Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Saint Francis University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and have things on your resume that make you stand out like volunteer work, sports, getting published, being a Boy Scout or Girl Scout. Apply early because you don't want your application to get lost in the traffic of other applications.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little expensive but it is a private school. But for a private school they are willing to give you a lot of help. most than 55% of the school are athletes with athletic scholarships, plus they give away scholarships for academics, volunteer work and numerous other things. But with how great this school is with everything it does I think its definitely worth the money we paid. especially since all the events on campus are usually free from famous speakers and bands to comedians and graduate schools that come in.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. The atmosphere is great everyone says hello and if someone doesn't know you they will come up and ask your name. Everyone is very open and friendly. And we have clubs for almost everything and if they don't have what you want you can start it. Plus we are never bored here; they almost always have a few activities every day. From picnic's and dances to hot air balloon rides and carnivals. The food here is good better than a lot of the food at other colleges I have visited. And if you have any allergies they are willing to make you special food and you can even pick what they make you each day. One thing I really enjoy about Saint Francis is the classroom size. As a freshman everyone is told about the huge classes in lecture halls and how you are just a number. But here as a freshman my biggest class is probably 25 kids and the rest are smaller. The teachers know your name, even if you just visited. The campus is so pretty their is a nature trail, a lake, forests, gardens, big grassy areas to play frisbee or football on after classes and a beautiful fountain. The dorms are fairly big too and they are very eventful. We hold a haunted hall during Halloween and we decorate the halls and the RA's are nice and give us decorations for our doors and leave us inspirational quotes every week. I also like that are school is extremely diverse we have kids from all over the world.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are wonderful, they are always willing to help even outside of their office hours. They will answer your questions and what ever else you need to learn. They are also very willing to accommodate any one to help them learn better. With the teachers here I have learned alot.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Francis University is for the student who wants to have it all. Here you can pursue your major through both classes and real life experience. And, if your interests don't quite fit exactly, don't worry. At St. Francis you can work with your counselor to build your own major that conforms exactly to what you want and where you want to go. This is a place for people who are ready to achieve their dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Admissions Office here is really helpful. Stay in touch with them during the testing and admissions process. Visit the University. The professors here are happy to speak with you about their classes. Then, stay in touch. Once you get in, pursue your interests vigorously! I also love voice and guitar. Within a couple of weeks I was part of a weekly jam session. Here you have the opportunity to pursue everything you love -- Go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    The wealth of experiences and opportunities available at St. Francis is so varied and so rich that I consider this University the financial opportunity of a lifetime. The wide variety of clubs and activities combined with the smaller university size lets each student have a big hand wherever you choose to participate. The classes are smaller, so the professors have the opportunity for greater detail and more in-depth coverage. This place is a mountaintop gem!

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere here is positive, friendly, and mutually supportive. This is a University where people care about each other. Everyone I have met is so happy to be here, that the entire experience, from classes, to the dorm is very up-beat and energized. I love being here. I could never have imagined being this happy in college

    Am learning a lot

    Learning at Saint Francis University takes place on many levels. Yes, of course I learn in class, but the learning and opportunities don't end there. In the Student Activities Organization I have the opportunity to organize events, book talent for campus events and work with budgets. In the radio club I am currently putting together ideas for a show plus learning about broadcasting. Oh, and did I mention the steady stream of guest speakers and performers? This is just the smallest sample of learning opportunities at St. Francis that match my interests. The energy and variety of experiences is there for every major! St. Francis is just an amazing experience.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capus is very safe no problems.

    Greek Life

    Very well put together.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every type of club you would want.

    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    I feel this University has so much to offer and would recommend it to everyone whom is serious about thier academics.

    What to do for fun

    We watch movies, have dances, play games, go shopping, play sports and quite a few other things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great especially since it's campus food, I would give them an A+ along with all the different choices you have.

    Dorm Life

    Graet dorm life and family oriental.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well organized and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and always participate in what's going on,So you will feel like your apart of the family.

    In three sentences

    Campus is beautiful,always kept up. The professors always take the time make sure you understand what your doing. Everyone is always helpful and friendly.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patrolling and making sure that everything is flowing smoothly on campus. There are cameras in the parking lots and in dorm entrances to keep track of who enters and leaves Saint Francis University. The Campus Police are only a phone call away and are always willing to help anyone.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is awesome. The school makes it a point to make sure that Greek life is not like Greek life in movies. Greek life at Saint Francis is full of service and friendship. Greek life isn't for everyone but it has helped me to make friendships that will last a lifetime and has helped me to gain qualities that I will be able to use long after leaving Saint Francis University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great variety of clubs and activities on campus. The only reason I am no involved in many is because I focus more of my time on my schoolwork and friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Francis is great for students who want a school that is small and intimate.

    What to do for fun

    The school provides plenty of opportunities for fun. Altoona and its restaurants and mall are only 20 minutes away. In addition, there is always some sporting event going on, on campus. The school makes it a point to provide events such as dances, concerts, movies, and activities on weekends so that students have something to do in the rural area.

    Food and Dining

    Torvian Dining Hall is great. Torvian provides plenty of options for students and is fairly healthy. My parents say that if the food at Torvian was the food they ate in college they probably would have liked eating at school a lot more!

    Dorm Life

    I have found the dorm life to be excellent. I lived in Saint Francis Hall my first two years and I loved it. It was easy to make friends in the building and the majority of my friends now lived with me in Francis Hall. Saint Francis Hall was extremely clean and the residence assistants were friendly and willing to help.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Saint Francis University are not easy. Saint Francis University wants to provide students with a top notch education and in doing so cannot provide students with classes that will be easy. Classes that are easy to pass mean less work being done by the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students would be to visit Saint Francis. I fell in love with the campus as soon as i set foot on campus and the faculty and staff of the university really do an excellent job at selling the university to perspective students and their families. Saint Francis University is an excellent school and any student would be wise to attend the school.

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis University has been great in transitioning me from living at home, to living away from family members. The environment is very welcoming and all of the faculty and staff are more than willing to help any student in need. Saint Francis University is a great school for anyone looking for small class sizes, individual attention from professors, and in general simply a home away from home.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sporting events going on throughout the week and weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the main dining hall is great when you first start living on campus. But like any other college, you quickly become tired of the same food it has to offer. But there are several other places to eat both on campus and in town.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is fun and allows you to meet a lot of new people. Everyone is really friendly and enjoys doing activities together.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the major you are deciding. But the classes are small enough that the professors get to learn you by name, and they put in the extra effort to help any students that need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    While looking for which colleges to attend, you have to think about everything as a package not just one specific area.

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis University is a great school and has a lot to offer. Although it's in a very small town, which has both it's ups and downs, it's a great place for students to experience college life. Saint Francis has many different majors and students from all around the world.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small town and very safe

    Greek Life

    I love being a part of greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many ways to get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    fun and dedicated.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price looks bad, the financial aid office is very helpful and almost everyone receives a scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    Be active in clubs and student activities. SAO plans many fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a buffet style and there is also a few restaurants around campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but sizes doesn't really matter in all situations.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing and give plenty of one on one time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved on campus!

    In three sentences

    SFU is a welcoming community. SFU is a great educational environment. SFU helps you reach higher and go far!

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a small campus, people know who should be there and who shouldn't. The campus police seem really nice and are always around. The dorms have swipe card access and there are call boxes located around campus (even though if you yelled, they would probably hear you).

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life available at Saint Francis University.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am starting this fall and I have gotten so much correspondence about clubs, Sororities, and organizations available at Saint Francis. I hope to join some once I am settled and see how my schedule is going to be.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that like small classes, great learning opportunities, Division I Athletics, great facilities, and lots of dfferent majors to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    I got tons of money and everyone I spoke to said the same thing. Don't let the cost of the school keep you from considering it. They will help you get as much money as you are entitled to. The classes are small and the school is ranked in many of the magazine lists for best value, best academics, etc...

    What to do for fun

    I will be an athlete on campus but I hear there are tons of intramurals and clubs. In the winter they put up an ice skating rink and there is a tubing run with a tbar to get you back up the hill. The campus is gorgeous and I'm sure there will be tons of stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    The times I've eaten at Torvian the food has been good. There are many options and there's always the salad bar. The soup is always good and yu can have a sandwich made to order too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are one thing that almost made me change my mind. To me they are small but compared to other dorms I've seen they are pretty comparable. They are updating them so hopefully things will improve.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know yet but I have visited several times and all the professors are very nice. The class sizes are SMALL!! For me this is good, I like to know that when the time comes, I won't be standing outside a professor's office when I need help. The retention rate is high and I think it's going to be difficult to not be successful academically at Saint Francis with the small class sizes and academic counselors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a letter of recommendation and essay. They will accept a past essay or paper that you did well on in high school. Make sure to visit, the location isn't for everybody and I have heard the winters can be brutal.

    In three sentences

    The campus is bigger than I thought it would be and everyone is very approachable. The rural setting is nice but Altoona is 30 miles away so you can get there if necessary. There are tons of activities and things to do everyday and academic success is stressed.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go hiking , snowboarding , play many sports, go shopping , & camping

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the College & you will see that you should really attend that school

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis University is a place like home and many wonderful people work together to help each other . You will find a large variety things you can do & places you can explore . In all ,it's a place where you can easily be accepted.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer many clubs and organizations that provide unlimited activities to keep you busy on campus. They also are competitive in Division I athletics in the NCAA.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school with many opportunities to get involved, no matter what you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis University offers many student activities along with unlimited opportunities for life on campus. They have the perfect program I was looking for and a knowledgeable faculty that will help me to successfully get me through school and guarantee that I get the job I am looking for after graduation. The campus is beautiful and welcoming to all students.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol often and have a RAVE system that is like a help button or whatever you want to call it. Very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again. Never a dull day at SFU with all the clubs and groups having things going on all the time. Including weekends.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for nursing, pt, PA students. Extremely focused on getting students through the program. Science oriented college. Great for students wanting a small campus with a great view. It's also not far from many attractions.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of on campus Activities. For both students living on campus and those commuting.

    Food and Dining

    Good Food. Extremely nice people. Reasonable prices as well. I recommend Padua Express or Frankie's to the commuter or when resident is sick of Torvian, main dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter so I'm not real up on dorm life. From what I've been told the newly renovated dorm is extremely nice and the girls all seem to get a long.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be quite challenging depending on the course load but as long as you can stay focused and balance your social life on campus you will do well at SFU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see the college. Spend the night if you can and get the feel for SFU.

    In three sentences

    Small, close knit campus. Never a dull day with all the activities and such. Beautiful area and the faculty are the best.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe! They have great Campus Police, and have a program in place where you can get safety alerts and messages sent to your phone. The campus police are available to escort you to your vehicle or dorm at night if you should feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    They have numerous service greek organizations that I am aware of but beyond that I am not quite sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was probably most impressed with all the activities that the school offers to its students.

    Great for these types of students

    You definitely need to want or at least be okay with a small town setting and a small campus setting. Everyone there is very personable and friendly with each other.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. There is no way around that, but it is a great school, and they offer tons of scholarships and financial aid especially if you are a serious, academically driven student.

    What to do for fun

    It seems like there are lots of opportunities on campus for students. The town of Loretto doesn't offer much at all, but Johnstown and Altoona aren't that far away. Campus organizations are constantly planning activities though, and I don't think I could ever be bored there.

    Food and Dining

    I have been on the campus on several occasions, and I have always found the food to be fantastic and there is a ton of variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the best. The freshman dorms are very small, but then again, it is a dorm and your can't expect that much.

    Academic Rigor

    I know that for my program the school's reputation is impeccable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go check it out! I wasn't sure if I was interested in the school just because they had a good program for my intended major or if I truly liked the school, but after I visited I realized they have something for just about everyone. You can't see how good of a fit it may be for you if you don't actually go visit campus.

    In three sentences

    I visited St. Francis a few weeks ago and sent in my application online as soon as I got home! I was so impressed with the school academically and socially. It is a perfect fit for me!

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Our Greek Life is full of excitement and will always keep you busy! Greek Life is a way to bring students together in search of a common goal.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations such as SAO, SGO, Greek Life, or intramural sports. We have dances usually once a month, and activities such as bingo, arcade games, and pool tables in our student building.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dinning is fairly average. The food in the main dinning hall always consists of pizza, sandwich, salad, and soup options. The main entrees are always different.

    Dorm Life

    While dorm life can be fun, you will always have the loud neighbors or homesickness regardless of which year you are in.

    Academic Rigor

    The university will challenge and stretch a students capacity to learn. Thus, in doing so the develop young adults to be prepared to enter the work force.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into which clubs and organizations you would like to get involved with on campus!

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis University is a wonderful close knit community. The university offers a wide variety of health based majors along with business, communication, art, history, and literature based degrees,too. The campus is large enough to provide students with many clubs and organizations, but small enough to give students face to face teaching with professors.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always sporting events you can attend, and dances are held here on a regular basis that are always fun. Other events and activities are also brought to campus every weekend and they change from week to week

    Tips for prospective students

    look at more than one school, look into at-least 10, and visit no less than 5. Just because a college is a good fit fore one person does not mean it is fore every person.

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis is a great institution for both student athletes and non-student athletes. They offer a wide variety of majors and even though it is a D1 college, it has a nice small college feel. It has one of if not the most beautiful surrounding areas than any other college I have been to, it is a truly wonderful area to go to school.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations for students to join on campus. In addition to that, every weekend there are a wide variety of activities offered. There are games, such as bingo, deal or no deal, and minute to win it, offereded once a month or so. There are also different movie marathons, as well as a redbox on campus. There are also althetic things, such as glow golf and blacklight volleyball offered.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a lot better than most collage campuses that I visited, but cannot compare to homecooking. There are two different dining options as well as a Starucks on campus. The traditional dining hall always has normal collage food, such as pizza and fires but also offers specialty dishes, such as Chinese on different days. There is also a made to order part, which has limited choice but all are pretty yummy.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, the dorms are small and girls especially change roommates. Overall the dorms aren't bad and everything that I need fits nicely in my room.

    Academic Rigor

    For my major there are a lot of challenging classes, but the professors know their subjects well and are willing to help in any way possible. Talking in groups of different students, I have found this to be common throughout the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keeping open communication with your professor is a must. All of the professors that I have had have open door policies and are in their offices frequently. Try also forming study groups with other students in your classes because they can help you look at something from a different view, which might be better for you.

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis University is a small campus dedicated to its students. The professors are all very knowledgeable and helpful. I feel that I am being challenged thoroughly while being prepared for whatever path I might take in the future.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is just a phone call away and are always on duty. There is no reason to ever not feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    As a member of the sorority Gamma Sigma Sigma, Greek life is very active on campus and in the community. Each organization has their own philanthropy and helps out on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of groups to be involved in, between the Marching and Pep bands, SFU Singers, varying clubs, and different activities on weekends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are the gardens up on the Schwab Estate, Lake Saint Francis, and the grotto.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is a little hefty, but for the education i am getting, it is very much worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Organization always has something in store. Altoona is only 20 minutes away, and Ebensburg is only 5 minutes away, so shopping and movie theatres and bowling is always an option.

    Food and Dining

    There are occasional meals that aren't very appetizing, but for the most part the food is delicious and there are many options at all meals.

    Dorm Life

    You may get the unfortunate roommate, but Residence Life is willing to help you settle any disputes and help you get a good roommate. Residence Assistance are almost always available, and they are really friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect great things from their students. They don't mess around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your professors. Stop by their office and say hello. Your face will stick out in their mind and they will be more willing to help you if you have already made the first step to get to know them.

    In three sentences

    I feel like I am at home. The environment is friendly and caring. The professors care whether you understand or not.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student receives a swipe card that only allows access to their dorm, and a key to access their room. This is a great safety feature because it ensures that only students in your dormitory have access to it. Also, the campus police are friendly adults who are always willing to respond to concerns or give students a ride across campus in terrible weather.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 75 clubs on campus and it's so easy to get involved with them! Every year there are 2 student involvement fairs where every student is welcome to peruse through numerous student and faculty run organizations and meet with representatives.

    Great for these types of students

    This University is perfect for students who value their individuality and would like to be treated as such. It is also wonderful for students who are interested in not only bettering themselves through a well rounded education, but also through community service and the embodiment of the Franciscan values that the University maintains.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is so much natural beauty here on campus. Saint Francis of Assisi is the patron saint of the environment, this school makes sure to embody that through their vigorous care for the landscaping, nature trails, and grotto dedicated to The Virgin Mary.

    Bang for the buck

    Most private schools do have a large price tag, but here at Saint Francis I never stop hearing about opportunities for scholarships and grants! The Financial Aid Office can be useful in lowering your bill, too!

    What to do for fun

    The campus focuses on a lot of outdoor activities like disk golf, ice-skating, snow tubing, and more! Not only does Saint Francis offer a wide variety of outdoor events, but also movies in the auditorium, entertainment in the student lounge, and blacklight volleyball!

    Food and Dining

    Not only does Torvian have a fully stocked salad bar, but they have a variety of hot food options, desserts, and breakfast foods. The freshman 15 is made easy in this dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are your standard small living spaces. What isn't standard is how well Residence Life can match you with a random roommate that you have a lot in common with and how clean the community bathrooms are!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can be challenging, but professors offer a variety of study tips and office hours to ensure that you can achieve your academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you stay ahead of your academic work. Professors appreciate a student that is prepared for class and completes assignments on time or early.

    In three sentences

    This school is extremely welcoming. Not only do they have a variety of activities to get involved in, but the students already involved are friendly and very helpful! I love that you don't have to ever feel like a stranger.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school often brings many things to the campus such as concerts, outdoor and indoor games and courses. The Student Activities Organization (SAO) is always looking for new, fun activities to bring to campus like mechanical bulls, casino nights and game shows with prizes like a flat screen tv!

    Food and Dining

    Food is prepared by the same family that runs the chain restaurant Eat-n-Park. Pretty good for being cafeteria dining. Mostly repetitive and not always the healthiest of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and haven't been remodeled in quite some time.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others, but definitely not any classes where you can pass by just showing up. Work in and out of the classroom is crucial to success

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for college to be an adjustment from high school. Keep an open mind to new things that you might not have even thought twice about in high school. Although the campus is small, embrace that and use it to your advantage; develop strong bonds and relationships with professors and new friends in the small community.

    In three sentences

    Attending Saint Francis University has been the best blessing that has ever happened to me. The opportunities I have had since attending the university have made me into the best version of myself, thus far. The campus, faculty and students are top notch.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not to much to do for fun around Loretto. The city is very small with other surrounding small cities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not that good. There is only one station that I usually eat from because the food is fresh. The others usually serve the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are either all boys or all girls. Rules are very strict. Dorms typically stay quiet for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    The credentials of St. Francis University are said to be great. This school is ranked in the top 10 in the entire region. Class sizes are fairly small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the attention teachers can give due to small class sizes. Don't let the boring days take you out of your focus. Make a schedule and stick by it.

    In three sentences

    St. Francis University is a great school from an academic stand point. The campus population sits around 2,000 students. The area of the school is not that great because it is hard to get to places of need.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus! They have their own police force for a little school in Loretto, PA. The police have nothing to do, so they get bored.They have a tendency to try to bust students just because. Be prepared to be questioned if you're carrying a water bottle with, you know, actual water in it. Be prepared to be followed by a campus police car if you go jogging at night because you can't sleep.. And be prepared to be treated like a serial killer if you commit a small violation. If you're cool with all that, come to this school!

    Greek Life

    They talk about it a lot, don't really see much going on with it though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Laughable

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a devout Catholic, not into partying (or fun in general), an athlete, and have a strong enjoyment for the simple life (I almost feel like calling it simple isn't doing it proper justice), then this school might be tolerable for you, at least for a little bit. If you're not all of the above, you'll probably be looking into switching schools within the first few weeks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They ring a bell and try to make it seem like a gift from God. Be prepared to have religion shoved down your throat, even though they claim to be welcoming to students of all backgrounds. Students are actually forced to take a religion class here that meets for 3 hours one night a week, forcing you to live out Franciscan goals. But yeah, all backgrounds are welcome, as long as you live like a good Catholic child every second of every day spent on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly have no idea what this place does with the $40,000/year in costs to attend. Outdated technology, awful dorms, one food location, and an overall boring campus. It must go to hiring their armed police force that they have absolutely no reason to have. That's the type of atmosphere you'll be dealing with if you attend here: cops walking around armed with nothing to do but accuse people of drugs or alcohol (often falsely).

    What to do for fun

    The University offers absolutely nothing. To have fun, either bring a car or meet someone else who has one. Leave campus. That's how you can have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food quality is not bad at all, however, it is never explained to you beforehand or during orientation that there is exactly ONE dining hall that your meal plan is good for. Everything on campus not named Torvian comes out of your bonus dollars. Get a low meal plan, you do not want to keep going to the same place over and over and over again for 4 years, it gets old after about 3 days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are atrocious for freshmen. Mine had an awful smell that was never explained. We had no air conditioning, no space, uncomfortable beds, and wifi connection that was unbelievably horrific for a college campus in the year 2013. While my RA was fine, there are others who have their noses so far up their you-know-whats that they will try to do anything they can to get people in trouble. But then again, how can you blame them? It's not like they, or anyone else, have anything better to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are helpful, even though the material that I experienced was not very challenging. I honestly feel that my high school was more difficult academically than this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car, get a lower meal plan with more bonus dollars that allows you to eat somewhere other than Torvian every meal. Better yet, attend a different institution. Honestly, I've met many people who are unhappy at this school.

    In three sentences

    If you aren't an athlete, this will be an extremely dull and boring college experience for you. Don't make the mistake of being an incoming freshman that is not an athlete, has no car, and doesn't live nearby. You will be stuck on a campus with an almost unbelievable lack of activity.