Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Saint Anselm College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint A's is great for students who care less about grades and more about learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is welcoming and inviting, so prospective students should be the same.

    Bang for the buck

    Though somewhat expensive, Saint Anselm does have many opportunities. From sports to clubs, a student can find almost anything on campus or in nearby Manchester.

    Am enjoying being here

    Saint Anselm is what you make of it. If you want to have fun, there are hundreds of opportunities to do so. The teachers are very nice to all the students and most of the students are very nice to each other.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are very small (usually about 14:1). If a student is willing to learn, the professors are more than willing to teach.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a very safe school. if i am studying late and i need to walk back to my room alone at night, i feel very comfortable doing so. security makes their rounds 24 hours a day and there are hardly ever incidents on campus.

    Greek Life

    it doesn't exist at saint a's which i personally like. we have some service organizations but they are different from frats. frats create problems with hazing, vandalism, and out of control parties. they are unnecessary.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have over 80 different clubs and student organizations at saint a's. i'm in quite a few clubs. and if a club that you want doesn't already exist, it is very easy to start it up. the only problem is the funding for clubs which some clubs don't always get as much as they would like but they always make do.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to be known. saint a's is a small school and you can stand out here. news travels fast around saint a's and it is hard to hide here. i love meeting new people and i am very outgoing so i love it. also you need to work at this school. it's difficult, however the work is always manageable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a christmas feast ever year that almost the whole school tries to go to. it's free for students and dining services goes all out that night. they have things like prime rib, seafood newburg, stuffed chicken, squash ravioli, salads, veggies, breads, desserts, and egg nog. some students line up for hours so they can get in early.

    Bang for the buck

    in my opinion it's worth every penny (and you pay a lot of pennies). you have a wonderful experience in your four years and have some great opportunities after you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    i go to a lot of sporting events. we have a really good hockey team. i also watch movies with friends and go to a lot of events put on by our campus activities board (cab) like comedians, magicians, or holiday events. i also go rock climbing, skiing, hiking, paintballing, and other things like that really cheap. i recently went to a bruins game and my ticket was discounted $56 because i went with cab. l i live really close to my school but i never go home because there is always something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is outstanding. we were voted 11th best in the country by one website for our food. everyday there are delicious options at both davison and the coffee shop. the carving station and triple berry smoothies are my favorites.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at saint a's are okay freshman and sophomore year. typical doubles mostly with other offerings available as well. junior and senior year there apartments that are really nice. because they are so nice hardly anyone lives off campus anymore. 91% of students live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    as i said above, it is a difficult school. i am a politics major so most of my homework is reading. i can spend hours reading everyday. i don't have to write to many papers during the year but writing a 5 page paper isn't difficult for me anymore because of all my experience writing longer ones. it may seem tough base on what i am saying but most of the professors are really helpful and they want to help you succeed. if you do what's assigned then you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    make you take a tour, and attend the accepted students open house if you are accepted. also it's okay to come in undecided, about 51% of students do.

    In three sentences

    i love my school. however i do work very hard and my grades don't always reflect it. there are some problems with my school but i'd rather be here than anywhere else.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want hands on learning and a kind of Hogwarts Christmas Feast! People will help you, you just have to ask them for it! Oh and there are monks which is the coolest!

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is plenty to do in surrounding ManchVegas and the mall is closely located! There are always parties on the weekends in Upperes and its so routine. There is bowling down the street and a movie theater that has movies for 3.50! There are also local bus routes.

    Am learning a lot

    Small classes make for ideal learning situations. Your professors will know you by name all four years. It is a great school for internships and community service! Great volunteer program where there is something for everyone!

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there are a few on campus

    What to do for fun

    the city isn't too far away and there are tons of things to do there. campus has activities pretty often, like karaoke, musicians, entertainers, bingo, plays, and other things. there are of course all the clubs and teams to join

    Tips for prospective students

    keep in mind the size of the school, it is small. also, make sure you work hard, because so far all my classes have been really challenging

    In three sentences

    it is a wonderful college, because not only do i feel like part of a great community but also because of its great academics. the campus is beautiful and it is actually better than i first imagined. all the teaches i've had so far are wonderful, kind, and actually quite funny, which is just great.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in any emergency, campus safety and security promptly responds. they make their presence known on campus at all times. you're never too far to call for help. there are plenty of emergency call booths with blue lights on top for easy visibility.

    Greek Life

    non-existent. there's alpha phi omega, a service organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for almost anything you could think of. if you can't find one for you, you can always get a group of friends to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    saint a's has a long tradition of political involvement. it's especially tailored for republicans, international relations majors, or future lawyers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none of your friends will have a monastery on campus, complete with a private cemetery! they have haunted tours of it every halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    there are trails through the woods when you feel trapped indoors after a long winter of studying. they're great for running or just a relaxing walk. perfect for the nature lover.

    What to do for fun

    there is an endless amount of school clubs and organizations. there are clubs for nearly every major, political affiliation and extracurricular activity. if you ever can't find something to do, you can apply for a budget to organize your own event on or off campus.

    Food and Dining

    davidson has a wide selection of food, but it all gets pretty boring after a while. luckily, students can go to the coffee shop if they're looking for a relief from the usual. a city bus also goes through campus for a quick escape to the red arrow diner or other downtown restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty typical, but much cleaner than what i've seen elsewhere. the heater always works and it's always cool enough in the fall and spring. the only downfall is the tragically slow wireless internet!

    Academic Rigor

    if you want a challenge, they'll give it to you. there is an honors track that puts you with the brightest and the best in the school. the professors are always probing you for your thoughts and challenging you to think critically about solutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know exactly what you're getting into. know what classes will be required of you and meet professors from your prospective major. keep in mind that it is a religious school focused on liberal arts, so class requirements will be different from the norm. live on campus!!! many classes require tons of library research (although the library has amazing online resources easily accessible from home) and group work.

    In three sentences

    this is the perfect school for faithful republicans who want to become more active in politics. there is a large focus on political activity and the development of critical thinkers and active citizens. even the less popular majors are excellently staffed with enthusiastic professors.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not bad, but there are some issues with property damage in the freshman parking lot.

    Greek Life

    there are 2 sororities, and 2 frats, none of which are recognized by the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are endless opportunities, definitely something for anyone. and there is a special fund that will give new groups $40 to get supplies or start up something new!

    Great for these types of students

    highly involved, who cherish their catholic faith and community service.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    rumor has it in our coffee shop, one of the campus monks will buy you your first legal drink on your 21st birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    great place, but nothing is worth that much money.

    What to do for fun

    the resident assistants run programs occasionally, but attending hockey games and hanging out at the coffee shop is what most do.

    Food and Dining

    great! tons of choices each day.

    Dorm Life

    the freshman ra's are wonderful. however, the boys freshman dorm is a nightmare.

    Academic Rigor

    the nickname of st. c's intimidates students, but it also prompts many of us to rise above that stigma.

    Tips for prospective students

    follow the standardized meal plan spending - neglecting to do so results in way too much extra money at the end of the semester!

    In three sentences

    a beautiful benedictine campus that encourages students to grow in integrity. the feeling of community overwhelms, and impresses all who visit or live on campus. many students are dedicated to their academics, sports, clubs, and service.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on during the weekends but most students spend their time studying during the week.

    Food and Dining

    Davison Hall has some of the best campus food that I have ever had!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small but cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    Saint A's has been given the nick name Saint C's due to it's rigorous academics. While I work hard, my grades don't always show it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small intimate campus where you know everyone then Saint A's is for you! Take a tour to really get a feel for the campus and students.

    In three sentences

    Saint A's is a place where you can meet new people and really connect over sports, service, or academics. It is a small tight knit community where you always see similar faces. Saint A's is a typical New England Benedictine school but is very personable.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe walking around the campus at all times; however if something does happen it takes camus security atleast 20 minutes to arrive. Saint Anselm College is a close community, so people take care of eachother.

    Greek Life

    doesn't exist...

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a fair amount of clubs; however there is not many opportunities for musicians

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to focus on their studies and be able to talk about academics outside of the classroom. Students who also want to have a good balance of school and fun should attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Eat a Buffnasty (buffalo chicken calzone) it will change your life!

    Bang for the buck

    When I get the bill I often cringe, but what I have learned and the opportunities I have been given are amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Most students will go off to the Red Arrow or Wa Toy. Other things students do include going to the mall and going to the local park. There are a lot of activites on campus as well. SGA will have movie nights. A lot of speakers come to Saint Anselm as well. The Dana center holds a wide variety of shows that are fun to attend with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. I don't miss mom's cooking when I am going to school. There is a good variety and the staff is fantastic. Professors will even sit down and have coffee or a meal with students just to chat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty quiet, except the freshmen boy dorms... but they are freshmen boy, what do you expect?

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but they are worth it. I don't always feel like my grades reflect my effort, but the information that I take with me is useful and interesting. Students take their classes seriously. You will find students studying in the library on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to talk to people on the campus. Anyone will take the time to take to you if you have any questions

    In three sentences

    Saint Anselm College is not just a school; it is a community. This college is a place filled with challenging classes and many other opportunities.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good, no big things happen here and there are plenty of lights usually.

    Greek Life

    We have some of that here too. Although I was a latin student, but we do have the greek professor host a dig in Italy i believe every year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs for me to remember, but i hear they are great.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes a small college, but great professors, and having fun in class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I believe they don't serve meat on friday's, catholic tradition. And we don't have federal holidays off, but we do have different schedulings for catholic holidays.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money. It just doesn't seem that way your first year.

    What to do for fun

    Go to manchester elm street and south willow street, that's where all of the major places to hang out are...and off of those streets.

    Food and Dining

    Good choices, last year was ranked as 16th best on Princeton review )

    Dorm Life

    am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    It will be hard, but you need to stay on top of your game from day one. Trust me, don't think you can catch up. It really is hard, and you can only understand that when you are your 3rd year here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early decision. Get to know the professors, they are really wonderful.

    In three sentences

    Great school which has many different options. Great professors that will help you out all the time. An amazing campus that is comfortable and has a lot of activities.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The nursing program is amazing. And so is the food!

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Everyone says there's great food at Davison hall .

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are intense, preparing you for the real world.

    In three sentences

    Saint Anselm has great food and a beautiful campus.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but the degree from here is so worth it.

    What to do for fun

    party, go into Manchester, tons of sports, always something going on during the week or weekend.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING

    Dorm Life

    It's fun living with people, the bathrooms are clean and the RA's are great.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard, but manageable. If you put in the effort, you will receive the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a big school, this might not be the right one. It's a lot of work, but nothing one can't handle. Come!

    In three sentences

    I love it! Great school, great sense of community, and great professors. If you're looking for a small school, this it is.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I want to really go to this school i prefer this school over the others.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campo patrols 24/7 and takes their job very seriously. Sometimes I feel we are getting babysat with intervisitation hours.

    Greek Life

    Yeah, no. There are some wannabe frats and sororities that like to pretend they are the bomb.com but they are not actually recognized by the college or the student body for that manner.

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't be fooled. They pretend there are a lot of clubs but many of them consist of two people and a dog. I joined many clubs that seemed a little too excited to take me.

    Great for these types of students

    White. Middle/upper class. White. Catholic. White. Preppy. Vineyard Vines lovin. White. If you own a Vera Bradley backpack, this is your school. Oh and 99.99999% the population is white.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you turn 21 you can have a beer at the pub with some monks I think.

    Bang for the buck

    If they bring it down pretty low with scholarships then its worth it, but if you're paying anywhere near full tuition you are a sucker. You'll end up buying a sweatshirt with hello kitty on it because you'll find that's all you can afford at the bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    Uppers are a whole bunch if kids thinking they are partying so hard when its just a lame social scene. Everyone and their brother makes the trek up to uppers even in the dead cold to stand around and have a less than disappointing time. You'll have fun dodging blue coats and sneaking through the woods. IF YOU SMOKE WEED DO NOT COME. You get caught once you're out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and very fresh. It does repeat but the most of the time they are classic faves like Mac and cheese bar. Expect to spend 10-15 bucks on most meals. Way overpriced. Oh and don't forget to weigh your cream cheese in a separate container, as they get angry if you don't. And you'll think twice about wasting a meatball that cost you 2 bucks. Have mom send you some easy mac to counteract the cost.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman housing is pretty nice. In my classes case they over accepted girls so JOA is all forced triples with very little room at all. Try to get alumni hall if your a freshman girl. The common room is cozy af and has that homey living room feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard. Grade deflation makes it impossible to get an A in anything. If you got A's in high school brace yourself for Cs. Gets a little insulting when you get a 41 on a paper. Expect to do a lot of hw on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Things they forget to say when applying..... There is is grade deflation so your gpa will drop dramatically. You will be required to take a humanities class plus 2 theology and 2 philosophy courses here. Have fun keeping your scholarship with our grading system;)

    In three sentences

    This school is great if you're a nursing or philosophy major, but if you're not, forget it. If you're into fine arts, people are often surprised to know that its even offered.They really make it appealing for art kids by putting the building a two mile walk off campus. The social scene is very cliquey and you'll find a lot of fake friends. Everybody and their boyfriend comes here. The education is worthwhile if you don't drown in your workload first.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have the #12 best college food in the nation.

    Academic Rigor

    It's difficult. You have to put in the work to get good grades but the professors want to help you succeed.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Extremely cramped, most freshmen get put into forced triples.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing staff is very unsupportive - instead of feeling comfortable asking questions in clinical it is as if you are being constantly tested. Many nursing students suffer from insomnia before clinical days due to its extremely stressful environment created by nursing professors.

    In three sentences

    I was bullied as a junior nursing student by my nursing professor and dean of nursing. I was harassed and am pursuing a lawsuit against the school. It is an unhealthy and extremely unsupportive environment for nursing students. The school is anti-family, not permitting any family members into meetings or discussions about the student.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities and clubs you can do at this campus. I do to class, go to work, ( which is at campus), hangout with friends in the sea shop and then go to my dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is rated top 10 in the country! That is all I need to say.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, there is not a lot to say but its my first time and I like it.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus is tough but its really helpful and a wonderful experience. The campus has even considered drop requires classes of 5 to 4 classes per semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. I know its the whole college life but do what you got to do and make sure you stay and on track. Strive for the best grades and have fun.

    In three sentences

    This college is amazing. There are so many great and beautiful things in this campus. The Campus also provides many centers for tutoring and helping, its incredible, highly recommenced.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is on top of things in ensuring the safety of the students and the college campus itself is secluded from bad areas and is in a nice part of Goffstown/Manchester.

    What to do for fun

    There are shows they put on for free at the beginning of the semesters that are pretty fun to go to and the coffee shop is a hot place to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Saint Anselm College is amazing! Their pies, you can't just bring one home. They are so good that you should take home as many as you can for thanksgiving break.

    Dorm Life

    They pair up students pretty well based on their surveys, the dorms are kept neat and are well-heated.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but they are manageable if you pay close attention in class. If you slack off and don't pay attention then you will be on a fast track to a terrible grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, you can't slack off when it comes to classes. The people you meet here are some of the best people you will find, teachers and students included, and they will help you with your studies if you need it. This offer of help is not one to be declined, take the help you can get, accept the friendships, and savor the food. It's pretty good.

    In three sentences

    Saint Anselm College is very big on community, the school wants you involved in any way possible. The teachers at Saint Anselm College are keen to help their students in class and are available after class for help as well. The food at Saint Anselm is delicious, when it comes to college food it's the closest you will get to home cooked meals.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus, and where it's not very big that makes it all the better so not to get lost. Streetlights are always on. Nothing to really worry about here.

    Greek Life

    Pretty much nonexistent, though I've heard there is maybe one or two unofficial ones out there off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, that's to be sure. I believe it is worth it, however I do wish the price tag was a bit lower.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said before, if you aren't having fun, then you aren't doing it right. There are many clubs to join and always something to do at the college. Not to mention, you're not even a mile away from Manchester, and an hour away from the beach and Boston.

    Food and Dining

    One word: amazing. It wasn't voted in the Princeton Review as one of the best in the country for no reason. Between the dining hall and the cafe/pub, there is a lot of options for delicious food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorms, mostly doubles but there are some singles and triples. The apartments for the upperclassmen are very nice though.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I know about the academics at Saint A's, it isn't a walk in the park. You have to really try to get good grades, and even then it still has the title Saint C's.

    In three sentences

    Saint Anselm College is a beautiful, small school for any and all kinds of people. It offers so much to its students, both academically and in the community. And if you aren't loving it or having fun, then you aren't doing it right.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, campus is constantly monitored by Campus Safety. There is a hotline if you need to report anything and blue boxes are all over campus in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life is affiliated with the school. All Greek life is self-maintained. Very exclusive not really a big part of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good selection of clubs and activities for every interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven and totally focused students looking for a good education on a safe campus. You definitely want to bring a car if you go here and want to travel into the city often. This is not a college you want to attend if you're looking to party often, there's really not much that happens on campus on the weekends and it gets boring fast.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Monks live on campus, you'll see them out and about most days. Also because it is a catholic school there are limitations on when the opposite sex can be in your room and they must sign in every time they come in.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY expensive with really nothing special.

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus, join a club, go on a mission trip.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better. Good selection. Every three weeks the menu restarts.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old, but they are alright. Totally safe environment and privacy is attainable.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are difficult. Studying all the time is a must, however teachers are reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    High highschool GPA is required to be accepted. Tuition is expensive. Campus is small, if you want a big school this isn't the place for you. Politics, Criminal Justice and Psychology are big majors on campus.

    In three sentences

    Saint Anselm College is a small college with a beautiful campus in Manchester, NH. It is known for its Catholic background founded by Monks with a monastery on campus. The classes are challenging and courses are vigorous.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. I feel like I am at home.The department employs full-time uniformed officers who patrol the campus 24 hours a day and respond to a variety of calls including all emergencies. So, when you see thee officers you know they are there to help you. Because I am an off campus student I was always afraid of walking by myself to get to my car, but seeing the officers make me feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has many programs that is great and helps the students be motivated and hard working throughout the year. There is the hub of all campus activity. It's a place where Anselmians get together to throw a Frisbee, play the guitar, hang out with friends, or get involved. So, if you see a group of people congregating in the quad, just join in. Or join one of our 80 clubs and organizations dedicated to academic and career pursuits, civic and service activities, the arts, or fun stuff.Whichever group you find, you'll discover that you belong here

    What to do for fun

    Make lots of friends. Do volunteer work (also looks good on your resume). Also, on campus activities, including student clubs and sports and recreation, form the backbone of the social experience at Saint Anselm. Whether you're interested in supplementing your education in academic clubs, joining an intramural team, or serving the community through Campus Ministry, there are plenty of choices for students seeking to add more to their college experience. Student Activities & Leadership Programs has something for everyone

    Food and Dining

    We have the best food around! Davison provides a lot of different options like crepes, action pasta, chicken parm, mac and cheese bar, and those are just a few! There is also the Christmas Feast that Davison puts on before finals. The coffee shop is also great for after Davison closes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a hard working student you will do well, no worries.

    In three sentences

    Very Good College