Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College (SMWC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Active learners who wish to have a top notch education from a small Catholic women's college will not be disappointed.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Woods is a wonderful, beautiful place to study. The faculty and staff have genuine interest in each and every student. It is a small but mighty community!

  • 11/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The Woods is so beautiful. Their equestrian facilities (mainly their barns) are unparalleled by any other around the area.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is an all women's school, and is perfect for the student that does not want to get lost in the crowd. Since SMWC is so small all of your teachers know you and remember you. A student that has struggled in high school wont fall between the crack because professors make sure that the student has used all of the tools possible and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask if it is possible to do an overnight and sit in on a class or two. The most important class to sit in on would be a major class if you know what your intended major will be. Stay in contact with the admissions office and don't be afraid to ask questions. If an overnight is possible, stay in contact with the hosting student. That way you have a student that you will know as well when you start in the fall.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education that you get is well worth it. The services that you have to use at you disposal while you are a student and the ones that you have available after graduation are incredibly valuable. The career center alone will bend over backwards to make sure that you have the chance to get internships and help you get a job.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school and I would not have done it any other way if I had the chance to. It's a beautiful campus, and the people there are fantastic. The equine facility is also just amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned things that I use on a daily basis. The classes that I have taken have make me a well rounded student and desirable potential employee.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saint Mary's campus offers security in the form of Security Guards and security cameras that are manned by actual guards. Safety of the women on campus is a must!

    Clubs and Activities

    Saint Mary's offers a great selection of clubs including Anime, Dance Team, Drama, Math, and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be able to interact with fellow classmates and make life long friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring Day is a tradition the campus celebrates every year for students who have earned their Saint Mary-of-the-Woods ring. Check out the college's web-site for more information!

    Bang for the buck

    Saint Mary's is located on the outskirts of Terre Haute, Indiana. Even though you may be living on campus there are plenty of food choices, entertainment options, and fellow colleges near by. Including Indiana State University, Ivy Tech, and Rose Hulman.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers tennis courts, basketball courts, the student center, and it's beautiful grounds to be able to enjoy while classes are not being attended. Not to mention, downtown Terre Haute within a 15 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    A dining hall is open for students to be able to dine for full meals on campus. There is also a cafe which is comparable to Starbucks for the student needing their coffee or smoothie 'pick-me-ups'!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life offers the convenience of a 24 hour computer lab, student lounge area, a student center that includes a game room and fitness room.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be achieved by attending classes on campus, online, or a combination of both.

    Tips for prospective students

    Taking the time to do an 'On Campus Visit' before applying to Saint Mary's will help you get an understanding of what the experience will truely be like. It will also give you the understanding of the rich history on how Saint Mary's came about and originated from.

    In three sentences

    A 'Wonderful' campus or online experience for women! The staff, Sister's, and fellow classmates are always willing to give a helping hand. The beautiful off-road campus compels you to become one with yourself and future goals.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. They offer plenty of room and are easy to upkeep!

    In three sentences

    This is by far the best college I have visited. The campus is beautiful. They offer wonderful opportunities to work with others.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few older security guards. Most are very strict on the rules, but nice none-the-less. They will give you parking tickets, so don't take advantage of them!

    Clubs and Activities

    SAC, Chorale, Dance Team, Math Club, Madrigals... Plus, we have a Softball, Basketball, Soccer, Golf, Cross Country and Equestrian Team. All of these teams are fairly successful in our games/meets/shows.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts, Equine, Sciences, Artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Woodsies are what we call ourselves at St. Mary of the Woods. Typically, during our junior year, we are eligible to receive rings which symbolize our personal growth and academic success at the Woods. Before the ring ceremony at the end of the year, juniors will pound every few weeks during lunch, which is always fun to watch! I can't wait to be apart of it this year! Another thing is Big Sis/Lil Sis week! Upperclassman select an underclassman during the first couple months of their freshman year and anonymously will leave them notes, befriend them, etc. before being reveiled at the end of that week. Big sis' will generally present their little with their junior ring when the time comes because, in many cases, you become very close friends with your big. It's a great bonding opportunity!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't a joke. Being a private liberal arts school, tuition is very high. We don't always see our money going to the school being upgraded and fixed, but there are some long-term plans in the work.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things to do in Terre Haute, you just have to go find them! There is a decent mall within 15 miles of the school that has some good stores. Plus, there are two co-ed schools within 30 minutes of SMWC that are very welcoming to us Woodsies!

    Food and Dining

    O'Shag (as it is called by the students) doesn't always have the best food, but it keeps you going. What can I say? It's cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    One dorm for the 300 girls that live on campus. The rooms are being updated more and more every year. Sometimes the kitchens (on every floor) aren't kept very clean by the residents, but we make do and try to keep it clean and easier for the housekeepers!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small and very one-on-one... you're more than just a grade, you're a person with a name to our professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out the school to get a feel for the place! If you're coming for an Equine degree, this is definitely the right place for you!

    In three sentences

    SMWC is a great school if you're looking for small classes, one-on-one learning with your professors and a close community. The sports teams are pretty good, with a fantastic Equine program and Equestrian team. Downfall is that it is all-girls but that is also a big plus to this school... no distractions! Lol.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very few problems. Campus security does a good job and they are super nice. They will even help fix flat tires!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of great clubs, I guarantee you will find something that interests you. And it is really easy to start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to go to an all girls school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gorgeous buildings with great history. Saint Mother Theodore Guerin founded this school in 1840 so we have a great history.

    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers, great classes, and a great environment.

    What to do for fun

    The wings in the dorm always try to have events to keep you busy. Campus Life is always arranging activities and performers to come. There are a lot of dances, parties, and movie nights both here at SMWC and at the nearby colleges. The town nearby is big and has a lot to do. Plus the college has a fitness center and some great resources.

    Food and Dining

    They provide a great variety of food but it is just dining hall food.

    Dorm Life

    It can get a little boring especially on weekends but I read a book, watch a movie, or plan a trip with a friend.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging fields. Great resources though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring little sentimental touches to make your room feel homier. Also I suggest bringing a mirror, especially if you have to use the community bathroom, so you do not have to keep running to the bathroom to check an outfit or fix your hair.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary of the Woods College is a beautiful school. They have a strong foundation both academically and spiritually. They have many amazing opportunities and help each student be successful.

  • 11/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Active students will never be bored at Saint Mary's.

    Bang for the buck

    I am having trouble paying for schooling.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint Mary's College is great for students looking to challenge themselves academically, athletically, and in any extracurricular activities. Saint Mary's students are very well rounded and always looking to better the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is to be open and give Saint Mary's College a try. While it is an all-girls school, it truly challenges every student in ways that will leave impressions throughout a lifetime. I am confident the education I receive at Saint Mary's will prepare me and other students a lifetime full of possibilities.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very expensive, but I am confident that the knowledge, experiences, and values I receive from my college years at Saint Mary's will triumph over the monetary value. It is truly a special place.

    Am enjoying being here

    Saint Mary's College fosters an environment rooted in faith and known for its academic excellence. The close-knit atmosphere encourages each student to reach her potential and embrace individuality.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a nursing student at Saint Mary's College in Indiana, and I have learned an impressive amount this year alone. I look forward to the skills and knowledge I gain in the following years.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Zero crime. Security is awesome and have helped me or my friends with a flat tire/some other car related issue on more than one occasion! They are friendly and always making sure we are safe.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small school and a welcoming environment, this is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring Day!, Midnight breakfast, Senior Dinner Every place on campus is beautiful, especially the barn.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low for a private institution of this quality (which is great). Still, it is obviously more expensive than a public institution. But if you think you cannot afford it, you might be wrong. Talk to financial aid or admissions about scholarships, I am suprised at how many scholarships they have! My friend is a 21st century scholar and basically pays for books and that's it.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, healthy options and plenty of variety. Hours of operation could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Plenty to do on nights and weekends. RAs and Campus Life do a great job planning events.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong academics and excellent academic support

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus! You will probably fall in love with the Woods as you drive on the avenue.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful and historic campus. The community is welcoming. It feels like home immediately.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security maintains an office in LeFer, cameras around campus, and a mobile unit. Students are given emergency contacts for security and non-emergency contacts in case security is needed. Our crime rate is 0.

    Greek Life

    SMWC does not have a Greek life but some students join the Greek life at neighboring colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 23 clubs and students can start their own clubs. We have athletic teams and students are always playing pick up games on the courts. Activities are almost continuous. It may feel that there is too much going on at times.

    Great for these types of students

    Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is great for students who are looking to be motivated and challenged in the classroom with minimal distractions by students who are attending college for other reasons.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BigSis LilSis is a tradition where a junior will adopt a freshmen and act as a mentor and friend. The BigSis has usually became friends with the LilSis before selection is made. It's like having an older, best friend show you around.

    Bang for the buck

    SMWC is pricey, however, it is a private college and private colleges are not cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are plentiful but if you want to go out on the town, Terre Haute offers paintball, laser tag, shopping, food, and movies.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo does a wonderful job serving food and Sunday Brunch draws in neighboring residents.

    Dorm Life

    Students who choose to live on campus stay in the same dormitory, LeFer Hall. LeFer is a beautiful building complete with a fitness center, parlors, cafeteria, and all of your friends from school.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but with the small class sizes and caring faculty, help is always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advice students to take a visit to Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College and meet with your Admission Counselors, Financial Aid Department, Department Chair of their intended major, meet students, and see what the campus has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is exciting and fun. Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College has a beautiful campus and is located in a beautiful part of Indiana. Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College has a wonderful and welcoming atmosphere.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is extremely safe. Many people leave doors unlocked and their stuff out.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs and events on campus. Many of our clubs will look good for resume purposes. Are events are fun and usually consist of games, dances, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    This is an all women's college. So if you you want a quality education and less drama and distractions. This is the place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One traditions is our big sis, little sis week we have. It's where the juniors pick a freshman, and secretively leave them presents, notes, and funny things to do for a whole week. Whether its saying something out loud during lunch or dressing up in costumes. My favorite tradition is Ring Day. It's where juniors get to FINALLY receive their Woods Ring. It involve a ceremony, cap and gown and everything. It's bigger than gradation.

    Bang for the buck

    Our school can be a bit pricey. However, the education you receive is totally worth it. Our financial aid offices are more than willing to help you find ways to pay for your education.

    What to do for fun

    We have a tennis court and basketball court on campus. Other than that not much to do besides the student center and hall were you can watch TV. Since we are out in the woods, many activities are off campus. But if you like a nice stroll outside, our campus has beautiful scenery.

    Food and Dining

    We have very few places to dine on campus. We have our main dinning hall for lunch and dinner. And then a small coffee, salad, and sandwich shop in our library, only open for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    We have one dorm and many different styles and types of rooms, based off of your needs. We have kitchens on every floor and a work out room and laundry in the basement.

    Academic Rigor

    So many majors. Great classes to take for major. It is a liberal arts college, so general course can be a pain.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an all women's college, but don't let that scare you. The friendship and bonds you build with these women are unbreakable. Small class, mean more one on one with your professors. Very quiet and safe place.

    In three sentences

    Best school to gain an education. Number one women's college. Make friends for life.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Little to no crime in past years!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Big sis, Lil sis Ring Day Song Day Porch Dance Winter Formal

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive but well worth it! I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Join a sport team. Go on a nature walk through campus. Go to the mall. Lazer tag, bowling etc. Much, much more!

    Food and Dining

    As good as college food can get. Well known for Sunday morning brunch! Best meal of the week!

    Dorm Life

    So many fun activities. Little to no crime rates. Great campus life!

    Academic Rigor

    Love the professors and staff! Wonderful student/staff ratio! Class sizes as small as 3 students and I have never had anymore than 16 students in my freshman class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the night as an overnight guest so that you can go to classes and get the experience.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary of the Woods College is the best decision I have made! Wonderful staff, faculty, and facility. Best thing about SMWC is the traditions that come with a 173 year old college.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to read, play multiple instruments, compose music, sing, and hang out with my husband.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been to the dorms yet, but the cost is affordable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy, the staff are happy and willing to help. Don't delay with any application processes though because the online degrees are competitive and only have so many openings.

    In three sentences

    I think that Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is an excellent school. They are the top rated school for music therapy and have excellent reviews. The staff is very nice and extremely helpful.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existent but at a 250 person girls school, it might as well be a giant sorority.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-Motivators

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We've got Big Sis/Lil Sis, Ring Day....full of wonderful traditions!

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of fun - wing events, dorm events, campus events, terre haute events!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo (food service) sucks!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are large with heat and air conditioning, wood floors. Being renovated a few rooms at a time. Decent living.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are hard and others are not. Maths and sciences are very challenging, others are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like hanging out with other girls....this isn't the school for you!

    In three sentences

    St. Mary-of-the-Woods is a great school with a good atmosphere. We have small classes, lots of one-on-one interaction with the professors. Plus, we have horses!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    St. Mary of the Woods offers many extracurriculars including horseback riding. The school is also close to Terre Haute, Indiana which is home to many great theatres, restaurants, and concert halls. We have always enjoyed our visits to the area!

    Food and Dining

    On our visit to St. Mary of the Woods College, we experienced great food at two different dining halls. The food was fresh and the staff was kind and welcoming. I look forward to our next visit in the fall of 2013!

    Dorm Life

    Since I am an online student, I have never experienced dorm life at St. mary of the Woods College. Though I have met a few people that have had great experiences. I wish I would have chosen St. Mary of the Woods College sooner so that I could have experienced dorm life first hand!

    Academic Rigor

    The highly rated academic programs of St. Mary of the Woods starts with their professors who are highly qualified. I have felt increasingly challenged in my coursework and encouraged to explore new areas of study. The online courses offer a significant amount of classes, and exactly what I need for my career in Human Services.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to stay focused on your academic success at all times. Also, I have found success when I study ever day and take breaks every so often. As an online student it is imperative to stay connected with your professors and make sure to notify them if there are any issues you are having with your courses.

    In three sentences

    After my first semester as an online student, I would highly reccomend their Woods Online program. The staff and professors have been prompt and helpful my entire time at St. Mary of the Woods, and I am extremely happy with my choice. I am proud to attend St. Mary of the Woods College, and am looking forward to calling myself a graduate!

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is somewhat remote and therefore it has a sense of security like no other college I've been to. The security personal are friendly and you can call on them for anything that you need. Top notch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this big, onyx ring that we receive as juniors here at The Woods. They are a beautiful symbol of growth and you can identify with fellow Woodsies who have their rings as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit and an overnight! You don't get a real sense of The Woods without spending the night. There are plenty of things to experience and once you do, you can just fall in love with the campus.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College can be summed up in about three words; serene, close-knit, and stimulating. You meet all kinds of girls here who become dedicated friends. The Woods also has amazing professors who teach interesting subjects in nearly any field a person would want to go into.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RING DAY! Every Junior counts down the day to get the beloved Woods Onyx Ring in the spring. It's a 91 year tradition!

    What to do for fun

    Explore the gorgeous campus! Ride your bike, take a walk on the nature trails, visit the horses in the barn or the alpacas. Go bowling, shopping, or see a movie in Terre Haute.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, there is one dining option (Sodexo). It is difficult because if you do not eat within the time the dining hall is open (1.5 hours at lunch and 1 hour at dinner) then you cannot get in to get food. But Terre Haute is 10 minutes away with many restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love that everyone on campus can fit into our one amazingly beautiful dorm. It's like we're all part of a close-knit sorority.

    Academic Rigor

    SMWC has recently changed it's general education requirements giving more options as to what to take, but the classes they now offer seem less intense than previous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get involved in extra curricular activities--they will help you to win scholarships! And don't be so intimidated by the tuition of SMWC. They're a private school so they can give scholarships more generously. It's costing me less money to go here than a public school!

    In three sentences

    St. Mary-of-the-Woods is a great college for ladies who like intimate settings. If you like small class sizes, this is definitely the place for you! Also if you like to take walks just around campus or on nature trails, SMWC is a beautiful place to lose yourself in the outdoors.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life - there's no need. Its like one big sorority.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring Day: this is bigger than graduation. You receive a ring with a big hunk of onyx with the SMW emblem engraved in it. This ring is coveted by all SMWC students who don't yet have it, and proudly worn by all students and alums who do.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do close to campus. Terre Haute is a typical college town, and is less than 15 minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Never, never, never miss Sunday Brunch. Its the best meal all week.

    Dorm Life

    With many shared rooms, and high cost of room and board, dorm life can be a drag. But it can also be a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Getting your education at SMWC is hard work. But its well worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up. Do community service. Engage yourself in extracurricular activities. The admissions department looks for all these things.

    In three sentences

    The Woods is an academic space that encourages personal growth. It challenges students to become the best they can be, both academically and personally. In two words: IT ROCKS!

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is present 24/7 and their office is in the basement of the dorm. You are also 15 minutes away from town in the woods, so you don't have people who just come wondering in. I have never felt threatened or unsafe there.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that you can get involved in, most students are involved in at least one, and there are music ensembles, theatre productions, and horse riding lessons too. You can also start your own club if you have an idea. Clubs regularly plan events for students as well as the RAs and Campus Life.

    Great for these types of students

    This is an all-women's institution at the campus level, and there is a co-ed distance program which includes associates, bachelors, and masters degree programs. It's great for students who want a small, private, rural setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is chalk full of traditions. There is Ring Day, Big Sis Lil Sis week, the Ring Song, Midnight Breakfast, Song Fest, Senior Faculty Reception, the West T walk, and so many more. The school was founded by religious sisters, and the motherhouse is still on the campus grounds. If you want a lot of history and tradition this is definitely the place.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so it is a bit expensive, but well worth it in terms of experience and gain. There is a tuition promise which guarantees the same price of tuition for four years, and many scholarships available. They try to make it affordable, and it is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    This college is prime for creating your own fun, and there is much fun to be had. Town is a fifteen minute drive away and there are typical things to do there.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many location choices, and it is cafeteria food. The chef is always open to suggestions and they are slowly improving the quality and selection.

    Dorm Life

    There is only one dorm and it has a lot of character. You develop a great bond with everyone there, and the environment is very relaxed.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are more rigorous than others, but each offer their own challenges. The faculty are committed to helping you succeed and the school is always looking to stay current with student and market demands.

    Tips for prospective students

    You won't have the stereotypical college experience, but the experience you will have will be life changing. This school is not for everyone and it can be tough if you come and decide it's not for you, so think seriously about the type of experience you want and need before attending. If you do attend, you will have the best experience and really learn about yourself and what you want.

    In three sentences

    Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is a great place to learn in a comfortable and safe environment. It lends itself well to allowing you to discover what you want and develop yourself as an individual. It's not for everyone, but if it is for you it is a wonderful experience.