Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Sacramento City College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCC is great for students wanting to go a community college that truly has a university feel. There is a great diversity of students, regarding age and race. The library is a great resource, and the teachers are awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I can offer is to make sure to research all the clubs and organizations this college offers! Especially if you are planning on transferring. There are many organizations that can help you be accepted into the university of your choice.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great here at our school. they know how to solve things very well and fast too.

    Greek Life

    i'm not in any sorority so i'm not sure when it comes to this subject.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over 20 clubs. i can list a couple for you guys: hmong club, spanish club, korean, japanese, dance club, debate team, singing club, and etc.. i am positive that anyone can find a club to match their interest.

    Great for these types of students

    our campus is great for foreign exchange students because if you are one, you can connect with other foreign exchange students who are already attending.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an unusual tradition that we have here at scc is that during the middle of the semester we have many people come to our campus and sell things, so its like a flee market.

    Bang for the buck

    if you are a person who is on a budget for books, make sure you ask around for cheap books and read the bulletins for books that students are selling.

    What to do for fun

    there are many things around the campus to do for fun. there is a park across the street if you need some fresh air, there are many fast food chains across the street, and a really great library on campus for those who love to read.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great because there are many variety to chose from but the only bad thing about it is that its pretty pricing.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home and drive myself to class everyday so i am not sure about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    do all your work by yourself and do not plagiarize because there will be consequences.

    Tips for prospective students

    a very good tip is to come an hour before your class so you could find parking.

    In three sentences

    sacramento city college is a great place to meet new people. the professors are kind and gives attention to every student. the campus is beautiful and the classes are also very easy to find.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is beneficial to anyone wanting to better themselves. People of all races and backgrounds attend this school and they have a wonderful transfer program as well as multitude of certification programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into all resources such as R.I.S.E, EOPS, and the on campus tutoring. They are a tremendous help. Also stay in close contact with a counselor to help you stay on track with your goals and form a study group!

    Bang for the buck

    Sac City has so many resources like the Bogg waiver fee, low cost parking passes, and help with financial aid that makes it extremely affordable to attend

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the look and feel of the college, as close as you can get to a four year university. I find the students to be a lot more focused and driven than other community colleges I've visited

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers do a good job of explaining each subject to the fullest and making sure each student understands whats going on before they move on

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school seems to be great for students who are hardworkers, who loves to go to school and will work their way up to the top. Its seems to be simple and easy. Just attend and quickly, if you work hard with a passion, then you'll eventually make it through.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is that, you should work hard and stay focus in school. Join clubs and organizations that will help benefit you and you can turn to when you are in need of help.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're trying to get your AA, this would obviously be the place for you. Still, even if you plan to earn a four-year degree, I recommend SCC. It will save you tons of cash!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aggressive! Unlike smaller colleges/universities which coddle students, SCC expects you to be a self-motivated individual. Make those counseling appointments, and be sure you are taking only the courses you need.

    Bang for the buck

    This is why I recommend Sac City. It will save you a literal fortune! Plus, if you didn't get in to your dream school (like me), this gives you a few years to try again.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like this school in the same way I liked my high school experience. It has so far proved to be manageable (I always take more than the required 12 units), and the student body is refreshingly very diverse. The main campus is really quite lovely, but can get a little seedy after hours. Parking is a NIGHTMARE, but I suppose that comes with the territory.

    Am learning a lot

    I have really learned a lot so far, and I'm glad I chose to spend my two years here instead of at UC, as was my initial plan. The general education stuff is all basically the same anyway, and there are some very helpful counselors here to ensure you're on your way (if you do, in fact, wish to transfer). I take classes out at the Davis center (~20 minutes away from the main site), and, because of its location, many of my professors also teach at UCD. It is kind of funny (or sad?) that I have friends taking literally the same classes from the same professors... For a whole lot more per unit.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students who want to maintain focus and graduate quickly. There is time goof off but this is honestly a school which has many resources that will help you in the future. Talk to your professors many are happy to help you out even when you are no longer in their class. Maintain a good standing with them they can and will help you in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students coming in I say study as much math and English before taking your placement tests. Many classes require prerequisites of higher level math and English and placing high in both these fields cuts down a considerably large amount of time. Apply for EOPS they offer book assistance to help pay for textbooks and you are not required to give a dime back, also you recieve zero priority status when enrolling for classes. This is a must since there are more students enrolling than graduating. Apply for financial aid if you are a full-time student, there is a financial aid center to help you fill out your application, if needed, on campus. Register with RISE. RISE is a great place to do homework and build up on networking skills and meet students who are serious about school. Also, RISE has a book lending program and also offers free trips to California Universities. Register for Math Lab. They offer free tutoring for math students. All the way up to calculus, just figure out the schedule for whoever is your preferred tutor and schedule your study time around that. Check out all the clubs you can. Networking has become the stepping stone into getting a job and many clubs on campus hold events to meet important people in careers you care about. Last but definitely not least meet with a counselor, EOPS has counselors you can consult with and there are many more, but let them know what your plans are so they help build an Ed Plan with you. This way your not wasting your time taking classes you do not need.

    Bang for the buck

    The board of governor's fee waiver helps out a lot to those who qualify ultimately paying around $5.00 to $10.00 for a full time load of units. This helps out a lot and considering the information you soak in from the professors here on campus it is a clearance deal. As I said before many professors here teach at four year institutions so you are essentially receiving the same information as others for a small portion of the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student body is very diverse as is the faculty. You will encounter many different ethnic groups and languages spoken throughout campus and experience other cultures. The college has a university feel to it with everyone focused upon their own goals, however, also understand networking is an essential in life so you meet many intelligent people along the way and recognize them in classes in the future.

    Am learning a lot

    Sacramento City College or SCC has a great feel to it. They offer many tutoring services many of which are FREE. The professors here on campus are highly professional, however, most know how to have a good time and make class discussion relevant to you on a personal and professional level. A lot of the professors have backgrounds teaching at the local California State University of Sacramento and others also teach at University of California Davis. There are even some who have been professors at out of state colleges as well. All of this equates to adequate resources as to what to expect in a four year institution.

  • 10/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that live close low income

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy commute

    Bang for the buck

    I am currently on the BOG fee waiver, so all I pay for is book and supplies!

    Am enjoying being here

    Lots of activities/festivities

    Am learning a lot

    Hardly ever have homework, but lots of tests.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    fitness classes

    Food and Dining

    clean and fast so you don't miss classes.

    Dorm Life

    none i know of on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    fair no matter what level the student is on

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    it is a friendly school and all the staff is very patient and helpful.

  • 10/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for a wide variety of students, as long as you don't mind that only AAs are available, but transferring is possible. The range of ages and races is phenomenal and the courses are opportunistic and usually have university level undertones. I cannot think of a single person who claims ever claimed to me they disliked the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to use the services given to you. If you are lost or confused their are counselors that can help and a school website to search. Otherwise just ask a student on campus. Many of us will happily help you out. Also the library

    Bang for the buck

    I only gave a lower review for price because I am an international student and pay more then a normal student overall. The regular student price is very reasonable though. Plus a light rail pass for the semester is included in the price, and the majority of student are very pleased about this.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is quaint and beautiful. The courses are fun and I find most of the teachers and students kind and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the teachers here also teach university courses and use many of the same lessons for both classes. Some of the information I learn might not be useful for my chosen major, but it is interesting none the less.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wishing to go to Sacramento State, who are living in Sacramento, and those that enjoy being in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the event called Senior Saturday provided by Sacramento City. It is such an important event for seniors wishing to go here. You get everything done at once, orientation, counseling, and also a sooner registration date.

    Bang for the buck

    You will always get a cheaper education at a community college and Sacramento City makes sure that you are not shorted on your education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sacramento City is a nice school that makes you feel safe. However, if you do not like inner city schools or schools in bigger cities, Sacramento City is not for you.

    Am learning a lot

    Sacramento City has an amazing group of professors who love their job and have fun with what they do. You can really tell that the school makes sure that the teachers here are qualified.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated students, part-time or full-time working students, those that don't know what they want to major in, those continuing their education, and those looking to transfer to a 4-year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are your own accountability. No one forces you to go to class or to do your homework. If you need help, you yourself need to go talk to your professor or seek help at one of the tutoring centers (and there are plenty of people there willing to help you). Also, don't forget to talk to a counselor regularly, as this will help you complete your educational goals. Oh, and don't forget to register early. Otherwise you'll be wait listed for just about everything.

    Bang for the buck

    Call us leeches, an abomination to society, drop-outs, etc - but some of us really do want to be in College and can't pay for the outrageous university prices. Thanks to the state, I am getting a good education at a tuition price I can afford. So chill out, nay-sayers. If you want productive adults contributing to your tax dollars later in life, you'll let me get my education.

    Am enjoying being here

    If all I did at SCC were attend class and study, I'd seriously hate it. Fortunately there are clubs on campus! As well as athletics. If being a bookworm is your thing, sure do that, but if you're like me and kind of need more motivation to keep attending classes, join a club, get involved, have FUN.

    Am learning a lot

    I was ashamed for a while, telling people that I attended a community college, but you know what? I'm getting a quality education for a fraction of the cost. Here, the professors want you to do well and want to actually TEACH. And they aren't busy with things like research and large class sizes.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone whose looking to go back to school, or for new students who don't know what career they want to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in classes you need, because you will learn alot. There are alot of students so when it comes to first priority of classes make sure you sign up on the date given :)

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the option of being able to go to the main campus, or the off campuses. Id love if their were more classes offered at the west Sacramento campus and the west Sacramento office is beautifully designed and clean.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers Ive had so far, have been very informative and really interesting. They've been enthusiastic about the subject their teaching, they really get you interested and involved and you learn a lot from teachers who love their subject

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a very safe campus. there's an actual police station located on campus. sacramento city college also offer help lines, patrols, and emergency stations located throughout the campus.

    Greek Life

    they offer an academic greek club that i'm not familiar with.

    Clubs and Activities

    highly ranked sports programs. many clubs to become involved with. endless array of activities to pursue.

    Great for these types of students

    great option for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no comment at the moment.

    Bang for the buck

    this campus teaches you the necessary skills to succeed in life.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty to do at sacramento city college. whether it be sports, fitness, entertainment, electronics, graphics, jornalism, art, etc. the campus is conveniently located in middle of sacramento. nearby parks, eateries, entertainment, waterways, and shopping centers.

    Food and Dining

    an enormous variety to choose from on campus, as well as off.

    Dorm Life

    the are no dorms for this college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    quality material taught by qualified instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the available resources offered. it will ease your transition into college, and will help you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    sacramento city college is a beautiful campus. the faculty and resource centers are readily available and there are plenty to choose from. possesses exceptional instructors who are dedicated to their teachings.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police is present at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs depending on your aspirations and lifestyle.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for students any age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have not seen any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    this college is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    there are always events on campus, such as concerts, speeches and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the cafeteria is good, and it has many healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms since this a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    the school has a high quality education, so concentration is required.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would like to advise that students should take advantages of the resources in this college. never be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    sacramento city college has many resources for students. also, this college has a high quality of education. finally, this school is very open and friendly and diverse.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i see campus security a lot. they are always on campus in the parking garage, so it makes me feel better knowing that they are constantly involved.

    Bang for the buck

    the school helps you a lot financially. it is great to get that help.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of events that the school puts on and it is a great way to meet people and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria and cafe. i use the cafe often.

    Academic Rigor

    very good professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a good school to go to and get started at. it is affordable and gives you time to really figure out what you want to do with your career. the students are friendly and the campus is nice.

    In three sentences

    great to get general courses out of the way. very good and helpful professors. the school has a lot of extra curriculars and events to offer students.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our police station is on campus and police are roaming all day.

    Clubs and Activities

    such a variety of activities, rather based on culture or hobbies there is definitely something for you.

    Great for these types of students

    all students

    What to do for fun

    i love to attend games and social events. this campus is very culturally diverse and they have organizations and evets that support that.

    Food and Dining

    cafe is nice for the size of the campus. variety of options

    Dorm Life

    i do not believe scc has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    academics is very important at scc. they have professors who are truly there to help their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit counselors, rise program and all resources available on campus. the staff and faculty are really here to help us.

    In three sentences

    this school is such a diverse community. it allows different people to grow together. the teachers are amazing and very qualified to make sure we get what we need out of their classes.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every once in a while there are small activities to do in the Quad area. Also alot of different sports to get into.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. Could use a few more choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious and determined even at a community college.

    In three sentences

    Sac City College is a very diverse school. There are a lot of varieties to choose from, in terms of majors, and programs. Therefore I think this college is for anyone and a good choice.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's absolutely worth the money you save to test the waters before diving into a major at an expensive university.

    What to do for fun

    There is a massive park, called William Land Park, just across the street with two duck ponds, a golf course, and lots of beautiful trees. There is a coffee shop called Espresso Metropolitan one block down the street with great atmosphere, great coffee, and great prices. One of the best sushi places in town, Sushi Cafe, is within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has some decent snacks and a pretty wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of difficulty really relies on the professors you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do some research on the professors first because they make all the difference in your experience there.

    In three sentences

    The campus is lovely. Many of the professors are invaluable resources and try their hardest to help you succeed. The counseling is, unfortunately, quite terrible.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small settings

    Bang for the buck

    What;s that?

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends after school work is completed. Save the FUN for the weekend

    Food and Dining

    College is expensive. Don't spend too much money on food

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to build a nice relationship with your teachers, because you never know when you may need them. For example, when you are applying for scholarships, some of them ask for recommendations. This is when a professor can help you out

    In three sentences

    Because of it's small size, Sacramento City College allows the students to establish a relationship with their professors. At other colleges classes are so full that the student and teacher don't even come in contact. I've discovered that having a good relationship with the instructor can really benefit you.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security on the premise during all hours of the day and there has never been a risky or safety issue situation in the 4 years I have been here.

    Bang for the buck

    Very very affordable. Just about everybody who applies for the Boeg Fee waiver at this institution gets roughly 80-90% of their tuition costs waived off. Financial aid and other outside sources are also available.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of events going on year round, on campus and off campus. Not to mention the school is located just down the street from the Zoo and a great park for recreation, leisure or just working out.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the Cafe is a pretty pricey but the school is surrounded by a ton of other take out, fast food, and restaurants within walking distances if you so please that are more appealing to what ever your tastes may be.

    Dorm Life

    It's a junior college. There are no dorms however there are plenty of nearby locations by the school you can find to rent out that are affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    There are tough and demanding classes and also some easy courses. However this isn't to say it's and easy Junior college to exceed at. You still need to do you work just like any other school and attend classes to earn those passing grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    What ever area you feel you need help in whether getting a job, improving your grades, financial aid, going out for a sport or just information on student social clubs, never shy away from a staff member. If they can't personally help you, they can atleast direct you to somebody that can.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a good junior college to earn a degree or what ever academic endeavor you choose to pursue. There are plenty of resources to help you succeed in every course including the library, tutors, and learning resources centers. It there was any area I would say they could improve in would be of making student aware of the available resources and not wasting their time at city college.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a huge park in front of the college. Also, the light rail is behind college, can hop on and go down to downtown plaza to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    college food are delicious. also lots of restaurant near the college.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm here at this college

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of class schedule, getting the works done before time.

    In three sentences

    This college is very diverse. The students there are very friendly. They have really great professors.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. There's several campus officers and patrol cars all around campus and parking lots. Parking space is tight between cars. The best way to avoid your car from getting scratched is parking on the 3rd, 4th or 5th floor. There are often more available parking there and parking spaces are bigger

    Bang for the buck

    Buy a semester parking permit sticker. It will save you time and money!

    What to do for fun

    For fun, watch the Sac City Panthers during football and baseball game!

    Food and Dining

    Student cafeteria is kinda pricey and have limited selections but there are nearby restaurants available in walking distance such as KFC and Chipotle.

    Dorm Life

    There's is not dorm available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    In the OTA Program, the courses are well structured and complement one another. The assisgnments and projects are well contructed according to the program expectations

    Tips for prospective students

    Students applying for Allied Health Programs like me should look into their program brochures right away and plan ahead. There are program informational meetings held through the year and those interested should attend . Applications for these programs are accepted once a year and only 30-33 students are usually selected out of 100+ applicants through a lottery system....BUT don't let this discourage you! Don't give up and keep on turning in that application because in the end, IT IS WORTH IT!

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College has a very diverse student communitty that gives you an instant sense of belonging. The Professors are easy to approach, patient, caring and really aims to help you succeed in the course. Buildings, rooms and equipments may be old but it doesn't affect classroom learning because of D2L and the creative teaching styles that some of the Professors have adopted.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It was very safety and

    Clubs and Activities

    I have join the clubs with the MESA And semc clubs

    Great for these types of students

    There are study are very nice but it work hard. There are group of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The unusual traditions that there students come to campus and check out the campus and explore them.

    Bang for the buck

    I have no scholarship and never win one. Financial issues problems

    What to do for fun

    Club and work in computer science

    Food and Dining

    It is very expensive

    Academic Rigor

    I have study hard for my computer science

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to study hard.

    In three sentences

    I have study in computer Science in Sacramento City College

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers with good instruction.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the school library. Hang out at the local restaurants in the area. Have fun outdoors at William Land Park. Walk to the Zoo.

    Food and Dining

    School has a great cafeteria with great food. It has great food and dining in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesn't offer dorms but the surrounding area is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    School offers a lot of great courses. Great teachers. Big Campus.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, and with our campus security simply a call away, even if I did have a problem, I know they'd be there to help me very quickly. That's another plus to our smaller campus: fast and efficient security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, many clubs that potential students can join, from religious clubs to the Free Thinkers Club, which is run by the philosophy department and open to all students, whether they want to talk about a specific issue or simply listen.

    Great for these types of students

    Sacramento City College is great for students that might feel overwhelmed at a larger college. Our smaller campus has a more connected feeling to me, and I've gotten to know my professors and fellow students well. If you want a more personal experience, come here.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting events that you can attend on campus; I've only ever been to football games because that is what my schedule has allowed so far, but our baseball team is very good and I recommend seeing them play if you have the chance.

    Food and Dining

    The City Cafe, or cafeteria, offers a good selection of food. They rotate what they sell during the week, so it's not the same food every day. There is also a coffee shop in the cafeteria, which has very good coffee. If you don't want to eat at school, there are many good restaurants within walking distance of campus that students frequent every day.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms that I know of here, though there are lots of low-income (or not) apartments in the surrounding area available to students.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged in my classes; perhaps not as challenged as it would have been in an upper division, four-year college class, but challenged nevertheless. I've learned so much in my time here, and can't wait to finish my education at a four-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have your financial aid taken care of before you start the semester. I can't stress this enough! The sooner you have it done, the sooner you'll have your money and everything is just so much less stressful. If you need help, don't hesitate to ask someone, whether that be the financial aid office or lab, or your counselor at your high school.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a very fun place. It may be smaller than some of its sister schools, but it offers so much for students. I've enjoyed my time here and I feel like it's prepared me to transfer to a four-year college.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police department directly on our campus so it is easy to call for help and i always feel secure going to my car when i have late classes

    Greek Life

    We have a great scholarship program called the Sigma Lambda Beta Fraternity: Tau chapter scholarship.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sac City has a lot of clubs and activities such as the gay straight alliance, Asian club, and french club.

    Great for these types of students

    Sac City has a cheer and dance team put into one called the Spirit Squad wich are great for students seeking to major in dance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't have many unusual traditions but we do have a theatre arts show that the ethnic theatre program and class likes to put Downtown, Sacramento.

    Bang for the buck

    The food at Sacramento City are very good at keeping the budgets low with still being able to have tasty food.

    What to do for fun

    There a bunch of clubs and organizations to get into for all ethnic backgrounds,culture's, and belief's. We even have a great scholarship program for students to earn even more money to got to school.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of food and dining that surrounds Sac City in just about every corner of the campus!

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms, but only for those who really need it.

    Academic Rigor

    Sacramento City has a great Academic Rigor. This school has one of the best academic rigor's and they are very good friends with UC Berkeley for those who are interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make appointment's to see a counselor to seek that your getting the best education for your lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is very diverse in every way, shape, and form. The teacher's and student's that attend here are very helpful, and understand that people want to get in, get out, and graduate. I recommend Sacramento City College to anyone who wants to further their education from vocational school's to private college's.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students.

    What to do for fun

    Take theater and speech classes or sign up for clubs. Even some psychology classes can be fun.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good selection of food. The wraps are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes so far have been pretty easy with the exception of the science and mathematics departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know registration date and add classes to cart before hand If you don't like the professor you'll hate the class Do classes you know your going to like not just for the units.

    In three sentences

    The professors have yet to disappointment me and I have enjoyed the experience. The people who attend can vary so if you have high expectations for your peers, take a class that has high expectations for you. The campus is easy to navigate and the library is great for studying.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are slot of clubs and sports at sacramento city college so there's tons to do. Me Im going to be running cross country

    Food and Dining

    Its located in the downtown sacramento area so there's tons of places to eat and socialize with feiends.

    Dorm Life

    Sacramento city college does not have dorms which sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    Sacramento city college has tons of differnt fun classes that I look forward to taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm not exactly going to sacramento city college yet but a tip I would give us get to school early so you can find a parking spot.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is fatty at the cafeteria. Not something I can eat everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. Look ahead at rate my professor before signing up for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and you will do well.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College has a ton of resources for it's student body. The staff are helpful and the classes are fun and challenging. I highly recommend it, if you are planning to get your AA or become a transfer student.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are on site and offer the best security available. There are emergency buttons throughout the campus and the police respond immediately.I have yet to see an incident during my 2 years on campus

    Greek Life

    Greek life is organized and clubs promote new members to show your spirit!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are available from sports teams to competitive traveling debate clubs.There is something for everyone.Don't have a club your interested in? Start you own!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a perfect example of how diverse California is,bringing ethnicity and religion together.Whomever you are, there is a place for you in Sacramento City College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has an array of clubs and organizations you can sign up and has such clubs as the Mexican club,debate club,etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Units are fairly priced and the financial aid department with sit you down and do everything in their power to guide you to all the free money available through the internet and within the school.

    What to do for fun

    They have a music shop across the street from the school along with a park,ice cream shop,yogurt shop,and much more. Its a great area and the community really has come together to support the students needs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers great food for a reasonable price. They serve hot and cold food and have students operating the kitchen.Positions for employment within the food and dining department are available and a great way to get to know your fellow class.

    Dorm Life

    I housed off campus, but i associated myself with individuals who lived in dorms. They were happy to have the ability to use a bicycle to reach the major convenience stores. Sacramento City College has it's own train stop for the regional transit connecting it to the greater Sacramento area along with many different bus routes making it an easy cost effective means of transportation.The school also offers its student a discounted price for a pass to use these means of transportation.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is understanding of our everyday hardships and as far as leniency they are mild. They will work with you as long as you work with them and show your drive towards success.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend utilizing each and every resource that this school has to offer because they will do everything in their power to see you succeed. Take advantage of your chance to enjoy the beautiful campus and surround yourself with other students that have the same objective you have within your education and dreams

    In three sentences

    Sac City is a beautiful campus that's environmentally friendly surrounded by trees and great students.I enjoy all of the staff and resources that this school has to offer.The environment is the key to it's laid back approach to education.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always some sort of activity happening on campus and for the younger generation that seems to be appealing.

    Food and Dining

    Sac City offers a basic food court, nothing grand but enough.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know of any on campus dwellings.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found in my nursing course for the material to be quite time consuming and challenging, but all good things are worth fighting for.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not get into a class on your first try keep checking back and always show up to that class on the first day.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who always find the time for a student in need. Great activities always happening on campus. Wide variety of classes to choose from that other community colleges do not offer.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of close by activities

    In three sentences

    Decent school, nice campus.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with the random nice people I meet at Sacramento City college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. I eat there every day.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher will not give up on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love it!

    In three sentences

    The teachers show focus towards the student. Sacramento City college provides information to students who get lost easily. Always creating a smile after leaving Sacramento city college.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus PD makes the environment a safe one.

    What to do for fun

    there is a great social aspect but it all depends on the individual and what they want to do

    Food and Dining

    The campus provides snacks and there are places around the get food.

    Dorm Life

    Im not sure if the school provides dorms as ill be staying in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    With any school it is always an uneasy process of first getting settled,

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Familiar with the campus, where each building is and where certain classes and resources are

    In three sentences

    Its a great way to get the college experience started, easy transition and a great staff that is willing to help you with your transition

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring then know what your major is ahead of time and FOCUS on your classwork and learning as much as you possibly can from both the professors and the students.

    In three sentences

    A small class sized college with opportunities to explore a wide variety of majors and meet different people from all walks of life.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police have an office building on site and are patrolling daily

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love the state of the art library

    Bang for the buck

    Rafting on American River

    What to do for fun

    Sacramento offers festivals and entertainment every weekend so there is never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Sacramento offers a multitude of restaurants and foods from all over the world.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus in mid town and enjoy the culturally rich environment here

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't follow your major or don't fully investigate your academic goal you can find yourself wasting your time and funds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to locate an obtainable major and stay on the academic path closely. Speak to other students in that field, Counselors and with prospective schools to get the most resources to stay on your path.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is centrally located in Sacramento. With a beautiful campus and very accredited professors and counselors. Sacramento City College also offers many options in course and studies with plenty of resources.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police people patrolling at all times. If you need a jump start or locked your keys in the car they will help you with any of that.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for working students, or parents because they have programs to support you and evening classes for the busy people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole school was built back in the 1920's so it's beautiful there especially in the fall.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school that you can go to, it's a place to consider going if you can't afford to start off from a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 200 clubs you can join, also you can come and support the City Panthers games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is diverse so if you don't want pizza you can make a sandwich and choose what to put in there or a burrito. It's decent, but there are many food places outside of the campus in case you don't want anything on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's are pretty nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try getting into the EOPS because you will have extra help from your counselors and get money for books!

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a great community college offering a variety of AS/AA degrees. I have enjoyed the entire time I have been here. The campus is alive and there is always something going on. Try getting into the EOPS program because the people there are super helpful.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    is ok

    Greek Life

    maybe

    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Great for these types of students

    every student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of

    Bang for the buck

    is great!

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, reading, hanging out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Is alright.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in is a lot of work, but I am learing so much and cant wait to learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be nice if the program was offered more than once a year.

    In three sentences

    I love the programs available at my college.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very clean and always has security around. They mostly just check parking permits and control traffic since there is very limited situations when they would be needed which is good. The one time i saw someone push a help button there were swarms of security guards in minutes coming from all directions

    Bang for the buck

    The lightrail to the main campus comes free with your education which is definitely something to take advantage of.

    Food and Dining

    The City Cafe has a variety of food to choose from and has hot meals ready in less than 5 minutes. The prices are low and the food isnt terrible.

    Dorm Life

    The community college doesnt have any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are no that difficult because most teachers provide extra credit and drop one or two of your tests or quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking can be a problem early in the semester so make sure you arrive at least an hour early for the first month. Since it is a community college the classes fill up quickly so dont sleep on your registration date. If you need to make a counsiling appointment go as soon as possible because they are always booked.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great place to get started in your college career. The classes are small enough that they resemble high school which provides a smooth transition. The Los Rios System has many extension centers which is nice so you can find an extension closer to your house.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community college prices but very limited options in education.

    What to do for fun

    It is located near downtown which is great and William Land Park is across the street.

    Food and Dining

    I have mixed feelings about this the food and the prices themselves are great but the cafeteria is very uncomfortable. IT is full of loud and inappropriate people who hang out all day long. There is also few seats for people actually buying food.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered are aimed more at struggling or EAS students. This is great for them but bad for people looking to transfer to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take online classes if available. The earlier in the day you can take a class the better chance you have of getting a spot.

    In three sentences

    School has gone downhill. Many classes have been cut and the spots for the classes left are taken up by people who are trying to get financial aid about 50 -75 percent of students drop after funds are disbursed. The environment has also declined

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    like to play basketball swimming

    Tips for prospective students

    Make you use all rescoures you can to get your classes done like asking for extra help from your teachers if need. get a tutor if needed.

    In three sentences

    I believe Sacramento City has the best programs offered in community college. I would definitely recommend this college anyone who was think about attending. I think the college is in a nice location of the Sacramento so convent to get to there.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always activities in the quad

    Food and Dining

    Great food, but expensive at times.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for all the smokers and always check ratemyprofessor.com before registering for a class. Also, the counselors and financial aid office are your friends.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is quite diverse. The teachers and faculty are knowledgeable and care for the students' well being. My overall experience there allowed me to find myself and discover my interests.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has many police for a reason. Community college attracts poor and disadvantaged students with low morals. Watch out for yourself and you will be fine.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus offers a variety of clubs and activities you can join. You are free to make your own or join an existing one. However, the campus is not extremely friendly towards clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if you are looking for a cheap education. Many of the students are poor and the school accomodates that. It is easier to gain admittance to the UC through community college than from high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The stadium is the oldest in Sacramento. Best drinking fountain is in the North Gym Lobby. Best bathrooms are in the art court theatre.

    Bang for the buck

    A community college education is extremely financially worthwhile. You pay for lower division coursework at less than 1/10th the cost at a four year institution. The quality of the education is top notch as many professors also teach at UC Davis or Sacramento State.

    What to do for fun

    All campus sporting events are free for students. One can join many clubs and sports teams. The college offers fun events every once in a while including movie nights and musical performances.

    Food and Dining

    The dining on campus is passable. There are eateries off campus but they require a 5-10 minute walk. Best results will be had by planning ahead and packing a lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. If you want to live in a dorm, do not come here. Again, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    SCC can be as rigorous as you want it to be. The school offers basic english and math skills as well as advanced science and mathematics. Anyone can succeed with hard work

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should talk to their professors. The best information you can get is from interaction with the people who teach you. The small class sizes and community oriented culture allow this type of interaction.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a solid two year institution. It has vocational and transfer oriented programs. The campus is clean, well run and efficient.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to take advantage of all the groups and programs at Sacramento City College.

    In three sentences

    When arriving at Sacramento City College, I found its campus to be very diverse. I also enjoyed getting to know the staff. This college is one of the best so far in my opinion.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see a good amount of security roaming the campus on a daily basis.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a plentiful amount of clubs and activities including a poetry out loud club that has great talent.

    Great for these types of students

    Any. This campus has a very diverse population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus just got a new football stadium built which makes its appearance much nicer.

    Bang for the buck

    The price per unit is being raised almost every semester now. It is cheaper than a private or a 4 year college but it offers minimal degrees as it is only a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Their are many clubs and programs that SCC offers. Their sports department are highly rated as well.

    Food and Dining

    SCC has a decent cafe and a cafeteria that will get you through a long day.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are much more intense then others. This goes for most colleges in California.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare which classes you want to take before your enrollment date. Be online at the exact time and add classes as soon as possible since most will fill up extremely fast. Also, if your a student on the wait-list, make sure the professor understand your passion for the subject since add codes are becoming harder to get.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College (SCC) is an overall great community college. It has a wide range of classes with professors that, for the most part, enjoy teaching their subject. I haven't yet had a bad professor and have gained an adequate amount of knowledge that will prepare me for a 4-year in the future.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, theft is sometimes an issue but I haven't heard of any violence on campus in years.

    Greek Life

    Anime and computer clubs are all I can think of.

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of clubs, sports, visual and performing arts, dance teams, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All students but especially those who didn't do great in high school, who need to support themselves, who are older, who have a disability... anyone who doesn't fit the traditional college student mold.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of little quiet courtyards on campus. Great for having lunch when it's warm.

    Bang for the buck

    Best education you can get for the price. Better then lower division at a 4 year in many respects.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of free performances and lecturer offered on campus and there is sports, art and theater but not a whole lot socially. It's a city college so most students are working and/or have families that they concentrate on.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria but it's fairly expensive and the best and most healthy foods are often only available for a short window of time.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tough some are easy it depends on your learning strengths and interests but you can do well in any class if you work at it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take an orientation so that you learn about all the services available and get in contact with a counsellor asap.

    In three sentences

    Excellent School. The teachers really care about you if you care about the class. The campus is small but beautiful.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are multi-cultural and multi-talented festivities occurring constantly at Sacramento City College. This allows students to be exposed to the different customs and cultures of places around the world. There then are opportunities to join and discover more about each culture.

    Dorm Life

    Living at home, has allowed the money which would have been spend on dorms, to be used in other ways. Books are expensive, and with the dorm money textbooks were bought.

    Academic Rigor

    Jumping into challenging classes in the first semester of college, prepares a student for the upcoming years. In college, there is no time to slack off; only the driven and determined will excel and thrive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone interested in attending college should know, students in community college are receiving the same education they would anywhere else, at any other university. The cost for classes per unit is cheaper, but it doesn't mean the education has a lesser value.

    In three sentences

    Being part of a community allows a student to feel involved and part of a whole group. There are certain academic goals which students can meet; with the right guidance and determination, anything is possible. Sacramento City College has the stepping stones, which can lead to success.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on campus police station and safety personnel that roam daily.

    Greek Life

    There is PHI THETA KAPPA, BETA ETA PSI chapter on campus for honors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that will fit student interests like American Medical Student Association SCC Chapter, Filipino Club, MESA, and student government for example.

    Great for these types of students

    Great campus for all majors especially science, mathematics, health or pre-medicine, and the arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has weekly music and clubs to entertain students as well as many events for universities to visit and recruit.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is affordable and there's many options for financial aid and work study.

    What to do for fun

    The central valley has many things to keep you busy and its less than two hours to the San Francisco bay or Tahoe and hiking and camping. The downtown/midtown Sacramento scene and night life will give you the time to relax from school as well as the many parks and museums surrounding Sacramento.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is excellent and the coffee house (where the line can become very long) is great. Prices are standard and there are also many places with a block or two to grab a bite between classes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available but lots of areas to rent surrounding the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Sacramento City College has been in place since 1905 and is one of oldest and prestigious community colleges in the valley which draws professor's who intend to give students all they can handle. This means when you take courses they are preparing you for the next level. The courses will challenge you which means you walk away not only with a grade but an understanding that will follow you when you transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you to take the college success course that will introduce you to all the campus has to offer. Take a tour of the campus and talk to students who are majoring in the field you are interested in. Make an appointment to meet with a counselor to discuss your college plan and when you enrolled get involved in clubs and activities to make your experience great.

    In three sentences

    The college life is diverse with people coming from around the globe because of the college's reputation for producing excellent students. The Professor's are vested in the success of their students and each come from backgrounds where they were in the top of their fields. The supporting programs to help you succeed are in place and staff are willing to help in your education goal.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are securities walking around the campus to keep students safe.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs that are in the school, they can help you build leadership and be a better person.

    Food and Dining

    Great food that is provided in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in dorm life, but it would be pretty nice to live independent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate #1 important thing. Use your free time to review what you learn everyday, and STUDY STUDY STUDY! Don't used too much time figuring out a homework problem, don't hesitate to use the services the school provide for you. Don't take college for granted, there serious about attendance after 3 absences your dropped from the class. Be the best student you can, by attending school and doing what your suppose to be doing in school.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a clean and beautiful campus. Not only that, there are great professors and staffs there to always help you. I am bless to have chosen Sacramento City College as my home school, with the great services they provide to there students.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems safe to me. But night time can be a little creepy. Find a walking buddy!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from. Just make sure you have time and energy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are always club meetings. Club days are a great chance to pick something fun to do besides school and work.

    Bang for the buck

    I would look online or at used bookstores when it comes to books and supplies. I feel like all campuses are over priced.

    What to do for fun

    Just explore the campus. There is also a huge park across the street. It's a nice place to go when it's nice and sunny.

    Food and Dining

    Little cafe we have on campus is alright. It's a bit over priced. I don't go there as much as I used to.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Sacramento City College.

    Academic Rigor

    It honestly depends on which class you would like to take. Some are pretty hard and some are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should have all their classes picked out before their enrollment date. My best suggestion would be keep an open mind. Sometimes classes all get full, don't be angry go for the first few days. If not you can always take it next semester.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a very diverse campus. Sometimes classes are hard to get into, but if enrolled they are worth the wait. I have met some great people at City College, and it's only a 10 minute bike ride!

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely save money going to a community college.

    What to do for fun

    No time for fun, study hard and get ahead!

    Food and Dining

    Food offer has got better.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Skills learned and obtain from here are at a higher level than the sister school

    Tips for prospective students

    Please don't waste your time here. Get in and get out soon.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College has been a wonderful school to attend to. The instructors there are excellent at their job; however, with the state budget cut, several of them are no longer there. Classes were cut down from 8 to 4 and that makes it harder to get into a class that you'll need.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    While the cafeteria is of standard fare, there are several local fast food restaurants and other places to eat nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others, and this really depends on the instructor that is teaching. Ratemyprofessor.com often is of great aid in this case. Assignments are usually not about busy work and are actually related to the class (and, more importantly, exams) most of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it's a community college doesn't mean the work will always be easy. Some instructors use 4-year university-level work for their class. However there is much that one can learn there and the work is often worth it.

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend Sacramento City College to any student who wishes to learn. Many faculty members are often friendly and knowledgeable, especially for a Community College. There are also several resources at Sacramento City College, including a music and art department and a fairly extensive library.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has great security

    Greek Life

    Not greek

    What to do for fun

    i hang out at home on the weekends and i'm on the wrestling team

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve good food and okay prices.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    they have good academic programs

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your studies

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to go to. They offer a lot of programs to help students like the bog fee wavier it helps students pay for classes.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports, go to the gym, or volunteering.

    In three sentences

    This college has more programs than my current college provide. Each programs have decent price on tuition. This school also provide assistance and outlook prior to each program.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a help button on every isle of the parking lot. I have heard some terrifying stories of female students getting raped after night classes. It's scary. Also, its silly how the cops on campus seem to focus more on parking tickets and stop signs when dangerous sins are actually happening after daylight.

    Clubs and Activities

    At most, all I ever see is a bunch of students in photography running around with their cameras. The art department is great, but I'm not even sure if there are any clubs that actually exist.

    Great for these types of students

    College is a good choice for everyone. However, if you cannot afford universities, have an undecided major, or just want to save a little extra money then community college is the answer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any traditions on or off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Every once is a while, you'll meet another fellow student that will enlighten your day a little during breaks.

    Food and Dining

    Food is way too expensive and not that great. There is a sushi place and a sandwich ship just around the block that taste wonderful. Although the food isn't too appealing, there are plenty of shops in that location that can satisfy your quench for food.

    Dorm Life

    Sine this is a city college, most students live at home and just commute. I've always thought living at home was the best choice. I don't have to share a bathroom or pay for food. I would take my dads cooking over a 5 star meal Anydayy.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are taken seriously. You are only allowed to fail a class twice and you cannot take that class again. I think that is a great idea because it will force students to take their classes more seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselors and develop a student planner. If you need help with anything, just ask. The staff is very friendly. Also, use ratemyprofessor to find teachers that Fit your criteria as a student.

    In three sentences

    Sac city is smokey and has ash trays right next to ash trays on every isle of every coner. Female students are often times verbally herassed by aggressive males. Despite the startling drawbacks, the professors are very kind and work with students closely and really care.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone interested in learning as an adventure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student Appreciation Day

    What to do for fun

    You have many opportunities and places on campus to perform various activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid parking in the park!

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a very multicultural campus. This campus provides opportunities, that other campuses in the area do not. I like the architecture of the SCC's buildings.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on around the campus, just keep your ears open.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really stepped it up in the last three years.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    When you have a steadfast teacher, they expect the best and do not accept excuses for why something is late, not turned in or lacking in performance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the services available in Rodda North, they are there to help and guide students into the path of their dreams.

    In three sentences

    Great community support for new and current students. Wonderfully knowledgeable teaching staff with modern teaching techniques. Excellent programs of study for medical and theater studies.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always have a presence on the campus are are fairly nice.

    Greek Life

    Sacramento City College does not have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from at Sacramento City College who meet regularly.

    Great for these types of students

    Sacramento City College is great for any student who is driven to complete the courses needed to transfer to a four year university, a professional balancing work and school, or anyone trying to receive vocational training.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a community college, classes are extremely cheap compared to universities. You will save thousands of dollars completing your general education out of the way all while having amazing professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple sport teams and clubs to participate in to satisfy anyone who wants to take a break from their studies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not the best but it is convenient. It could also use more healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    This community college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Besides the math and science courses, most classes are relatively easy with little to moderate amounts of schoolwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes compared to universities. Use it as a chance to create a relationship with the professor for future letter of recommendations.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is what you make it out to be. With amazing professors, a vast array of clubs, and many programs to assist your educational needs, Sacramento City College can offer a lot of opportunities if you look for them.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a great college to attend because they try to transfer as many students as they can to universities and every semester the bring university representatives from all over California and other states. I personally like the faculty they are very helpful. The college itself resembles a mini university.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly safe. Of course there are a few locker room break ins and what not's but nothing too serious so far no gun or bomb attacks.

    Great for these types of students

    That want an open campus and different type of students from different walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure all your financial aid stuff is done and outta the way as soon as possible. My financial aid is still not available for me because of one form its really ridiculous.

    What to do for fun

    There's a park directly in front of the school which doubles as a golf course.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places to go and eat from sushi to Mexican food to fried chicken. Lots of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus and the apartments that are closest are not directly by the college in any directions. They are a bit far off from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are like any other school some are good some not so much. The coaches as are as I've heard are great with their teams and their sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to classes as soon as you get the green light to do so. See a counselor as soon as you have time so that you can outline your goals and classes.

    In three sentences

    Great College its really open and spacious. It has enough surrounding businesses for your downtime while your around the school

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a patrol nearby on campus to make you feel safe! The campus is well lit at night and emergency services are available.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Sacramento City College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Advisors are well prepared to offer you a list of organizations and clubs on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Sacramento City College is great if you're looking for a community college that will challenge you and prepare you to compete at a four year institution. It's also great if you want to save money and get some lower division courses out of the way while attending UC Davis or Sacramento State.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the bathrooms at the Davis Center have showers with doors that lock!

    Bang for the buck

    Whether you're seeking to save some money before transferring to a four year, or if you're looking to take lower division classes concurrently while attending a four year, Sacramento City College is a great choice. They offer the classes you need that transfer over to CSU and UC's and they are a lot cheaper. Definitely a smart way to save in college.

    What to do for fun

    Whether you join a club or join a sport, there is always something for everyone at Sacramento City College. Talk to your advisor and they will point you in the right direction!

    Food and Dining

    The food shops are fantastic at Sacramento City College. Whether you're looking for something fast, something hot, something cold, something delicious, or something sweet, they have it. Prices are fair and the customer service is great.

    Dorm Life

    Sacramento City College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't expect any easy A's at Sacramento City College. The professors here are demanding, but it will benefit you greatly later when you have to compete with students at a four year university. If you attend the Davis Center, a lot of the professors also teach at UC Davis so they are a great resource to have!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting with an advisor can sound daunting at first, but the advisors at Sacramento City College are knowledgeable and friendly. They strive to do their best to get you the classes you need to transfer to your top choice school. If you don't live in Sacramento, check out the Davis Center in Davis, CA. They offer a large number of classes there and the staff are great, too!

    In three sentences

    For a community college, the level of academic achievement that professors expect from you is comparable to that of a four year university. The professors that teach at Sacramento City College have impressive resumes and a lot come from prestigious universities. There is a plethora of great classes to choose from to suit your degree needs.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC has their own campus police to maintain a safe and inviting campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs as well as activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all.

    What to do for fun

    Meet fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early as classes fill quickly.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is a great jr college to attend if in the Sacramento area. The professors and counselors are all seriously dedicated to helping students succeed with their educational goals. SCC has a pretty diverse student body as well as faculty for all ethnicities to feel welcome.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Aside from Java City, I suggest you stay away from the Cafeteria food- it is too pricey. Instead, if you are looking to have a good lunch, walk over to the Sandwich Spot or Metro Espresso that is located North of the Campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live of Campus, dorms are not offered here.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not procrastinate! Handle your assignments ahead of time- as soon as you receive your course syllabus, read it over and over to remind yourself of specific due dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Personally, I would suggest that they ask as many questions as they can, go to their professor's office hours, become active on campus, and not be afraid of growing as individual.

    In three sentences

    Since enrolling here at Sacramento City College in Spring of 2011, I have experienced three things that have helped me grow as an individual. One, throughout the classes that I have attended, my professors have been helpful in expanding my understanding of the world, attentive to my educational needs, and considerate of obstacles I have faced in the past years. Second, my counselors have played a positive roll in contributing to my educational goals by providing guidance and personal insight. And third, I have become an active member on campus through community oriented clubs such as Brown Issues, Puente, Alianza, and RISE. With all these resources offered to students, I give SCC a rating of 9.5.

  • 03/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Los Rios District Police Department (LRDPD) employs P.O.S.T certified police officers whose peace officer authority extends throughout California. The members of the LRCCPD are responsible for protecting life and property on or near any property owned or controlled by the Los Rios Community College District. https://police.losrios.edu/

    Greek Life

    There is one Sorority Honors Society called Phi Theta Kappa. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. http://www.ptk.org/

    Clubs and Activities

    There are currently over 30 clubs on campus. They are all wonderful and supportive for any student interested in them. For more information check out the links below: http://www.scc.losrios.edu/Documents/ChrisTorres/Club%20Lists/Spring%20Club%20List%202014.pdf http://www.scc.losrios.edu/Current_Students/Student_Services/Student_Leadership_and_Development/Student_Clubs.htm

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UC Tours and Trips are the best! You get to connect with so many students and Alumni who have transferred to to four year university. It is an amazing and fun experience. Also, people are highly attracted to RISE for the opportunities and services it provides and because it feels like home. RISE is Sac City's students home away from home.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get financial aid, scholarships, and the BOG fee Waiver, if you qualify. That means that you wont have to pay for your classes, and you get paid to come to college. Sacramento is not very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    1. Join A Club or Create your own Club http://www.scc.losrios.edu/Current_Students/Student_Services/Student_Leadership_and_Development/Student_Clubs.htm 2. Join a sport or Play a Sport http://wserver.scc.losrios.edu/~physed/athletics/ 3.Join the Theater Arts Department http://www.citytheatre.net/ 4.Join Our Choir Our Choir has traveled and sang in countless of places, including Carnegie Hall. 5. Join our Jazz Band 6. Study Abroad http://www.scc.losrios.edu/studyabroad 7.Join Our Sac City Express Publishing Team SacCityExpress.com is an around-the-clock online publication with content updated as campus stories unfold. SacCityExpress.com works together with City Collegeâ??s print newspaper Express to cover Sacramento City College campus news. http://saccityexpress.com/about/

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria (Cafe) is mediocre, They are not the best, but if you're hungry, they would suffice. The Cafe has a burger station, noodle station, sandwich station, pizza station, a tacos and burritos station. Next to the Cafe, there is a Java Cafe, Outside of campus and down the street, there is a Chipotle, Long John Silvers/KFC, A Burger Place, The Sandwhich Spot, The Metropolitan, Togo's, Starbucks, Rubios, Crepe Escape and a Japanese restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, this college has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Because the college is so diverse, there is consistent flow of energy that never dissipates. One feels a consistent phase of change and support. No matter what circumstances you face or have faced, the campus tends to inevitably challenges and empowers any individual that steps on this campus. Students tend to graduate and/or transfer as a stronger and wiser individual. In all the years I have been a student at Sacramento City College, I have never felt like quitting was an option because the people you build bonds with would not allow you to quit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek and utilize your resources. This not only applies to the college itself, but to life in general. Here's a list of resources you must get yourself familiar too: 1. RISE (Respect Integrity Self-Determination in Education): RISE is a wonderful diverse and independent resource on campus that provides counseling, computers, exam booklets, exam scan trons, paper, pencils, pens, folders, and a variety of items for free. In addition. they have a book loan program in which the student can check out a text book for a class for a whole semester. The services provided are all free, including tutoring in a variety subjects. RISE organizes frequent trips to several University, such as UCLA, UCRiverside, USC, Stanford University, UCSB, UCMerced, and the list continues. http://wserver.scc.losrios.edu/~rise/rise_vision/rise_vision.htm 2. EOP&S: The Extended Opportunity Program and Services (EOPS) at Sacramento City College is a student support program for educationally and economically disadvantaged students, funded by the State of California and the Los Rios Community College District. It is designed to provide opportunities in higher education for students with academic potential who, historically, would not have attended college. http://www.scc.losrios.edu/Current_Students/Student_Services/EOPS.htm 3. The Writing Center: The mission of the Writing Center is to help all SCC students become more effective, confident, and independent writers by providing assistance with writing in courses across the disciplines. In support of this mission, the Writing Center provides individual tutoring sessions for students, workshops for students and faculty, consultations for faculty, and the opportunity for qualified students to gain experience as peer tutors http://www.scc.losrios.edu/Current_Students/Student_Services/Writing_Center.htm 4. Cultural Awareness Center: The Cultural Awareness Center (CAC) promotes the core values of the college: working together, pursuing excellence, inspiring achievement. The Center's goal is to advance intercultural understanding and education through programs and activities that reflect the diversity of Sacramento City College students, faculty, and staff, as well as the community in which we live. https://www.facebook.com/pages/SCC-CAC/396375833749322?id=396375833749322&sk=info 5.Seek Tutorial Services: http://web.scc.losrios.edu/tutoring/stories/storyReader$24 6. Build a Friendship or Professional Relationship with you Professor: Building a mentor ship with your professor benefit you in endless ways. Professors can provide guidance, support, and advice. A friendship with them can mean the difference between a zero and half credit or an 'C' and an 'A'. A professor can, potentially, write a letter of recommendation or introduce you to internship opportunities in the future, as well. 7.Talk to your counselor at least once each semester, so that you can stay on track. Counselors are there to help students. You may go to a counselor, and he/she doesn't fit your personality or doesn't understand you. If that is the case, then talk to different counselors; doing so can provide you with a lot of advise and guidance for your educational journey. There are so many Resources; I didn't want to list each and every one of the. Check out: HOPE, PUENTE, Phi Theta Kappa or Honors Program, MESA, Math LAB, Cal-Works...etc.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento has an active welcoming environment. With its natural beauty and the history behind the campus, It capture the hearts of many. 'Sac City', as most of its students refer to it, is one of the most multicultural and diverse campus in the nation.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police. I have never had an incident that required their assistance but I do see them around sometimes, so it's nice to know they are there.

    What to do for fun

    There are always tons of volunteering opportunities at SCC and extracurricular activities like sports, or going to watch our teams play!

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the food on campus, but there are plenty of options nearby like Chipotle, Crepe Escape, Starbucks, etc.

    Dorm Life

    no on-site living arrangements

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken were challenging, but if you study hard and dedicate yourself to your work you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a parking pass. Sign up for financial aid and the BOG. Talk to a counselor to help you come up with a plan.

    In three sentences

    Sacramento City College is in a very great location. It's easy to get to from various parts of Sacramento including the downtown area. Parking is always available, but make sure you purchase a parking pass! There have only been a few classes I needed that I did not get into, but I was able to get into my second choice classes.