Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saddleback College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All Students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, don't get caught up in the scene. Take your math classes, allot of the people i know cannot transfer on time because the are behind on math, the sooner you start the better.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great opportunity for students to have a second chance at achieving their goals and contributing towards a greater society.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is scenic with a great geographic location. The buildings however have an outdated feel. The campus however has been going under renovations and the new buildings are a great change. New and accessible computer labs are a great help to students with limited access to computers. Free wireless internet access is available to all enrolled students. The faculty i have encountered are for the most part very friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has given me the tools and confidence to compete with any other student at any major university. For the most part the professors are great and easily accessible however there are a few exceptions. As a student who is transferring into a nationally ranked university i feel that this school has jump started me into a bright future.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the school has a campus police station and campus security. if you want to be walked to your car at night, just call security and they'll escort you. i have never had a problem at school here before; it is very safe.

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa is the only one i know of.

    Great for these types of students

    this would be great for students looking to save money while taking general education classes before transferring. also great for students looking to get a two year degree or certificate. their nursing program is top notch and one of the best in the country.

    Bang for the buck

    i think saddleback college is a great option for people wanting to save a little money as an alternative to university. the teachers are amazing and very knowledgeable, highly recommended community college.

    What to do for fun

    there are several clubs available to join on campus as well as daily activities in the quad.

    Food and Dining

    the food could be better, but they do have a wide variety and more than one cafeteria on campus. they have everything ranging from yummy chinese food, burgers, wraps, salads, chicken fingers, and sandwiches to choose from in the main cafeteria. lots of options for all types of students.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available on or near campus, but there is help on campus for those looking for a place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    i focused on the science coursed at saddleback, and it is academically challenging. the teachers are very helpful, and knowledgeable of their respective fields. it is challenging, but you learn a lot while taking these courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely apply for financial aid. the school has competitive and gpa based scholarships available to students, along with fafsa. i'd recommend doing the early bird registration, especially if you are looking to take math or science classes; they fill up the fastest!

    In three sentences

    great for any level of education as a start off point. highly competent teachers and staff. saddleback college is the place to go!

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For being a commuter school, Saddleback is actually a fairly fun atmosphere. You'll find students playing chess in the middle of a quad or a film class shooting something for a project.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students do best when they want to actually be in school, but barring that, do research on the professors and find someone who fits you. Don't forget to treat this as college, either; you are much more free here than you were in high school, but you also have much more personal responsibility.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is a decent community college, offering as much as the student is willing to put into it. The transfer program is fantastic, but it is also a great place for furthering one's personal education into adulthood.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback is great for independent students who just want to get their general education done and move on.

    Bang for the buck

    I chose to attend Saddleback College because the price of four year universities is ridiculous. In my two years at Saddleback, I only paid about $3,000 for a very good education. I saved myself a lot of money. You may sacrifice a social life, but it is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    If you're into music, Saddleback has a lot of great music groups. Tickets for students are only $7, and you'll always get a great show.

    Food and Dining

    I'll just say this, I always brought my own lunch or went to the food court at the mall across the street.

    Dorm Life

    Saddleback College is a community college, so there are no dorms. Most students are still living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I would advise against taking online courses because the students seem to be left to their own devices. However, on-campus classes have a thorough curriculum. In my experience, my professor made even the most boring classes interesting, fun, and relatively easy (if you show up and study).

    Tips for prospective students

    It can be tough to make friends since all the students are commuters. Join a club or get involved in a sport. It will really help!

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College gets an 8 out of 10. It offers hundreds of interesting classes, but it can be a challenge to get the ones you need to transfer. The faculty is always willing to help you out though!

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has police patrolling all the time of day and night! I have never felt not safe at Saddleback. You might want to be careful speeding through campus though--you might get a ticket! ;)

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Saddleback College. But there are a few honors societies, such as Phi Thetta Kappa (National Honors Society) and Psi Beta (National Psychology Honors Association).

    Clubs and Activities

    With 500 clubs and organizations--what more could you ask for?! From sailing, to Bible club, from Young Democrats, to the Helping Hands Sociology club--we have a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback is great for any type of student. Diversity is rampant--older students, middle age students, thriving young adults. African American, Syrian, Christian, Hispanic, Caucasian, or Muslim--we have it all here at Saddleback!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Saddleback has an award winning radio station--you can tune in, anytime, anywhere!

    Bang for the buck

    By going to Saddleback college, you are saving much more money and getting just as good of an education as going to a four-year university. There's no worry in getting the best bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    Saddleback is in the heart of Orange County, CA. On campus, you can join clubs, sports, volunteer, and leadership programs. Off campus, the world is yours! Enjoy yourself at beaches in Dana Point, San Clemente, and Laguna Beach--just about 15 minutes away. Or, take a quick drive up to Big Bear, which is about an hour and a half you can be snowboarding! There are tons of high class malls, and cheaper places to shop and eat. Starbucks, In-n-out, Mission Viejo Mall, and several other conveniences are right next to the campus!

    Food and Dining

    Saddleback college has food trucks that are featured each week, a cafeteria, and multiple coffee stands. There is a wide array of options to fill everyone's stomach!

    Dorm Life

    Saddleback has no dorms. All students live off campus, but luckily, Saddleback is just right off the 5 freeway, and an easy drive for the traveling student.

    Academic Rigor

    Saddleback is known to be one of the better community colleges here in California. They have top notch professors that have worked in their particular subject for the majority of their life--these professors have real life experience and have graduated with PhDs and high degrees. They are writers, publishers, architects, and retired engineers. You know you're getting a good eduction when the teachers are top notch! Saddleback is 100% accredited and has 300 different types of associate degrees, and other certificates to choose from. They even offer study abroad programs! Who would of thought that a community college could offer this?

    Tips for prospective students

    Saddleback has a diverse array of students--be friendly, engage in the great smaller class atmospheres, and study hard. Use a professor online rating information website to help you choose what classes will be the best choice for you. Saddleback is an involved community college--with over 50 clubs, and plenty of school spirit for sports. Saddleback has all types of classes: from ones that get you to your transfer destination, to leisurely classes such as yoga, salsa dancing, kickboxing, swimming, or even, sailing. Make the most of your time here at Saddleback by getting involved with every aspect.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is an extremely good community college in beautiful Orange County, California. They have a top notch nursing program, many majors, and certification programs. They are the #1 community college in Orange County to transfer students to the best UC system schools in California.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback is great for any student that is tight on money, not sure what they want to do for a living, or who just needs enough flexible options to meet their schedule. There are an adequate supply of online and night courses for anyone working their way through college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the campus is located centrally, but with recent expansions there are now some outlying buildings that are a good distance from the many section. The main concentration of these is called The Village, and can be quite a walk from the BGS building.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending a community college before transferring to a larger UC was the best decision I made; the cheaper classes and relaxed schedule really helped me get myself together and prepare to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There are often on campus events such as BBQs or movie screenings, with plenty of sports classes and even a gym. For a community college, there's enough to keep you busy if you look for it.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food court is adequate, with enough variety to make up for its small size. There are plenty of great choices for dining within a small distance from the campus however.

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, there are no Dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes are entry level or general education classes, and the difficulty and rigor depends largely on the teachers. Some may assign too much work, some too little.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a 9 am class any day you have school, and always get on campus by 8:30. Read reviews on professors on ratemyprofessor.com, buy and sell your books online rather than from the campus book store.

    In three sentences

    Great variety of classes available to help you decide on a major. Teachers range from awful to amazing, with a good handful of the latter to really make the experience worth while. Parking can be very rough if you don't take either an early morning class or afternoon classes.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to hear of anyone's misfortune regarding the safety on campus, and for my first semester I had mainly night classes in the village too. The police station on campus seems supportive, however, not oppressive by any means. The school gives the comforting feel of safety and freedom to act within acceptable behavioral norms.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've seen many postings for club activities and enrichment opportunities all over campus. There seems to be something to do for everyone, and someone to help you find whatever it is you're looking for, so long as you open your eyes and take the first steps.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, business(wo)men, eco-enthusists, psychology scientists, party-people, ect... the list goes on. Saddleback offers a wealth of instruction and opportunity for personal enrichment, inside, and away from the classrooms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The life size gaming in the quad is something I've never seen before, aside from that I'm really unsure. After my first two semesters I've realized that my focus must be redirected more towards school, and less towards work. That being said, I didn't spend as much time exploring the cultural life of on-campus activities as I would have liked.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes, very worth the investment. Parking pass- $60 a year! Now how can anyone complain about that (especiallly when my High School, SCHS, was charging $72/fall &spring). Food, that I would have to reitteate as a point only earing three stars. I don't like having to pay a min of six bucks to eat a balanced lunch on my thin budget, and going hungry inhibits my ability to be the best student I can be.

    What to do for fun

    One thing that I really love is being able to walk around the main quad between the business building, the student services center, the administration offices, and the transfer center, and have the awesome opportunity, every day, to be able to start up a game of life-size Checkers, Chess, and Jenga either with a new acquaintance or old friend.

    Food and Dining

    I wish to give this area a higher rating, except for the fact that the cost of the food on campus knocks my rating down a star. The quality is respectable, the health quality above average, and usually pretty tasty, and to top it all off, the coffee kiosks are amazing, even though I don't like paying so much for the products, the baristas they keep are always friendly and polite, and the quality of the coffee makes this seasoned coffee connoisseur (I have years of coffee shop experience both as a barista and shift supervisor) very pleased.

    Dorm Life

    I live off of campus, renting a room in my home town after my family had to move away. As far as dorm life goes, I have no experience living with other college students, so my opinions on the matter are inconsequential and without the backing of any first-hand experience.

    Academic Rigor

    So far as I have seen, any level of rigor one wishes to rise to can be found here, or exhibited within your courses, its all just a matter of making the decision to ask out of your classes, what you as a student need in order to learn at your best level. By finding the most appropriate professors, and using the resources that the SSC has to offer, any goals which the student may wish to reach may be met with the proper application of determination, and humility when seeking assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend using the tool: ratemyprofessor.com, I found my last English teacher via this site's projection of reviews concerning the two instructors I was teetering between, and I could not have been happier with my choice after having read the reviews. Always get to the parking lots at least fifteen to twenty minutes before your class so that you can find parking, after awhile one gets the hang of this so its all a matter of which lot you end up in (depending on where your classes are on campus). Pack your own lunches, and learn to eat the healthiest you can, because the expense taken from your finances and health is costly if you don't first figure out how to feed yourself in the very best ways that you can.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback community college has a wealth of opportunities and programs which are easily individualized based on each student's individual scholastic goals. Each area of campus has a unique feel to it, and wherever you choose to take your courses, finding like minded individuals in the area always seems to be an easy venture. The teachers have always been reasonably easily accessible, and open to give their guidance and assistance, so long as you, their student, are willing to ask for the necessary assistance.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Besides some recent campus crisis. Campus security is decent. They have patrols of campus police all the time and there is a general feeling of safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know of many clubs, though I'm sure there are a few. The film program is very good, and much like a club. However, the film program is teacher run, instead of being lead by students.

    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback is great for students who don't know what they want to do for a career and don't want to pay through the nose to figure it out. Saddleback is great for adults who want to go back to school and add to their education. Saddleback is great for people who can't afford a university, but want an Associates Degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Saddleback is a community college, therefore much cheaper than any other college or university. Most people go to Saddleback for two-three years then transfer to a university due to the cheaper cost. Some teachers are very talented, others shouldn't be allowed to teach. To get the most bang for your buck, I suggest researching RateMyProfessor.com to find highest rated teachers.

    What to do for fun

    Saddleback isn't really a 'fun' campus. However, there are some entertaining activities like: school plays, watching students LARP, and chilling at the recreation center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad for a community college. However, the meals which taste 'good' make your stomach hurt and the meals that don't hurt taste bland. I'd suggest eating at one of the many restaurants surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Saddleback does not host dorms. Student life is on a friend basis. Yet most students only hang out with people whom they were friends with in high school.

    Academic Rigor

    Saddleback has fairly easy classes. It is much like highschool. However, you get to focus on the classes you want to take. Therefore, you may find classes easier because they are related to your passions.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be decisive, don't get caught up in the 'slacker' mindset. -Figure out your goals, then put your heart into them. -Always use RateMyProfessor.com to find the best teachers.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback has a large campus and huge student body of over 20,000 people. Many students are still trying to figure out what to do in life. Saddleback is often referred to as 'high-school-part-two'.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone trying to get a degree or transfer

    Tips for prospective students

    To keep with the assignments teachers leave

    Bang for the buck

    really cheap

    Am enjoying being here

    It close to home I can drive from school and work

    Am learning a lot

    Really easy college

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is go to school. It is my get away where I can use my and expand my mind. When I am here the only thing I think about is my school work.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to come learn a specific subject, this is the place to get straight and not slack off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Create a guideline of what you wish to do in life and make sure to see a counselor to help point you in the correct direction.

    In three sentences

    I dread driving the distance, but I enjoy every bit of my college life at Saddleback. The dance program is outstanding and each instructor for every class I have is determined. They love what they do, which encourages the students to do the same.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun, you should join clubs and be a part of something. also, the environment at saddleback college is very laid-back so it is nice to meet up with your friends after class.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining at saddleback college is ok. the cafeteria food can sometimes be really good and other times it is alright. off-campus there are many different restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    since saddleback college is a community college, there are no living on campus accomodations.

    Academic Rigor

    i gave the academic rigor a 2/5 because many of the classes are fairly easy. occasionally you will stumble upon a class that has challenging material but other than that, the teachers will usually be very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    remember to sign-up for different because it makes the college experience more exciting. also, make sure to ask around about teachers before you choose them because teachers really make the difference in the learning experience that you get.

    In three sentences

    saddleback college is an amazing community college to attend. the teachers and academics are outstanding. it is a great school to start your college education at.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is pretty safe. their are police always driving around, security as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    saddle back is a very large campus. i do not know of any traditions but i can assure any one that there are tons knowing this school.

    What to do for fun

    in my free time i love to go to the gym. i even love doing the homework i get from my teachers because it keeps me busy and i have a lot of free time. my favorite sport is soccer. i love it! i played for 3 years and fell in love with the sport

    Food and Dining

    they have excellent choices and aren't even pricey !

    Tips for prospective students

    saddle back has a large variety of education you need. they even have counselors who can help you if you are undecided.

    In three sentences

    saddle back is a great school. they have everything you need, including great teachers and as much help wanted. i would consider saddle back for any one who wants to start college for a 4 year term in community college

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe and well lite at night. The safety patrol is here to help not to hinder and that is the greatest part of campus safety. Also they have counseling and health issue professionals on call for any student in need of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from astronomy and physics, interior design, fashion just to name a few. Plus a great dram and music department

    Great for these types of students

    Young just starting out, seasoned folks looking to move up in the career status of life, saddleback even has a great sailing program which requires no prerequisite

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the investment, every penny invested yields return. From the books to the cost for classes etc.

    What to do for fun

    Fun comes from with in and since we have the breach, desert, mountains, city pools, malls, Disney land, Knott's, theme park plus a lot of miniature golf and ample places to sky dive fun is common word spoken often. Also the night life is great if that's your thing.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is like any other the part that is cool is that the staff is especially friendly and hardworking. Also we are located in southern CA and surronded by pleanty of good eateries.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing because we are a junior collage.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades and expectations for achieving the grade you desire are very obtainable i have found. 3 hours home study to one hour class. It seems to be true a lot of studying but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the classes and times offered they have an excellent transfer program and also they make financial aid a quick and painless process. The campus is clean and well maintained, a new pool, a great Astronomy program and the new library is just about to open.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback collage has excellent staff members, in all departments such as financial ed EOPS office book store and health center whom are true experts in their fields. The LAP lab is an amazing place, you can take advantage of free tutoring for all subjects, use computers to access blackboard and email, they have special ones for auto cad and graphic design. All the teachers are great and have their own style, exceptional one's I have had the pleasure of taking their class, Mr. Garcia for English,1B Mrs. Davis for U.S. history Mrs. Thomas for interior design along with Mrs. Ruth Jacobson.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    compared to four year universities, saddleback is cheep to attend. i'm so glad i'm getting all of my generals done here for less the cost.

    Food and Dining

    there is a small cafeteria on campus, i've only been in there a few times. it's nothing impressive, but it's still food.

    Dorm Life

    zero dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    depending upon what teacher you have or what subject, classes can be really easy or challenging. don't expect this school to be as easy as high school to get through, it's college after all.

    Tips for prospective students

    go see the counselors if you're unsure about anything! it seriously helps a lot. make sure that you're taking all the right classes. as long as you know what you're doing it's a piece of cake.

    In three sentences

    saddleback is a great community college, excellent if you're on your way to transfer into a four year university. getting into some classes, like math and biology, are hard at first. just be sure to get a high gpa, along with a lot of units and you'll get in no problem for most of your classes by the second year.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    By filling out my FAFSA I only had to pay $20 per semester for parking, a $17 health fee and the cost of books.

    What to do for fun

    In southern California the sky is the limit.

    Food and Dining

    I have never really eaten on campus but there are many great restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up on the first day of class or you might be dropped. Parking is tough for the first couple of weeks so leave early.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School events, club meetings and other community events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on over to the Student Service Center if you're new and you need any questions answered. They're their to help!

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is very friendly and open to new people. There are lots of great programs and clubs that could interest you.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Affordable, great way to finish general ed classes with no debt. Teachers are really good and care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to consult with the transfer department to plan your courses - it makes it a lot easier and you will finish sooner with either a degree or transfer certificate. Try to get in the honors program to get priority registration for classes.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers, fantastic art studios, small class sizes

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a sport or some sort of physical education class.

    Food and Dining

    Food is overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The science department is very tough, most of the teachers have been there for decades, making them very hard on their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research classes ahead of time. Make sure to get a parking pass as soon as possible and to get there early, the campus is quite large.

    In three sentences

    Everything about this college is great, great staff, students, and work environment. There are distinguished office hours and plenty of help when a student needs it. The whole school is full of life and people that care.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and school activities to get involved it. Even though it is a commuter college, with no resident life, there is no absence of community.

    Food and Dining

    Coffee cart is fantastic, and the cafeteria is good if you want a snack, but not for a full meal.

    Dorm Life

    I have no knowledge of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I was pleasantly surprised with how well classes are structured for students with all levels of education. You will be challenged if you take the proper classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use good time management. These classes are designed for student who want to be here, so you will not get your hand held.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic way to get a start to college! It is a great way to integrate yourself to the college life before transferring.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Saddleback is nice and affordable, and makes the hassle of finances much easier.

    What to do for fun

    Watch sports, play video games, write.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining isn't bad, but it should get better(and cheaper).

    Dorm Life

    Saddleback doesn't have dorms, so I am rating it a 1/5

    Academic Rigor

    Saddleback is great, although there is room for improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here if you want to save money before transfer to a California school. They really help.

    In three sentences

    Nice and small, Saddleback is easy and accessible along with an amazing faculty.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on in the quad as well as games. Performing arts events and extracurricular lectures are also a common occurrence on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Your food choices are limited to vending machines or questionable cafeteria food. Food trucks appear on campus occasionally but the lines are always long.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life as this is only a two year school.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors and curriculum, unfortunately, not many students seem to take either seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your education seriously.

    In three sentences

    Allow yourself extra time to find parking. Administrative faculty can be a bit condescending. Be extremely careful with rented text books.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    4 stars depending if food trucks are there because they are a lot healthier then the cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    Best starting out college ever 5 stars

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is in the heart of Mission Viejo, its not only a beautiful campus but offers great campus safety.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school is stacked with clubs and sports. Their funding has not been cut in the least and they can still offer students many extra curricular activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are a person into fantasy fighting they always have clubs dueling it out on the main lawn.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is everything you can ask for. The combination of academic and social excellence is unlike any other school.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing about this college is it's very close to the beach. Your able to go and tan before or after class. The school also has a golf range on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food is good here. They have a wide variety and the dining area is wide and open.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there is no dorms here but there are many apartments around for students out of the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers care and want you to do great but there are still some teachers that just want to get paid. Those bad teachers are few here.

    Tips for prospective students

    For furture students, you want to go here. The teachers are nice and caring. The oppertunites that the school offers is unlike any other. Work hard and achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is an amazing college. The teachers care about your learning and make sure that you learn and achieve your goals. The campus is one of the nicest junior colleges around.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station on campus with round the clock patrol cars

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm mainly focused on the Psychology clubs but there are numerous clubs that meet regularly!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to explore. Also good for students on a tight budget

    Bang for the buck

    You have the option to apply for the Board of governor's waiver fee which pays for the units, as well as the health fee is super low which gives the student general health services for the semester.

    What to do for fun

    The school has events like football games and dance recitals. Take a fun cooking class or an educational Auto class!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria serves really delicious burritos and Starbucks!!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, however there are bulletin boards postings about roommates and what not.

    Academic Rigor

    Saddleback has all the classes I want to take!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Take the Applied Psychology courses. They help so much in providing insight on a major and career. Also take speech 5 instead of speech 1!! -Don't always listen to other people's opinions of teachers because you may or may not have the same experience. -Don't be afraid to explore classes and find what your passionate about...it may not always be what you expect!

    In three sentences

    Saddleback was an interesting school. It has it's ups and downs, but overall was a great school for me to attend. I enjoyed the teachers I had because although they didn't care if you chose to never show up, they still showed interest in helping me learn when I was lost in the lesson! The psych program has some awesome classes and I still could take nutrition and cooking classes in spare time. I am definitely happy I chose to go to a CC and finish my AA in half the amount of money!

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    no experience

    Food and Dining

    no experience

    Dorm Life

    no experience

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty good school overall.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't sure yet what they want to major in.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the jazz concerts, see a play, watch the orchestra perform, check out live music in the Student Services Quad, get lunch at one of the food trucks that visits the school.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria and awesome coffee cart

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Always visit the counselors and set up a plan to get you ready to transfer within 2 years. Realize ahead of time that missing class will cause you to fail your classes! Just show up, and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Awesome resource in Southern California. Music Department staff members are outstanding and did everything they could to successfully prepare me to transfer to a 4 year university. I would recommend this school to anyone in my area who is looking to discover what it is that they are passionate about starting a career in.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police present everywhere and a lot of students looking out for one another.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs and activities which the students can get involved in if you have the time.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are the first of your family to go to college or for those who are shy, this college is great. Students are friendly and staff is very helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you are getting a great education for the amount you are paying. If you are there to learn you will get a lot out of it.

    What to do for fun

    They always have activities in the quad for the students, everything from multicultural fairs to days when universities bring in representatives to talk to prospective transfer students.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria which has great selection of food with a lot of alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know they do not have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Be sure to constantly keep up to date on the requirements for the university you are applying for to not get stuck at the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to take your general education first. Do not take school as a joke because you will look back at it and regret it. Take one to two classes a semester if you do not want to go full time better to A's the two classes then fail four of them.

    In three sentences

    The best way to start your college education at a low cost. They have great professors, with a lot of knowledge which they are eager to share. Transfer and Counseling center are very helpful, and willing to work with you on your goals.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police around.

    Great for these types of students

    Great Fashion programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for financial aid, scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs or other things.

    Food and Dining

    It has an ok selection.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    For me it has been great so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your way around. Get to know other students you have classes with. Get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. Everyone is helpful and friendly. It has a lot of great fashion classes and it has a great fashion programs.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join ASB or many of the other clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend taking math and english first.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is worth the money. Almost every teacher I've had is well-educated and very knowledgeable of their subject. It is a very straight forward process and you can easily complete your AS or AA in two years.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police of Saddleback College are always alert and aware of all events transpiring on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer a nearby, cost-efficient, campus to complete their general education requirements should look no further than Saddleback College. The diverse sports programs at this school, also makes this school the perfect choice for aspiring college athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    When being compared to the costs of universities, spending the first two years of college at Saddleback completing the general education is the best financial option.

    What to do for fun

    Saddleback has many diverse clubs, events, and sporting activities for the student body, including weekly food trucks and occasional live music during the school days.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always fully stocked with either prepackaged food, or warm meals ready instantly.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, Saddleback does not retain any dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers at Saddleback genuinely care about those in their class. Academics are taken very seriously, including repercussions if too many classes are failed by a particular student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saddleback is an incredibly large and full school, with many packed classes and parking lots. When first attending this college, one of the most important details to remember is early registration opportunities. For newly attending students, early bird registration is imperative to receiving the right courses.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is an excellent institution for those wanting to further their educations without spending a fortune. The extensive variety of classes and athletic programs offered assists all students in obtaining their desired academic goals. Being such a large campus, Saddleback attenders are given the feel of being apart of an actual university.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe

    Greek Life

    I don't know if there is any here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an ASB, music club and all sorts of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who know what they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is next to a very steep hill with road bumps everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are pretty cheap and are transferable to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities, organizations and sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria upstairs and a coffee shop outside. Other than that, I don't know. There are some places you can go off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    People meet and hang out. The dorm makes it easier to meet new people and friends.

    Academic Rigor

    It is sufficiently difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisers. Know what you want to do. It's okay to change majors.

    In three sentences

    The advisers and teachers are helpful. You have to go out and meet people because people won't meet you. The class size is either small or very large.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police force always willing to accompany a student that feels unsafe. I personally have never felt unsafe on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have been involved with and accepted leadership in both the Environmental Awareness Club and the Psychology Club. They are both awesome and do good work, activity and community wise. The Psychology Cub is integrated with Psi Beta (national honor society for psychology students) and very encouraging and helpful if one decides to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a great garden of California native species.

    Bang for the buck

    There really are great teachers at this school.

    Food and Dining

    I find it very difficult to find organic, vegetarian, and locally produced options in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors have been very clear with what they expect and what knowledge should have been attained by the conclusion of the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take good notes and keep a schedule planner. Build relationships with your instructors and get involved with things you believe in around campus.

    In three sentences

    The school has some amazing teachers that are passionately interested in their subjects. They seem very very happy to help a student that is serious and motivated to seek that help. The vendors on the campus have often disappointed me.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join at Saddleback unfortunately I work a lot and have not been able to be involved but I wanted to join the girls volleyball team. Saddleback has a very good sports program.

    Food and Dining

    The food at this community college is probably better than some of the food at four year colleges. It is a little expensive but they have the best chicken strips ever!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Saddleback College

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Saddleback you need to make sure you take it seriously and be sure to not slack off so that you can move on and transfer quickly. Try and get involved as well because it well allow you more to be focused with your studies at Saddleback.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is a great junior college to attend if you are interested in transferring. There are so many great and different types of classes to take. I have seen quite a few different counselors at Saddleback and they have all been extremely helpful so that I make sure I am on the right track to transfer as quickly as possible

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is high end at Saddleback College and the city its located in is very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school newspaper is highly known and also the Associated Student Government really takes their job seriously.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are really focused on transferring colleges or getting their Associates Degree. It is also very good for students who want to pursue a nursing career.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great overall school and you can really learn a lot. It is a high end community college and has a great nursing program.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is next to the school and the beach is less than half an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    The mall is right next to the school and there are many affordable places to eat around the school as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at Saddleback College, but the city is very nice and very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a tough campus for a community college considering everyone wants to succeed and get out of there as soon as possible. Teachers really do take their job seriously and want you to learn as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to a counselor and make an academic plan each semester so that you do not fall behind. Don't slack off or you will be there longer than planned. Just try your hardest and attend every class meeting in order to receive the highest possible grades.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is a great academic school. I has a lot of clubs and a great variety of classes. The school also has great programs to help you get to where you want in life, education, and/or your career.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty!

    Great for these types of students

    those looking to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Gets you what you need to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of sports and clubs along with a pool hall and driving range.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is descent but there are plenty of options around campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I slacked off and got caught up in college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get done here as soon as possible and transfer!

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to get your education started. Descent class sizes and plenty of extracurricular activities to join. Teachers are knowledgeable.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When night classes let out, there's always a patrol car monitoring the students as they get to their cars.

    Great for these types of students

    Science students, including health and nursing majors. These classes will challenge you, but you'll be ahead of everyone else.

    Bang for the buck

    Truly great teachers there who have a really passion to teach.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria isn't too bad, although you'll get them charging you a different amount for the same sandwich depending on who makes it for you that day.

    Dorm Life

    No housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some GE's are fairly easy, but the science classes are extremely difficult and competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all of your GE's out of the way first to transfer faster, even though you'd really like to get prerequisites done first. Like them on Facebook or follow on Twitter so you're up to date on any activities or announcements.

    In three sentences

    A lot of great teachers here, and many classes offered at multiple times. Although with so many students, it can be difficult to get into the popular science classes, especially for nursing. Difficult to get involved with campus activities as commuter students.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are cops as thick as bee's, so you are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs for a community college

    Great for these types of students

    great for Veterans

    Bang for the buck

    pretty cheap so good value

    What to do for fun

    nothing on campus

    Food and Dining

    pretty terrible

    Academic Rigor

    not too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    find a way to get priority registration

    In three sentences

    Nice Atmosphere. It is what you make of it. Don't forget your parking pass.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch the sports games and go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    There is food on campus and close by.

    Dorm Life

    There is none! The campus does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You are able to take basics to higher level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get things done before the deadlines. Make sure your financial aid application is finished and correct. Enjoy the campus.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is a smaller college in a great city. It allows me to take courses with as much challenge as I need. The Saddleback Gaucho's athletics are the best!

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe in this campus. We have sheriffs going around the campus, and you can easily call them with the payphones.

    Clubs and Activities

    The quad in front of the BGS building is always crowded. There are activities all the time ranging from club rush to transfer fairs.

    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback has friendly people and staff. If you are a people person and want to meet amazing new friends, Saddleback is great for you.

    What to do for fun

    Mission Viejo Mall is just right across the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Saddleback has a cafeteria that offers a wide variety of food. The campus also has a coffee shop that is open late at nights.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Mission Viejo as well so I am currently still living at home and I save money.

    Academic Rigor

    There is only one thing that I find as a rigor, and that is the parking hassle. Students tend to come to class at the same time. And so, parking is difficult sometimes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go see a transfer counselor. They are very friendly and absolutely helpful. They will help you get to the University or private college you desire.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback college has a lively and friendly environment. Members of the faculty and staff communicate well with the student body. This college has an amazing transfer center.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and opportunities. More information at saddleback.edu

    Great for these types of students

    Coffee-lovers, smokers, students wanting an education, students wanting to transfer to a higher university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Great alternative to a four-year university considering the money you will be saving.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, only have been to the school for education. There are many opportunities, however, to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Cannot honestly say because I have never been to the cafeteria however there is a little cart-like coffee shop that has delicious caffeinated drinks (coffee, much like starbucks) to keep you awake!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life as it is a community college. Everyone, to my knowledge, commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Good educational opportunities. Must be dedicated to achieve the grades you desire.

    Tips for prospective students

    As you are registering for classes, make multiple ideal schedules before actually applying, for the overcrowding is problematic and classes fill quickly. Teachers are very helpful. Much second-hand smoke.

    In three sentences

    Good academic environment. Not a place where you meet tons of people. Very crowded.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe overall.

    Clubs and Activities

    Saddleback College has a wide variety of clubs activities that students can get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who are devoted, focused, and self disciplined. It is also good for those who are looking to take recreational classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are the average community colleges prices along with books.

    What to do for fun

    There is a local mall and movie theater. It is also relatively close to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and local food places to eat at.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes are not very challenging and you may come out some of them learning virtually nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not waste very much time here. Do what you need to do to get each class done and get in and get out.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of good teachers here who are very passionate about teaching and their students. The campus is nice and there is a wide variety of classes. The classes tend to fill up quickly.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, sports, music, theatre, you name it its probably thee.

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing special, although it is not necessarily horrible. Good sized cafeteria and a semi-varied selection of food and drink at semi-decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be challenging while others are not so much, it all depends on the students level upon enrolling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with your classes and teachers in order to better maintain interest and momentum in your college career. Show up about an hour early for your class to find adequate parking. Talk to a counselor every semester to make sure you are on track and going in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start your college education. It has a well rounded faculty, as well as good facilities. The new library is state of the art an excellent place to study.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The only thing you can do for fun is join a club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best around.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes vary in difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that, because it is a community college, it will be easy.

    In three sentences

    Great professors, that know their topics very well. Some classes are easy while others are very tough. Every person working there wants you to suceed.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Overall good college with good stats.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club.

    Food and Dining

    Some local dining places around

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes are challanging while easier ones are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be early for morning classes because parking may be hard to come by. ratemyprofessor.com See a counsler for guidance.

    In three sentences

    Pretty good professors but you have to do research. Campus is fairly large, you may be walking everywhere. Really early and later classes are the least busy/ hassle.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GREAT!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many extra-curricular options and programs available. There are also numerous activities and events planned throughout the years and sponosred by various departments.

    What to do for fun

    Located within walking distance of a major mall. Many dining options, we asll we accessibility to bus transportation. Minutes from a major freeway. Within 20 minutes from the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria with many healthy options.

    Academic Rigor

    A wide range of academic options and programs. There are on-line, evening and even weekend courses available to fit any schedule & preference.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you require a personalized counseling session, sign up as soon as possible. If you are an athlete, you can receive individualized instruction and guidance.

    In three sentences

    It is very easy to navigate through the campus. Financial Aid & Counseling offices are very user-friendly and hours of available staff work well with a student's hours. Very friendly teachers and staff members - willing to assist in any way they can.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very low price per unit.

    Food and Dining

    Some cafeteria food is good, other is okay. Vending machines on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you are not in High school anymore, don't act like it.

    In three sentences

    Very safe school. Lots of choices of classes to take. Close to freeway and shopping.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. Security is all over the place- don't mess with the parking enforcement- get your pass! They do however keep the parking areas safe

    Food and Dining

    Good selection, healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging courses, this is definately not an 'easy A'. A great place for a real education

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early and follow up frequently.

    In three sentences

    The professors are caring, helpful, and very good at what they do. I know I am getting a good education that will benefit me when I transfer this spring.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to spend time with my family. Going out to eat is always fun. A trip to the beach or movies.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am doing very well academicly i recieve A's in all my classes and i have one B.

    In three sentences

    I have attended Saddleback since summer 2012 as an online student. This is the best school it works perfect with my schedule. The teachers are very nice and they work really well with you.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well the campus is okay. If you call campus police, sometimes they do not pick up, so that can be an issue, but most of the time they will.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama club, ASG

    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback has a great nursing program, from what I have heard

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind the theatre area and the baseball courts, some people apparently have fun in the bushes.

    What to do for fun

    Theatre. By taking theatre classes and participating in productions, I meet a bunch of new people and make a lot of memories with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria... the food is not great and some of it can be a little expensive. However, they do have great pizzas.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school, so I can't really judge on that.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do not make it really hard to get good grades, but just like any other school, you have to do your work if you want to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to have fun, make sure you join a club or something. If I had not joined the Theatre Department, Saddleback would not have been an amazing experience for me. Most of the people in your classes will not talk to you, so if you do not want to be bored the whole semester, make sure you start talking to your peers.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is a good place to go if you are having difficulties finding what you want to do in life, but it is also a nice place to simply complete your General Education. A majority, maybe even all, the programs are very advanced there and really help us to get prepared for what is waiting for us in the real world. Unfortunately, it is not so much of a social school, as it is quite difficult to meet new people and make new friends, unless you join a club or so some kind of extracurricular activity.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are a part of Saddleback's atmosphere, either by driving around enforcing the rules (i.e. making sure there aren't any parked cars at the bus stop) or chatting with students and faculty members alike getting their evening coffee at The Drip. I always manage to feel safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quad is oft times the meeting place for certain clubs, like Dead Poets, or people to play strange games with giant foam bats. The campus also has an Anime club so every so often you will see someone dressed in cosplay. Also, it seems to be a tradition to write/draw/ have conversations on bathroom stalls.

    What to do for fun

    I often go to the cafeteria to socialize with my friends whom I don't see unless on campus. Or, if I have some extra cash, I go to the library and check out their used book section (last time I bought a 1961 edition of Webster's American Dictionary for $.50). Or, if you want more stimulation, the Shops at Mission Viejo and the Kaliedescope is nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Saddleback's cafeteria is varied, ranging anywhere from Chinese food to American classics, like pizza and hamburgers. The drinks are a little pricey so I would stick with vending machines outside of the buildings. But most important of all, steer clear of the chicken fingers and french fries.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. You either walk to campus, carpool, or take the bus.

    Academic Rigor

    Although some of the teachers are easy graders, you are there to learn, not to be the class clown. If you fail, try again.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just relax, and try to be courteous and open-minded to everyone because despite all outward appearances, everyone has a story and everyone is on some level broken. Study hard, for you are hear to learn- not just socialize. Also, try not to text in class- if it is important, take it outside or risk getting thrown out of class and counted as absent.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to get your general education out of the way, especially for the money. The English department is great and the teachers are always there to help you and are understanding. Its an easy place to make friends and step out of your comfort zone.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Orange county has a lot of options for weekend fun. The beach is within a twenty minute drive and there are several amusement parks

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty of food options nearby at the mall as well as nearby strip malls.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but plenty of apartment complexes nearby. The complexes that butt up against the campus are a little run down but within a three mile range there are options.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors work at several colleges in the area and are experts in their fields. Speaking from experience, online as well as on-campus classes have a good environment that eventually becomes a group mentality. Professors are willing to work with all learning styles but do expect high quality work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the groups associated with your major as well as interests. Spend more time there than you might want at first. Study at the library, take advantage of the learning resource center and get to know the student service center.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback college has a warm and inviting with a very open campus feeling. The student body is a good mixture of younger and middle-aged peers that seem genuinely happy to spend their time there. Faculty on campus are helpful in all departments from veteran services to tutors in the learning resource center.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've had my lap top stolen from a student at a library who I asked to watch my things while I grabbed coffee. I reported it to Campus Safety, by the next day they recovered my lap top, and threw the student in jail. I'm not saying that all students here are criminals because I see people leave their things out all the time, but just be careful. Campus Safety is always on site and there for you.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities, but you can always join a club.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs that are always forming. I ran the Architecture Club 2012-2013. You can be involved in so many ways. You can also generate free money for your club to create activities and even go on educational trips like we at the Architecture Club have done in the past.

    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fencing, Pokemon, and drama club are always on the fields.

    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper than a University. Better to transfer from.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the amazing clubs we have! Students who are more involved in the school are passionate about their subjects. Invite your professor for a drink with other schoolmates.

    Food and Dining

    There is the mall right next to campus. Sushi in Irvine. Pizza places down the street.

    Dorm Life

    Students usually commute from home. There is off campus apartments nearby at negotiable rates.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here are dedicated. We have professors who went to Harvard and Berkeley (yes at a community college).

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a parking pass- fees have gone up another $100. Get to class early for parking. Make sure you know when your registration date is.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback's programs (Architecture Program, Nursing Program) are supportive, instructive, and can take you where you want to go. Some say that the classes are Saddleback are harder than they are at a University. Great clubs.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    53 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AN old man brought a black mamba to school the poisoness snake bit me and the cop did nothing.

    Greek Life

    promenade apartments plenty of parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    bible club free pizza.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who care about completing their general education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    students hit each other with wooden swords in the grassy area of the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    ASG offers free movie nights in the quad

    What to do for fun

    The compass bible church has pizza lunches free in the bgs certain days.

    Food and Dining

    The sandwiches are pretty good. ASG stamps get you 10% off on food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the honors program and hardest class I have had was humanities 10a.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your Math and English classes early, Take as many math classes online. You will learn more that way.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback college is a good school for completing your general education.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mission Viejo is one of the safest cities in America. There is a campus police department.

    Greek Life

    there is none

    Clubs and Activities

    Many involved students in Saddleback College. Helping Hands Club and Environmental Awareness Cub are very involved in the community and are very involved on campus

    Great for these types of students

    students who wish to transfer and are looking for programs to help them achieve those goals. Amazing counselors that help with the transferring process.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The garden in TAS building is very quiet and unique. Few people visit/know about

    Bang for the buck

    Saddleback is $46 per unit for students who are california residents

    What to do for fun

    Gym. Library and tutoring center

    Dorm Life

    there is no housing for students

    Tips for prospective students

    Be motivated and involved in school. The club fairs on campus are a great way to see what clubs are on campus.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback has many academic opportunities available for students. They have occupational skills awards, certificates, associates degrees, and transfer to a 4 year to earn a bachelors degree. They have programs like TAG (transfer admission guarantee) to a four year UC university, they have the honors program that also has a TAP program which is an alliance with UCLA, and Saddleback College also has an engineer program and many other programs that help make community college more challenging for students who wish to transfer.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall right across the street. People can go and unwind their after their classes or between their classes. There is also a LA fitness and 24 Hour Fitness within 10 minutes from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not that impressive. However, there is a the Mission Viejo Mall right across the street which has a great food court. There are also several different plazas around the school which makes it easy for students to grab and go.

    Dorm Life

    Saddleback is a community college. There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies according to the student's courses. Saddleback has a reputation of having some difficult teacher. However, they do help you learn and help provide a solid foundation of the basics. When compared to their sister school of IVC, I would prefer Saddleback due to their rigorous courses and some of their great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    For most of the students, myself included, the most difficult part of school was determining a major. My tip for prospective students is to not rush in trying to commit to a major. Take your required general education courses and make getting good grades your primary focus. Once you take the general education courses, people seem to realize what they would like to major in.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College makes it easy for a student to navigate through. Once the student is able to commit to a major, Saddleback gives them many opportunities to pursue it. Depending on how determined one is to get to their desired goal, I would rate this college a 9/10.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ive always felt safe here, theres a pretty active campus security

    What to do for fun

    theres good hiking trails around the college as well as bowling and good shopping

    Food and Dining

    its right next to the mission Viejo mall so theres a lot of dining options

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes aren't too hard. if they are theres always tutoring and some of it is free

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you register and take care of the sign up process on time of not early. take advantage of the programs. financial aid, eops, tutoring, ect..

    In three sentences

    the campus is big and everything is well maintained. the staff is helpful, ive never had an issue with any of my professors. and the student body is diverse.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The schools seems to be very active on fashion, the arts, and nursing. There are hospitals all around the school therefore if you are interested in the medical field, there are many options to get internships in that field.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I like to walk around the campus and see what is going on. There seems to be activities all the time. The mall is just across the street and small shops too.

    Food and Dining

    Although I haven't eaten at their cafeteria, they have a good variety of food. There's vending machines if you are on the go too.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. I have to wake up extra early to get good parking and make sure that I don't get stuck in traffic. There's a lot of schools around, so traffic builds up in the freeways.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, every class that I am taking has been challenging. A lot of work is required from the student but I don't mind because I know it will prepare me for the university. Professors are there to help as long as you reach out for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to schedule your classes early. I know it is tough to wake up and go to school, but in the end, you will have good parking. From 9am to 3pm, parking spaces is impossible to find.

    In three sentences

    Has a great location, not too far from beaches, the city, and a mall. Teachers are super friendly. Parking really sucks.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    58 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never tried their food

    Dorm Life

    No dorming

    Academic Rigor

    Ive heard there academics are great. They have a lot of great classes that can help you earn what you are looking to persuade as a career

    In three sentences

    I've heard many things about this college, I was told it was a great two year college that prepares you to transfer to a UC and CSU. I am now accepted to attend and I feel that it's going to be a great two year experience.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Plenty of local dining options and on campus options as well.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus or in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a counseling appointment right off the bat, even if you haven't decided on a major yet, they will assist you in the start of your journey and may even help you decide on what career path to take.

    In three sentences

    Let's put it this way, I drive 35 miles one way just to attend this college. I have had nothing but success with this school. The entire faculty and staff not only want you to but do everything in their power to help you succeed in your educational and lifelong goals.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    60 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are visible in the parking lots and do travel up and down campus.

    Greek Life

    None...

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good place for the UnderAchiever to Figure things out.

    Bang for the buck

    JC's are great in CA....Next to free.

    Food and Dining

    The food reminds me of a halfway decent asian fast food place.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS. ASG is the social hub.

    Academic Rigor

    Saddleback is just as difficult as any other school, but you could possibly have just as much fun for less money. The Faculty want to ensure that you understand the information.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not sure what your going to major in, starting here get's your GE's taken care of. If you just want an Associate's degree, the planning is pretty easy here. Never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is a changing place. They are adding a new science building and have added a new building for Health science careers. While it has it's bureacracy (2 yr school), the faculty are friendly and I hope to succeed in finishing my sciences units and moving up better prepared than my last trip to University.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus of Saddleback college is very clean, big and safe. I am very happy to have started in Saddleback college and very soon my dreams to have a diploma come true.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Saddleback College. But there are a few honors societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    With 500 clubs and organizations-- we have a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Saddleback is great for any type of student. Diversity, older, middle age students, young adults. we have all kind here at Saddleback!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the campus is located centrally, but with recent expansions there are now some outlying buildings that are a good distance from the many section. The main concentration of these is called The Village, and can be quite a walk from the BGS building.

    Bang for the buck

    By going to Saddleback college, you are saving much more money and getting just as good of an education as going to a four-year university. There's no worry in getting the best bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    Saddleback has all types of classes to leisurely classes such as yoga, salsa dancing, kickboxing, swimming, or even, sailing. Make the most of your time here at Saddleback by getting involved with every aspect. Off campus, Enjoy yourself at beaches in Dana Point, San Clemente, and Laguna Beach--just about 15 minutes away. There are malls, and cheaper places to shop and eat. Starbucks, In-n-out, Mission Viejo Mall, and several other conveniences are right next to the campus!

    Food and Dining

    Saddleback college has food trucks that are featured each week, a cafeteria, and multiple coffee stands. There is a wide array of options to fill everyone's stomach!

    Dorm Life

    Saddleback has no dorms. All students live off campus, but luckily, Saddleback is just right off the 5 freeway, and an easy drive for the traveling student.

    Academic Rigor

    Saddleback has quality education and very professional professors have real life experience and have graduated with PhDs and high degrees. They are writers, publishers, architects, and retired engineers. Saddleback is 100% accredited and has 300 different types of associate degrees, and other certificates to choose from. They even offer study abroad programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule of classes are flexible so i can enrolled some classes online. Saddleback was the best decision that i could choose to study. smaller class atmospheres, and study hard. Use a professor online rating information website to help you choose what classes will be the best choice for you.

    In three sentences

    I decided to attend at Saddleback college to get a better education and better work opportunities.They are the # 1 community college in Orange County to transfer students to the best UC system schools in California. When you go to classes you see different ages and different people from different countries. Saddleback is an extremely good community college..

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek food across the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    Its okay.

    Great for these types of students

    Veterans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Greek food across the street is good.

    Bang for the buck

    sure, great place.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is too expensive for what you get.

    Academic Rigor

    It's above average as far as community colleges go.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school has a great veterans center.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school. The facilities are nice and clean, good teacher, and good environment. All around good experience.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs to join, and I've seen many fun events that occur on campus.

    In three sentences

    great community college. Almost everyone you meet there are very friendly and would be happy to help. Professors are nice and understanding.The campus is nice and big, it's also very peaceful.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to question the safety of Saddleback College. I have attended classes from eight in the morning to nine at night and I always see at least one police officer on my way out of campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking at Saddleback has always been an issue. As a result if a student is on their way to their parked car and plans to leave, some students struggling to find parking will offer the leaving student a ride to their parked car in order to receive the spot.

    Bang for the buck

    The cafeteria at Saddleback offers food similar to Panda Express and at a cheaper price.

    What to do for fun

    Saddleback fortunately always has something to participate in. There are: many clubs, movie nights, and even a special lounge room where students can relax on a couch or play a game of pool.

    Food and Dining

    There is a decent cafeteria with a variety of food to select from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm at Saddleback College

    Academic Rigor

    I gave Saddleback three stars because the intensity of a class really depends on the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Sign up for the Early Bird program. - Review the date given for registration. - Prepare the possible classes and schedule for the semester - Have a reliable computer ready to register on.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback offers a variety classes at different hours. Staff members are very involved into their work and wish to see their students excel. The culture within Saddleback is very friendly and open to new people.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is always bright and well lit. there is campus police on the grounds at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that I definitely feel like I go my money's worth by investing on my education at this college. none of my classes were overly full. The Professors are all generally friendly and eager to assist students. The Counseling department is resourceful and willing to help students with academic and personal issues.

    What to do for fun

    Saddleback College offers many activities like movie nights and many other activities that are usually held in the heart of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Saddleback College has a basic cafeteria where you can find something to keep your tummy from growling. Saddleback College is near a mall where you can easily find more options. I recommend driving to the mall.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot attest to this. I live nearby school and do not live on campus. The students that live nearby are all respectful and kind to others.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students I've encountered at Saddleback College are motivated and strive for excellence in their studies. I felt motivated by the amount of students at this school that took their education serious. The college is well prepared and has many facilities where students can study and perform research

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize all your recourses at Saddleback College and you will succeed and earn good grades. If you're looking for more of an adult-like atmosphere, select evening/night classes.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is a college where one can feel assured they are receiving the best education and counseling services a community college can offer. Professors, counselors and staff at the college are all more than willing and available to help students succeed in achieving their educational goals. I rate Saddleback College a 10 out of 10.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem feeling unsafe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Definitely get involved, it will make your experience more enjoyable and less stressful.

    What to do for fun

    Across the street is a mall. On campus there's things always going on in the quad area or inside the student center building

    Food and Dining

    It's decent

    Dorm Life

    I've never dormed here

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely doable, some classes are obviously more difficult than others but its nothing less the competitive universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a plan, and if you don't talk to someone in counseling immediately.

    In three sentences

    I love Saddleback. All the staff and admin have been nothing but sweet and caring all the years I've been here. They really try to help you get to your ultimate goal.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 69

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i enjoy it here, actually. It has exceeded my expectations in every way. I look forward to the rest of my time here.

  • 07/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety is superb, there is also campus safety patrolling the area and police patrolling the area. If you ever feel unsafe go to campus safety, they will make you feel safe and take care of the issue immediately and professionally, you will not have to feel awkward or scared, they are here to help! I think Saddleback has one of the greatest Campus Safety programs as they are always kind and cheerful and they make their presence known, they make sure you know that they are here to help and they want to help keep the campus safe. They do not treat campus safety simply as a job, they take their job seriously and want to ensure all of the students' safety, upon encountering them you know this is true and can feel that they truly care about each and every student.

    Greek Life

    There really is no Greek Life on campus as this is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are great! Make sure to join clubs and attend activities that garner your interests and you will find other like minded people who share your interests who will make great friends. Utilizing Saddleback's clubs and activities is important because you will create lasting friendships as well as get the most out of your experience at Saddleback. Whose to say you can only make lasting friendships at the four year university level? If you do the right things and join activities and get out there you will create lasting connections and friendships with students, faculty, and professors at the community college level.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will benefit from Saddleback college. Students who don't have a clear vision yet, returning students, students who chose the community college route for many reasons will benefit from this school. Saddleback really has a place for everyone and if you utilize the opportunities of Saddleback in the right way you will get a great experience and take away knowledge from this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Saddleback Native Garden is an amazing place to volunteer, if you are qualified (such as are in environmental courses or some biology courses) many teachers will give you extra credit for going, even if you don't receive extra credit go to the gardens! The professor in charge of taking care of the gardens is extremely friendly and will make the experience a wonderful one. Most students don't even know this place exists so it is fairly quiet, but students do go out everyday to volunteer and it is a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school! It is extremely cheap, one of the cheapest community colleges in California (OCC is about 15$ more per credit which really does add up). Of course Community Colleges are known for being fairly cheap, and Saddleback is no exception. Saddleback offers great schooling at near free tuition costs. The library also rents out the textbooks to students who need help with buying books, however you can only keep the book for a few hours in the library. If school is a monetary issue, definitely apply for Financial Aid, if approved most everything will be covered and you will get your education for almost free. Without FAFSA, this school still has a great bang for the buck great great classes, for a way lower fee than other four year universities. The intro classes that you take will be of the same quality as classes from other universities.

    What to do for fun

    Join ASG! The student government will definitely add a fulfilling experience to your community college experience. Look around campus for the flyers that are posted everywhere explaining things to do on campus. There are TED Talk Tuesdays, along with quad movie nights, and job and transfer fairs. Once you begin to attend activities regularly it is much easier to gain friendships. Joining clubs is also a good idea, as there will be more friendships generated through this way.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical cafeteria food, the egg rolls are great and so is the pizza. They have many food kiosks located around the school, however they do not give cash back so always come prepared with cash if you want to get food from the vending machines or print something! The food is not amazing, but it is not bad either, typically people go out of the school to eat because there are many many choices around Saddleback College for food and dining, such as the Mission Viejo Mall, and the Town Center across the street from the school.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not really have a dorm life, as it is a commuter community college. The atmosphere is great, however because it is a commuter school it can seem hard at first to create connections with fellow students, however once you get over this and get out there and meet new friends, you realize that everyone is also eager to create connections. The atmosphere is overall friendly, although in the beginning it is noticeable that this is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great school and it competes well with all other Community Colleges in California, the academic rigor is outstanding, the classes are challenging and there is no cutting corners with this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused! Do not drift! Use the many opportunities available to you! Definitely TALK to a counselor, regardless of whether or not you have an academic plan, use the job fairs and the job portals to the best of your abilities, and use the internships that the professors give you access to. Even though Saddleback is a community college, it is important to make a good impression on all of your professors, you never know when they might come in handy. Definitely try to join ASG (Associated Student Government), this will give you a leg up from other students as well as will teach you how to create lasting connections with professors and fellow students.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback College is a great transitioin school, they offer many opportunities and the courses offered along with the professors compare with many four year universities. Saddleback College is great for students who utilize the opportunities provided by the college, including jobs, careers, and transfer opportunities. Saddleback College is a great college with a great environment.

  • 10/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If there is any issue the campus police is happy to help and they encourage students to speak up if anything happens in parking lots. Not much happens in the parking lots though.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is across the street, so before class or after class you can go hang there, eat there, and or go shopping there. One can also join the various clubs they have there on your spare time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety from vegetarian meals to non veggie meals for the rest meat eaters. Some meals are made until ordered.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be shy to ask for help and just have fun, meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Saddleback is a great school where they try to teach you on whats the latest in the industry of your career choice. The counselors are very kind and try there best to help you out. The staff wants to help you succeed there and in the future.