professors.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Down Town is a ten minute walk away, so students are free to check out a multitude of food places, like The Green Tea Room or The Brick Room. There are bars that allow age 18+ students to go to during weekends and party without any alcohol.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of food options on the SUNY Fredonia campus. You can choose from the three dining halls; Erie, Williams Center, and Cranston. The food choices here vary every day so you don't get tired of the options too. Erie is especially good for any vegetarians due to the salad bar, fruit bar, and pasta station. If you want something new, you could check out the Starbucks on campus for a caffeine boost or snack. You have the choice of going to the school store filled with everyone's favorite snacks, whether you want a ramen cup, something sweet, or something salty.

    Dorm Life

    Being set up with a stranger for a roommate is scary but mine and all my friend's at SUNY Fredonia get along with their roommates fine! The RAs and RD are always in the building if you need any help and they're more than happy to help you out. Common rooms are always fun to hang out in and the bathrooms (and building in general) is always clean thanks to the sweet cleaning ladies.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors all hand out a syllabus the first day of classes to help you outline the semester, regarding tests and when to read what chapters. It's helpful but all the reading is overwhelming. If you plan out the work diligently, it'll be okay but it can be easy to fall behind. A wide variety of classes are offered and your advisor can help you plan all the courses needed for ccc's and classes pertaining to your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would offer are use office hours professors offer. Everyone has to have them at SUNY Fredonia, so there's no chance you can't catch them in their office. They can work one-on-one with you and you have a chance to ask questions about any rough material. Another is if you live in the dorms, check out all the activities the RAs set up. RAs set up a bunch of group activities for your building to keep you busy and help you meet friends, so check it out!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia has a lot of opportunities. There are chances in every aspect from clubs, majors, and experiences. It's worth checking out!

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    100s of clubs to choose from and if you can't find anything that you like, start one!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FREDFEST!!! every May to end the year Spectrum hosts Fred Fest and it's a weekend tradition. A well known musical perform comes and it's one of the best weekends on campus

    What to do for fun

    The clubs on campus have many activities throughout the semester as well as the RAs of your dorm. The nightlife at Fredonia isn't that bad either.

    Food and Dining

    There are three different dining halls on campus and all have different food. There's a lot to try on campus.

    Dorm Life

    If you're choosing where to dorm your first year I wouldn't do a suite the first semester or year. It's better to be in the dorm halls with so many more people around to talk and make friends with.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Fredonia don't play around. They can be fun and helpful if you just ask but like I said don't fall behind or they'll be on you like white on rice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off because you can fall so far behind in just one week. Talk to the teachers and go to the student learning center if you need any help. DON'T BE SHY

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a great school for anyone who wants small classes and to make some really great friends. The atmosphere of the school is one that will make you want to stay in the little town of Fredonia for years to come.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty comfortable here. I work late hours and when the bus isn't already in my parking lot, I'm too lazy to wait for it to come back, so I walk all the way across campus at 1:30am. It's lit up the whole way, and pretty open-the stars and moon are great on this walk. Even when there's people around, they're doing their own things. I would love to walk through the wooded area, but it's not lit and I know there's wildlife there, I'll let it be.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're coming from out-of-state, it depends what state you're coming from. For me it's Texas, which is DEFINITELY worth the extra money, but if you were to come from Massachusettes or Florida, maybe not. In-state tuition is a blessing, I'm definitely establishing that while paying for these outrageous out-sider prices!

    What to do for fun

    I'm a 'home-body'. I like to study my books, make rings and junk, I listen to a lot of different music so dormlife suites me. If you're more outgoing, and have the time, there are tons of sports. People are playing ultimate frisbee all day long, there's ice skating, a gym, a pool, a track-don't get bored. Avoid that Freshman-15 and go have fun!

    Food and Dining

    Picking a meal plan is tricky. Know what you're going to have more of-Starbucks, or actual sit-down meals-before you choose that 14 meal plan with 500 points on it, when you're only going to eat maybe 7 meals, but have coffee twice a day. The food is great, there's different atmosphere styles to fit your study/food patterns, only harsh thing is, dinner is over at 7pm. Late dinners would be more appreciated for a full-time student and full-time worker.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure how they choose pairs for corridor-style rooms, but it works. The entire floor may not be your best friend, or who you would like to hang out with, but your roommate is going to get along wtih you. My roommate studies as often as I do; our academic strengths and weaknesses compliment each other, so there's always someone to ask for help. Then she also understands my work schedule, she's very lenient about llights and sounds late at night when I come 'home'; she actually sleeps right through all of it.

    Academic Rigor

    I put four stars because this is a new world for me. I'm from the South, where standards and expectations are, in contrast, ridiculously sub-standard. This is college, you're adults and you can control how responsible you are about studying on your own time. Don't pick a major, or subjects that bore you; find something you love, or wait until it finds you. Gathering all this knowledge floating about here is useless if retaining it isn't a necessity for your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because comfort comes first-bring a fan! Then all other side thoughts-be who you are, but let your personality and views develop-it's why you're here afterall.

    In three sentences

    This campus is beautiful, every now and then you'll even see a family of deer in the denser tree areas. This food is better than I was making for myself at home! People are polite, everyone is here for education and your privacy is respected as long as you're clear about it.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even around the town of Fredonia you will see campus police patrolling. They are always willing to help in any situation.

    Greek Life

    There are a huge number of sororities and fraternities on campus. Most are very community oriented, and there is even a music fraternity. A huge principle that all Greek organizations here have are the no-haze policies.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can't find a club or activity that's right for you, you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who loves music but doesn't necessarily want to be a music major. The music school here is very well renowned, and it is not difficult to find music activities or people who share similar interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has both a quidditch and a broomball team. Quidditch is self explanatory to any Harry Potter fans. Broomball is basically ice hockey played with brooms instead of hockey sticks and sneakers instead of skates. I've never heard of any other school doing either of these things.

    What to do for fun

    Every week there is a new activity that RA's plan for residence halls. Some included a palm reading session, zumba, and a mixer between the boys and girls hall. There are intramural sports, student movie nights, video game contests, ultimate frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of meal options. There is vegan and vegetarian options at every dining hall, food ranging from pizza, to sushi, to pasta, to salad. It is hard to gain the dreaded freshman fifteen with so many healthy options. Off campus has a wide variety of eateries including a Bob Evans, Applebee's, pizza places, and many more...most of which accept FREDcard (the card containing points to meal plans).

    Dorm Life

    As with any dorm room, space is limited. It is a difficult adjustment to learn to share a bathroom with so many other people. It is awesome, however, being able to live with your friends and create the skills necessary to communicating conflicts and still have an excellent time.

    Academic Rigor

    As any college course, it is challenging. With effective study skills, however, it is not difficult to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is essential! Get involved as much as possible, and balance your social life with your studies effectively.

    In three sentences

    A very welcoming, collegiate atmosphere. The people are friendly, the professors helpful, and the campus beautiful. I love everything about it!

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who enjoys a friendly environment, appreciates the arts and knows how to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is kind of in the middle of nowhere. Beyond the campus, social life is relatively non-existant.

    What to do for fun

    I'm in many clubs such as Pride Alliance, MMA, and Blue Ice. There are activities around campus constantly, and I am always with friends when I'm not studying or busy working on things that need to be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships and try to recieve as much financial aid as possible. It gets expensive really quick

    In three sentences

    I rate SUNY Fredonia an 8 out of 10. There is always room for improvement in any academic setting. I believe Fredonia is a great place to have a college experience.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An escort is always available but I always feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    WNYF the tv station is amazing and the sport clubs always let you play.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing and artsy

    What to do for fun

    Plays, musicals and clubs!

    Food and Dining

    The food is always available and normally tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I've never had a problem with anything in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but they are meant to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring an umbrella, it does rain. Remember that you are here for more then just classes. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school, the people are always friendly. There is always something to do from plays to clubs. My time here is always enjoyable.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe walking places alone at night, and there are blue-light phones everywhere.

    Greek Life

    No experience, and none desired.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, independent, gay/queer, relaxed, quirky, conscientious, smart, sassy, intense.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three Man Hill is the site of a lot of traditions and pasttimes--it's this huge hill at the edge of campus with a gigantic metal statue of three humanoid-ish figures on it.

    Bang for the buck

    Intense!

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown, go to the Dunkirk Movieplex (commonly known as the Stickyplex), and laugh at kids staggering downtown on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. And don't forget to read the police blotter on Mondays!

    Food and Dining

    Cranston is the best, and Erie is great for some home-cooked, mom-type casseroley things.

    Dorm Life

    Generally quiet and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor, the class, and even the major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't spend your whole meal plan on Starbucks, do familiarize yourself with the library, and don't bother putting money on your Fredonia debit--just be sure to return your library books on time, or be fined to death!

    In three sentences

    The classes are small, and sure, you could skate by, but who wants that? You will get as much out of this place as you put in, and learning that is what college is all about. A great place to learn and grow.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    university police is right outside of Gregory Hall (center of campus and center of Alumni Hall- Freshmen girls dorm)

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities (house parties all weekend long)

    Clubs and Activities

    FSU4U

    Great for these types of students

    1) Liberal arts 2) Music 3) students that like rural living

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than a private and it's worth the money

    What to do for fun

    1) FSU4U - website that is also a directory of all the school organizations 2) fredonia.edu has a calendar of all the upcoming fun filled events on campus

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty average, food is repetitive

    Dorm Life

    It's a typical dorm (freshmen halls are single sex) one roommate per room

    Academic Rigor

    It's a B school, average professors, average campus, average classes

    Tips for prospective students

    CCCs are mandatory classes and should be finished with after Freshmen year.

    In three sentences

    I rate Fredonia State College to be a complementary liberal arts college with many helpful and caring professors that will help one to work up to the student's potential. The campus is filled with active student organizations that recruits members at any time, some are dedicated to personal interests and major interests. The core curriculum classes are easy since it's a review of highschool subjects

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities to choose from! I was in four and enjoyed every one of them. They give you great opportunities and really benefit your personal skills!

    Great for these types of students

    Theatre and musical students basically run the campus. It's a musical school so it's great for people like that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The creek is a hot spot that people chill at almost everyday. Not much else to do down there but kick it with your friends. Which is relaxing after a long day.

    What to do for fun

    Not much else to do but party. It's hard to find anything else to do but go to the bars. Join clubs! It keeps you busy and all four of the clubs that I joined were fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't that good. Starbucks on campus is so helpful and a great place to study. Make sure you check the dining hall menu before picking which of the 3 you want to go too. The time of the dining hall closings stink because they are not open past 730 and sometimes people have night class!!

    Dorm Life

    Don't request a suite. You'll hate it. Everyone I know does hate it. It becomes too clique. The corridors are a great size considering its a college dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful professors! All of mine were exceptional except for one was kind of weird and awkward. They respond to emails within a reasonable time and are always helpful if you need a question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep and open mind when attending this school. There are many different personalities you will run into. Study as much as you can but make sure you have time to chill too. Don't over kill yourself and have good breaks. College is like a full time job.

    In three sentences

    Advising counselors in all departments are very poor and don't make you feel like you're anything but a number to them. It's hard to find something to do socially other than drink alcohol. Professors I had were awesome though!

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station not even five miles away as well as the University Campus Police. They are always on the ball for everything. There is always a police officer driving around day and night to watch over the campus.

    Greek Life

    I have no clue what Greek Life is.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for anything. Like reading? There's a club for that! Like gaming? There's a club for that? And if there isn't a club, making one is easy as long as you keep it going.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is willing to express themselves and stay open to new opinions. There are all different people from gay, colorful hair, wild antics, and even just the calm people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an off campus area that is a cabin. Apparently classes go there sometimes. There's also a mattress in the middle of a path in the small forest. I don't want to know why it's there.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a thousand dollars more than Jamestown Community College a year. If you want to just do basics, make sure to go there instead. You'll save while getting the same type of education.

    What to do for fun

    I love to go to the gym. I read books when I want to relax. I also paint and do photography after I've completed my classwork.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food. The coffee is fairly cheap at the cafes.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. But I do enjoy the peace when I hang with people. At night, I hear some whacked out stories, though. I would not want to be surrounded by alcohol or any roommate who drinks.

    Academic Rigor

    Fredonia has a strict attendance policy. Homework does pile up, but professors don't care about you whining about how much you have to do. There will be some who will point they had to do more compared to what you are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your eye on the ball. Don't you dark even think that you can't reach your goal. You can, and you will. You just have to remember that high school and college are completely different.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a really relaxed campus. Most of the professors I have had are very nice. Everyone is willing to help as long as you express your need for that help.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fredonia has 24/7 campus university patrolling the campus. There are also emergency telephones on every lamp post.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities you can join at Fredonia. They also have a village where friends can hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved in activities. Also, take advantage of the help professor and tutors offer on campus.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a quaint community with an inviting community. The professors and the students at Fredonia are very helpful and welcoming. Fredonia also provide many opportunities to get involved around campus and in the community.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit, on site police department, escorts available if needed. No major crimes and in a very safe area.

    Greek Life

    Many Greek life options.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club, activity for every interest. Great way to meet new people and have a good time.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a friendly, exciting campus with lots of options for fun, education and experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I'm aware of but this is my first semester here.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money it is a good deal, there are many housing options, meal plan options that fit your budget. Being a SUNY school ensures you will be getting a good education without paying a fortune and there are many scholarship options available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, intramurals and sports teams to get involved in, as well as music, theater performances. There are so many options both during the week and the weekend that if you are not able to go home, you won't mind because there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of food options: 2 main dining halls featuring all you can eat, Starbucks, Tim Horton's, many student run cafes, Center Pointe,Trendz. All feature many options for you and are all conveniently located throughout campus, so you never have to go to far to find a good meal.

    Dorm Life

    There are many housing options both on and off campus. University Commons is a great option for upperclassmen, with semi-private rooms with the dining hall, Starbucks, bookstore and convenience store are all located in U.C. However, all the dorms provide plenty of activities to get to know your fellow students. Also, all RAs and RDs are friendly and there to help.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm majoring in Communication:Media Management. It is a lot of work but there are great professors with plenty of office hours to help you and lots of labs and touring services available if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come for a visit, check out the campus and housing options as well as the local town to get a feel for what there is to do off campus. Talk with current students they will know better than anyone what to expect and the pros and cons of this college.

    In three sentences

    Friendly people, plenty of clubs, activities and sports to keep you interested and busy. Accomplished professors, who have the degrees and background so you know you're getting a good education. Most importantly it is an affordable college.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police all around, emergency buzzers located on campus.

    Greek Life

    Fun, meet lots of friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from!

    Bang for the buck

    School is expensive, but if your going to spend the money, Fredonia is a great place to go.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs, pool, ice skating, and much more depending on your interests.

    Food and Dining

    Great variety and health information available.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the cleanest, well kept dorms I've ever seen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in some activity.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is warm. The people are very friendly. The campus is beautiful and clean.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can see a blue emergency tower from everywhere on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports are busy and fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Music majors!

    What to do for fun

    cliff jumping at Arkwright Falls

    Food and Dining

    Fredonia has a very wide variety of foods that accommodates many different tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I loved the corridors, but if you have a small group of friends, the suites are great too!

    Academic Rigor

    I worked at the Learning Center, and we stressed understanding the material vs. just knowing how to get to the answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you sign up for the bookstore to buy all your books first semester, it is a stress reliever, but know you can return any of them! Once possible, get the all-points (no meals) meal plan because you get more for your money!

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is a very green school.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe while on campus, but just like anywhere else always be careful, especially at night! Although there always seems a crowd of people to be out and about!

    Greek Life

    Greek life exists, but it is not a huge part of fredonia.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a part of Psych club. There are many clubs and activites available for students- and they are able to see this at activities night. This night is held once in the beginning of each semester for all students to explore different opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    I have seen that many students at Fredonia are very down to earth. We love to have fun, but we also know when to focus our attention on what is important-which is our education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fredonia participates in FRED FEST!- a looked forward to event for all.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe Fredonia has given me so many great experiences and I have met many amazing people, with many more to come!

    What to do for fun

    Fredonia is a small town, so there are not many attractions around. There is a movie theater, and many restaurants around town. About 45 minutes away is the Galleria Mall for a shopping trip once in a while. Night life is a big thing in Fredonia for many students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not all that bad. Most students enjoy Cranston from what I have heard and seen. It sometimes is difficult to eat healthy on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is one of my favorite parts of Fredonia. I highly recommend any future students to become a part of the dorm life. It gives you a chance to meet so many amazing people, and I feel really gets you involved on campus. It forces you, in a good way, to dive into the SUNY Fredonia lifestyle. The dorms are very strict freshman year, but they ease out as you enter sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load has been what I expected so far-there is always something to be done, but it is not overwhelming..usually. There are of course always some points during a semester where I feel the work load is just too much at once, but it is definitely doable. Of course, I am beginning my junior year next semester, so I expect the work to become heavier, more concentrated and difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to develop study habits that work for you sooner, rather than later. I know so many people, including myself who somewhat struggled their freshman year because they didn't know which study habits worked for them. Once sophomore year rolls around, many find ways to study that work for them, and they wish they had much sooner!

    In three sentences

    Fredonia is an awesome place to attend school. It's a very friendly environment, and always welcoming. I believe that it is a great choice for furthering one's education.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every resident building is assisted with alarmed doors and after nine pm, every outside guest must sign in and out of the resident halls at the front desk. The University Campus police are located in the middle of the campus are can be easily accessed.

    Greek Life

    Everywhere you turn, there are sorority or fraternity members to meet. Joining the Greek life is very popular at SUNY at Fredonia.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless numbers of sororities and fraternities to join. They have good reputations at our college because every recruited member forms a family with the group and consider themselves family members for life. Also there are constant events occurring in the resident halls where RAs come together to have fun projects, games, or other activities for anyone to become a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY at Fredonia is known for its music program. Music majors are seen all around campus and freely expressing themselves through instrumentals or vocals. They are kind students who want to share their talents with the peers around them and provide a little entertainment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The creek is a hot spot in SUNY at Fredonia. it is a location across from one of the dorms where you can walk along a creek through some wooded area and skip rocks or just relax and watch the sunset. Also Fred Fest is an anual tradition in which all of our Fredonians and townies come together throughout the campus and town to celebrate before finals and have a good time. This specific event lasts all weekend and is a great way to meet people!

    Bang for the buck

    College is not supposed to be cheap, but being a State University of New York, SUNY at Fredonia is a reasonably priced college and makes sure to include all of its services within the intuition. Take as many opportunities as you can because your meal plan is prepaid and the gym is included!

    What to do for fun

    Personally I enjoy gathering with my group of friends to go outside and enjoy nice weather. We are the friends to get a hold of a Frisbee and toss it around. We also like to walk around campus and out into the town of Fredonia itself.

    Food and Dining

    Luckily SUNY at Fredonia has three dining halls, along with cafes in each academic building. Two of the dining halls are all you can eat buffets while the third is where you pay per item you select. The food is fresh and there are many varieties of healthy food as well as feel good food.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is an excellent way to meet new people and make new friends. SUNY at Fredonia is a comfortably-sized campus and is always active. It doesn't hurt to knock on your neighbor's door and introduce yourself. Who knows, you might be walking into a relationship with a life-long friend!

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY at Fredonia gives plenty of opportunity to follow-up with your grades and potentially raise them if need be. The most important thing to know is your professors' office hours. Every professor is available, but only if you seek for their attention. Do not expect to be notified if you are falling behind in a class. It is your responsibility to recognize and show your professor that you are willing to work wit them toward bettering your academic standings.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that prospective students utilize every academic offering that is possible. There are many ways to be involved on and off campus. The library is always rewarding, so if you know you have to go for research, homework, or studying, don't talk yourself out of it. Instead, talk some friends into going with you!

    In three sentences

    SUNY at Fredonia is a friendly environment full of many opportunities. The professors on campus are willing to work with the students and prove this by having flexible office hours open for the students' conveniences. I recommend SUNY at Fredonia to any friends or relatives interested in attending.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, and is equipped with emergency phones all over the campus. Fredonia has a campus police force that are the first to respond in any emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fredonia offers many different clubs for anyone to join. There are a lot of music groups, pick up sports teams, and clubs like a quidditch team. They say that if there isn't a club you like, start one of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Music majors, artists, undecided students, scientists, pretty much anyone can find a good major at Fredonia.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly cheap for a good education. Most other schools offering the same amount of majors cost $10,000 more.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. They offer interesting clubs like ballroom dancing and nerf gun sports.

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety of choices for dining, and meals can be substituted with cafe items from shops on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Good size rooms, but poorly lit. Students should bring an extra lamp to help light the room.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes appear to be challenging, but general education classes are easiest to get out of the way early.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application to them early, they have lots of people applying for a spot in the freshman class. Visit the campus and talk with professors to learn more about the college.

    In three sentences

    A small campus that is easy to navigate on foot. Offers a wide variety of majors and minors. Has state of the art facilities for any major.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University police are constantly on duty, as well is this environment already being safe.

    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Vary wide range of clubs and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated and motivated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unusual?

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    Work out, clubs, sports, games nights, events, nightlife, nature walks

    Food and Dining

    It is exciting to know we have an all you can eat buffet for only 7-9 dollars (depending on meal time) but there is nothing like a home cooked meal, but there are cooking facilities in every dorm that students may utilize.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm experience is something to look forward to for students who have not yet done so.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are extremely demanding but the professors are always(day to day office hours) available and willing to help, even outside of their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared too succeed, after all, this is Suny Fredonia, where success is a tradition.

    In three sentences

    The experience I have had at Fredonia thus vary have been very fulfilling and motivating. Advisor as well as teacher are extremely enthusiastic to assist in student success. Compared to my previous scholastic experience, Suny at Fredonia is unmatched because of the extremely proud and hard working environment found here.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    very small town

    Dorm Life

    don't get your hopes up

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for cold winters

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia is a great place to get a well rounded education. The quality of education offered here is outstanding. Fredonia is an excellent place to learn about yourself.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue lights are everywhere, the university police is kickbutt, and the campus is extremely well lit.

    Great for these types of students

    Teachers. Music. Theater.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The math department has an annual picnic in the fall. Try Dr. Rogers' chili, it's kickass. Also there is a lovely creek nearby if you are a geology major that is interested in glacial deposits, shale bedrock, Devonian age fossil beds (go winged spirfers!), and just awesome creek splashing experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    DON'T BUY THE TEXTBOOK PRE-PACK. GO AMAZON FOR TEXTBOOKS!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs on campus, and if there isn't one quite your style you can always go through Student Association to start one of your own. There is also a free to students community bus that can take you around both Dunkirk and Fredonia if you need to go shopping or want to get a haircut or just hang out somewhere away from the college atmosphere. (or you know, go to a club).

    Food and Dining

    The Centre Point Dining Center is like an air freshener labeled deep fried.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask teachers for help, they are always willing to give assistance. Buy a big jacket before you come here, because there is snow, in October. Yeah.

    In three sentences

    Fredonia has a friendly environment with great people and loving teachers. I feel like I can get help from anyone whenever needed. I feel like I can succeed here.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them are student run which Is good and bad. A lot of the groups don't take the activity they are organizing seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to current students in the department you are looking to go into before going into the school. The tours the school offers may lie to make it seem like a great place but, I was extremely disappointed when I finally got into my department. It is a very small town with nothing to do but party, not a lot of on campus events to look forward to and not very welcoming.

    In three sentences

    Small town with not a whole lot to do. Nothing very exciting on campus to make you look forward to. Department tours are not always what they seem.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing!

    Greek Life

    Uninvolved but interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very fun, many events to choose from with great atmospheres.

    Great for these types of students

    Art/Music

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The peacefulness of nature is n close proximity, deer, woods, water/beaches.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Depends on what your into, for me my work is very rewarding and fun at times that it's not too stressful, but there is a pretty cool nightlife if you're into that kind of thing.

    Food and Dining

    Calios is a favorite among students and they deliver very late into the night when you've lost track of time working and campus stores have closed. Campus food isn't bad, although the C-Store is very high priced and I recommend other options to save your points/funds.

    Dorm Life

    Layouts are nice for the upper class suites.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is super intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Excellent staff very willing to help, you just have to ask for it.

    In three sentences

    Being this is my first on campus experience, I can't compare it to other schools, although it is an amazing campus with positive people all around. The professors there are very eager to see their students succeed. Mostly all students a super friendly and caring, especially for the first couple weeks of the semester.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sigma Gamma Phi is the sorority to join. They are friendly girls and they always have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    There are cafes in almost every academic building. We also have a tim hortons and a starbucks on campus. There is one all you can eat dining hall and one where you pay for food a la carte. The food is decent tasting, but if you are sick of campus food there are a decent amount of restaurants or fast food places a few minutes from camps.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are a decent size if you do not live in a suite. Suites house 4-5 rooms with 2 in each room. Some of the suites are a lot bigger but you run the risk of having a small room. They are livable, just a little cramped for space.

    Academic Rigor

    If you took advanced courses in high school or at least were a C student then you should be fine. It takes a little bit of work, but the professors are usually very nice and are willing to help. If they are not, we have a student run tutoring center. Tutors have taken the classes that you are struggling with and are usually very helpful.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk through campus day or night and feel incredibly safe. You'll never be looking over your shoulder scared that someone's following you. Yes we have our own on campus Police station, but sometimes it seems like we don't even need them because this campus is so safe as it is.

    Great for these types of students

    Fredonia is a music school, it's a theatre school, it's an education school, it's a psychology school, it's a science school, etc. As you can see Fredonia is great for every type of student. There are musical students. There are jocky students. There are students of all types and the best part of it all is that the diversity is so well accepted here. You don't have to be a music student to be in an a capella group- I'm not a music student. You don't have to be a theatre student to hangout with the people in that program. Some of my best friends are theatre students and I am a psychology major. This campus is just so diverse it is wonderful. No matter what type of student you are, you will fit right in a SUNY Fredonia. oh, and we even have a Nerf gun club and a Quidditch team, so yeah..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ZONIES (well now Calios), Street Meat, The Creek, The Jungle, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say Fredonia is quite a bang for your buck type of college. Fredonia really provides a lot for it's students. Not only educationally, but entertainment wise as well. There is always something fun to do or go watch that is either free or incredibly cheap since hey, we are college students after all. Fredonia really gives you what you're paying for and more.

    What to do for fun

    I sing in an all-female a capella group! It's incredibly fun! The ladies in my group are like my sisters and when we all come together we can really produce an amazing sound that entertains our fellow classmates and even the community members. I also try to stay active in groups and clubs on campus such as Wilderness Club, American Sign Language club, Biology club, Psychology club, etc. There's also Lake Erie not even five minutes from campus that is always beautiful to visit- even in the winter!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good actually. The buffet style dining hall has wonderful food that can help cure you home sickness. We also have a Tim Horton's and Starbucks on campus as well as a convenience store packed with tons of yummies, and cafes in almost every building.

    Dorm Life

    There are two styles of dorms; corridor and suite. Suite style tends to be more intimate with about six people per suite. You can also meet and befriend neighboring suites! Corridor style seems to be more exciting with so many people all in one hall. There's always something going on there. The dorm rooms are decent sized and can feel really homey with the proper feng shui. Laundry rooms are a pain in the butt, but you get used to it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here range from super easy to incredibly difficult! 100 level courses are typically easy and help you get your feet in the water for your 300-400 level courses. Just remember, ANY course is do-able as long as you put in the work and dedication. There is always tutors to help you out as well and professors are extremely helpful here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering SUNY Fredonia already, then do it. Come here. Be sure to go out and make friends as soon as you get here. Learn time management early on. Talk with someone to get you on the right track as soon as possible. Don't always trust your adviser's math skills- always double check! Be active and get involved on campus! There's always something for you to do. And community service and campus involvement looks really good on your resume!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia is truly a home away from home. It's the perfect sized campus; you can't go a day without seeing someone that you know and love passing by, yet there is always someone new to meet. The campus is beautiful, the professors are great, and the food is alright. haha

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt as safe away from my own home as I do at SUNY Fredonia. University Police is available 24/7 and are just a phone call away. There are blue buttons all over campus that you can press incase of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    The sororities and fraternities at SUNY Fredonia are tiny subsections of one giant family. They put on incredible events that include the entire campus. They are friendly and always looking to volunteer and help anytime they can.

    Clubs and Activities

    SUNY Fredonia, by far, has some of the most diverse clubs available to students. They have everything from vocal groups, nerf wars and Christian groups to soccer teams, LGBTQ groups and Black Student Union. Everyone finds their fit at Fredonia.

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Fredonia is the PERFECT place for students who like to get involved. There are plenty of clubs, associations, volunteer work and internships available on the campus. It is great for kids, like myself, who were nervous to leave home for the first time. Everything about the campus is welcoming and quickly becomes a second home to every student who sets foot there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year on the first weekend of May the school puts on FredFest. This is an amazing event that incorporates many student groups and brings the entire campus together to relax, celebrate the end of the school year, and rid themselves of the stress it has caused for the past 9 months! I won't tell you too much about it, you'll just have to come check it out for yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Fredonia is an incredible deal for the amazing academics they provide. The financial aid office is always available and willing to help when there are financial issues or you need help finding and applying for scholarships. The school is especially great for NY residents, since they pay less for tuition than out of state students.

    What to do for fun

    Take a walk to the creek! Relax and listen to music, get work done while the soothing sounds of the water and nature help you focus! Go to a concert! Every week there are concerts and recitals that are absolutely free! At a school heavily focused on music, these shows never disappoint!

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge variety of food available on campus. From Starbucks to Tim Horton's, cafes in nearly every academic building, Cranston Marche and Centre Point, I have an incredibly hard time choosing! There is always a place open on campus, so if you're craving a cheeseburger at 11pm, you can get it!

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm so much my freshman year, I lived in it again my second year! The school is currently in the process of building on-campus townhouses to open in the fall, and I must say they are GORGEOUS! The dorm rooms are comfy, clean and there is plenty of space for all your clothes, pictures from home and school materials!

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at SUNY Fredonia are some of the best educators and people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They are always looking for ways to engage their students in class. They place a strong focus on each student's academic success, and are always willing to meet outside of class to help a student in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There is no better way to enjoy college than to get involved. Join the clubs that interest you, take classes outside of your major, and explore all you can. Every single group on campus, be it a sorority or a capela group, is like one giant family. With the help of the incredibly friendly and welcoming students and staff, you can get through this!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Fredonia is much more than a college; It is my home. I never imagined myself going away to college until I set foot on the SUNY Fredonia campus. The entire staff, administration, faculty and student body are incredibly welcoming and friendly.