Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College at Geneseo Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always find this question funny because this seems like the biggest concern among parents, and the least of my concerns while at Geneseo. Though I am aware that a tragic or dangerous event can happen anywhere, Geneseo seems like the safest place in the world. It is a common occurrence for students to walk alone at night and I have never felt threatened while on campus or in the Geneseo area. In addition, Geneseo has Blue Light emergency stations that are visible from virtually any location on campus. If a student were to feel threatened, the blue light provides instant access to the University Police. Overall, Geneseo students are easily approachable and look out for each other if there is ever a safety concern.

    Greek Life

    As someone who is not a member of Greek Life I am not particularly knowledgable. However, Greek Life is moderately prominent on campus, but never forced upon students. Unlike some schools, there is little disparity between Greek and non-Greek students. Of course, there are Greek organizations with a variety of aims, from volunteerism, major-specific, or a partying focus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like most colleges Geneseo offers hundreds of clubs and activities for students to get involved. I have been a member of Geneseo Environmental Organization since freshman year which is well represented on campus and takes part in a variety of activities such as sustainability initiatives, trips to environmental conferences and weekly meetings. There are a variety of intramural sports for students who are not planning to play sports at a college-level, but would like to continue their sport. Geneseo has a club for everything I can think of and if they do not already have an established club students can create their own club through a rigorous (but rewarding) application process.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, any student can find his or her niche at Geneseo. The reality is that although Geneseo prides itself on being a diverse school it is overwhelmingly populated by white students. As a white student myself, I cannot speak for those in the minority, but there are a variety of clubs and activities run by various religious groups and ethnic backgrounds. I have never witnessed any discrimination towards particular groups. Anyone from High School valedictorian, lacrosse bro, or video game nerd can find other like-minded peers. Those who find it difficult to fit in at Geneseo are generally not as open-minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most useful information for a new student at Geneseo would be navigating the connections between the academic buildings. In the freezing weather it will be imperative for students to know how to walk between classes using the underground passageways and overground bridges that connect Sturges, Frasier, Welles, South, and Wadsworth academic buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    As one of the top rated SUNY schools in the system (or in my opinion, the top rated), Geneseo absolutely provides an exceptional education for the price of a public college. I am continually surprised by the reputation Geneseo has made for itself when people commend me for attending the public ivy. Though small, Geneseo is widely known as an exceptional school for an even more exceptional price.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends students generally attend parties at Frat, Sorority, or Sports houses if they know someone in the group. Otherwise students generally pregame in the dorms (which is not allowed, but it is easy to avoid being caught) and then venture to an apartment or party off-campus. The social aspect of Geneseo is probably quite comparable to other colleges, especially SUNY colleges in upstate New York. We have a cheap movie theater, a variety of restaurants off-campus, and a bowling alley. In warmer weather (which is rare) Letchworth State park is about 20 minutes from Geneseo and is a great place to go with a group of friends to barbecue, hike and hang out outside. Also, Fallbrook is a few minute drive (or you can walk if you're feeling adventurous) from campus and offers a beautiful waterfall. Rochester is a half hour drive if you are interested in a more city-like scene. In all honesty, most college students would prefer not to spend money so it is easiest to hang out with friends or attend the Late Knight events offered every weekend at the union. Though many of them are lame, there's often lots of free giveaways and they are an easy way to spend time without spending money.

    Food and Dining

    Though the college has been exploring more ethnic and healthier foods, there simply is not enough variety and the dining halls are often filled with greasy, fattening meals. Unfortunately, the best food on campus is the chocolate chip cookie. As a vegetarian the options are even more limited, though Geneseo does clearly label the vegetarian options and is sure to provide at least one option for vegetarians and vegans. The meal plans are highly inflated and not worth the money. Unfortunately, if you are living on campus you are required to purchase a meal plan, so there is no avoiding the food. The layouts of the dining halls are ineffective and lead to confusing lines and large crowds. It seems that every time Geneseo remodels a dining hall the only aspect that improves is the physical look of the room rather than the food being served. The inclusion of Starbucks in the College Union was a welcomed addition for a break from Geneseo CAS food. Overall, the food takes getting used to if you are not accustomed to greasy meals, but there are certainly ways of finding healthier options if you don't mind getting sick of the same few meals.

    Dorm Life

    After living on campus for three years I have chosen to live on campus for a third year. The freshman dorms generally consist of Jones which is located in the heart of the campus and Onondaga which is located on South Side, a 5-10 minute walk from the academic buildings. These corridor-style buildings were great for getting to know new students, but they certainly weren't glamorous. I lived in Onondaga in a decent sized room. The dorm had its share of rowdy freshman, but the experience was well worth it. My sophomore year I lived in Allegany in a suite with five other girls. The suite style was a major upgrade from Onondaga. The closet space was much appreciated, the common room was spacious and having our own bathroom was a huge blessing! Additionally, each floor had its own kitchen area for cooking. Overall, dorm life is probably quite typical and comparable to other colleges. The RAs were generally understanding and left residents alone as long as they were reasonably quiet during quiet hours. The maintenance crew was helpful and the dorms were cleaned regularly.

    Academic Rigor

    Geneseo is by no means an easy public school. Each major possesses different challenges and rigors specific to the subject. The general education classes are moderately challenging. I have never taken a class at Geneseo that I felt was a waste of time, even if it did not relate to my major. As an Early Childhood/Childhood Education Major the most challenging aspect is the time consuming nature of the major. For instance, students are required to attend off-campus field visits throughout the year at various locations. Though this has the potential to be burdensome, the field visits are exceptional learning experiences and are quite fun for a change of pace. Overall the professors in the School of Education are highly dedicated and knowledgeable. As a Human Development Concentration I have taken a variety of courses in Psychology, Sociology and Anthropology. Within the psychology department I have struggled to get to know the professors and have not always agreed with the difficulty of certain tests, but I have always learned valuable information. My sociology and anthropology classes have also been highly informative with reasonable workloads. As an Environmental Studies Minor I have absolutely loved every class I have taken. With courses available in various natural and social sciences I have found each course to be highly informative, fairly challenging and well worth the effort. The professors were dedicated and helpful. Overall, the academic rigor of Geneseo has never been unfair. It has never been a secret that students who dedicate time and effort to their studies are likely to perform well academically. Professors are generally available to students who are struggling and I have never encountered an instance where I felt the academics were unfairly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student SUNY Geneseo should not fall below your radar. Whether Geneseo is your safety school or your reach dream school, the academics and overall atmosphere should not go unnoticed. For any prospective college student my first tip would be to take a variety of AP classes. I entered Geneseo with 28 transfer credits which allowed me to erase some General Education requirements and start working on my major sooner. In addition, this may allow you to add on additional minors or concentrations in the future. Rather than focusing solely on one or two subjects of AP classes, taking a variety of different subjects will help you fulfill more General Education requirements. Though many may suggest being a well-rounded student and I agree that this is important, I would emphasize the importance of dedicating your time to a few activities, extra-curriculars or volunteer experiences that you truly enjoy. Colleges, especially Geneseo, like to see what you can bring to the college. Demonstrating that you have a strong interest or knowledge base in particular areas rather than shallow interests in a variety of areas may be more desirable to certain colleges. Geneseo loves diversity! If you have an experience that can speak to your tolerance of others, your multicultural background, or your interest in others it would be a great idea to write about it for an essay. Rather than focusing your essay solely on your own personal development, try relating your experience to how you view others and why it makes you a more diverse, experienced individual. For instance, travel experiences, growing up in diverse neighborhoods, etc. Finally, if you are wait listed or are unsure about your chances of being accepted, contact the admissions office and let them know you're interested by setting up a tour. This can easily change admission decisions from maybe to accepted.

    In three sentences

    Despite the frigid weather, the atmosphere at SUNY Geneseo is unparalleled with attention grabbing sunsets, rolling hills and a picturesque college town vibe. The academic program at Geneseo provides a diverse array of classes with professors who genuinely care about their students and want to see them succeed. Socially, Geneseo is in remote Western New York, but the friends I have made here helped me explore the events and places that surround SUNY Geneseo.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geneseo is perfect for students who don't mind hard work but like to have fun as well. Geneseo students spend a lot of time studying but don't let that intimidate you because the college plans activities at the students union most weekends. Past events have included comedians, hypnotists and square dancing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best in high school classes. Geneseo accepts most AP credits as long as students score at least a 4 on the exam. SAT scores are important so definitely prepare for the SAT and take it again if you aren't satisfied with your score. Also, be involved in clubs in high school and be in a leadership position in clubs. In addition, visit the college if you are interested and contact an admissions counselor. Making contacts is key!

    Bang for the buck

    Geneseo is definitely affordable for students that wouldn't be able to attend a more expensive, private college. It is a great education for an affordable price. There are also many scholarships that students can apply for through Geneseo.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am definitely enjoying being here. There are many clubs and activities to keep me busy when I'm at college. In the year and a half I have been at Geneseo, I have participated in activities including club field hockey, broomball (so much fun), colleges against cancer and the one-of-a-kind GOLD leadership program. I always look forward to coming back to school after breaks.

    Am learning a lot

    I have found that my professors are very helpful and I am learning so much more than I did in high school. i can go to office hours whenever and the professors are willing to help me. The classes are challenging but manageable. Typically, many classes, especially upper-level classes, involve imaginative projects and papers and I am extremely happy that I made the decision to come here.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geneseo is great for students who really care about receiving a great education, but also like to get involved in things going on around campus. People in Geneseo have so many diverse interests, so really anyone will fit in and enjoy the Geneseo experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really have a well rounded resume. Test scores and a high GPA are very important because Geneseo holds its students to high standards, however grades alone are not a guarantee to get in. Geneseo is filled with students who have diverse interests so join a lot of clubs and sports. Also have community service and work experience or any combination of those and demonstrate leadership and dedication to whatever you are passionate about.

    Bang for the buck

    Geneseo is one of the few schools that one can receive a stellar education to rival small liberal arts colleges for the price of a public state school. Geneseo has produced a lot of distinguished alumni and an education and experience from here as a whole is priceless. So to be able to receive all of that for such a low cost gives it great value.

    Am enjoying being here

    Geneseo is great in that there is a place for everyone. Geneseo is the type of school where by the end of the first break in October, freshmen tell their parents they cannot wait to go back home. School is part of everyday life but it is the things that happen outside of class that make the experience. There are so many opportunities to make friends and find something to do on campus every day. There's a lot of good options for food, the residence halls are really nice to live in and the dorms themselves are nicely sized. The campus is small enough that walking to class isn't a big deal and if walking isn't your thing then the public transportation is really accommodating to most people's class schedules. Every aspect of Geneseo life can be praised, the only downside is the weather. But that is upstate New York, and nothing a good winter coat can't fix.

    Am learning a lot

    Geneseo accepts a lot of academically successful students and education is superb. Geneseo is a liberal arts school so aside from picking from one of many diverse majors, there is a general education requirement. Thus, Geneseo students have an intensive learning program for their major, but also are required to take classes in almost every field of education making them more well rounded. Classes are challenging, but the professors really prepare you for the real world and many classes change the way you think about life in general. It is very common for students to continue discussions from in class even after the class is over and they are walking back to the dorms. Geneseo is also unique in that class sizes are very small and relationships with other students and professors is very easy to do. For mainly freshman one or two classes may have about a hundred students, but by the second week if one were to raise their hand the professor would be able to call on them by name. The professors are dedicated to their students and are always there for advice and support in class and outside of class.

  • 02/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Geneseo is really great for any type of student. Having a student population of around 5,000, there is a group for everyone. There are multiple varsity athletic teams, club teams, sororities, fraternities, and clubs that anyone can join--and with over 150 organizations on campus it is nearly impossible to not find somewhere you fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    As for tips for prospective students, I would have to tell everyone who is thinking about coming to SUNY Geneseo to not be afraid to get involved. Put yourself out there and really try new things because that is how you meet new people. I would also have to advise future Geneseo students that they should really think long and hard about what they are going to major in. It is not necessarily always the best idea to major in something you are good at because eventually you will get bored with it. It is more important to major in something you love, because then you will enjoy it for the rest of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Geneseo is nationally noted for being one of the best Bang for your Buck. If you are a resident of New York State, you can end up going to college for less than other college students pay for one year. Similarly for out-of-state students, the tuition is very reasonable. Considering the high standard of academics that you are receiving at SUNY Geneseo, I fully support the fact that it is one of the Best Bang for your Buck out there.

    Am enjoying being here

    I originally did not want to look at SUNY Geneseo because I did not believe that a public school could be as fantastic as Geneseo truly is. After visiting and attending this college for the past two and a half years, I have to say this is one of the most amazing places you could ever come to. It is really welcoming to everyone, but more importantly everyone is nice here. It is rare for you to find someone who his mean or does not want to help you in any way possible.

    Am learning a lot

    While attending SUNY Geneseo I have had the fantastic opportunity to study everything that I love. I am a Math and Spanish double major with a certification in Adolescent Education as well as a Coaching certification. The academics here at Geneseo are of a high caliber and really challenge each and every student who attends the college.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has Late Knight activities on the weekends, which may be a bonus if you're not into the party scene. There's not a whole lot to do within the town itself (there's a movie theater and a bowling alley, as well as a couple bars, but that's about it). Fun in Geneseo is what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is relatively average. Certain things are pretty good, while others are downright gross. Fusion Market, located in the union, is usually a good bet, as is Mary Jemison (MJ) during the day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are, in general, pretty nice. In your first year you will likely like on the South side of campus, which means a further walk to classes, but generally your classes will never be more than a ten minute walk from your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Geneseo has high academic standards, so classes are difficult. Prepare to spend a lot of time outside of class studying. Work loads will vary by major, but every program has its challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Geneseo doesn't offer very much scholarship money, so make sure that you apply for a lot of outside scholarships. Even though Geneseo is a public college and is relatively inexpensive for New York state residents, every little bit of extra money helps. When you're here, be prepared for all kinds of weather. It will be 80 degrees one day and 40 degrees the next. Winters are cold, especially at night. Pack a lot of warm clothes, especially if you're not planning on going home until Thanksgiving. Get involved. It sounds cliche, it sounds like something your guidance counselor would say, but it's true. Join a club related to your major or favorite hobby, play a club or intramural sport, or join a sorority or fraternity. It's the easiest way to make friends with people who share similar interests.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is an excellent institution. The campus is beautiful and the students are overall friendly. Overall, it's a great place to be.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not a lot, but enough

    Great for these types of students

    hard working and dedicated to their studies as well as others and the communities that surround them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clock tower plays recent hits on the radio on its bell. LOVE

    Bang for the buck

    Best SUNY and you can't beat the price

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Go to movies/out to dinner. Parties. Clubs. Organized activities by the college.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing will ever compare to moms homemade cooking but the food here is pretty good once you find your favorite places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorms. Good size. Very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard and professors are very strict. They want their students to achieve great things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and don't be afraid to try something new in college! Everyone is friendly! And always remember that school work here is a PRIORITY, don't get too caught up in the party scene.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a great school academically. Geneseo challenges students to be the best they can. Geneseo has an incredible sense of community.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Geneseo is great for people who love close-knit colleges and like smaller colleges with beautiful scenery and great classes and students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour of the college! Try the food and go to the Union whenever you get the chance! Also, try to join whatever clubs catch your interest; they're fun and interesting, you meet a lot of great people, and they look great on job applications.

    Bang for the buck

    As a state school, SUNY Geneseo is aimed for budgets of the average citizen. It is, needless to say, easy on the wallet.

    Am enjoying being here

    Located in a small, rural town just minutes from Letchworth State Park, Geneseo has a wonderful small-town charm. Even though Geneseo is a relatively small town, there's always something to do at the college Union, not to mention the hundreds of clubs and organizations that people can join. The most important aspects about the school, however, are the students. Geneseo is filled with some of the most kind and caring students, who are always willing to lend a helping hand or a friendly smile. Anyone who comes to Geneseo will enjoy themselves.

    Am learning a lot

    At SUNY Geneseo, we have a reputation for having the best academics out of the entire SUNY system. At Geneseo, there are many opportunities to learn and grow, because there are many classes available to take. For each class, there are also excellent professors teaching, many of whom have doctorates in their fields. Overall, Geneseo has by far the best academics in a public school.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    There are MANY different activities and clubs going on at all times. You will never be bored!

    Am learning a lot

    Because it's a liberal arts college, you are required to take certain classes which will allow you to get to know many different topics and majors better to help you decide on yours.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY HARD, but more importantly HAVE FUN.

    Bang for the buck

    You receive and excellent education and many people know how great of and education students receive at Geneseo. Hence the nickname The Ivy league of SUNY schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love going here. You do have to get involved- but there are SO many different organizations. I am involved in 4 different organizations on campus and have met so many great people!

    Am learning a lot

    I am in a smaller major here at Geneseo and really learn a lot from the major faculty. There is individualized attention and many great resources at hand.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are already dedicated and focus and for those who are trying to emulate the afore mentioned student. Geneseo really makes a clear statement about what it wants and expects from its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have is to leave high school stuff behind you and to embrace your new home. It will be weird, awkward and scary but everyone is in the same boat, everyone is in some way sympathetic. Try and leave your door open the first week, you'll never know who you'll meet.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for your buck doesn't even begin to explain the deal I struck at Geneseo.

    Am enjoying being here

    I mean don't get me wrong it's an awesome school but it's ver rural, and rural doesn't even being to explain it. It's got a small town chic that you grow to appreciate and it's wonderful in it's own right (you don't have as many distractions). That being said you can, if you so decide, go out and find stuff to do on any given day. It's a very open, pretty and friendly campus.

    Am learning a lot

    While my first semester wasn't the most successful due to my own pigheadedness, advisors are there to help. They really want to see you succeed and while they don't hold your hand like they do in high school they definitely show they care. The teacher's are great and interactive and always excited for office hours, there has never been a time where I have felt that I was a burden on a teacher I was getting help from -- they really want to see you succeed.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a smaller, more intimate school. Students looking for a happy environment to get a great education. The education program is strong, and the science building is new. The bio program is also really big.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's windy, so bring a scarf. I wish I had known that before. The weather is much colder than New York City, and really similar to central New York if you can relate.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a SUNY school, so you're getting the SUNY price. But it's the best SUNY school, so your also getting the education. It's a very good school, and most people are there because it's the education level for a better price than private schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a wonderful enviroment and a beautiful campus. The college always has events on weekends to attend that are very fun and getting students involved. There is every club imaginable, and you can always create one if there's not. Students are always nice to everyone, and the professors are pleasant. The food is decent, and there's always Main Street for those middle of the night cravings.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a lot of different classes you can choose from, even in your core, so you can find ones that you will be interested in quite easily. Professors are wonderful, and always available to contact outside of class with questions. Lecture sizes vary, but are still enjoyable. Most classes hold review sessions before important tests, and professors are more than willing to help beyond that.

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who don't mind being in the country, enjoy doing a variety of extra-curricular activities and study! Geneseo is the perfect place for good students who also like to get involved on campus and like to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in Geneseo life! There are so many ways to get involved in organizations on campus and in the Geneseo community. Go to class, and do the reading. Half of doing well in college is being ready to put in the work. You can't get away with doing the same amount of studying you did in high school. College isn't impossible to do well in, you just have to be ready to do the work. Buy warm clothing. It gets cold up here. Really, really cold. Hope that you like your roomate. You will be living with them in a tiny room for a year. Check out Geneseo on facebook and youtube. It'll give you a pretty good idea of what the college is like. Visit it, too. See if you like the setting, the buildings, etc. Sometimes that's enough to tell you that you want to come here, or if you hate it.

    Bang for the buck

    Having SUNY Geneseo on your resume won't hurt you at any job interview, and you can't beat the price. Sadly, public schools don't tend to have as many scholarships as private schools, so some people actually pay less at private schools, but if you're someone who doesn't think that they'll get scholarships, or isn't eligible for finanical aid, this school is a great option for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how friendly Geneseo students are. In high school. a senior would never talk to a freshman, but here you can be friends with anyone. Everyone's always willing to help you out. The campus is nice, and has gorgeous views. The rooms in my building are a bit small, but that's to be expected. It's a bit rural for my taste, but there is Main street which has some restaurants and cute shops. Rochester is easy driving distance if you have a car, and there's a Walmart, a grocery store, and some other stores in easy driving distance as well. The walks to class can be a bit long, especially when it's cold, but it's nothing you can't get used to. The food could be better, but again, it is college. Even if you're someone who can't have gluten, or if you're a vegetarian or a veagan or whatever, the college has plenty of options for you, and if you are having problems finding food for you and you e-mail them, they are totally willing to help you out. It's really easy to be active in the Geneseo comunity. There are so many musical organizations, community service opportunities, sports, theater, dancing, humans vs. zombies, and cultural organizations to participate in. There are clubs for pretty much every major, as well. Plus Geneseo has GOLD (Geneseo Opportunities for Leadership Development) which are actually pretty renowned. Dartmouth recently purchased this idea from Geneseo, actually. They're hour long leadership workshops, which are really interesting and the certificates you can earn look great on grad school apps, resumes, whatever. There are also plenty of parties for people who want that aspect of the college experience. There are a lot of Greek organization for students who are interested in that, as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I like a lot of my professors and classes. The only class which I feel is a bit of a waste of time is digital photography, since the professor has a very confusing teaching style, and his grading system is very strange. However, most professors are very willing to give you extra help, and give good lectures. Some professors are harder graders than others, but so far I wouldn't call any of them unreasonable in terms of grading. Geneseo isn't a school where you can come and not do the work. You are held to a high academic standard here, and you will learn a lot. Once in a while, you might get a not-so-great professor, but they are the exception, not the rule.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Geneseo is an extremely safe environment. Even at 3am in the morning it feels like its 12 noon, as the university polices presence is felt in around the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the traditions i find interesting is the everyday painting of a big old tree in the university square as everyday soroties and fraternities change the design,color and pattern on the tree to arcane and fascinating colors.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Geneseo is pretty good as you can not expect it to taste the same way home food tastes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in my opinion depends largely on the particular dorm a person is in, for example if you are in Onondaga an only freshmen dorm it gets pretty loud in the evenings at times. But over all when it is time for finals you can literally drop a pin in the hall way and hear it.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Geneseo's academic rigor is exceptional and expected for a school that is nicknamed the Harvard of SUNY school's. Geneseo has professor's that are always willing to help if you go see them as they help you get your targeted grade in any of the academically challenging science and arts courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one an only tip for prospective students is, let your professor know who you are even if you are passing the class with flying colors or when your in danger of failing the class.

    In three sentences

    SUNY at Geneseo is breathtaking from its beautiful purple sunsets to its golden sunrises presents the true definition of a picture perfect historical city. Notwithstanding Geneseo's picturesque streets and friendly quiet neighborhood's it is truly an ideal learning environment for students.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    academics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Main Street is great!

    What to do for fun

    LateKnight

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard

    In three sentences

    Geneseo offers a pretty thorough education for a good price. I feel like I learned just as much as I would have at an Ivy, without spending hundreds of thousands. It's a great school!

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are a couple of interesting traditions at geneseo. first, there is the suess spruce which is a large pine tree located on sturges quad. it is so aptly named because it bears a striking resemblance to the spruce tree in dr. suess's how the grinch stole christmas. also located on sturges quad is the greek tree, a large oak tree that each sorority or fraternity continually paint messages and designs on at different times throughout the year. also, the college has recently jumped on the harry potter bandwagon and formed its own quidditch club.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and organizations on campus which continually host events and fundraisers. geneseo late knight group hosts weekly events every friday saturday and sunday night for all students. the activities commission sets up concerts and other events on campus. there are also numerous sporting events to enjoy. relay for life and a yearly gaming convention also take place in the spring semester.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining services are great. the dining halls on campus offer a variety of choices and have begun including gluten-free and vegetarian options as well to cater to the needs of a growing interest in the differing ways of life of students. vending machines exist throughout campus and many of the locations are open late-night. the campus also has a taco bell express and a starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    i cannot comment on dorm life, i did not reside on campus during my time at geneseo.

    Academic Rigor

    the course load is very challenging however the prestige awarded any student who succeeds at geneseo is outstanding. the professors have reached the perfect balance for students wishing to maintain a social life and still remain proactive and successful in their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    research your potential majors. meet with the professors and ask them plenty of questions about the types of classes they offer and the academic rigor required in your particular major. read everything! even the footnotes. get involved in clubs or groups on campus. geneseo has a great campus community.

    In three sentences

    a great college if you're looking to be challenged academically and professionally. perfect for liberal arts majors or undecided students. one of the best business schools in the western new york area.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    interested in learning and exploring new things.

    What to do for fun

    clubs, clubs, and more clubs. they have activities every weekends and there is always things to do. but do not expect a lot of parties or night life.

    Food and Dining

    food is available until 12:00 a.m. pretty good schedule, but do not expect delicious food. it is ok.

    Dorm Life

    corridor style is better than suites because you get to meet more people. the resident assistants are awesome and they treat you like an adult.

    Academic Rigor

    i am a freshman and i am undeclared so i am only taking required classes. that makes it a little bit easier. but you see people studying everyday and at every hour of the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    time management. check your email everyday. study.

    In three sentences

    academically challenging. in some classes you may feel like you are not doing anything, but the tests are hard. time management is essential because there are a lot of things to do.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party, hang out with friends, take a trip to Rochester, or go to the Union events.

    Food and Dining

    The food really isn't that bad, it just gets boring because there is the same stuff everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Extremely laid-back and fun. Always music playing, doors opened. Overall it is a very open atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are extremely important to any student who attends this college, all you have to do is stop them and ask them, it will be a guaranteed yes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go into Geneseo not having a major, because it will put you behind, and they are a very specialized school, with few major options.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful college for someone who is very serious about their studies. Is very goal oriented, and has a fairly serious student body. However, there are always the people and opportunities to have a good time.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights all over the campus. These are stations with emergency call buttons, to which University Police are guaranteed to respond within 30 seconds. I have never had to use them though, now has anybody I've spoken to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a clubs and activities fair at the beginning of every semester, where you can get to know some of the members and explore different possibilities for activities. Leadership positions in most clubs are available during students' second semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer close-knit communities over the anonymity of a larger school. Also perfect for students who want to spend a little time out of their specific area of study (our general education requirements are more extensive than other state schools, and offer some fascination subjects).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a painted tree; organizations meet in the middle of the night paint the bark of an oak in the quad to show off and advertise for new members (sometimes it gets painted several times in one night!).

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone I talk to is impressed with the fact that I attend SUNY Geneseo; it's reputation as the Ivy of the SUNY system is well-known across the state. It's spreading, too, through our activities in national competitions and conferences. Compared to friends at other colleges, I definitely feel like I'm just as prepared for my plans after graduation with far less debt looming over the horizon.

    What to do for fun

    Though it is in a small town, there is always something to do in Geneseo. The college puts on programs every weekend (ranging from an arts-and-crafts table to a portable zipline) and there is always something fun going on on Main Street. Joining a club or organization definitely opens up possibilities for fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Working behind the scenes in the dining halls, i know first-hand that all of the food is freshly made and that student concerns or suggestions are met promptly. Plus, the stuff actually tastes good!

    Dorm Life

    I know a lot of the RAs personally, and they are all exceptionally warm and welcoming people. Also, I have yet to meet a student here who isn't willing to reach out and connect with someone new; we're a pretty friendly bunch. Living in the dorms was definitely one of the highlights of my first two years (during which students are required to live on campus).

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough. Expectations are high here, but the amount of support makes it possible for anyone to do well (as long as they are willing to put in the work!). Get well-acquainted with Milne Library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to professors' office hours; they love meeting new students, and if you ever have trouble in their class they'll be more than willing to help you out. Also, go to any club meetings that interest you. The students here are very welcoming, and you just might meet the kids that will become your family for the next four years :)

    In three sentences

    SUNY Geneseo is the perfect school for students looking for a diverse and well-rounded education. The atmosphere fosters academic curiosity and exploration, and the small population allows for close professor-student alliances. The impressive academic rigor is offset nicely by the wide array of activities available to the student body.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police is always on patrol and when you call them they come in a timely fashion. There are other organizations that are there to aid the University Police if a student is injured or intoxicated.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over five cultural clubs, several dance clubs, sports and gaming clubs. Joining or a couple of these clubs is a great way to get involved, make friends, build your resume, leadership and enjoy your college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For those that are old enough to drink, there are three main bars that students attend but the end result of the night is going to the IB. The IB is a bar/club in which many students as well as town dwellers come to dance and hear the latest tunes.

    What to do for fun

    If students do not have anything planned for the night, on weekends in particular, they can attend the movies, go bowling or participate in various interesting activities that are held by GLK or Geneseo Late Knight. There are dance parties on campus that are of no charge to the students and these parties occur in the Knightspot which is a small club-like venu. There are dinners and shows prepared by the campus cultural clubs as well as dance and music shows in the auditoriums.

    Food and Dining

    The food has changed over the years, but the food organizations are working to bring more diversity and variety in the types of foods that are made. The campus ensures that they have fat free options, vegetarian and gluten-free options as well. Geneseo tries to cater to everyone's food preference. The dining halls are open relatively late, so if students need a late night snack or meal at 11, they have locations to go to on campus. Starbucks is also a major hit for students, because the environment is quiet and a snack or drink can be purchased in convenience.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a dorm, however it was suite style so I did not have to share certain facilities with a lot of students. Nonetheless, from what my friends have experienced, I have come to find that the students in the dorms are very friendly, they leave their doors open so that they can socialize and not seem secluded from everyone else.

    Academic Rigor

    At Geneseo, you study and sometimes you don't get the grade that you believe you worked for, thus, encouraging you to work and study even harder. At this school your best means going above and beyond what you think is your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure that Geneseo has what you are looking for or need academically, financially and socially. The students can be competitive depending on your major but are always willing to work together to achieve excellence. If you want to be in an environment that is both peaceful as well as lively, then this is a great school to attend. The professors and advisors are great sources, but you have to make the effort and take a little initiative to get their help. Build relationships with faculty, students and staff as soon as you walk on campus. It will help in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a beautiful school to behold. Geneseo is peaceful, the people are friendly, and warm. Geneseo is a college that will challenge you but make you feel successful and victorious once you have given your all and worked your hardest to overcome whatever obstacles you face.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get the education of a top university for the price of a SUNY institution, it's definitely worth the money. It just doesn't have the draw of a city school.

    What to do for fun

    Geneseo has multiple events like Late Knight events that are geared toward people who may or may not enjoy the more unsavory aspects of college night life. On top of that, there are many opened, grassed areas for various activities like ultimate frisbee or other sports. It also hosts a bunch of classes, like yoga, kickboxing or zumba to get exercise in too!

    Food and Dining

    CAS has a monopoly on the food system at Geneseo so it's all of the same product. It's also no better than normal cafeteria food, but it's all that's offered so you learn to live with it. It opened up a new place, Fusion Market, and it's actually delicious, however.

    Dorm Life

    It's so friendly! Although most juniors and seniors tend to live off-campus for various reasons, the dorm life for freshmen and sophomores is amazing! The ResLife employees are all wonderful resident assistants and there is really a focus of making all the residents enjoy and like each others' company and, honestly, everyone gets along with everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    While it's certainly not as hard as the top private universities and ivy league institutions, it's definitely a school that expects its students to study, come to class and score well because of its reputation. Most classes aren't via lecture either, so attendance is naturally more mandatory. If you're looking to get an easy A in most classes that is something you will not find here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely be prepared for a school that is quite literally a college town. There is one street, Main Street, but the entire town has a quaint, welcoming feeling that you can't get anywhere else. The classes are trying and professors grade with more scrutiny because of Geneseo's status as the Harvard of the SUNY, but it's well worth it in the end!

    In three sentences

    SUNY at Geneseo is absolutely extraordinary! Not only is the academic rigor both trying and involving, but the students are also friendly and welcoming! As a transfer student, I am so glad I came here and could experience a place as wonderful as SUNY Geneseo.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100 different clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Its edible. Overpriced even for the meal plans that are offered

    Dorm Life

    Probably the same experience at Geneseo as you would have at any other college. The dorms are livable. Talk with your roommate, establish rules and boundaries, and try to get along as much as possible. Talk to your RA if you're having problems and have tried talking to your roommate without any success.

    Academic Rigor

    Geneseo professors take their classes very seriously and grade fairly but the more strict side. Strive to do more than your best and always hand in your work on time. Go to office hours if you don't understand something in class as most professors are willing to help you until you get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as soon as you get on campus. The easiest way to make friends and become part of the Geneseo community is to get involved. Join clubs or audition for a show and make some new friends. Learn how to manage your time. Try to stay ahead of your work by writing down important due dates, exams, etc.

    In three sentences

    An institution of higher education where establishing a sense of community is a large focus of the campus. Students are encouraged to become involved and often work alongside community members. The approachability of the professors and their sincere interest in having students succeed creates an environment where directed studies are encouraged and allow for an opportunity to work alongside faculty on a project that caters to student interest.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have walked through campus alone at night too many times to count and have never felt unsafe at all.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the top SUNY schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs for almost anything you can think of, the Greek life is respectable, and there are tons of restaurants and shops to explore on main street.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a SUNY school, look no further because Geneseo is the best.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a great college town with opportunities everywhere you look. There is always something fun to do or somewhere quiet to study depending on what you want to do. The professors are great and the students are very friendly.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located right near the Geneseo Police Station. University Police are on campus and always on Patrol. Every SUNY has this blue light system where there are blue lights throughout the entire campus with a phone that connect you directly to UP (University Police) Both Geneseo Police and University Police drive around campus and off campus all hours of the night and throughout the day. Not once have I ever felt unsafe on SUNY Geneseo's Campus or the town.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life has become a large part of Geneseo because a large number of Geneseo students have chosen to get involved. The majority of Greeks are local but there are 3 or 4 National Sororities and I think 2 National Fraternities. They all do fundraisers around campus and provide a lot of fun, competitive activites around campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Adventure club! GOLD, Livingston Cares trips, Invisible Children, PAWS, Women in Business, Community Service Organizations, Greek Life, sports, intermurals, Student Senate Association, lots of theatre groups, Geneseo Dance Ensemble, there is no shortage of clubs or activites!

    Great for these types of students

    Smart students who do not mind living in the library or working hard. No one should expect every class to be an easy one, almost every class requires at least a little work, or at least to show up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Greek life is unusually big here, even though it is such a small campus. The greek system here isn't like it is on t.v or other colleges, or even other SUNYs but it has become a large part of Geneseo's social atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    An amazing education for the price. I have met some of the most wonderful people here, inspiring professors. I see every day how much I have learned from the classes and the people. Geneseo has a really great reputation and a good internship program as well. If you want to apply yourself, anyone can do exceptionally well here and have a really great time.

    What to do for fun

    It looks as though Geneseo is in the middle of nowhere, and it basically is. But the surrounding areas are absolutely beautiful. There are beautiful state parks for hiking, just walking around, white water rafting, etc. Geneseo is also located near Rochester were there is a nice shopping mall and tons of venues for concerts, etc. Hockey and basketball games are a lot of fun at Geneseo as well. The school often plans trips for kids to go Buffalo Sabres games as well as Niagra Falls trips, and students also venture to Canada some weekends as well. I have never been bored while at SUNY Geneseo!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible, I find most of it even enjoyable. MJ is a dinning hall that has very good food and a taco bell. There is also always ice cream!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't exceptionally beautiful, but the campus is. The people I have gotten to live with are what made the dorms so much fun and wonderful. Lots of study lounges and places for quiet, but just as many activites and fun things to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Most majors and classes at SUNY Geneseo are extremely time consuming and are a lot of work. There are of course several easier, less rigorous courses and majors at every school though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a challenge, and for lots of new and wonderful people. Don't slack off, but never forget to have fun and enjoy all that is around you.

    In three sentences

    An amazing school, challenging classes, and a beautiful campus. All the professors are highly educated and eager to share their knowledge. The classes require a lot of work but after only 2 years I have taken a lot away from all my classes and experiences.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As with any college campus, there are going to be some shenanigans on behalf of some rowdy students. There is a University Police right on campus, always available on call. At night, I feel very comfortable walking around campus and there are help buttons one can push if they are in danger. Luckily, I haven't heard of any use of them! The only thing I would say is that the University Police spend a little too much time checking cars in the lots for stickers and expired registrations/inspections instead of preventing students from causing problems.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year, we have Great Day, our own holiday that is celebrated by students and faculty. Classes are cancelled and students receive the opportunity to showcase their skills and projects to the campus or to attend enriching seminars and speakers.

    Bang for the buck

    For a public ivy-league school, you really do get a lot for your money! Before attending Geneseo, I considered SUNY Fredonia. The price tag was very similar, with Geneseo being slightly more. However, I would choose Geneseo any day, considering how much more you get!

    What to do for fun

    Since there are a myriad of clubs and organizations around campus, there is SO MUCH to do to get involved and have fun! Every weekend, there is some kind of event in the Union or around campus. Last semester, they even hosted a Relay-for-Life! If you like Greek life, Geneseo is very active in that. There are many choices of sororities and fraternities to join here. The campus is also very clean and scenic, having many places to walk around or sit somewhere with friends after grabbing some coffee.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options here at Geneseo in terms of food! We have 3 dining halls (one being under construction currently until 2014), as well as a Starbucks, cafe in the library, on-campus pizza place, and Fusion Market. Between these places, one can find grocery type items, organic foods, ethnic foods, vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free choices. The dining halls are all run by one central agency known as CAS (Campus Auxiliary Services), and it's easy to find an on-campus job working for them. I work for CAS at the Mary Jemison Dining Hall and they are very friendly and flexible with your schedule. In regards to the food quality and quantity here, I would give that a 3.5 out of 5. Usually the food is pretty good, but sometimes it could be better. Also, depending on who is working, portion sizes can vary. Overall, they are pretty good about it though.

    Dorm Life

    I have only lived in Ontario, and I liked it for the most part mainly because of the very friendly suitemates I lived with. When it comes to dorms, there are two types: suite and corridor-style. If you prefer suite-style like I did, you will have to live on the North side of campus or possibly South side, farther away from classes. However, if you don't mind corridor style, you will be able to live right in the center of campus, close to everything. It's up to you. The RA's are usually very nice and always willing to help you out! They make moving in and living on campus a very positive experience. Also, the dorms are typically very clean and well-stocked with the basic amenities one would need while living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Geneseo's courses have always known for being rigorous. The professors have high expectations for their students, and it is important to always study and get assignments done on time and efficiently! Luckily, many of the professors are also very helpful, patient and understanding, so feel free to ask questions during or after class. Their office hours are very reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that you do not slack off or procrastinate, because the academics are tough! There are very few classes where you can not study but still succeed. Also, get involved! There are plenty of clubs and organizations around campus as well as activities hosted by various groups. That way, you can make lots of friends in no time. One last tip is to be on top of things such as course registration and rooming arrangements for the following semester. Class sizes are usually small and it's competitive when it comes to getting into the classes you want. The dorm room arrangements are also done pretty early, so keep an eye out for reminders and get that done as soon as possible in order to prevent future stress!

    In three sentences

    Attending SUNY Geneseo has very a very positive experience thus far due to many contributing factors. One reason I love Geneseo is because of the tight-knit, friendly community that always welcomes students with open arms. The other reason that this university is an outstanding choice is because of the low price and excellent education!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition for a low price.

    What to do for fun

    There is easy access to various close by cities like Rochester and is 2 hours away from Niagara Falls@

    Food and Dining

    The school dining is decent.

    Dorm Life

    They have great residence halls and convenient access to other resources.

    Academic Rigor

    They have amazing curriculum for all types of major and the faculty enjoys teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always research the school's tuition to see if you can afford it. Try to refrain from private student loans.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus with great views. The curriculum is great for each major. Their is vast amount of programs and groups that help you gain leadership experience.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe on Geneseo campus or in the town.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of fraternities or sororities to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    People who love nature, don't mind the cold, and who are driven academically will find themselves at home here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mamma Mia's pizza is a late night tradition - get great pizza any time, day or night.

    Bang for the buck

    Geneseo offers a well-rounded education and enjoyable college experience for practically nothing if you live in-state. If you live within driving distance its even less expensive to commute.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Wegmans, travel to the state parks nearby, hiking, biking, visit the monastery, go to Rochester, the IB (local bar).

    Food and Dining

    Geneseo offers typical college dining. There are plenty of unhealthy options and a smaller amount of healthy options. Luckily there is a Wegmans right down the street!

    Dorm Life

    Close knit atmosphere with friendly students. Most people get along really well and there is a fair amount of diversity for a school out in the countryside.

    Academic Rigor

    Its one of the more difficult SUNY schools and the classes are fairly challenging. Many of the students are double majoring and take studying very seriously. The rigor depends on your course load and how organized you are. The more organized and disciplined, like all things, the easier it will be for you.

    In three sentences

    SUNY at Geneseo is an inexpensive school, nestled in the beautiful Genesee Valley. The faculty is friendly and the students study very hard.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a very good education for only paying a SUNY price.

    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff to do on campus. Clubs,sports, volunteer oppurtunities. Geneseo hosts lots of cool events !

    Food and Dining

    Most food is great here, you will figure out what you like.

    Dorm Life

    Geneseo's residence life department is great at finding you a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but exciting here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reserach your colleges thoroughly. Apply for scholarships and make sure you visit the campus and make sure its the right fit for you. Also make sure that your choice is your decision, not anybody elses.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a great school. The academics at Geneseo are very good, you are insured to get a great education here. The atmosphere is great also, you always feel safe and accepted here!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university police are dedicated to maintaining safety on campus

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities offered at campus, both national and local.

    Clubs and Activities

    Within the first few weeks of arriving here there is a club fair that is held which showcases the clubs offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are in the top of their classes and who love a sense of community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Seuss spruce

    Bang for the buck

    If you're a New York State resident then you really cant go wrong. The tuition is cheap, so the only true cost is room and board. The education is one of the best in the region.

    What to do for fun

    In Geneseo there isn't really much to do. You can always go to the cinema or go shopping in the Wegmans plaza. It is also fun to walk up to Main Street and eat at the little shops there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. One of the dining halls is currently under renovation so the other two are left relatively packed. There is a Starbucks, which is always great to just grab in the morning. There is also an eatery called Fusion Market which features international food. There is a place on south campus called Southside which features ice cream, smoothies, pizza, subs wraps and quick things you can take to-go. The brunch served on the weekends is stellar as well. Some items in the dining halls are served with tiny portions.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are amazing. The RAs are helpful with anything that you could ever need. The dorms provide a great opportunity to make friends immediately, and the RAs take it upon themselves to organize a lot of floor bonding.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Geneseo is like that of an AP class in high school, although the time constraints are more severe. A teacher may have you read an entire book in one weekend. For the most part, teachers try to help you the best they can. They are usually very personable and care about your college success. They are always a mere email away, and they are always more than happy to help during office hours. Studying is vital to success, especially in knowledge-based courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a city person, then don't come here! Geneseo is literally in the middle of nowhere, with a 20 minute drive minimum to the nearest city. It is best to visit the school before you visit. It is very small, and you could walk from one side of campus to the other within 15 minutes. Not only is it hard to get in to this school, it is hard to stay here as well. You have to be studious to maintain high marks, and it is in your best interest to build a solid relationship with the professors as well.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a great school and I couldn't imagine myself anywhere else. It has an amazing view that I can look at day after day with the same disbelief. The faculty and all of the employees here actually care about the students and how you do.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, Geneseo is a safe campus. There are Blue Lights spread throughout campus, a location where you can directly contact the police, in case of an emergency. Geneseo's small school vibe contributes, I believe, to a feeling of safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Geneseo offers a slew of on campus clubs and activities including (but certainly not limited to) intramural sports, Quidditch, GOLD (Geneseo Opportunities for Leadership Development), Greek, and a variety of other special interest clubs. If there's not a club for you, there's always the option of creating a new one!

    Great for these types of students

    hardworking, ambitious students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gazebo is central on campus, looking over the Genesee Valley, and it is said that if you kiss your love there as the sun sets, you two will be together forever. Geneseo also has a Greek Tree, which is traditionally painted by frats/sororities; the Seuss Spruce, a gnarled tree that looks like something from a Dr. Seuss book; and the IB, the ultimate weekend hangout for most students.

    Bang for the buck

    As a public SUNY school, the cost is incredibly low compared to any private schools, and I believe the education you're paying for is far superior. Though I often complain of the heavy workload, I know that it is worth it -- this isn't just schoolwork to keep me busy as it was in high school; this is information that I'll use in a career for the rest of my life. In general, Geneseo is a good price for what you're getting.

    What to do for fun

    Geneseo is, admittedly, in the middle of nowhere, but there is still quite a bit to do. Geneseo offers a huge scope of clubs, varsity/intramural sports, presentations by guest speakers, theatrical/dance performances, and, of course, college-town nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    One of the dining halls is under construction at the moment, which for the time being is quite severely restricting where students can eat, but it is manageable. The food is decent, considering this is a college campus after all, but vegetarian options are lacking.

    Dorm Life

    In my experience, I've found the on campus housing to be quite nice. In the two buildings I've lived in in the past year and a half, both have had a lovely community feeling. In a small school, you'll find yourself seeing the same people often and forming friendships with them.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Geneseo definitely lives up to its nickname of the 'public Ivy.' There is certainly a heavy workload that comes along with being a Geneseo student, but it's nothing unmanageable. Students here work hard for their excellent marks.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused- people who know exactly what they want out of life and are not going to change their mind.

    What to do for fun

    Geneseo LateKnight has activities for people who don't want to go out to a party, they are generally a lot of fun. Rochester is nearby so there's a mall, restaraunts, and whatever else you need within driving distance. Bars in Geneseo aren't the best, but aren't horrible either- except for the IB, it's a dump.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms (and most others) are falling apart. Room size is decent, except certain suites have bedrooms that are different sizes, and the small ones are SMALL (very difficult to live in if you don't like your roommate)

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others (obviously). I don't think any of the classes I took were especially difficult, but it was hard to keep on track because they were dreadfully boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out your academic career in advance. Make a schedule of all the classes you'll need to take and put them in an outline for the next 4 years. It's very hard to get into classes here, so make sure you have back-ups. You need a clear plan coming into this school. Be serious about it.

    In three sentences

    If you're unsure what you'd like to do with your life/what major you'd like to be, do NOT go to Geneseo. It's a good school for students who have a clear focus on what they want. However, if you're interested in multiple subjects, or you like to explore/try out new things, this is not the place for you.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Greek tree on campus that has more than three inches of paint on it from various organizations through the years!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great place that just feels right.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening! For example, there are broom ball leagues or places to go on Main Street. If nothing on campus is enticing, Rochester is only 40 minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    For college food, there are lots of options! There are several different places to buy food. The only downsides are the prices for the meal plans for first years and the hours for some of the restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms, though not the most fancy around, have a fun atmosphere and are nicely sized to house two people.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what program, Geneseo is sure to be challenging but not too overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to apply! Though it is a New York state school, Kiplinger has ranked it number one for value for out of state students!

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a wonderful college; the atmosphere is inviting and the people are friendly. The campus is beautiful and the professors are professional and nice. Overall, it is a great place to be.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on SUNY Geneseo's campus. In fact, coming from an urban city area I tend to let my guard down in Geneseo more than when I am in New York City. I feel safe and confident by the fact that there are Blue Light Emergency phone systems all around campus to provide students with help in case of emergencies. There are peer advocates and staff available to talk and help students with any problems they may have and so I feel very safe on Geneseo's campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Geneseo's college union provides a variety of events, activities, and organizations as well as dining choices for the student body. There are many on campus organizations such as Black Student Union (BSU), Korean American Student Association (KASA), Japanese Culture Club (JCC), Geneseo Bhangra, Geneseo Chinese Club (GCC), etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The most popular sport in Geneseo is hockey. There is no football. But, other sports such as basketball, soccer, lacrosse, rugby, volleyball, and so on have a good number of attendees. The university is currently building a soccer field and stadium and renovating one of its gymnasiums.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of things to do for fun on and off-campus in SUNY Geneseo depending on the individual. Midnight movies at the Geneseo theaters, bowling at Livingston Lanes, trips to walmart, the In Between (club/bar off-campus popularly known as the IB), Union activities and events and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Geneseo offers a variety of options for both on and off-campus dining. I personally prefer the Fusion Market and Starbucks cafe. Fusion Market gives ethnic food options that you are most likely to see in a city area rather than a rural setting and so students are generally satisfied with the menu options. Starbucks provides you with your favorite coffee, non-coffee food options which most people are happy about considering you don't have to go very far. I am also pleased about the breakfast options at Mary Jemison dining hall: English Muffin with Sausage, Egg & Cheese (yummm!)

    Dorm Life

    Dorming can be a great experience with the right folks. Most of Geneseo's dorm buildings have been renovated and remodeled and have a great architectural look to them. Dorming gives you the ease of access to academic buildings and dining halls located not far apart on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    SUNY Geneseo's academic life is definitely a challenge. No one gets away with a good or decent grade without doing a sufficient amount of work for his/her course. Geneseo isn't the top SUNY for nothing!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student coming from a big city, be prepared for a culture shock. However, if Geneseo is the place for you you will definitely feel at home.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Geneseo is a great university for any prospective students looking for a challenge. Attending Geneseo is super cheap compared to most rigorous universities. And the SUNY Geneseo campus provides a wide variety of food options that are unique because of its rural setting.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots to do for people who love the outdoors...shopping just a half hour away!

    Tips for prospective students

    VIST and talk to faculty

    In three sentences

    Great small campus! Makes me feel at home...Love the old buildings

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well....there's a Wegmans, Walmart and movie theater about 5 minutes drive off campus...

    Food and Dining

    It's college food. There are times when nothing sounds good or looks edible but then there are some shining days.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are definitely better than others, but none of them are terrible places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be put to the test here. Classes aren't really intimidating but they prove challenging even at the 100 level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, you'll do a lot of work once you get here so you'll want to have a good work ethic already.

    In three sentences

    A friendly place to go to school. You will get a very personal experience. Even the food is good.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's reasonable and worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The only thing they do for fun: getting wasted.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is terrible and over-priced.

    Dorm Life

    It's fun if you meet the right people.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent science programs, especially Biology and Physics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to Geneseo if you are looking for the kind of excitement and fun you can get in a big city.

    In three sentences

    A small college with excellent academic programs for science and business. The dining halls and the food are beyond terrible. Not much entertainment around campus.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New York State has given SUNY Geneseo a large grant for campus safety. There is more police than they know what to do with. Definitely a safe campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is prevalent. You'll see that mark of the Greeks everyday, on the Greek Tree in Central Geneseo.

    Clubs and Activities

    In Geneseo, there is a club for everything (somme official, some not). You just have to look hard enough.

    Great for these types of students

    Geneseo is for the social and unsocial nerds. Really any sort of intelligent nerdy dork is more than welcomed.

    Bang for the buck

    Geneseo is definitely one of the best colleges are your money. It's a SUNY school so the price is kept down and the academics are excellent.

    What to do for fun

    Broomball! You have to know someone in Genny to understand. It's a Geneseo sport.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Geneseo is average to most SUNY schools. Fried this and that but you can always find ethnic and healthy options if you look.

    Dorm Life

    Geneseo is a college town, so the dorm life IS the life. Most live on campus and there is always an event going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Geneseo is considered Public Ivy for a reason. This is the hardest SUNY school to get into and has a applicant pool of some of the most well-rounded nerdy people I have ever met. It's an Ivy for the Middle Class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out you FAFSA and TAP early. Thats about all the aid you're going to get at a SUNY school.

    In three sentences

    Geneseo is a small college with excellent academics. It is a SUNY school, thus funded by New York State. It has a very strong, wealthy alumni base.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    university police do not play but they are cool people

    Greek Life

    Greek life is good, but can get loud on bid weekend

    Clubs and Activities

    literally we have almost any club you can think of

    Great for these types of students

    students hat like to be challenge, are big on hockey, like to work out

    What to do for fun

    when I do go out, if you are a good student this will be rare , I hang out with my team mates

    Food and Dining

    food is good here 80% of the time.

    Dorm Life

    it depends on where you live. each place has its benefits and downs.

    Academic Rigor

    academics here is tough. if you never studied a day in your life (like me), you are going to learn to study once you get here.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you have good grades and qualities that make you unique.

    In three sentences

    this place has an amazing view. feels like you are on the country side. I love it here.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Absolute academic superstars who can't afford the Ivy League. If you get into the Honors Program, I might go for it. People who like a peaceful place, academically challenging place to learn and know that getting an A could be very, very hard.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education for the price, but there are other SUNYs and colleges where you might be happier.

    What to do for fun

    Musical theater, Festival Chorus, stage musicals, GLBF, engaged in many stimulating conversations with some very bright students. Made great friends who were nice but also jaded by the academics and humdrum atmosphere of Geneseo.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad. Not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Too noisy. Kids partied and got drunk too much. Difficult to concentrate or learn sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous classes but disappointing when you got a B or lower just because. Science professors often take an academically Darwinian approach to their courses. Someone I know scored a 1540 in two sections of the SAT, and got a C- in biology. Academic rigor is good, but when you apply to graduate school, you can't use the stringent grading system from Geneseo as an excuse for not having a stellar transcript.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't recommend Geneseo to prospective students. Chances are, if you're applying to Geneseo, you're (very) strong academically. Shoot for the Ivies, if you could get in. If you don't make it or can't afford it, you may want to look for a college where you could 1) really stand out academically and 2) learn because of your professors, not despite them. Premed majors were weeded out very early on. I was accepted to Vanderbilt, and classmates of mine were accepted to the Ivies. Still, we were happy to have GPAs just above 3.0. I ranked in the top 7% of my class and had strong SATs. I was involved on campus, had some friends and many good acquaintances. Still, I was very disappointed overall with my Geneseo experience.

    In three sentences

    The students are homogeneous and boring. The professors are a mixed batch, but they are often arrogant and condescending, letting us know early on that we're not as smart as we think. Geneseo often attracts many,many bright students, but often only the brightest of the bright will truly stand out.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It is very big in this school

    What to do for fun

    If you're not in a sorority or doing some kind of sport, you probably will not be attending very good parties. A lot of clubs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Food gets very boring and the same thing every single day, not very good quality

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is ok, depending where you choose to live.

    Academic Rigor

    VERY VERY rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are very outgoing, people don't like making friends to much in this school. That you like the winter because it is super cold up here

    In three sentences

    1: If you are not into the school it will be very hard to pass your classes 2: some teachers will never know who you are or your name 3: counselors neither