Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Saint Josephs College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school does have a rec center, where people can go to play basketball or work out.

    Food and Dining

    For the most part, the food is delicious and the dining is also good. The school does have its good days and bad days, however, and at times the food just isn't good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fairly good. It definitely isn't the best. Some of the dorms aren't in the greatest condition and the rooms are quite small, but it just depends on which building you choose to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here is challenging. Anyone that attends can tell you that. That's why you have to always be prepared and ready to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's always good to be organized. Keep all work up to date and ensure that the work is done days in advance. Also, the school gives you a planner for a reason; it's important that you use it so you can mark important dates.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a very good school. The staff are polite and always willing to help the students succeed in all areas. The professors are also willing to do what they can to keep the students on the right track.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always right there on time whenever you may need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    I volunteer at the First Presbyterian Church and I am the assistant director of counseling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bar in the middle of a catholic campus. I thought that was a little 'bizarre' when I first heard about it.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a huge fan of music so I usually listen to a diverse selection of tunes. Music always seem to keep me calm and stress-free.

    Food and Dining

    Again, as long as I have a meal to eat I will not complain.

    Dorm Life

    I used I room with 2 6'6 basketball players inside of a very small dorm but as long as I have a bed to rest my head, I'm grateful.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum here at Saint Joseph's college is a fierce test of focus and dedication. If you slack off the professors will warn you but they will not hold your hand a weaken you as a person by providing you with a crutch.

    Tips for prospective students

    A main point that could help the up an coming freshman class is that the most important transition from high school to college is time management.

    In three sentences

    Saint Joseph's is a genuine college with a prestine reputation. I am truly blessed to be apart of Saint Joseph's college legacy as a student and I look forward to receiving my bachelors degree from Saint Joseph's. Approaching my senior year, my minds attention is coupled with the grace of opportunity that can provide positive energy during my journey.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the sporting events

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. The hub, is a restaurant on campus that many students go to

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorms and the janitors keep it clean. Dorm life is a great experience for incoming students

    Academic Rigor

    The grading is good. its a basic grading scale

    Tips for prospective students

    A great school. The professors are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    A great College that help students learn and make good career paths for the future. Saint Joseph College has many professors who is willing to help out with any situation involving a certain class. Also, Saint Joseph College is top 10 in the midwest of universites/colleges/

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am involved with many actives: Choir, Theater and much much more. There's always ghost hunting. Sometimes as a floor we played board games

    Food and Dining

    The hub food is better then the cafe. Hours are not good on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    If you have a problem with your roommate your Ra is always there to help you. I love the fact that you become more then friends you become a family.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many majors to choose from. There are many ways to get help if your struggling. Professors are very willing to help you if you need something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved !! Live in a dorm your first year. Don't be afraid to talk to your professor about getting help if you are struggling or don't understand something.

    In three sentences

    I love Saint Joesph College, they have many majors to choose from. I love being involved with many actives that Saint Joe's offers. You have to sometimes find your own fun.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't had any food there but from what I hear its pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm's are a bit spacious i like them, i have a lot of space.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Campus life holds lots of events throughout the year. We also have many clubs for students to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many stories about various haunted buildings and sites around campus and the community of Rensselaer. It's a tradition for students to visit these sites and share their stories.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Joe always has clubs, sports and other events for students to participate in. It's a small campus but we always have fun!

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria food is decent. They provide us with a variety of food options.

    Dorm Life

    I had a great experience with dorm life. Everyone in my dorm became very close and we always had fun! Our RAs made it is easy for me to feel like I was at home.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do your work, pay attention in class and study, you will have no problems. Our professors expect you to take responsibility for your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything that you can on campus. Participate in class, ask professors or peers for help if you need it, go on trips, join clubs and sports, and go to events held on campus. Also it is important to find a balance between doing your school work and having fun. Above all, go to class. You are paying a lot of money for your education, don't waste it by skipping class.

    In three sentences

    Saint Joseph's College has provided me with a high quality education. I have had many unique opportunities that I would never have experienced if I hadn't decided to attend Saint Joe. It has become a home as well as my school.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always there when you need them. Their goal is to make everyone feel safe, and they do all they can to make that possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of things for students to do. From sports to the arts and around to religious groups, there is always something for students to take part in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is ideal for those looking for the small-campus college life. Classes are usually relatively smalls (with the exception of Lecture), allowing for more individual attention from professors and a better overall experience, and students get to know one another through discussions and activities in class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bar on campus called Core XI. I thought it a bit odd on a Catholic campus, but I'm not one to complain about convenience.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a rec center for the more athletic students, and there are computer labs and a good sized library. Attending games is always fun, and there are bunches of clubs and organizations that have a range of things going on. There are also things to do around town, like bowling and going to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    As in any kitchen, there are good days and bad days. The cafeteria food tends to be pretty good, though, and there are alternative dining options. On campus, there is also a cafe and The Hub, both of which are also pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The building you chose to live in can make a difference in your experience living on campus. The dorms aren't the greatest, but they're not bad either. Living on campus is great nonetheless, and is an experience every student should experience at some point.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect you to want the best, and so you're expected to do your best to achieve success. The work isn't easy, but the professors are open to helping those who ask for it. Tutoring is available for anyone, and it is wise to take advantage of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to open up. Reach out, make friends, get to know your professors, and live it up. Keep your mind set on your goal and you're sure to reach it with a bit or hard work, organization, and help from professors who are always more than willing to do whatever they can.

    In three sentences

    The professors are passionate, the classes are interesting, and the atmosphere is overall uplifting. This is the college experience anyone could hope for. I would strongly recommend Saint Josephs for anyone.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is impeccable. Not only because of the college campus but also the city of Rennselaer-it's a safe city and I've never felt any safer on campus especially compared to two different colleges that I've been to.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here and you get to go back for more like a buffet! There's a lot of variety too.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in a dorm but I hear its a lot of fun because you get to hang out with your friends and class mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life is not very difficult. Like any school they have its challenges, but simply talking to the professor or your peers for help will definitely put you back on track with grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not all about the big name schools. I think the best schools, especially for undergraduate, are the private smaller institutions because of the focus in students. At Saint Joe's, the faculty give that type of attention to help you succeed in your major and prepare you for graduate school.

    In three sentences

    Saint Josephs College is a great transition from high school to college, or for me, college to college. The atmosphere is family like because the campus is small enough for that special attention from teachers, but large enough to walk around and have fun things to do on campus. This college may be smaller than large universities, but at Saint Joe's, there is BIG opportunities.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the top priorities. There is always an officer on duty and if you need to be dropped off somewhere in town, they are always happy to help. They are always ready to help, even if you just need someone to talk to.

    Greek Life

    There is not really a Greek Life but it's still fun and pretty awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is supposedly haunted, yet I've never seen anything. The lake has swimming and fishing.

    What to do for fun

    The Joe has a lake for fishing and swimming. Cup 'O Joe (COJ) is open in the evenings from Sunday to Thursday. There you can play games, cards, get free coffee and teas, have movie nights, and seasonal parties.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has several different varieties of food ranging from pizza to daily specialty plates. The Hub is similar to several fast food restaurants in one.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is relatively quiet, but can be a bit noisy at times.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are stimulating and extremely enjoyable if you are doing what you love.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just ask if you have questions because we've all been in your shoes.

    In three sentences

    I have met unforgettable people and friends. The professors know who we are and are available if we have questions. We have our own on-campus coffee house and a lake.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much dangerous activity.

    Greek Life

    Don't have one

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a bit of clubs on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The grotto is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive but you can get so many scholarships you won't have much to worry or pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, party, student activities and other campus gatherings.

    Food and Dining

    Caf�© food is...ehh. The Hub on the other hand is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorm, you won't love or hate them. The typical dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They make it nearly impossible for you to fail, you have so many resources if you ever need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you are willing to go to a small school before you commit.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very small. Student population is low. Education and Core program are awesome.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour strict security

    Great for these types of students

    bio majors Athletic students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a whisper wall. If u stand at one end and i stand at the other and talk into the wall you can hear me

    What to do for fun

    By SJC being a Catholic school we don't have sorority but there's plenty of clubs

    Food and Dining

    The hub is an alternative food program you can go to if you miss meal times. We have our own starbucks called Jazzmans

    Dorm Life

    Generally you have a roommate and you each have ypur own space but i have a single and its great

    Academic Rigor

    Great Education with the Core Program

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Joseph's is not a school that you want to get behind in your classes on. There is no way you should get behind because we have good resources here.

    In three sentences

    Saint Joseph's College is a very good school for anyone looking for a great education. our school is like a small community and the faculty and staff are always friendly. Here at SJC education is valued.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe, you never feel in danger. The security staff is very friendly, and will even pick you up from a friend's dorm if you don't want to walk back alone.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities, however the entire campus is very close to each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is an activity or club you can think of, it's here. And if you can't find a club you like, you can request a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly it is great for all types. Athletic, shy, outgoing, hardworking, all of the above.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a small lake called Lake Bennette, which is fun to go swimming in. The best tradition is called Little 5, where students race around campus in go karts. There are so many fun things that just have to be experienced in person.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is expensive yes, but very worth it. The education that you will receive is worth more than any amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    There's always stuff to do on campus, whether it be a highlighter party, movie night in the dorms, or even a 5k.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is what you would call average. The Hub however has a very inviting atmosphere and the food isn't too shabby either.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are very friendly and inviting. The RA's always plan fun and exciting activities to do, especially when people are getting cabin fever.

    Academic Rigor

    This college's academic program is very effective, especially the Core program. All of these classes help you understand the world better. They also help you with life lessons that you can take with you into the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to join a club that you've never been involved with. Also don't hesitate to ask teachers for advice, they will be more than welcome to help you.

    In three sentences

    This college has really changed my life, for the better. Saint Joseph's has allowed me to go outside of my comfort zone. I have also made life long friends, something that money can't buy.