Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Saint Martin's University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/29/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who can afford the private school life. Can't be too dependable upon financial aide here...

    Tips for prospective students

    Call, call, call... They will most likely not call you back. It seriously take you coming in person for them to actually work with you...

    Bang for the buck

    Horribly Expensive! it's totally not worth your money to go here. The financial aide department it horrifically slow, causing you to loose tons of $.

    Did enjoy being here

    Dorm life was rather boring. Not many interesting events on campus, and tons of rule- breaking going on, under the noses of RA's who choose unfairly when to enforce such rules...

    Did learn a lot

    Some stupendous teachers. I loved my religious studies class, and the teacher was more than open to controversial conversations. Kind of surprising for a catholic university...

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Martin's offers lots of choices for people interested in business, engineering, and teaching. They have lots of masters and majors in these categories. Also great for students that have lots of financial aid coming in from the government or are able to pay for their education or those with a good record on academics, leaderships, extracurricular activities or sports. Plus it is a peaceful environment where one can relax and at the same time get lots of help and things done. So if one prefers quiet and peace to noise and crowds then this is the place to be. Overall if one is interested in learning, this school provides lots of opportunity and chances for a great education that will serve really well for your future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out your counselor and sit down with him, talk to him, share your fears, weaknesses, ideas and they will try to help you throughout everything. Make sure you are on time and on track and everything should work out. Help can come in different ways and if one is determined to achieve the impossible then they can, because they believe that it can happen and we are powerful in our faith.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Martin's being a private university is expensive though some say less expensive then other private universities. However they do try to help you a lot with the FAFSA and other scholarships. The school itself offers about 100 different types of scholarships that one can apply for or look for other sources for example loans. Not to mention their tuition management systems is helpful because you can pay the money for school monthly and not all at once. In addition the university offers a lot of jobs since 7 out of 10 students at their university has a job with the university. Overall the basic idea is that if one truly tries they can find different sources of income for their tuition while at the same time receiving a private education.

    Am enjoying being here

    While visiting several schools in Washington, what made Saint Martin's University stand out is it's peaceful atmosphere. The place is intimate, quiet and surrounded by 380 acres of green. One can get a blanket sit on the grass and have a picnic, study or even read a book. The church that is also on campus with the university adds even more serenity to the place because sometimes one can hear the bell, which sounds like a soundtrack added to a play to make it stand out and perfect. It's an ideal environment for studying, relaxing and basically enjoying your time.

    Am learning a lot

    Saint Martin's University is a special school in many ways. First it is a private university and that is wonderful because the classes are made up of 15 students or less. It allows one to get the help they need and also create long lasting relationships between teachers and students. All the staff and teachers are welcoming, going the extra mile for their students. Not to mention the wide variety in their programs offering lots of different classes and experiences. One can really relax, feel at home and at the same time get the education they need. In addition the university provides all the tools one needs, from the newest technology to a wide variety of books and even a workout gym. It a place of spirit, passion and education where one can really shine if they out themselves into it.

  • 04/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to take life at a slower pace -- this is not Seattle, here -- and who appreciate being surrounded by nature.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring earplugs! And definitely bring a foam mattress pad. You will thank me your first night. If you are doing your laundry on campus, I recommend doing it in the mornings on the weekend before everyone else is up, or in the mornings on weekdays when everyone else is at classes. Keep an eye and ear out for scholarships and work-study/job opportunities -- going to this school is expensive, and every little bit helps! You might have to network with the people on campus to actually find anything, though.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting an education worthy of the tuition. Already I can feel that my mind has been stretched to new places, to accommodate new dimensions of thinking. However, and this may just be nitpicky, I feel like some of the commodities could be a little better. Several of the tables in Harned Hall are wobbly; a large number of computers take a long time to actually log you in, which is NOT fun in the rush to print out papers before a class in three minutes; at any given time, three of the nine washing machines in Parsons Hall (my dorm building) will be out of order or malfunctioning in some way.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a small-town girl who grew up in a 360-degree panorama of green, I appreciate that the campus is surrounded by trees, providing a cushion from the urban sprawl outside. It is quieter and more peaceful than I thought it would be, for the middle of a city, which is very nice. The library and Harned Hall are great haunts for studying, and the latter is popular for socializing over a cup of coffee. When the weather is nice, you can go on a long nature walk with a friend, or camp out on a bench to chat or just people-watch. Somehow, it never becomes dull to hear the abbey church bells or to see the monks walking around on campus, either teaching or attending classes themselves. I knocked off a star from a full score because the dorms are frequently noisy. I do not know if it depends on what RA you have, but in my experience, quiet hours are rarely enforced outside of Dead Week (before/during finals).

    Am learning a lot

    I can definitely say that I am being challenged in ways that I never was in high school. I considered my public school education to be fairly adequate, and yet in at least one of my classes, I learned things that I SHOULD have learned in public school. This was not a remedial class or a planned lesson -- this was a digression from the topic to explain how a grammatical rule worked, because very few in the class actually knew. It is kind of embarrassing, but I am thankful that I learned sooner rather than later. The professors here are spectacular, in my experience. They are genuinely enthusiastic about their subjects, and they encourage open discussion whenever something is either unclear or simply interesting enough that it is worth straying from the planned lecture to explore.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Can handle all types of learning enviroments, and like to be on the computer to do different assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look up the professor before enrolling in the class. Some of the professors are easier than others, ask the students about them.

  • 10/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for self-motivated and inquisitive students who really love learning about...well, everything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard! For most teachers, A's are not easily granted. But if you work hard, they'll respect you and help you out all they can. Take some time out for yourself. Go see some friends or check out an event before you put your nose to the grindstone. And check out great relaxation activities around finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive to go here, but if you work hard, you can get a lot of money in scholarships that the school approves you for. There's also plenty of student jobs available. When I look at the price and then I look at how many things we get that we don't have to pay out of pocket for (because it's already been paid for by tuition), I think it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many fun things to do on campus. There are sports to go watch, trails to hike, and cozy hidden study locals for those cold winter days. Anyone can come hang out in Campus Ministry and enjoy the snacks there.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a tremendous amount every day from everyone at SMU. Not only are the teachers teaching and taking an interest in their students, many of the office workers, monks, and other staff are involved too! I really feel like I'm learning to be a well-rounded, confident, and accomplished person. I'm also being supported by a small, friendly community that creates an ideal learning environment.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great, most are students and are approachable and willing to help anyone. There had been no real dangerous events on this campus. We do have night classes and security is always around, they ate even willing to walk you to your car of you would like, just ask.

    Greek Life

    No knowledge of Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variet of clubs and activies daily on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic, who strive for good grades, enthudiastic learners, athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Saint Martin's University is a catholic school so we do have religious events and some of the professors are monks but what I love is that they never pressure you to be religious.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint martins can be expensive but the education is great!! And scholarships are easy to find.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Martin's University hosts a lot of great community events. We have a pavilion in campus it seems atleast once a week on average. There are also always sports games going on to attend. We also have a recreational center that is great!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great! There are plenty of places on campus that have food and all that I have tried taste great!

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally lived in the dorms but I have friends that do and I have spent time in them. The doors have been recently built and are in great condition!

    Academic Rigor

    Saint Martin's University challenges students to push themselves and succeed. I appreciate this in a school because I want to be the best that I can be and Saint Martin's helps me do this.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students make sure you go to the orientations weather you are a new freshmen or a transfer student, I did not attend and I struggled in my 1st semester finding resources and things like that. Also, get to know your professors, they are all here to help you.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University has a positive and interactive atmosphere. it provides great education with a variety of major and grad programs. It is a campus where I feel comfortable and where I am also fully supported my professors.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is good for students who like small classes and want to actually get to know their teachers and the other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cost is a big component for any student. Most colleges will have very similar curriculum. You need to look at the class size and who is actually teaching the classes to make good comparisions. All school want good students so push for academic rewards and go to the school that will provide a decent atmosphere with a low cost.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Martins is a private catholic college which would make one think it is very expensive. It is one of the cheaper colleges in the Northwest. The school provides good academic scholarships and some opportunities for other grants or scholarships. For the money I think it is better then the state schools. However, like anywhere I do not think enough money is provided for students who are academically strong and also participate in sports. There are more opportunities for minority students who are less qualified then other students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the campus and the city of Lacey. The school is close to Olympia and Tacoma so there is alot to do and see. The school is located on 350 acres of beautiful forest and ponds. The students are very nice and I have made a lot of friends both in my classes and out of them. I stay busy and enjoy being here.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are reasonably small and you have access to the professors for questions. All of the classes are taught by the professors and not student assistants. I am currently taking the basic classes for civil engineering and there is a lot of work involved. However it is a good review and I am learning a lot.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Office of Security is great. They have a great staff who are dedicated to keeping students safe. They are also very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things to do and many clubs on campus. Some of the more popular clubs are: Hui 'O Hawaii (Hawaii Club) Filipino Heritage Club Black Student Union Latino Student Alliance Chemistry Club Anyone can join these clubs :)

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL students :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Places you need to know: Old Main: The big red building at the top of the hill. Many classes and most offices are located here as well as our bookstore and cafeteria. Harned Hall: A newer building with a cafe and classrooms. TUB (Trautman Student Union Building): Where most of the fun activities happen. It's also a great place to hang out or do homework. O'Grady Library REC Center: Where students go to workout or just play sports with friends. Fine Arts Building: For choir, band, pottery, and other art things Marcus Pavilion: Where we have volleyball and basketball games. Also, our Hawaii Club's Luau is held here in the Spring. North Worthington Conference Center: Where formal dances are held as well as other important/formal things on campus. Residence Halls: Where we live :)

    What to do for fun

    Campus Life puts on many things (Comedy night, Open Mic, BINGO, Exam Jam, etc.) that can keep you entertained. We also have intramural sports and Saints Adventures. All these things combined, plus school work, will keep you busy all year round.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided isn't the best, but they try. They're not horrible, but not great either. We have a main cafeteria where we eat, a little cafe where you can buy snacks, drinks, and other things, as well as a convenient store in the Freshmen Residence Hall. There, they have just about anything you may need.

    Dorm Life

    We do not live in dorms. We live in Residence Halls. The difference is that Residence Halls are more community based. A place where everyone can feel welcomed, safe, and get to know each other to develop friendships/relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor you have will determine how difficult the academic side of college will be. The professors here want you to succeed and will usually accommodate you. As long as you meet them half way, you can make a compromise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your professors as often as possible as well as your advisors. They want you to succeed and are here to help you. Don't just blow them off and think that you can get through the years without them because they are the biggest help provided. Also, meet the right people who will help you succeed and and drag you down.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University is a very welcoming community with a faculty and staff that help you succeed. There are great facilities and the environment is great. I highly recommend attending this university.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out in the Tub, go to the park, relax in the reading room in the library.

    Food and Dining

    i am a commuter so i do not eat school food on campus. i have had a coffee from the cafe, and it wasn't bad; a little bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm. they do not offer couple or married couple dorms. wish they did.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is difficult. i have had the hardest classes of my life from this school. its very rewarding though.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for stairs! because of the small class sizes if you don't do your assigned reading, it will show. always be on time, because they close the locked doors at start of class.

    In three sentences

    saint martins univ. is a small univ. on a hill in Lacey that focuses on maintaining a relationship between professor and student. most of my class sizes are under 20 students. very intimate.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unknown

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined any clubs but I continuely recieve notices of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Unknown.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    Bang for the buck

    Currently they are the cheapest school around this area.

    What to do for fun

    Unknown

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push students to excel and give their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a friendly military school.

    In three sentences

    St. Martins is military friendly, offering shorten terms to allow for service members to complete their degrees while serving their country. They are dedicated to ensuring students are prepared to be successful in their careers or furthering their education. The staff is always there to answer any questions and provide the best information for the careers.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a host of campus safety officers that patrol the campus 24/7 and are available by phone call or at the office. The campus is well-lit and feels pretty safe, for the most part. Some incidents still occur occasionally, but things on campus are usually pretty calm. Security officers are also available for escorts if you feel unsafe walking throughout campus by yourself.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Saint Martin's.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs available, including the Chemistry Club, Psychology Club, Gaming Club, Black Student Union, International Club, and more. There are options for many different interests and backgrounds.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Martin's is a great school for students that enjoy the small-school feeling and are willing to make a strong commitment to their education and personal growth. Saint Martin's offers amazing opportunities and experiences for those who will embrace what it has to offer and can afford to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Martin's is a private university and the tuition and expenses are pretty pricey. However, it offers such rich opportunities that it is worth it if you can afford it. Applying for scholarships and loans can help off-set expenses, and there are several on-campus jobs available for students. Payment plans are also available to help make payments easier.

    What to do for fun

    The TUB has televisions and arcade games available, as well as a ping-pong table and other forms of amusement. Zumba, Yoga, and karate are offered for free at the Rec Center, and there are Campus Life Events where you can get together with your friends for a good time. If you want to get off-campus, there is a movie theatre nearby as well as several restaurants, or you can take a short bus-ride to Olympia, where there are all kinds of places to visit.

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit-and-miss sometimes but there are items offered consistently that are usually good, such as breakfast sandwiches, burgers, chicken strips, and other items from the grill. There is a fairly good variety of choices but it can become tedious when you eat there for nearly every meal. The food is also over-priced, in my opinion, but having a meal plan can help balance this out.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living on campus. Parsons Hall has a cafe/convenience store and offers suites and singles. Events on campus that I enjoyed include open-mic nights, talent shows, musicians, and comedians. Free health and wellness classes such as karate and yoga are offered in the evenings and the Rec Center is available until 11:00 pm. Other than that, I enjoy being able to walk down the hall or over to the next building and hang out with friends from school.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, courses are challenging and engaging. This is especially true of upper-level classes. There are some gen-ed classes that are easier and don't require as much work, and it can be a good idea to balance these in your schedule with courses that are more demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain a good balance between academics and your social life. Your education should be your priority, but get out and have fun too. If you consistently stay on top of assignments, you'll have more time to relax and do what you want.

    In three sentences

    The professors sincerely care about the students, and there is a great teacher/student ratio. I love the small-school atmosphere and feeling like I am part of a community. Overall, I have greatly enjoyed my experiences here but I do wish it was more affordable.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like studying in the library and also the Trautment Student Unioin building has great Wi-Fi

    Bang for the buck

    expensive for some, but worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Party! lol there is also great Open Mic nights and other events on and off campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are getting yourself into!

    In three sentences

    Its a place for everyone! Small school with a big spirit! I love this school!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They work very hard to insure campus security and safety. The students may call the security office to receive an escort to the dorms or to their car. However, the school has had several issues in the past.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most clubs revolve around sports or academics.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're religious, you may enjoy the campus and the atmosphere more than the non-religious students.

    Bang for the buck

    Overpriced school that doesn't make the effort to help their students.

    What to do for fun

    Olympia is a fun city, but does get old after a while. Downtown has a lot of events.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced, and poor options. Luckily, Fred Meyer's is just across the street. What one sandwich coasts at the school will buy a week's worth of food supplies from the store.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter. As such, I do not know what dorm life was like.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't terribly hard, give or take one or two picky professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have the Aid office sign a form confirming that you have turned in your documents.

    In three sentences

    Expensive and unhelpful. Most requirements are not told to students, yet they are expected to know everything. Hard to navigate and communication is poor.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is a plus here on campus. They're always on the look out!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have an enormous selection of clubs, like a Hawaii club, a Latino Student Alliance club, BSU, Bio Club. From cultured clubs to academics clubs the campus is full of them, just make sure to check your emails for meeting and their events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Abbey church which every Sunday at 7 there is a student led mass for those who are interested and all are welcome. It's more modern for us in the younger generation and the monks are also involved in everything that goes around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is tough, for being a private university. But there are people in the community and the Aluminum's donate a whole lot to the school and that money goes to the students that need it, Through out the year, there are whole bunch of scholarships given, you just have to keep an eye for them.

    What to do for fun

    We have a CampusLife group and PROs group which host pretty fun events. Like dances, comedy nights, bingo nights and more. The whole is spirited so when there comes the time of our home games everybody joins together!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good! You'll find foods you'll love. Not at home cooked meals but it's all enjoying.

    Dorm Life

    For first year students there are separate dorms, it's coed. But other then that it's a great place to hang out, to bond with everyone and to have study sessions.

    Academic Rigor

    I love it here, no place else I'd rather be. The professors are always respectful and fun to talk to. Open up to them and they will open up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of our resources, they help out a bunch when needing help for a class or for any assignment.

    In three sentences

    SMU is the place to be. Small classes, awesome resources and wonderful bonds, you will have for a life time. More one on one time is what we all deserve, also for being a private school we have the best entertainment ever!!!

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is next to the police station, and the polices just go in and out. That is why I think that campus safety is very good.

    What to do for fun

    There are an amazing gym in the campus and many activities that the school has during the school year.

    Food and Dining

    Even though I am very picky in what to eat, I really love the food here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look good, but are kinda expensive for me. The school has a small church inside the campus, and they usually have activities for students at night.

    Academic Rigor

    As I have seen, most of the professors here are pretty nice and devoted to their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many general classes as you can before you transfer here, if you are about to. It will give you more time to focus on your major classes and the classes that this school specifically requires like religion or philosophy.

    In three sentences

    This school is a private and religious school. I was amazed by the facility that they have and how small every class is. In turn, you have more chances to communicate with your professors.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very high. Too high actually. They are kind of weird and overly zealous.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and programs to join if you are up for all that.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about going to college and getting a degree this is a good school for you. If you want to party and goof off, you will fail out quickly. The engineering program is great for being employable at the end of it all, and the social work program has a fair amount of respect within the field too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a monastery on campus, if that can be considered unusual. Other than that, there is nothing to jazzy to share in this category.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get good grades you can go to grad school at a more prestigious school, like an Ivy League, but if you want to roll straight into a career the business and engineering programs are designed for that as well. In general this school has pretty good bang for your buck, but considering the price tag, dont go here to get a useless degree. Plan on working after you get your degree, unless you have rich parents. There are many career fairs too, if you need help with getting a job.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things around in the area to do for fun. Most of them involve driving somewhere, so it's more convenient to have a car. However, even without a car the usual things are available. Movies, shopping malls, and a variety of food options. If you don't have a car campus life does organize ski trips, movies at a discounted price, and soccer and pro football games frequently. Also, most basketball games that are away but still local (like Seattle) will have buses attending and usually for only a couple dollars. Of course you must wear teams colors to attend! :)

    Food and Dining

    Although students do like to complain about food, probably because anything other than pizza bites is not to their liking, the food here is very good. It's incredibly expensive, but it's pretty good. Lots of healthy options, and the menu is adequately varied. Like I said, it's expensive but tasty and good.

    Dorm Life

    Slightly over half of all the dorm rooms on Saint Martin's campus are brand new, so the quality of life is pretty high. It's a great campus to live on and the high speed internet is pretty much always fast, not bogged down by high use times. The 'community' aspect is pretty good too, there are meetings so that you know the people living around you, also there are high standards for quiet, cleanliness, and overall politeness. I've enjoyed it thus far.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies depending on the degree program you take. In general though, the academic rigor is fairly high, more so for science and math, but overall the education you can receive at Saint Martin's is significantly higher in quality than state schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to write and read critically and thoroughly. If you are not adept at writing a standard five paragraph essay by the time you finish high school, then get some help. Do not drag the other students down if you are not prepared for college work, there are a multitude of classes, workshops, and extra prep sessions to get you ready. Take advantage of the opportunity to push yourself academically at Saint Martins.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University is a fine institution. There are some management problems arising from the president and the office staff making way too much money, while the rest of the college, teachers are students, are left to fend for themselves. It is a great institution when it comes to student teachers interactions and obtaining a great education.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe. I usually see a police car driving through campus at least once a day. There are several large emergency button lights on campus and the walkways and parking lots are well lit. There are no through streets on campus. There is a 24 hour security guard or escort service, most work study and Criminal Justice major, and most take their job seriously. They can be called anytime. There are transients in the woods surrounding campus, but I have not seen one yet and I do not feel endangered at all when I am walking in the dark.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many great clubs, but most aren't advertised well. You have to search for them, but they are worth it and further your experience. There could still be a greater variety of activities, though.

    Great for these types of students

    SMU is great for social students who also like the small-community feel. You will not know everyone, but you will probably recognize most people, especially the traditional students. I do like time alone, and though this is a social campus, I do not feel claustrophobic at all. It is a great balance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People here LOVE Bingo Night. Also, we hang out with the monks on campus frequently. It is not uncommon to see students eating with a monk or even one of them on a student's skateboard. Even students 21 or older go off campus and drink with the monks sometimes. I think that is a distinct quality of SMU.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Martin's costs a lot. One of the only main drawbacks of SMU is the financial aid. But also, SMU creates a community that I don't believe any other place has. So I say it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The school frequently organizes fun trips to Portland or to sports games for very cheap. Also, the student union building has video games, movies to borrow, pool and ping pong tables, and frequent informal dances and other events, such as the ever-popular Bingo Night. There are always events to go to with tons of prizes. Also, reduced price movie tickets are sold weekly and other places, like the mall, blacklight mini golf, etc are within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    No matter where you go, people will complain about the food. The lunches here are almost always wonderful with tons of choices. Breakfast is nearly as good and dinner is only okay. Dinner has fewer choices, especially with people with dietary restrictions, but the staff is very willing to work with students with those needs. A big problem is that they cut their meat poorly. But overall, the food is good, not great. But there is a hot chocolate machine that is to die for. I was never a hot chocolate person before, but not, I sometimes have three cups a day. It's delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I lucked out by being on a calm and neighborly floor. Not all of them are like that, but I have been extremely satisfied with my decision to live on campus. Even on weekends, the dorm is relatively quiet on my floor, which I like, but I know exactly where to go if I want something different. Also, the resident staff and RAs are reasonable and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I have been very satisfied at SMU academically. It has prepared me for my major from the start, which lends itself to more flexibility if I had chosen to change my course of study. I feel challenged, but I also know that the system is organized and connected, so that I can get excellent help whenever I need it and I know exactly where to get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate with anything, and be persistent, whether it be applying for a job on campus or trying to get balance statements from Financial Aid. Also, keep an open mind and you will succeed at Saint Martin's.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's is great at making students feel at home. Everyone, including the staff, are close and caring. SMU may not be the best school for athletics, or food, or scholarships, but it does offer students a home. The academic opportunities and unique atmosphere make it a smart college choice.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Martin's University is committed to student safety as displayed by the additional outdoor lighting and blue light emergency dialers all over campus that were installed after a survey was to have found that students did not feel safe certain places on campus at night. In addition to this, public safety is open 24/7 and is available to student to be escorted to and from anywhere on campus and the Lacey police station is merely a block away.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When there is a lot of snow on campus, students will hike up to Mama Gertie's (Saint Gertrude's Cafe) and get food trays to sit on and slide down the Great Old Main Hill--that is, until public safety comes to get students in trouble.

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Martin's University assesses all incoming students as first year students as opposed to transfer students, ultimately optimizing scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Saint Martin's University is a dry campus committed to giving students a variety of healthy social activities to partake during the college experience. For the adventure seeking students, Saint's Adventures hosts a wide variety of activities including indoor rock-climbing at the Warehouse gym in downtown Olympia, monthly trips to Whitepass Ski Resort, discounted tickets and free transportation to Seattle Sounders Soccer games, and an annual trip to Mount Hood Meadows Ski resort. For students looking to display their creativity and talent, there is an annual talent show, monthly open-mic nights, and craft nights. For students looking to show off their school spirit, there are many sporting events that students can attend including women's volleyball games, men's and women's soccer games, or even men's and women's basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit is the food service provider at Saint Martin's University. This company is strongly committed to providing nutritious meals to students by partaking in the farm to fork campaign-- purchasing seasonal and regional ingredients from a 150-mile radius of campus. There are four different meal plans that students can choose from including commuter, bronze, silver, and gold depending on a student's dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Saint Martin's University is committed to finding the best roommate situation after reflecting on the roommate questionnaire forms filled out at the time of enrollment. Roommate placement plays a large roll in dictating how well a freshman's first year experience will go and residence life coordinators display strong concern for this in how they select roommate placements. Both the residence hall directors and resident life assistants help maintain a healthy balance between socializing, studying, and sleeping.

    Academic Rigor

    College is challenging but what makes Saint Martin's University distinct is that it has a student to faculty ratio of 12:1, helping students better attain a better education. The largest lecture hall seats 45 students and that alone displays the universities commitment to having faculty easily establish inter-personal relationships with their students. Professors will go out of their way to make more time for their students outside of office hours to ensure academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would highly recommend taking a campus tour during the academic year and scheduling an appointment with an admissions counselor. When taking the campus tour, one can see what the campus is like in session and how one feels about being there during it. The admissions counselor will immediately show you the scholarships you can apply for and the ones you are automatically eligible for.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University is a school committed to giving their students the most success before, during, and after attending college. There are many unique opportunities given to students because of its' small size, affordability, and location.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several intramural sports and collegiate sports to either join or go and watch. The gym on campus is nice and free if you are a student. There are also several events throughout the week put on by different clubs and organizations on campus, so there is also something to do if you are looking

    Food and Dining

    Because it is a pretty small campus, there are not a whole lot of dining options, but I would say that what is available is pretty average for most universities.

    Dorm Life

    I have never had to live on campus since I am a transfer student, but the dorms appear to be nice from the outside.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but I am a computer science major, so it could vary for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships early and talk to the financial aid office if you are finding it difficult to pay for school. This is what I did and they made it so much easier for me!

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's is a really nice campus. The staff in all of the departments have been really helpful and friendly, especially the admissions department and financial aid. This is my first semester, but so far I enjoy all of my classes and teachers as well.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good about keeping everyone safe and campus is well lit and has emergency poles.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus due to previous incidents of hazing.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students especially but religion isn't forced on you, it's there if you want it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well we have monks on campus that teach or just talk to you.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is full of clubs and athletics, I would highly recommend going to men's basketball games. Or you could even go talk to the monks.

    Food and Dining

    Every year the food starts out pretty decent and then it just goes completely downhill.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are new but the Resident Assistants are more focused on getting people in trouble than helping you.

    Academic Rigor

    The major I choose was a very difficult one requiring me to spend a lot of time studying but there's other majors that the students don't need to study at all it seems.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to be and it's really as hard as you want to be or as easy as you want it to be. The campus is absolutely beautiful and there's always new buildings being erected.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of trails to walk on

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all mostly new! Spacious compared to other dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a small campus. Some tend to get immersed in the drama that can occur on a small campus. Try to not find yourself in the drama, focus on why you are there. Always focus on the academics and building intellectual relationships.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's is a spiritual university that fosters authentic scholarship and encourages students to think out of the box.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, we even have a text alert program for immediate connection to students when events arise or warnings need to be put out.

    Greek Life

    No Sororities allowed on or off campus although some do arise. Not recommended.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus girls scouts, mentoring program- coming soon! Rotaract Athletics: soccer, baseball, basketball, track and field, etc. (NO football unfortunately)

    Great for these types of students

    Lots of students come from diverse backgrounds and Saint Martin's University literally has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There was a new fountain built at the top of the main building outside our abbey as well as an on-campus pond with great trails to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of local thrift shops, hair and nail salons, parks, and trails to get out and go explore. Restaurants are within walking distance and our close knit community has a lot to take advantage of. Although tuition itself is expensive, so grades are vital to gain multiple scholarship programs. It is very important to seek outside aid as well it is possible to attend and get through college here, but you must make an effort to afford it as well.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lake near by for swimming in the fall, sporting events nightly, comedy shows on weekends, open gym and recreation, the student union building aka the TUB is available for playing pool, ping pong ball, and video games also to host movie nights, and much more. Along with the resident hall game rooms.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetite is our food service and they offer all types of foods for eating purposes. We are a diverse school and SMU prides themselves on being able to adapt and accommodate ever cultural need from cury to teriyaki to burgers and fries, we've got it all. Plus delectable desserts.

    Dorm Life

    Residents halls vary, but for First- Years Parsons hall is a newer building fully furnished for the average student. There is a student convenience store that flex- cash can be spent there all inclusive with meal plan and ID card. I have found much pleasure there.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are helpful, fun, and will be a great impact on your intended field of study. Lots of hands on practice right on campus and everyone is here to HELP.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a first- year student stay on top of classes, study groups, and on- campus activities. We have weekly schedules of events and it is a promising great time filled with fun. The professors are very flexible for meetings and will help you as much as they possibly can.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University is a great school for academic success driven students. The student teacher ratio is similar to a high school or middle school level class room. With being a private college SMU offers a close knit family community, perfect for all those who love to experience new beginnings!

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of groups, clubs, and sports to participate in that anyone can join. All clubs are open to all people and events are always being hosted.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. Some days are better than others but it's affordable and filling.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly spacious and other members in the hall are nice. People can stay up pretty late so it can sometimes be a bit of a bother but rooms are pretty quiet with the doors closed.

    Academic Rigor

    Top notch learning from top noch teachers that don't try to mentally break you. The work is University level but you are offered such a wide range of programs and people to assisst you that you'd have to go out of your way to not succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all of your paper work out of the early. A lot of students put things off til the last minute to finish forms and it can lead to a frantic struggle to get things in on time.

    In three sentences

    A fun, safe environment that is small enough to feel like tight knit community but big enough so that you don't get over crowded. I really enjoy the friendly faces and SMU from the faculty to my fellow students.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is outstanding at Saint Martin's. There are telephones located throughout the campus that is linked directly with the security crew. If you are on campus in the evening and feel insecure about walking alone, they are always there to drive you to your dorm or your vehicle.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to earn a top degree should consider Saint Martin's. Students who are looking for a university that encourages involvement in the school and the surrounding community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The abby and church is beautiful and every student should take a moment to visit.

    Bang for the buck

    When you apply for Financial Aid at St. Martin's, you are automatically put in for any scholarships available to you. The Fin. Aid office staff are very helpful with all of the information and paperwork.

    What to do for fun

    VOLUNTEER! Join the evening on campus activities. The Tubman building often has evening events like charades and karaoke.

    Food and Dining

    The lounge at Saint Martin's is wonderful. There is a large variety of choices available and they often have free lunch for commuting students. They also have the register connected to your student ID for easy purchasing.

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of dorms. Some are like small apartments while others are like average dorms. Very close to the classrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very helpful. They are understanding about life events as long as you keep in contact with them. The classrooms are small enough that it keeps the education personal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Join clubs and volunteer your time to the community projects. Take advantage of the resources on campus!

    In three sentences

    Everyone on this campus is concerned for your success. They encourage involvement in the community. St. Martin's University sets their students up for success.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are 24/7 campus security guards that will actually walk you to your car if you have a night class! I like how the buildings are security entry only using student ID card.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a Catholic school and among a very small group (3 I think) Benedictine universities in the U.S. The monastery on campus is still active and monks are often seen cruising the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student involvement activities; just go to Stmartin.edu!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten here but the cafeteria is always packed. There are multiple places around campus to find food like coffee stands etc.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms. I do know they look nice but are rather expensive! I choose to live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but small classes seem to be the perfect fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't buy books from the bookstore! Save by buying online.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University has a beautiful campus and takes pride in student involvement. Everybody is welcoming and willing to help. Saint Martin's University is a diverse community of exceptional athletes, students, and teachers.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not a huge cafeteria, but a decent selection.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived there for one semester, but I enjoyed it.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll definitely earn your degree, especially if you are an Engineering student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan on walking up lots of stairs.

    In three sentences

    A nice, small campus. The professors are friendly and happy to help you if they can. It's also just built a new engineering building that's one of the 'greenest' in the country.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has been improved enormously over the last several years. The campus now has emergency call boxes, regular patrols, well-lit paths and parking lots, and a more dynamic security force. Very little crime on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek system is underground and active but not sanctioned by the University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some very active community service clubs on campus, and some good academic clubs. Fewer fun clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who maybe struggled through high school and need help getting ready for college (via the Bridge to Success program). Also students interested in Elementary or Secondary education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The graveyard is a cool visit, as are some of the lesser-known paths through the forest.

    Bang for the buck

    It's REALLY expensive to go here. Make the most of your classes.

    What to do for fun

    There's a brand new Frisbee golf course, lots of clubs and extracurricular activities like trips to Mt. Rainier, Portland, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Avoid the cafeteria food as much as possible; stick to the snack machines. Eat the chicken at your own risk - it's usually undercooked.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are safe, clean, and have lots of spaces for community gatherings.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are more demanding than others. Ultimately, it helps to be self-motivated for success. Your professors will follow up with you if you're struggling but may not push you to your full potential. The Writing Center will help you tremendously with all of your essays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to everybody. Ask everybody for advice. Nobody expects you to know everything, even if it feels like it. Get involved in absolutely anything that looks even remotely interesting or it'll be too easy to coast through without making meaningful connections.

    In three sentences

    Saint Martin's University will become your family, if you let it. Your professors know you by name and want you to be happy, healthy, and successful.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Saint Martin's had intramural sports, weekend entertainment (such as comedy nights, craft nights, Bingo, and open mic), cheap Sounders or movie tickets, and Sport games! If you are on Norcia, each mentee group holds an event such as movie marathons (ie. Back to the Future Night), mug decorating, pumpkin carving, and etc. There is also an excellent frisbee golf course as well as a decent rec. center.

    Food and Dining

    There are three places to get food on campus. Monk's Bean, Parson's store, and St. Gertrudes. St. Gertrudes is the main cafeteria. The food is occasionally good, but tends to get repetitive and is not particularly nutritious. There are not many options for a vegan or vegetarian. Many people say that the soft-serve is the best part. Dinners are all-you-can-eat of any non-packaged food. If there is something that you don't like, they have comment cards that you can leave, and they will actually listen to them! Parson's sells random snacks and drinks, and Monk's Bean sells drinks (smoothies, coffee, tea) and delicious snacks such as giant cookies.

    Dorm Life

    The main housing for freshmen is Parsons, but there is also Norcia and Oikos, which are housed in different halls. Norcia, my housing community, is leadership community that is on the first floor of Spangler. You get a shared double suite and to be a part of a unique leadership community. There are weekly Sunday dinners that you get to share with other members of this community. You will also have a mentor, an upperclassmen, that you meet with weekly, whom you can go to advice about anything.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies on the teacher. Some teachers are amazing while others are not. Some you can barely hear or understand, while others will take a really long time focusing on one chapter. But, regardless of this, there are some really good teachers that will challenge you to think on your feet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be successful, take advantage of the free tutoring as well as the teachers' office hours - they are there for you! Attend as many events as you can for both fun and networking. College campuses tend to open a lot of opportunities for you and move a lot faster than the real world, don't forget to take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    A close knit community that focuses on the betterment of the community by following the Benedictine values. Attempts to get the whole community involved, but occasionally lacks proper communication. This university is best known for its' Engineering building that is considered one of the best in regards to sustainability.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is pretty safe. I think campus safety could do a better job at responding to incidents among students, but overall our campus is fine. It's well-lit, so I'm not afraid to walk alone at night. It's also just very small, so there's hardly anywhere you can walk at night without someone probably seeing you (unless you go into the woods, which is just creepy). There are homeless people who live near campus, but they are harmless and they stay away from students. There is one homeless guy who has a knife and he's been on campus a few times, but the Lacey Police Dept. is next-door to our campus, literally, and they handled that situation quickly and without any trouble. The Lacey Police Dept. drives around our campus at least once each night, as a courtesy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at SMU, ranging from academic honor societies and cultural clubs to a Snowboarding/Ski club and a Gaming Club. New ones are started every year. If you don't see one you like, then grab 2 other friends and submit an application to student government. There are also some unofficial student groups, like an ongoing Magic tournament and an all-female a cappella group.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a holistic experience in college--it's not all about academics or all about sports or all about dorm life. It's very balanced. Also, students who want a close community of professors and students who care about them. If you would rather have personal relationships with your teachers and be in class with 10-30 students instead of a lecture hall with 300+, then SMU is a good option!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old Main is rumored to be haunted by ghosts. There's a little tower at the top of the library that everyone wants to go up to, but it's off-limits to students. There's a graveyard for the monks who have passed away that people sometimes visit at night (but do so in groups, there are homeless people about at night). There are many monks who you will see around campus--they might look scary at first, but they're really nice and caring. It's fun to go to prayer with the monks or to eat with them in their dining room. Some of the monks have huge, fun personalities!

    Bang for the buck

    SMU gives a TON of scholarship money. Compared to the other small private schools in WA that I considered, SMU gave me the most in scholarships by far. Plus, its tuition is lower than the other private schools. Most of the people I know at SMU are here because they received so much scholarship money.

    What to do for fun

    The Olympia/Lacey area is a lot of suburbs. The local color and adventures are in Olympia. It's fun to explore the shops, walk by capitol lake or go to the many events in Olympia. It's a pretty vibrant, active community. Lacey is pretty quiet. It has a lot of retail--Kohl's, Target, Costco, Fred Meyer, Shopko--and a movie theater. There's also a laser tag place close to campus. There's much more to do on-campus than off, I think. We have comedy nights, dances, craft nights, guest speakers, musicians, open mics and hypnotists. There's also floor events put on by res life and some academic events put on by the departments.

    Food and Dining

    The food is organic and healthy, for the most part. I personally don't like how oily and greasy the food is and how there's so much emphasis on foreign food (especially Asian food, for the international students). I'd just as soon have more American food, but I guess that can't really be helped. Things are overpriced in the cafeteria and the small, one-room student store, but I ended up having a lot of money left over in my account because you don't always eat school food. Sometimes you go to the grocery store or you go out with friends for meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome! SMU is such a small community that you know everyone or have at least seen them around campus, so everyone looks out for each other. There are some homeless people who live in the woods near campus and there were a few incidents with a homeless guy with a knife who wandered onto campus. When those events happened, students looked out for each other. It's a very close community. There aren't really cliques. It's so small that everyone interacts with each other and different groups of friends interact a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    I was surprised by the academic rigor at this school, honestly. Though some classes you can just blow off, many of the classes are a challenge. The profs are always available to help and many are willing to meet with you outside of office hours, if your schedules don't match up. Very friendly and approachable faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorm rooms are HUGE and like a hotel (unless you're in Baran, which is the oldest res hall). So bring whatever you think you'll need. It will most likely fit into your room. If you have a strict sleep schedule, then bring a noisemaker to block out the noise. Like most res halls, the ones at SMU have thin walls that don't really block out the noise. Baran is especially loud, since it has concrete walls that make it like an echo chamber. Spangler is BY FAR the nicest res hall. It's for upperclassmen, except for the first floor, which is called the Norcia Leaders Floor. It's a leadership floor for freshmen. You have to apply to be part of it. Definitely consider this. Parsons (the freshmen hall) is okay. It's the newest res hall on campus, but since it's a freshmen hall I think it will be trashed the fastest by the students.

    In three sentences

    SMU is a small, liberal arts university with dynamic, enthusiastic and talented faculty. It's a fun and welcoming community that is easy to join. There are many opportunities to join clubs and get involved on campus.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus life staff always has fun events going on for the students since there isn't anything directly by the school to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining if pretty good. They try and cater to all the different types of food allergies or diets. there is always a pretty good option during dining hours.

    Dorm Life

    I hear that living on campus is pretty good. I don't really know since i don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes are pretty decent, once you get into your major core classes some of then can be pretty tough but the professors most of the time are willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have a well-rounded resume. The admissions people will be looking for students who are not only good academics but have good volunteer hours and live by the benedictine values, faith, service, reason. If you have all this down then your chances of getting in are pretty good.

    In three sentences

    I would give the school an A-. Small class sizes, great staff and faculty. Great campus size and classes.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do and be apart of on campus! We have a department located in the TUB that conduct events to do on and off campus like snowboarding, rock climbing, Sounders games etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great we just wished they switch it up all the time but other than that we get fresh cooked food by our own chefs and we have two other food and coffee shops on campus just in case you don't want anything from the caf!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! There are always events that the Housing and Residence Life put on for our dorm students. Our staff in the housing department do a really good job with placing you with peers that you asks for and may be very compatible with!

    Academic Rigor

    Regardless of what major and field you intend on getting into at Saint Martin's, academically it is what you make of it. For some students it's a breeze and others its a struggle, but there are so many sources on campus that will help you become successful in the classroom!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a private catholic university so find scholarships because school can be pricey!

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school, but easy to find different avenues of success while attending. Many things to be apart of and the faculty, staff and student body is amazing to be around and get along with.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are a big part of our school you will always see them walking around they are here 24/7 easy to talk to easy to get a hold of and they always alert you through a text is something is going wrong

    Greek Life

    we do not have Greek life but we do have learning communities

    Clubs and Activities

    we have over 50 clubs here something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    who don't want a huge classroom setting who don't want to be just a number who want a great experience

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have very environmentally friendly buildings and we have monks that live on campus who teach and run the church

    Bang for the buck

    really a great school they are here for you and want to see you succeed everyone is so friendly and its so easy to fit in here

    What to do for fun

    lacey is a small town but the school is always holding events and Olympia is only a little drive away

    Food and Dining

    its college so the food is not 5 star but it is actually pretty good and really healthy for you

    Dorm Life

    so much fun and a great place to make friends I am really close to all the people that live on my floor

    Academic Rigor

    the school and all the professors want to help and see you succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to tour the small schools you never know if that little school outside the city might just be perfect for you

    In three sentences

    This is by far one my favorite school I fell in love with it the first time I took a tour here during my junior year of college. this college has the best community and family feeling everyone is so nice and you really get to make friends with everyone. this college offers small classes which is perfect and the teachers are really here to help you not just give you a lecture.