Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Saint Johns River State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for people who just want to go to community college to get ready for the university. The school is nice and simple. The school is also in a nice location and has a decent student center for in between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart and read teacher reviews before you sign up for the classes. This school is all about choosing the best teachers. My personal recommendation is to stay away from Keller when it comes to math. His classes are pretty hard.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid is available for everyone.

    Did enjoy being here

    The best part is the small classes. It was so much easier to learn with a smaller class because the teachers can focus on you individually and there is less distraction. Some of the classmates are more than willing to help with each other. The student center is a great place to study with others, eat lunch, or take a break from studying by playing a few games, such as checkers,pool, and ping pong.

    Did learn a lot

    Learning was easier because the teachers helps out their students to learn better and to study what they need to know.

  • 09/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Johns River Community College is great for students who enjoy small to normal sized classes, and who want to get an excellent learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I would give prospective students is to make sure that you check your school email, becuase sometimes teachers will cancel classes and will post that the classes are cancelled to your email; therefore, you will not have to waste gas driving to school only to drive back home because class was cancelled for what ever reason that day. Another tip that I would give prospective students is to make sure that they get a parking decal, so that way they will not be fined.

    Bang for the buck

    When it comes to paying for classes, St. Johns River Community College is not as bad as a university. It is a little pricey, but not when you consider everything that you are getting for the price that you are paying.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending St. Johns River Community College because of the friendly people that attend there. The students are courteous to another, and the teachers are kind as well. Not to mention there is always something going on at the campus, whether it be a cook out or a Halloween party.

    Am learning a lot

    If you want a college experience that allows you to get the attention and help that you need in the classroom, this college would be perfect for you! All of the classes are pretty small; therefore, if you need extra help on a subject the professors are willing to take some extra time and help you until you understand what it is they are teaching. Also, they have tutors at the campus to help you with certain subjects such as math, and they have flexible hours too so they can be there for you when you need them.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Small Grill

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult, but manageable.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class atmosphere. I am at the satellite campus in Orange Park and the campus is small but big enough to give me choices in classes. Their instructors are have strong qualifications in their discipline.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have emergency locations around every corner of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not that many clubs and activities to chose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small colleges and focus on their studies.

    What to do for fun

    Join an after school activity or a group.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and they have a vast amount of foods to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available in this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not difficult if one stays focused on the assignments and plans ahead of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out the classes ahead of time and do not wait until the last minute to complete assignments. Always stay on top of the assignments.

    In three sentences

    St. Johns River State College is a small, but resourceful college with widespread courses. The teachers are extremely helpful and make the students feel comfortable with the material. Although there are few activities, the college provides students with great resources to conduct their studies.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are planning on transferring to a University. It is a smaller campus that still has many clubs and activities. The faculty and students are all nice and helpful. Great college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here!

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonablly priced

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot.

  • 07/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With the pell grant and FloArts scholarships there's no worries....

    Did enjoy being here

    Attending the art here was great!

    Academic Rigor

    I received my AS in Illustration.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, determined, Arts (performing and visual)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have been lazy in high school, it's time to shape up. College really weeds out the under-motivated students; especially those who think life is one big party. It will really pay off in the end to be organized and on top of everything.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus. security guards roam the campus enough to keep everyone safe, but not to much that they get overwhelming!

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm sure there are more, but all i'm certain of now is their softball team, and the class outings for labs. (ex: marine biology takes a field trip to marineland.)

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who need relaxation along with an education.

    Bang for the buck

    i don't know much about prices considering i am currently dual enrolled and am not required to pay for classes.

    What to do for fun

    there is a gym with a weight room, and a basketball court. a library that is perfect for quiet reading. sit outside and study underneath a palm tree. in the viking center, there is pool, ping pong, radios, and tvs.

    Food and Dining

    they have a little place to get sandwiches in the viking center, (student activity room), and a lot of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus, and therefore don't know much about dorm life. the campus is beautiful though.

    Academic Rigor

    pretty rigorous courses. not so much that it is impossible to pass, but they sure do make you learn the material!

    Tips for prospective students

    research classes you'd like to take ahead of time. make sure it's what you want before you start taking the class. some of the classes are harder than they look!

    In three sentences

    a great school. friendly and helpful teachers. beautiful campus.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    this school has the viking center which has pool tables, food, and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    the only food that i know of is in the viking center.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't enroll, find another college. if you have to enroll, make sure you understand everything fully and don't expect a lot of help from professors.

    In three sentences

    i believe that this college is in need of a great deal of help. the faculty at this school is very unorganized and do not get very involved with the students. i wish to transfer from this school as soon as possible.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always on the premises, out and about

    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta kappa

    What to do for fun

    fall frolics, spring fling

    Food and Dining

    no place available; have to eat in the local area

    Tips for prospective students

    talk with other students about classes to take.

    In three sentences

    good student-teacher ratio tutoring available

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who just want to screw around and waste money

    What to do for fun

    nothing. plain and simple. they take the tv remote and hold it hostage, and the pool table is usually taken over by jerks,

    Tips for prospective students

    go some where else.

    In three sentences

    the counselors do not care about the students and are not helpful. the students are nasty and believe that they are above everybody else. the teachers do not really bother teaching and do not want to help you for the most part even when you seek them out for extra help.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is out standing. There is an armed officer roving the campus at all times. Not to mention the campus have a criminal justice facility on site. So there is always law enforcement from surrounding agencies on campus during training.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who dont like to be around alot of people. Or like to be in a small class room setting.

    What to do for fun

    You can play ping pong in the cafeteria. I don't hang around after or before class so I really don't know what all they have.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafateria nice and clean. It has an open kitchen so you can see the staff preparing your food.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is not over whelming but it is college. The instructors don't just through a ton of work in your lap and say turn it in next class period. They ease you into the college mode.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be shaken by the size of the college. The instrutors are very nice and professional. It seems more like family than going to college. If you need extra attention the instructors are willing to assist you. The other student are very nice.

    In three sentences

    It is a small clean college with small classes. The instructors are very professional. I would recommend this college to people looking to futher the education.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards around campus all day. There are also emergency posts placed around campus where you can contact a guard if need be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, but the campus I go to is literally right down the street from my neighborhood. Very convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    First off, it's not expensive. Secondly, they offer a ton of courses on a wide variety of subjects. The teachers are knowledgeable too.

    What to do for fun

    They offer a recreational center/financial aid building. They have a stereo for music, pool table, and a small establishment for buying food and drink.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small establishment where you can buy breakfast or lunch items, as well as drinks. I don't personally use it, but I'm sure it's convenient for a lot of students.

    Dorm Life

    Don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers challenge you enough so that you know what you're doing, and you earn the grade you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great way to save money! Will not burn a hole in your wallet!

    In three sentences

    I'm enjoying SJRSC. I love the professors, and the students and faculty are nice and helpful. They also have a lot of courses available.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!

    Greek Life

    awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    I know of the Kayaking Club, but not about others clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    For student who need a quite place to stay and study, either the Vicking center or the Library, or even in the benches outdoor around the pond.

    Bang for the buck

    it is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There is a Kayaking club, and anyone can joining it for free. I know they have a lot of sports going on, but I don't have the time to do that. In the Vicking Center they have two playing pools, a stereo, and some board games. I love to play chess with my classmates!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is awesome! Very good and healthy food and the people who work there are really good people, very nice and friendly with eveybody. Even if I don't need to eat, sometimes I go there, in the Vikings center where the cafeteria is, just to stay in a fun and relaxing place.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately they don't have a dorm yet, but they told me they are planning to have one, as soon as they'll build the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    They are not as rigor as in Europe. For me, being Italian and having studied in Italy until High School, this College is easiest than what I expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to do good, just apply yourself, study, study, study and you'll be ok.

    In three sentences

    This college is a good place to learn. The environment is beautiful. All the stuff, from the professors, to the secretaries and the cleaning workers in friendly and kind, and they make you feel at home.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was hesitant about attending a local college, but have found it a great introduction to college life. The campus is beautiful and the staff, from admissions to the counselors to the instructors, are all great and very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There are several intramural sports to choose from and you are sure to make great friends who also live locally that you can hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there much, but there's a great little snack bar on campus with reasonable prices and a relaxed atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the small classroom setting makes things easier and make you more confortable to ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get with your counselor to ensure you are taking the right courses for your degree plan. Take it slow to begin with, don't overload yourself with all difficult classes at one time.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for local students. It has a large selection of courses and a great resource library. The instructors are usually interesting and sometimes even entertaining!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Have no idea.

    Food and Dining

    Would not know

    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know

    In three sentences

    It has limited opportunities for computer science majors. It has a sufficient amount of online material. It has helpful staff.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Im not sure i see the security riding around alot

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear of a dance team not sure though. they do have vollyball softball and i think baseball.

    Great for these types of students

    dual enrollemet or people looking to transfer to a university

    Bang for the buck

    it is affordable

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the viking center and play pool or ping pong

    Food and Dining

    never ate the food there. I go to nearby resturaunts

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms only appartments that are school affiliated

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not that difficult they have their moments but are all passable

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Dan wilson for Comp I, Comp II and Intro to Lit. Best teacher in the world.

    In three sentences

    the school is good for dual enrollment. It allows you to get your foot in the door of college life.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    More or less it's best to join a club or a group sport.

    Food and Dining

    they only have vending machines, that often go out of order every other week. Mosly they have some sort of event or something arranged from prospective colleges that provide some good food.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are much harder especially anything in the science and economics departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay very close attention in the math classes.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are fair as long as you take VERY careful notes in the classes.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There seems to be a low crime rate on campus, and the classes don't let out too late at night. Even if they do let out later in the evening, there is security within the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't a major part of this college due to it not being a university.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs that I have heard of while attending school. There are a few, which don't appeal to a majority of the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who want to stay home or who need lower priced classes to attend. It is also good for people who are wokring at the same time as going to school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's tuition is significantly cheaper than any university's. It is affordable for anyone to attend and get their A.A before moving on to a bigger university. With help from grants and scholarships, tuition is much easier affordable.

    What to do for fun

    They have multiple activities on campus throughout the year. The student center is also a great place to gather with friends. There are pool tables, a stereo for use, telivision, couches, and a ping pong table.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and freshly made. Rosi's Cafe is a charming idea and great for a missed breakfast. The prices can be kind of high, though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. The Orange Park campus does not have on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes are challenging if you are taking the advanced classes for majors. These classes do require studying. However, there are some classes that lack on challenge, but are only basic classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com to get an idea of what you are walking into with the professors. When it comes to dealing with the administration, have all the documents you may need so that you are ready for anything. Lastly, enjoyyourself, because there are positives to the school along with those negatives.

    In three sentences

    The teachers that I have had are dedicated and supportive. The grounds are constantly working on improving their appearance and it shows. However, the administration is difficult to deal with and as a student, its hard to have time and patience to deal with it.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great school with great staff who is willing to help at any time and offers a wide verity of majors

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a very big issue. When you are on campus you can take trust that you are in safe hands. There are two campus offers with firearms always patroling the campus. Also there are these emergency call buttons everywhere that are linked directly to the police department.

    What to do for fun

    This is a small town not much to do for fun, but the college has a couple of pool tables, & ping pong tables

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much for food choices, there are some vending machines. That's about it.

    Dorm Life

    There are appartments near campus, but I don't live near campus so I can't really comment much on this.

    Academic Rigor

    Te academics here are good. The staff, and the professors are really resourceful, and friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great start for incoming freshman. The college offers 4 year degrees, but not in all major areas of study. The college also offers easy ways to earn your A.A. degree, then transfer to a university they are very resourceful.

    In three sentences

    This is a great start for new students who want to earn their A.A. degree. The staff, and the professor are very knowledgeable, and resourceful. The others students are friendly. Also the college offers many programs A.A. & A.S. degrees, and other ways to transfer to a university.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe, in my opinion. There is always security officers that are driving around making sure everyone has an SJRSC tag on their car, if not they get fined. There is call buttons in the parking lots that anyone who feels in danger can press, and the officers will be there quickly. The officers are seen walking around the campus all the time. Especially at night.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is any Greek life on SJRSC campus or any fraternities, that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of activities and clubs to get involved in besides sports. There are clubs that volunteer and drama clubs, even study clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    SJRSC is a great place for all types of students and now that it is funded by the State, SJRSC offers so much more. They actually offer a great RN program, which I intend to take in the near future. I've been told it is an intense program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only place that is so interesting to me on campus is the performing arts center. This is where all artists, dancers, singers, and performers go for schooling. Just being there and seeing what they do was so interesting to me. I attended a class that was practicing for a play and to see the drama played out before production was so cool. The performing arts center is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    I was so amazed at how inexpensive SJRSC is. I mean I thought it would be at least 5,000 just for 1 semester and with 5 classes. Nope, it was only 1,200 maybe 1,500 for that semester + books. That is not bad at all. I researched UF Nursing school because I was thinking about applying to their nursing program once I get to that point, but after seeing what the tuition was, I was floored. UF college of Nursing wanted 22,000. SJRSC nursing program only wants 8,000.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, there is pool tables, ping pong tables, and TVs to watch and play in the Viking center. Besides this, there is a gym at SJRSC as well.

    Food and Dining

    SJRSC has an awesome little cafe. It's not necessarily a cafeteria, but it does have great food options to choose from, at a great price. In the Viking Center is where it is, and there is also pool tables and other games that students can whine down and play during the school day.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly SJRSC does not have dorms, however there are a lot of students who live in the apartment complexes right across the street. Maybe one day SJRSC can have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors that I have had were always very helpful and would help me understand why I made an error on an exam. Professors here even give students their personal office time so that students can get the tutoring they need. SJRSC also offers free tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should realize that just because it's a smaller college than most, doesn't mean it isn't an excellent academic college. SJRSC really wants their students to succeed and make awesome grades. The professors are always there to help.

    In three sentences

    I think Saint Johns River State College in Palatka, Fl. is a great college. It offers so many degrees now that it is a state college. The staff and professors here have always been super nice and wanting to help every student succeed. Very friendly environment.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security force at the school is remarkable. They patrol the premises and are accessible and have a presence on the campus. They are also kind and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of clubs from Honor Society to travel. Many of the clubs post their information on the cork boards all over the school

    Great for these types of students

    SJRSC is great for all ages. I am an older person going back to school and the entire experience is user friendly. I recommend the college to high school graduates as well because the curriculum is so flexible. You can have some classes in the classroom, some online, and if you move away you can still continue with distance learning.

    Bang for the buck

    I chose SJRSC for two reasons, the radiology department is excellent with state of the art equipment, and it offers the most reasonable tuition. I researched private schools as well as public and this school is half the cost of private institutions.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in St. Augustine. There are 5k's almost every month, beach volleyball, paddle tennis, public tennis courts, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing, surfing, too many to count! Plus there is the Amphitheater that has great concerts on a monthly basis.

    Food and Dining

    There are great restaurants in the area. St. Augustine is known for fabulous restaurants and dining experiences.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like anything in life, it is as challenging as we want it to be. I find the courses challenging and motivating. Just be there and learning will happen. But you definitely have to do the homework!

    Tips for prospective students

    School is what you make of it. Get to know your instructors and ask for help if you need it. Keep an open mind so they can fill it with new thoughts and ideas!

    In three sentences

    SJRSC is the place to get higher education. The faculty and staff set students up to succeed and I am thrilled to be part of this institution. The school has made such an impression on me that I hope to come back here and teach in the next 5 or 6 years

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are always on campus. Security phone numbers are also availible for students to keep in their phone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs available are gardening, chess, math, and bussiness. There are many more !

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who like to be in a small school where mostly everyone knows each other and help each other out.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is available for everyone. There are also scholarships. You can buy and sell your books at the school. You can also rent books.

    What to do for fun

    The student center have a tv, ping pong table, and pool table.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to counselors if you ever need help with anything. A lot of information is on the school's website.

    In three sentences

    Saint Johns River State College is a great school. So far I've had great teachers. It is clean and the enviroment is very comfortable.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any students looking to transfer, this is an ideal location. SJRSC's coupling with UNF for seamless transfer is a great opportunity to get into one of Florida's fastest growing colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you ever get Professor Mundy for a class, he always offers a swim across the pond for an A in the course. No takers?

    Bang for the buck

    St. Johns River State College is one of the cheapest institutions in the state for Florida residents. The tuition is about $104 dollars a credit hour, and books are reasonably priced as well.

    What to do for fun

    The events on campus are a great way to meet other people in the school. There are seasonal held on school grounds along with a bustling group always located in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The campus in St. Augustine serves a surprisingly pretty good hamburger in the student center!

    Academic Rigor

    Most importantly, the teachers know their subjects and deliver the information in a developmental manner. Through even my toughest classes I have never felt defeated because the teachers here are always willing to aid their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know it may seem cliched, however, having a good understanding of what you intend on majoring in goes a long way towards a smooth college experience.

    In three sentences

    Saint John's River State College is a fantastic school for students who plan to transfer for their four year degree. A variety of classes are taught by inteligent, competent, and vibrant teacher. St. John's River State is a college filled with good people all headed towards making an impact on this world.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I duel-enroll there so it doesn't cost me anything, but the education is cheap and actually useful and most classes should transfer.

    What to do for fun

    The library's pretty nice, plenty of magazine options for a quick read and computers in both the library and Viking Center. Ping pong, pool, snooker, that's about it.

    Food and Dining

    The cheesy fries in the cafe aren't bad, but there's not many options. Good for a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, but there is an apartment complex right across the road from the college available for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've taken are pretty easy if you take them seriously and actually show up.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here are pretty good and really care for their students (at least that I've had). Bookstore is fairly small but a great library with plenty of computers. There's a small cafeteria and a few snack machines in the Viking Center, but there's plenty of places to go out to eat in Palatka.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have vending machines and a little cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are relatively easy as long as you listen in lecture and study. Some classes are harder than others because it depends on the teacher and subject.

    In three sentences

    St. Johns River State College has great teachers who really want you to learn the subjects they are teaching. The college has a beautiful campus with many places to sit and study or just talk to other students. The college almost always has the books I need for classes.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security call boxes in the parking lot, as well as campus security phone number posted in practically every classroom and hall way. Security makes rounds several times of day, regardless of weather.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Pricy food. You pay for convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    Do the work. Several hours of tutoring is included in tuition. Take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    Orange Park campus is very beautiful. St. John's keeps up with maintenance. Teachers care about the students, and they help each individual according to their need or circumstances.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    unfortunately, the campus in Orange Park did not really have anything athletic for me to be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Was not needed

    Dorm Life

    Lived at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes were quite difficult. I wish I had found more help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are always stay on track of the classes needed for your degree. Get involved in study groups. This makes it so much easier to acquire the knowledge you need to successfully complete your lessons.

    In three sentences

    Although guidance was quite friendly, I feel that on several occasions they did not give me correct information in a timely matter. Once the mistakes where corrected, sometimes my selected classes where no longer available.This made registration frustrating.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy fishing, diving and reading when I have the time.

    Food and Dining

    I believe there is a cafe on campus but I was hardly on campus to give it a try.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home, not sure about the dorms or if they even have them.

    Academic Rigor

    I took mostly online classes. They are straight to the point and you can avoid long lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to Pete and only Pete in the guidance office. Also do your research! Print out and organize you classes and goals before ever stepping foot into someones office.

    In three sentences

    SJRSC is a great school, Pete in the guidance office helped me get my classes in line. I would recommend this school to family and friends.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have The Department of Campus Safety and Security they also have parking decals.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society

    Clubs and Activities

    The St Augustine Campus has the following clubs: Art Club Association of Information Technology Professionals Campus Crusade for Christ Deaf Awareness Eco-Adventure Club Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society Pride Club Radiology Club Resound Club Sailing Club Running Club Society for Advancement of Management Speech Club Student Ambassadors Student Government Association Gaming Club Veterans' Education and Training Support Group Club

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone wanting a college degree to further their careers or start a career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are three campuses one here in Saint Augustine, FL, the main campus in Paltaka, FL., and another in Orange Park, FL.

    What to do for fun

    Play videos, practice my music on my trumpet, and hang out with my brother.

    Food and Dining

    I really don't know they do have a small cafeteria in the Viking Center.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms there.

    Academic Rigor

    As a dual-enrollment student it is hard especially if you are like me involved with the after school marching band, but it can be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the dual-enrollment and you'll be able to graduate from high school with an A.S degree or close to it. Also it's free!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to St Johns River State College because it allows me to go to high school and attend college as a dual-enrollment student. I have been able to take college classes and have a head start in my college degree.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guards are always willing to help and are always around!

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely!

    What to do for fun

    I attend the Saint Augustine Campus and there aren't an extremely large amount of things around but they do have a pool table and a very active ping pong community. You can even try to take on the best which happens to be the cook in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    I usually eat off of campus but i've had the food in the cafeteria and I enjoyed it. Overall it's about personal preference. The food is extremely affordable, ever-changing and delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of the teachers are extremely passionate (EX. Mark Little, Roger Vaccaro, Stacy Daniels) about what they're teaching. Of course, every now and then there's a teacher that just goes through the chapters of the book and that's it. That is rare when it comes to this college though.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only advice I can think of is to make sure you use everything the college offers to your advantage. They spend their time there for a reason and that's to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Saint John's River State College is all around amazing. It's affordable, friendly and everyone is always willing to help. They do everything in their power to make college a pleasant experience.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Viking center

    Food and Dining

    Great food. High prices

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students be prepared to Learn. Professors here take it very seriously. You get your moneys worth

    In three sentences

    St.johns river state college is a wonderful, quiet, peaceful school. I would have to rate the school a 7 out of 10. It Is a small school and would like to see more things going on but overall it is a great place.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult but teachers are always willing to work with students and there are free tutors available for each subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class and take advantage of the many opportunities for extra credit and tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Saint Johns River State has a beautiful campus. The teachers are highly intelligent, and always looking for ways to help students. Also, the counselors are very helpful along with the financial aid office.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am always seeing security guards paroling. They are vigilant, and they always say hello and offer help. There are also emergency help call-boxes around campus.

    Greek Life

    We have PTK, which is the honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only a few clubs, but they are good.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy a laid-back environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to Universities, tuition is good. However, it is still fairly high.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and events held by the school. I personally enjoy being a member of the Nature Club, and the Ballroom Dance Club. The school holds events at least twice a semester with free food and T-shirts.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small food window in the student center. It's a bit pricey, but the food is fresh.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus living arrangements since the school is so small.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like with any college, the rigor of the course depends on the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good idea to make sure your transcripts and your other paperwork are turned in and accounted for with the school.

    In three sentences

    St. Johns River state college is a small state college. Their is a great sense of community on campus and online. The location is excellent and accessible.