Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saint Ambrose University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind about any school that you go to look at.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer some of the best merit scholarship that I have seen during my college search. You will be able to complete you degree in 4 years.

    Will enjoy being here

    Best dorms around, every two rooms share a bathroom

    Will learn a lot

    The small student to teacher ratio will be great. Offer may different types of programs.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ambrose has campus security 24 hours, 7 days a week. they also have student security at night before per mar comes to ensure that people who are not supposed to be in the residence halls do not get it. ambrose also has a great residence life staff that does rounds every night of the week to make sure that students are having a fun and safe college experience

    Greek Life

    there is no greek at ambrose

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to write down. you will just have to come and find out when you get on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    ambrose is great for students who want a great education, small class sizes and want to meet a wide variety of individuals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are no real traditions on campus

    Bang for the buck

    st. ambrose is expensive, but when you graduate from here, you will be well prepared for your future career aspirations. ambrose also offers a ton of academic and athletic scholarships to help with the cost.

    What to do for fun

    there is a ton of things to do for fun on campus, but the student has to make the decision to get involved. there are: clubs, athletics, drama, intramurals, and tons of fun events that are put on by the university.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the cafeteria is good, but you have to find out how to make it work the best for you. they have many options each day and can even make special meals to accomodate dietary issues.

    Dorm Life

    the residence halls at st. ambrose are very nice, and can be very functional if the students take the time to organize their room. st. ambrose will go from traditional housing to preferred housing as they move through their years. as they move into preferred status, they will get more ammenities in their room, like a kitchen and multiple bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes rigor is different for the 50+ majors that st. ambrose offers. the class load and demands will be difficult, only if you slack off and do not work hard. st. ambrose strives for academic excellence, and the professors will hold you to that standard, but they will also be the first ones to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    my biggest tip for prospective students would be to get involved in so way on campus. st. ambrose might be seen as a small, private university, but it is a lot bigger than people expect. every student needs to join something to get them surrounded by individuals with the same interests as them.

    In three sentences

    st. ambrose university is a university that looks at holistic development of every student that attends. the main goal throughout a student's educational experience is to teach them academic excellence through a liberal arts foundation. the university also strives to make each student a leader in service social justice.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Ambrose University is great for students who want smaller classes and the opportunity to interact with experienced and qualified educators and professionals. All of the dorms are apartment style; all have private bathrooms and most even have their own kitchens. It's a great place to make good friends and contacts, which can make a college career very fruitful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find scholarships and grants to help pay for tuition. St. Ambrose doesn't have great athletic scholarships, and most of their academic scholarships leave a huge amount to be covered by dreaded student loans. The Quad Cities doesn't offer too many fun attractions, but it is close to Iowa City and only three hours from Chicago. There are, however, a lot of opportunities for volunteer work and internships for every college major.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Ambrose is not the cheapest private university, but as one professor says, This isn't the Ivy League, but it's not the Little League either! The school offers a lot for a student who is serious about their education. They also have great facilities, including some of the nicest dorms around.

    Am enjoying being here

    As good as the professors are at showing students how to educate themselves even after school, a lot of the students still only want to do the bare minimum. For me, it has been hard to go to classes every day knowing that I'm not going to get the same feedback from my peers as I'm willing to give. Still, the professors are always more than willing to work with students individually.

    Am learning a lot

    A strong majority of the professors at SAU are very good at teaching their students. Most professors emphasize the ability to think, opposed to the mere memorization of facts and terms. No matter the course, there are always a lot of critical thinking problems, case studies, and research assignments that increase real-world knowledge and understanding that allow us to build upon our textbook learning. As an International Business major, my classes often have a heavy emphasis on adapting to and understanding different environments. Fortunately, even the more traditional business courses avoid a narrow American-in-a-vacuum theme.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    st. ambrose puts on many activities that are free to any student.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has a great selection of food, but has bad hours.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms here are outstanding and they are very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    if you put in the effort, the classes will come easy to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be afraid to ask for help. if you have a question on anything, chances are, somebody else has that exact question.

    In three sentences

    st. ambrose is the perfect fit if you are looking for a university that cares for it's students and wants them to succeed. many teachers make themselves available for extra help. you will succeed here if you put in the effort.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Camera's on campus help to secure areas and their are security throughout campus. They have installed safety stalls around the parking lots in case of any emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join and participate in, you may begin a club if you desire.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for a positive student that wants to begin their academic career in a positive environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus Chapel was updated and the atmosphere is inspiring.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a small University but it helps you adjust to life away from home to campus life. You will make great friendships here at Saint Ambrose University.

    What to do for fun

    The recreational department helps to encourage students to participate in events on campus and off.

    Food and Dining

    Great food with an executive chef and staff.

    Dorm Life

    Brand New Dorms being built on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Your academic success is important to Saint Ambrose University Professors and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the staff and fellow students attending Saint Ambrose University.

    In three sentences

    Saint Ambrose University is friendly. Saint Ambrose University has low class size for more individual attention. Saint Ambrose University cares about their students success.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    located on a busy street, but when you are on campus, you feel as if the rest of the town is not existent.

    What to do for fun

    explore the state of iowa and the bordering state, illinois. there are lots of fun things to do and enjoy, many free of cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to class prepared and ready to learn. get involved in extra-curricular activities. be the best person that you can be.

    In three sentences

    this small, catholic, liberal arts university is where i have found my true colors and found a future path for myself. the small campus and class sizes have allowed me to grow as a person both in the classroom and outside of the classroom. as a future occupational therapist, i hope to enrich the lives of others and use what i have learned and gained from st. ambrose university every single day in order to better someone's life.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a very dedicated and loyal campu security. they drive around the campus numerous times a day making rounds to all parts of campus. we have campus securty at all the dorms after 7 pm which require a student id to enter the building. we also have emergancy call post located at various locations throughout campus. lastly, the campus is very well lit at night so there are no dark areas when walking on campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    their are clubs for the popular majors. ex. psycology club, etc. we have habitat for humanity, students against destructive decisions club, peer mentors, national honors society, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    being a student at st. ambrose university gives you a sense of self pride and liek you are one big happy family. it is a small community so you know a lot of people on campus and a lot of the professors. everyone looks out for everyone's best interest, and the st. ambrose staff does a great job supporting their students.

    Bang for the buck

    st. ambrose tries to give as much financial aid as possible. it is a smaller university and does not have a lot of extra funds to throw around, however they do a reasonable job trying to stretch their resources as much as possible to help as many people as possible.

    What to do for fun

    there are always activities going on on-campus if your bored. there is inter-mural sports for every season which can be a lot of fun. there are also volleyball courts on campus for when it is nice out. davenport's downtown area also has many differnent fun things to do away from campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    st. ambrose has a very diverse cafateria for all different kind of eaters. there is a great deal of different choices so there is something for everyone. there is also ragowski center that has a food court with different options than the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    one of the advantages of being in a smaller school is they don't need huge dorms to house all the students. st. ambrose university has been voted some of the best resident life facilities in the midwest. they are all updated, and very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a private liberal arts college, and is very competitive in the acedemic perspective. they have a higher grading skill compared to some universities, however it pays off with st. ambrose well respected reputation for higher educational excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    an important tip would be to use the small campus to your advantage. get to know all your professors because it is not hard in a small class room, and use your prrofessors for extra help when needed. also, get involved in all the extra organizations and clubs on campus to get to know different people.

    In three sentences

    st. ambrose university is a small, liberal arts college. it is diverse in the acedemic and social possibilities for their students. laslty, it is a very warm and welcoming place, a home away from home.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent!

    Clubs and Activities

    baseball is great here

    What to do for fun

    go to the gym area and play pick up games. head to the rogalski center to meet and socialize in the game room. also, the lounges in some building are a great way to spend times with others around you!

    Tips for prospective students

    be committed, stay focused, and never give up

    In three sentences

    an outstanding university that offers a great deal of happiness, commitment, and great leadership. provides a great community for a good social life. the university enables its students to develop intellectually, spiritually, ethically, socially, artistically and physically to enrich their own lives and the lives of others.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAU Security works 24/7, 365. I can attest to this, as a student officer. The police station is also less than a mile away.

    Greek Life

    Sadly doesn't exist at SAU.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can find a fit anywhere. If your club doesn't exist, get a group together, go to Student Government, and get it approved with money from the school to start!

    Great for these types of students

    Health-science prospects! Intellectuals Low-key partiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The oldest building on campus, Ambrose Hall, is said to be haunted! It's fun to wander around and just explore, too.

    Bang for the buck

    Unless you have scholarships, it can be pricy, which is daunting. However, the programs are able to get you in and out with higher degrees in under 6 years if you play your cards right.

    What to do for fun

    Hang around campus is fun. There is always a lot going on. Otherwise, head down town for free admission to Figge Art Museum. We have a shopping mall about 1.5 miles away. At one corner of campus lies VanderVeer Park, which is absolutely beautiful year-round, and safe to spend time in and study or exercise.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there is a lot of variety, although it can get boring after a year or two, but the cafeteria can get crowded. Luckily, the school is expanding it now for Fall 2012.

    Dorm Life

    The housing here is amazing! You can be living in an on-campus apartment suite by sophomore year, and guaranteed by junior year. Freshmen (about 90%) enjoy living in suites with large rooms shared with one other individual, a large bathroom which joins to another large bedroom for two other students. There are always activities and clubs to get involved with.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be difficult, but you have to look at college as if it were your job, full time. You may not always love it, but you need to put the work in to get the benefits. Studying in groups is always, ALWAYS helpful (with the right students, of course).

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and look, especially if you are interested in physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech pathology, nursing, or business, education, and accounting. Also, work hard now, because Ambrose has amazing scholarship offerings for academics.

    In three sentences

    This is a great, smaller to mid-sized school. The programs are exquisite, especially for health sciences. The housing here is the best possibly in the nation.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite small and if it's dark and you don't feel like walking back to your dorm you can call security and someone will walk you back. The campus itself is very safe; the surrounding areas can be kind of freaky at night, though.

    Greek Life

    Basically non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    There is really something for everyone. I'm involved in a volunteer group, there are groups dedicated to specific majors, tons of campus ministry, and the activity board always has something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone; the sports here are pretty good, the academics are great, and the social life is always active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First Thirst and Last Blast... I'll let you use your imagination.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but I think nearly everyone recieves some kind of scholarship. The campus is great and the education is top notch.

    What to do for fun

    Every RA does a bunch of floor activites so that it's easier to meet the people you're living around. The campus also has a bunch of plays and stuff that students can get into for free. There are also usually parties every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't that many options for food. The Rogo Cafe tends to have fresher food, but you have to Buzz Bucks instead of your meal plan. The Cosgrove Cafeteria is where you use your meal plan and the salad bar is always fresh, but the options aren't always that great.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms are really nice and really big. I live in the new academic building, suite side (instead of apartment style), but everyone has enough to room so that it doesn't feel like you and your roommate are right on top of eachother all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor here takes what they are teaching very seriously. If you aren't interested in what you're learning, talk to the professor right away (esp. if it's a gen ed) to see if there are alternate ways to go about learning or a differnet course that fits your interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. It's the best way to meet new people. Also, don't be afraid to apply for scholarships or talk to financial aid for help. The people in the finaid office here are great!

    In three sentences

    The community so welcoming. The school is beautiful. The classes are great and are taught by professors that enjoy what they do.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I like that St. Ambrose offers different kinds of dining experiences, whether you're looking for a fast food pick up, or a sit down dinner with friends. The food here isn't the greatest, but the company is!

    Academic Rigor

    While I don't struggle in my classes as much as I did at a bigger university, I attribute this to the fact that I have a better relationship with my professors, and they are willing and able to aid me in my learning better than I've ever experienced before.

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is an intimate college experience that offers great academics, social life, and spiritual guidance. The small class sizes allow you to learn more and make stronger relationships than at a bigger university.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very good here

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Davenport, Iowa is a growing place this college is the best in the area really give it a good chance when making you decision

    In three sentences

    Awesome School professor are wonderful

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officals here for protection. The St. Ambrose website offers jobs, and contact information for secutity purposes year round. Students also have acess to security via phone 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of clubs and organizations geared towards helping students expand thier knowledge. Clubs also offer a great chance to build friendships as well.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students from academic based to aspiring althlets.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall out shelters are located here! During the Cold War fallout shelters were built to protect against nuclear bombs! Historically Ambrose is unique and has many other unusual locations.

    Bang for the buck

    Students pay and get a bang for their buck. Staff is friendly and helpful to all students. there is an 11:1 student to faculty member ratio. Small classes and individual attention are a primacy here.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, sports, research activities and much more...

    Food and Dining

    Great selection and meals are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    currently live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Ambrose offers extensive academic rigor. They expect a lot out of their students, but respectfully understand that we demand professors and staff that help us reach our goals accordingly. Ambrose will help expand your knowledge and perception of the world around you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join this school simply put. This university offers you a helping hand showing you how to recieve help and how to help others. Apply as soon as possible and become a fighting bee.

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is the ideal school for any Student, and i consider it one of the top rated schools in Iowa. I have visited many schools but none of them even come equal to the majestic standards Ambrose holds. St. Ambrose University compels students to dream and achieve thier goals making them a top ranking school in my opinion.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Last Blast- every spring there is a huge celebration on campus

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Davenport, lots of parks and trails, great places to eat

    Tips for prospective students

    Study abroad

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose University is a great place to earn a 4 year or graduate degree with great professors, faculty, and mentors.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A majority of the ACCEL courses are taught at a location separate from the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events taking place during all the seasons. There is a portion of the local newspaper that will list all the events taking place during a specific time frame within locations that is driving distance.

    Food and Dining

    You have restaurants that provide a wide range of versatility.

    Dorm Life

    The rating is provided only because it is a requirement. I honestly cannot provide any information since I currently live in the area and am not living in the dorm. I do know that changes have been made to make students who walk to the campus safer.

    Academic Rigor

    The university, like all colleges, has rules that are required to be applied to by the faculty and students. The instructors that have taught courses I have taken are very accommodating whenever possible with the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend the ACCEL program, you will be able to attend 2-3 or 4-6 courses per semester. Talk with the instructor at the first sign of having trouble.

    In three sentences

    The university offers accelerated (ACCEL) courses which allows full-time workers to earn a degree. The university is compassionate of your situation and changes regarding your life style. The university has excellent instructors.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    For people not looking to go to a big school with lecture halls. You end up knowing a lot of people because its small. Also its nice because you do not have to walk for to get to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Last blast is a celebration at the end of the year right before finals.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or be in a sport.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent but the food court has good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are super nice if you get in a good one. But, there are a couple old gross ones so get your housing in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your housing in on time!

    In three sentences

    It has really small classes that usually have 30 kids are less. The teachers know your name and are very helpful. Also, there are so many clubs and sports that include everyone on campus.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security and Davenport Police if needed. We have the blue security poles located all over campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from with something to do almost every night of the week.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for almost everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Take 18 credits a semester for one price.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities every night, lots of clubs to be involved in, located in a large city so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Buffet style; if you don't like the main line, there will always be a go to food.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome new residence halls, great Ra's, lots of new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes, one on one time with professors if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Say hello, be courteous, ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. Friendly people. Well known liberal arts university.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues. Well lit campus. I feel safe at night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't done much in this area yet but plan to. They seem to offer many options.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, school sponsored programs, Riverwalk area downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Good menu choices

    Dorm Life

    Great rooms!

    Academic Rigor

    I am getting good grades but it doesn't come easy. You need to do the work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with the coursework!

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is a great fit for me. I love the small class sizes and personable professors. I have made many great friends and enjoy everything about it!

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great! I have never had a problem with feeling unsafe. Security is open 24/7. If it is late out, they will walk you back to your room or car. They have no problem with that. They always patrol the grounds and parking lots at school.

    Greek Life

    Sadly, there is no Greek life on campus. Our version of Greek life would be our Majors. Our major clubs are our Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities and clubs on campus! Personally, I am on the bowling team, involved with STARs, the Pre-Law club, I am an admissions tour guide, in the process of becoming an RA and participating in Chicago Bus trips where I house perspective students for the night and show them around campus. There are so many options for you to become involved in on campus. There's a variety of sports to hobbies to academic clubs at school. I'd advise you to get involved with at least one!

    Great for these types of students

    Ambrose is an amazing school! You are able to double dip with general eds and major requirements. Many classes over lap and is great knowing that 1 class can account for 2 things you need to take! Also, Ambrose is a liberal arts school, with the Catholic Religion. They do not force you to believe in the Catholic belief. If you are a different religion, Campus Ministry goes out into the community and helps you find a church that follows your beliefs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition on campus is always at Halloween time. They give tours of Ambrose Hall, which is haunted. Ambrose hall is the oldest building on campus, so with winding halls, you are up for a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    I would not regret one thing about making my decision on coming to Ambrose! Everyone is so nice and willing to help you. The drive is not bad at all! I am from the Chicagoland area and the drive flies by. You meet so many students from different places and we have become great friends. St. Ambrose is a small university, where many students know each other, but the campus feels big once you feel a part of it! I throughly enjoy it!

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I hang out with a lot friends. Unfortunately, many people go home on the weekends, so campus becomes quiet. But when students are there, I go out with them, we go to sporting events, plays or just go to the mall to go to a different atmosphere.

    Food and Dining

    The food at school is alright in the cafe. I would like to have a different selection most of the time. The ice cream, you cannot go wrong with. That is always delicious. In Rogo, the food is great! Rogo is a mini gas station as I refer to it. There are little nic nacs there, along with made to order food. You can choose from pizzas, pastas, sandwiches, smoothies and more!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun! At school, majority of the rooms are setup as suite-style, meaning 2 rooms, 4 girls, share a bathroom. It works out great. When we are in our rooms, we leave the doors open, and people pop in and out all the time. Our RA's are great! They hang out with us and always like to see what we are up to!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are amazing. All of my professors know me on a personal level and I believe that is amazing. The professors are required to have office hours to meet with us students if we need it. Also, the classes are taught by the professors, its not a student aid. So you are learning from a person with the degree, rather than someone trying to obtain the degree. Lastly, the class sizes are small. The biggest class i have holds about 19 students currently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be determining location of school. How far away or close it is to home. Being willing to be open to experience new things, that is what college is all about. Get involved, talk to someone you never thought you would have before. Also enjoy the time you have at college. As we all know time flies and before we know it- its over. So, take chances, get involved and experience the college life!

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is a great community. The staff members and students at school are always willing to help you achieve your best in everything you do! Its a small environment, but the atmosphere is huge on campus.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel very secure and safe on campus. There are guards posted at the entry of all residence halls after 11pm. However the head security officer, Tom, is not a nice man.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at SAU

    Food and Dining

    The sodexo food is very bland and we have many of the same foods at every meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all very nice and spacious, especially compared to other universities in Iowa. Almost all have AC and heat, which is crucial in college. The RA's and hall directors are very nice and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Class size is very small and beneficial for academic success. You can take 18 credits per semester and the professors are very helpful. It is a very good and high quality education.

    In three sentences

    If you want a small, very academically focused school, Ambrose is the place for you! Small class sizes make for an awesome academic experience.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security works around the clock, their are emergency stations all around campus in case someone is in need of help.

    Greek Life

    No greek life :(

    Clubs and Activities

    I currently play on the hockey club team! there are new clubs every year and tons of sports to play

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic students, non-smokers, small school lovers, (4000) students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad, its a large grassy area in between the on campus townhouses that generally large groups of people hang out and socialize in during weekends. good place to make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    For the high amount of money you spend you get every little bit out of your money! Nice housing, and even cleaning people that clean your restroom and sometimes kitchen once a week!

    What to do for fun

    St. Ambrose is in the middle of the quad cities which is 4 separate cities in two states, There is a smorgasbord of activities to do!

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, they could work on that...

    Dorm Life

    You make friends the first day! I am still friends with students i met freshman year and now i am a senior!

    Academic Rigor

    i would say 80% of my classes i have been in were challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a private school with a tobacco free campus, friendly faculty and staff, and a great place to learn Ambrose is the school to go to!

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is a small, closely knit school full of great teachers. I have learned and exponential amount since starting here in 2009 and the marketing/music programs are phenomenal. Having a degree from this university will certainly put a boost in my resume

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is quite swell due to all the security guards and the emergency polls located around the campus.

    Greek Life

    This university does contain Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is so much fun joining these clubs because you make friends so easily and there are so many ideas about what to do next for the students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This might not be unusual to many people but this university does have a church located in the center of the campus. It such a beautiful experience to go to this specific church.

    Bang for the buck

    Many scholarships are offered through the university and the financial aid office has many knowledgeable employees who are there to help you out no matter what.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs are formed each week and plenty of sporting events are held in the Lee Lohman Gym so its never a dull moment when wanting to do something fun.

    Food and Dining

    They cafeteria is very similar to a high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are simply wonderful. They are close to the classes and the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors have different levels of teaching experience and they always keep us on our toes. I like it a good challenge because it distracts me from other things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to study hard and to focus on what you want to be. Apply for as many scholarships as possible to make your college years a lot easier. Have fun because college flies by!

    In three sentences

    This University is definitely perfect for me because of the small campus. Everybody is so friendly and I feel at home when I am on campus. And for me to feel at home at college is the most important thing for me!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I grew up in Davenport and feel very safe here

    Greek Life

    Not a part of St. Ambrose

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    -Urban, social, upperclass

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the 'beehive' because we are the bees. Since we are a Catholic school we also have a chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive for what you get, in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    movies, most go out to bars, bowling, the river

    Food and Dining

    Food choices are repetitive, but overall the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    There is not much to do immediately around campus. I prefer the college town setting like the bigger schools have. I do not care for the atmosphere at St. Ambrose.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very challenging, while others are easier. Overall I would say a challenging academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on campus for a visit. See what the campus and the people are like. I almost transferred my freshman and sophomore years because I didn't like the campus atmosphere. For me, there is not enough to do around campus and I wanted more.

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is a smaller university in Davenport. SAU has a variety of majors, but health sciences and education seem to be the most popular. SAU has great opportunities for its students.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most of the Security guards on campus are super nice and helpful. They always respond or come to assit students in less than 10 minutes. The area doesn't have the greatest reputation for being safe but the campus is well lit.

    Food and Dining

    The Rogalski food court is convenient and they have a good selection. It's not the cheapest though.

    Dorm Life

    Ambrose has pretty buildings and a beautiful campus. They just built a new dorm building on the corner of Lombard and Harrison. They have town houses on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    If you complete your work, try, and attend classes, you'll most likely pass you courses.

    In three sentences

    Ambrose is about community. It's small, students and teachers create close relationships and are very helpful. The staff and professors are encouraging and are knowledgable in their focused field.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is ever present. Feels safe. Parking is bad and overcrowded.

    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Good services for a good price.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural activities all year round as well as various clubs and programs put on by campus activities board.

    Food and Dining

    Rogalski Center provides fantastic food, a great alternative to the cafeteria for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. As for Cosgrove there is a main course everyday along with options such as salad bar, sandwich station, pasta, pizza and burgers.

    Dorm Life

    Great Dorms!!!!! Maid staff keeps the dorms clean. Rooms are spacious and livable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small and engaging. Professors are concerned with students progress and will go the extra mile to see them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with open mind, and a desire to reach out to diverse students in order to divulge in the total college experience.

    In three sentences

    St. Ambrose is a high quality collegiate establishment. It provides students with a valuable education as well as an outstanding social outlet. The Athletic programs as well as activities and organizations are utilized to provide outstanding community involvement with spiritual and physical growth. A great school to attend.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Vander Veer park is within 1 block of the campus as well as restaurants, bars, and a bowling alley within 5 minutes. Located in downtown Davenport is the Figge Art Museum as well as other great local businesses. As well as the zombie parade right around Halloween.

    Food and Dining

    An assortment of restaurants are near by to the campus. Including one of my favorite places if you like wings and ribs the Filling Station is one of the best. As well as other great places like Olive Garden, Hooter's, Hero's Pub & a full dining hall with a buffet for students that wish to cut some cost eating on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of dorms preferences for the ideal living experience. I am a transfer student so I am eligible for preferred housing arrangements. I will be roomed with 2 other males in teidemann hall, which has a big screen TV Located on the first floor of the building.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely excited and enthusiastic about attending this university. All my courses are tailored to my career goals and I am looking forward to moving on-campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call ahead for appointments. The school is currently under construction so access has a little bit of a detour, but the faculty are great and willing and able to answer any question you may have.

    In three sentences

    Centrally located in the heart of Davenport Iowa. The school has an abundance of activities and events in the community and on campus for students to participate. Parks and recreation are within 5 minutes of the schools campus as well as malls and restaurants.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at the school is top notch. Not only that, but the Davenport Police State is just a few miles away meaning response time is fact.

    Greek Life

    A. The gets a A in Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    You will find many clubs at the school, but here is a small sample: Academic & Professional Biology Club Classics Collegium Computer Club Engineering Club English Pros(e) Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Kinesiology Club Master of Social Work Student Government Association Psychology Club Sports Management Society Student Nursing Association Student Occupational Therapy Association Student Physical Therapy Association Multicultural Affairs Community Action Military & Veterans Organization Beta Beta Beta Delta Epsilon Sigma Delta Mu Delta Kappa Delta Pi Omicron Delta Kappa Phi Alpha Phi Alpha Delta Phi Alpha Theta Phi Eta Sigma Pi Theta Epsilon Psi Chi Triota Fighting Bee Jiu-Jitsu Ambrosians for Life/Ambrosians for Peace & Justice Bee A Big �Habitat for Humanity St. Jude Up 'Til Dawn Students Making a Difference Special Interest Campus Activities Board Graduate Student Government Association Green Life

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will find Davenport, Iowa to be a great place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Davenport, Iowa is home Bix Beiderbecke, a memorial Jazz player. There is a seven mile race that takes place in Bix's honor. The race is now run by anywhere from 12,000 to 18,000 runners. On top of the race, there is the Bix Beiderbecke Memorial Jazz Festival, which is an annual tribute to the famed jazz cornetist, pianist and composer. Its fun to taste the food and listen to the music.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Ambrose University is competitive with other colleges, but this one delivers the money worth.

    What to do for fun

    Davenport Iowa is a great place to live. There is a booming nightlife. The music scene is awesome. And there are parks near the school if relaxing is your thing.

    Food and Dining

    Iowa has many wonderful restaurants, however, Saint Ambrose University has two wonderful cafeterias and a system to bring in home recipes for everyone to share. You wont go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are on campus and ready to serve. The community is fun and will to help. Its a wonderful place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Ambrose University is wonderfully hard. It�s not hard in the way you will not make it. It�s hard in the way it will leave you prepared by the time you graduate. Most school claim they will get you ready for the job, this school delivers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just dive in. Nothing about the process will leave you scared. By the time you finish you first visit, you will know that this school is right for you. All you have to do is take the first step.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming, trusted, smart and willing. The first day I called, a feeling of comfort came over me because the registers made me feel welcomed and wanted. Saint Ambrose University is a high class institution that comes with its own hometown feel.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I wish there was more options for food on campus; however, that kind of goes with the territory of having a small school. I also wish that the hours were better. The dining center closes way too early on weekends, and there are times during the day that the dining center is not open.

    Dorm Life

    St Ambrose is not traditional residence halls for the most part. They are mostly suite style, and I find that having my own bathroom and only having to share with three other girls is a really nice option. I also really enjoy the atmosphere in my residence hall. It is very welcoming and homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is what you put into it. The rigor depends on the amount of classes you take and the amount of effort you put in. If you enjoy academic rigor, I would highly encourage the honors program here to challenge you more than other students. If you want less work, you can take easier classes, I feel like that is pretty standard at most schools.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who really don't know what they want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People go out to dollar bottles on Wednesday nights.

    Bang for the buck

    Is very pricey but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the Quad Cities. It is a very active and artful community

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to go into college without a selected major. Take a variety of classes to figure out what you are really interested in.

    In three sentences

    Good place to become close to other people and build strong relationships with other. Close nit campus with an exceptional education system. Because of the small class sizes you really get to build a relationship with professors who care about your education.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you have to have an ID on you at all time. to enter building you must swipe your id card for you to get in! there is a security guard in halls from 7 pm to 7am every day. you can also request security assistance from one hall to another at night or from your car.... if you leave off campus the neighborhood is very sketchy and not safe at night.. a student i know this year got jumped and hospitalized.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs i think just never joined them cause they seemed boring.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who dont like to go out.. who strictly focus on school and school only. if you want the full college experiense of sororities, good football games, parades, parties, etc. this isnt the school for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there isnt many traditions or atleast not many I have heard of except for the best weekend of the year.... LAST BLAST!! last blast is the last weekend of the year where everyone makes shirts and goes to the bars and the quad to drink their butts off from morning till the next day!! its a great way to have fun and meet people and is probly the best day of the year!!!

    Bang for the buck

    THIS SCHOOL IS SO EXPENSIVE!! if you put together tuition, meal plan, housing, books, and course feels you are spending around 30,000$ a year!! which is crazy for such a small school and honestly i dont think its worth it at all!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple things you can do off campus if you have the money and a car. across the river in moline there is the iwireless centre where there are concerts and mallards (hockey) games which are reasonably priced and super fun! my friends and i went a lot! in rock island (across the river) there is a downtown area with a hookah bar and some night life for if you are over 21. In davenport there is a movie theater small mall and many resuraunts. There is also the famous ROOKIES BAR! this is where many ambrose students hangout especially on thursday night for dollar bottles!!

    Food and Dining

    the food at ambrose is by Sodexo. with that being said i didnt know many people who liked the food there. occasionaly they would have good days with good food but normally its not very good and people get sick from it a lot... so bring a microwave so you can cook yourself food!! there is also rogo where you can use buzz bucks to get food but they dont have that much of a variety and they are kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life SUCKS!!! the hall directors make your life a living hell. If your going to be a freshman do NOT pick cosgrove the hall director is the rudest person using foul language at students and really doesn't like when students have fun! if your an upperclassman then i guess dorm life isnt bad because you are able to chose from apartments, town homes, and houses. Sophomore living wasnt too bad. I lived in franklin. the rooms are nice but its boring. Campus on weekends have been dead because there isnt much to do on campus unless you go to an off campus party or rookies if your into drinking!

    Academic Rigor

    At ambrose it get into their PT or OT program you must have a 3.5 gpa or higher so you need to pull off good grades. For nursing you must have a 3.0 or higher. When looking at the nursing program when visiting it seems great! but being a nursing student there is awful!! they keep changing their teachers and the head of the department which makes it hard on the students. I went in as a freshman in 2012 with a certain list of pre reqs and they got a new head of the department my sophomore year and now the prereqs have changed so i wasted money and time on classes that I no longer need. So then you get behind. It was just an aweful experience and not only i have left but many other people have left ambrose and i know of 4 people male and female leaving in spring of 2014

    Tips for prospective students

    Really spend an overnight at ambrose and talk to students there before you decide. Just visiting the campus with your parents for 1 day doesn't give you a good enough feel for how it will be when you attend.

    In three sentences

    I would give it a 4 out of 10

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is overall safe, the only problems presented have been outside the campus in the streets.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everyone!!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking to learn this is the right place for you! I was part of a state university, therefore, I know what it feels like to have more than 35 people in a class. Here you will get a small student to faculty ratio, which will help you focus and grasp everything that is lectured. If you're looking for cultural enhacement, St. Ambrose welcomes a lot of international students each year from all over: China, India, Saudi Arabia, England, Ireland, and many more. Not only that, you'll have the chance to visit a lot of places if you decide to Study Abroad!

    What to do for fun

    There are a wide variety of activities: sports, recitals, plays, talent displays, club fairs, color runs, dance marathons, holidays celebrations, lounges with tv, band concerts, parties, late night activities, you name it!

    Food and Dining

    I have to say that this is the major weakness. You have to take into account that I'm used to my Hispanic heritage flavored food. However, the company that runs the cafeteria tries to have food for every type of people and the cafeteria space is nice and comfortable. You can sit and relax with your friends while enjoying the food and meeting other students.

    Dorm Life

    You have the decision in your hands to be where you want to be: single rooms, co-ed buildings, and double rooms. There are perks for every building as well as weaknesses, but overall is quite nice and the employees make sure the cleanliness maintains.

    Academic Rigor

    As a biology major I would say that in every class, whether is for my major or not, I get to learn something new everyday. Nevertheless, you'll certainly will get a busy schedule so make sure to leave the parties for the weekend and stop by the Student Success Center for help on your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that there are opportunities here in every corner. Always check your student mail for the activities around campus. When you have the chance always get to know well your professors, (they can boost your future job resume!). Most importantly: Bee involved!

    In three sentences

    Saint Ambrose University is the best place for opportunities. The campus is the most beautiful small campus ever. Saint Ambrose is simply great!

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the park next to the school people have been shot and stabed my buddy got jumped there, but on campus its pretty safe

    Greek Life

    none i wish there was

    Clubs and Activities

    there are some clubs but they are mostly honors clubs and major clubs like marketing club ect

    Great for these types of students

    very studious students

    Bang for the buck

    i looked at my bill 46,000 dollars for what? they give nothing back to the students here

    What to do for fun

    absolutley nothing

    Food and Dining

    awful like i said my girlfriend ate here and puked

    Dorm Life

    extremly boring

    Academic Rigor

    its easy and teachers help alot

    Tips for prospective students

    dont come

    In three sentences

    this school is awful! extremly strict there is nothing to do on the weekends on campus. I think that the other reviews on here are fake because there is absolutley nothing to do here besides the ocasional party. the food here is also awful my girl friend that goes to augustana ate here and puked