Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sacred Heart University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is small, but there's always something going on. Very convenient!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has great programs for prospective nurses and physical therapists as well as other professions, so look into the majors and minors offered here.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned more my first semester then I did of two years of high school.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It's a work load, you will learn within the first semester how to time manage everything and prioritize extra curricular activities such as sports, working, hanging out with friends, volunteer hours, etc. with school work

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here are exceptional. You will find your close knit group of friends within the first semester

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't let the price tag scare you. you will get a great education. sacred heart is a small school. you will definitely have a better chance to graduate. everyone is here to help you graduate. there plenty of scholarships and financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    a little expensive, but your getting a high education. small classes make it so much easier. you get to know your staff. you are not a number, you get to know everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the small school environment, students and staff included. Customer service is wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    the projects and research papers keep me busy. by attending classes everyday and doing all your homework keeps you learning more and more each day.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety cars and vans can always be seen around campus, riding around the parking lots and patrolling the dorm buildings. When something happens, emails are immediately sent out and everyone is aware of what is happening. Student ID's are checked at dorm buildings and officers can be seen in the academic buildings. I have never once felt threatened when on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are six sororities and four fraternities at Sacred Heart University. Over 400 students participate in Greek life because it is one of the best ways to get involved. When going Greek at the university, you are not only gaining friends and having fun, you are thrust into academics by having to attend library study hours and keeping up your GPA. You are immediately involved in service projects and supporting other on campus organizations. Plus, with a strict no hazing policy, Greek life is kept safe, and no one ever gets physically or emotionally injured. I joined Greek life, and I have gained upper class friends that serve as mentors to make my college experience easier and more fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 clubs at Sacred Heart University. They range from things like the accounting club to the dance team, SHU Force. There is something for everyone's taste. These clubs are open and welcoming to every student, at any time, so no one ever feels left out or alienated. They are run by students, for students, so everyone has the best possible time.

    Great for these types of students

    Sacred Heart University is perfect for a student who wants to have a personal experience. There are minimal lecture hall style classes, and most classes are small. It is great for the type of student who is serious about their work because of all the wonderful academic opportunities, and it is equally awesome for the student who wants to have fun responsibly, with all the free and discounted activities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most unique aspects of Sacred Heart University is the Chapel of the Holy Spirit. It was formally blessed in 2009 and is a new and beautiful part of campus. The famous artist, Fr. Marko Rupnik and his team created two breathtaking mosaics made with hundreds of thousands of tiles. His team comes from all over the world, places like Italy and Romania, to put together these masterpieces.

    Bang for the buck

    When paying tuition for Sacred Heart, you are paying for much more than a simple education. Students do not have to pay extra money for tutors or helpful workshops on essay writing, math, time management, and many other subjects Tuition not only covers classes and academics, but it covers many activities. Using the gym, complete with basketball courts, wrestling room, tennis courts, and an outdoor running track is not an extra charge. Lectures by authors such as Sebastian Junger are free to students, and there are many free activities in which students get to take home T-shirts, water bottles, personalized banners, and fun photos.

    What to do for fun

    There are endless opportunities for fun at Sacred Heart University. On campus, you can join one of the 25 club sports, play an intramural sport, take free fitness classes, or use the gym on campus. Students can join the one of the 14 band and choral groups on campus, or watch any of these performances at the beautiful Edgerton Center for the performing arts, where both students and musical and theatrical celebrities alike perform. The university has had concerts and performances with David Cassidy, DJ Pauly D, Kid Cudi and many more. There are many free activities on campus set up by the student events team, like t-shirt tie dying, and movie showings. If on campus entertainment isn't enough, students can take party buses to downtown New Haven to nightclubs, and can take the SHUttles to shopping centers and downtown Fairfield.

    Food and Dining

    The main ingredient in the university's food is variety! The main dining hall on campus serves a plethora of options, including gluten free, vegetarian and vegan, lactose free, and many healthy choices. Students will not have to suffer with eating the same food every day, because between the main campus dining hall, Coyote Jacks Grill, and Mondo Subs, and Outtakes the options can vary from grab and go items such as egg and cheese sandwiches, to sit down dinners like chicken, steak, and pastas. This is not your typical college menu.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms are located conveniently on campus, students are never more than a 5 to 10 minute walk from the main academic buildings. They are clean and up to date, each stocked with an operating mini fridge and microwave, and on each dorm floor there are study and common rooms. The study rooms have comfortable seating and a quiet atmosphere, and the common rooms have televisions, and a full kitchen. Students never run out of places to study, cook and eat, or just hang out. The dorms that are located furthest away (still no more than 10 minutes) have their own cafeterias so students don't have to walk outside if there is bad weather or it is late at night. Safety is a priority in each building, with security guards at the entrances and exits to make sure no unauthorized visitors get in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The university strives to challenge each individual student, while at the same time provides support for their needs. The assignments are tough, but classroom learning assistants make themselves available multiple times a week and serve as free tutors. The professors make certain that their office hours are clear and they are also readily available for free extra help. The classes are difficult, but not impossible for a dedicated student.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university is a place where each individual's thoughts and ideas are meant to be heard. The most important tip this university gives many of its students is to go in for an interview in the application process. This gives the prospective student a personal look into the University by talking to the dean or assistant dean of admissions, and it gives the admissions department an idea of who the student is as a person. By being provided with the opportunity to have a one on one conversation with an expert on the school, the decision of a possible new student is made easier because he or she can ask questions and get a feel of whether or not they want to attend. The interview is an extremely important part of becoming a student at Sacred Heart, and I would strongly advise each student applying to the university to schedule one.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University is a closely knit private school focused in on the Catholic Intellectual Tradition, and they live up to this tradition exceptionally. In each of its core classes, and in every learning opportunity students take part in, they are reminded to question their core values and life's purpose. Its wide range of academics, sports, and extracurricular activities make the school a place where students can express themselves in other than just the classroom.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sacred Heart is a great school for students who are active in volunteering throughout the community; there are many different volunteer activities to choose from. Also, Sacred Heart is a great school for students who like one-on-one attention from their professors and advisers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are able to manage the time between school work and leisure you will have a great experience. It's important to organize and not fall behind with school work because staying on top of school work will give you more time to be with friends, participate in sports, work for money or volunteer.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and books are pricey but the education received is worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    Your peers will be exceptional and genuine. The majority you befriend will be life long friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Sacred Heart's curriculum is challenging yet useful. Everything taught is applied to the community outside of Sacred Heart. Most teachers form a personal relationship with their students which makes it helpful to ask for extra help if there isn't clarification on a certain subject.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit SHU and walk around during the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get your money's worth at SHU. As a junior in the business program, you get free golf lessons and free tuition for the Ireland and Luxembourg study abroad programs.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on campus and lots of activities. There is also a lot to do in Fairfield and on the weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    SHU has great professors that give you personal attention.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students that are serious about their futures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage time wisely for homework so that you'll have time to get involved with afterschool activities and college organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive for classes and books but the small classes and individual attention really helps to do much better with grades.

    Am enjoying being here

    Meet a lot of nice people.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although I had a great experience at SHU, it is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Many options: mall is right by, 10 minutes from the beach, but close to New Haven and Manhattan if you want to go into a city for the night via train.

    Food and Dining

    Sushi bar, brick oven pizza, salad bar, omlette pancake stations, and new Student Center ... no complaints! Food can get costly though, as they go by item vs. meal.

    Dorm Life

    I'm unsure as to why SHU doesn't advertise it's excellent dorms. I've travelled to visit friends all over the country and we have one of the nicest dorming facilities I've ever seen. All new, with moulding, cleaning services, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply with strong grades, however personalizing your applications really help. Sacred Heart has a strong pride in it's community, and if they realize you want to be an active member it will only help you

    In three sentences

    Excellent opportunities here with an amazing sense of community. I was able to obtain two Business degrees in 4 years while working because the school really does care about it's students and caters to you. I was extremely well prepared for the real world and my career after graduating.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is almost anything to do, parties, go out and eat and go to the mall along with much much more.

    In three sentences

    It is somewhat an expensive school, but there are many various activities to do here. everyone is friendly and all the teachers know how to teach a student what he or she needs to learn. This university has many different things to offer.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't what I expected it to be. They are currently opening a new building soon.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in a dorm. I have good roommates that I spend alot of time with.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is great. The teachers are willing to help you all the time. I have had a great experience with all my teachers so far.

    In three sentences

    I love Sacred Heart University. The teachers are great and very helpful. It is very expensive and I hope I can afford to stay here for four years.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is extremely important. here at sacred heart we have the best public safety officers. i have always felt safe here. public safety is always there when they are needed.

    Greek Life

    i am not a greek myself but the greek life here sure is something! we have 3 fraternities and 6 sororities, one of them being a great national sorority chi omega! the greek life members are always coming up with new great activities and they raise a lot of money towards their philanthropy and towards a lot of other things. we have greek olympics here at sacred heart where they have fun games and competitions. prospective students would love the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs to join at sacred heart. i have joined the latin culture club, umoja and a couple of others and they are fun and allow me to volunteer which i love. there are also many club sports so that if you are not on a sports team or have never played a sport you can play in a club sport. this is awesome because it gives everyone an opportunity to engage in an activity!

    Great for these types of students

    if you are a social person sacred heart is great! there are so many great people and activities to engage students into the social life. for students that are looking to get the best education this school is for you. the academics are tough but that is part of great education! sacred heart will not let you down when it comes to getting a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a place called the outpost pub at sacred heart. night time activities take place here such as shows and parties. the outpost pub is a place for students to socialize and have a great time!

    Bang for the buck

    sacred heart is a bit pricey but it is absolutely worth it. so far in my two years here i have learned so much. education is important to me and the academics here are amazing. the professors know what they are doing and know how to engage students. the dorm life is great i love living here and my experience here has been a good one.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to do for fun. sacred heart puts on two concerts, one each semester, and the are a lot of fun. there are shows put on by the greeks and clubs. there are many clubs to join. anything that you like to do for fun i guarantee that sacred heart has it!

    Food and Dining

    the food at sacred heart is good. of course everyone has there preferences but the food here is as close to a home cooked meal you can get! the staff here is excellent though and they always look for suggestions on making everything better.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is great! i have lived here two years and have had the opportunity to meet the most amazing people. there is a good amount of diversity and everyone that i have met has been accepting to all cultures. the buildings are always clean and the rooms are a very nice size.

    Academic Rigor

    sacred heart challenges the students to think critically and to look at all aspects of knowledge. the work that students have to put in is great and the outcome of that work is greater! academic rigor is one thing that i know every student feels that sacred heart has and i do not mind one bit. education is of great importance!

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should be prepared for a tough but thrilling experience at sacred heart! the school's common core classes really engage students to learn in all aspects of life. students should be prepared to use critical thinking skills. there are many volunteer opportunities. prospective students should be ready to engage socially

    In three sentences

    sacred heart is an excellent liberal arts institution! as a current student majoring in biology i am not only getting a great education as far as my major classes, but an all around education! sacred heart university has provided it's students with excellent staff, superb education and provides the tools for students to become well rounded successful adults.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt nervous living on campus. Because the campus is a pretty good size, there isn't any building that is too far away from the other. Even walking from one side of campus to the other at night I have never felt scared. Public Safety is usually parked at night on various parts of the campus and the blue boxes are available in case of emergencies.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is one of the best things about campus. It is definitely the best decision I made freshman year to go Greek. Greek Life on campus is very close, and not only is there a close relationship within sororities and fraternities, but among all of Greek Life. I highly recommend Greek Life for anyone. It's a great way to feel at home on campus and make many friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities on campus. There is something for everyone, all you have to do is look!

    What to do for fun

    Sacred Heart has so many things to offer. There are so many clubs, groups, and activities to keep busy. The Pitt Center always has Zumba, Yoga, and other workout classes to keep in shape, volunteer programs, language clubs, and so much more. There is literally something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and there's a variety. Now that there is a new student center, Flik on main campus is not the only place to grab food. The student center uses dining dollars and has restaurant type food. Flik on main campus takes swipes now and has a buffet of pretty much everything. Outtakes is next to Flik on main campus and is like a mini store with Starbucks, frozen goods, and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus my freshman year was a great decision. I loved having my own place and meeting some of the most amazing people. While at times I experienced a little bit of home sickness, there are many breaks to enjoy some time at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Sacred Heart definitely has some difficult classes. There is nothing that cannot be handled, but students need to be prepared to have time management in order to be able to balance everything there is to do. Within the first month or so it shouldn't be hard to adjust to the professors and work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sacred Heart is really big on volunteer work, so the more you can do the better your application will stand out. Be yourself on your application and include all your accomplishments.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University was my number one college for as long as I can remember. Being accepted was the best feeling and the school did not disappoint me. Sacred Heart University is a smaller college but is truly a great school.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus seems very safe. the public safety staff works very well.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are several different clubs on campus and there are always some fun activities going on.

    Great for these types of students

    business, nursing, computer science......

    Food and Dining

    the cooked food in the cafeteria is good. there are also several small stores to do a little grocery shopping at.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms, but i've visited and the rooms are kind of small. i'd rather commute.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    not a very big school, but it is a good school. there is always a lot to do. there are a lo of events and activities.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is seen all around campus. We have a blue box system. For that all you have to do is press the blue button on the box and a public safety officer will be to you in 30 seconds.

    Greek Life

    There are 5 sororities and 3 fraternities available to join on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities availble to you. My favorite clubs are Students Events Team and the Health Science Club. My favorite activity is Relay for Life.

    What to do for fun

    The student events team always has something planned for the students to do. It could be tye dye or magician anything like that.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus are amazing. Once the student center opens there will be even more options for places to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do not do the work it is easy to fail. However,the teachers do not overwhelm you with work so you are stressing out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take time to do research on the school and ask a lot of questions.

    In three sentences

    The environment on campus is amazing. Everyone is so friendly. The school is small and easy to get around.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, sometimes however public safety is no where to be found but when they are not need they are all over the place.

    Greek Life

    Not too big, everyone in it loves it and they become one union of people family if you're a very social person and love to participate in different activities definitely join, check out the sorority or fraternity before you join though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities for the most part are organized. Join them, make friends, participate and take it for what it is.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not need sleep, like to read and write a ton of essays and like to take tests all week long.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mondo's in Christian Witness commons is really good place for sandwiches, soups and salads. Also, Roncalli has Coyote Jack's which is also really good if you don't feel like going all the way to the dinning hall. Next year they will be opening a new student commons which is supposed to have a variety of food choices.

    Bang for the buck

    Sacred Heart University is way overpriced and don't offer that much money in scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library or lounge not much else to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good I can't complain some nights are better than others in the dinning hall but most of the time it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice, some are new and they are very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers give way too much work with very little time to do it. If you are up for a big work load and a lot of studying this is the perfect school

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a lot of work, a lot of sleepless nights and a lot of re-writing and extra work.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    go greek! so much fun!

    What to do for fun

    take trips to the city, go to sporting events, go greek!

    Food and Dining

    Can be very repetitive and could be more healthy

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, you can be as involved as you want and many opportunities to get to know your fellow floor mates as well as other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the major

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour, meet with students, see what you can get involved in!

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University is a community school that offers an abundance of majors as well as opportunities to get involved and internships. SHU becomes a home away from home and you will make life long friends here!

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com with ease. The awesome professors you will be able to tell from there but give a couple of okay rated professors a chance, sometimes they are hard but you still learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart has some great staff. I like how they are willing to go the extra mile to help you understand the material. There are couple of bad apples, but that happens everywhere.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do near SHU. You can go to the mall, which the SHUttle goes to. You can also go to downtown Fairfield or New Haven which is a train ride away.

    Food and Dining

    The food at SHU is not very good. They have the same food over and over again and is not very healthy. The only good food FLICK has is cookies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is an important of college. At SHU your RA's try their hardest to make you feel at home. The rooms are larger than other schools and the cleaning staff keeps the bathrooms very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at SHU are demanding. Professors expect you to be responsible and on time but are also willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip for prospective students is to get involved. Joining clubs is a great way to meet new people and find out where you fit in. Also keep your door open and talk to everyone. everyone is in the same position

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University is a great place to be. The people are very friendly and the professors are all willing to go out of their way to help. It is a great place to learn and grow as a person.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety makes sure that each dorm is monitored, as well as areas around campus. There are blue boxes located all around campus that can be used to call public safety in an emergency and they will get there in 10 seconds or less.

    Greek Life

    We do offer Greek life at SHU, though there are no separate living facilities for those involved in it. There are a number of frats and sororities that each get highly involved in the school and community. There is also a strict no hazing policy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs on campus ranging from academic clubs like the pre-physical therapy club to the ballroom dance club. They are a great way to meet people and get involved in activities around Sacred Heart and in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    SHU is great for anyone looking for a small school, there are only about 5000-6000 undergrad students. It is also great for anyone looking for an academic challenge. One of the programs always looked at is the physical therapy program.

    Bang for the buck

    SHU is very expensive but you definitely get your money's worth academically, housing, food, gym, and etc.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shuttle system to the mall and other stores nearby, the shuttle is free too. If you have your own transportation there are a lot of things around including movie theaters, an ice skating rink, an indoor rock climbing facility, shops, places to eat, parks, beaches and more. Of course there are always parties too around campus you just have to find out where and hope the cops don't show.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes good for the first month and then you realize that it's the same thing being served all the time. We just got a new building however that will serve more choices opening this fall so hopefully it gets better.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a freshman dorm was an experience, I became great friends with my roommate, but not so much with my floor. You learn to live with others and share with one another. The rooms each come with a bed, desk, fridge, microwave and closet. Sharing two bathrooms with half a floor can get a little gross but someone cleans them everyday. Sophomore housing is in groups so you pick who you live with and can live in a suite or apartment. Junior and senior year you can live on or off campus. Everyone is guaranteed housing all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the courses I have taken so far to be challenging but completely manageable as long as you are willing to put in the effort. There are always those professors who are super hard or super easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to involve yourself in as much as you think you can handle. You only have four years... hopefully, it's the best time of your life, figure out what you like to do and do it. Remember though you are there to learn and your paying for the education don't waste it.

    In three sentences

    Although I'm only going into my sophomore year at SHU, I feel I've already accomplished and learned a great deal. I have done well academically, gotten involved in volunteer programs and play a division 1 sport. Sacred Heart is a great place to learn and grow academically and socially.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus patrols, easily accessible.

    Greek Life

    A number of sororities and some fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Huge amount of clubs and activities. SHU is a catholic school which prides itself of community involvement from their students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want or need to have a smaller setting but have the availability of a number of different majors/minors to choose from like a larger school.

    Bang for the buck

    On the expensive side but it is a private, catholic school. You can get personal attention from professors in the classes because the size, the business school has enormous opportunities for students including internships within some of the most wanted companies. The number of majors/minors to choose from the accessibility to the advisors is really key.

    What to do for fun

    All types of activities, clubs, organizations, sports. Close to NYC, close to the beach, close to New Haven, fraternities, sororities.

    Food and Dining

    New student center just built with a brand new dining hall. A number of opportunities on campus that are part of the meal plan. Establishments off campus also accept your SHU card which can be filled like a pre-paid debit card.

    Dorm Life

    Clean, easily accessible to classes. A number of dorm opportunities to choose from even as a freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe SHU has high standards for their students, I am looking forward to the challenge. Their business school is one of the top rated as well as their athletic training program. SHU also has an intense scholars program where you are housed in a Learning Community with other scholar students.

    Tips for prospective students

    SATs are not required but submit them to help further your financial aid opportunities. Visit the campus, it is small but very nice

    In three sentences

    Medium sized, well rounded choices for majors. A number of athletic opportunities including Varsity, Club and intramurals. Small individualized classes, great location close to the city and the beach.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sacred Heart has many public safety officers, but their main goal is to corral the drunk students who frolic around campus. I think that Sacred Heart should be more of a closed off campus from the community given its proximity to Bridgeport. But luckily, nothing bad has happened on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome. Currently it is rapidly expanding because of the growing popularity. There are currently 6 sororities on campus and two more coming in the spring and four frats on campus, but there are rumors that there are more to come. Frats and Sororities are not allowed to have houses, but this is not always a bad thing because it means more parties! The greek life community is also very united and has a blast!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sacred Heart has a large amount of clubs and activities that are on campus. Between greek life events and the student event team, there is always something going on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a good education and love to party. Even better for students who are focused in perusing an education in Nursing, Physical Therapy, Business, and teaching.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week classrooms will all be full and the library will be overflowing with people. So a great place to study is in the beautiful chapel. it's really quite in there and Father Jerry is awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    I have mixed feelings about this. I think that Sacred Heart is insanely expensive, and I cannot really decide if it's worth it. I love the people and the education I am receiving, but I wish the school would offer more money for the students who are middle class and struggling to afford to stay at the school

    What to do for fun

    Go greek! I am a member of a sorority and we are very involved on campus. There's always something going on and it's always a ton of fun when hanging out with your sisters. It's also a great way to meet new people who you might think that you would never be friends with.

    Food and Dining

    Sacred Heart just built an awesome student center that is promising amazing food. They also just re did the main dining hall, so the food should be looking up!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the greatest, but Sacred Heart does a great job finding awesome RAs for their students. All of my RAs at Sacred Heart have made me feel right at home on my floor! I'm still best friends with all the people I lived with my freshman year. However, the security at the Freshman dorms (Seton and Merton) is pretty tight when it comes to guests, so make sure you understand the guest policies for each building.

    Academic Rigor

    As an exercise science/ pre physical therapy major, I definitely think that the curriculum is challenging, but do-able. Sometimes you will just have to buckle down and do your work, but don't worry it will all be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) take advantage of all the trips to Boston and NYC offered by the school 2) Get involved! Sacred Heart is filled with many different clubs and activities 3) Have an open mind, try things that are out of your comfort zone 4) Don't become a club head, many people travel to New Haven or Bridgeport to go clubbing, if you do so, make sure you are going with friends who will look out for each other and make sure that you have secured safe rides to and from campus.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart has a beautiful campus and is currently expanding to meet the demands of its rapidly increasing student population. The teachers here are awesome and you will definitely receive a good education. The financial aid stinks, they are really stingy and if you are middle class don't plan on receiving any aid.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It is especially challenging when taking more than one class at a time due to the amount of reading and homework. You have to manage your time accordingly.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a first-time online student, be prepared for a lot of studying. This isn't unusual for online classes. I would recommend taking one class each module until comfortable.

    In three sentences

    I have completed my first year in the on-line BSN program. I think this school provides an excellent education for nurses continuing their higher education. The professors and staff of all educational departments are very helpful to all students.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The best experience you'll ever have! We do not haze!

    What to do for fun

    I'm in a sorority, student government, Chemistry club and much more but I just relax with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but you'll always miss a home cooked meal but we do have the option to submit a recipe to be served in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I am commuter but I always stay with friends and everyone seems to know each other where they live which is a good thing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will challenge you but that's only so you can succeed and professors are not going to just let you fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school because you will surely fall in love!

    In three sentences

    Lovely campus, friendly people, great learning tools and people are always willing to help. Also, there are a million ways to get involved.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    I receive emails regularly about very interesting clubs, speakers and events. I wish I could go!

    Great for these types of students

    Distance Learning

    Bang for the buck

    For a very competitive price I will end up with a masters in science in nursing!

    What to do for fun

    unknown

    Food and Dining

    unknown

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the resources that are available. They are very helpful people if you stay in contact with them. i.e. Academic advisers and guidance counselors.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University has an amazing support system for their distance learning students. Their academic advisers, instructors and guidance counselors are easy to contact and very professional. I feel I am going to get a very high quality education for a very reasonable price.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dumb but hardworking

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to get a lot of work, although much of it will have little to do with what you are supposed to be studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a serious student, find a different school. You're likely to be disappointed with the lack of critical thinking skills on the part of both the student body and the faculty. This is not the place for brainy people.

    In three sentences

    Stay away from this school, especially the graduate school! The admissions office will be very nice to your while you're in the process of applying, but once you enroll you'll become nothing but a number to the administration. Expect to eat dirt for the next several years.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun students are able to participate in numerous school activities and events that happen on campus. As well as attend the mall that is walking distance from the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Sacred Heart is pretty good compared to most colleges. They have a wide variety of food to offer and it is very easy to access for the students from their dorms. They have 2 dining halls which enable the students to have a choice between what they would like to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Sacred Heart is very pleasant and fun. Students are able to interact and hang out with each other whenever they please. Also with the great security at the school it leaves the students feeling extremely safe and as if they are home.

    Academic Rigor

    . From what I have seen and been told Sacred Heart is a competitive school but because of all the wonderful assistance present for each student is helps them get through the tough times of hard work.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University is a beautiful school that has lots to offer. It has an amazing campus and many activities to keep students busy and having fun. Many of my friends attend this school so I have visited numerous times and have fallen in love with Sacred Heart's wonderful atmosphere.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have about ten-fifteen fraternities and sororities. we do not have frat houses or anything.

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated,fun-loving,social,studious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mondo's in the sophmore dorms!

    What to do for fun

    Check out a sports game,go to the gym,join a club, or check out a baseball or hockey game at webster arena.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find all the scholarship options available. There are tons of speciality scholarships for just about everything but you really need to look into it.

    In three sentences

    An overall great school. We have 30 division one sports teams,so many majors and so much more. Take a tour and decide for yourself!

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart is a small school. You have the chance to really get to know each professor.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is a really big part of Sacred Heart, we have a variety of both nationally recognized and local fraternities and sororities on campus and almost everyone is involved!

    Bang for the buck

    Though Sacred Heart is a great school, it is very pricey for what you get. Make sure SHU is the right school for you and that you look for as many scholarships and grants as you can get.

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of the Theater Arts Program (TAP) at Sacred Heart and that's what I spend the majority of my time doing when I'm not at work or in class. We hang out in the theater, put on shows, improv and even take classes together.

    Food and Dining

    All the food on campus is great though it can get pricey if you don't keep track of your dining dollars and swipes!

    Dorm Life

    I commute to school so I can't speak for the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    If you took a lot of AP or college level classes in high school, some of the common core classes may seem very basic. However, the science classes are very challenging in the way that they make you think for yourself and draw your own conclusions.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great especially if you are an undecided in your major and don't like the idea of having 200 kids in your classes. Be sure that you manage your time wisely because you can be tempted to put aside schoolwork for other things. Join things and be apart of something bigger than yourself, it will allow you to expand your views on the world and make great friends.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart is a great school for students who want a close knit environment and a very extensive common core. At Sacred Heart you become a well rounded student while being pushed to achieve excellence through hard work and dedication.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All dorm buildings have paid security guards, and at every turn on campus there will be a Public Safety vehicle or an officer.

    Greek Life

    There is a great Greek system on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Joining as many clubs and organizations as possible will be the best thing you do at SHU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't anything unusual about campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Sacred Heart is exactly what people say it is: a second home.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different clubs and organizations students can choose to participate in. Downtown Fairfield is also just a shuttle ride away and there are many fun things to do there.

    Food and Dining

    There are two main dining facilities on campus: 63's and Linda McMahon Commons. There is also a sandwich shop and an ice cream store.

    Dorm Life

    There are three buildings freshman year to choose from, all are basically the same. Security is very good, and everything is kept very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic success is very important at SHU, but there are many services that are available to help students.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip for perspective students is to get yourself involved in as much as possible on campus.

    In three sentences

    It is impossible to rate Sacred Heart University in three sentences. There is so much to offer to students both academically and socially. One of the best qualities of SHU is service learning opportunities.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of activities like festivals, sports, music, etc. This way students participate in every activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is variety of foods in the dining.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a Commuter. I can't rate the dorm life, but when i was there for a tour the halls had nice colors every floor was fully conditioned to conform and receive prospective students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students don't be afraid to ask any questions. The Staff or students can have answers for your questions.

    In three sentences

    I like Sacred Heart because the staffs at Sacred Heart are always wiling to help, also they keep in touch with every student.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is becomes very popular on campus, however not everyone is involved, nor do you have to be. I am not involved in greek life but who knows maybe in the near future I will be!

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything club or activity you can imagine, we have it! But if we don't you can create that club! How cool is that?!

    Bang for the buck

    Although I am only a junior, I believe that I have learned more than I had expected to in college! The knowledge I've gained is not worthy of any price tag.

    What to do for fun

    Anything! No, but really. We have many athletic events; club events such as, Relay for Life; and greek life events. There is something going on on campus all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Sacred Heart University has many places to eat on campus, as well as many places off campus where you can use your student ID! The student ID can also work as a debit card at many locations all around town. On campus, however, the university is constantly listening to the suggestions given by the students in order to make the food better and more of what the students want.

    Dorm Life

    I met my best friends from living in the college dorms. Although it was not always easy to live with many people, even ones I did not know, I would not change the experience for anything. I believe that every student should experience dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    There is no way a student can just fly by! You have to work very hard in each and every class in order to receive a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and take advantage of the university's many resources! The career development program offers an array of options for students who are searching for internships or full-time jobs.

    In three sentences

    A university that is community oriented. It is a place where everyone is encouraged to get involved with as much as they can handle on campus. A university that has infinite amount of possibilities to give their students and alumni.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus. There is a club literally for everybody. There's community service clubs, political group clubs, sports club, major clubs, health clubs, religious clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    SHU is a pretty small campus, but not too small. It's not too much of a struggle finding and getting to all your classes, taking into consideration things like weather. Sacred Heart University is a great school for students who are interested in business, health sciences, art, and education. It's a great school for opportunity, people who like to go the extra mile. SHU has a variety of different opportunities, including things like internships, community service trips, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Clubs, sports, Greek life, etc. like to sponsor activities in which the entire campus can take part in. For example, this year for Halloween, SHU had pumpkin decorating, a Zombie Apocalypse lecture, a trip to Connecticut's Trail of Terror, etc. There are a variety of sporting events that almost everyone is in attendance for. Sacred Heart University also happens to be located in Fairfield, meaning that SHU is in close proximity to the mall, downtown Fairfield, which has a variety of shops and restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are a lot of options between the 2 separate dining halls, 63's and Linda McMahon's. 63's is a dining hall that is more buffet-styled and has many options, including vegan options. Linda McMahon's commons, also referred to as Linda's, is more fast-food oriented, where you come, order, and then can leave or stay. They have choices, from burgers, paninis, salads, pizza, Chinese, everything! The food isn't always the best, but that's the fun part of college. My friends and I like to cook for ourselves from time to time. It teaches to be self-dependent and lets us treat ourselves for whenever we want to take a break from college dining.

    Dorm Life

    I was very concerned about living in a dorm. I was placed in a triple dorm with 2 other girls and fortunately, we had little to no conflicts. Our RA was absolutely amazing. She was always available and always had activities for our whole floor to get to know each other and hang out. Even though there were a whole bunch of girls with different personalities and so on, we all maintained a respect for one another and kept the floor clean, including the bathroom, laundry room, and kitchenette.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a first-year student in the nursing program. Sacred Heart University's curriculum is challenging, but easy to adjust to. Professors encourage all of their students to use their full potential and think outside of the box. Many of things that I have learned in my first semester, I could apply to my everyday life, something I love about my classes at Sacred Heart University.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a fun, new experience, but don't expect to be fun 24/7. Your academics are just as important as our social life. There is always something to do at Sacred Heart University, from club-sponsored activities to sports events. You don't really have to worry about not making any friends. Almost every day, I meet someone new and they are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart University is a great university, full of diverse majors to match its diverse community. Academically, it can be a bit challenging, but it doesn't take long for you to grow accustomed to it. You are definitely getting your money's worth as far as the education and the overall experience.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see a Public Safety car driving around, you will always feel safe and they are all super friendly.

    Greek Life

    I didn't join Greek Life, but the sense of sisterhood and brotherhood is strong on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food is not your moms home cooked meals, the different places to eat on and off campus provide a large variety of options of food all of very good quality.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to SHU but have strongly considered living there. The atmosphere is great, everything is conveniently close and the SHUttles will take you where you need to go.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load depends on your professor, but the content is difficult non the less. That being said, all professors have office hours where they can cater to your needs and help you in anyway possible.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is everywhere and there to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely expensive. The school is great but not sure if its worth the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are shuttles that take you places like the mall or to plazas with restaurants and shopping places.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing here! There's a buffet type place and then there's a building with different food places like Chinese, pizza, salads, burgers, and wraps.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a good size. You can be in a double or triple.

    Academic Rigor

    Class sizes are small and there are not that many lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends right away and get involved in groups and clubs!

    In three sentences

    It is a very small campus with small class sizes. It is easy to walk to class. Everything is at a reasonable distance from the dorms.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sacred Heart is definitely a school that wants students to get involved. There are so many opportunities to be involved in clubs and activities. Some clubs are academic based (exercise science club) while others are non-academic (habitat for humanity) They also have a range of intramurals and club sports and encourage all students to be active and not a book worm!

    Bang for the buck

    The university is very pricey but the scholarship money and financial aid helped a lot with the costs

    Food and Dining

    During one of my campus tours I decided to eat at one of the dining halls (not sure what it is called) and there was a wide range of options to choose from! Anywhere from chinese to pizza to paninis!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and are actually quite big in size. I visited other colleges such as URI and Springfield and their dorms were tiny in comparison to Sacred Heart. Also, Sacred Heart has AC in all the dorms which is also a big plus!

    Academic Rigor

    I am planning on attending Sacred Heart in the fall of 2014 so I have not had any classes, but as an exercise science/pre-physical therapy major I know i will have to buckle down and devote a lot of time to my studies. As long as you put the time and effort you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in this college you have to come visit! Visiting the school three times helped me to make my decision and the campus is absolutely beautiful. Also, those that are planning on applying should also plan on getting an interview with an admissions counselor prior to acceptance. This helps them to understand who you are as a person and give you a strong connection to your counselors!

    In three sentences

    Sacred Heart provides students with an adequant amount of opportunties, so take them while you can! They are very proactive about community service and helping those that are in need. It is a safe and small campus with beautiful buildings and very nice classrooms.