Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY at Purchase College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists, Hipsters

    Tips for prospective students

    Build a strong portfolio and come ready to work!

    Am enjoying being here

    At first you may be underwhelmed by the general appearance of the campus, but once you start getting involved in any of the school activities you'll never want to leave!

    Am learning a lot

    This is a great college for anyone studying any of the Visual Arts. There are endless resources available.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kids who aren't afraid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick your neck out. It's what makes everything worth while.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorm living, not awesome. But you're a freshman, that's supposed to be the worst part! It gets better when you move into the apartments.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's never a lack in opportunities to get involved, be active, and make moves. You've just got to be motivated.

    Am learning a lot

    Every professor has life lessons to share, so even the gen eds are worth investing yourself in. Professors are knowledgeable and care.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are boxes with a button you press if you feel you aren't safe and security guards will come right away and walk you where you need to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    cheese club!

    Great for these types of students

    artists, hippies, hipsters, anyone laid back/calm.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    if you go into the quad, there's almost always someone singing, playing guitar, or doing something entertaining.

    Bang for the buck

    when compared to most schools, i find this school to be priced very reasonably.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on at purchase, you won't be bored. there's clubs, including the popular cheese club, and you can take a train right to the city for fun.

    Food and Dining

    there are many different options, including vegan, which is great.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms seem to be more satisfying as you get older, but even the freshman dorms were fine by me.

    Academic Rigor

    there are so many courses offered, and each professor cares about teaching their students.

    In three sentences

    i have been here twice, once for a regular visit, and once for national portfolio day, and i immediately felt like this was the school for me. it's a very welcoming and calm environment. i feel any individual will grow and expand their horizons here.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Yes the campus isn't the prettiest but it is a great school and if you are doing what you love than you'll have a great time. Also the conservatory program is amazing.

  • 11/04/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 24 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being at Purchase

    Will learn a lot

    I hope to learn a lot if i get accepted into Purchase

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Extremely reasonable costs

    Will enjoy being here

    There seemed to be alot of activities ti go to

    Will learn a lot

    Fantastic studios

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is something for everything because of the diversity of clubs offered here. as well as being a ten minute drive or a purchase bus ride away from white plains which has three malls, many different restaurants and a train into new york city.

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok, its good for dorm food and the chefs here come up with some unique food combinations (like chicken and potato eggs) and theme days (wacky wing wednesday or ice cream friday). purchase college is also one of the top ten vegan friendly colleges in america.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms here are all nice but in the older ones you have to walk up the stairs which makes moving in and out hard if you don't live on the basement floor but the newer ones have elevator. it is easier to make connection with the other people who live on the same floor as you then in the the newer dorms. there is also in-campus apartments were students may have more freedom.

    Academic Rigor

    the type of classes offered here range from the arts (like art history and acting classes) to business (like economics and management classes). the advisers all try to help the students under their care and answer any questions they may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    three things come in mind one: to come here you must to open minded. two: be ready to see things that may not have seen in the out side world. three: have a car or a friend with a car just in case the purchase buses stop working.

    In three sentences

    this campus has a unique style from the students that go here to the buildings not being a the norm. the blend of people from different backgrounds and countries make acceptance here easy for everyone. this college maybe a suny college but it lets us students show off their creative skills.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus may seem dark and gloomy at times so many worry about safety when walking around at night. There are several stations on campus in which you press a button if you feel in danger or uncomfortable walking by yourself, and a campus police officer will come to that location in no time. Plus the police are very friendly and always willing to escort you if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    I have not heard of much of a Greek life on campus. It's a very artsy school so that doesn't seem to be a big deal on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs! And they are so many varieties as well. You can join the Cheese club, yes it is what it sounds, they provide cheese tastings and you get to stand around chatting with others and eating awesome free food. There is a highly active feminist club and well as an LGBTQ club. Then there are more random and fun clubs such as the DDR club, the Anime club, and the LARPing club. Also there are great cultural club that host great events on campus such as dances and food events. Overall great campus for clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, musicians, and all creative types. There are so many events for art viewings and workshops. As well as concerts going on in The Stood every week. Purchase is definitely an arts school but the other big part of this school is the Biology students. I would say about one third of the students in Purchase are bio majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Culture Fest has to be one of the most known traditions on campus. It is a festival of live music, carnival rides, parties on the lawn and so much more. It happens every year in Spring and even has it's own Wikipedia. Another great yearly event is Zombie Prom. This is a dance in which students and guests dress up like the undead and get to dance the night away covered in fake blood and guts, my personal favorite event.

    Bang for the buck

    Great cost for a school that offers so much. Most art schools are very expensive, but Purchase is a super affordable school where students can get the most from their money spent. In state tuition plus housing and meal plans tends to be around twenty grand a year, which is a bargain if you ask me.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS some kind of activity being held on campus. You can always find something to do and if you don't know where to find it there are always other students who probably know of something going on. Since the school happens to be located in the middle of the woods, I feel the students and faculty on campus try to make the most of it by doing as much around the grounds. Students can get a full listing of daily events on the Purchase website which includes what time and where.

    Food and Dining

    Purchase is known for being one of the most vegetarian/vegan friendly campuses in the country. There is a wide variety of healthy foods to choose from as well as good old junk food. The Starbucks on campus is great and usually very crowded, hey New Yorkers need their Starbucks. The Starbucks is also known for having the most variety of sandwiches in the country. Terra Ve is the campus's all vegetarian dining hall. There is also the Hub, which is open the latest out of all dining facilities on campus so it's great for late night cravings. The Hub is a mix of a mini mart and a food court. You can get chips and dip, candy and all that good stuff as well as grab yourself a hot meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms. Most people would prefer to live in the apartments (the Olde, the New, and Alumni Village) because those are where the parties and social gatherings happen. If you get stuck in the New (also known as the Commons), you will have quite a walk to the main campus since it is the furthest out of all the forming facilities. But in return you get to have the most up to date apartments on campus. Dorm at purchase is like a roller coaster, at times it is very relaxing and others it is very hectic. Overall though it is a great experience to life on campus and I would suggest trying it out for at least the first two semesters.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great, the professors really try to teach you everything you could possibly learn in one semester. Challenging classes that take you to a whole other level. If you start out a novice in the subject of the class you are taking, you will be a pro by the time finals come. Great learning but you have to try, if you think just because it's an art school that the classes will be easy, you better think again. The professor expect the most from their students and students expect to get the most out of their class experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes are fun but VERY challenging. This is a hard school to get into for incoming high school graduates so I suggest going to a two year school and then transferring in. If you transfer you have a much higher chance of getting in. Make sure you try different classes to test out what you may want to do. The school is full of people who double major and minor in so many things. That is because there are so many majors and minors to choose from as well as a HUGE variety of classes to take.

    In three sentences

    Purchase is a very diverse and open minded college. Highly excepting of different ethnicities, religious beliefs, and a gender/sexuality preferences. If you were considered the weird/artsy/activist/burnout/nerdy or any other label in high school, well this is most likely a great school choice.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are NY State Troopers.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Socially aware and active in the Purchase community and the International community.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded, friendly, creative, fun loving, creators.

    Bang for the buck

    Education at Purchase College is comprable to that of Pratt institute, Parsons New School of Design, and the School of Visual Arts. The price, however, amounts to almost half of the competition.

    What to do for fun

    With White Plains and Port Chester minutes away and accessible by a free bus system, opportunities are endless for fun activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be prepared for a demanding program, but also a warm community of diverse talents.

    In three sentences

    Purchase College is a hidden gem, competing with New York City's best art schools. Its programs are rigorous and competitive, but the culture of the school is in no way hindered by this competition. Students are one body, a collaboration of talent, to create what is SUNY at Purchase College.

  • 10/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    This college has just about everything that I want. I hope that I get accepted into Purchase because once i visited the campus, I almost immediately felt at home. The thing that really blew me away was a couple of weeks ago I actually got a handwritten postcard thanking me for visiting their campus. It was so refreshing and welcoming to have a handwritten card from them, as opposed to a typed paper that had the signature on it printed out from a copier.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not so bad, I commute, but from far, so I do eat on campus a lot. It's not horrible. The pizza isn't always cooked all the way.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but I hear it's pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging and enlightening. But not overbearing.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are plenty of opportunities for doing great things here, don't waste them.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Purchase has a very liberal and active student body. The campus is undergoing quite a bit of remodeling. Students and faculty are very encouraging here.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a state police department located on campus which works closely with the community. I have never felt unsafe at any time and if I ever needed assistance, I feel confident that my needs would be met appropriately.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Purchase.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, outgoing, creative, self-motivated, collaborators

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall ball is the annual drag-show located in the student center (Stood). Dress up, or not, sign up to perform or enjoy the show...this is one of the most popular events at Purchase!

    Food and Dining

    There is a vegetarian eatery (Terra Ve), a main dining hall (buffet style), a pay per item option (the Hub), and Starbucks. All of these places accept the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Get your housing request in as early as possible! As you get older, the housing options are better.

    Academic Rigor

    The journalism department has been outstanding in improving my writing and opening up internship opportunities. Across all areas of study, internships are encouraged and the Career Development Center is a great resource to get started. The faculty are all experienced in their field and bring their real-world expertise into the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Purchase college is a diverse community that encourages collaboration and creativity. Students in different areas of study often work together on projects to diversify their work and broaden their learning experience. Purchase offers a place for everyone to feel comfortable while also offering room to grow.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus you can find so many interesting things such as the swings in the middle of the woods. As far as traditions we all can't wait until Zombie Prom and Culture Shock.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs that are waiting for you here. Specifically the Nerf club and the Larp Club.

    Food and Dining

    There are 4 Places to eat on campus. The Dining Hall, an all you can eat buffet, The Hub, where you can get deli, italian, mexican, or burgers, Terra Ve, a strictly vegetarian area, and Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small and could be better maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are part of a conservatory, the academics are one of a kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in one particular art, this is the place to really hone in on your skills by joining a conservatory.

    In three sentences

    An environment for people to genuinely express themselves freely. If you are interested in one particular art, this is the place to really hone in on your skills by joining a conservatory.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has own police head quaters on campus, again for safety reasons do not attend culture shock.

    Greek Life

    Does not apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous for art, psychology, history, and political science majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Heavy into art and psychology students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Culture Shock, dangerous at night. Surprised it has not been suspended.

    Bang for the buck

    Degree only for the major I'm taking.

    What to do for fun

    Numerous art affairs.

    Food and Dining

    It would be best to eat off campus. Too expensive for the quality.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Proffers are very rigid in the political science department and demanding on students. Good for challenging the mind to think out of the box. There is no slacking by the educators.

    Tips for prospective students

    If looking into an undergraduate degree for history, arts, or psychology Purchase offers great courses.

    In three sentences

    The faculty give strong support for students with questions on the class assignments and structure. Fellow students are hospitable, and are good sources to grow and challenge oneself.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Purchase is a safe city/town, but you may feel uneasy walking around campus alone at night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities that I showed interest in were not the best, they felt unfulfilling and it felt as if most members were not fully on board. Organization was not great, members didn't attend meetings regularly. However, I appreciate the free yoga and meditation offered at multiple times throughout the day.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded,unique, and overall genuine in their desire to learn as well as their sincerity with regards to being true to themselves regardless of any social pressure that dictates otherwise.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Center (better known as The Stood) is a dark graffiti filled space with concrete floors. Events are held there often one of which is the annual Zombie Prom. During the year local bands play shows there, a student run tag sale or book drive is held, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely the best education and experience you could get out of a public university.

    What to do for fun

    I've recently started doing a lot of craft projects. I also enjoy listening to music, shopping, dancing, and laughing with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Very nutritious and satisfying food is served at Terra Ve, however the wait is usually absurdly long, There is also a Starbucks on campus that stays open until 11pm, great for late night studying. The other two dining halls were significantly less enjoyable in comparison.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be very difficult, but I think it mostly depends on individual comfortability and respect of (and received by) who you live with during this very stressful and unique few years of ones life. I think the experience varies a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is required and expected of the students. All courses of study offered are notably rigorous-not just the conservatories. The sciences at purchase are equally as rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to impress anyone, just be relaxed and act like yourself.

    In three sentences

    Amazing professors. A mostly diverse student body. A great education not just for a state school but compared to any private school.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    really god

    Academic Rigor

    Hard

    In three sentences

    It is my best option to study dance, great program, awesome training

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombi prom Fall ball Fall Fest Culture Shock ect :)

    What to do for fun

    Nature, NYC, art shows, Dance shows, Plays and an abundance of resources and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    look up the almni and staff in your program that alone stands on its own and, and justifies purchase's amazing reputation.

    In three sentences

    Purchase is home of the artist, the open minded student, and the most welcoming environment. If your searching for for a college campus that truly feels like home Purchase can be your home.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New York State Troopers are the campus security, and they patrol frequently.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are literally hundreds of club and groups around campus, my personal favorite being the Nerf Club which takes over the Humanities building once a week for a night of foam darts and mayhem and occasionally hosts games of Humans Vs. Zombies.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, Artistic, Open-Minded.

    What to do for fun

    Port Chester and White Plains aren't terribly large towns, but they have a variety of stores, movie theaters, parks, and the like. There is also a free bus that makes it into White Plains every hour and Port Chester several times a day. Also, it's important to note that getting to NYC is very easy: just take the free bus from campus to White Plains and take a train ($7.50 one way).

    Food and Dining

    There are several options for food on campus. The Dining Hall offers the standard cafeteria-style food. The Hub has a burger joint, a small mexican place, a deli counter, and of course, pizza. Terra Ve is a vegetarian eatery. There is also a Starbucks on the ground floor of one of the dorms that does accept the Purchase meal plan. Also, there is a Food Cooperative that is sometimes open above the Dining Hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly standard; four main dormitories, a wellness dorm, and three on-campus apartment communities. Residence Life can sometimes be difficult to deal with, however.

    Academic Rigor

    It's up to you to take challenging courses and engage yourself, and if you choose to do that then rest assured the resources are available to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Creative minds encouraged -- that's why the motto is Think Wide Open! You'll meet a wide variety of people with vastly differing opinions, and it's important to keep yourself open to suggestions; someone out there might just change your mind for the better!

    In three sentences

    Purchase College is an excellent school geared toward providing students with a well-rounded liberal arts education. Individual creativity is important, as evidenced by the well-respected Conservatory programs in Dance, Theatre, and Music in addition to the plethora of non-Conservatory majors. Students are also asked to complete a 2 semester senior project that will demonstrate their intellectual growth.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am not much of a food critic.

    Dorm Life

    I really can not say for I have not attended.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that this school probably has a fair amount of difficult work.

    In three sentences

    I believe Purchase College is a school I would like to attend because of the variety of experiences one can receive. I also heard that the faculty are great. I believe Purchase is an awesome school.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UDP has is always on campus and they check the traffic coming into the campus mainly on weekends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs. Namely: the cheese club (name implies what its about), GRIOT (spoken word poetry club), LGBLT, OPIA & SOCA (for student of african ancestry), chess club, hip-hop club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like relaxing your mind and going on trips ;-) great place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a cemetery on campus but nothing to be freaked out about.

    Bang for the buck

    the campus is in the middle of nowhere so its a good idea if you drive to get close to civilization. The campus shuttle bus is always available to transport you to white plains or port chester.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the stood for the parties on the weekend. Have parties in your room.

    Food and Dining

    The food at first may not taste bad but once you start eating it day in day out you realize how terrible it is. The food at the Vegetarian restaurant on campus is possibly the best.

    Dorm Life

    Quite sociable. Lots of fun once you get to know the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work and be really rigorous. Be expected to put in a lot of hours into homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very open minded and don't discriminate against sexual orientation.

    In three sentences

    Good school especially if your in the art field. Great dance, acting and music conservatory. Friendly atmosphere.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, socialize, and take the Loop to White Plains.

    Food and Dining

    Four different dining facilities with meals catered to vegans and vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not up to date, but they are stereotypical for a college dorm. There are many different living situations to choose from. The student population enjoys being active and social.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school to ensure that SUNY Purchase is right for you. Meet and talk to professors and students in your major. Sit in on a class or shadow a student for a day.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Purchase is a relatively small, nurturing school. The student population is welcoming and academically stimulating. The professors are passionate about the classes they teach. Purchase is the perfect school for students who are excited to learn and do so in a challenging setting.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good campus police

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    nerf, cheese club,

    Great for these types of students

    different

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    well there is fall ball: a giant drag show, and zombie prom

    What to do for fun

    Well the student center is cool. and theres always the gym.

    Food and Dining

    great for the first two weeks then your like I want real food

    Dorm Life

    kinda sucks not gonna lie

    Academic Rigor

    for the Design/Technology BFA program any way

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here for theater, or for arts of any kind. Be sure and have all of your ducks in a row and look professional for your interview/audition.

    In three sentences

    If you want a school for the theater arts then this is it. If you want a school for science keep looking. The school has a nick name SUNY Poor Choice.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Arts students, performing arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cemetery on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    As said, an affordable option for anyone who wants an extensive education, especially arts students.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of great events on campus like Fall Ball, Zombie Prom and Culture Shock (a music festival on campus) but if you want more, NYC is a quick half hour train ride away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall isn't great but luckily there are better food options around campus, like Terra Ve (a vegan restaurant) and Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not the nicest, especially if you're a freshman, but it does get better over time. As an upperclassman, you have more options with Outback, Fort Awesome and even apartments on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major and what classes you take, but it can be manageable if you are smart with your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for NY state residency for a lowered tuition rate. Apply for lots of scholarships as well. Apply for housing early.

    In three sentences

    Friendly students and communities. Affordable and comprehensive education. Not a pretty campus, but you get what you need from it.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an annual music festival known as Culture Shock, where professional and well known artist perform on our campus for a weekend long adventure. Different artist fly in from all over the country to entertain our students. Celebrities such as Drake, Iggy Azalea, and Destiny's Child have been some of the past performers.

    What to do for fun

    For recreational purposes the campus has a lot of open fields and nature life for people to relax and explore in. We also have a number of performances throughout the year produced by dancers, actors, and other artists who wish to display their field of study more publicly. The weekends are filled with live music and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    SUNY Purchase has three dining areas, including one specifically for vegetarians. Each dining hall offers a different kind of food and have regular hours. Food is always accessible for whenever you need it.

    Dorm Life

    Residential halls improve in quality as you progress annually through the school. The more credits you obtain, the better your living standards become. Overall, the dorms are all livable and may offer challenges every now and then.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your choice of study Purchase College can be extremely challenging. The level of academic challenge can vary but in general it is a lot to handle. The professors offer a lot of insight into subjects of choice that challenge each student differently.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective student I would recommend maintaining an open mind to the campus environment. It may take some time to adjust but remain patient throughout this process. Depending on your major, your schedule will most likely be pretty busy, so I would highly recommend at least 7 hours of sleep every night.

    In three sentences

    My school is excellent for any student pursuing a career in the performing arts. We house the top facilities as well as educational instructors for doing so. In general the social and working environment is extremely positive and will lead you to nothing but success.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a university police department and police call boxes located on campus. Other than that, you're on your own. It's a large campus, and there are a lot of woods and things. At night it is poorly lit. Also, the freshman dorms are connected to these underground tunnels, one of which leads to a loading dock. This loading dock is often open/unlocked. Literally anyone could come in if they wanted, in fact I'm sure they have. We've had a lot of sexual assaults and things, so watch out. Keep your wits about you and hopefully you'll be alright. Culture Shock and Zombie Prom are probably the most dangerous times during the school year. Watch out for strange looking people who seem like they're staking out easy entry points around the dorms (especially the ground-level freshman dorms) in the days leading up to these events. It's actually a problem, my friends and I had to call the cops one time because we saw a guy in his 50s with a notepad and a camera snooping around the freshman dorms. The campus is technically public property so anyone and their mother can just walk on.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs meet really late on weeknights, so screw that. I've tried starting clubs here. It's a long tedious bureaucratic process that takes all the fun out of everything. Also, oftentimes no one shows up to them. Obviously there are exceptions, but those are mostly the sexual and ethnic themed clubs, like SOCA or LGBTQU.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists (for now), Kids looking to play D3 sports, Drag Queens, basically the left-most side of the political spectrum.

    Bang for the buck

    The biggest thing this school has going for it is the price. That's why I came, because I'm broke. Otherwise I would so have preferred a private school, or maybe even another state school. This place is terribly underfunded, so the facilities suck and the staff can be thin in certain majors. If you're looking for a BA in the liberal arts, it's cool because you can do your undergrad pretty cheap. If you're looking for a BFA and get into a conservatory, then congratulations on getting to utilize the majority of this schools funds. It's probably a better school for commuters. If you're close enough, don't live here.

    What to do for fun

    You want the honest answer? Drinking and drugs. That's what there is to do. Well, alright we do have activities, but they're often dull and not very engaging. Most of the school sponsored dance parties are the ones by Latinos Unidos and SOCA, which can be really fun, but if it's not your type of music (latin, hip-hop, jamaican dancehall) then you're probably not going to find many dance parties, unless you find an apartment party with music you like. That said, at most apartment parties there's very little room so you can barely dance, and they get shut down quick anyway. This is why most people here pass the time by smoking themselves silly or drinking until they pass out. Or by taking heroin or something. Apparently we also have a heroin problem here.

    Food and Dining

    I think Purchase is infamous for how terrible the food is. The Dining Hall (which we lovingly call D-Hall) is by far the worst but it's all-you-can-eat so there's that. There's the Hub, which is basically like a food court in a trashy suburban mall. Everything there is either dripping with grease or laden with salt. Then there's Terra Ve, which is our vegetarian option. They bill it as being healthier or something but that's really a load of bull. It's mostly all carbs and it's all deep-fried. We do have a Starbucks. That's basically like any other Starbucks out there, except you can use your meal card there. Of course, it's super expensive so you'll probably spend all your meals in a week if you're a regular.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the facilities are absolute crap. The ones that have been renovated or more recently constructed may look a bit shinier, but the quality is very low. It's very easy to cause damages in the dorms/apartments and at the end of the year they go through with a fine-toothed comb, so you can be sure that you will be charged for anything wrong. One year I was charged $30 just because there was a gum wrapper on the floor...seriously. As for Residence Life, they have gotten EXTREMELY strict in the past few years. For the most part, any parties are shut down within an hour of starting. That said, any time you have anyone other than the assigned people in your living space, ResLife considers it a party. If you make any noise that can be heard outside of your room/apartment, you can expect to hear a knock at the door and then have to explain yourself to an RA. They are VERY quick to call the university police on you, but it's typically alright because the cops here don't really care. Most of the ResLife staff are actually students and they have a tendency to go on crazy power trips. They're often extremely condescending, but are more or less at their liberty to write you up for whatever, even for so much as the tone of your voice. Basically, it sucks. Also, they just banned cigarettes. If that's a plus for you, great. For me, it means withdrawal.

    Academic Rigor

    It's 50/50. Depending on your professor, class, or major, work can be either extremely easy or extremely difficult. It's pretty easy to gauge which classes will be harder. I've noticed for many classes they force you to buy these super expensive textbooks and for the most part you can get away with never even opening them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your politics are anything other than totally hardcore liberal, then you're going to have a bad time. I mean this seriously. I find that a lot of people here are so liberal it makes them close-minded. If you say anything that can be remotely construed as politically incorrect, someone WILL call you out on it, whether you deserve it or not, and then people will gang up on you. I've seen this happen to people. You almost want to try and help them out but you don't want people to turn on you too.

    In three sentences

    Purchase is a great school if you're looking for cheaper tuition and can look past mediocre programs and sub-par facilities. Visual artists will probably like it here more than anyone else. It's also one of those places where people go so out of their way to be original that they tend to all be the same.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NONE, and that's the beauty of it.

    What to do for fun

    The Stood, White Plains, Everyone on Campus

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere, professors, and education at this school are all phenomenal. Being at Purchase, one really feels like something special. You are part of community unlike any other school!